Team Fortress 2 PC

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 5855 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Pierre-LoupP.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    This game is simply awesome ! I won't describe all the pretty cool things because there are too many ^^. But the things that make this game really great are the little details that make the game fun and easy for beginners (but if you want to master it, it can be very very long, especially because new content is released approximatively every month).
  2. DouglasB
    Jun 2, 2008
    10
    This is a very addictive game. Fun to play, hard to put down. There's a very broad range of characters to choose from and you can spend a lot of time learning the tricks of each one. Fortunately, there's lots of YouTube videos that show tips and tricks for each one. If you have a lot of time on your hands, then getting this game is very much worth the price. The only part I This is a very addictive game. Fun to play, hard to put down. There's a very broad range of characters to choose from and you can spend a lot of time learning the tricks of each one. Fortunately, there's lots of YouTube videos that show tips and tricks for each one. If you have a lot of time on your hands, then getting this game is very much worth the price. The only part I don't like is the load out screen that shows how much game time you spent on each character. After a while, you can start to feel a bit guilty knowing how much collective time you have spent! Expand
  3. KoltiinD.
    Jun 22, 2008
    10
    Excellent, well rounded, addictive online game! The graphics are wonderful, the gameplay is smooth, the animations are beautiful, the voice acting is perfect, the advertisements are funny, the online play is free, the controls are simple and customizable, the only downside of this game are when you have to briefly wait for it to load!
  4. JanaS.
    Jul 17, 2008
    9
    I love the game, it's fun to play, the characters are just hilarious and if people can get teamplay going, it's just awesome. Some weapons/classes seem a bit overpowered at times but if you choose the right class to counter, the balance can be kept in check most of the time. The regular updates and bugfixes are just great, that's how you keep people from getting frustrated I love the game, it's fun to play, the characters are just hilarious and if people can get teamplay going, it's just awesome. Some weapons/classes seem a bit overpowered at times but if you choose the right class to counter, the balance can be kept in check most of the time. The regular updates and bugfixes are just great, that's how you keep people from getting frustrated and/or bored! Expand
  5. VincentA.
    Aug 10, 2008
    10
    TF2 is too the shooting genre what wow is to the MMO genre. Exeptional. It's clean and polished with a fantastic art style that never grows dull. It has fleshed out characters that actually draw you in and feel as if their real people and the game...WELL ITS PRETTY DAMN BALANCED! its impossible to make everything perfect but this game strides to meet that benchmark.
  6. PanzerXiII
    Aug 15, 2008
    10
    This game is a very good game. It is easy to pick up and learn, but to learn the little intricacies of each character class is very hard. For example, most newbies will pick the soldier class because it is easy to pick up and learn, however, master at this class will learn how to Horizontal Rocket Jump and etc. If you don't like this game, either... 1. You don't have a good This game is a very good game. It is easy to pick up and learn, but to learn the little intricacies of each character class is very hard. For example, most newbies will pick the soldier class because it is easy to pick up and learn, however, master at this class will learn how to Horizontal Rocket Jump and etc. If you don't like this game, either... 1. You don't have a good computer. 2. You don't appreciate a good game. That's my two cents, folks. Expand
  7. $MOB$-DevilDoggSince96
    Aug 2, 2008
    10
    First of all dont pay any attention to few poor reviews from people saying the game lags... they most likely dont have a good computer. Secondly... TF2 is NOT a sequel to TFC... it is a sequel to the original Team Fortress mod for Quake... TFC was just a remake of that mod. Now about TF2... the graphics are totally unique and a nice chance of pace that makes the game stand out. The First of all dont pay any attention to few poor reviews from people saying the game lags... they most likely dont have a good computer. Secondly... TF2 is NOT a sequel to TFC... it is a sequel to the original Team Fortress mod for Quake... TFC was just a remake of that mod. Now about TF2... the graphics are totally unique and a nice chance of pace that makes the game stand out. The gameplay is actually more balanced than the original TF, or TFC for many reasons. At first I missed the grenades from previous versions... but without the grenades you dont have people as any class gren or conc jumping past half of the map. In the early days of TF back in 96 before gren and conc jumping caught on players would have to navigate the map, which meant there was action everywhere. Once the jumps took hold some maps had sections that nobody ever went to (say the 2fort ramp room for example) because they would all jump from their base to the enemy sniper deck and go down the spiral. TF2 allows certain classes like the soldier and demo to rocket or sticky jump, and with the scouts double jump he can also access certain areas faster, but the other classes are forced to fight their way in, and in turn cause the enemy team to defend all areas. The addition of new weapons worried me at first but it didnt hurt the game one bit... it keeps things interesting and none of the new weapons arent really better or worse than the originals. Team Fortress revolutionized multiplayer team games over a decade ago. TFC was popular for a while but died off... TF2 has staying power and is endless amounts of fun. Old school players will miss the grenades at first, but give it a chance, you will fall in love with this game very quickly. Expand
  8. OlivierJ.
    Aug 3, 2008
    10
    great teamplay game
  9. RandallH.
    Sep 18, 2008
    9
    I love the concept of the game. (I do not know why people thing there is no tactics in this game) I have noticed that most of the time your team will loose if you do not have at least one person helping and the team agreeing to do it. (From my perspective) Anyways, aside from that, I would recommend that if at all possible that you do get it with the PC, the console is just not good for I love the concept of the game. (I do not know why people thing there is no tactics in this game) I have noticed that most of the time your team will loose if you do not have at least one person helping and the team agreeing to do it. (From my perspective) Anyways, aside from that, I would recommend that if at all possible that you do get it with the PC, the console is just not good for the game or you can not get the best out of TF2 from console. I will say the cartoony graphics are good, and most people that play the game will not get tired of it, there are some but not many. And with all the new stuff with maps, and gametypes makes it even funnier to play. For the most part the new weapons are in there own way very useful, if you know how to use them and when. I also like that they changed the milestones to get the weapons. It is not just a little easier, but for people that are not the best at the game can at least get one or two of them. The only cons about the game are the Medics achievements. I do think that some of them are a bit silly. Like urbering your friends and urbering the Scout. Actually it scared me when they released the medic. I thought that this would be the result for all the classes but luckily for the most part the other classes so far seem to be reasonable. The only other con is how that some of the PL maps need a fix. The new one that was released with the Heavy pack is better but still tends to favor the defense. And as for Dustbowl (sigh I have played this map too much) Defense is very difficult (when you have Even teams). Overall this game can be one of the best. Actually when I first got Orange Box, I never played TF2 (I have had TF2 just about as long as it has been out) at first I played it but never really enjoyed it. But ever since of May of 2008, I have played more and more of this game enjoying it the more I play it. So for some of you this game could grow (meaning you will enjoy it more) like it did for me. The final score is 9.2 I just rounded Expand
  10. isaacb.
    Jan 19, 2010
    10
    awsome and the best fps i have ever played and i would all so like to say is... TF2 IS THE BEST GAME OF ALL TIME ALL TIME!
  11. DanH.
    Nov 27, 2007
    9
    I absolutley enjoy the game, it has excellent gameplay, very varied classes, and great potential. The only thing that keeps me from giving a ten is the lack of Standard maps, but i hope these will be replaced by decent, balanced custom maps.
  12. TimB.
    Nov 28, 2007
    9
    Would be nice if it werent for all the drops with Vista and I have tried all the "fixes" I can find.
  13. KeithM.
    Oct 19, 2007
    9
    Great game well worth the price. Not alot of maps, but the maps that are in the game have tons of replay to them. If you like fast FPS fun then this is the game for you.
  14. AnonymousMC
    Dec 12, 2007
    9
    This game if very addicting and all my friends play it. Although it gets a little more boring as time passed on but that is just due to dumb ass team-mates who sware over Mic. You will also get mad because you die alot. However you can pick your own class and just have fun its a game. Its warth it buy it aslng as you and ur team woth togeather you are sure to win =).
  15. SH
    Dec 13, 2007
    9
    This game is just amazing, some things might be not so cool but they are rarely to spot. Nice multiplayer and great graphics.
  16. KyleO.
    Nov 25, 2008
    9
    I've got to say that I'm not huge into many first-person shooters, but this had everything I liked. It was fast-paced, with well-balanced characters, and overall I love the cartoon-like aspect of it. Of course, some people may not like the wait at certain points, but I'm sure that can be changed. I'd definitely recommend it to something that is a casual online gamer.
  17. AnonymousMC
    Jan 13, 2008
    9
    Many of the people just learning about team fortress don't realize the game actually began as a mod to Quake capture the flag. There were many more maps than even TFC has. The 2 Fort map actually originated from Quake Team Fortress 2fort4. Many of the original maps were simalar to two fort in that both sides had identical bases. I hope that a time comes when someon with talent canMany of the people just learning about team fortress don't realize the game actually began as a mod to Quake capture the flag. There were many more maps than even TFC has. The 2 Fort map actually originated from Quake Team Fortress 2fort4. Many of the original maps were simalar to two fort in that both sides had identical bases. I hope that a time comes when someon with talent can find and adapt the original Team Fortress maps to give some varaiety. That is why I couldn't go with a 10. Expand
  18. LukeM.
    Dec 25, 2008
    9
    Best Game Ever!!!!
  19. AnonymousMC
    Dec 31, 2008
    9
    one of the best online game ever, very competitive and LOTS of content. it might be a bit harsh for new players since there are all those new weapons to unlock and all those maps to get use to but once u get the hang of it, u will not want to hit the exit button
  20. RayR.
    May 31, 2008
    9
    A fun game with cool classes and gr8 maps but i felt that tfc is a little more fun then this multiplayer slice of heaven.
  21. ElijahW.
    Jun 19, 2008
    10
    This game is perfect because of it's balance. Every class plays a specific role in it's team. One bad player and it will show. You really have to make a team effort to win a match. I also want to say that I love the achievement packs that are being released every other month or-so. This really sucks any monotony out of the game and keeps player coming back to try new ideas. With This game is perfect because of it's balance. Every class plays a specific role in it's team. One bad player and it will show. You really have to make a team effort to win a match. I also want to say that I love the achievement packs that are being released every other month or-so. This really sucks any monotony out of the game and keeps player coming back to try new ideas. With every achievement comes a new way to play each and every class. Expand
  22. TimN.
    Jul 17, 2008
    9
    Very addicting game. Most variety of characters and abilities I've seen in a video game. And a good use for every one.
  23. ThomasK.
    Jul 17, 2008
    10
    This game is absolute gold. I feel that the only problem with it is that sometimes with their updates to the specific classes you get a bit of a power shift in classes that takes a while to balance out. Honestly, though, you'll still have loads of fun even while getting slaughtered.
  24. AaronM
    Aug 17, 2008
    10
    I first played Team Fortress 2 on the Playstation 3 version, while trying out the Orange Box. I absolutely loved it, but I didn't like the fact that there were only 6 default maps, and it was full of glitches. So, not long afterwards, I purchased Team Fortress 2 on Steam. I loved it even more than the Playstation 3 version. I've been reading people's reviews, and this last I first played Team Fortress 2 on the Playstation 3 version, while trying out the Orange Box. I absolutely loved it, but I didn't like the fact that there were only 6 default maps, and it was full of glitches. So, not long afterwards, I purchased Team Fortress 2 on Steam. I loved it even more than the Playstation 3 version. I've been reading people's reviews, and this last part of my message is for the guys that give it a red rating. First, for whoever complains about the lack of interest, go and make your own custom maps for the game. Make it how YOU wanted the maps to turn out like, and find out how difficult it is to create a great map. Secondly, for the people complaining about the Medic's achievement pack, what is there to complain about? 39 achievement only for the best of players willing to show off, and three shiny new weapons. (This applies to the Pyro update, and in 2 or 3 days, the Heavy update.) Third, for people who don't appreciate the graphics, what did you expect? Something boring and usual? Also, something else I would like to add. If you think this game fails, YOU fail. Expand
  25. JeremyN.
    Aug 22, 2008
    10
    Team Fortress 2 is Truly a masterpiece. Each map has a fully elaborate environment with a cartoonish feel. Each character/class has a recognizable personality that truly defines the game. Each new update brings more fun to the game, from unlockable weapons to new game modes and maps. In my opinion, Team Fortress 2 is one of the greatest First Person Shooter(FPS) class based game of all time.
  26. TaylorC.
    Sep 13, 2008
    10
    Team Fortress 2 is my favorite multiplayer game ever by far. This game has no deathmatch. The game is instead focused on very strategic gameplay types. There are 9 different character classes and to win, a team must work together with all classes and dominate the other team. If you buy this game, make sure you buy the PC version, it is the only to have updates so far and the updates will Team Fortress 2 is my favorite multiplayer game ever by far. This game has no deathmatch. The game is instead focused on very strategic gameplay types. There are 9 different character classes and to win, a team must work together with all classes and dominate the other team. If you buy this game, make sure you buy the PC version, it is the only to have updates so far and the updates will only be free on PC. The updates however, are not just fixing bugs and balancing. Each update adds new weapons, new maps, and much more and are usually based on one class. Expand
  27. asdffdsa
    Sep 27, 2008
    10
    This is the best FPS I've played in a while. Only problem is the limited number of maps if you don't have it for PC. If you have it for the PC though, you're doing great. Seriously, 9 classes, no under or overpowered ones. Leave it to Valve to find a way to do that.
  28. AlexC
    Dec 19, 2009
    9
    From most of the multiplayer games, this game would be selected as the most craziest kind of game to have! TF2 is best used as something to play when your just ready to play a bit of team! But even though the game is called Team Fortress 2. It doesnt exactly live up to its name. Most players ignore for a medic. And when someone needs assistance. most people ignore. Bit still. games holds From most of the multiplayer games, this game would be selected as the most craziest kind of game to have! TF2 is best used as something to play when your just ready to play a bit of team! But even though the game is called Team Fortress 2. It doesnt exactly live up to its name. Most players ignore for a medic. And when someone needs assistance. most people ignore. Bit still. games holds a great amount of awesomness Expand
  29. LeeW
    Jul 21, 2009
    9
    Probably one of the top multi-player games of this decade. Very well balanced between the classes although people would have you believe they're not balanced at all. As ever with most Valve games I think the support is amazing and we constantly see improvements added and of course the much loved class updates. Splendid map design and everyone loves the SDK allowing the community to Probably one of the top multi-player games of this decade. Very well balanced between the classes although people would have you believe they're not balanced at all. As ever with most Valve games I think the support is amazing and we constantly see improvements added and of course the much loved class updates. Splendid map design and everyone loves the SDK allowing the community to add to the game as well. All hosted on steam which allows for seem less updating. Great game, 9 stars because with everything there is room for a little improvement. Expand
  30. yourmother
    Dec 26, 2009
    9
    a good game overall granted some times it can get stale but thats what the thousands upon thousands of custom maps and gmaetypes are for ive actualy seen some idiots COMPLAINING about custom maps...as well as a bunch of other stuff thats untrue completely (ie lag no teamwork and unbalanced) look around this and look at every bad vote, there all complete crap with nothing to support it one a good game overall granted some times it can get stale but thats what the thousands upon thousands of custom maps and gmaetypes are for ive actualy seen some idiots COMPLAINING about custom maps...as well as a bunch of other stuff thats untrue completely (ie lag no teamwork and unbalanced) look around this and look at every bad vote, there all complete crap with nothing to support it one of the complaints is: i get killed within 5 seconds of joining a server. i mean come on thats teh best these bad crtitics can come up with... the anti cheat is insanely good i havent seen a hacker in any vac game since i started playing vac games (2003) the only think that i can think of thats bad in this game is its not tactical its more of a drop in and play kinda game...and alot of people like those games anyways :P Expand
  31. Oct 8, 2010
    10
    Great game, More developers should look at what value is doing with this game, this game has the greatest support for its community. The big thing is they keep adding to this game making it better and more enjoyable and on top of that they do it all for free which tells you that they want you to keep playing there product because you know that they love it as much as you do. The downsideGreat game, More developers should look at what value is doing with this game, this game has the greatest support for its community. The big thing is they keep adding to this game making it better and more enjoyable and on top of that they do it all for free which tells you that they want you to keep playing there product because you know that they love it as much as you do. The downside if any is there is no solo player which means if your internet goes down then you won't be able to enjoy the game. I highly recommend buying this game because they are currently still adding to it and that just amazing. Expand
  32. Oct 26, 2010
    8
    A great online team fps, 'man'conomy is not my brand of tea though, microtransactions for an advantage in game is an evil mechanism, ruining the balance and makes you feel cheap if you do buy that new gun. Standard load outs are outdated now and although you can still do well you can't win against the weapon advantage all the time, overall it leaves a bad taste in my mouth, still i keepA great online team fps, 'man'conomy is not my brand of tea though, microtransactions for an advantage in game is an evil mechanism, ruining the balance and makes you feel cheap if you do buy that new gun. Standard load outs are outdated now and although you can still do well you can't win against the weapon advantage all the time, overall it leaves a bad taste in my mouth, still i keep coming back to what is a superb fame anyway with only the slight marr of microtransactions. Expand
  33. Dec 9, 2010
    9
    I found Team Fortress 2 Fun in short bursts but beyond that it gets a bit repetitive. Everything about the game however is highly polished as we have come to expect from Valve. I find the way people Grind for game items quite offputting & boring. I think the game would be a lot better if it gave the regular rewards for active playing (ontop of the achievement ones and randoms) Instead ofI found Team Fortress 2 Fun in short bursts but beyond that it gets a bit repetitive. Everything about the game however is highly polished as we have come to expect from Valve. I find the way people Grind for game items quite offputting & boring. I think the game would be a lot better if it gave the regular rewards for active playing (ontop of the achievement ones and randoms) Instead of just awarding them randomly for X hours played. Expand
  34. Dec 15, 2010
    10
    I love this game its like the best game I have ever played. Its got new weapons you can get for your character, hats you can put on your character, rename weapons, and it is really funny. Get the one for PC because that is the best and the one for the rst of the systems sucks. Seriously I love this game, I love it, love it, love it, love it, love it and I never wana stop playing it> II love this game its like the best game I have ever played. Its got new weapons you can get for your character, hats you can put on your character, rename weapons, and it is really funny. Get the one for PC because that is the best and the one for the rst of the systems sucks. Seriously I love this game, I love it, love it, love it, love it, love it and I never wana stop playing it> I would give it a 12 out of 10 because it is so awesome. Expand
  35. Dec 10, 2010
    10
    Just a summary:

    + Very many players (Due the filter, it is easy to join the correct server - not overfilled but many players) + Very many maps (so everybody can choose, which map & gameplay mode he/she wants) + Good sound and music + Cool gamemodes, so you'll never be bored + Masses on classes (cool to say that, isn't it?) 9 classes which complete own skills and abilities. What do you
    Just a summary:

    + Very many players (Due the filter, it is easy to join the correct server - not overfilled but many players)
    + Very many maps (so everybody can choose, which map & gameplay mode he/she wants)
    + Good sound and music
    + Cool gamemodes, so you'll never be bored
    + Masses on classes (cool to say that, isn't it?) 9 classes which complete own skills and abilities. What do you want more?

    - VAC isn't the best method to ban cheaters. There are many scripts, that are undetected til now.

    I could write pages full of positives, but only 1 negative. So what are you waiting for? You look for a fantastic, also (depends on gamemode) strategic shooter? You're right with this game. You don't need a MoH or CoD, nor CS or CS:S. Trust me.

    Im Claymore, age of 29 years and i hope, you enjoy a fantastic game.
    Expand
  36. Dec 23, 2010
    10
    This is the best online FPS I've ever played. I have my XP with ID games, Valve games, Tribes, Halo...none of that is comparable to Team Fortress 2, not even Halo Reach or TFC, the original game.

    The action in this game is fast-paced, fun and balanced, also, the graphics are amazing, even for today/Source standards, my only complaint is the incredibly high rate at which Valve is releasing
    This is the best online FPS I've ever played. I have my XP with ID games, Valve games, Tribes, Halo...none of that is comparable to Team Fortress 2, not even Halo Reach or TFC, the original game.

    The action in this game is fast-paced, fun and balanced, also, the graphics are amazing, even for today/Source standards, my only complaint is the incredibly high rate at which Valve is releasing new content, it leaves playtest to customers instead of Valve itself, which has been partially solved by the addition of a Team Fortress 2 Beta version for playtesting.
    Expand
  37. Jan 2, 2011
    9
    It's fun. Nothing else needs to be said really. Team Fortress 2 is a very engaging and cartoony first person shooter that plays on ones ability to work with a team ( hence the title ). All of the classes have their advantages and disadvantages and it never really feels like you aren't useful. Although purely a multiplayer game with no single player what so ever ( like Valve's other gameIt's fun. Nothing else needs to be said really. Team Fortress 2 is a very engaging and cartoony first person shooter that plays on ones ability to work with a team ( hence the title ). All of the classes have their advantages and disadvantages and it never really feels like you aren't useful. Although purely a multiplayer game with no single player what so ever ( like Valve's other game Counterstrike ), a lot of the characters do have a tad bit of personality put into them.

    It's easy to pick up, fun to play, and with constant content added on ( for free! ) any sane gamer should definitely pick this one up.
    Expand
  38. Sep 2, 2011
    9
    You have to hand it to Valve to make a very fun game that's just really light-hearted, hysterical and of course, fun. The people saying this game has no balance at all, play offline mode and play against the CPU. The AI is very good and there's no overpowered items to kill you. Sure, the Heavy is very powerful, but he is very slow and he can very easily get killed by a Sniper or a Spy. AndYou have to hand it to Valve to make a very fun game that's just really light-hearted, hysterical and of course, fun. The people saying this game has no balance at all, play offline mode and play against the CPU. The AI is very good and there's no overpowered items to kill you. Sure, the Heavy is very powerful, but he is very slow and he can very easily get killed by a Sniper or a Spy. And the Spy, he can disguise himself as an opposite team member and backstab and destroy all of the Engineer's mechanisms, but attacking once will take off the disguise, it does take a while for the disguise to kick in and Pyros can easily set you alight and you will get suspicious. And the Scout being underpowered, he can move very fast, jump high and he can capture points twice as fast as anyone else.

    Now back to the review. It's light-hearted, tons of fun, hysterical and balanced, but what about the characters themselves? The characters personalities reflect on their fighting style. The Scout is a fast talking, slang using American teenager or early twenties man. You'd imagine him to be fast and attack fast. Yep. The Sniper's a laid-back, friendly Aussie. He pays respect to the enemy's sacrifice and his fighting style is back-against-the-wall and shoot the weak spots away from the actual fighting. The Heavy is a dim-witted strong and heavy Russian guy. His talking is very loud and so is his shouting. He's big, heavy, powerful and really slow. There's also ones like the sneaky, sly ladies' man, a mystery guy, a stereotypical man from Texas over in the USA and many more. Weak points: The multiplayer hardly works where I come from and there's weird bugs and crashes, like every character spontaneously stops moving and stands still, to the weapons being automatically firing all the time and never stopping and finding a game anywhere else but the USA I bet is hard. But don't let that stop you playing against the CPU. In my case, the CPU is much better than playing Multi, because no one is overpowered and they are quite tough to beat: the CPU actually works as a team. All in all, this game is absolutely great. Get it and expect to sink in endless hours.
    Expand
  39. Oct 12, 2011
    8
    Ok so its not deep or meaningful but it is fun frenetic and great fun. One of the definitive first person shooters of the last few years and a classic all PC gamers should own!.
  40. Jan 29, 2011
    10
    I have sunk 650 hours into this game, both when it was still unpatched and unmodded and I've been around for all the following patches and expansions and updates, and it has remained one of the most balanced and competitive games out there. The looks might turn you off at first, but give it a chance and you'll see that looks can be deceiving. With phrases like "Sandvich and me going toI have sunk 650 hours into this game, both when it was still unpatched and unmodded and I've been around for all the following patches and expansions and updates, and it has remained one of the most balanced and competitive games out there. The looks might turn you off at first, but give it a chance and you'll see that looks can be deceiving. With phrases like "Sandvich and me going to kick your ass" being thrown around the battleground, this game makes it easy to laugh at your own death. Just remember, as with every multiplayer game out there, it is not only the game itself, but also the people you play it with that make it worthwhile. Expand
  41. Feb 24, 2011
    9
    Cheap, constantly updated, decent graphics, great style, great community and fun to play for around
    2 years. Get this game on PC! So far every class has had an update, new built in maps since release and loads of custom maps and servers made by other players.
  42. Mar 8, 2011
    10
    After playing this game for 3 years, I am finally writing a review for it. Since its release, TF2, has been very unique game that provides an unique multiclass FPS experience. In October 2007, TF2 is a game with great, balanced gameplay, refreshing and graphically stunning artstyle, rich class(character), a variety of gamemodes, superior voice acting and most importantly, constant updateAfter playing this game for 3 years, I am finally writing a review for it. Since its release, TF2, has been very unique game that provides an unique multiclass FPS experience. In October 2007, TF2 is a game with great, balanced gameplay, refreshing and graphically stunning artstyle, rich class(character), a variety of gamemodes, superior voice acting and most importantly, constant update and support from valve. In March 2011, while, 3 years sinces the release of TF2, much has been added, most notably thousands of maps from the community, new gamemodes, new weapon unlocks, cosmetic customizations, Meet the Team videos, and much more. Valve has put in great effort to support this game throughout the years, and as a loyal fan, i enjoyed it quite alot. Unlike COD series, TF2 remains a FPS that focuses on player enjoyment and "fun" instead of frags. However, it has been revealed that TF2 is a playerbase experiment from valve(conspiracy lol). Since september 2010, and the introduction of Mann Co Store (a shop where you can spend real money to buy items, like rpg), TF2 has been going on a decline. Much of its former glory as a FPS was lost, and in place, we now have a markeplace of trading/selling virtual items in game. While some may argue that this is a positive change for TF2 as it brought in new players, i find it hard to agree with those views. Performance issues begin to arise as valve ceases to stop optimizing the game. Gameplay updates are haulted, as cosmetic items are being added constantly. Weapons, while previously balanced, aren't anymore with the introduction of newer once that are difficult to obtain through either crafting or dropping, giving advantage to those who buy them in the Store. TF2's artstyle has been ruined by the addition of new weapons and cosmetic items as well. The once amazing spy-tech, mysterious atmosphere has vanished once lime green and neon pink paint are splashed upon the characters. Regrettably, i have stopped playing since early january this year, with the hope that valve will wake up and put TF2 right back on track. I know this game is old, and that further serious support from the developer is highly unlikely, one can still have faith in valve because they have never disappointed me yet. (this letdown doesn't count). TLDR:
    Even with the recent negative changes to TF2, i still highly recommend for those who want to try it out. At $20 it is a huge deal and you will be suprised by how much depth the game has to offer. At release up to august 2010, i give TF2 a score of 96/100. At present, i will score it at 81/100.
    Expand
  43. Feb 21, 2012
    9
    I cannot think of a better team shooter than this. And like a fine wine this game has evolved and changed over the years into something even more dense, and with legs so long you can see them streaching into the sunset. A nearly perfect multiplayer game.
  44. May 15, 2011
    10
    I don't think I can recommend this game highly enough. If you want a multi-player class based FPS, this is it. When playing the classes are surprisingly well balanced, and if you're good enough at any class (except maybe scout) you can make an impact on how your team does. The drop system and achievements to acquire items give players who haven't played for as long as others access toI don't think I can recommend this game highly enough. If you want a multi-player class based FPS, this is it. When playing the classes are surprisingly well balanced, and if you're good enough at any class (except maybe scout) you can make an impact on how your team does. The drop system and achievements to acquire items give players who haven't played for as long as others access to some cool weaponry early on, and there's so much support from the game and the community. I don't think I've played another game that's been given so many updates as TF2, which I personally think is a good thing. Expand
  45. Sep 26, 2011
    10
    Team Fortress 2 is a brilliantly executed multiplayer game with a rich visual design that enhances the game play. The support and updates by Valve have led it to continuously improve over the years and the free to play business model TF2 has adopted will ensure that its a very influential game among western developers. Very few multiplayer games are flawless having unneeded modes andTeam Fortress 2 is a brilliantly executed multiplayer game with a rich visual design that enhances the game play. The support and updates by Valve have led it to continuously improve over the years and the free to play business model TF2 has adopted will ensure that its a very influential game among western developers. Very few multiplayer games are flawless having unneeded modes and complications but Valve's keen eye to design has ensured this is one of the best multiplayer games of its generation. Expand
  46. Jul 14, 2011
    9
    If you haven't gotten this game by now the only excuse you have is that your computer is too crappy to run it. The gameplay is perfect, (with many different styles to suit almost every user). The replay value is great, (a player gains a new weapon/hat every 3-4 games). Nice aesthetics although it is a bit ruined by the hats, and the graphics are incredible, oh and by the way THIS GAME ISIf you haven't gotten this game by now the only excuse you have is that your computer is too crappy to run it. The gameplay is perfect, (with many different styles to suit almost every user). The replay value is great, (a player gains a new weapon/hat every 3-4 games). Nice aesthetics although it is a bit ruined by the hats, and the graphics are incredible, oh and by the way THIS GAME IS FREE NOW so there is almost no reason for you to not own it yet. Expand
  47. Sep 8, 2011
    10
    This game helped secure Valve's place as gaming royalty. It made multiplayer online pc gaming a big deal and accessible to everyone. If you want classed based CTF or CP this is for you.
  48. Oct 15, 2011
    10
    this is the best shooter ever, 3rd best game of all time, and only behind zack an wiki an cave story, so, uh... buy it: scout pyros, engineers, demos, everything a person could ask for, only prob is theres no campaign, and that is its hard, for ME, to get on a server, but theres always practice mode, so...

    98% and free... so
  49. Sep 18, 2011
    10
    Best MP FPS ever. Very balanced gameplay, humor is great and graphic style is fantastic. I had so many great hours with this game and all I can say is: "Thank you Valve" :)
  50. Sep 16, 2011
    10
    in this game I do not like that look shorter than I'm playing and find the box but need a key to open and that the key to get him to buy the only way that's what I do not like fortres TEAM 2
  51. Sep 16, 2011
    10
    Awesome game, a shooter that requires teamwork to win. I think that valve has done a great job and should be rewarded fr making a fine pieces of art for the people of the next generation to remember
  52. Sep 18, 2011
    10
    Probably the multiplayer class-based videogame to date. I've played over 400 hours of this game and I still love every moment of it. The cartoon graphics are comical and there is a touch of humor built into the game. I think it is an incredible game even without a storyline, and the fact that Valve has been able to (mostly) keep all of the classes in check and not overpowering is aProbably the multiplayer class-based videogame to date. I've played over 400 hours of this game and I still love every moment of it. The cartoon graphics are comical and there is a touch of humor built into the game. I think it is an incredible game even without a storyline, and the fact that Valve has been able to (mostly) keep all of the classes in check and not overpowering is a fantastic feat. Plus it's now FREE so there is no excuse to not get this game. I would HIGHLY recommend to ANYBODY old enough to play. Expand
  53. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    The most balanced, enjoyable, and fun FPS you will ever play. If you do not own this game or have never played this game, you are not worthy to call yourself a 'Gamer'
  54. Sep 28, 2011
    10
    Graphics are creative and funny, Controls are ultra-smooth and the game-play is FUN. FUN being the important word here. The game may look simple at first glance, but is a very complex shooter. Pretty much still a perfect game after all these years.
  55. Oct 2, 2011
    10
    It's free now, so why not? This game is endless fun. It's a little frustrating at first, but there's an offline practice mode which was really helpful when I first got this a few years ago. Once you get the hang of it, this is addicting. The game modes are fun, and the maps are awesome. There's over 30 official Valve maps, which are great. There's also unlimited custom maps to play, andIt's free now, so why not? This game is endless fun. It's a little frustrating at first, but there's an offline practice mode which was really helpful when I first got this a few years ago. Once you get the hang of it, this is addicting. The game modes are fun, and the maps are awesome. There's over 30 official Valve maps, which are great. There's also unlimited custom maps to play, and custom game modes such as dodgeball and prop hunt. There's constant updates. There's a lot of weapons to choose from, and although some people complain about balance, it's still more balanced than most games. The game is also funny, it's likely to put a smile on your face if you have any sense of humour. Name one other game where you can throw piss and eat sandwiches, and play as a drunk Scottish black guy. Yeah. Over 2000 hours played, and this still doesn't bore me. If you get it, I recommend the map koth_Harvest_Event, a Valve map even though I play customs a lot :) Expand
  56. Oct 3, 2011
    8
    it's usually (like 95% of time) good but sometimes it glitches, stops, and sometimes freezes, but overall I love it, so 8/10 from me, because the enjoyment is way up there with my favorite game, PRINCE OF PERSIA: The Forgotten Sands
  57. Oct 8, 2011
    8
    Amazing in every way, just so intense and fun. With 9 different classes it assures you there is a character for you. There are 100's of weapons & hats to customize, and many maps to choose from. In addition people are always online so you'll never be alone...creepy.
  58. Oct 6, 2011
    8
    awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome.awesome. Expand
  59. Oct 13, 2011
    10
    This is by far the BEST GAME EVER. Not only does it combine fast paced shooting and fun maps, but it adds a major twist of cartoony humor, which most other first person shooters lack. This game is deffinetly the most creative online shooter (like every valve game) and it never gets old with valves constant update. Also, you can buy hats.
  60. Oct 18, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Lots of characters and balanced game-play. The cartoon graphics make the game much more entertaining.The only problems I had is people buying stuff to be better and the requirement of getting a steam. Otherwise, an overall great game with lots of achievements to unlock Expand
  61. Oct 28, 2011
    9
    This is a very good game. The graphics are amazing and funny and the characters are the best that i ever seen. Everything is simple and smooth which create an very relaxing atmosfere to enjoy this game. But why only 9? because there are items that to get, you need to pay and now the game is free which more people came and ruin certain games for the people that got the game from Orange Box like me.
  62. Oct 26, 2011
    9
    I love this game. It's a game for the not too complicated First-Person Shooter games fans. The game is just awsome. If you don't have it, you MUST buy it! It's just madly awsome!
  63. Oct 26, 2011
    10
    Team Fortress 2 Noun
    Definition:
    FUN! Team Fortress 2 has made me rethink my life. One of the cool things about TF2 is that it's not to realistic, like most FPS. Nine classes, each with their own Pros and Cons, weapons, and hats, battle for supremacy by request of their bosses who secretly control half the world. Easily takes the 10 I'm giving it. Every morning I get up, play ELDER
    Team Fortress 2 Noun
    Definition:
    FUN!

    Team Fortress 2 has made me rethink my life. One of the cool things about TF2 is that it's not to realistic, like most FPS. Nine classes, each with their own Pros and Cons, weapons, and hats, battle for supremacy by request of their bosses who secretly control half the world. Easily takes the 10 I'm giving it. Every morning I get up, play ELDER SCROLLS: IV OBLIVION, and after 4 hours of that, I hop on my PC and give TF2 an hour play before I resume life like a human. The Scout can run like no other class, double jump, and drink assorted soda's. The Soldier uses a rocket launcher to blast enemies apart in a bloody, gory mess. The Pyro can light enemies on fire with his flamethrower or flare gun. The Heavy can spin his minigun and deal massive damage, and so on. Now that it's FREE TO PLAY* everyone owns it, and if you don't, you need it. Really. *Really. Get it off Steam or www.tf2freetoplay.com!
    Expand
  64. Oct 27, 2011
    8
    Team fortress 2 is an amazing game that played brilliantly with no problems what so ever.
    Thanks to Steam VAC we don't have to worry about hackers ruining our experience
  65. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    One of the best games ever made. Addictive gameplay, amazingly balanced maps, creative class structures and ridiculous art direction make this game stand above the rest. ITS FREE NOW AND I WOULD STILL GLADLY PAY $60 FOR THIS GAME.
  66. Oct 28, 2011
    9
    Highly entertaining hat simulator with a first-person shooter theme. Endless hours of online fun taunting your opponents and showing off your magnificent hats. Humor, retro theme, quicky cartoon-like graphics ... some will "get it" and love it, some won't and will hate it.
  67. Oct 28, 2011
    9
    Excellent game! The humor combinned with the best game play ever made from Valve since Counter-Strike 1.6 made me expend lots of quality time with it. The tutorials are almost perfect and, if the game holds you attention for hours and hours. Unique Problem: Too much time downloading and loading and, sometimes, ALT + TAB bugs it. Crashes aren't that rare eigher.
  68. Oct 28, 2011
    10
    Looking for team vs. team combat with great graphics and FREE to play? Look no further, you have found it. This game has enough classes to keep you interested and enough maps to keep you happy as can be!
  69. Sep 28, 2012
    10
    The originality and style of the game makes it timeless and enjoyable for most gamers. This game adds so many new guns and even new game modes and all of it FOR FREE. If this was made by E.A. or Activision, it would cost you $20 per update. Valve, like always, has out done themselves
  70. Apr 28, 2012
    9
    This game is great and it's available for free on steam (steam.com). The various types of games keep things interesting and the alternative gameplays like prophunt (hide and seek) are a nice change to the shooting.
  71. Sep 2, 2012
    10
    Team Fortress 2 is the greatest multiplayer game ever made. It isn't easy for me to make a statement like that, but it is true. With 1,085.9 hours clocked in since October of 2007, I have played more of TF2 than any other game I've played at least 4 times over, and I don't see any end in sight. Valve has done a fantastic job constantly updating the game, and still stand as the only Free toTeam Fortress 2 is the greatest multiplayer game ever made. It isn't easy for me to make a statement like that, but it is true. With 1,085.9 hours clocked in since October of 2007, I have played more of TF2 than any other game I've played at least 4 times over, and I don't see any end in sight. Valve has done a fantastic job constantly updating the game, and still stand as the only Free to Play game done right. I've never bought a single item in the game and yet I'm swimming in hats and weapons. The recent introduction of Mann Vs. Machine, a co-op gamemode, was pretty much a stroke of genius on Valve's part. Despite a few balancing issues, It fits so seamlessly into the game, it almost feels like Valve had intended it from the beginning. Each class has their own distinctive role and style of play,. That fact along with custom maps add the possibility of sinking hundreds of hours into this gamemode alone. If TF2 had a price tag, it would be known as the gaming bargain of a lifetime. Without a price tag, it is the most foolish mistake any FPS fan could make to pass on. I can't see how anybody could pick up TF2 and not have at least a bit of fun. There is no other game quite like it. I can't see myself getting my multiplayer fix from any other game in a long, long time. Expand
  72. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    First of all I must say this: Everybody who say "I bought this game for 50$ and now is F2P!" is an idiot, because whole orange box was for 50$, not only TF2 alone. I bought orange box in discount for around 10â
  73. Jun 9, 2012
    10
    This game is FREE and you totally have to play it. VERY HUGE variety of weapons, Superbly detailed and this game cannot be missed! To all those people that think the game is bad, IGNORE that!
  74. Jan 2, 2013
    10
    Some people think of TF2 as that game where people "hold down mouse one and go one a massacre". That's just Call of Duty in a nutshell. This game is a lot more complex than Call of Duty. It requires skill and teamwork. You most likely won't win a match with a majority of your team playing the same class. Each class assists each other in one way or another. Heavy throws down his Sandvich toSome people think of TF2 as that game where people "hold down mouse one and go one a massacre". That's just Call of Duty in a nutshell. This game is a lot more complex than Call of Duty. It requires skill and teamwork. You most likely won't win a match with a majority of your team playing the same class. Each class assists each other in one way or another. Heavy throws down his Sandvich to replenish one of his teammates health, while Sniper extinguishes flames with his Jarate (helps see those spies too.)-- the Scout having the same job if the user has mad milk equipped. This game comes in with an innocent expression on its face and some hats, and you learn the basics and then get into the advanced stuff. This game keeps itself hilarious, while having balanced and extremely addictive and fun gameplay. This is also free-to-play. I'd like you to download this game on Steam. Do not... I repeat... DO NOT Get The Orange Box for Xbox 360 or Playstation 3. Those include this game, but with stock/default loadouts and no extra content whatsoever. The best version for every Valve game, by far, is on PC. Expand
  75. Jul 21, 2012
    9
    This game is amazing. I don't know how to put it in any other way. It's also free, so there's no risk trying it out. Sure, one may argue that hats have ruined TF2, but I think that hats aren't enough to ruin something as big as this. If you don't like hats, don't wear them. As for everyone else, get this game.
  76. Jul 22, 2012
    10
    This game is amazing! I've played this for months now and it's still not boring. The humour, the cartoon-ish look... everything! I recommend this game.
  77. Aug 21, 2012
    10
    I absolutely love this game, it brought action together with comedy very well, being addicted to the game at one point I foolishly spent £40 in their Mann.Co store for extra items, however trading these items over a long period of time has allowed me to get £120 worth of games through steam trading.
  78. Aug 16, 2012
    9
    with endless amount of replay value, cartoonishly vibrant '60s themed outfits and map development, hilarious character classes that are all unique and finely balanced on scale, loads of new updates to improve the game, and now that the game is FREE, for life, makes this game even more worthwhile to play. There are plenty maps to choose from, plenty of game modes to play on, so many optionswith endless amount of replay value, cartoonishly vibrant '60s themed outfits and map development, hilarious character classes that are all unique and finely balanced on scale, loads of new updates to improve the game, and now that the game is FREE, for life, makes this game even more worthwhile to play. There are plenty maps to choose from, plenty of game modes to play on, so many options to choose from a always free game, Team Fortress 2 defines how a FPS shooter can be loads of fun as well as entertaining. Expand
  79. Aug 17, 2012
    8
    This game is really good and I can see why people go 10 though the downfall to it is the community. This isn't really valve's fault though, but it doesn't help when little kids mic spam for new items instead of playing the game and a flood of Achievement, trading and Idling servers are always on the list or the fact that 25% actually play has a team. Kinda leads to a stall in an otherwiseThis game is really good and I can see why people go 10 though the downfall to it is the community. This isn't really valve's fault though, but it doesn't help when little kids mic spam for new items instead of playing the game and a flood of Achievement, trading and Idling servers are always on the list or the fact that 25% actually play has a team. Kinda leads to a stall in an otherwise fun game after a while and somewhat frustrating when you get spawn camped with sentry guns waiting outside. The only reason why I don't give it a 0 is because I actually vote based on my own opinion and not go "Hey look, people voted 10 for a game which I think is terrible because there is no grenades and assault rifles in the game. I think i'll give a 0 because of that" Expand
  80. Sep 20, 2012
    10
    Those who say there is no depth of play are either plain stupid or made that comment to early. When the game was released back in 2007, I would give it a 9/10, but now after all these improvements this is definitively a 10/10 - Valve did a great job on this game making it fun for the regular player and tactical, skill-based and team-dependant for the enthusiast gamer. One of the bestThose who say there is no depth of play are either plain stupid or made that comment to early. When the game was released back in 2007, I would give it a 9/10, but now after all these improvements this is definitively a 10/10 - Valve did a great job on this game making it fun for the regular player and tactical, skill-based and team-dependant for the enthusiast gamer. One of the best competitive game so far and one of the best fictional game worlds ever created. And of course - HATS. Expand
  81. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    I bought this game in the Orange Box a long time ago, but kind of forgot it. I'm glad I recently decided to give it a shot. This game is the real thing. Nice graphics and gameplay, well-balanced classes, lots of cool items and weapons, a very strong community. Fantastic!
  82. Aug 31, 2012
    10
    Just amazing!
    I just keep playing and exacly when I get bored, BAM a new spectacular update
    If it keeps that way, I think this is one of those games ill just keep playing forever The best of it... ITS ORIGINAL Have you seen a GOOD humoristic shooter? NO! What I like about this shooter is that its not your everyday regular shooter, that you get bored when you finish a campain or gain
    Just amazing!
    I just keep playing and exacly when I get bored, BAM a new spectacular update
    If it keeps that way, I think this is one of those games ill just keep playing forever
    The best of it...
    ITS ORIGINAL
    Have you seen a GOOD humoristic shooter? NO! What I like about this shooter is that its not your
    everyday regular shooter, that you get bored when you finish a campain or gain levels
    Nope! tf2 has no campain, Levels are Hats and you never get bored
    Expand
  83. Sep 19, 2012
    10
    This game has so many qualities but the main one that stands out about TF2 is it is the most successful example of combining multiple, completely different gaming styles into one game.
  84. Sep 24, 2012
    10
    This game is totally awesome. I am not really a huge fan of multiplayer games, but this, this is different. I have never played a game like this before. Truly worth looking at. And the best part is, it's FREE on steam, which is also FREE. If i don't seem to encourage you, go youtube meet the scout, or meet the pyro, or whatever, JUST GET IT. PERIOD.
  85. Nov 5, 2012
    9
    Team Fortress 2 is a load of fun to play. The cartoony feel and personas given to each class really adds to the feel of the game. The classes are for the most part balanced, each class having their specific strengths and weaknesses. Although that being said many classes seem to be far more useful most of the time. Another downside to this unique combat system is the learning curve, manyTeam Fortress 2 is a load of fun to play. The cartoony feel and personas given to each class really adds to the feel of the game. The classes are for the most part balanced, each class having their specific strengths and weaknesses. Although that being said many classes seem to be far more useful most of the time. Another downside to this unique combat system is the learning curve, many skills obtained from playing generic FPS games do not transition well, which may frustrate new players. This however, is counterbalanced by the overall casual environment created by the game. I mean how seriously can you take a game who's economy is based around hats? Expand
  86. Nov 6, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Team Fortress 2 is one of the excited games I know! It`s a co-op multiplayer game too play on different types. I mean that Team Fortress 2 is a very funny game and a premium is that you can get more than 400 awards on Steam. Like! Expand
  87. Dec 30, 2012
    9
    I guess writing my review for Team Fortress 2 is redundant. Is a great game and others before me have said it ad infinitum. But I feel an urge to express my opinions and this is it.
    Team Fortress is like a diamond which came out of mud, from the depths of the FPS world came a balanced, deep and funny game, a game which is the denial of every skill based game filled with leet players
    I guess writing my review for Team Fortress 2 is redundant. Is a great game and others before me have said it ad infinitum. But I feel an urge to express my opinions and this is it.
    Team Fortress is like a diamond which came out of mud, from the depths of the FPS world came a balanced, deep and funny game, a game which is the denial of every skill based game filled with leet players calling you noob, like COD or CS.
    It's like a cooperative chess, in the sense that no class is perfect in itself, always having disadvantages, depending on others and needing to fulfill a specific role in the team. Add to this a great visual design resembling the 70's and 60's- believe me, I work as a graphic designer- great typhography, great conceptual design, a whole culture, context and world behind the characters, a long learning curve... And you have endless hours of fun. The community of Team Fortress is alive and very participative in creating content.
    The only problem is that Team Fortress is haunted by it's FPS context and past, so when you enter a game and see that your team is made of 4 snipers and 3 spies, you know you are doomed, and you can image a 15 years old kid, thinking the games is all about aiming, being sneaky, or being the "best player", while your team is being raped over and over again. I sincerely propose that Valve one day cap the numbers of certain classes in teams or that classes are assigned randomly to players.
    Expand
  88. Jan 20, 2013
    9
    I think this game is excellent! You may never get bored! 9 classes to choose from! Each with an advantage and a disadvantage. Play as scout and use speed for offense! Be a soldier and blow people up from a distance! Be a Pyro and burn things! Be a Demo man to become a Demo-noob and use explosives and sticky bombs for surprise attacks or just for exploding! Be a heavy where power to theI think this game is excellent! You may never get bored! 9 classes to choose from! Each with an advantage and a disadvantage. Play as scout and use speed for offense! Be a soldier and blow people up from a distance! Be a Pyro and burn things! Be a Demo man to become a Demo-noob and use explosives and sticky bombs for surprise attacks or just for exploding! Be a heavy where power to the close range is your thing! Kill people fast while being a heavy tank! Be an engineer and build things, like a sentry, a very powerful guard! Be a Medic and heal people, uber charge them for best performances when ready! Be a sniper and, well its self explanatory. Finally, be a spy and confuse enemies by making you one of them as a trick! Capture flags, Control the King of the Hill, Push payloads, deliver the thingy into a rocket, fight to the death, and capture control points is what you can do! Fight with robots if that's more of your cup of tea. Took off a point because there are a lot of noobs, especially demo-noobs. I like this game, but it CAN get laggy. Expand
  89. Feb 18, 2015
    10
    There has never been a better chaotic, class-based multiplayer shooter. Stylish, funny, and well-balanced, this game has continued to evolve for 8 years now and remains a great experience. The biggest problem I have with the game is that it doesn't have strict rules for player behavior or a great overall community. It takes a bit of effort to find servers where rules worth having areThere has never been a better chaotic, class-based multiplayer shooter. Stylish, funny, and well-balanced, this game has continued to evolve for 8 years now and remains a great experience. The biggest problem I have with the game is that it doesn't have strict rules for player behavior or a great overall community. It takes a bit of effort to find servers where rules worth having are enforced, and then it becomes a challenge to find times when those servers are populated. Expand
  90. May 1, 2014
    10
    Pretty much the best multiplayer FPS of all time. I played this game religiously for about 3 years from 08 to 2011. Counter-strike may be more competitive and realistic, but TF2 is way, way more fun and has way more replayability value. It is now 6 years since its release, and it is still an excellent game that is better than 99% of shooters.

    Valve did an amazing job with the classes,
    Pretty much the best multiplayer FPS of all time. I played this game religiously for about 3 years from 08 to 2011. Counter-strike may be more competitive and realistic, but TF2 is way, way more fun and has way more replayability value. It is now 6 years since its release, and it is still an excellent game that is better than 99% of shooters.

    Valve did an amazing job with the classes, the game modes, and the balance between them. If you get bored of one class, guess what, you have many more to play instead. Every class feels unique and fun. Also, there is nothing quite like getting Ubered as a heavy and mowing down 10 enemies, or getting a Kritzkrieg with a demo on a map with tight hallways.

    The graphical style is also incredibly unique and so good that it looks awesome even now in 2014. Really, I have nothing negative to say about TF2. I haven't been playing it in a while but I know it still has an awesome community, and if I ever feel like playing, there are a couple people on my Steam friends list that were there from the beginning and still playing.
    Expand
  91. Mar 11, 2013
    9
    This game can run on a surprisingly large range of computer types, making it very accessable. As a result, there are many servers to run on, and this game is addicting. The humor style is great, the fanbase/community is great, and the entire game is just a joy to play no matter how much you suck at it.
  92. Jun 3, 2013
    10
    the funniest game i ever played online... from the artistic point of view is awesome, and the gameplay is perfect... i cant' think of any way this game can be better than how it is... now that it bacema a free to play game i see no reason for not playing it!
  93. May 11, 2013
    9
    What can i say that hasn't been said? Its one of the best FPS's of all time. The few complaints with it i have are mainly server problems that still continue to keep me from playing this game sometimes, and Spies. I hate Spies. And yet i cant get mad because spies are difficult to play, and if you got good with them congrats cause i suck at playing spy.
  94. Nov 23, 2013
    10
    Tf2 one of the best games i'll ever play in my life so addicting so entertaining, people say the game got ruined because of the weapons and the store well that's not true unlike many games tf2 is not a pay to win game and people often get confused the new weapon they find is isn't better than their old one no it isn't and in most cases the default weapon i much better since the others haveTf2 one of the best games i'll ever play in my life so addicting so entertaining, people say the game got ruined because of the weapons and the store well that's not true unlike many games tf2 is not a pay to win game and people often get confused the new weapon they find is isn't better than their old one no it isn't and in most cases the default weapon i much better since the others have ups and downs but it actually depends on your style and what situation you are in and there are many ways to find these items, you acquire them via drop system, you trade them with other people,you do achievements or buy them but don't do that only spend 5 dollars on the game so you have a better drop rate. There are many other different items including hats which do not affect gameplay but affects what other players think of you and the most expensive hat is a unusual team captain I think worth about $4000 usd Expand
  95. Nov 7, 2013
    8
    Team Fortress 2 is about as good as Free-to-Play can get. Not quite in the elite class, but still an enjoyable game. I like the artstyle to it, not because "IT HAS COLOR", but because it actually looks like a Saturday Morning cartoon. As much as I like the FPS genre, I'd really like to see more experiments with the graphics. But what about the game? Well, it's best compared to a game likeTeam Fortress 2 is about as good as Free-to-Play can get. Not quite in the elite class, but still an enjoyable game. I like the artstyle to it, not because "IT HAS COLOR", but because it actually looks like a Saturday Morning cartoon. As much as I like the FPS genre, I'd really like to see more experiments with the graphics. But what about the game? Well, it's best compared to a game like Counter-Strike. While in Counter-Strike (not to detract from it, it's still a good game) it's easy to solo a team, trying to go alone in this game will end with your ragequit. I also like that it makes it so that you want to pay money rather than grudgingly do it by giving some legitimate benefits (Not hats).

    Really, my main complaint with the game is not with Valve, Steam, or the developers: It's with the community. The reigning kings of obnoxious fanbases remains the Homestuck community, but TF2 puts up a good fight. One of the downsides to the F2P model is that it allows EVERYONE (that has a computer that meets system requirements, that is) can play, leading to many situations where you'll be surrounded by Bronies, Furries, children, and the obnoxious "PC Master Race" group. Unlike some other games (Sonic), the community hasn't destroyed the game yet, but be wary. 8/10. A solid experience at the low price of free.
    Expand
  96. Dec 22, 2013
    10
    Definition of awesomeness It´s pretty much boring alone, but once you have a friend playing, this game gets really funny and you can play it for days. There´s always something new to try.
  97. Aug 20, 2014
    9
    Ladies and gentlemen, here is a really strong contender (and provably the winner) of the best free-to play of all time awards!!!!!! Now the reason I liked and promoted the game so much, is because that it came to me at a time where I thought "Is there even a single free-to play game on the market that you can play for more than an hour and not get bored?" Here is the answer folks, TF2,Ladies and gentlemen, here is a really strong contender (and provably the winner) of the best free-to play of all time awards!!!!!! Now the reason I liked and promoted the game so much, is because that it came to me at a time where I thought "Is there even a single free-to play game on the market that you can play for more than an hour and not get bored?" Here is the answer folks, TF2, waiting you for free!!

    To be serious though, the fast and fluid gameplay involves 9 different classes, each with their own set of weapons, stats and personalities. By playing more you get access to new weapons, items and most importantly hats!!!! (Just kidding though, in reality I don't give a **** about hats but that's my opinion)

    Even though the controls are a bit difficult to adapt to if you are playing with a gamepad, you get used to it in just a few matches.

    However I will say that the matches are a bit longer than i can comprehend. I just quit after the second round cause that is enough for me.

    In overall the game is a 9/10 for me, a nigh perfect game.
    Expand
  98. Oct 9, 2014
    10
    This game is my personal favorite game ever.Its not perfect, but IT'S FREE!!!!!
    Now,I never played the first game, so I won't compare it to that.The game(if you play for a while) is much more balanced.At least one class can kill an another easily,and a different class can kill that class easily.
    There is 9 different classes in the game: scout:fast ,objective captureing speed.least
    This game is my personal favorite game ever.Its not perfect, but IT'S FREE!!!!!
    Now,I never played the first game, so I won't compare it to that.The game(if you play for a while) is much more balanced.At least one class can kill an another easily,and a different class can kill that class easily.
    There is 9 different classes in the game:

    scout:fast ,objective captureing speed.least health.
    soldier:slow,has a rocket launcher that can let you rocket jump,lots of health.
    pyro: medium speed,has a flamethrower,fire proof,mediam health.
    demoman: slow,has granade and sticky granade launcher,has good health.
    heavy: slowest,has a minigun,has the most health.
    engineer:medium speed,can build sentry guns and teliporters,least health.
    medic:medium speed,has a medi gun that heals teammates, medium health.
    sniper,medium speed,has a sniper, least health.
    spy:medium speed, can disguise as other team,turns invisible,insta kill knife,least health.

    all classes have different unlockable weapons and hats,but new players don't have any,so they will be stomped to death...so,yeah.it is tough for new players,but still fun.

    The game is very cartoony,which is great.Call of Duty takes itself too seriously.this game is so funny.demos drunken insults, heavy eating his sandwich in an intence fire fight,and the snipers pee jar that he throws at people.
    the game also has tons of lore,but not in the game.there are many comics on www.teamfortress.com.
    there is also videos about the game.meat the (class) and expiration date are videos you can find on youtube.

    team fortress 2 is a great game,but there is no reason to make tf3 (which will never happen,because 3)

    anyway,the game is good,valve is amazing,half life 3 confirmed...have a nice day.
    Expand
  99. Dec 6, 2014
    9
    This game is so close to perfection. The classes are balanced so if you die, you are probably just bad at the game. The only thing I don't like are the overpowered weapons like the sticky jumper. And it's free on steam so why not?
  100. Feb 21, 2015
    10
    This game is just another complete rip-off of angry birds. The game itself is exactly the same except the graphics quality is much lower and the gameplay is significantly less user friendly.
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. AceGamez
    100
    The marriage of highly stylised retro-spy presentation, fresh, high octane action, deep and varied classes and the underlying twinkle of humour in its metaphorical eye make Team Fortress 2 far more than just your average fragfest. Long after the novelty of the graphics wears thin, we are left with a refined and accessible multiplayer game that simultaneously cultivates new players whilst retaining enough depth to accommodate even the hardiest of veterans.
  2. The game also does a lovely job of framing your relationship with other players and nurturing them.
  3. It's one hell of a game. With its powerful artistic style and blazingly quick, yet accessible gameplay, it's enough to melt the icy cynicism imprisoning the hearts of even the most jaded among us. That being said, it's not the most complex shooter out there.