User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 5340 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's a perfect game. You are always updated with new releases incredible. It is worthwhile to buy this game, is a masterpiece from Valve. The game is very fun, with different characters and balanced. Expand
  2. Mar 17, 2011
    10
    No matter what FPS game you play, you can thank Team Fortress for making it possible. The original Team Fortress was a free mod for Quake 1 that came out in 1996, and it forever changed FPS games. TF was the first game that really focused on class based team play. So many games follow that model now. Team Fortress 2 is not quite the same game as its 1996 incarnation. The game no longer hasNo matter what FPS game you play, you can thank Team Fortress for making it possible. The original Team Fortress was a free mod for Quake 1 that came out in 1996, and it forever changed FPS games. TF was the first game that really focused on class based team play. So many games follow that model now. Team Fortress 2 is not quite the same game as its 1996 incarnation. The game no longer has grenades, it has a slower pace, and at a competitive level, it actually requires teamwork to win. Team Fortress 2 has been out for over 3 years now and it is only growing in popularity. The competitive community is getting bigger, and it shows no signs of slowing down. If you are looking for a fun FPS with lasting appeal, Team Fortress 2 is for you. Expand
  3. Mar 2, 2011
    10
    Graphics are creative and funny, Controls are ultra-smooth and the game-play is FUN. FUN being the important word here. The game may look simple at first glance, but is a very complex shooter. Pretty much still a perfect game after all these years.
  4. Jan 8, 2012
    10
    This game will ruin your life. You'll forget to feed the dog, you may even forget to feed yourself. Your lawn will look like the amazon and the newspapers will pile up. If you don't like your job, perfect, you won't go to work once you start playing. I love this game, more than I loved my girlfriend. I'm a logical (somewhat decent) person. I have memories from 2fort. Help me.
  5. Apr 8, 2011
    10
    Even after all these years, there's still no multiplayer game that can top it. Excellent class balance, fair customization, great maps, they're all here, and not going anywhere anytime soon.
  6. Nov 13, 2010
    10
    Three words everybody: BEST SHOOTER EVER! I dont care if Halo: Reach has an epic campaign (actually, I do), this game has a freakin' SANDVICH!!! The class you play as isn't just your favorite character; its a personality! If I ever (God forbid) go on a dating site, my profile will say, "Likes cats and playing as the Engineer and Scout,". This game has great graphics, catchy tunes, and overThree words everybody: BEST SHOOTER EVER! I dont care if Halo: Reach has an epic campaign (actually, I do), this game has a freakin' SANDVICH!!! The class you play as isn't just your favorite character; its a personality! If I ever (God forbid) go on a dating site, my profile will say, "Likes cats and playing as the Engineer and Scout,". This game has great graphics, catchy tunes, and over 60 different weapons (not including promotion items)! It's only 20 bucks! Go buy a copy! If you have one, stop hating your friends and buy them one! Expand
  7. Mar 19, 2011
    10
    Team Fortress 2 is by far one of the best shooters ever made. The classes are balanced, there's an immense choice of weapons for you to use or acquire, strategy is required and most importantly: TEAMWORK IS REQUIRED AT ALL TIMES! All 9 classes help each other in many ways, and a combination of classes and teamwork is crucial to win the game.

    Many maps to choose from, and you can even make
    Team Fortress 2 is by far one of the best shooters ever made. The classes are balanced, there's an immense choice of weapons for you to use or acquire, strategy is required and most importantly: TEAMWORK IS REQUIRED AT ALL TIMES! All 9 classes help each other in many ways, and a combination of classes and teamwork is crucial to win the game.

    Many maps to choose from, and you can even make your own. New content is released regularly and for free... and you can even make you own too!
    Also, AWESOME HATS AND AWESOME STUFF TO CUSTOMIZE YOUR CHARACTER.

    This is the real deal.
    Expand
  8. Apr 8, 2011
    10
    Awesome game overall. It makes good use of the 9 classes and it makes every one of them unique in both playstyle and gameplay. Nothing is unnecessary or excessive, besides some items and the gaming is extremely fast paced. It gets you worked up like no other and when played competitively, it is the most satisfying game in the world. This game is valve's best creation by far. It isAwesome game overall. It makes good use of the 9 classes and it makes every one of them unique in both playstyle and gameplay. Nothing is unnecessary or excessive, besides some items and the gaming is extremely fast paced. It gets you worked up like no other and when played competitively, it is the most satisfying game in the world. This game is valve's best creation by far. It is humorous, but at the same time, intense. Expand
  9. Sep 5, 2011
    10
    With endless replay value, constant updates, and occasional (and very well done) animated shorts, Team Fortress 2 is no doubt one of the best shooters out there.
  10. Jan 10, 2012
    10
    THE free game (I'd put it just in front of LoL). Words can't describe how good this game is. There are lots of fun play modes, the graphics look great and are incredibly well optimized, the class variety is prominent, there's an item system that makes each class a bit more unique, and you don't have to pay a dime (if you don't want to). If you like FPS or team games, you have to at leastTHE free game (I'd put it just in front of LoL). Words can't describe how good this game is. There are lots of fun play modes, the graphics look great and are incredibly well optimized, the class variety is prominent, there's an item system that makes each class a bit more unique, and you don't have to pay a dime (if you don't want to). If you like FPS or team games, you have to at least give it a shot. Valve really has impressed me both with the quality of this game and their ability to hand it out for nothing! Easily my new go-to shooter Expand
  11. Feb 6, 2012
    10
    I figure if all players have left to **** about is 'balance', then you've created a fantastic game. Balance is a subjective thing. Team Fortress 2 is a free FPS with the nostalgic feel of the Quake engine that I feel is more than competitive with the likes of the most recent FPS heavy-hitters (i.e. Modern Warfare, Battlefield). With the legacy that TF2 has, it's no wonder Valve pissed offI figure if all players have left to **** about is 'balance', then you've created a fantastic game. Balance is a subjective thing. Team Fortress 2 is a free FPS with the nostalgic feel of the Quake engine that I feel is more than competitive with the likes of the most recent FPS heavy-hitters (i.e. Modern Warfare, Battlefield). With the legacy that TF2 has, it's no wonder Valve pissed off a few fanboys by changing things up a bit. Pay them no mind. If you are passing this game up, you're missing out. End of story. Expand
  12. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    "Team Fortress 2" is one of the most historically epic games Valve has ever made. The game only consists of multiplayer, but multiplayer at it's finest. The 9 classes are very balanced as well as the controls too. Gameplay is smooth and is equipped with sexy graphics. There are a variety of maps and game modes as well as constant updates from our trusty Valve. The only downside? There is"Team Fortress 2" is one of the most historically epic games Valve has ever made. The game only consists of multiplayer, but multiplayer at it's finest. The 9 classes are very balanced as well as the controls too. Gameplay is smooth and is equipped with sexy graphics. There are a variety of maps and game modes as well as constant updates from our trusty Valve. The only downside? There is no singleplayer or campaign. Nevertheless, TF2 is one of those games that defines "games". Expand
  13. Jan 9, 2012
    9
    Great game. Never been a fan of FPS, but this is the best FPS game. Full of action, challenges and fun. The cartoon graphics make the game better, more enjoyable. 9 different classes of all types: power, speed, technique, and others. One of the best multiplayers game.
  14. Jan 9, 2012
    10
    Very good art style for the game. With all of the classes, and everything you can do, it is a game hard to get bored with. It runs well on low end machines, and looks pretty good on high end machines. Fun for all.
  15. Mar 21, 2011
    10
    TF2 has always been one of my favorite games. It has memorable characters, diverse playstyles, unique maps, and best of all: It has a wonderful and mostly kind community.
    I don't go a day without hearing one of the character's voices saying something in my head to fit my situation.
    Not to mention completely and totally reliable as VALVe is with all of their games. It's made well, it has
    TF2 has always been one of my favorite games. It has memorable characters, diverse playstyles, unique maps, and best of all: It has a wonderful and mostly kind community.
    I don't go a day without hearing one of the character's voices saying something in my head to fit my situation.
    Not to mention completely and totally reliable as VALVe is with all of their games. It's made well, it has constant content updates and patches, the blog is updated rather actively, etc.
    And for the low price of $20? This game is Three years old and the community is still huge. This game has quality written all over it. It's hard to find a major flaw that isn't soon fixed.
    Expand
  16. Dec 16, 2011
    9
    Played this since 2007 and really love it. and I am not really much of a MP player. The fun and action-packed game has me enterained for years even if I have nearlyl 600 games on my steam account, I still come to TF2 to play. I am fast approaching 1000 hours played clocked on this game. Subtitles are lacking but someone has created a mod that implements closed captions into the game whichPlayed this since 2007 and really love it. and I am not really much of a MP player. The fun and action-packed game has me enterained for years even if I have nearlyl 600 games on my steam account, I still come to TF2 to play. I am fast approaching 1000 hours played clocked on this game. Subtitles are lacking but someone has created a mod that implements closed captions into the game which increased it's fun factor. Greatly recommended for those looking for action packed multiplayer FPS. Expand
  17. Aug 30, 2010
    10
    Team Fortress 2 is the perfect online FPS game. It is even with Counter Strike: Source. This game is possibly the most actively changing game that is perfect. 10/10
  18. Apr 5, 2011
    10
    best half life game ever. but unfortunately now has become a bs pay more and more type of game. A perfect hit, even updates perfect, even thought became a digital hat simulator. I am only up set that now they added crates which one must purchase a key to unlock and you cannot craft a key. so if you don't have 25 dollars a month the crates are useless.
  19. Jan 18, 2012
    10
    Everything about this game is great. The customization and item management is amazing, and the gunplay is varied, and violent. The visuals are great, but a little off putting if you're a veteran shooter fan of the likes of CoD and Battlefield. Similarly, The quirkiness of TF2 mean that going back to a different shooter is a little hard at least for me. Since it's F2P, there should be noEverything about this game is great. The customization and item management is amazing, and the gunplay is varied, and violent. The visuals are great, but a little off putting if you're a veteran shooter fan of the likes of CoD and Battlefield. Similarly, The quirkiness of TF2 mean that going back to a different shooter is a little hard at least for me. Since it's F2P, there should be no reason not to play it. Expand
  20. Feb 9, 2012
    10
    First, think of the latest in a line of games that set the trend for almost all future fps's. then make it online, then give it constant updates and new toys to play with. now make it all free. that's team fortess two. it was worth the money when it was released because it offers competitive play for all skill levels and types of gamer. it has its own economy and continuously growingFirst, think of the latest in a line of games that set the trend for almost all future fps's. then make it online, then give it constant updates and new toys to play with. now make it all free. that's team fortess two. it was worth the money when it was released because it offers competitive play for all skill levels and types of gamer. it has its own economy and continuously growing fanbase. the graphics are great (you can barely tell the tf2 is as old as it is), the classes balance well. Oh, and did i mention it's free? Expand
  21. Nov 5, 2010
    10
    This is truly one of the greatest multiplayer FPS games i've ever played.
    I am playing it for a year and it's still entertaining, mostly because of updates, that, i think, come more frequently than MMO updates. With 9 classes to choose from, everyone will find their favourite gameplay style. And, of course, HATS. They make the game even more awesome... This is the best mix of RPG and FPS.
    This is truly one of the greatest multiplayer FPS games i've ever played.
    I am playing it for a year and it's still entertaining, mostly because of updates, that, i think, come more frequently than MMO updates. With 9 classes to choose from, everyone will find their favourite gameplay style. And, of course, HATS. They make the game even more awesome... This is the best mix of RPG and FPS. Weapons, hats, trading, crafting and shooting. 'Couse who needs experience points.
    Expand
  22. Nov 11, 2010
    10
    This is a great game. It has by far the most hours logged on my computer out of any game I own. Every class you play you get an entirely different experience and the best part is that every class actually feels necessary. Then I personally enjoy the humor in this game and the fact that there are as many frequent updates as there are is just top notch. Its is bar none the best multiplayerThis is a great game. It has by far the most hours logged on my computer out of any game I own. Every class you play you get an entirely different experience and the best part is that every class actually feels necessary. Then I personally enjoy the humor in this game and the fact that there are as many frequent updates as there are is just top notch. Its is bar none the best multiplayer experience out there even 3 years after its original release. Expand
  23. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    This game is frikin amazing. The best game ever for the PC besides Half-Life. Its fantasticaly simple yet strategic. You will really get into this game for a long time. Each character has a fun ascet to them. The game is hilarious and you will like it for along time. The gameplay is fantastic and its so fun. Its just mindless killing. No real war. Just killing. Its so fun you have to get this
  24. Jan 5, 2012
    9
    The game is very fun to play and keeps constantly getting updated with new features making it fun to keep playing it. I've played it for years now and still enjoy it. Only problem is that Valve is releasing new updates without testing them properly making the game unbalanced.
  25. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    This game is the most fun you can have online. Why? First of all, there are no such things as "levels" or "experience" or "cheating", and everybody has an equal chance to win. Second of almost all, you can find items and craft items with the time, which is also super epic. Don't buy Counter-Strike, Download THIS for free via Steam.
  26. Oct 9, 2010
    10
    This game is the best multiplayer game I have EVER played. The game is superbly balanced, lacking the traditional customization most FPSs like MW2 have. Instead the game has 9 Classes, all fo which gave several advantages, disadvantages, and styles of play. The Scout for example, is the fastest class, and can double jump, making hard to hit. But with that he gets a relatively weak weaponThis game is the best multiplayer game I have EVER played. The game is superbly balanced, lacking the traditional customization most FPSs like MW2 have. Instead the game has 9 Classes, all fo which gave several advantages, disadvantages, and styles of play. The Scout for example, is the fastest class, and can double jump, making hard to hit. But with that he gets a relatively weak weapon with bad accuracy (short double barreled shotgun) and very low health. I would recommend this game to anyone AND everyone. This game, now about 3 years old is also still getting patches and updates. HOW MANY GAMES ARE LIKE THAT?! An amazing game with a great art style and amazing textures, it has a unique look. This is the best multiplayer game I play tied with Counter Strike Source. Expand
  27. Aug 28, 2010
    10
    the cartoony graphics make it even more lovable and is a great break from the next gen graphics (brown n' bloom). Lovable characters, dedicated servers, great community. This is definitly on my top 10 greatest games of all time
  28. Sep 1, 2010
    10
    Lets have a new review shall we? Team fortress 2 is the most amazing mutliplayer experience ever. Its balanced with its diffrent classes that have diffrent roles, letting you pick your style. The pyro is people who like close range and ambush, heavy is for power and scout is for speed. Many diffrent tactics such as Sap n stab, rocket jumping can be involved. People who say there are noLets have a new review shall we? Team fortress 2 is the most amazing mutliplayer experience ever. Its balanced with its diffrent classes that have diffrent roles, letting you pick your style. The pyro is people who like close range and ambush, heavy is for power and scout is for speed. Many diffrent tactics such as Sap n stab, rocket jumping can be involved. People who say there are no objectives have not played the game. CTF, CP, PL, PLR, DM, AAD and counting are all gamemodes in this game. The characters have style and more. TFC is NOTHING compared to this lovley polished game. Expand
  29. Sep 15, 2010
    10
    I bought this game on a whim a while back. All I can say is that this is quite possibly the most fun I've had in a game in a long time. Quite simply the longevity of the game and the willingness of valve to continue to support this game speaks volumes. Constant class updates, game updates and a vibrant community that run very excellent servers that are quite full day and night. I recommendI bought this game on a whim a while back. All I can say is that this is quite possibly the most fun I've had in a game in a long time. Quite simply the longevity of the game and the willingness of valve to continue to support this game speaks volumes. Constant class updates, game updates and a vibrant community that run very excellent servers that are quite full day and night. I recommend the No Heroes servers. The gentleman that runs the joint doesn't put up with any guff and his servers are full 90% of the day. There is also quite a large female gamer population that plays there as well. All and all this game is tops. Download it from steam or buy it off the shelf. You'll have hours of fun. Expand
  30. Nov 4, 2010
    10
    One of the greatest parts of this game is the updates. Released back in October 2007, Team Fortress 2 is still a fun multiplayer first person shooter. More content is being added every month or so and the community is growing larger all the time.
  31. Dec 25, 2011
    10
    This game was pretty good overall, and have nothing bad to say about this game. It is pretty amazing. Online was pretty good and the graphics were pretty good, too
  32. Dec 28, 2011
    10
    I got this game for free without knowing much about it prior. 60 hours of playtime later, still going strongly. This is the best FPS ever made. Everything is simple but things get very complex later. There is a huge array of weapons. The whole game is ridiculous (in a good way) but that's why it's so much better than other FPSs such as COD. It's unbelievably addictive and the classes areI got this game for free without knowing much about it prior. 60 hours of playtime later, still going strongly. This is the best FPS ever made. Everything is simple but things get very complex later. There is a huge array of weapons. The whole game is ridiculous (in a good way) but that's why it's so much better than other FPSs such as COD. It's unbelievably addictive and the classes are very varied but have big room for customization. Basically, everyone with a good computer should get this game. Collapse
  33. Jan 5, 2012
    10
    nice game with nice graphics and and you will never get bored with all of this new weapon and maps and game modes and it has 9 classes each class has his own ability to do his job
  34. Feb 6, 2012
    10
    It's just AMAZING! It's the most original first-person shooter that i've played. Graphics don't use the latest technology, but who cares? Every weapon has a plus and a minus, so there is no overpowered thing in this game. The HUEG ammount of items makes you both play and try to collect items you want so much. The gameplay is controverted, maps are awesome and classes are original andIt's just AMAZING! It's the most original first-person shooter that i've played. Graphics don't use the latest technology, but who cares? Every weapon has a plus and a minus, so there is no overpowered thing in this game. The HUEG ammount of items makes you both play and try to collect items you want so much. The gameplay is controverted, maps are awesome and classes are original and different. I will never like popular games like Call of Duty, Battlefield, because I like simplistic and, although, funny gameplay. Expand
  35. Sep 3, 2010
    9
    The game is perfect to play multiplayer. It has few bugs, easy interface and controls, require more teamwork than ability, what makes this game good for all ages and gamers: casual or pro.
    The combination of multiplayer plus excellent gameplay plus nice cartoonie graphics makes this game so much fun. The price for this game is correct.
  36. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    Team Fortress 2 is possibly the best TDM FPS of the century for me. The diverse mix of 9 classes, several different game mode types, many different maps, outstanding visual quality, constant free-content adding updates and many other things all add up this make this game just purely astounding.
    On top of that, since this game is build on the source engine, one of the most (if not the most)
    Team Fortress 2 is possibly the best TDM FPS of the century for me. The diverse mix of 9 classes, several different game mode types, many different maps, outstanding visual quality, constant free-content adding updates and many other things all add up this make this game just purely astounding.
    On top of that, since this game is build on the source engine, one of the most (if not the most) modded game engines in the industry, users can add their own maps, weapons and customizations at will.
    The game is very new player friendly, and at the same time very competitive. There are several videos on YouTube of dudes girlfriends/mothers/grandmothers who have never played first person shooters before and manage to pick up and play, get a few kills and have fun.
    What with there being 9 seperate classes, all with different types of weapons and content being added on that allows you to customize the classes even further, the possibilities are endless. I would give the game a 9.9 as I don't believe any game deserves a 10, but if there was one bad thing I would have to say about this game, it's that some of the new weapons that are added into the game can sometimes be quite unbalanced, but this is usually fixed after a short while.
    Expand
  37. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    The only people who hate this now are people who think a game has to be serious. This is a properly good game. There is no deep meaning campaign, no intricate combat system. There is no point to team fortress 2 other than good fun. Every character is a sterotype and no one class is useless. All classes have strengths and weaknesses and the swift learning curve for each helps you find theThe only people who hate this now are people who think a game has to be serious. This is a properly good game. There is no deep meaning campaign, no intricate combat system. There is no point to team fortress 2 other than good fun. Every character is a sterotype and no one class is useless. All classes have strengths and weaknesses and the swift learning curve for each helps you find the one you like the most and can play the best. The maps are often designed well and the interesting graphical style can't age. It will still be admired years to come. This game is so much fun that any gamer should buy it and treasure it. This is the worlds greatest war based hat simulator. Expand
  38. Jun 16, 2011
    10
    As a hardcore TFC fan, I was skeptical when I heard about a lot of the changes being made in TF2, they were easily put aside once I played it, the gameplay and class diversity is much much more defined in TF2. The game demands and rewards teamwork, not many other games out on the market can do that, *Cough COD *Cough.
  39. Jun 22, 2011
    10
    I haven't played a game that was more fun, satisfying, and endlessly entertaining. I'm very bad at first person shooters and I can't get enough of this game. Even as I run through the maps, dying at every turn, I continue to play. Plus, if you keep up with the blog, they have some of the funniest updates I've ever read. I actually look forward to their posts. If you're a fan of shooters,I haven't played a game that was more fun, satisfying, and endlessly entertaining. I'm very bad at first person shooters and I can't get enough of this game. Even as I run through the maps, dying at every turn, I continue to play. Plus, if you keep up with the blog, they have some of the funniest updates I've ever read. I actually look forward to their posts. If you're a fan of shooters, or of having fun, I can't recommend this game highly enough. Expand
  40. Jun 23, 2011
    10
    This is honestly as close to FPS multiplayer perfection you can possibly get. It is constantly updated, with new guns, hats,and other collectables, and it never gets old or boring. And now it is free. There is absolutely 0 reason not to play this game.
  41. Jun 24, 2011
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing. The classes are all balanced to have perfect weaknesses and strengths. Teams must balance the types of players to be successful. However, you are not handicapped so much that your are incapable of fighting one class or another. Expect to spend hundreds of hours on this game
  42. Dec 20, 2011
    9
    No matter what year it is or how evolved video games have become Team Fortress 2 will always be a blast to play and one of the best multiplayer experiences, with the constant updates bringing new weapons and maps to the formula everything is simply perfect.
  43. Dec 31, 2011
    10
    Absolutely hilarious. Period. And that in itself deserves a 10. I like how people make modes, release new weapons, I mean now that it's f2p, I see a lot more players I can beat up. But either if you're a newbie or a pro, and First-person shooters are your thing, I high recommend this game.
  44. Jan 5, 2012
    10
    I love this game! Best source game ever build. I love the graphics sometimes a little bit funny. But all the prices for hats and weapons is too high. But everything else is very good.
  45. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    This game is PC gamer's essential. You can't call yourself a PC gamer and not at least try this game. The art style is unique and appealing. The gameplay varies dramatically from map to map, requiring the player to create new strategies and work with their team n order to succeed. If you employ the classes properly you should never get stuck, unable to proceed.
    The community is a
    This game is PC gamer's essential. You can't call yourself a PC gamer and not at least try this game. The art style is unique and appealing. The gameplay varies dramatically from map to map, requiring the player to create new strategies and work with their team n order to succeed. If you employ the classes properly you should never get stuck, unable to proceed.
    The community is a nice bunch of people.
    The game has it's own charm, that keeps a big, goofy smile on your face the whole time you play it, maybe it's the art style, maybe it's the art style, maybe it's the personalities that each of the classes has, maybe it's how the game sort of makes fun of itself and takes itself so un-seriously.
    There are frequent updates that keep adding new items and features that get the whole community excited and with good reason, these new items can throw a real curve ball in the right situation.
    Lastly, whether you buy the game separately or in the deal of the century that is the Orange Box, the price is always right to buy a copy of Team Fortress 2. So what are you waiting for, go and fire up Steam, and download it, you will not regret it.
    Expand
  46. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This game is a masterpiece. Period... The graphics, the controls, the team effort for winning another fight and the constant updates and new items you can get.... It´s great. One of the best games i ever played.
  47. Apr 25, 2012
    9
    A masterpiece. this game is a truly worthwhile shooter for the ages. gameplay is fun, and balanced. character customization is expensive, but if your into that kind of thing thats cool. the game as a whole is awesome looking, sounding, feeling, and playing. why are you still reading this? go play it! its FREE!
  48. Jan 3, 2012
    10
    This is one of the best shooter games that I have ever played (if not the best)! It's so great that it's really hard to describe into words. What I really have to like is the graphics. I think that the animated graphics are so great that it may even put Pixar to shame. However, the gameplay is where this game really shines. I had a lot of fun mowing down thousands of enemies as aThis is one of the best shooter games that I have ever played (if not the best)! It's so great that it's really hard to describe into words. What I really have to like is the graphics. I think that the animated graphics are so great that it may even put Pixar to shame. However, the gameplay is where this game really shines. I had a lot of fun mowing down thousands of enemies as a heavy, completing hard objectives as a scout, and using total stealth as a spy. As for the gameplay modes, I'm happy they just stuck to the classic capture the flag, payload, and control points rather than coming up with something new. If they just did something new, I probably wouldn't have liked it as much. My only real problem with this game is the lack of a mini-map. It is really hard to navigate through the battlefield without one. However, the rest of the game more than makes up for this. Before I played this game, I had also played Star Wars Battlefront. Star Wars Battlefront is amazing, but if you ask me, its got nothing on this. To here I thought Star Wars Battlefront was this good; I stand corrected. Expand
  49. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    This is an epic game. Playing online against other people, with an array of outlandish characters is epic. There are so many things you can do, so many achievements to collect, pwnage to dish out and pwnage to receive. By far the bes FTP game on Steam. The graphics are also good, and the controls are not that hard to learn. Overall, a very addictive, all-rounded game.
  50. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    TF2 really has a way of making this game incredibly fun to play. 9 classes, all with changing weapons, outfits, accessories. There's also an ability to craft items, trade them, and even purchase 100's of items in-game using real life cash. I believe the game is free to play also. u really can't go wrong with that!!!!!
  51. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Greatest multiplayer experience i've had in any game. It's not about the weapons or actual combat it's all about the community! Greatest community alive. Jumping around spamming voice commands, youtube videos, GMod associated. I met a lot of my best friends through Team Fortress 2. The hats are also cool too. So are the characters. Yeah.
  52. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    TF2 really puts the fun back in the FPS genre imo. The games been out awhile but I still have a blast playing it. Oh and I love my hats :D. I know this review doesn't tell you much but if you love fast paced truly team based FPS fun that doesn't take itself too seriously and blends a creative art style with just the right amount of comedy then TF2 is the game of your dreams.
  53. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    As a "free to play noob", I would rate this game a 10. Valve constantly releases updates and it has great replay value. Each of the nine classes have their benefits and disadvantages, which balances out great. Thank you Valve for this fantastic shooter!
  54. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    great game. aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa oijjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjj;i;afffffffffffff ijoeipfakopfkaspofkaspogm;aiojg;oagmu;iunrugoeherperoeiog ej wg[gewonwepogpweunwpnwpeg wepgon w'egjwpeonweongeu'woufa gnaug[uGPOug'pgeponu;oiaenoanoiUN;n oiugnfowigusohginsehgiy ;aon a;gunegoapoguna'gopuna;gpouawe;guawegoupaegpuona;g
  55. Dec 15, 2011
    10
    I got this game as soon as it came out and can't bear to think about the hours I've put into playing it. Luckily its still enjoyable now, which is amazing given its age. My only slight issue is the game does require strategy (especially around medics) and online games are weak on that aspect, which can make it frustrating. Still its an amazing game and now its free there can bge noI got this game as soon as it came out and can't bear to think about the hours I've put into playing it. Luckily its still enjoyable now, which is amazing given its age. My only slight issue is the game does require strategy (especially around medics) and online games are weak on that aspect, which can make it frustrating. Still its an amazing game and now its free there can bge no argument for not playing it. Expand
  56. Jan 4, 2012
    9
    The graphics are something to cherish due to that cartoony feeling, and the gameplay is extremely decent if you can handle the MLG multiplayer. Overall, if you know how to use the characters to choose from and which is your favorite, you'll find this a blast to play.
  57. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    The best overall shooter game I've ever played, very creative and original as well. The fact that the game now is completely free and gets massive regular updates, and has hundreds of community created maps makes this perhaps the best game I have ever played, and I rarely give out 10 / 10!
  58. Dec 23, 2011
    9
    Oh yea! This is most fun multiplayer game 4ever!
    You can forget hats, you can collected weapons.
    You can love hats and weapons
    You can hate it's all.
    But you must install this game.
  59. Dec 24, 2011
    10
    It's balanced, it's addictive, and you can play it for hundreds of hours without stopping. Yes, my friends, this is the world of Team Fortress 2, a highly addictive and stylized free to play multiplayer game. It does look simple, but it's a very complex shooter at its heart and caters to all forms of gameplay.
  60. Dec 27, 2011
    10
    One of the few games I'll give 10/10. I've played this more than any other multiplayer game (800 hours). There are nine classes, each truly unique from the next, with a limitless number of strategies, tactics, etc. Played this game all through college and still loving it.
  61. JYT
    Jan 6, 2012
    9
    Really fun. Like a good cartoon or comic book. When the players understand they have to team up and organize according the to roles it's another level:

    - demo & soldier to cover heavy and fireguy and clear the way from distance bfore moving in - sniper must cover engineers against spy
    -scout must sacrify or create diversions
    - etc..
  62. Apr 4, 2013
    9
    Been playing since '08 and it's still a blast. While the community can be frustrating, there are thousands of servers out there and everyone can find their community. The complaints about balancing is a bit ridiculous; the game is very balanced. There are a very small number of items that I find unbalanced, (3 to be exact), but other than that it's a wonderful game with a genuine, colorfulBeen playing since '08 and it's still a blast. While the community can be frustrating, there are thousands of servers out there and everyone can find their community. The complaints about balancing is a bit ridiculous; the game is very balanced. There are a very small number of items that I find unbalanced, (3 to be exact), but other than that it's a wonderful game with a genuine, colorful artstyle. Expand
  63. Aug 27, 2012
    10
    This is one of the best games i ever played. I looked at the negative reviews and it seems lots of people complain that they dont get hats right away or believe the hats make other people better. They complain about being bad and saying theres no balance when there really is just gotta pay attention and know what you're doing.
    Give this game a try. All the extra weapons arent better just
    This is one of the best games i ever played. I looked at the negative reviews and it seems lots of people complain that they dont get hats right away or believe the hats make other people better. They complain about being bad and saying theres no balance when there really is just gotta pay attention and know what you're doing.
    Give this game a try. All the extra weapons arent better just go with play styles so try them out and have fun. And a tip: The 2 keys you'll probably buy to become premium can be used to get most of the game weapons or get a hat and 3 stranges for the class you'll mostly like use as your main one and some weapons you'll use in the game as you find drops. Tf2 official wiki and tf2 spreadsheet a great resource of information and pricing.
    Expand
  64. Sep 17, 2012
    10
    TF2 is an amazing game that has so much stuff in it! Trading, crafting, purchasing (Although I don't really do that). Possibly the best thing is stranges. They count your kills and level up and every person you kill shows what level like positively inhumane minigun. There are 9 classes, which I thought some would be OP and others terrible but they are all even. Heavy is susceptible to spysTF2 is an amazing game that has so much stuff in it! Trading, crafting, purchasing (Although I don't really do that). Possibly the best thing is stranges. They count your kills and level up and every person you kill shows what level like positively inhumane minigun. There are 9 classes, which I thought some would be OP and others terrible but they are all even. Heavy is susceptible to spys and snipers, but can own some other classes. It's free if you want but you can get premium if you want which allows better drops. Expand
  65. Dec 19, 2012
    9
    I think this game is too good to be for free. It's highly addicting and original to the max. It updates very often... you just have to play it to understand just how great the updates are. And the deals, oh the deals! Valve is just too generous.
  66. Apr 1, 2013
    9
    This game is almost perfect, the best balanced FPS ever.

    Team Fortress 2 is a mix of using well-thought classes and weapons, changing classes and equipment dynamically and counter the class and equipment of the opponent. Fight your way through 60 official and over 300 notable user-made custom maps, survive and kill in 8 official and at least 10 notable custom gamemode, reaching from
    This game is almost perfect, the best balanced FPS ever.

    Team Fortress 2 is a mix of using well-thought classes and weapons, changing classes and equipment dynamically and counter the class and equipment of the opponent.

    Fight your way through 60 official and over 300 notable user-made custom maps, survive and kill in 8 official and at least 10 notable custom gamemode, reaching from Capture the Flag over Prophunt to King of the Hill.

    A lovely style of graphic, perfect voice actors (at least in english), funny voice clips and especially the balancing do the rest.

    Now to the best of all: The F2P system. Its completely unique for a F2P shooter to not be P2W as PlanetSide or AVA, to name two other Steam F2P shooters, are. Premium members gain ONLY the following:

    -6 times bigger backpack
    -ability to trade items
    -ability to find hats and misc (which dont have any effect at all)
    -the feeling that they spent a great developer team a drink

    To the balancing: I would call 2 weapons, Phlogistinator and Soda Popper, a bit over the top, but they are both easy to counter, even though you can get annoyed by them pretty fast.
    Also weak is the point that the classical Team Deathmatch and Deathmatch modes miss due to the fact that Valve wanted to think the players as team players, not as CoD Kiddies.

    To get to an end: Team Fortress has a great humor, a brilliant lovely artstyle, a growing and good community, a outstanding balancing and a very good F2P system. It won't make it 10/10 because of the missing of the Deathmatch modes and the little mistakes in Balancing, but it is one of the best games (on my personal Top 10 at least 3rd) ever made.
    Expand
  67. Aug 22, 2013
    10
    I started to play when this game was not Free to Play, and I have to say only one thing this game keeps its quality, even when everyone is running in weird painted hatwear.
  68. Jun 28, 2014
    10
    This is without a doubt
    The best
    Game
    I have ever played
    in my entire life.

    All classes have purpose
    It is completely balanced
    its now free-to-play
    the weapons are unique and have their own strengths
    I've spent over 100 dollars in this game. and i must say...
    worth it.
  69. Nov 16, 2013
    9
    Probably one of the best online FPS of all time.

    Don't expect to like Team Fortress 2 the moment you jump into battle, the chances are you will find it very difficult and frustrating. Once you find the class your good at and the weapons you like, you'll be playing it non-stop. There is so much to this game you'll find as you progress. The maps are all very fun with different gamemodes
    Probably one of the best online FPS of all time.

    Don't expect to like Team Fortress 2 the moment you jump into battle, the chances are you will find it very difficult and frustrating. Once you find the class your good at and the weapons you like, you'll be playing it non-stop. There is so much to this game you'll find as you progress. The maps are all very fun with different gamemodes which are all fun and can easily be played on for over 100 hours. The only real downside of the game is the community who can sometimes ruin the server you are playing on. Sometimes you can't escape them and will just have to wait until they are all gone. Another downside maybe being people doing cheap tricks with their classes and weapons and such.

    Freakin' good game, by far the best Free-to-play game out there.
    Expand
  70. Aug 12, 2010
    9
    Before writing this review, I decided to skim through the user-submitted negative reviews to see if they had any valid points. Apart from their computer being unable to handle it, no, there weren't any. Most were TFC players who were disappointed when its sequel wasn't the same thing with a sprinkle of new features. I've dealt with this type of "prequel jingoism" with other such IPs asBefore writing this review, I decided to skim through the user-submitted negative reviews to see if they had any valid points. Apart from their computer being unable to handle it, no, there weren't any. Most were TFC players who were disappointed when its sequel wasn't the same thing with a sprinkle of new features. I've dealt with this type of "prequel jingoism" with other such IPs as Gears of War and Halo, and to those having trepidations regarding Team Fortress 2 based on these negative reviews, don't believe it. TF2 is amazingly fun. Each of the 9 classes is diverse and has its own unique role (though the lines between Soldier and Demoman occasionally get blurred, as the resident indirect attacking classes), and thanks to the new Item Drop and Crafting systems, each class is further diversified from its peers based on your loadout preferences. The map's themes are all relatively unvaried - desert, industrial, or industrial in the desert - but their designs are acceptable; there will be few, if any, maps that you will end up refusing or loathing to play. The few true shortcomings of this game include the imbalance of the Engineer against its direct counter, the Spy; and the console version is not supported, so the PC version is a must. The unique graphical style, accessibility to new players, extended depth for hardcore players and veterans, and amusing characters make Team Fortress 2 a must-have. Expand
  71. Nov 5, 2010
    10
    I've been playing with this game for 2,5 years now and still my only multiplayer game.. Never gets old.. just LOVE IT!! It was cool even for the first time and after the awsome updates too. Now with trading, crafting and the new items which give you countless new strategies.. I can't say how much fun is this game :)
  72. Aug 24, 2010
    10
    When TF2 first came out, it was an entertaining game, a cartoony take on online FPS multiplayer fun. But as with most online FPS', after a few weeks I got bored. The story normally would be over here and I'd give it an 8.5 for being damn good fun but essentially getting slowly more boring after a while.
    However, we're talking about Valve here, and regular map updates, achievement updates,
    When TF2 first came out, it was an entertaining game, a cartoony take on online FPS multiplayer fun. But as with most online FPS', after a few weeks I got bored. The story normally would be over here and I'd give it an 8.5 for being damn good fun but essentially getting slowly more boring after a while.
    However, we're talking about Valve here, and regular map updates, achievement updates, new modes, new weapons, new *hats* all make this the most addictive, varied and fun game out there. With the amount of content out for TF2 now it would be difficult to get bored with it in months and months of play. And if you did get bored of official developer levels, there would still be hundreds of original maps and even original game modes available on unofficial maps in the game. An example of this is a game called 'Prop Hunt' where you become a prop in the scenery and have to move to find a hiding spot amid other scenery and avoid being found by a team of Pyro's.
    I've never had this much fun with a game before, and unlike every single other FPS out there, I very very rarely get frustrated, because whatever happens can be improved upon strategically. Got shot from afar by a sniper because you're making yourself too obvious? Become a spy and use your cloak. Sick of that turret in the enemy's base mowing down your scout? Use the soldier to blow it apart.

    More updates are on the way, and the best online game out there is only getting better all the time :D.
    Expand
  73. Feb 12, 2011
    10
    Team Fortress 2 - WOW, what a game! Extremely impressive gameplay and multiplayer, buckets of humour, fun and replayability, and incredibly rendered cartoonish graphics which fit the game perfectly. If you don't have this game already, you are seriously missing out!
  74. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    TF2 hat's off...though i am not a regular review writer...but this game is so epic that even Chuck Norris might write in a review for it!!!
    BEWARE:
    This game is highly addictive..and i am dead serious abt it... it's so good that it will keep u gaming and gaming for hours non-stop...of course once you have adjusted to it's gameplay...but that's a big issuse..it's quite simple if u start
    TF2 hat's off...though i am not a regular review writer...but this game is so epic that even Chuck Norris might write in a review for it!!!
    BEWARE:
    This game is highly addictive..and i am dead serious abt it...
    it's so good that it will keep u gaming and gaming for hours non-stop...of course once you have adjusted to it's gameplay...but that's a big issuse..it's quite simple if u start playing with the regular classes like heavy, medic, pyro, sniper, demoman, engineer and soldier...Scout is a bit rough @ handling and oh my...if you become a really good spy, man, you can change the games in seconds if you are losing!!!!
    Expand
  75. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    great game. still one of my favorite multiplayer experience on the pc. i enjoy pretty much everything about this game, including the hats (yeah i said it)
  76. Mar 26, 2011
    9
    Team Fortress 2 is my favourite multiplayer shooter. The game itself is fun, with a very cool community centered around it. Even though I consider Modern Warfare 2 better in terms of game quality, the fact that you can play this for hours and not be called names makes this my preferred titles.
  77. Nov 2, 2010
    10
    This game is so kick ass, I have played this game for a while now, and I nearly had a heartattack when the mann co. update came out, new weapons for the spy,sniper,scout,pyro and soldier, plus the halloween update has just come and that was awesome with the horseless headless horseman and the mann manor map where the horsless headless guy chases you and chops your head off. :D
  78. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    The best multiplayer shooter in years. While CoD fanboys tout the game looks "unrealistic" and cartoonish, I laugh. Because yes, the game's graphics aren't anything to take a second glance at. But play it for the first time, and you'll be hooked. While basic gamemodes are included, there are also many new gamemodes that add a lot of different variety to the game. CTF, Point captures etc,The best multiplayer shooter in years. While CoD fanboys tout the game looks "unrealistic" and cartoonish, I laugh. Because yes, the game's graphics aren't anything to take a second glance at. But play it for the first time, and you'll be hooked. While basic gamemodes are included, there are also many new gamemodes that add a lot of different variety to the game. CTF, Point captures etc, but also game modes like Territorial Control (TC) and Zombie among dozens of others add so much to this game. Also included is modding, as in most Valve games, and there are many servers with features like "Roll the Dice" and other custom things. One element I don't like about it is the extra items. Way back in 2008, the game was perfect. Sure, there weren't any fancy weapons or hats but each item and class were geared specifically to be balanced. While, for the most part, it has remained that way, Valve just made it harder to keep the game balanced by adding the items they did. While many consider the game a hat simulator, I don't. You can easily play the game without hats, as they don't offer any advantage besides the cosmetic feature. Overall, I find this game to be extremely addicting and fun. All of this boils down to the one of the best games you can find for modern shooters. Expand
  79. Jul 3, 2011
    10
    I've loved this game for years. There are few games I play religiously, but this is on the list.... defiantly one if you aren't for another Call of Duty clone. It has miles of personality, and doesn't take itself too seriously. I've not yet paid for an item or a hat, and never plan to. Only a whiner is going to complain about the balance of item pack items, which can be gotten for free inI've loved this game for years. There are few games I play religiously, but this is on the list.... defiantly one if you aren't for another Call of Duty clone. It has miles of personality, and doesn't take itself too seriously. I've not yet paid for an item or a hat, and never plan to. Only a whiner is going to complain about the balance of item pack items, which can be gotten for free in the most part anyway, and I've generally be able to trade for anything I have wanted. Expand
  80. Jul 29, 2011
    9
    Valve is probably the class of the video game world. They don't pump out 200 games a year like EA does, and that's a good thing. Because they take the time to put excellent graphics, gameplay, physics, and storyline into every game they release. Team Fortress 2 is unlike most of the other games that Valve has made. That's because there is no plot. It is, simply put, a class-based firstValve is probably the class of the video game world. They don't pump out 200 games a year like EA does, and that's a good thing. Because they take the time to put excellent graphics, gameplay, physics, and storyline into every game they release. Team Fortress 2 is unlike most of the other games that Valve has made. That's because there is no plot. It is, simply put, a class-based first person shooter. The gameplay is fairly simple with it's mouse and keyboard controls (mandatory for all PC 1st person shooters). The goal of the game is to win in team based, objective game modes. One of my highest praises for this game is in it's game modes and classes. There's no overpowering assault rifle class to render the other classes useless, and there's no deathmatch mode to leave all the other modes as barren wastelands. The graphics remind of Toy Story with their cartoony look... a very bloody, violent Toy Story... and they couldn't be more appropriate, as this is a slapstick game. My one complaint for the game is an odd one... there's something holding it back from being a classic, and I'm not sure what it is. There's something in my mind that says, "Should I play Team Fortress 2 right now...? Nah..." and I can't explain it. Thankfully, they update the game periodically and give it new maps.

    My favourite class? Spy. Nothing more satisfying than infiltrating the enemy's base and stabbing a nemesis in the back.
    Expand
  81. Nov 17, 2011
    9
    Very humorous and a great way to kick back when you're feeling tired and don't want to commit to a complicated/serious game. The achievement system is fair, and you almost always, when you play, get a new item, which is a nice reward, as you slowly try to play different styles of the classes. It feels very balanced, also with the gear, and it really comes down to teamplay. Great game thatVery humorous and a great way to kick back when you're feeling tired and don't want to commit to a complicated/serious game. The achievement system is fair, and you almost always, when you play, get a new item, which is a nice reward, as you slowly try to play different styles of the classes. It feels very balanced, also with the gear, and it really comes down to teamplay. Great game that keeps you laughing even after 40 hours of playtime! Expand
  82. Mar 18, 2011
    9
    TEAM FORTRESS 2... In my option one of the best games of the past years. In my option it has set new goals in FPS games. It is my second favorite game (My favorite is still Garry's Mod, but that's another story.) Team Fortress 2 is great because of it's setup. With amazing classes such as the spy. Invisibility cloak? Never heard of that in a FPS game for a spyish class. And bow and arrowsTEAM FORTRESS 2... In my option one of the best games of the past years. In my option it has set new goals in FPS games. It is my second favorite game (My favorite is still Garry's Mod, but that's another story.) Team Fortress 2 is great because of it's setup. With amazing classes such as the spy. Invisibility cloak? Never heard of that in a FPS game for a spyish class. And bow and arrows for a sniper? Never heard of that kind of weapon for another FPS game. Also the graphics are cartoony, but yet realistic. Gameplay is addicting yet not overdone. For it's price it is defiantly worth it. The ONLY reason it isn't rated a 10 is that the all new weapons are a little confusing since I had Team Fortress 2 since the start in 2007. You need to buy this with Garry's Mod. Expand
  83. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    These 9 characters you get to chose from are some of the most well done in gaming history, final. It's a run and gun online shooter but one thing VALVe did right was balance this out.

    The game is so well balanced, granted they've made some mistakes for the most part every character can benefit your team big time. But over-stacking a certain class will ruin you. My personal favorites are
    These 9 characters you get to chose from are some of the most well done in gaming history, final. It's a run and gun online shooter but one thing VALVe did right was balance this out.

    The game is so well balanced, granted they've made some mistakes for the most part every character can benefit your team big time. But over-stacking a certain class will ruin you.

    My personal favorites are Sniper, Scout, and Spy (of course.) The best part about Team Fortress 2 is hands down it is the biggest bang for your buck, you'll be actively playing it a year after you buy it, sometimes more, I've owned it for a about a year and a half and only now took a break mostly because I work so much. This game has so much replay value and Valve really knows how to treat their community. Some of the weapons are user made as well as the maps and valve has a lot of respect for their players. They always have. (Yes even you hat hackers that did the huge protests over the Halo's.) If you just got your gaming pc, Buy this game right now. You will find that on your steam it will have the most hours forever no matter what. FINAL.
    Expand
  84. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    Unique graphics, persistent updates with new content, well thought out maps, and fun gameplay are some of the highlights of this gem. I played the original, and don't miss grenades to any extent. Server list quality kind of sucks, but Valve is cracking down with server IDs and blacklists. One has to sort of build a whitelist of servers in order to have a good experience. Nonetheless, it isUnique graphics, persistent updates with new content, well thought out maps, and fun gameplay are some of the highlights of this gem. I played the original, and don't miss grenades to any extent. Server list quality kind of sucks, but Valve is cracking down with server IDs and blacklists. One has to sort of build a whitelist of servers in order to have a good experience. Nonetheless, it is the best multiplayer game I have ever played.

    My final score: 9.8/10
    Expand
  85. Jul 9, 2011
    10
    Greatest game of all time. And it keeps getting better. I have 1000+ hours and I still keep coming back and so do my friends. Its not just the WONDERFUL gameplay built on a fair balanced and reliable system. Its the constant updates that make the game organic. It's constantly growing and free to boot. If it had a metascore of 92 when it release, it needs a 99 now with of the refiningGreatest game of all time. And it keeps getting better. I have 1000+ hours and I still keep coming back and so do my friends. Its not just the WONDERFUL gameplay built on a fair balanced and reliable system. Its the constant updates that make the game organic. It's constantly growing and free to boot. If it had a metascore of 92 when it release, it needs a 99 now with of the refining its gone through. Expand
  86. Jul 3, 2011
    10
    Definitely a game that really inspires other games alike, TF2 is a true test for gamers. The gory humor and variety of weapons, maps, and modes, keeps you entertained for a LONG time. I would go far as to say to upgrade to the Premium account, because it is THAT good.
  87. Jun 2, 2011
    9
    A very well designed game with memorable characters. Each class has a very distinct way of helping out the team, and all are very fun to play. Entertaining to play for an indefinite amount of time, considering there's hats, weapons, and other items to find, craft, and use. To some, the graphics may be a turn-off, but I personally like the style. Definitely a PC game; the console versionsA very well designed game with memorable characters. Each class has a very distinct way of helping out the team, and all are very fun to play. Entertaining to play for an indefinite amount of time, considering there's hats, weapons, and other items to find, craft, and use. To some, the graphics may be a turn-off, but I personally like the style. Definitely a PC game; the console versions are not updated and don't have any of the new maps. My only problem is that the new weapons are a bit over powering, causing some classes to be weaker than others. Expand
  88. Jul 13, 2011
    10
    Another great FPS from Valve, it's very fun to play and the characters have funny dialogues, many different classes provides each one with one specific strength and weakness, and overall it's very fun.
    And now it's free to play! what are you waiting?
  89. Jun 14, 2011
    9
    Team Fortress was a Quake mod that became wildly popular throughout the PC gaming community. Valve saw this as an opportunity and released Team Fortress 2. There are nine different classes you can choose from, from the stealthy spy, who sneaks up using disguises and invisibility and delivers devastating blows from behind, to the subtle-as-a-brick heavy, who, with his miniguns and sandvichTeam Fortress was a Quake mod that became wildly popular throughout the PC gaming community. Valve saw this as an opportunity and released Team Fortress 2. There are nine different classes you can choose from, from the stealthy spy, who sneaks up using disguises and invisibility and delivers devastating blows from behind, to the subtle-as-a-brick heavy, who, with his miniguns and sandvich in hand can deliver a world of pain and delicious-ness on the field. The classes are all perfectly balanced and have strengths and weaknesses that make sure that your class reflects only your playstyle. There are also dozens of weapons and even more hats to further customize your individual classes. Major updates give out free items to players, players can buy them from an in-game store for real-world money, or they can trade other players for items. They can also get items for earning Steam achievements, or from "crafting" items together to make a better item.
    The gameplay is great, and it never feels frustrating like some other games do. You can get into the console if you're an admin and do all sorts of crazy stuff in your game, at the price of not being able to get achievements and stats tracked. All updates are free, and you never have to pay for "map packs" or "expansions". It's also loads of fun to be part of the TF2 community. Every event has a cool new hat or accessory for your character to show that you were there. Some games on Steam offer hats and weapons with pre-order, like Portal's companion cube pin.
    I could talk about Team Fortress 2 for hours, but Metacritic will only give me 5,000 characters and I'm lazy, so I'll just say that Team Fortress 2 is one of the best values out there (at $10 on PC as of this review), and an even better value when bought as part of the Orange Box. There's just so much you get besides the already amazing gameplay.
    Expand
  90. Sep 11, 2011
    10
    The best online shooter up to date. It brings both cartoonish setting with fancy characters and near to perfect class balance. You can pick whatever class you like based upon your tactic or visual preferences and have fun straight away. I've been into this game for dozens of hours up to now and it only gets better and deeper with more time you invest into it. Also a nice cyber-fightingThe best online shooter up to date. It brings both cartoonish setting with fancy characters and near to perfect class balance. You can pick whatever class you like based upon your tactic or visual preferences and have fun straight away. I've been into this game for dozens of hours up to now and it only gets better and deeper with more time you invest into it. Also a nice cyber-fighting discipline for those who look for a real challenge. Expand
  91. Jun 16, 2011
    10
    Absolutely a great game that is Multi-player only. Classes are well balanced despite what a few reviewers say. This game is still getting regular updates so that tells you it's actively polished. There will always be updates that do not cater to everyone and people need to realize that. In terms of Graphics, audio and gameplay TF2 deserves an A+

    To put it in perspective, I purchased the
    Absolutely a great game that is Multi-player only. Classes are well balanced despite what a few reviewers say. This game is still getting regular updates so that tells you it's actively polished. There will always be updates that do not cater to everyone and people need to realize that. In terms of Graphics, audio and gameplay TF2 deserves an A+

    To put it in perspective, I purchased the Orange Box and this game was included. While the other Orange Box games are great as well, My total playtime with TF2 is higher then the total of all other Orange Box games combined. TF2 is definitely addicting!
    Expand
  92. Aug 27, 2011
    10
    Team Fortress 2 is a FPS game... And it's one of the greatest of it's kind! This game is hilerious! It's an outstanding game! It's a fabulous game! It's a Fantastic game! It's just perfect... sorry, there is really not much more to say about the game then... 10/10 :')

    Get it, it's free! Thanks ValvE!
  93. Jun 23, 2011
    10
    This game is incredible. New content gets added every few months and gameplay is always getting updated. It's price is ridiculous for the amount of fun you'll have. Some people take it too far for the hats and forget it is a game but hey.... it's their choice. I highly recommend to anyone who has a PC it's the funnest fps. 10/10
  94. Jun 24, 2011
    10
    There are only three words needed to describe this game, "BEST GAME EVER!!!" There is literally no game better and i can guarantee there won't be unless they make team fortress 3. The game is Perfectly balanced in every single way. there are tons of weapons for each of the nine classes, all of which have a totally different personality and play style. Do you like being fast and zoomingThere are only three words needed to describe this game, "BEST GAME EVER!!!" There is literally no game better and i can guarantee there won't be unless they make team fortress 3. The game is Perfectly balanced in every single way. there are tons of weapons for each of the nine classes, all of which have a totally different personality and play style. Do you like being fast and zooming around your enemies while shooting the crap out of them? then the scout is for you. Like to run out into the battlefield guns blazing? then the heavy is for you. I don't think any sane person can possibly dislike this game, and guess what, It's free now!!! They just released an update for TF2 that adds many weapons for almost every class and also makes the game free to play! Expand
  95. Jun 25, 2011
    10
    Team Fortress 2 is a great game. I bought the game a couple of years ago and have been playing it for 573 hours total now, and it just gets better! Good maps, great community, balanced classes and weapons that requires different styles of playing makes this the game I never grow tired of!

    It may seem contradictory, but the game is great for beginners because it is easy to understand and
    Team Fortress 2 is a great game. I bought the game a couple of years ago and have been playing it for 573 hours total now, and it just gets better! Good maps, great community, balanced classes and weapons that requires different styles of playing makes this the game I never grow tired of!

    It may seem contradictory, but the game is great for beginners because it is easy to understand and almost better for veterans because it can be incredibly complex. One of the greatest games ever made.

    Also, it's hilarious at times :D
    Expand
  96. Jun 25, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Beautifully made game
    I have always loved it and always will.
    I Am Really happy that it is now free and that everyone can enjoy this
    Wonderful game.I love this Game
    Everyone should play it!
    Cant wait till my friends download it and play with me =)
    Expand
  97. Jun 26, 2011
    10
    Perfect 10. This game, now being free, has it all. A backstory, strategy, a dedicated youtube channel introducing all the players, active communities, and so much more. I am hard pressed to find a game that can give me this much fun for hours on end. If you get bored, you can always vary it up someway to create an interesting meld. Achievements are also fun to obtain and you get themPerfect 10. This game, now being free, has it all. A backstory, strategy, a dedicated youtube channel introducing all the players, active communities, and so much more. I am hard pressed to find a game that can give me this much fun for hours on end. If you get bored, you can always vary it up someway to create an interesting meld. Achievements are also fun to obtain and you get them often. The graphics are great, the speed and accuracy are also on par with any other online game out there. Its challenging sometimes, you will always find a new way to play and solutions to create. A+ to the developers out there for making such a rock solid game. I have yet to experience one bad thing about it. Expand
  98. Aug 30, 2011
    9
    It was one of the greatest games ever till the new update was released by Valve. The new players destroyed the old TF feeling and made the game too easy. The servers filled with snipers and spies are also disappointing. But even though it's a great game and can give you several memorable time if you know where to play.
  99. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    It's been what, 3 or 4 years since it's release, and this game still has me coming back. The classes are perfectly balanced, maps are fun along with their game modes, and with so many modders constantly adding free content available to the public, along with Valve's free downloads, along with the fact that this game is free to play, why would you not get it?
  100. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    Good ole team fortress 2, Like Team Fortress Classic the idea of teams with special players is just genius no more spray and prey (Excluding HEAVY) you need tactics baby. Team Fortress II is so much like the Classic only Polished with more modern ideas and better graphics.
  101. Dec 28, 2011
    0
    I got this game for free without knowing much about it prior. 60 hours of playtime later, still going strongly. This is the best FPS ever made. Everything is simple but things get very complex later. There is a huge array of weapons. The whole game is ridiculous (in a good way) but that's why it's so much better than other FPSs such as COD. It's unbelievably addictive and the classes areI got this game for free without knowing much about it prior. 60 hours of playtime later, still going strongly. This is the best FPS ever made. Everything is simple but things get very complex later. There is a huge array of weapons. The whole game is ridiculous (in a good way) but that's why it's so much better than other FPSs such as COD. It's unbelievably addictive and the classes are very varied but have big room for customization. Basically, everyone with a good computer should get this game. Collapse
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. 100
    The marriage of highly stylised retro-spy presentation, fresh, high octane action, deep and varied classes and the underlying twinkle of humour in its metaphorical eye make Team Fortress 2 far more than just your average fragfest. Long after the novelty of the graphics wears thin, we are left with a refined and accessible multiplayer game that simultaneously cultivates new players whilst retaining enough depth to accommodate even the hardiest of veterans.
  2. The game also does a lovely job of framing your relationship with other players and nurturing them.
  3. It's one hell of a game. With its powerful artistic style and blazingly quick, yet accessible gameplay, it's enough to melt the icy cynicism imprisoning the hearts of even the most jaded among us. That being said, it's not the most complex shooter out there.