Team Fortress 2 PC

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 6052 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 12, 2013
    10
    This Game is the Worlds best fps game i like it also its free and it runs on direct x 8.1 witch is good and its great got it to work with my xbox 360 controller.
  2. Jul 13, 2013
    8
    the game is hilarious. its simply goofy silly but still a serious game balance is (besides one controversial weapon) is perfect the "hat fortress 2 element is fun except the economy is gone to and and there are more scammers and cons than actual honest traders but the actual FPS part is very well put together weather you're on a 2for 24/7 a no crit 6v6 or a parkour map you will alwaysthe game is hilarious. its simply goofy silly but still a serious game balance is (besides one controversial weapon) is perfect the "hat fortress 2 element is fun except the economy is gone to and and there are more scammers and cons than actual honest traders but the actual FPS part is very well put together weather you're on a 2for 24/7 a no crit 6v6 or a parkour map you will always have fun. (until you go to trade then bad days come) Expand
  3. Jul 15, 2013
    10
    I spent more than 1,700 hours on TF2 and it's still the first game I launch when I turn on my computer. Graphics are original and funny, the game is fast and needs you to react quickly (instinctively almost). All the 9 classes are balanced, and the customization is very impressive. Perfect game for a gamer like me.
  4. Jul 15, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Team Fortress 2, a vintage hat-simulator game, basing it off with a great couple of 9 mercenaries, conflitcting between a plot of land, to demolition it, or to build on it, BLU is for Builders League, and your average RED team, of course is to bomb it all down, instead of talking about that, we have a couple of things too, this is as I said a hat-simulator, great for its architecture, it makes a workshop and you'll find yourself seeing if VALVe accepts it, the hats are amazing, and your weaponry, your asking? How can I put it this way, AMAZING! Goddamn, over 300 weapons to choose from.
    Now lets get back to our mercenaries, they each contain different characteristics, Scout as your punk 23 year old that goes around bonking others, Soldier as the crazed American patriot, fighting in World War 2, and cosidered still fighting the Germans, even when they were done with the war, Pyro is unknown, but might be said to be a male or a female, Demoman is a drunk man ready to bomb you all, Heavy as the big man, loving his sandvichs, Engineer as your old Texan building up some ol' sentries to tear down the whole team, making it a living hell for you, Medic as a German man of medicine, skilling your team a ace in victory, Sniper is a man of a Austrailiann, ready to crack-a-shot at you, and Spy as a lady-loving man ready to backstab any man in his way, as his description on the TF2 wiki is that he is a lady killer (metaphorically) and a mankiller (for real).
    Expand
  5. Jul 15, 2013
    10
    best game ever ill use the words this game has guns crates hats evened out weapons custom maps cool classes always updateing a must play free expirenc for hard cour gamers and new gamers
  6. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    I got this game when it first came out and you had to pay for it. It was amazing then, and it is still amazing now, although I don't like all of the class updates they have added to this game (seems to have slightly unbalanced the perfect balance that the game had on release) .That being said, it is still really fun, and now it's FREE too.
  7. Aug 16, 2013
    9
    I do enjoy this game, but I think has become overpowered with achievement idle servers. Achievement idle servers are servers were one team just stands there while the other kills them. Another thing is A lot of people spend to much money to over power themselves with useless hats. However, The Valve maps game modes and maps that are valve approved can be quite enjoyable.
  8. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Still the most fun you can have online and thats saying a lot, a very fun game and a very friendly community that is still going strong you will meet people in this game you will want to play with again. i have almost 2000 hours in this game and it is still one of my favorite games of all time. PLUS YOU GET UPDATES AND DLCS AND PATCHES EVERY FEW MONTHS THAT ADD MAPS,WEAPONS AND OTHERStill the most fun you can have online and thats saying a lot, a very fun game and a very friendly community that is still going strong you will meet people in this game you will want to play with again. i have almost 2000 hours in this game and it is still one of my favorite games of all time. PLUS YOU GET UPDATES AND DLCS AND PATCHES EVERY FEW MONTHS THAT ADD MAPS,WEAPONS AND OTHER ITEMS FOR FREE! Expand
  9. LHy
    Sep 28, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A very enjoyable experience with a great economy and a lot of things going for them, the hats I believe are 60% of the reason that people play this game, the economy is great, people love to "dress up" their characters, this game not only brings you that, but an amazing online experience. Expand
  10. Aug 20, 2014
    9
    Ladies and gentlemen, here is a really strong contender (and provably the winner) of the best free-to play of all time awards!!!!!! Now the reason I liked and promoted the game so much, is because that it came to me at a time where I thought "Is there even a single free-to play game on the market that you can play for more than an hour and not get bored?" Here is the answer folks, TF2,Ladies and gentlemen, here is a really strong contender (and provably the winner) of the best free-to play of all time awards!!!!!! Now the reason I liked and promoted the game so much, is because that it came to me at a time where I thought "Is there even a single free-to play game on the market that you can play for more than an hour and not get bored?" Here is the answer folks, TF2, waiting you for free!!

    To be serious though, the fast and fluid gameplay involves 9 different classes, each with their own set of weapons, stats and personalities. By playing more you get access to new weapons, items and most importantly hats!!!! (Just kidding though, in reality I don't give a **** about hats but that's my opinion)

    Even though the controls are a bit difficult to adapt to if you are playing with a gamepad, you get used to it in just a few matches.

    However I will say that the matches are a bit longer than i can comprehend. I just quit after the second round cause that is enough for me.

    In overall the game is a 9/10 for me, a nigh perfect game.
    Expand
  11. Jul 7, 2014
    9
    Such a wonderful game... This was. Hitbox issues, inability to access inventories, Idle serverse, Daily hacking due to the f2p change, Sniper class still in the game (focus on sitting in one spot and instantly killing people across the map, opposite of fun), Mann-conomy, Weekly updates to adress concerns for Linux (an OS that make up about 0.5-1% of the userbase) forcing all the serversSuch a wonderful game... This was. Hitbox issues, inability to access inventories, Idle serverse, Daily hacking due to the f2p change, Sniper class still in the game (focus on sitting in one spot and instantly killing people across the map, opposite of fun), Mann-conomy, Weekly updates to adress concerns for Linux (an OS that make up about 0.5-1% of the userbase) forcing all the servers to re-boot and update manually, Overpowered soldier class (too much versitility, HP, manouverment, damage), Crates, Constant wave of clearly unbalanced weapon not ready to be released to the public (Original tommy gun for the heavy, old equalizer, etc), Hats...

    Oh Valve, where did you go so wrong. Your 200-300+ Better Business Bureau ignored complaints aside, this greedy community neglect will not do you good.
    Expand
  12. Mar 6, 2015
    10
    Team Fortress 2 is amazing FPS Game. Which does not have end. You have still new updates! New weapons. Amazing Game-play. Nine Classes. Team Fortress 2 is one of the best FPS Free to play Games, I ever seen. If i need to go out and play with others, NO! I must play this game. This will ruin your day. It is addictive game. But, i must say also this when im reviewing this game. It has gotTeam Fortress 2 is amazing FPS Game. Which does not have end. You have still new updates! New weapons. Amazing Game-play. Nine Classes. Team Fortress 2 is one of the best FPS Free to play Games, I ever seen. If i need to go out and play with others, NO! I must play this game. This will ruin your day. It is addictive game. But, i must say also this when im reviewing this game. It has got so many new players, and...They are destroying this game. You will start to get bored, after playing with them. Because they don't aim to head and similarly... But, there are PRO players too. I know players they can kill you in 1 second. They are rich. And have got many expensive items. But, you can get it too by trading. I have played about 1 000 hours; What is: (41,6 of day). What is not much. I personally ''love'' Pyro and Spy.

    So:

    Positive:
    -Fun
    -Addictive
    -You Can play it With friends
    -If you get into, you will be one of the best

    Negative:
    -Free To Play Players
    -None
    Expand
  13. Jul 4, 2016
    10
    As a guy who has almost one thousand hours in Team Fortress 2, I can say that this game is incredible. You will experience a lot of cool things, such as MvM (Mann Vs Machine), Competitive mode (now, by the way, officially), and public games. All of these modes are awesome, and you will enjoy it. The mechanics is unique, the game style is pretty cool too. Moreover, there will be sense ofAs a guy who has almost one thousand hours in Team Fortress 2, I can say that this game is incredible. You will experience a lot of cool things, such as MvM (Mann Vs Machine), Competitive mode (now, by the way, officially), and public games. All of these modes are awesome, and you will enjoy it. The mechanics is unique, the game style is pretty cool too. Moreover, there will be sense of humour. One of the greatest games created by Valve Software. Expand
  14. Jun 22, 2016
    8
    Before it's release in 2007, I was more psyched to play TF2 then I'd been for any other game before. I've got more hours logged into it then any other Steam game, hours spent actually playing, and plenty of time spent just messing around with friends in our personal server, playing around with mods. Time spent killing robots in man vs. machine, and slapping around randoms on 24/7 DegrootBefore it's release in 2007, I was more psyched to play TF2 then I'd been for any other game before. I've got more hours logged into it then any other Steam game, hours spent actually playing, and plenty of time spent just messing around with friends in our personal server, playing around with mods. Time spent killing robots in man vs. machine, and slapping around randoms on 24/7 Degroot Keep servers. I have predominantly fond memories of the game, even if I don't play it much at all these days... but I'd sooner play this then Overwatch. Euugh. Expand
  15. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    great game. aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa oijjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjj;i;afffffffffffff ijoeipfakopfkaspofkaspogm;aiojg;oagmu;iunrugoeherperoeiog ej wg[gewonwepogpweunwpnwpeg wepgon w'egjwpeonweongeu'woufa gnaug[uGPOug'pgeponu;oiaenoanoiUN;n oiugnfowigusohginsehgiy ;aon a;gunegoapoguna'gopuna;gpouawe;guawegoupaegpuona;g
  16. Dec 7, 2011
    10
    One of the most polished and enjoyable FPS titles in my collection. I've continued to play this game with the same enjoyment since I bought it with Orange Box at launch and still consider it my go-to game when I have time. The character art and voices make it one of the few games where you feel that each class has a personality, the ever-expanding catalog of weapons, hats and maps keepsOne of the most polished and enjoyable FPS titles in my collection. I've continued to play this game with the same enjoyment since I bought it with Orange Box at launch and still consider it my go-to game when I have time. The character art and voices make it one of the few games where you feel that each class has a personality, the ever-expanding catalog of weapons, hats and maps keeps the game continually fresh and Valve's constant inclusion of TF2 extras with games sold on Steam makes it a reason to try out new games.

    One of the truly cool games out there that's managed to carry a 4 year long lifecycle. (And it's free now)
    Expand
  17. JYT
    Jan 6, 2012
    9
    Really fun. Like a good cartoon or comic book. When the players understand they have to team up and organize according the to roles it's another level:

    - demo & soldier to cover heavy and fireguy and clear the way from distance bfore moving in - sniper must cover engineers against spy
    -scout must sacrify or create diversions
    - etc..
  18. TobiasL.
    Dec 16, 2007
    10
    This is one of the most well designed games in the entire history of gaming. Not only has it brought multi player FPS to perfection, it's fast, it's fun, it is very simple, yet so complex and difficult. The graphics are astounding, as soon as you see another player it only takes a split second before you know exactly what class he is playing and how to react to that. Every This is one of the most well designed games in the entire history of gaming. Not only has it brought multi player FPS to perfection, it's fast, it's fun, it is very simple, yet so complex and difficult. The graphics are astounding, as soon as you see another player it only takes a split second before you know exactly what class he is playing and how to react to that. Every strategy can be countered and team play is of the essence if you want to go far. This game is a true 10. Expand
  19. NickW.
    Oct 21, 2007
    10
    First of all, I would like to respond to A C: They got rid of grenades because they sucked and ruined the game. They removed "faking death" and replaced it with the cloaking, which is way better. The maps are just as long as the others. Best game ever! Definitely worth the money!
  20. MichaelT.
    Oct 22, 2007
    8
    I deffinately like the make over on the graphics while yet preserving the true character of the over all game. I was surprised and even more so that i was able to play my old favorites like well, forte. However, i was rather disapointed that there were no longer grenades and explosives for Hw, Engineer, dissorienting bombs for the spy, etc. I thought that was an important aspect of the I deffinately like the make over on the graphics while yet preserving the true character of the over all game. I was surprised and even more so that i was able to play my old favorites like well, forte. However, i was rather disapointed that there were no longer grenades and explosives for Hw, Engineer, dissorienting bombs for the spy, etc. I thought that was an important aspect of the characters. It also made a difference in my play as well. My hope is that upon a new or future update, they can reintergrate those into the new version of tfc 2. Expand
  21. TimK.
    Oct 24, 2007
    10
    Possibly the downfall of man. Highly addictive. Certainly able to break apart marriages. Sever blood ties. One could be facing death tied to the rails with a freight train bearing down upon him if he didnt stop playing TF2 and all you would hear him screaming is "Uber me Uber me!" Am I playing it? Let me get back to you on that. My team is screaming for a medic.
  22. SamJ.
    Oct 27, 2007
    10
    This is the most fun you can have on a pc! TF2 is an absolute blast, I find myself laughing at one thing or another almost every round I play. The classes are good, balance is good, it looks good and it plays good. Nuff said, get it and enjoy!
  23. StuO.
    Dec 9, 2007
    10
    Never has team play been this much fun! The cartoonesque characters are beautifully drawn, the taunts encapsulate the splendid humour and the learning curve is perfect for veterans and newbies alike. The varied character class keep this game on the top of my play list and the ability to swap class between frags is tantamount to the longevity of the game. I hope there's further Never has team play been this much fun! The cartoonesque characters are beautifully drawn, the taunts encapsulate the splendid humour and the learning curve is perfect for veterans and newbies alike. The varied character class keep this game on the top of my play list and the ability to swap class between frags is tantamount to the longevity of the game. I hope there's further official maps made available soon, because this is one game I'll be coming back to for months. Expand
  24. TobyMadge
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    The simple fact is TF2 is awsum, PERHAPS the best game of our time - the free and constant updates - the cartoony graphics - it all adds up! I've seen way too many people play a game (not just this one) and give up on it after a hours over about a day - if you stick to it you relise this game really does rock. (and valve HAVE provided ways to help you stick to it with the unlockables The simple fact is TF2 is awsum, PERHAPS the best game of our time - the free and constant updates - the cartoony graphics - it all adds up! I've seen way too many people play a game (not just this one) and give up on it after a hours over about a day - if you stick to it you relise this game really does rock. (and valve HAVE provided ways to help you stick to it with the unlockables via achivments - and before you say it - YES a achivment server is the best way too get them because people there are just as aggressive) Expand
  25. RyanT.
    Jan 30, 2010
    10
    Great game, it has good graphics, awesome sound, I love the modding of it, it is indeed like CS:S, but they changed a lot of this, and for people QQ'ing about the grenades, GET OVER IT. This game is good, and you're just complaining about the little stuff that valve got rid of to balance game and ruin the little stuff you No-skilled idiots did.
  26. JeremyOsinski
    Nov 11, 2007
    10
    Fantastic game, through and through. The removal of grenades was the best thing they ever did. Spam = teh suck. The like.. 2 or 3 of you that rated it 0-3, get a life. If you don't think there can be strategy involved in this game, you must be the worst player to ever disgrace the internet. Try playing a clan in a league. VALVe did their homework and I hope they're getting Fantastic game, through and through. The removal of grenades was the best thing they ever did. Spam = teh suck. The like.. 2 or 3 of you that rated it 0-3, get a life. If you don't think there can be strategy involved in this game, you must be the worst player to ever disgrace the internet. Try playing a clan in a league. VALVe did their homework and I hope they're getting filthy rich off it. Plus the patch support is terrific. Expand
  27. Technicha
    Nov 21, 2007
    8
    An awesome game. I love the characters cause almost all of them has their own unique ability. The game is great but the community ain't that great. Most servers are modified in a very idiotic way that unbalances the game or makes it annoying to play. Black List would be great to filter out servers that has annoying Quake sounds or Instant Spawn Timers.
  28. JegorK.
    Nov 26, 2007
    10
    As a True Gamer i have seen many games, of many Genres. I am a true fanatic of FPS games and find them quite entertaining but this game is quite outstanding, its not not a typical FPS its with a Twist. The 1st Team fortress was a good game with a good idea and i am glad that Valve continued the idea. What I like about his game, it offers a wide viraty of game choices, par examle: if you As a True Gamer i have seen many games, of many Genres. I am a true fanatic of FPS games and find them quite entertaining but this game is quite outstanding, its not not a typical FPS its with a Twist. The 1st Team fortress was a good game with a good idea and i am glad that Valve continued the idea. What I like about his game, it offers a wide viraty of game choices, par examle: if you are a blood raging rusher with a lightning reaction who like to be in he heat of the battle you can choose the Scout who offers high speed movement and high damage (at close range) at the cost of Health, or if you are the crrepy kind (like me) who love conspiracy and 1 hit kills, you will be the spy where you have to get the trust of the enemy and then betrey them with a lightning back stab and then fade into the shadows, or you can just burn them if you feel like it and so on. In my opinnion this game is balaced, has different gameplayes Capture the Flag, Domination, and Defence, to nearelly andbody's need, well the only thing that i would like to see further in Tf2 Would be a Female character, it would make gaming more fun. As an over all i give it a 10 Expand
  29. JaapV.
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    The best as far as class-based PvP goes. It's cartoon style fits the mood of the classes perfectly and the action is fast-paced but not over the top. Good balance between classes. The one minor downside to the game is the lack of novel game modes, even though the game would lend itself to it perfectly.
  30. BryanC.
    Oct 19, 2007
    9
    This game is AMAZING! Nine years in the making and this is what we get. Team Fortress 2 is everything that TFC should have been and more. The game is less spammy, it is fast paced and the learning curve is set just right so that you can jump in and have fun even if it's your first time playing. The graphics are amazing, you might think it looks too "cartoony" from screenshots, but This game is AMAZING! Nine years in the making and this is what we get. Team Fortress 2 is everything that TFC should have been and more. The game is less spammy, it is fast paced and the learning curve is set just right so that you can jump in and have fun even if it's your first time playing. The graphics are amazing, you might think it looks too "cartoony" from screenshots, but once you blast someone with a rocket and see their body burst into 20 different pieces and their decapitated head rolls past your feet, your mind will be changed. There's so much more to this game than there was in it's predecessor, the classes are much more balanced, each class having its own weakness and advantage. The only down side I can even begin to think of is that the sounds (bullets hitting a wall, picking up ammo, picking up health) are all the same sounds from the Half-Life games. It is a bit repetitive, and you'd think they'd at least change the sounds of those. But those sounds can probably be changed since Valve has just released the new SDK (the developer kit for making maps, etc). Definitely pick this up, you will not be dissapointed! Expand
  31. BrianW.
    Oct 19, 2007
    10
    I felt like AC here the first hour or two of playing it, but I played for many more hours and began to like the game, although it is VERY different from the original, it maintains great and balanced gameplay, It's a must have even if you have never played the original.
  32. RyanC.
    Dec 1, 2007
    10
    Great game, tons of fun! I have never gotten frustrated at this game! No graphics problems, runs very smooth. Only downside is the learning curve, with all the uniqe classes, if I didn't have a friend explain to me what every class does and such I would have taken much longer to learn what is what. This game probably needs a tutorial for each class. after that though it is perfect!
  33. FelixP.
    Dec 11, 2007
    10
    This comment is interesting: "A C gave it a0: Does not match the old TF... got rid of grenades, faking death, demopacks, and much more. The maps seem to be shorter and the over all feel just leaves me unsatisfied. All these years of waiting for this? I say take it back and maybe in a year or two more you may just have the right stuff." 1. They got rid of grenades because it made all of This comment is interesting: "A C gave it a0: Does not match the old TF... got rid of grenades, faking death, demopacks, and much more. The maps seem to be shorter and the over all feel just leaves me unsatisfied. All these years of waiting for this? I say take it back and maybe in a year or two more you may just have the right stuff." 1. They got rid of grenades because it made all of the characters boring, too similar and too powerful. 2. They got rid of feigning death because of the physics. 3. Demopacks... same reason as grenades. 4. much more? 5. The maps are shorter to create a faster more exciting gameplay. All in All this game beats T.F.C into the ground. both games are good but TF2 is much better. Expand
  34. Brovo196Commander
    Oct 28, 2007
    9
    Graphics:8/10 Sound:7/10 Multiplayer:10/10 Fun:9/10 Class selection/Weapon selection:10/10 It's a Lot of fun it realy is just fun fun fun all it is is fun in a barrel the Graphics are a little cartoony [so? who cares WoW's graphics are cartoony and over 7 million people play it] The Sound is overused in the Half Life games :( But the multiplayer action class selection and Graphics:8/10 Sound:7/10 Multiplayer:10/10 Fun:9/10 Class selection/Weapon selection:10/10 It's a Lot of fun it realy is just fun fun fun all it is is fun in a barrel the Graphics are a little cartoony [so? who cares WoW's graphics are cartoony and over 7 million people play it] The Sound is overused in the Half Life games :( But the multiplayer action class selection and different weapons weakness's to class's just the difference between the class's is insane. Oh ya did i mention that this game comes in an orange box with Half life 2 half life 2 episode 1 half life 2 episode 2 And Portal for just 60 bucks? Thats like the deal of the Decade man when you can get it!!! Expand
  35. ChrisZ.
    Dec 8, 2007
    10
    This game is damn flawless. The only issue I've had is bad FPS, but that's because of my shitty computer. Anyone complaining about crashing just needs to upgrade. Tons of fun no matter what class you're using, tons of fun no matter how you're doing. Taunts are great for joking with friends, but since you can't cancel them it'll just get you killed if you do This game is damn flawless. The only issue I've had is bad FPS, but that's because of my shitty computer. Anyone complaining about crashing just needs to upgrade. Tons of fun no matter what class you're using, tons of fun no matter how you're doing. Taunts are great for joking with friends, but since you can't cancel them it'll just get you killed if you do it to an enemy. Expand
  36. RyanW.
    Aug 13, 2008
    10
    I've been regularly playing Team Fortress 2 since its beta release in September 2007, and I'm still discovering new tricks, strategies, and ways of having fun. The sheer amount of depth produced by a combination of ingeniously designed maps and the nine different player types is immense, and there's a tremendous amount of playtime involved in making yourself master each and I've been regularly playing Team Fortress 2 since its beta release in September 2007, and I'm still discovering new tricks, strategies, and ways of having fun. The sheer amount of depth produced by a combination of ingeniously designed maps and the nine different player types is immense, and there's a tremendous amount of playtime involved in making yourself master each and every one. Add to this the frequent updates by Valve and you've got a killer title. So far we've had several new maps of superb quality, and three new weapons for two of the game's classes (the remaining seven classes are receiving their three new weapons in due course). Two new maps are coming next week, and I expect plenty more in the future. You can't really go wrong at the price point. Expand
  37. Muad'Dib
    Nov 11, 2007
    8
    I have been playing Team Fortress 2 since it became available for download. TF2 has pulled several friends and me back into the world of First Person Shooters. I have mixed feelings about this incarnation of Team Fortress. Key TF game concepts are captured in the class-based system and the requirement for teamwork for success. The re-imaging of the game still gives me chuckles with the I have been playing Team Fortress 2 since it became available for download. TF2 has pulled several friends and me back into the world of First Person Shooters. I have mixed feelings about this incarnation of Team Fortress. Key TF game concepts are captured in the class-based system and the requirement for teamwork for success. The re-imaging of the game still gives me chuckles with the cartoon like rendering and the stereotypical casting of the classes Expand
  38. JakeB.
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    The absolute best Multi-Player game of the year. Classes are well balanced, The maps and characters are beautifully rendered in Valve's own Source Engine. The Cartoony look and humorous dialogue is also a nice touch from todays modern extremely realistic games. This is a MOST OWN for any First Person Shooter Fan who loves a solid Multi-Player Experience that'll make you laugh The absolute best Multi-Player game of the year. Classes are well balanced, The maps and characters are beautifully rendered in Valve's own Source Engine. The Cartoony look and humorous dialogue is also a nice touch from todays modern extremely realistic games. This is a MOST OWN for any First Person Shooter Fan who loves a solid Multi-Player Experience that'll make you laugh and make you come back for more. Expand
  39. EmilyZ.
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    After years of hard work to put TF2 at the top of the list, it really did work. It was a hit the first day and still is. Every class has its own personality and specialty. Its absolutely endless fun and you get addicted at the start. I don't know how they could of made this a better game.. its.. amazing!
  40. NickM.
    Nov 23, 2007
    10
    TF2 re-defines fun in multiplayer gaming. This is by far the most balanced class based multiplayer FPS I've ever played, and it's suitable to so many different players. TF2 can be as serious as you want it to be, or you can start it up, and just have fun without worrying about statistics, or anything else, and it's pretty much guaranteed fun.
  41. AndrewG.
    Nov 24, 2007
    10
    Already one of my favorite games of all time. I've played it for maybe 50 hours and I am still hooked. The main pull of the game is the variety. Most FPS games seem 'same-y' to me because they come down to sniping, machine gun/mid-range combat, grenades, and maybe some melee. To me, the distinctness of each of the classes in TF2 elevates it above even the best shooters. Already one of my favorite games of all time. I've played it for maybe 50 hours and I am still hooked. The main pull of the game is the variety. Most FPS games seem 'same-y' to me because they come down to sniping, machine gun/mid-range combat, grenades, and maybe some melee. To me, the distinctness of each of the classes in TF2 elevates it above even the best shooters. Each class is extremely fun to play and necessary for the game. Expand
  42. PhilipS.
    Nov 29, 2007
    10
    This game truly shows what happens when time equates quality. The developers at steam took a game from so long ago and turned it into one of the most artistic and strategic games I have ever played. 11 years of development through hundreds of hours of playtests lead to the creation of this totally revamped game. The view is simple; incorporate the character class directly with the This game truly shows what happens when time equates quality. The developers at steam took a game from so long ago and turned it into one of the most artistic and strategic games I have ever played. 11 years of development through hundreds of hours of playtests lead to the creation of this totally revamped game. The view is simple; incorporate the character class directly with the personality of the individual which in turn balances the fluency of the gameplay. Removing grenades and limiting classes to 3 types of weapons and furthermore limiting the class to using only that weapon/ability decreases the chances of getting kills outside what the class is designed to do, sounds restricting but its genius compared to other games where the class weapon dominates more then the class itself in a greater range of domination then the class was designed to give, allowing the power to dominate undisputed to every other class rather then keeping it within its range of power and ability. In simpler forms, a very balanced type gameplay. Overall, best game I've played, totally worth more then the asking price. Expand
  43. DavidH.
    Oct 21, 2007
    10
    This game has an incredible sense of teamwork, strategy, and wild combat. Much better than most console games (namely Halo) in that aspect, and Iove how plain fun the game is, there's no way to, say, de-rank if your team happens to be bad so it's carefree in that sense.
  44. WillS.
    Oct 22, 2007
    10
    Valve really hit the nail on the head with Team Fortress 2. As some may know, the game has changed since TFC and the original TF on quake, but nearly all the changes have somehow helped the overall quality of the game. There is a slight shortage of available maps and a bug or two, but the replayability of most maps is quite high and naturally there will be continual additions to the Valve really hit the nail on the head with Team Fortress 2. As some may know, the game has changed since TFC and the original TF on quake, but nearly all the changes have somehow helped the overall quality of the game. There is a slight shortage of available maps and a bug or two, but the replayability of most maps is quite high and naturally there will be continual additions to the available library. The game is very well balanced, has an amazing art direction, and has soaked up a lot of my time, which is a quality that maybe 1 out of 12 games have, on average. Expand
  45. RockStar
    Oct 26, 2007
    10
    Great Sequel to TFC, Ive been playing since it was released on Half-Life and pretty much non stop till then. When I had read that they would be removing grenades I thought the game would suck but after playing it for well over 100 hours i gotta say...if you havent played it...try it...you will love it. Also Nick W. they didnt get rid of feign death because they wanted to add cloak, it was Great Sequel to TFC, Ive been playing since it was released on Half-Life and pretty much non stop till then. When I had read that they would be removing grenades I thought the game would suck but after playing it for well over 100 hours i gotta say...if you havent played it...try it...you will love it. Also Nick W. they didnt get rid of feign death because they wanted to add cloak, it was more so that the source engine cant pull off fiegn death because of the physics involved. if you hit a corpse with a rocket it moves and the devs said for some reason that was a problem. My only wish is that they brought SECONDARY grendades back to the game...like conc, scatter, emp, POISON, and nail grens. I agree regular grenades added to much chaos, but the secondary IMO just added more stratagy. Expand
  46. SandTan.
    Jul 21, 2008
    10
    "The Perfect Game"...The graphic are impressive! "Stunning effects", Bad Land, Gold Rush, Fast Lane and all the other new official and new non-official maps are superb....With the addition of the Pyro and Medic pack are some what cheating while introducing more combat stragery and weapon combinations. "The Blackburner rocks!", I'll be waiting for the other classes' pack and "The Perfect Game"...The graphic are impressive! "Stunning effects", Bad Land, Gold Rush, Fast Lane and all the other new official and new non-official maps are superb....With the addition of the Pyro and Medic pack are some what cheating while introducing more combat stragery and weapon combinations. "The Blackburner rocks!", I'll be waiting for the other classes' pack and newer weapon...who knows there might be triple-juming Scouts and Engineers' Super Sentry Gun...etc. Expand
  47. MarshallP.
    Nov 13, 2007
    10
    Decent game despite comparisons to TFC. Like it or not the Source engine is here to stay, at least for the time being until they release something new again. Maybe nows time for you CS and TFC players to upgrade that 8 year old hardware so your Source experience is halfway decent.
  48. SteveS.
    Dec 13, 2007
    10
    This FPS is brilliant! An inspiring sequal to TFC! Many people question its difference, but I love them! Having the classes different yet the best they can be to begin with really urges people to play them all and learn them all, instead of mastering one! getting the top score as pyro, medic and soldier make me want to keep trying with every other class! Definatly a keeper and DEFINATELY This FPS is brilliant! An inspiring sequal to TFC! Many people question its difference, but I love them! Having the classes different yet the best they can be to begin with really urges people to play them all and learn them all, instead of mastering one! getting the top score as pyro, medic and soldier make me want to keep trying with every other class! Definatly a keeper and DEFINATELY a game for the whole FPS family! Expand
  49. someone
    Dec 16, 2007
    10
    Team Fortress 2 Takes you right into the action, With it's Graphical Superiority compared to many older FPS's. This game deserves a definite 10. Why? For the intense combat forceing you into teamwork, and the superiority in graphics, combat, and a game being without glitches and almost no hackers in the entire game. This game puts your right into the action. It's not a game Team Fortress 2 Takes you right into the action, With it's Graphical Superiority compared to many older FPS's. This game deserves a definite 10. Why? For the intense combat forceing you into teamwork, and the superiority in graphics, combat, and a game being without glitches and almost no hackers in the entire game. This game puts your right into the action. It's not a game with just 1 character its a game with many characters and weapons. Also a Succesor to it's fathering game "Team Fortress". Anyone who would say this game is not an advancement to the "world of gaming" would be incorrect. Expand
  50. Aug 12, 2010
    9
    Before writing this review, I decided to skim through the user-submitted negative reviews to see if they had any valid points. Apart from their computer being unable to handle it, no, there weren't any. Most were TFC players who were disappointed when its sequel wasn't the same thing with a sprinkle of new features. I've dealt with this type of "prequel jingoism" with other such IPs asBefore writing this review, I decided to skim through the user-submitted negative reviews to see if they had any valid points. Apart from their computer being unable to handle it, no, there weren't any. Most were TFC players who were disappointed when its sequel wasn't the same thing with a sprinkle of new features. I've dealt with this type of "prequel jingoism" with other such IPs as Gears of War and Halo, and to those having trepidations regarding Team Fortress 2 based on these negative reviews, don't believe it. TF2 is amazingly fun. Each of the 9 classes is diverse and has its own unique role (though the lines between Soldier and Demoman occasionally get blurred, as the resident indirect attacking classes), and thanks to the new Item Drop and Crafting systems, each class is further diversified from its peers based on your loadout preferences. The map's themes are all relatively unvaried - desert, industrial, or industrial in the desert - but their designs are acceptable; there will be few, if any, maps that you will end up refusing or loathing to play. The few true shortcomings of this game include the imbalance of the Engineer against its direct counter, the Spy; and the console version is not supported, so the PC version is a must. The unique graphical style, accessibility to new players, extended depth for hardcore players and veterans, and amusing characters make Team Fortress 2 a must-have. Expand
  51. Aug 24, 2010
    10
    When TF2 first came out, it was an entertaining game, a cartoony take on online FPS multiplayer fun. But as with most online FPS', after a few weeks I got bored. The story normally would be over here and I'd give it an 8.5 for being damn good fun but essentially getting slowly more boring after a while.
    However, we're talking about Valve here, and regular map updates, achievement updates,
    When TF2 first came out, it was an entertaining game, a cartoony take on online FPS multiplayer fun. But as with most online FPS', after a few weeks I got bored. The story normally would be over here and I'd give it an 8.5 for being damn good fun but essentially getting slowly more boring after a while.
    However, we're talking about Valve here, and regular map updates, achievement updates, new modes, new weapons, new *hats* all make this the most addictive, varied and fun game out there. With the amount of content out for TF2 now it would be difficult to get bored with it in months and months of play. And if you did get bored of official developer levels, there would still be hundreds of original maps and even original game modes available on unofficial maps in the game. An example of this is a game called 'Prop Hunt' where you become a prop in the scenery and have to move to find a hiding spot amid other scenery and avoid being found by a team of Pyro's.
    I've never had this much fun with a game before, and unlike every single other FPS out there, I very very rarely get frustrated, because whatever happens can be improved upon strategically. Got shot from afar by a sniper because you're making yourself too obvious? Become a spy and use your cloak. Sick of that turret in the enemy's base mowing down your scout? Use the soldier to blow it apart.

    More updates are on the way, and the best online game out there is only getting better all the time :D.
    Expand
  52. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    The best multiplayer shooter in years. While CoD fanboys tout the game looks "unrealistic" and cartoonish, I laugh. Because yes, the game's graphics aren't anything to take a second glance at. But play it for the first time, and you'll be hooked. While basic gamemodes are included, there are also many new gamemodes that add a lot of different variety to the game. CTF, Point captures etc,The best multiplayer shooter in years. While CoD fanboys tout the game looks "unrealistic" and cartoonish, I laugh. Because yes, the game's graphics aren't anything to take a second glance at. But play it for the first time, and you'll be hooked. While basic gamemodes are included, there are also many new gamemodes that add a lot of different variety to the game. CTF, Point captures etc, but also game modes like Territorial Control (TC) and Zombie among dozens of others add so much to this game. Also included is modding, as in most Valve games, and there are many servers with features like "Roll the Dice" and other custom things. One element I don't like about it is the extra items. Way back in 2008, the game was perfect. Sure, there weren't any fancy weapons or hats but each item and class were geared specifically to be balanced. While, for the most part, it has remained that way, Valve just made it harder to keep the game balanced by adding the items they did. While many consider the game a hat simulator, I don't. You can easily play the game without hats, as they don't offer any advantage besides the cosmetic feature. Overall, I find this game to be extremely addicting and fun. All of this boils down to the one of the best games you can find for modern shooters. Expand
  53. Mar 15, 2011
    8
    Easily my favourite FPS/Action game. VALVe, as a company, are worthy of trusting regardless of the game they put out. I'm actually torn between rating it an 8, or a 9. With literally over 1500 hours in it, I'm still completely involved with the game. There's next to nothing to dislike, without nitpicking.
    Bottom line: If MW2 is worth $60, this game is easily $180. Luckily, it's not even
    Easily my favourite FPS/Action game. VALVe, as a company, are worthy of trusting regardless of the game they put out. I'm actually torn between rating it an 8, or a 9. With literally over 1500 hours in it, I'm still completely involved with the game. There's next to nothing to dislike, without nitpicking.
    Bottom line: If MW2 is worth $60, this game is easily $180. Luckily, it's not even close to that.
    Expand
  54. Sep 11, 2011
    10
    The best online shooter up to date. It brings both cartoonish setting with fancy characters and near to perfect class balance. You can pick whatever class you like based upon your tactic or visual preferences and have fun straight away. I've been into this game for dozens of hours up to now and it only gets better and deeper with more time you invest into it. Also a nice cyber-fightingThe best online shooter up to date. It brings both cartoonish setting with fancy characters and near to perfect class balance. You can pick whatever class you like based upon your tactic or visual preferences and have fun straight away. I've been into this game for dozens of hours up to now and it only gets better and deeper with more time you invest into it. Also a nice cyber-fighting discipline for those who look for a real challenge. Expand
  55. Aug 27, 2011
    10
    Team Fortress 2 is a FPS game... And it's one of the greatest of it's kind! This game is hilerious! It's an outstanding game! It's a fabulous game! It's a Fantastic game! It's just perfect... sorry, there is really not much more to say about the game then... 10/10 :')

    Get it, it's free! Thanks ValvE!
  56. Aug 30, 2011
    9
    It was one of the greatest games ever till the new update was released by Valve. The new players destroyed the old TF feeling and made the game too easy. The servers filled with snipers and spies are also disappointing. But even though it's a great game and can give you several memorable time if you know where to play.
  57. Jul 16, 2011
    10
    Great game, but don't waste your time on the xbox 360 version...especially now that its free on steam! On the PC there's lots of user content, mods and the game is constantly evolving.
  58. Jul 17, 2011
    10
    Stellar. Absolutely positively stellar in every possible and impossible way. The game controls are user-friendly, the humor in the game is great, and it's easy to pick up. Hell, after only one week of play I was pretty much on par with everyone else. The game balance is great, and the ability to switch classes on the fly is the huge kicker. Got a problematic Sniper or Heavy with aStellar. Absolutely positively stellar in every possible and impossible way. The game controls are user-friendly, the humor in the game is great, and it's easy to pick up. Hell, after only one week of play I was pretty much on par with everyone else. The game balance is great, and the ability to switch classes on the fly is the huge kicker. Got a problematic Sniper or Heavy with a Medic? Take them out as a Spy. Your team attacking but can't capture the final control point? Go Scout and capture it with relative ease. However, be wise about it, because whatever strong points you have someone quick enough can take you down. Each class has its little tricks that make it so special and, quite frankly, awesome. No class is boring here. Add the fact that it's Free to Play now and you have yourself one of the best games on the freakin' planet. Absolutely stellar.

    My only complaints are Snipers on Expert mode on Offline Practice. They have superhuman senses and quite frankly are kinda hard to get a clear shot of without getting shot instantly.
    Expand
  59. Jul 22, 2011
    9
    I have to say, this is an absolute great PC game by Valve. Sure, it lags a tiny bit, but it still withstands. Sure, its Pyro and Scout classes are a tiny bit unbalanced, but it's /still/ a great game.
  60. Jul 27, 2011
    10
    Completely and magnificently perfect. The gameplay is amazing. The classes are all unique and dynamic. It's a shame they included it in the console versions of the Orange Box, it would've been better as a PC exclusive. Plus, the endless variants of game modes on separate servers. There's something for everyone.
  61. Sep 10, 2011
    8
    A WOW game in general. Great in all aspects of gameplay, but there are some nasty limitations such as the weekly drop limit that hinders your progress...various modded servers ruin the atmosphere with "Achievement idle" and "achievement pharm" type maps. Despite this, the gameplay is excellent with a group of friends. The fast-paced but balanced combat between different classes reallyA WOW game in general. Great in all aspects of gameplay, but there are some nasty limitations such as the weekly drop limit that hinders your progress...various modded servers ruin the atmosphere with "Achievement idle" and "achievement pharm" type maps. Despite this, the gameplay is excellent with a group of friends. The fast-paced but balanced combat between different classes really gives a wonderful feeling. Expand
  62. Aug 1, 2011
    10
    Brilliant quality game. Graphics that are simple but fun, with exiting gameplay but a relaxed atmosphere. Great community quality with balanced classes for everyone's interests.Good game for all skill levels with great team play. Perfect for groups of friends and people who like a fast-paced game that keeps you entertained.
  63. Aug 21, 2011
    8
    Fun, fun, fun - with a BIG GUN! ):D And now it's free to play! So there is no reason not to try this Multiplaying Head Blaster from Valve!
  64. Aug 17, 2011
    10
    Gotta give this a 10. How could it get anything less? Its colorful. Its wacky. Its fun! Every single character class brings something important to the team. Teamwork is the focus of this game and if you want to win you're gonna need a lot of it. I've logged nearly 600 hours since Day 1 on TF2 and its earned every single penny I've spent on it. Plus with the Mann Catalog expandingGotta give this a 10. How could it get anything less? Its colorful. Its wacky. Its fun! Every single character class brings something important to the team. Teamwork is the focus of this game and if you want to win you're gonna need a lot of it. I've logged nearly 600 hours since Day 1 on TF2 and its earned every single penny I've spent on it. Plus with the Mann Catalog expanding all the time you'll never tire from collecting weapons or those highly sought after hats. Expand
  65. Aug 25, 2011
    10
    Probably one of the more fun games I've played! Great variety of weapons and yes, hats, lots and lots of hats. Emphasis on the team and team goals is great, less concern on the the players kill/death ratio. Friendly user base. Great game.
  66. Aug 27, 2011
    10
    WOW. that pretty much sums up this game. Team Fortress 2 is a class-based FPS, cartoony-style game, that is fun anytime. It is amazing that this game is F2P now. I would've happily paid $20 or more for this game. The personailities and traits surrounding these characters make them seem more personal, and unique. Gameplay is amazing; intense team coordination, in different game modes, toWOW. that pretty much sums up this game. Team Fortress 2 is a class-based FPS, cartoony-style game, that is fun anytime. It is amazing that this game is F2P now. I would've happily paid $20 or more for this game. The personailities and traits surrounding these characters make them seem more personal, and unique. Gameplay is amazing; intense team coordination, in different game modes, to victory.
    Must have for all gamers.
    Expand
  67. Oio
    Sep 6, 2011
    10
    Its my favourite multiplayer game of all time. 200% of fun with good looking graphics even 3 years after release. I bought it for 30$ and played for about 500 hours. Now its free, and i'm still playing :)
  68. Sep 7, 2011
    9
    Other than UT2004, this is one of the most played games that I own. It again elicits the "epic win" response, shortened breath, cold sweat, and an eruption of vocalizations upon winning. Incredibly addicting, and now being f2p it's even better. A must play.
  69. Sep 8, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Team Fortress 2 Is one of the best FPS games ever, In my opinion it deserves a Perfect score.
    But there's one thing that annoys me.... Its the Mann co. store. First thing is how expensive the items are in it, Like key for instance there really expensive and only for opening crates which nearly always have crap, Like weapons that are really old.
    Expand
  70. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    Team Fortress 2, a game I wanted for 3 years already, then it became free and I downloaded it, 10 hours later I started this game up on my crappy pc, the fps was low it lagged alot but I still had fun, now I have a better pc and own alot more games, but TF2 makes me want to come back the whole time! It really is the best fun (for free) that you can have, I already bought a premium accountTeam Fortress 2, a game I wanted for 3 years already, then it became free and I downloaded it, 10 hours later I started this game up on my crappy pc, the fps was low it lagged alot but I still had fun, now I have a better pc and own alot more games, but TF2 makes me want to come back the whole time! It really is the best fun (for free) that you can have, I already bought a premium account and me and my friends are going to buy a server soon, download it, play it and waste 115 hours or more in 3 months (Like me) Expand
  71. Sep 13, 2011
    9
    I notice that most of the people complaining about the game got it for the PS or something, not the PC. Team Fortress is a really fun game that might sometimes be frustrating but is really fun.
  72. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    Many many props are due to Valve for making this a free to play game. Me and my son started playing this game together and i went and ordered him the Orange Box which we both also love. regardless of price this game is totally worth it. They have MP down team auto balance and smooth smooth gameplay. This game is endlessly fun with so many classes and play styles to choose from. I recommendMany many props are due to Valve for making this a free to play game. Me and my son started playing this game together and i went and ordered him the Orange Box which we both also love. regardless of price this game is totally worth it. They have MP down team auto balance and smooth smooth gameplay. This game is endlessly fun with so many classes and play styles to choose from. I recommend this game to any FPS lover. Expand
  73. Sep 13, 2011
    8
    Great free online shooter. I hear a lot of friends saying that they don't like the cartoony style, but i thing it's what makes the game so much fun to play.
  74. Sep 19, 2011
    10
    Basically, the pinnacle of multiplayer game. Pure, mindless team-fun. I recommend it to everyone, moreso now, when it's free.

    To be honest, I hated TFC. And I do love TF2, it's just a perfect multiplayer game.
  75. Aug 29, 2012
    10
    Since Mann vs. Machine is out, I think it's time for a re-review of TF2. In case you don't already know; Team Fortress 2 is a competitive online shooter with wonderful cartoon visuals, engaging class-based teamplay and is still more fun than most other online shooters. The MvM update adds a fairly substantial co-op mode in which you team up with four others to stop robots from deploying aSince Mann vs. Machine is out, I think it's time for a re-review of TF2. In case you don't already know; Team Fortress 2 is a competitive online shooter with wonderful cartoon visuals, engaging class-based teamplay and is still more fun than most other online shooters. The MvM update adds a fairly substantial co-op mode in which you team up with four others to stop robots from deploying a bomb to your base, so it's basically an elaborate form of tower defence. Like the main game, MvM never ceases to be entertaining even whilst your team is getting repeatedly ground into the dirt. The game is also free, so unless you're paranoid about disk space, then Team Fortress 2 is a no-brainer, even if you're not into online shooting games. Expand
  76. Oct 26, 2011
    10
    Incredibly creative, fantastic teamplay, very well balanced and hilarious in every way. This is the game for anyone looking to blow time in a fun, fair and not-so-hardcore way. Ignore the trolls that complain about OP weapons and a lack of skill. Firstly, every class and weapon can be countered with teamwork, I cannot emphasize this fact enough. This is not in any way a run and gun CoDIncredibly creative, fantastic teamplay, very well balanced and hilarious in every way. This is the game for anyone looking to blow time in a fun, fair and not-so-hardcore way. Ignore the trolls that complain about OP weapons and a lack of skill. Firstly, every class and weapon can be countered with teamwork, I cannot emphasize this fact enough. This is not in any way a run and gun CoD style shooter, it requires you to judge a situation before entering the fray and actually work with teammates via the use of Ubers, clearing sticky bombs, taking out turrets, portals and enemy snipers etc.. And 2nd, if the game requires no skill, then why are so many of you complaining about not getting any kills? Or that enemies are too hard to kill? Expand
  77. Nov 5, 2011
    10
    My favorite game of all time. Classes, to me, are very balanced and I love how the spy works. Nothing like sneaking up on someone and stabbing them in the back... The best of the best of mutiplayer games.
  78. Nov 3, 2011
    10
    This game is well yeah.. Very entertaining and funny! I would recommend everybody to download it, as it is a free game which just makes it even better!

    Funny game play, and the way the game look, is just funny too.! So 10/10
  79. Nov 3, 2011
    10
    I made this account just to laugh at the haters of this game. @gabrielU there is no such class as bomberman, concluding you probably barly spent and hour on this game. Heck, i knew the classes names before i started playing.... @darthpoopies In case you didnt notice, all of the item in the game are made with some benifit and some defect, i agree its not perfectly balenced, but the game isI made this account just to laugh at the haters of this game. @gabrielU there is no such class as bomberman, concluding you probably barly spent and hour on this game. Heck, i knew the classes names before i started playing.... @darthpoopies In case you didnt notice, all of the item in the game are made with some benifit and some defect, i agree its not perfectly balenced, but the game is made so that in one on one battles the outcome will depend on class type and skill. @burtH Lol? @MoiaM Might want to try actually switching classes. @BlakeC you really shouldnt use to this day, at least have the decency to deleate your comment now that trade and random drops are working better. @HelpU LOL you call 40 hours a "good" amount of time? @BeanB so what you are saying is that theres no "pros" in this game? theres no way to inprove your skill? Listen to yourself for a second... @JoshuaS In about 50 games i will only find one hacker, and even then he will probably be kicked before the round ends. Go join a game like crossfire, and enjoy being killed every 10 seconds by some kid who thinks its funny to hack. Crossfire actually made kickvoting INCREDIBLY easy just because they had so many hackers. @Frank Take a second to MAKE A COMPLETE SENTENCE. but besides that, i have yet to encounter one passworded server... If your game is crashing, i would recomend going to graphics and decreasing the quality, if that doesnt work its probably the server, and you can just find a server with a good latancty instead of joining a random one. Expand
  80. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    This was a fun game, this just shows that fps's dont need insane graphics or anything to be fun. When im bored of other games I just play this. As its free and i dont think it has high system requirements I think everybody should download this. I havent played multiplayer but the single player ive played is fun.
  81. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Team Fortress 2 is simply amazing. The humorous character design and awesome art style make's this game that much greater. Each class has it's own personality, that is fitting to their purpose. The gameplay is simple and fun, and extremely easy to get used to. The community is great (for the most part) and the frequent updates keep this game going. Countless hat's and weapons are anTeam Fortress 2 is simply amazing. The humorous character design and awesome art style make's this game that much greater. Each class has it's own personality, that is fitting to their purpose. The gameplay is simple and fun, and extremely easy to get used to. The community is great (for the most part) and the frequent updates keep this game going. Countless hat's and weapons are an attraction to the game as well, making other players jealous of your looks. Expand
  82. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Truly a masterpiece of game design, in every respect. The beautiful, distinct art direction and sound design are tied directly into the gameplay. The gameplay itself is a refreshing blend of fast-paced action and strategy. And to use the capitalist argument, it's free, so you really have nothing to lose in trying it.
  83. Jul 28, 2012
    10
    Overall it is a brilliantly designed game. It is not your average FPS. Team Fortress 2 offers a variety of characters, each with completely different specializations, weapons, visual aspects and personalities. It combines fictional aspects, humor and "toony" looks for various reasons. Many other first person shooters have an in-game shop that usually includes stronger weapons and itemsOverall it is a brilliantly designed game. It is not your average FPS. Team Fortress 2 offers a variety of characters, each with completely different specializations, weapons, visual aspects and personalities. It combines fictional aspects, humor and "toony" looks for various reasons. Many other first person shooters have an in-game shop that usually includes stronger weapons and items that you must have to be successful. Team Fortress 2, also known as TF2 provides a shop that merely contains extra items that add effects to your character or help you to obtain weapons that can usually be obtained in-game either by picking them up, trading or crafting them yourself. Team Fortress 2 is based around balance. Nothing is "the best," everything is based around different tasks a player may need to complete. Each character has specific roles that are more successful when used in the right place, at the right time. Every weapon is unique, some have special abilities with a cost to offset the ability's potency. The graphics are cartoonish to add humor and allow even the slowest of computers to play it smoothly. Everything in TF2 has humor. TF2 adds humor, such as pyroland. Pyroland was recently released as a part of the Pyro storyline. It is a cheerful alteration to TF2, featuring brightly colored maps with candyland like aspects. Pyroland also features players with high pitched voices, new weapons and gear, and new word spoofs like "DOMINATION" is now "BEST FRIENDS". I personally think this is the best fps I've ever played because of its unique comedy, balance, and game-play. Expand
  84. Aug 1, 2012
    10
    The finest example of what most multiplayer games should be and what games nowadays should try to be like. Fun. Most games today are trying to be realistic , something video games shouldn't be all about . What team fortress 2 does is breaks most rules of physics and logic and creates a fun, balanced, multiplayer fps that updates regularly. Not to mention it is free (although many wouldThe finest example of what most multiplayer games should be and what games nowadays should try to be like. Fun. Most games today are trying to be realistic , something video games shouldn't be all about . What team fortress 2 does is breaks most rules of physics and logic and creates a fun, balanced, multiplayer fps that updates regularly. Not to mention it is free (although many would say it is a bad thing) so if you have a fast, working Pc/Mac this game is a must. Expand
  85. Dec 6, 2014
    9
    This game is so close to perfection. The classes are balanced so if you die, you are probably just bad at the game. The only thing I don't like are the overpowered weapons like the sticky jumper. And it's free on steam so why not?
  86. [Anonymous]
    Oct 12, 2007
    8
    The only thing keeping me from giving this game a 9 is the fact that their critical hit system is inperfect and creats a unskillful classic arcadish thing that belongs in a single player rather than multiplayer game. If this was changed along with a lot more different ideas of how to play TF2 besides capture the flag and attack/defend points. Then it would have recieved a 10/10 score from me.
  87. ChaseF.
    Nov 25, 2007
    9
    One of the funnest games ive ever played! I grew up on the first one, and antipating the 2nd, with its Disney and Pixar like graphics, i was ready to try the second. I played for about 2 hours straight just as the spy. Definetly a must see at the least.
  88. SeanD.
    Dec 22, 2007
    9
    The game play is fresh and keeps me addicted to it even after 80 hours of play. There are two few original maps, but that will be addressed soon with an upcoming update. That balance is close to perfect on the built in maps but is skewed in third party maps' open areas. So the tight corridors and strategically placed sniping areas keep the action constant and ferocious. If both teams The game play is fresh and keeps me addicted to it even after 80 hours of play. There are two few original maps, but that will be addressed soon with an upcoming update. That balance is close to perfect on the built in maps but is skewed in third party maps' open areas. So the tight corridors and strategically placed sniping areas keep the action constant and ferocious. If both teams are skilled, there are no stalemates. Expand
  89. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    great game. still one of my favorite multiplayer experience on the pc. i enjoy pretty much everything about this game, including the hats (yeah i said it)
  90. Jul 3, 2011
    10
    I've loved this game for years. There are few games I play religiously, but this is on the list.... defiantly one if you aren't for another Call of Duty clone. It has miles of personality, and doesn't take itself too seriously. I've not yet paid for an item or a hat, and never plan to. Only a whiner is going to complain about the balance of item pack items, which can be gotten for free inI've loved this game for years. There are few games I play religiously, but this is on the list.... defiantly one if you aren't for another Call of Duty clone. It has miles of personality, and doesn't take itself too seriously. I've not yet paid for an item or a hat, and never plan to. Only a whiner is going to complain about the balance of item pack items, which can be gotten for free in the most part anyway, and I've generally be able to trade for anything I have wanted. Expand
  91. Jul 29, 2011
    9
    Valve is probably the class of the video game world. They don't pump out 200 games a year like EA does, and that's a good thing. Because they take the time to put excellent graphics, gameplay, physics, and storyline into every game they release. Team Fortress 2 is unlike most of the other games that Valve has made. That's because there is no plot. It is, simply put, a class-based firstValve is probably the class of the video game world. They don't pump out 200 games a year like EA does, and that's a good thing. Because they take the time to put excellent graphics, gameplay, physics, and storyline into every game they release. Team Fortress 2 is unlike most of the other games that Valve has made. That's because there is no plot. It is, simply put, a class-based first person shooter. The gameplay is fairly simple with it's mouse and keyboard controls (mandatory for all PC 1st person shooters). The goal of the game is to win in team based, objective game modes. One of my highest praises for this game is in it's game modes and classes. There's no overpowering assault rifle class to render the other classes useless, and there's no deathmatch mode to leave all the other modes as barren wastelands. The graphics remind of Toy Story with their cartoony look... a very bloody, violent Toy Story... and they couldn't be more appropriate, as this is a slapstick game. My one complaint for the game is an odd one... there's something holding it back from being a classic, and I'm not sure what it is. There's something in my mind that says, "Should I play Team Fortress 2 right now...? Nah..." and I can't explain it. Thankfully, they update the game periodically and give it new maps.

    My favourite class? Spy. Nothing more satisfying than infiltrating the enemy's base and stabbing a nemesis in the back.
    Expand
  92. Jul 9, 2011
    10
    Greatest game of all time. And it keeps getting better. I have 1000+ hours and I still keep coming back and so do my friends. Its not just the WONDERFUL gameplay built on a fair balanced and reliable system. Its the constant updates that make the game organic. It's constantly growing and free to boot. If it had a metascore of 92 when it release, it needs a 99 now with of the refiningGreatest game of all time. And it keeps getting better. I have 1000+ hours and I still keep coming back and so do my friends. Its not just the WONDERFUL gameplay built on a fair balanced and reliable system. Its the constant updates that make the game organic. It's constantly growing and free to boot. If it had a metascore of 92 when it release, it needs a 99 now with of the refining its gone through. Expand
  93. Jul 3, 2011
    10
    Definitely a game that really inspires other games alike, TF2 is a true test for gamers. The gory humor and variety of weapons, maps, and modes, keeps you entertained for a LONG time. I would go far as to say to upgrade to the Premium account, because it is THAT good.
  94. Jul 13, 2011
    10
    Another great FPS from Valve, it's very fun to play and the characters have funny dialogues, many different classes provides each one with one specific strength and weakness, and overall it's very fun.
    And now it's free to play! what are you waiting?
  95. Jun 24, 2011
    10
    There are only three words needed to describe this game, "BEST GAME EVER!!!" There is literally no game better and i can guarantee there won't be unless they make team fortress 3. The game is Perfectly balanced in every single way. there are tons of weapons for each of the nine classes, all of which have a totally different personality and play style. Do you like being fast and zoomingThere are only three words needed to describe this game, "BEST GAME EVER!!!" There is literally no game better and i can guarantee there won't be unless they make team fortress 3. The game is Perfectly balanced in every single way. there are tons of weapons for each of the nine classes, all of which have a totally different personality and play style. Do you like being fast and zooming around your enemies while shooting the crap out of them? then the scout is for you. Like to run out into the battlefield guns blazing? then the heavy is for you. I don't think any sane person can possibly dislike this game, and guess what, It's free now!!! They just released an update for TF2 that adds many weapons for almost every class and also makes the game free to play! Expand
  96. Jun 25, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Beautifully made game
    I have always loved it and always will.
    I Am Really happy that it is now free and that everyone can enjoy this
    Wonderful game.I love this Game
    Everyone should play it!
    Cant wait till my friends download it and play with me =)
    Expand
  97. Jun 26, 2011
    10
    Perfect 10. This game, now being free, has it all. A backstory, strategy, a dedicated youtube channel introducing all the players, active communities, and so much more. I am hard pressed to find a game that can give me this much fun for hours on end. If you get bored, you can always vary it up someway to create an interesting meld. Achievements are also fun to obtain and you get themPerfect 10. This game, now being free, has it all. A backstory, strategy, a dedicated youtube channel introducing all the players, active communities, and so much more. I am hard pressed to find a game that can give me this much fun for hours on end. If you get bored, you can always vary it up someway to create an interesting meld. Achievements are also fun to obtain and you get them often. The graphics are great, the speed and accuracy are also on par with any other online game out there. Its challenging sometimes, you will always find a new way to play and solutions to create. A+ to the developers out there for making such a rock solid game. I have yet to experience one bad thing about it. Expand
  98. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    It's been what, 3 or 4 years since it's release, and this game still has me coming back. The classes are perfectly balanced, maps are fun along with their game modes, and with so many modders constantly adding free content available to the public, along with Valve's free downloads, along with the fact that this game is free to play, why would you not get it?
  99. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    Good ole team fortress 2, Like Team Fortress Classic the idea of teams with special players is just genius no more spray and prey (Excluding HEAVY) you need tactics baby. Team Fortress II is so much like the Classic only Polished with more modern ideas and better graphics.
  100. Jul 11, 2011
    9
    This game has its good points and bad, just like every game out there. Thankfully, its good parts far outweigh its bad. The classes are mostly balanced and are worthy of the title. It takes a different kind of person to appreciate this game though. This game is meant to be fun in a cartoony way, not necessarily competitively. One needs to know when to play seriously, and when to justThis game has its good points and bad, just like every game out there. Thankfully, its good parts far outweigh its bad. The classes are mostly balanced and are worthy of the title. It takes a different kind of person to appreciate this game though. This game is meant to be fun in a cartoony way, not necessarily competitively. One needs to know when to play seriously, and when to just screw around and have fun with the other players. The only real issue is gameplay at times. Spies and especially Snipers ruin perfectly good maps that have open space. The weapons that have been added lately aren't that creative and/or they aren't balanced (except for the Uber Update). Overall, this game is just pure cartoonish fun (as in you can't take this game TOO seriously) and well worth any time put into it, especially since it is now Free to Play Expand
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. AceGamez
    100
    The marriage of highly stylised retro-spy presentation, fresh, high octane action, deep and varied classes and the underlying twinkle of humour in its metaphorical eye make Team Fortress 2 far more than just your average fragfest. Long after the novelty of the graphics wears thin, we are left with a refined and accessible multiplayer game that simultaneously cultivates new players whilst retaining enough depth to accommodate even the hardiest of veterans.
  2. The game also does a lovely job of framing your relationship with other players and nurturing them.
  3. It's one hell of a game. With its powerful artistic style and blazingly quick, yet accessible gameplay, it's enough to melt the icy cynicism imprisoning the hearts of even the most jaded among us. That being said, it's not the most complex shooter out there.