User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 5484 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AnonymousMC
    Mar 9, 2009
    10
    notice the amount of 10s. now notice the amounts of 0s. significantly less. stop using 0 as "your way to balance the score", this game IS a 10 and if you're too much of a noob or an old nostalgic pro stop whining and enjoy its greatness, but don't give it a 0 to 'balance' the score cause all you're doing is unbalancing the score. these 10s are honest, those 0s arenotice the amount of 10s. now notice the amounts of 0s. significantly less. stop using 0 as "your way to balance the score", this game IS a 10 and if you're too much of a noob or an old nostalgic pro stop whining and enjoy its greatness, but don't give it a 0 to 'balance' the score cause all you're doing is unbalancing the score. these 10s are honest, those 0s are bitter. don't be bitter. Expand
  2. OmarI
    Apr 14, 2009
    10
    I have been playing TF2 for at least a year, and it is the best game I have ever seen. I loved the characters, models and weapons. Playing the game really is fun because : -The characters sometimes talks, like heavy or other characters have funny emotions and funny faces. -It is so well balanced that you don't feel any injustice (especially for the crits, many players don't like I have been playing TF2 for at least a year, and it is the best game I have ever seen. I loved the characters, models and weapons. Playing the game really is fun because : -The characters sometimes talks, like heavy or other characters have funny emotions and funny faces. -It is so well balanced that you don't feel any injustice (especially for the crits, many players don't like them but they're very important in the game and makes the game funnier to play with) -Maps are very well made, great spots and nice ways of playing it. -Graphics are great, not only the resolution but the weapons and when firing with a weapon is nice. Expand
  3. MikeD
    May 20, 2009
    10
    I have never had as much fun playing any on-line FPS as I've had with this game. I must admit, my first impressions were poor at best. I was disappointed in the lack of strategic depth, the cartoony graphics and the departure from the original. I actually put the game away for close to a year. (I may have also been turned off because my first time through was on console) Then a I have never had as much fun playing any on-line FPS as I've had with this game. I must admit, my first impressions were poor at best. I was disappointed in the lack of strategic depth, the cartoony graphics and the departure from the original. I actually put the game away for close to a year. (I may have also been turned off because my first time through was on console) Then a friend of mine telling me how much fun he was having so I figured I'd give it another shot. After a few exciting rounds I began to realize less is more in this case. Valve took TFC and refinded it, distilled each class into it's basic essence which encourages team play in a way the previous game never could. Too many are quick to dismiss this game as not deep enough, not realistic enough, not hard enough or not enough like the original. If you want depth or realism the box art should be enough to tell you to stay away. If you want strategic depth, play an RTS. If you want a game that's "Nintendo Hard" go play an NES cart. If you love TFC so much, just keep playing that! This is a game that good players can excel at and new players can learn and have fun with. Expand
  4. ReddaG
    May 22, 2009
    10
    I just played this game and i really really love it, it is one of the funniest action games that I've played ever. I wish to give this game 10/10 because it is so incredible, thanks.
  5. AndrewW
    May 26, 2009
    10
    One of the best online shooters I've played. Better than Gears of War 2 and Halo 3, both of which I was addicted to.
  6. AnonymousMC
    May 26, 2009
    10
    wow this is an awsome game. i was suprised when i saw it was cartoony but when you get to play it it sucks since your pc dosent support orange box then u get a free week and u like it and then you buy it its epic just pure epic!!! it is worth very £uro! its only 20. go ahead buy it.
  7. NathanS
    May 6, 2009
    10
    After having purchased the Orange Box upon its release, TF2 has been a constant success, with ever growing game content, via community maps, weapon packs for classes and rebalancing. As far as Josh's comment with hacking. This is almost entirely server dependant. Personally, in the last 24 hours of game play, not encountered an individual that I believed to be hacking. Otherwise, I After having purchased the Orange Box upon its release, TF2 has been a constant success, with ever growing game content, via community maps, weapon packs for classes and rebalancing. As far as Josh's comment with hacking. This is almost entirely server dependant. Personally, in the last 24 hours of game play, not encountered an individual that I believed to be hacking. Otherwise, I don't feel I can add too much more to some of the other things that have been said about the game, other than that the game is an amazing amount of fun, and is well worth the $20 Valve is charging for it. Expand
  8. Julyxx
    Jun 20, 2009
    10
    Fantastic game! while the steam forum is full of flame (weapon x for y is OVERPOWERED / z is too weak..) i just think that valve is doing a brilliant job. any other game that gives new content often (like wow) costs money every month but here you get new maps etc for free! because of the good working steam community features it works like a charm to join a server and invite your friends Fantastic game! while the steam forum is full of flame (weapon x for y is OVERPOWERED / z is too weak..) i just think that valve is doing a brilliant job. any other game that gives new content often (like wow) costs money every month but here you get new maps etc for free! because of the good working steam community features it works like a charm to join a server and invite your friends to the game to rock the server Expand
  9. CodeyB
    Jun 2, 2009
    10
    This is as perfect of an FPS on the PC that I've played. The big gimmick to the game (other than the graphics), is the classes. Unlike other games that implemented classes, this game is actually very balanced. The more interesting classes (Spy and Engineer) take more skill to be good, but are very powerful when learned. To compensate, they have the lowest health pool in the game. A This is as perfect of an FPS on the PC that I've played. The big gimmick to the game (other than the graphics), is the classes. Unlike other games that implemented classes, this game is actually very balanced. The more interesting classes (Spy and Engineer) take more skill to be good, but are very powerful when learned. To compensate, they have the lowest health pool in the game. A big focus is team-work and without it, you will fail. There are many levels now, and many types of gameplay. You can do the usual deathmatch style, or a more fun variant like CTF or Payload. With the advent of achievements and unlockable weapons, the game even got better. There are currently 239 achievements to unlock. Some are based on specific classes, while others are general achievements. To unlock all the weapons is now not solely based on the achievements, but are randomly given to players. This will let the less-talented players still get new weapons. All in all, if you like FPS you HAVE to buy this game. Expand
  10. RobertK
    Jun 5, 2009
    10
    This is my favourite game, I never expected that Valve will release another such fantastic game which is based on Source Engine. It have been much improved since I remember the first weeks when it was released. What is most cool thing is that Valve are releaseing updates for this game which improves the game, and I don't mean just bugs and crashes, they add new weapons for characters This is my favourite game, I never expected that Valve will release another such fantastic game which is based on Source Engine. It have been much improved since I remember the first weeks when it was released. What is most cool thing is that Valve are releaseing updates for this game which improves the game, and I don't mean just bugs and crashes, they add new weapons for characters to play with, look, maps etc. and everything for FREE if the game is already purchased on Steam account. I hope Valve will keep updating this game and will keep game balance so the fans would be happy because there are thousands fans of Team Fortress 2. Expand
  11. AnonymousMC
    Jun 9, 2009
    10
    By Far this is one of the best multiplayer FPS games I've played. It's not all about running and gunning like a certain popular game on the 360. Although running and gunning is an option, it usually ends with you dead by the opposing team. The way that your team has to use all the classes in order to win is just amazing and something I havn't experienced in a game. AmazingBy Far this is one of the best multiplayer FPS games I've played. It's not all about running and gunning like a certain popular game on the 360. Although running and gunning is an option, it usually ends with you dead by the opposing team. The way that your team has to use all the classes in order to win is just amazing and something I havn't experienced in a game. Amazing FPS game that anyone can learn and it's definitely a steal for the current price. Expand
  12. AdamT
    Jul 22, 2009
    10
    Team fortress 2 is a fantastic multiplayer game on many accounts. You can play as any of 9 classes: Scout, Sniper, Pyro, Demoman, Heavy, Engineer, MEdic, Soilder, and Spy; All with instict advantages and disadvenatages. Gameplay rarely get's boring considering the fact that you can play as 9 different characters, all with different weapons and special abilities. There's a huge Team fortress 2 is a fantastic multiplayer game on many accounts. You can play as any of 9 classes: Scout, Sniper, Pyro, Demoman, Heavy, Engineer, MEdic, Soilder, and Spy; All with instict advantages and disadvenatages. Gameplay rarely get's boring considering the fact that you can play as 9 different characters, all with different weapons and special abilities. There's a huge list of achievments to tackle in your spare time, and some characters have milestones to unlock, giving them new weapons and abilities. I've had Team fortress 2 for a good long time, and I don't think I'm ever going to get bored of it, because unlike most games, you have 9 different ways to play it. Expand
  13. AnonymousMC
    Aug 12, 2009
    10
    This game is solid gold in my opinion, I've never come across a teamwork focused FPS that brings me back for more so often. I got Tf2 in the orange box and haven't ever regretted it. If you like fast-paced and adrenaline filled gaming, this gem of a game is for you.
  14. AnthonyS
    Aug 21, 2009
    10
    This game never gets old. This will probably remain my favorite FPS for a long time! Here are some reasons to like it: The art style is fun. The characters/classes are all very unique and psychotic, they are so enjoyable that there have been many videos and webcomics made about them, Valve event released a series of "Meet The ____" videos. The endless content, Valve really knows how to This game never gets old. This will probably remain my favorite FPS for a long time! Here are some reasons to like it: The art style is fun. The characters/classes are all very unique and psychotic, they are so enjoyable that there have been many videos and webcomics made about them, Valve event released a series of "Meet The ____" videos. The endless content, Valve really knows how to please their customers releasing a plethora of major game mechanics and content updates every few months. A great community. Some amazing community maps! Valve's maps are also well designed (even though most of them stick to the same boring desert/concrete theme). Absurd weapons (a jar of pee and a baseball, seriously?). Fun class combinations! The amazing teamwork aspect of the game that is lost in many FPSs. Things that are just wacky and fun (taunts, death cam and end of round coup de grace). Et cetera!!! Expand
  15. JC
    Sep 1, 2009
    10
    Without a doubt the most flawlessly executed multiplayer game I have ever witnessed. Perfectly designed to entertain every shooter fan, with a broad variety of gameplay options, and perfect balance. The graphics are luscious, colorful, and extremely fun.
  16. JacobL.
    Jan 12, 2010
    10
    This game was a new twist for First Person Shooters and a great twist. I love to see something new and original and thats exactly what i found in this game. The classes were very well balanced. This game is very much the high light of my day. 10/10
  17. Adrienne
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    An excellent game. Much better than TFC was in my opinion. All classes are actually playable, fun, and fair. A must have game to all FPS lovers.
  18. JasonW.
    Nov 11, 2007
    9
    Definitely worth the wait. TF2 is a great multiplayer game. Unmistakable character designs, brilliant (but too few) maps, well balanced, distinct player classes.
  19. MikeK.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Fantastic gameplay, great graphics, great maps. What more could an FPS gamer ask for? Maybe a few more maps, but other than that, this thing is beautiful.
  20. ChristianJ.
    Nov 12, 2007
    10
    Best game ever made, its not like Counter Strike and so, 9 classes, with some speciel Goods. Good Game.
  21. ThomsR.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    Great game, the nine different characters make the game more fun and exciting, you can really play it for several houres.
  22. AnthonyW.
    Nov 16, 2007
    10
    It is fast, funny and fun, i just wish there were more like it.
  23. BobS.
    Nov 2, 2007
    10
    One of the most amazing games that has come out in a long time. With exciting fights and varity in characters personalitys and specialtys. There is an amazing balance of stragity and skill
  24. AnonymousMC
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    I, like al ot of people out there, thought this game would never come. I have been around since the tf days and then tfc came out and now this is just a welcoming surprise. I had my doubts, but after playing it and coupling it with the graphics it is a hell of time. Good ole mayhem, arms and limbs flying about and the funny antics that each class has make this game as fun as it'sI, like al ot of people out there, thought this game would never come. I have been around since the tf days and then tfc came out and now this is just a welcoming surprise. I had my doubts, but after playing it and coupling it with the graphics it is a hell of time. Good ole mayhem, arms and limbs flying about and the funny antics that each class has make this game as fun as it's predecessors. Good job valve, you have managed to amazed us again. How do you do it?! Portal is pretty dang fun as well, so by the orange box. ;-) Expand
  25. DaveG.
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    This game is very one of the best with his fast and attractive gameplay, its a non-stop action and I love it, Graphics are really Awsome for a cartoon. It really amaze me. It worth the price!
  26. ChrisH.
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    Very cool, well balanced multiplayer. I love the cartoony graphics and theam music.
  27. AnonymousMC
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    Since I filled in this form already and you set the javascipt to not allow resizing, I lost what I typed in and I won't type it again. Plus, you can't see the next "error" page anyway because most of it is outside of the upper portion of the window. Not very helpful.
  28. I.A.
    Oct 19, 2007
    10
    Awesome, extremely fresh and different(as FPS games go), 10/10 graphics, addicting gameplay and most improtantly -> it's absolutely FUN!
  29. JamesB.
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    Amazing! A game that is actually FUN to play! Characters all have their own personalities which makes the game even more groundbreaking.
  30. JamesG.
    Oct 21, 2007
    10
    Amazingly brilliant game. Some TFC old-timers may go OMG THIS ISN'T THE EXACT SAME GAME, but this is a far more fun game.
  31. RichardV.
    Oct 22, 2007
    10
    The most addictive, first person shooter ever, an exelent balance between all clases. Its just, a masterpiece.
  32. EvanS.
    Dec 23, 2007
    10
    This game is one of the most fun and addicting team based strategy games out there. With fast paced action and many different classes combined with on-line play, it will keep anyone up all night.
  33. YermakirumY.
    Dec 28, 2007
    10
    Very good game.
  34. CraigM.
    Oct 23, 2007
    10
    Team Fortress 2 completely dominated the season opener LAN party at Abattoir.Net -- not since Battlefield 2 has a FPS held the reigns so tight. To sum TF2 up in four words, action, action, action and fun!
  35. ChrisC.
    Oct 27, 2007
    10
    This is a great followup to TFC. Granted they took away a couple good features of the original, they made up for it with great teamwork required gaming.
  36. AndrewB.
    Oct 29, 2007
    10
    This is the best game in the world in my opinion. It has perfect class balance and gameplay. Only thing missing is more maps, which will be made in due time.
  37. AnonymousMC
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    El team force 2 es lo mejor que le a pasado a valve, tampoco quiero dejar a parte el Half-life 2 o el Counter-strike:Source pero el team force 2 esta arrasando en todos los paises sobre todo en america y en españa... Destaca por su grafica de comic (pero realista) su cachondeo con los personages.... vamos resumiendo que es la OSTIA, como dice el '' THE NEW YORKEl team force 2 es lo mejor que le a pasado a valve, tampoco quiero dejar a parte el Half-life 2 o el Counter-strike:Source pero el team force 2 esta arrasando en todos los paises sobre todo en america y en españa... Destaca por su grafica de comic (pero realista) su cachondeo con los personages.... vamos resumiendo que es la OSTIA, como dice el '' THE NEW YORK TIMES'' porcierto un buen periodico. Si alguien quiere ablar con migo my steam es/is COPEGI. SALUDOS Expand
  38. AnonymousMC
    Nov 14, 2008
    10
    I got this game since beta and saw how the unique cartoon style has made this game fun and humorous game yet also can be a serious game if the team work together and still be funny, loved every minute of it. The first class I played was the heavy, loved his minigun and his taunts and pretty much everything about him. "Keep crying babies!"
  39. SteveL.
    Nov 15, 2008
    10
    I love this game.
  40. AnonymousMC
    Nov 23, 2008
    10
    well...i only got this game because of team fortress classic and 1.5.....it is is nothing like them buy its GREAT FUN!!!this game is worth every dollar,yen,rubbel or whatever your currency is....the other games you should get that are as amazing as this one are Counter strike: source(or any one of them) and fortress forever(search it up on Google or steam its free...basically team fortresswell...i only got this game because of team fortress classic and 1.5.....it is is nothing like them buy its GREAT FUN!!!this game is worth every dollar,yen,rubbel or whatever your currency is....the other games you should get that are as amazing as this one are Counter strike: source(or any one of them) and fortress forever(search it up on Google or steam its free...basically team fortress 1.5:source with super cool new weapons(not many though,,,not to spoils the game Expand
  41. SpencerH.
    Jan 17, 2008
    10
    An extremely fun game, with great visual style, that will look good no matter how real other graphics are. Different classes, plenty of servers, and a small variety of maps ensures that there will always be something to do.
  42. AnonymousMC
    Dec 14, 2008
    10
    Best, most complete multiplayer fps i've ever played. Zaaaa and anonymous are both ridiculous and didnt stick around long enough to see that the upgrades change the game without unbalancing it. The balancing is incredible, there are truly no bad classes and no unbeatable combinations. Everything else seems to have been said already, although let me add that there are a surprisingBest, most complete multiplayer fps i've ever played. Zaaaa and anonymous are both ridiculous and didnt stick around long enough to see that the upgrades change the game without unbalancing it. The balancing is incredible, there are truly no bad classes and no unbeatable combinations. Everything else seems to have been said already, although let me add that there are a surprising number of casual gamers being brought into the TF2 community, but there are huge niches for both the most casual and gung-ho gamers around. Expand
  43. AnonymousMC
    Dec 19, 2008
    10
    Been playing this game for over a month, used to play the original TF back in the days as well as other multiplayer games such as Counter Strike and I must say this is a worthy sucessor to those games.

    Balanced gameplay, varied classes, replayable maps as well as a continous stream of updates fram Valve makes this game feel fresh everytime you play it.
  44. AnonymousMC
    Oct 31, 2008
    10
    An absolutely excellent game in every aspect. It is a revolutionary first-person shooter in that you cannot always rely on you yourself to win the game. You will have to use every member of your team in order to win the game. It has incredible replay-value and the most excellent multi-player I've ever seen.
  45. DominicJ.
    Feb 11, 2008
    10
    I love this game Period to much to say speechless on how to explain it all.
  46. Tobias>
    Feb 14, 2008
    10
    Funniest game in its genre.... I´ve played every game in this category since doom.... and I have never had so much fun. First time, I laughed myself of the chair.
  47. MarkB.
    Feb 17, 2008
    10
    very nice, multiple choices....and Weapons! Looking forward to future updates.
  48. ChristianS.
    Feb 19, 2008
    10
    The best game EVER, great graphics effects, quality, lot of violence and blood , cold comedy, etc! Lots of challenging, and cools stats and achievement that you can earn!
  49. AnonymousMC
    Feb 29, 2008
    10
    The only gripe I have with this version is the game has gotten rid of the grenades. Us TFC veterans need to look past this, though. The devs are striving for BALANCE, and let me tell you, TF2 sets a new bar for the "weakest link" theory.

    The new graphics engine amplifies the cartoon violence to a new Pixar era of amusing individuality in facial animation. The community is as strong as
    The only gripe I have with this version is the game has gotten rid of the grenades. Us TFC veterans need to look past this, though. The devs are striving for BALANCE, and let me tell you, TF2 sets a new bar for the "weakest link" theory.

    The new graphics engine amplifies the cartoon violence to a new Pixar era of amusing individuality in facial animation. The community is as strong as ever. You can see this, because the game is updated about every two weeks, and hacks are few/far between. Most importantly, each class doesn't feel more powerful than the next. All have an important role in teamwork. Don't let the haters or fans of one particular class tell you otherwise. Master each class, and you can see each has an equal strenth and weakness.

    All in all, the best online multiplayer shooter ever made (TFC) has been upgraded with more balance and better visuals. Job well done.
    Expand
  50. AnonymousMC
    Mar 11, 2008
    10
    Such an amazing game, reaching my 50 hour now and I am still having tons of fun. Found a nice clan and i'm kicking ass. I suggest everyone gets this game, and for the love of god do not whine about pyros, they rock so much. They are the best ambush classes of all time, and evne now I am yet to be able to fully master them even though that is the clast I revel in, train hard, fightSuch an amazing game, reaching my 50 hour now and I am still having tons of fun. Found a nice clan and i'm kicking ass. I suggest everyone gets this game, and for the love of god do not whine about pyros, they rock so much. They are the best ambush classes of all time, and evne now I am yet to be able to fully master them even though that is the clast I revel in, train hard, fight well, die with pride. Expand
  51. AnonymousMC
    Mar 13, 2008
    10
    After playing a variety of FPS, starting with Weapons Factory (a team-based game for Quake 2), then moving to TFC (Team Fortress Classic), I can say I am well and truely addicted to TF2. Yeah, it is not as complicated as it's predecessors (no grenade spamming, no exploding dispensers, etc.), but the MAIN left fist to the balls is still there...tactics and fraggin. You may join aAfter playing a variety of FPS, starting with Weapons Factory (a team-based game for Quake 2), then moving to TFC (Team Fortress Classic), I can say I am well and truely addicted to TF2. Yeah, it is not as complicated as it's predecessors (no grenade spamming, no exploding dispensers, etc.), but the MAIN left fist to the balls is still there...tactics and fraggin. You may join a team getting it's nads cracked and become a medic or scout and turn the entire game around by how well the team meshes together. That's right..team, thus the name of the game. I've been playing it straight since it has come out (4+ months) and haven't touched Episodes 1 or 2 and have forgotten what Counter-Strike: Source is or how to play it. Screw the NY Times and their idiot reviewers. Hell, when was the last time they got anything right anyway. Buy it, play it, live it. Expand
  52. AnonymousMC
    Apr 15, 2008
    10
    This game practically redefines the multiplayer FPS genre. There is no other game that is this unique, and at the same time, as fun to play as this. Sure Halo 3 is great for a while, but it get very repetetive and extremely competetive. With Team Fortress 2, you get nine classes to choose from, each with different styles of gameplay.

    Say your one of those Sam Fisher or Snake stealth
    This game practically redefines the multiplayer FPS genre. There is no other game that is this unique, and at the same time, as fun to play as this. Sure Halo 3 is great for a while, but it get very repetetive and extremely competetive. With Team Fortress 2, you get nine classes to choose from, each with different styles of gameplay.

    Say your one of those Sam Fisher or Snake stealth game players, hop in as the Spy!
    Real time strategy? Build up your sentries and dispensers in tactial spots as an Engineer!
    Love racing games? Start running circles around your enemies, stealing their intelligence on the way, as the Scout!

    Team Fortress 2 seems to pack so many different gameplay types for the characters into one game, there's a role for everyone!

    If you've ever played the originial, you'd know how unbalanced the game would be for, say, Spies and Scouts, hardly getting any kills because of underpowered weapons. The sequel however, balances all the classes evenly! The Scout can get loads of kills, provided he gets close and uses his Scattergun effectively. The Spy now has a cloak and an instant kill backstab.
    The list goes on and on for how more it's been balanced.

    But hey, the graphics aren't chopped liver either-a fresh new stylized look, and all the characters are given one thing that most mulitplayer games lack... personality (get the game and find out what I mean) and it's easy tell what type of character someone is from simply their silhouette, voice or weapon.

    In short: GET THIS GAME! Along with the 4 other games it comes with in the Orange Box, it's the best gaming deal of the century! 5 Games for the price of Halo 3 minus 10 bucks!
    Expand
  53. AnonymousMC
    Apr 25, 2008
    10
    Ok, here is a message to all the people who rated this game terribly. A) there is a at least 10:1 ratio concerning good comments: bad comments and B) look at all the professional opinions...all above 80%. There is little wrong with TF2. The graphics are fresh and charming and it has a high replay value. All of those who said it got boring should really set their priorities straight, it isOk, here is a message to all the people who rated this game terribly. A) there is a at least 10:1 ratio concerning good comments: bad comments and B) look at all the professional opinions...all above 80%. There is little wrong with TF2. The graphics are fresh and charming and it has a high replay value. All of those who said it got boring should really set their priorities straight, it is a straight forward round based shooter. And as for all those bugs some people are complaining about, I haven't experienced one bug concerning TF2, maybe you should realise that something is wrong with your PC, not the game...It is a well thought out and thoroughly enjoyable game; one of the best multiplayer experiences in a long time. Expand
  54. AnonymousMC
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    This game was absolutely the best shooting game I have played on the PC plaform. One quality that makes this game special is that there are several different calsses which are all unique in their own special ways. This is also the only game I have seen that the Sniper class carries rifle. The variety of weapons also gives a nice mix to the game. I really didn't see Soldier'sThis game was absolutely the best shooting game I have played on the PC plaform. One quality that makes this game special is that there are several different calsses which are all unique in their own special ways. This is also the only game I have seen that the Sniper class carries rifle. The variety of weapons also gives a nice mix to the game. I really didn't see Soldier's rocket launcher being used as his primary weapon. This game overall is the best shooting game. The only flaw to this is that for people with low-quality video cards might have a bit of trouble playing this game. I really suggest getting a NVIDIA 256 mg video card. I currently use this card and the game runs smoothly. This is a shooting game that is actually fun to get killed in. I rate this aesome game a full 10. Expand
  55. KyleB
    May 11, 2008
    10
    This game is the most amazing game in the entire whole world. 10/10 graphcis 10/10 gamelpay 10/10 motivation.
  56. ScottW.
    May 19, 2008
    10
    TF2 is the perfect game for anyone. If you like fast paced gameplay or slower paced, this game will fit you gaming style!
  57. MarceloG.
    May 25, 2008
    10
    Best game ever. Creative character, creative maps, very good. Keep like that.
  58. JaredS.
    Jun 16, 2008
    10
    I think all the classes are perfectly balanced.
  59. NicolasN.
    Jun 17, 2008
    10
    That is a good game, the grafic is beautiful and the game play too, nothing to add, just nice game.
  60. JeremyD.
    Jun 17, 2008
    10
    Most in-depth first person shooter I have ever played. I loved TFC and I love TF2 even more.
  61. AndrewC.
    Jun 19, 2008
    10
    Hilarious game a lot of fun a must buy.
  62. RubenC.
    Jun 21, 2008
    10
    I really like it.And now, with the pyro's new weapons it's even better!!!!! Waiting for more updates.
  63. AW
    Jun 21, 2008
    10
    Very kick ass game. Possibly the best game on steam.
  64. RoccoM.
    Jun 23, 2008
    10
    This game has made gaming way better with its graphics and updates. I feel it is the best game of its generation.
  65. NikitaE.
    Jun 24, 2008
    10
    No comments. This is amazing!
  66. MattS.
    Jun 24, 2008
    10
    Best game I have played since Tribes.
  67. MurdocM.
    Jun 25, 2008
    10
    It's fast paced, constantly updating, maps are made to be played numerous times. It's one of the best designed games of its time.
  68. JoshP
    Jul 21, 2008
    10
    Awesome game. I would recommend it to anyone. Easy to get into, great FPS.
  69. JeffreyZ.
    Jul 21, 2008
    10
    I love the game ! teamplay that is needed,caracters and theyre gun design, the game style....as a map designer myself i love to see the perfect finished maps.
  70. ChrisW.
    Jul 23, 2008
    10
    Very fun game. New players can play as simple classes like heavy while experienced players and pros can play as more complicatet classes like demoman and pyro and that's good. You will find comfort in this game even if you just has played it in 2 minutes.
  71. DennisG.
    Jul 29, 2008
    10
    Awesome game. Until Battlefield Heroes will be released, no "comic-style" game was that awesome as TF2 was. Maybe it won't even beat BF:Heroes, let's see.
  72. IanB.
    Aug 15, 2008
    10
    Not just a great shooter, but a great shooter with strategic elements involved. the epitome of what a shooter should be but usually isn't.
  73. CortneyK.
    Aug 24, 2008
    10
    Excellent execution, game modes, and character achievements.
  74. Dragon
    Aug 26, 2008
    10
    Great game to play with friends online. With all the classes theres huge replayability value. The classes are well balanced, skill and teamwork is favored over plain luck in most cased.
  75. DanD.
    Aug 31, 2008
    10
    Nine years, TOTALLY worth the wait!!!!! So what if the game is a normal 2 teams one winner death match, its FUN! With all the stuff you can do between the classes, it gets crazy out there in the battle! Must buy game! Haha!
  76. ColinD.
    Sep 11, 2008
    10
    By far, the best multiplayer experience you'll have ever had. (other than Counter-Strike 1.6) This game, with it's unlockable achievements, Valve-branded maps, user-created maps, and a variety of other fantastic gameplay features easily pushes this game to the top of all the PC gaming charts!
  77. GabrielL.
    Sep 19, 2008
    10
    Fun game. especially when playing with friends. this game allow friends to work together and create better bonds - really a teamwork game.
  78. JoshP.
    Sep 22, 2008
    10
    I considered knocking a point or two off just to seem reasonable but honestly, there really isn't anything bad about this game. It's very well balanced and actually pulls off the whole teamwork required thing. I'm going to give it a full 10, for it's audience, it's perfect.
  79. ChandlerP
    Nov 14, 2009
    10
    Team Foretress 2 is by far one of my favorite First Person Shooters of all time: it forces you to use teamwork which makes the game more challenging, it is purposely easy to apply modifications to (hooray for Valve), and the large array of servers and well made custom maps constantly leaves a new experience every game. The game also contains humor you can discover in game simply by Team Foretress 2 is by far one of my favorite First Person Shooters of all time: it forces you to use teamwork which makes the game more challenging, it is purposely easy to apply modifications to (hooray for Valve), and the large array of servers and well made custom maps constantly leaves a new experience every game. The game also contains humor you can discover in game simply by listening to what the characters say. Although I gave it a 10, it does have some problems, however they're not bad enough to lower the score down from a 10. The game will become boring if you are in a very small server, and the Dead Ringer item for the spy seems to be a very unfair advantage against enemies. All in all, it's a very enjoyable game and I would say that it's one that should be in every good PC gamer's game list. Expand
  80. BrandonL
    Nov 15, 2009
    10
    TF2 is an amazing game, i loved it, got it for Xbox AND pc, just because it's such a good game, i HAD to have multiple systems to play it on. I love this game so much, it's so addicting, because every day you can download a new map and it never gets old when you get to play more and more custom maps and build up your own collection.
  81. EdH
    Nov 21, 2009
    10
    This game is amazing, even when you're being killed its still fun, the only real flaw in it is that it's too easy to get addicted and stay for hours! The nine classes encourage team play which makes it fun to make friends and it's a great social network
  82. DudeEt
    Oct 14, 2009
    10
    By far the greatest online shooter game of its type. It's graphics have a nice feel to them, and the theme is pleasing to the eyes after repetitive playing.. although was is best about it, is the classes. Sure somethings change a touch with updates, and unlockable items, although others have helped the game feel fresh. For example.. the item drop system might be annoying.. but it By far the greatest online shooter game of its type. It's graphics have a nice feel to them, and the theme is pleasing to the eyes after repetitive playing.. although was is best about it, is the classes. Sure somethings change a touch with updates, and unlockable items, although others have helped the game feel fresh. For example.. the item drop system might be annoying.. but it sure has left everyone in suspense on wanting to get a hat.. and therefor continuing to play. Personally i think its a bit of a gimmick.. Anyhow it has quite some potential still, since 3 classes remain to be updated with a few more meet the "" videos to be made, being the medic and the pyro. The community of it is great as well, with a huge variety of maps for selection to differ from the valve maps that one gets to know to well after some time. Some include skill maps, that rely on techniques that most would have not even thought about.. most times though they are just for the fun and impractical for real use. I highly doubt if valve makes a team fortress 3 in the future, that it could live up to this game.. of which if it does, well then it is obvious what will be my favorite game. So come play a few rounds.. choose a class, from the selection of the: explosive rather well balanced class the soldier, the team asset the medic, whom heals everyone and can easily help win a match with an ubercharge.. the spy who's job is to infiltrate and attack the enemy in their weakspot and destroy machines among the way. the scout who uses speed and flanking to his ability, the pyro for everyone that just wants to hold down mouse one..the heavy for everyone who wants a big gun and lots of hp, the engineer for the type whom want to build machines to help out your team, the sniper for all whom like to annoy others by headshoting them and finally, the demoman who is by far the best drunk player character.. i have ever seen in a game, with some great lines.. and the most explosives one can pack into a character... the sticky launcher for planting traps for the enemy and the pipe bomb launcher, for dealing with everything else.. Still by far the soldier is my favorite, nothing beats killing with the rocket launcher, or hitting someone out of the air with the same gun. Expand
  83. willC
    Nov 8, 2009
    10
    Awesome. Much variety in each class, providing hours and hours of fun.
  84. DominicM
    Nov 9, 2009
    10
    Pretty much the best PC multiplayer game ever. I really feel this game should be reviewed again. In the two years since its release, the following has been added: thirty maps, 230 achievements, 18 weapons, and dozens of cosmetic items; along with bug fixes, balance tweaks, and updates... and Valve isn't done yet! They're planning more updates all the time. TF2 is the Pretty much the best PC multiplayer game ever. I really feel this game should be reviewed again. In the two years since its release, the following has been added: thirty maps, 230 achievements, 18 weapons, and dozens of cosmetic items; along with bug fixes, balance tweaks, and updates... and Valve isn't done yet! They're planning more updates all the time. TF2 is the best-supported game in... well, ever. With all the updates and the brilliant support for this game, I feel it's gone from fantastic to basically perfect. Expand
  85. OMGWTFBBQ
    Dec 11, 2009
    10
    It's a great game, Guys, if you want to buy the game buy it! Don't listen to any of the downers! They are just angry trolls who join the first server they can find. Then, they go on here and just RAGE! "Why?" cause people are dicks. Look, the game is great! they are already going to release a new soldier vs. demoman update. The graphics give the player great points of interest It's a great game, Guys, if you want to buy the game buy it! Don't listen to any of the downers! They are just angry trolls who join the first server they can find. Then, they go on here and just RAGE! "Why?" cause people are dicks. Look, the game is great! they are already going to release a new soldier vs. demoman update. The graphics give the player great points of interest in the game, whether it is to create fair hitboxes or tell you where to go and tell which team you are on. It may all look like eyecandy at first but later, it REALLY helps in case you are lost. They helped with teamwork with the Item drop system so that people didn't have to worry about achievements and the community can create achievement servers at peace now that they are practically useless but still fun. They truly listen to their community, the weapons are near perfect they all have GREAT up and a bad down, but that's to keep it even! EXAMPLE spy might be a bit overpowered with the Dead Ringer and Cloak and dagger but the DR has a unique sound to it and the C&D users can only move a very limited time before they have to stand still and are unable to move around leaving them open to pyros BUT pyros are only close range snd sometimes long range with flare gun and so snipers get to kill them, but they are usually always long-range except for huntsman users which have changed the game forever in a good way, which makes them open to quick scouts and mischievous pyros and spies that are VERY vulnerable because they will have to infiltrate the enemy base AND THEN kill their target the heavy can spell terror in the enemies' eyes but he is only good at close range and being ubered from medics who are very vulnerable to enemy fire without unlockable weapons, which makes them more balanced if they are lucky with Item drop, the demoman is extremely powerful but he can only do mid-to long range, close range he risks damaging himself AND most of his kills need to be him being in an open firefight. the scout is an objective whore, he captures control points twice as fast, can double jump even TRIPLE jump with unlockables and immense skill, capture flags better, and run the fastest. THough, they have very low health and are extremely easy to identify. Soldiers; people complain about them and their crit rockets, but you have to be REALLY dumb to get hit by one of their crit rockets cause they are much slower than normal ones. Soldiers also can rocket jump to unreachable places of other classes giving them literally the higher advantage but again, leaves them to open fire THIS is why i love TF2 and play it even after 2 years of its release and soon 3! oh, and the engineer, spies will do anything to take him down and will mostly succeed or not, skill is the key! Expand
  86. JoshuaC
    Dec 11, 2009
    10
    The War Update demonstrated to me how focused Valve is on building games with dynamic communities that foster the gameplay in it's players. It's this intimacy that makes Valve games, a stand alone experience time and time again.
  87. MMills
    Oct 21, 2009
    10
    Amazing game from an amazing company. Each class has a hilarious personality with hundreds of voice clips for different situations. The game comes with a good selection of valve-made and community-made maps not to mention the plethora of fan made mods and maps readily available. Game balance is solid and there's high re playability. Valve is constantly doing bug fixes and has Amazing game from an amazing company. Each class has a hilarious personality with hundreds of voice clips for different situations. The game comes with a good selection of valve-made and community-made maps not to mention the plethora of fan made mods and maps readily available. Game balance is solid and there's high re playability. Valve is constantly doing bug fixes and has released a content patch every few months. My brother and I both have over 500 hours played. Amazing deal for $20. Expand
  88. hnng
    Dec 13, 2009
    10
    Great, appealing visuals. Despite being released in October 2007, Valve still frequently updates the game and fixes any (major) bugs quickly. After being out for more than 2 years, it's amazing that story is still being built around it (tf2.com). I'd recommend the PC version as it receives the most updates and new content.
  89. Droqen
    Dec 16, 2009
    10
    I have never got into a multiplayer FPS as much as I've gotten into this one. TF2 is truly unique; every class has its own playstyle, its own weaknesses and strengths -- and while this makes it a hostile environment to the newbie, once the basics have been learned it's a world of fun. In most FPS games (in my opinion, anyway) tactics are one-sided: You look at what you have (and I have never got into a multiplayer FPS as much as I've gotten into this one. TF2 is truly unique; every class has its own playstyle, its own weaknesses and strengths -- and while this makes it a hostile environment to the newbie, once the basics have been learned it's a world of fun. In most FPS games (in my opinion, anyway) tactics are one-sided: You look at what you have (and possibly what the map is like) and decide "I'm going to snipe people" or "I will stalk around and shoot people". You don't care about the opponent - he's a guy with a gun, and if he sees you, he will want to kill you. In TF2: You see a Pyro, and realize backpedaling + shooting is the best course of action. A Heavy? Get out of his line of sight, and possibly pop in and out while shooting him; he's slow. Spot a Sentry, and you'll either corner it or avoid it - unless you're a Spy, in which case you'll cloak or disguise (most likely) to get a look at the area before deciding to take it down or not. If you're a Pyro, your approach to take it down will be different from a Demoman's. Long story short: The tactics you use in this game vary wildly. One enemy will garner an entirely different reaction from you than other. People ACTUALLY RETREAT. Team involvement is important and not uncommon, because certain classes are more well-suited to given obstacles than others -- at the same time, it is never enforced. A good Pyro can wipe out a Heavy, and a good Demoman can destroy even a Scout who's come too close. Get this game if you enjoy FPS games at all. It is incredibly inexpensive compared to any other game of the sort (except for the free ones), it has amazing personality in addition to the incredible gameplay, and there's more to come. Updates are free and not too infrequent; the community varies from awesome to suck, but the nice thing is it's not too tough to find a server you enjoy. Servers and players are not hard to find - and I guarantee there will be a server to cater to your needs. Expand
  90. ScottW
    Dec 17, 2009
    10
    I see a lot of hate/frustration ratings ("game is good, but..." it gets a 0). I've seen a lot of criticism about lack of teamwork, laggy servers, etc... Issues that one runs into with any fps, or, in fact, any online game. TF2 players, in my experience, tend to be more willing to work together, answer questions, help, etc. And this is from someone who has spent thousands of hours I see a lot of hate/frustration ratings ("game is good, but..." it gets a 0). I've seen a lot of criticism about lack of teamwork, laggy servers, etc... Issues that one runs into with any fps, or, in fact, any online game. TF2 players, in my experience, tend to be more willing to work together, answer questions, help, etc. And this is from someone who has spent thousands of hours over the last 11 years playing online games. The art is unique and fun; the game is simple, which makes it both accessible and straightforward. There's a shard learning curve at first, but after a few hours it gets easier. The secondary learning curve is pretty shallow. Practice makes perfect. As such, one is always getting better, accomplishing something. All it takes is a look at the fact that 95% of the reviews are 9 or 10 to realize that this game really has something going for it. My highest recommendation is to find a good server group; the FUG and saigns.de communities are good. I've seen some big claims like constant noob-bashing, etc., and I've never encountered this. Find a good server group and you're golden. Expand
  91. AndreM
    Dec 17, 2009
    10
    Well, what game in history was so updated like this? I mean, this game has many times the original stuff, and is many times more fun. The only thing I should complain is the behavior Valve took some times against innocent players, but that's not the game's fault.
  92. SpaiotaW
    Dec 17, 2009
    10
    This game deserves nothing less than a 10. Meta Critic please re-evaluate the game and you will find that this is now a totally different game than what you reviewed earlier. You will not be disappointed :)
  93. alexs
    Dec 17, 2009
    10
    my favourite game, I love how the characters have their own personalities and the game play is amazing. And the style is unique and awesome!
  94. K1LL80Y
    Dec 18, 2009
    10
    plays a lot like time splitters 2,but i like TS2,so to me this is an awesome game! You're able to unlock weapons and hats,theres 9 different classes,and a lot of maps! If you like shooters,this is the game for you!
  95. Union-ServersWeaponman
    Dec 21, 2009
    10
    Ah, Valve, They make us big surprises ! And once again, they made one of the best multilayer game ! No long Loading, Great Physics, Great Graphics, and Really good fps ! Play with many classes and play strategics maps, unlock Achievements, unlock weapons, and unlock hats ! with great support and updates, You must buy this game
  96. GarrettM
    Dec 21, 2009
    10
    One of the best FPS out there. If quake is considered the perfection of deathmatch FPS, then TF2 gets the perfection of teamwork FPS. This game really shines in its competitive play of 6v6, and once you reach that level, the game completely changes its point of view.
  97. RazzKK
    Dec 20, 2009
    10
    This is a must-buy for all FPS multiplayer gamers. TF2 has everything, non-repetitive gameplay, good art direction, reasonable physics (and if not, they are funny; rocket jumping ftw :P), funny dialogue and awesome maps. Every class has its strengths and weaknesses, so this means that if your on a killing spree, it can end in one second, but it also means that if there's some This is a must-buy for all FPS multiplayer gamers. TF2 has everything, non-repetitive gameplay, good art direction, reasonable physics (and if not, they are funny; rocket jumping ftw :P), funny dialogue and awesome maps. Every class has its strengths and weaknesses, so this means that if your on a killing spree, it can end in one second, but it also means that if there's some heavy-medic team beating your team's butt, then you can end it one second. This means that the game can turn any time. Expand
  98. AlecksT
    Dec 22, 2009
    10
    This is a really well done game with many hours put into both making and playing, I especially like how Valve continues to add to this wonderful games glory with all the updates!
  99. JasonP
    Dec 27, 2009
    10
    This game has blown my mind. I used to be a fan of CSS, but after playing TF2 I've never gone back. The variety of classes, weapons, maps, and gameplay makes this an experience that never gets old. The Valve staff have still got much in store for this game, so even the most seasoned players have not experienced everything that this game has to offer.
  100. JoeL
    Dec 31, 2009
    10
    TF2 is by far the best class based game on the market. So good in fact that other games have basically ripped off their classes (I'm looking at you Killzone2). The game offers a myriad of maps and styles of play out of the box plus 100s of custom maps by the community. While sometimes teams may be lopsided, so is the world of online FPS. Most classes are useful in public servers TF2 is by far the best class based game on the market. So good in fact that other games have basically ripped off their classes (I'm looking at you Killzone2). The game offers a myriad of maps and styles of play out of the box plus 100s of custom maps by the community. While sometimes teams may be lopsided, so is the world of online FPS. Most classes are useful in public servers while the big 4 (Soldier, scout, demo and medic) are used in more competitive play. Overall if you are a fan of the more arcade style, twitch based FPS TF2 is definitely for you. Expand
  101. Aug 29, 2012
    0
    Since Mann vs. Machine is out, I think it's time for a re-review of TF2. In case you don't already know; Team Fortress 2 is a competitive online shooter with wonderful cartoon visuals, engaging class-based teamplay and is still more fun than most other online shooters. The MvM update adds a fairly substantial co-op mode in which you team up with four others to stop robots from deploying aSince Mann vs. Machine is out, I think it's time for a re-review of TF2. In case you don't already know; Team Fortress 2 is a competitive online shooter with wonderful cartoon visuals, engaging class-based teamplay and is still more fun than most other online shooters. The MvM update adds a fairly substantial co-op mode in which you team up with four others to stop robots from deploying a bomb to your base, so it's basically an elaborate form of tower defence. Like the main game, MvM never ceases to be entertaining even whilst your team is getting repeatedly ground into the dirt. The game is also free, so unless you're paranoid about disk space, then Team Fortress 2 is a no-brainer, even if you're not into online shooting games. Collapse
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. 100
    The marriage of highly stylised retro-spy presentation, fresh, high octane action, deep and varied classes and the underlying twinkle of humour in its metaphorical eye make Team Fortress 2 far more than just your average fragfest. Long after the novelty of the graphics wears thin, we are left with a refined and accessible multiplayer game that simultaneously cultivates new players whilst retaining enough depth to accommodate even the hardiest of veterans.
  2. The game also does a lovely job of framing your relationship with other players and nurturing them.
  3. It's one hell of a game. With its powerful artistic style and blazingly quick, yet accessible gameplay, it's enough to melt the icy cynicism imprisoning the hearts of even the most jaded among us. That being said, it's not the most complex shooter out there.