User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 5467 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 15, 2014
    9
    With the map editor, endless items waiting to be approved in the Steam Workshop and the 9 classes for any kind of FPS player, you will play Team Fortress 2 for a long time! And guess what? This games is FREE TO PLAY! So you only need 8GB free on your hard drive and you are good to go! Even if TF2 has micro-transactions, they are not really going to make a difference but if you want to stayWith the map editor, endless items waiting to be approved in the Steam Workshop and the 9 classes for any kind of FPS player, you will play Team Fortress 2 for a long time! And guess what? This games is FREE TO PLAY! So you only need 8GB free on your hard drive and you are good to go! Even if TF2 has micro-transactions, they are not really going to make a difference but if you want to stay unique from other players, you might spend £50 on your items without even realising:) In my opinion, give this game a try because you have nothing to lose! Expand
  2. Dec 4, 2013
    10
    An amazing game for anytime of the day, I'm always playing this. I seriously recommend getting Team Fortress 2, I'ts simply amazing. I literally play this every single day just to be entertained.
  3. Dec 9, 2013
    10
    Team Fortress 2 is the perfect blend of seriousness and silliness, from hats that have planets spinning around them to flip flops this game has it all. I highly recommend this game to anyone interested.
  4. Dec 26, 2013
    10
    I have no idea why there are negative reviews. This game combines unique cartoon like graphics, fun shooting, and humor for no price. Hats are awesome and the weapons are good. Each class has weaknesses and strong points. The game is a must have :D
  5. Mar 7, 2014
    9
    Another entertaining game by Valve. It has unique cartoonish graphics, makes the game funnier. Game play is quite good, satisfies enough. In the game, there are nine well-designed classes. They have some advantages and disadvantages, you should choose them according to you playing style. By the way, don't forget the maps, they designed very well too. You can spent hours in the same map,Another entertaining game by Valve. It has unique cartoonish graphics, makes the game funnier. Game play is quite good, satisfies enough. In the game, there are nine well-designed classes. They have some advantages and disadvantages, you should choose them according to you playing style. By the way, don't forget the maps, they designed very well too. You can spent hours in the same map, seriously.

    Anyway, 10 out of 10 to you TF2. You deserved it!
    Expand
  6. May 1, 2014
    10
    Well, I can easily see why this game is well received. The characters are absolutely hysterical, the mechanics are well balanced, and the excellent presentation.

    There are nine character classes, each with a colorful personality and a unique style of game-play. I think the release timing was in part because Valve tried so hard to make this an almost perfect game. The mechanics are
    Well, I can easily see why this game is well received. The characters are absolutely hysterical, the mechanics are well balanced, and the excellent presentation.

    There are nine character classes, each with a colorful personality and a unique style of game-play.

    I think the release timing was in part because Valve tried so hard to make this an almost perfect game. The mechanics are balanced with every detail in mind, and that rarely happens nowadays with most FPS games. I'm talking about Call of Duty as the main game series that does this.

    The presentation is well fit to the frivolous nature of the game. The graphics are quite cartoon-ish, and the music amazingly arranged, and well suited to violent psychopath mercenaries (and killers for hire.)

    There are few flaws with this game, one of the primary flaws is the lackluster storyline. It might as well have been written out of a terribly written novel without a point to it.

    This game isn't quite a perfect 10, but one of the closest to it I have ever played. If the scale was a 100 scale, it would be a 96-97 for me.
    Expand
  7. Jun 5, 2014
    9
    This is one of those games that never gets old, you can always come back to it and have a great time. There are endless achievements, so you'll never really "finish" the game. The only reason I didn't give it a 10 is because some of the people who play it are real **** It's rare that I play a game and don't see slander all over the chat, or hear irritating 12-year-olds on their microphoneThis is one of those games that never gets old, you can always come back to it and have a great time. There are endless achievements, so you'll never really "finish" the game. The only reason I didn't give it a 10 is because some of the people who play it are real **** It's rare that I play a game and don't see slander all over the chat, or hear irritating 12-year-olds on their microphone trying to tell everyone what to do. Another thing I don't like is that some of the maps are real prone to people posting up pictures of graphic porn. It's uncomfortable for me because I'm a girl, and it really makes me feel like I'm not supposed to be there playing with all of these guys. It's not going to stop me from playing though, because It's way too fun. Expand
  8. Jul 2, 2014
    10
    this game teaches you about cooperation, you are nothing without your team, every class has a purpose and field of play, the first time i played this i always used the spy, but as you play you figure out your type of play, youll figure out what class youre best with, after using spy, i became great with the scout, and is now my favorite class, this game is a great way to make friends onthis game teaches you about cooperation, you are nothing without your team, every class has a purpose and field of play, the first time i played this i always used the spy, but as you play you figure out your type of play, youll figure out what class youre best with, after using spy, i became great with the scout, and is now my favorite class, this game is a great way to make friends on steam and a great way to fight with your friends in the "mann vs. machine" game mode, deffinitley a great community with generous people ready to lend you a hand in sending you new weapons as a gift for no cost. A spot on 10/10! Expand
  9. Jul 5, 2014
    10
    What kind of FPS have you heard about that has hats? ...This game. 10/10

    Ignore fill-in characters:
    -------------------------------------------------
  10. Jul 5, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Tf2 is the best fps f2p game out there. It's addicting, funny, and original. The weapons are usually very under powered, but I flourished when I found a combo that worked for me. The spy is under-powered and needs to be buffed, the snipers cross-hair is way to small, and the scout is just bad, but the other classes are fun. I enjoy going pyro and airblasting like crazy. I love how the characters have distinct and unique personalities, even though I dislike the soldiers personality. I love getting hats and finding ones that work for me. The hats are one of the many things that make my come back to play more tf2. The one major downside is the fact that so many cosmetics are holiday restricted. Still, Tf2 is a fun, diverse, and highly enjoyable game. Expand
  11. Jul 13, 2014
    10
    TF2 has a perfect mix of graphics,music and game play. I have played it for 100 hours and it never got boring. I can even play this on my old computer that sucks. All of the items are really balanced and it is not pay to win type of game. But instead it is a play to win game. With protection against hackers and cheaters. It also get updated regularly with new game modes,maps and items. ItTF2 has a perfect mix of graphics,music and game play. I have played it for 100 hours and it never got boring. I can even play this on my old computer that sucks. All of the items are really balanced and it is not pay to win type of game. But instead it is a play to win game. With protection against hackers and cheaters. It also get updated regularly with new game modes,maps and items. It also has a pretty good community where users can create items. Bottom line this game is awesome and I will rate it 10 out 10 hats!
    -Zincio
    Expand
  12. Oct 3, 2014
    10
    I give this game a 10/10 because it:

    Stole my life

    Stole my money

    Stole my pride

    Stole my T.V

    And

    Stole my love

    _______________________________
  13. Feb 6, 2012
    10
    I figure if all players have left to **** about is 'balance', then you've created a fantastic game. Balance is a subjective thing. Team Fortress 2 is a free FPS with the nostalgic feel of the Quake engine that I feel is more than competitive with the likes of the most recent FPS heavy-hitters (i.e. Modern Warfare, Battlefield). With the legacy that TF2 has, it's no wonder Valve pissed offI figure if all players have left to **** about is 'balance', then you've created a fantastic game. Balance is a subjective thing. Team Fortress 2 is a free FPS with the nostalgic feel of the Quake engine that I feel is more than competitive with the likes of the most recent FPS heavy-hitters (i.e. Modern Warfare, Battlefield). With the legacy that TF2 has, it's no wonder Valve pissed off a few fanboys by changing things up a bit. Pay them no mind. If you are passing this game up, you're missing out. End of story. Expand
  14. Jan 9, 2012
    9
    Great game. Never been a fan of FPS, but this is the best FPS game. Full of action, challenges and fun. The cartoon graphics make the game better, more enjoyable. 9 different classes of all types: power, speed, technique, and others. One of the best multiplayers game.
  15. Jan 9, 2012
    10
    Very good art style for the game. With all of the classes, and everything you can do, it is a game hard to get bored with. It runs well on low end machines, and looks pretty good on high end machines. Fun for all.
  16. Dec 16, 2011
    9
    Played this since 2007 and really love it. and I am not really much of a MP player. The fun and action-packed game has me enterained for years even if I have nearlyl 600 games on my steam account, I still come to TF2 to play. I am fast approaching 1000 hours played clocked on this game. Subtitles are lacking but someone has created a mod that implements closed captions into the game whichPlayed this since 2007 and really love it. and I am not really much of a MP player. The fun and action-packed game has me enterained for years even if I have nearlyl 600 games on my steam account, I still come to TF2 to play. I am fast approaching 1000 hours played clocked on this game. Subtitles are lacking but someone has created a mod that implements closed captions into the game which increased it's fun factor. Greatly recommended for those looking for action packed multiplayer FPS. Expand
  17. Feb 9, 2012
    10
    First, think of the latest in a line of games that set the trend for almost all future fps's. then make it online, then give it constant updates and new toys to play with. now make it all free. that's team fortess two. it was worth the money when it was released because it offers competitive play for all skill levels and types of gamer. it has its own economy and continuously growingFirst, think of the latest in a line of games that set the trend for almost all future fps's. then make it online, then give it constant updates and new toys to play with. now make it all free. that's team fortess two. it was worth the money when it was released because it offers competitive play for all skill levels and types of gamer. it has its own economy and continuously growing fanbase. the graphics are great (you can barely tell the tf2 is as old as it is), the classes balance well. Oh, and did i mention it's free? Expand
  18. Nov 5, 2010
    10
    This is truly one of the greatest multiplayer FPS games i've ever played.
    I am playing it for a year and it's still entertaining, mostly because of updates, that, i think, come more frequently than MMO updates. With 9 classes to choose from, everyone will find their favourite gameplay style. And, of course, HATS. They make the game even more awesome... This is the best mix of RPG and FPS.
    This is truly one of the greatest multiplayer FPS games i've ever played.
    I am playing it for a year and it's still entertaining, mostly because of updates, that, i think, come more frequently than MMO updates. With 9 classes to choose from, everyone will find their favourite gameplay style. And, of course, HATS. They make the game even more awesome... This is the best mix of RPG and FPS. Weapons, hats, trading, crafting and shooting. 'Couse who needs experience points.
    Expand
  19. Nov 11, 2010
    10
    This is a great game. It has by far the most hours logged on my computer out of any game I own. Every class you play you get an entirely different experience and the best part is that every class actually feels necessary. Then I personally enjoy the humor in this game and the fact that there are as many frequent updates as there are is just top notch. Its is bar none the best multiplayerThis is a great game. It has by far the most hours logged on my computer out of any game I own. Every class you play you get an entirely different experience and the best part is that every class actually feels necessary. Then I personally enjoy the humor in this game and the fact that there are as many frequent updates as there are is just top notch. Its is bar none the best multiplayer experience out there even 3 years after its original release. Expand
  20. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    This game is frikin amazing. The best game ever for the PC besides Half-Life. Its fantasticaly simple yet strategic. You will really get into this game for a long time. Each character has a fun ascet to them. The game is hilarious and you will like it for along time. The gameplay is fantastic and its so fun. Its just mindless killing. No real war. Just killing. Its so fun you have to get this
  21. Jan 5, 2012
    9
    The game is very fun to play and keeps constantly getting updated with new features making it fun to keep playing it. I've played it for years now and still enjoy it. Only problem is that Valve is releasing new updates without testing them properly making the game unbalanced.
  22. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    This game is the most fun you can have online. Why? First of all, there are no such things as "levels" or "experience" or "cheating", and everybody has an equal chance to win. Second of almost all, you can find items and craft items with the time, which is also super epic. Don't buy Counter-Strike, Download THIS for free via Steam.
  23. Oct 9, 2010
    10
    This game is the best multiplayer game I have EVER played. The game is superbly balanced, lacking the traditional customization most FPSs like MW2 have. Instead the game has 9 Classes, all fo which gave several advantages, disadvantages, and styles of play. The Scout for example, is the fastest class, and can double jump, making hard to hit. But with that he gets a relatively weak weaponThis game is the best multiplayer game I have EVER played. The game is superbly balanced, lacking the traditional customization most FPSs like MW2 have. Instead the game has 9 Classes, all fo which gave several advantages, disadvantages, and styles of play. The Scout for example, is the fastest class, and can double jump, making hard to hit. But with that he gets a relatively weak weapon with bad accuracy (short double barreled shotgun) and very low health. I would recommend this game to anyone AND everyone. This game, now about 3 years old is also still getting patches and updates. HOW MANY GAMES ARE LIKE THAT?! An amazing game with a great art style and amazing textures, it has a unique look. This is the best multiplayer game I play tied with Counter Strike Source. Expand
  24. Aug 28, 2010
    10
    the cartoony graphics make it even more lovable and is a great break from the next gen graphics (brown n' bloom). Lovable characters, dedicated servers, great community. This is definitly on my top 10 greatest games of all time
  25. Sep 1, 2010
    10
    Lets have a new review shall we? Team fortress 2 is the most amazing mutliplayer experience ever. Its balanced with its diffrent classes that have diffrent roles, letting you pick your style. The pyro is people who like close range and ambush, heavy is for power and scout is for speed. Many diffrent tactics such as Sap n stab, rocket jumping can be involved. People who say there are noLets have a new review shall we? Team fortress 2 is the most amazing mutliplayer experience ever. Its balanced with its diffrent classes that have diffrent roles, letting you pick your style. The pyro is people who like close range and ambush, heavy is for power and scout is for speed. Many diffrent tactics such as Sap n stab, rocket jumping can be involved. People who say there are no objectives have not played the game. CTF, CP, PL, PLR, DM, AAD and counting are all gamemodes in this game. The characters have style and more. TFC is NOTHING compared to this lovley polished game. Expand
  26. Sep 15, 2010
    10
    I bought this game on a whim a while back. All I can say is that this is quite possibly the most fun I've had in a game in a long time. Quite simply the longevity of the game and the willingness of valve to continue to support this game speaks volumes. Constant class updates, game updates and a vibrant community that run very excellent servers that are quite full day and night. I recommendI bought this game on a whim a while back. All I can say is that this is quite possibly the most fun I've had in a game in a long time. Quite simply the longevity of the game and the willingness of valve to continue to support this game speaks volumes. Constant class updates, game updates and a vibrant community that run very excellent servers that are quite full day and night. I recommend the No Heroes servers. The gentleman that runs the joint doesn't put up with any guff and his servers are full 90% of the day. There is also quite a large female gamer population that plays there as well. All and all this game is tops. Download it from steam or buy it off the shelf. You'll have hours of fun. Expand
  27. Nov 4, 2010
    10
    One of the greatest parts of this game is the updates. Released back in October 2007, Team Fortress 2 is still a fun multiplayer first person shooter. More content is being added every month or so and the community is growing larger all the time.
  28. Dec 25, 2011
    10
    This game was pretty good overall, and have nothing bad to say about this game. It is pretty amazing. Online was pretty good and the graphics were pretty good, too
  29. Dec 28, 2011
    10
    I got this game for free without knowing much about it prior. 60 hours of playtime later, still going strongly. This is the best FPS ever made. Everything is simple but things get very complex later. There is a huge array of weapons. The whole game is ridiculous (in a good way) but that's why it's so much better than other FPSs such as COD. It's unbelievably addictive and the classes areI got this game for free without knowing much about it prior. 60 hours of playtime later, still going strongly. This is the best FPS ever made. Everything is simple but things get very complex later. There is a huge array of weapons. The whole game is ridiculous (in a good way) but that's why it's so much better than other FPSs such as COD. It's unbelievably addictive and the classes are very varied but have big room for customization. Basically, everyone with a good computer should get this game. Expand
  30. Jan 5, 2012
    10
    nice game with nice graphics and and you will never get bored with all of this new weapon and maps and game modes and it has 9 classes each class has his own ability to do his job
  31. Mar 21, 2011
    10
    TF2 has always been one of my favorite games. It has memorable characters, diverse playstyles, unique maps, and best of all: It has a wonderful and mostly kind community.
    I don't go a day without hearing one of the character's voices saying something in my head to fit my situation.
    Not to mention completely and totally reliable as VALVe is with all of their games. It's made well, it has
    TF2 has always been one of my favorite games. It has memorable characters, diverse playstyles, unique maps, and best of all: It has a wonderful and mostly kind community.
    I don't go a day without hearing one of the character's voices saying something in my head to fit my situation.
    Not to mention completely and totally reliable as VALVe is with all of their games. It's made well, it has constant content updates and patches, the blog is updated rather actively, etc.
    And for the low price of $20? This game is Three years old and the community is still huge. This game has quality written all over it. It's hard to find a major flaw that isn't soon fixed.
    Expand
  32. Aug 30, 2010
    10
    Team Fortress 2 is the perfect online FPS game. It is even with Counter Strike: Source. This game is possibly the most actively changing game that is perfect. 10/10
  33. Apr 5, 2011
    10
    best half life game ever. but unfortunately now has become a bs pay more and more type of game. A perfect hit, even updates perfect, even thought became a digital hat simulator. I am only up set that now they added crates which one must purchase a key to unlock and you cannot craft a key. so if you don't have 25 dollars a month the crates are useless.
  34. Jan 18, 2012
    10
    Everything about this game is great. The customization and item management is amazing, and the gunplay is varied, and violent. The visuals are great, but a little off putting if you're a veteran shooter fan of the likes of CoD and Battlefield. Similarly, The quirkiness of TF2 mean that going back to a different shooter is a little hard at least for me. Since it's F2P, there should be noEverything about this game is great. The customization and item management is amazing, and the gunplay is varied, and violent. The visuals are great, but a little off putting if you're a veteran shooter fan of the likes of CoD and Battlefield. Similarly, The quirkiness of TF2 mean that going back to a different shooter is a little hard at least for me. Since it's F2P, there should be no reason not to play it. Expand
  35. Sep 3, 2010
    9
    The game is perfect to play multiplayer. It has few bugs, easy interface and controls, require more teamwork than ability, what makes this game good for all ages and gamers: casual or pro.
    The combination of multiplayer plus excellent gameplay plus nice cartoonie graphics makes this game so much fun. The price for this game is correct.
  36. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    Team Fortress 2 is possibly the best TDM FPS of the century for me. The diverse mix of 9 classes, several different game mode types, many different maps, outstanding visual quality, constant free-content adding updates and many other things all add up this make this game just purely astounding.
    On top of that, since this game is build on the source engine, one of the most (if not the most)
    Team Fortress 2 is possibly the best TDM FPS of the century for me. The diverse mix of 9 classes, several different game mode types, many different maps, outstanding visual quality, constant free-content adding updates and many other things all add up this make this game just purely astounding.
    On top of that, since this game is build on the source engine, one of the most (if not the most) modded game engines in the industry, users can add their own maps, weapons and customizations at will.
    The game is very new player friendly, and at the same time very competitive. There are several videos on YouTube of dudes girlfriends/mothers/grandmothers who have never played first person shooters before and manage to pick up and play, get a few kills and have fun.
    What with there being 9 seperate classes, all with different types of weapons and content being added on that allows you to customize the classes even further, the possibilities are endless. I would give the game a 9.9 as I don't believe any game deserves a 10, but if there was one bad thing I would have to say about this game, it's that some of the new weapons that are added into the game can sometimes be quite unbalanced, but this is usually fixed after a short while.
    Expand
  37. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    The only people who hate this now are people who think a game has to be serious. This is a properly good game. There is no deep meaning campaign, no intricate combat system. There is no point to team fortress 2 other than good fun. Every character is a sterotype and no one class is useless. All classes have strengths and weaknesses and the swift learning curve for each helps you find theThe only people who hate this now are people who think a game has to be serious. This is a properly good game. There is no deep meaning campaign, no intricate combat system. There is no point to team fortress 2 other than good fun. Every character is a sterotype and no one class is useless. All classes have strengths and weaknesses and the swift learning curve for each helps you find the one you like the most and can play the best. The maps are often designed well and the interesting graphical style can't age. It will still be admired years to come. This game is so much fun that any gamer should buy it and treasure it. This is the worlds greatest war based hat simulator. Expand
  38. Jun 16, 2011
    10
    As a hardcore TFC fan, I was skeptical when I heard about a lot of the changes being made in TF2, they were easily put aside once I played it, the gameplay and class diversity is much much more defined in TF2. The game demands and rewards teamwork, not many other games out on the market can do that, *Cough COD *Cough.
  39. Jun 22, 2011
    10
    I haven't played a game that was more fun, satisfying, and endlessly entertaining. I'm very bad at first person shooters and I can't get enough of this game. Even as I run through the maps, dying at every turn, I continue to play. Plus, if you keep up with the blog, they have some of the funniest updates I've ever read. I actually look forward to their posts. If you're a fan of shooters,I haven't played a game that was more fun, satisfying, and endlessly entertaining. I'm very bad at first person shooters and I can't get enough of this game. Even as I run through the maps, dying at every turn, I continue to play. Plus, if you keep up with the blog, they have some of the funniest updates I've ever read. I actually look forward to their posts. If you're a fan of shooters, or of having fun, I can't recommend this game highly enough. Expand
  40. Jun 23, 2011
    10
    This is honestly as close to FPS multiplayer perfection you can possibly get. It is constantly updated, with new guns, hats,and other collectables, and it never gets old or boring. And now it is free. There is absolutely 0 reason not to play this game.
  41. Dec 31, 2011
    10
    Absolutely hilarious. Period. And that in itself deserves a 10. I like how people make modes, release new weapons, I mean now that it's f2p, I see a lot more players I can beat up. But either if you're a newbie or a pro, and First-person shooters are your thing, I high recommend this game.
  42. Jan 5, 2012
    10
    I love this game! Best source game ever build. I love the graphics sometimes a little bit funny. But all the prices for hats and weapons is too high. But everything else is very good.
  43. Mar 27, 2012
    8
    Team Fortress 2 is a very cool game. It's definetly not the best, but i really enjoyed it. The game is action packed and filles youre free time quite nicely. I would recomend the game for just about anyone who likes the regular FPS games like CS, Call Of Duty or anything like that. Keep in mind that this game is alot different to most. It is best played in multiplayer and uses someTeam Fortress 2 is a very cool game. It's definetly not the best, but i really enjoyed it. The game is action packed and filles youre free time quite nicely. I would recomend the game for just about anyone who likes the regular FPS games like CS, Call Of Duty or anything like that. Keep in mind that this game is alot different to most. It is best played in multiplayer and uses some percentage of brainpower. Expand
  44. Jun 2, 2011
    8
    Too much arcade in my opinion, and the updates make the game unbalanced. Too fast, and definitely you can observe the lack of tactics. Anyway, an addictive game, the best game at 7E
  45. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    "Team Fortress 2" is one of the most historically epic games Valve has ever made. The game only consists of multiplayer, but multiplayer at it's finest. The 9 classes are very balanced as well as the controls too. Gameplay is smooth and is equipped with sexy graphics. There are a variety of maps and game modes as well as constant updates from our trusty Valve. The only downside? There is"Team Fortress 2" is one of the most historically epic games Valve has ever made. The game only consists of multiplayer, but multiplayer at it's finest. The 9 classes are very balanced as well as the controls too. Gameplay is smooth and is equipped with sexy graphics. There are a variety of maps and game modes as well as constant updates from our trusty Valve. The only downside? There is no singleplayer or campaign. Nevertheless, TF2 is one of those games that defines "games". Expand
  46. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    This game is PC gamer's essential. You can't call yourself a PC gamer and not at least try this game. The art style is unique and appealing. The gameplay varies dramatically from map to map, requiring the player to create new strategies and work with their team n order to succeed. If you employ the classes properly you should never get stuck, unable to proceed.
    The community is a
    This game is PC gamer's essential. You can't call yourself a PC gamer and not at least try this game. The art style is unique and appealing. The gameplay varies dramatically from map to map, requiring the player to create new strategies and work with their team n order to succeed. If you employ the classes properly you should never get stuck, unable to proceed.
    The community is a nice bunch of people.
    The game has it's own charm, that keeps a big, goofy smile on your face the whole time you play it, maybe it's the art style, maybe it's the art style, maybe it's the personalities that each of the classes has, maybe it's how the game sort of makes fun of itself and takes itself so un-seriously.
    There are frequent updates that keep adding new items and features that get the whole community excited and with good reason, these new items can throw a real curve ball in the right situation.
    Lastly, whether you buy the game separately or in the deal of the century that is the Orange Box, the price is always right to buy a copy of Team Fortress 2. So what are you waiting for, go and fire up Steam, and download it, you will not regret it.
    Expand
  47. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This game is a masterpiece. Period... The graphics, the controls, the team effort for winning another fight and the constant updates and new items you can get.... It´s great. One of the best games i ever played.
  48. Apr 25, 2012
    9
    A masterpiece. this game is a truly worthwhile shooter for the ages. gameplay is fun, and balanced. character customization is expensive, but if your into that kind of thing thats cool. the game as a whole is awesome looking, sounding, feeling, and playing. why are you still reading this? go play it! its FREE!
  49. Dec 15, 2011
    10
    I got this game as soon as it came out and can't bear to think about the hours I've put into playing it. Luckily its still enjoyable now, which is amazing given its age. My only slight issue is the game does require strategy (especially around medics) and online games are weak on that aspect, which can make it frustrating. Still its an amazing game and now its free there can bge noI got this game as soon as it came out and can't bear to think about the hours I've put into playing it. Luckily its still enjoyable now, which is amazing given its age. My only slight issue is the game does require strategy (especially around medics) and online games are weak on that aspect, which can make it frustrating. Still its an amazing game and now its free there can bge no argument for not playing it. Expand
  50. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    The best overall shooter game I've ever played, very creative and original as well. The fact that the game now is completely free and gets massive regular updates, and has hundreds of community created maps makes this perhaps the best game I have ever played, and I rarely give out 10 / 10!
  51. Dec 24, 2011
    10
    It's balanced, it's addictive, and you can play it for hundreds of hours without stopping. Yes, my friends, this is the world of Team Fortress 2, a highly addictive and stylized free to play multiplayer game. It does look simple, but it's a very complex shooter at its heart and caters to all forms of gameplay.
  52. Dec 27, 2011
    10
    One of the few games I'll give 10/10. I've played this more than any other multiplayer game (800 hours). There are nine classes, each truly unique from the next, with a limitless number of strategies, tactics, etc. Played this game all through college and still loving it.
  53. May 3, 2012
    7
    I wouldn't really fully recommend this to any old school gamer, but for free it's one of the best games ever. VALVe have done an amazing job making their games available free to play for all, with premium access to the Orange Box buyers, so now VALVe can bring in lots more players that weren't previously aware of their awesome games. Only problem I find with it is most of the community,I wouldn't really fully recommend this to any old school gamer, but for free it's one of the best games ever. VALVe have done an amazing job making their games available free to play for all, with premium access to the Orange Box buyers, so now VALVe can bring in lots more players that weren't previously aware of their awesome games. Only problem I find with it is most of the community, and the unseriousness of the gameplay. The hats, the items, they just don't do it for me. TFC was all about teamwork, shooting, and plain seriousness. Whereas with TF2, it's all just joking, cartoon-y, hats, items, trading...You get the point. I like the game, and I still recommend it to everyone, but It's just not for me. Expand
  54. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    One of the best PC games of all time, and it's FREE. There are no reasons for you to NOT download it and at least try it out, but I can bet you'll be sucked in by the perfect, meticulously balanced gameplay, the original visual art style or by the quirky comic books and videos Valve releases once in a while, it's a fun game to play, to discuss and be a part of.
  55. Aug 27, 2012
    10
    This is one of the best games i ever played. I looked at the negative reviews and it seems lots of people complain that they dont get hats right away or believe the hats make other people better. They complain about being bad and saying theres no balance when there really is just gotta pay attention and know what you're doing.
    Give this game a try. All the extra weapons arent better just
    This is one of the best games i ever played. I looked at the negative reviews and it seems lots of people complain that they dont get hats right away or believe the hats make other people better. They complain about being bad and saying theres no balance when there really is just gotta pay attention and know what you're doing.
    Give this game a try. All the extra weapons arent better just go with play styles so try them out and have fun. And a tip: The 2 keys you'll probably buy to become premium can be used to get most of the game weapons or get a hat and 3 stranges for the class you'll mostly like use as your main one and some weapons you'll use in the game as you find drops. Tf2 official wiki and tf2 spreadsheet a great resource of information and pricing.
    Expand
  56. Mar 24, 2012
    7
    I loved team fortress 2 since the day I bought Orange box, 3 years ago, for over 60 bucks (instead of 20...), and since then I saw the various updates and downgrades of this great team shooting game. I always loved class based games and team based shooters so this game got me from the first moment, but now it's just a mere shadow of its glorious past. First things first, the shop reallyI loved team fortress 2 since the day I bought Orange box, 3 years ago, for over 60 bucks (instead of 20...), and since then I saw the various updates and downgrades of this great team shooting game. I always loved class based games and team based shooters so this game got me from the first moment, but now it's just a mere shadow of its glorious past. First things first, the shop really ruined this game, and in the worst ways possible: the weapons are now possible to be bought with REAL money and, in general, these weapons are just "lame" versions of the standard weapons you have from the beginning (instead of doing more damage, you get X more shots, or instead of more shots, you get more damage; the examples are endless). Not only that, some weapons are actually JUST useless (Diamondback, Pain Train, and some are just reskins like the Sharp Dresser or the Holy Mackerel) and some are far too strong (the recent phlogistinator is one big example). Why this choice? The game was perfectly balanced and really the only big updates were the first ones (the Force-a-nature, the Kritzkrieg and, one of the best to me, the dead ringer), but now we get tons of lame weapons, that we have to pay to get them or, if you're patient, you can craft them, which is actualy good: you can craft everything, like weapons, tokens for weapons, and, most "importantly", hats. But really, what's the point? They are barely visible and if I wanted to buy something for make my fave class prettier, I'd rather buy a total customization of the class, instead of simple hats. I just talked mainly because of the shop because it's just THIS the problem of the game: the game itself is still good, the maps are still very enjoyable and the game itself is still large, with 9 classes to learn and master and many ways to play them: it's a lot of content for a F2P game, which means you can easily play and try it out and luckily even enjoy it: you have already the best weapons! If it wasn't for the shop, I'd give it 9 or 10, but with this idea of the shop just...ruined what it was a really balanced and really well though game, making it into just a cash-in game with tons of useless weapons, useless customization options and, in addition, tons of disappointed fans of this once fabulous game. Collapse
  57. Jun 24, 2011
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing. The classes are all balanced to have perfect weaknesses and strengths. Teams must balance the types of players to be successful. However, you are not handicapped so much that your are incapable of fighting one class or another. Expect to spend hundreds of hours on this game
  58. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    This is an epic game. Playing online against other people, with an array of outlandish characters is epic. There are so many things you can do, so many achievements to collect, pwnage to dish out and pwnage to receive. By far the bes FTP game on Steam. The graphics are also good, and the controls are not that hard to learn. Overall, a very addictive, all-rounded game.
  59. Dec 23, 2011
    9
    Oh yea! This is most fun multiplayer game 4ever!
    You can forget hats, you can collected weapons.
    You can love hats and weapons
    You can hate it's all.
    But you must install this game.
  60. JYT
    Jan 6, 2012
    9
    Really fun. Like a good cartoon or comic book. When the players understand they have to team up and organize according the to roles it's another level:

    - demo & soldier to cover heavy and fireguy and clear the way from distance bfore moving in - sniper must cover engineers against spy
    -scout must sacrify or create diversions
    - etc..
  61. Apr 4, 2013
    9
    Been playing since '08 and it's still a blast. While the community can be frustrating, there are thousands of servers out there and everyone can find their community. The complaints about balancing is a bit ridiculous; the game is very balanced. There are a very small number of items that I find unbalanced, (3 to be exact), but other than that it's a wonderful game with a genuine, colorfulBeen playing since '08 and it's still a blast. While the community can be frustrating, there are thousands of servers out there and everyone can find their community. The complaints about balancing is a bit ridiculous; the game is very balanced. There are a very small number of items that I find unbalanced, (3 to be exact), but other than that it's a wonderful game with a genuine, colorful artstyle. Expand
  62. Sep 17, 2012
    10
    TF2 is an amazing game that has so much stuff in it! Trading, crafting, purchasing (Although I don't really do that). Possibly the best thing is stranges. They count your kills and level up and every person you kill shows what level like positively inhumane minigun. There are 9 classes, which I thought some would be OP and others terrible but they are all even. Heavy is susceptible to spysTF2 is an amazing game that has so much stuff in it! Trading, crafting, purchasing (Although I don't really do that). Possibly the best thing is stranges. They count your kills and level up and every person you kill shows what level like positively inhumane minigun. There are 9 classes, which I thought some would be OP and others terrible but they are all even. Heavy is susceptible to spys and snipers, but can own some other classes. It's free if you want but you can get premium if you want which allows better drops. Expand
  63. Sep 27, 2013
    0
    I am Free-to-Play.
    I say this everyday:

    HATS, HATS, HATS, HATS, HATS, HATS, HATS, HATS, HATS, HATS, HATS, HATS, HATS, HATS, HATS, HATS, HATS, HATS, HATS, HATS, HATS, HATS, HATS, HATS, HATS, HATS, HATS, HATS, HATS, HATS, HATS, HATS, HATS, HATS, HATS, HATS, HATS, HATS, HATS, HATS, HATS, HATS, HATS, HATS, HATS
  64. Nov 5, 2010
    10
    I've been playing with this game for 2,5 years now and still my only multiplayer game.. Never gets old.. just LOVE IT!! It was cool even for the first time and after the awsome updates too. Now with trading, crafting and the new items which give you countless new strategies.. I can't say how much fun is this game :)
  65. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    TF2 hat's off...though i am not a regular review writer...but this game is so epic that even Chuck Norris might write in a review for it!!!
    BEWARE:
    This game is highly addictive..and i am dead serious abt it... it's so good that it will keep u gaming and gaming for hours non-stop...of course once you have adjusted to it's gameplay...but that's a big issuse..it's quite simple if u start
    TF2 hat's off...though i am not a regular review writer...but this game is so epic that even Chuck Norris might write in a review for it!!!
    BEWARE:
    This game is highly addictive..and i am dead serious abt it...
    it's so good that it will keep u gaming and gaming for hours non-stop...of course once you have adjusted to it's gameplay...but that's a big issuse..it's quite simple if u start playing with the regular classes like heavy, medic, pyro, sniper, demoman, engineer and soldier...Scout is a bit rough @ handling and oh my...if you become a really good spy, man, you can change the games in seconds if you are losing!!!!
    Expand
  66. Mar 26, 2011
    9
    Team Fortress 2 is my favourite multiplayer shooter. The game itself is fun, with a very cool community centered around it. Even though I consider Modern Warfare 2 better in terms of game quality, the fact that you can play this for hours and not be called names makes this my preferred titles.
  67. Nov 2, 2010
    10
    This game is so kick ass, I have played this game for a while now, and I nearly had a heartattack when the mann co. update came out, new weapons for the spy,sniper,scout,pyro and soldier, plus the halloween update has just come and that was awesome with the horseless headless horseman and the mann manor map where the horsless headless guy chases you and chops your head off. :D
  68. Nov 17, 2011
    9
    Very humorous and a great way to kick back when you're feeling tired and don't want to commit to a complicated/serious game. The achievement system is fair, and you almost always, when you play, get a new item, which is a nice reward, as you slowly try to play different styles of the classes. It feels very balanced, also with the gear, and it really comes down to teamplay. Great game thatVery humorous and a great way to kick back when you're feeling tired and don't want to commit to a complicated/serious game. The achievement system is fair, and you almost always, when you play, get a new item, which is a nice reward, as you slowly try to play different styles of the classes. It feels very balanced, also with the gear, and it really comes down to teamplay. Great game that keeps you laughing even after 40 hours of playtime! Expand
  69. Mar 18, 2011
    9
    TEAM FORTRESS 2... In my option one of the best games of the past years. In my option it has set new goals in FPS games. It is my second favorite game (My favorite is still Garry's Mod, but that's another story.) Team Fortress 2 is great because of it's setup. With amazing classes such as the spy. Invisibility cloak? Never heard of that in a FPS game for a spyish class. And bow and arrowsTEAM FORTRESS 2... In my option one of the best games of the past years. In my option it has set new goals in FPS games. It is my second favorite game (My favorite is still Garry's Mod, but that's another story.) Team Fortress 2 is great because of it's setup. With amazing classes such as the spy. Invisibility cloak? Never heard of that in a FPS game for a spyish class. And bow and arrows for a sniper? Never heard of that kind of weapon for another FPS game. Also the graphics are cartoony, but yet realistic. Gameplay is addicting yet not overdone. For it's price it is defiantly worth it. The ONLY reason it isn't rated a 10 is that the all new weapons are a little confusing since I had Team Fortress 2 since the start in 2007. You need to buy this with Garry's Mod. Expand
  70. May 1, 2011
    8
    Lots of fun, now even has a training course for new players. Valve, thanks for this game. The only thing i could complain about is micro transactions, but hell that doesnt overshadow the awesomeness!
  71. Apr 20, 2011
    8
    Team Fortress 2 is a game unlike many others. It is class based meaning skill isn't the only thing that matters. It ,as its name implies, is team based. The game is very fun and many of the new unlockable/droppable/craftable weapons add to the replay value of this game keeping it fresh. At its beginning maps were scarce and got old quick, but as of now, there are many new maps released asTeam Fortress 2 is a game unlike many others. It is class based meaning skill isn't the only thing that matters. It ,as its name implies, is team based. The game is very fun and many of the new unlockable/droppable/craftable weapons add to the replay value of this game keeping it fresh. At its beginning maps were scarce and got old quick, but as of now, there are many new maps released as well as custom maps made by the community. The community has played a big role in this game's replayability by creating many of the new maps, weapon models, hats, and server mods. What is keeping my review from being a score of 10 are the bugs, crashing, optimization issues, and how the community is now split into two groups. I'll start by explaining how the community was split into two. Awhile back Valve introduced hats which were only obtainable by finding them through their drop system or by crafting them. Now there is trading and along with that trading servers and websites. Trading in a general sense is not bad in how you can get something you want for less. But, the introduction of vintage, genuine, and unusual types of items split the community into two categories: those who play the game and those who only trade. Bugs are prevalent throughout the game and are quite annoying considering some haven't been fixed in quite a long time, such as chargin' targe turning, gunslinger crit storing, etc. These aren't game-breaking but can be annoying at times. My main issue with this game is the optimization. When I first started playing this game (about two years ago) I was running at a 1920x1080 resolution with all settings maxed, Anti Aliasing at 16qx and Anisotropic Filtering at 16x all at >100 frames. Now I can barely run at 30 frames with everything at its lowest value. Overall a great game with a great price, $10, and I see it as a must buy for any PC gamer out there. You will be annoyed by glitches, bugs, and optimization issues though. Expand
  72. May 27, 2011
    7
    While a suprisingly addictive multiplayer package of tons of options, the overdistribution of premium content in the form of weapons, hats, and progression puts this acclaimed game at an average for me. But overall, TF2 is unique with its graphical prowess, gameplay, and stylized combination of design.
  73. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    These 9 characters you get to chose from are some of the most well done in gaming history, final. It's a run and gun online shooter but one thing VALVe did right was balance this out.

    The game is so well balanced, granted they've made some mistakes for the most part every character can benefit your team big time. But over-stacking a certain class will ruin you. My personal favorites are
    These 9 characters you get to chose from are some of the most well done in gaming history, final. It's a run and gun online shooter but one thing VALVe did right was balance this out.

    The game is so well balanced, granted they've made some mistakes for the most part every character can benefit your team big time. But over-stacking a certain class will ruin you.

    My personal favorites are Sniper, Scout, and Spy (of course.) The best part about Team Fortress 2 is hands down it is the biggest bang for your buck, you'll be actively playing it a year after you buy it, sometimes more, I've owned it for a about a year and a half and only now took a break mostly because I work so much. This game has so much replay value and Valve really knows how to treat their community. Some of the weapons are user made as well as the maps and valve has a lot of respect for their players. They always have. (Yes even you hat hackers that did the huge protests over the Halo's.) If you just got your gaming pc, Buy this game right now. You will find that on your steam it will have the most hours forever no matter what. FINAL.
    Expand
  74. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    Unique graphics, persistent updates with new content, well thought out maps, and fun gameplay are some of the highlights of this gem. I played the original, and don't miss grenades to any extent. Server list quality kind of sucks, but Valve is cracking down with server IDs and blacklists. One has to sort of build a whitelist of servers in order to have a good experience. Nonetheless, it isUnique graphics, persistent updates with new content, well thought out maps, and fun gameplay are some of the highlights of this gem. I played the original, and don't miss grenades to any extent. Server list quality kind of sucks, but Valve is cracking down with server IDs and blacklists. One has to sort of build a whitelist of servers in order to have a good experience. Nonetheless, it is the best multiplayer game I have ever played.

    My final score: 9.8/10
    Expand
  75. May 7, 2011
    7
    This is a nice game, A great 1st person shooting game with great timing and battles, Awesome user created maps, and many games with fun servers with different types of chat. But the games seem like everytime you join any server, The server is the same game i play every server i go to. Most user created servers are protected and you can't kill anyone at all, and i'm always kicked from theThis is a nice game, A great 1st person shooting game with great timing and battles, Awesome user created maps, and many games with fun servers with different types of chat. But the games seem like everytime you join any server, The server is the same game i play every server i go to. Most user created servers are protected and you can't kill anyone at all, and i'm always kicked from the servers. My computer's fail graphics card shows the graphics very well and outstanding, but however the game always lags and it never accomplishes to work when i switch servers. If i want to cancel loading, I have to shutdown my entire computer and turn it back on again, I barely play it anymore because my graphics card can't be updated on this computer, and on my laptop it has low memory and i can't delete my enhanced tools that cost alot of money, such as portal 2 for instance, and my animation set, In other words it has low computer memory and i can't delete 5GB of memory. This game is although very good, nice graphics, and a good temporarily daily shooting game, I can't stand most player made servers, the lag, the 10 minute wasted control point games, and the way you need a very high graphics card to operate this. I would give it a 6, but I rather prefer giving a 7 because it's pretty good, and i can't base most of my opinion on my computer errors. Expand
  76. Jun 2, 2011
    9
    A very well designed game with memorable characters. Each class has a very distinct way of helping out the team, and all are very fun to play. Entertaining to play for an indefinite amount of time, considering there's hats, weapons, and other items to find, craft, and use. To some, the graphics may be a turn-off, but I personally like the style. Definitely a PC game; the console versionsA very well designed game with memorable characters. Each class has a very distinct way of helping out the team, and all are very fun to play. Entertaining to play for an indefinite amount of time, considering there's hats, weapons, and other items to find, craft, and use. To some, the graphics may be a turn-off, but I personally like the style. Definitely a PC game; the console versions are not updated and don't have any of the new maps. My only problem is that the new weapons are a bit over powering, causing some classes to be weaker than others. Expand
  77. Jun 16, 2011
    10
    Absolutely a great game that is Multi-player only. Classes are well balanced despite what a few reviewers say. This game is still getting regular updates so that tells you it's actively polished. There will always be updates that do not cater to everyone and people need to realize that. In terms of Graphics, audio and gameplay TF2 deserves an A+

    To put it in perspective, I purchased the
    Absolutely a great game that is Multi-player only. Classes are well balanced despite what a few reviewers say. This game is still getting regular updates so that tells you it's actively polished. There will always be updates that do not cater to everyone and people need to realize that. In terms of Graphics, audio and gameplay TF2 deserves an A+

    To put it in perspective, I purchased the Orange Box and this game was included. While the other Orange Box games are great as well, My total playtime with TF2 is higher then the total of all other Orange Box games combined. TF2 is definitely addicting!
    Expand
  78. Jun 23, 2011
    10
    This game is incredible. New content gets added every few months and gameplay is always getting updated. It's price is ridiculous for the amount of fun you'll have. Some people take it too far for the hats and forget it is a game but hey.... it's their choice. I highly recommend to anyone who has a PC it's the funnest fps. 10/10
  79. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    though it is not my favourite kind of game type,but it is perfect,fun game experience,monthly update fix and improve,and add new things,and it is free.the most important reason i play it is now not so many online game can improve it that is was published for so long,there are only a few game is like this(except valve game),such as killing floor,wargame(focus home interactive).
    so many
    though it is not my favourite kind of game type,but it is perfect,fun game experience,monthly update fix and improve,and add new things,and it is free.the most important reason i play it is now not so many online game can improve it that is was published for so long,there are only a few game is like this(except valve game),such as killing floor,wargame(focus home interactive).
    so many kinds of unit we can use,but still are balanced from each other,COD is a counterexample,though it is nice and exciting,but soon will be forgotten,maybe Treyarch is better,but IW is rubbish,they only focus on money making,but tf2 shows us free game and balance game still can make a lot of money
    Expand
  80. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    BEST MULTIPLAYER GAME IN THE WORLD.VALVE,BRAVO FOR DOING SUCH A AWESOME JOB ON THIS GAME.BEST GAME EVER PLAYED IN MY SHORT LIFE,1000HRS!BOOYA!BUY THIS GAME NOW.seriously,Now.
  81. Nov 27, 2011
    9
    This game is amazing. The controls and over all gameplay makes up for the lack of game modes and limited social possibilities (clans, game rooms). The map are well done and divers. Glitches are rare with a solid code. And valve's engine couldn't handle the cartoon ish feeling any better. The characters, divers, yet balanced are a great way to play an FPS with this team sensation. It'sThis game is amazing. The controls and over all gameplay makes up for the lack of game modes and limited social possibilities (clans, game rooms). The map are well done and divers. Glitches are rare with a solid code. And valve's engine couldn't handle the cartoon ish feeling any better. The characters, divers, yet balanced are a great way to play an FPS with this team sensation. It's free, so you got nothing to lose, you can only win. Expand
  82. Dec 1, 2011
    8
    This is actually a very good game considering it's now F2P, I've had this game for a couple of years before it was F2P and the game has advanced a lot. If your playing this with a few mates it's definitely fun but can be frustrating at times due to some overpowered and unbalanced classes, but overall you can have a good time in this game due to the vast array of weapons to be unlocked andThis is actually a very good game considering it's now F2P, I've had this game for a couple of years before it was F2P and the game has advanced a lot. If your playing this with a few mates it's definitely fun but can be frustrating at times due to some overpowered and unbalanced classes, but overall you can have a good time in this game due to the vast array of weapons to be unlocked and messed around with. Expand
  83. Dec 2, 2011
    9
    This game was brilliant when it was first released, now its terribly screwed up. But, there is something about this game which makes it so fun. They added robot arms, bow and arrows, even lazers - none of which fit with the theme of the game. But, its fun as hell. Constant updates, varieties of weapons, memorable characters, and best of all, HEADGEAR FOR YOUR MERCENARIES mean this gameThis game was brilliant when it was first released, now its terribly screwed up. But, there is something about this game which makes it so fun. They added robot arms, bow and arrows, even lazers - none of which fit with the theme of the game. But, its fun as hell. Constant updates, varieties of weapons, memorable characters, and best of all, HEADGEAR FOR YOUR MERCENARIES mean this game remains one of my alltime favourites. Expand
  84. Dec 29, 2011
    9
    Excelent stylish graphics. The gameplay is just the ideal to make fun with friends and plan action tactics for fps assaults. All the different characters inside the game are well balanced and each one has an specific way to play and combine with the rest of the team.
  85. Mar 29, 2012
    8
    Very good game , good graphics , funny and creative characters , impresive skills , at least every month a update , its f*cking fun !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 810
  86. Jun 4, 2012
    9
    What can I say, the game is just fun as **** I think they've gone a bit overboard with all the different weapons/hats - some kind of vanilla mode for servers would be a nice option - but at least there are alternative methods to acquire everything beyond having to pay for them.
  87. Aug 26, 2012
    10
    The BEST fps ever! Back in Beta (2006) it was one of a kind, unique.And the graphics are still good for a 6 year old game! Many copied the game. but there's only one TF2! ( Games similar (COPIED) Micro Volts, Final Combat, Battlefield Heroes) Now any of you who hate it, you...probably spent your life playing COD, Roblox, Runescape.
  88. Jun 9, 2012
    10
    In an Era of graphically demanding First Person Shooters, Team Fortress 2 is a Gem. It can Run smoothly on integrated graphics. Fun and Unique Gameplay. Epic Chaos and Mayhem happening in various maps and game modes. The cartoony graphics is visually appealing and beautiful.
  89. Jul 17, 2012
    9
    At first I was hesitant about this game for how minimalistic it was compared to TFC, however it quickly grew on me. The game is far more balanced than its predecessor, and boy is this one well polished multiplayer FPS. At free-ninety-nine the price is more than right for this game, and they've done an excellent job of not making new items overpowered than any of the originals. All theAt first I was hesitant about this game for how minimalistic it was compared to TFC, however it quickly grew on me. The game is far more balanced than its predecessor, and boy is this one well polished multiplayer FPS. At free-ninety-nine the price is more than right for this game, and they've done an excellent job of not making new items overpowered than any of the originals. All the classes and item layouts are extremely well balanced for how much variety there is, the gameplay is tight as hell and smooth as butter. Map designs are good but not great, with the exception of Payload maps which are excellent. My one qualm with this game is the crates - 2.50 for a **** key? Give me a break!! You can buy most of the items that you directly want for .50-1.00, but to open a crate which gives a completely random chance of getting the item you want (more often than not you don't get it). 2.50 for 10 keys seems like a much more logical deal. Oh well though, the game is in my opinion the best multiplayer experience as far as FPS goes at the moment, with no games in sight overtaking it in the foreseeable future. It's the starcraft 2 of FPS multiplayer, it's that good. Expand
  90. Jul 28, 2012
    10
    Overall it is a brilliantly designed game. It is not your average FPS. Team Fortress 2 offers a variety of characters, each with completely different specializations, weapons, visual aspects and personalities. It combines fictional aspects, humor and "toony" looks for various reasons. Many other first person shooters have an in-game shop that usually includes stronger weapons and itemsOverall it is a brilliantly designed game. It is not your average FPS. Team Fortress 2 offers a variety of characters, each with completely different specializations, weapons, visual aspects and personalities. It combines fictional aspects, humor and "toony" looks for various reasons. Many other first person shooters have an in-game shop that usually includes stronger weapons and items that you must have to be successful. Team Fortress 2, also known as TF2 provides a shop that merely contains extra items that add effects to your character or help you to obtain weapons that can usually be obtained in-game either by picking them up, trading or crafting them yourself. Team Fortress 2 is based around balance. Nothing is "the best," everything is based around different tasks a player may need to complete. Each character has specific roles that are more successful when used in the right place, at the right time. Every weapon is unique, some have special abilities with a cost to offset the ability's potency. The graphics are cartoonish to add humor and allow even the slowest of computers to play it smoothly. Everything in TF2 has humor. TF2 adds humor, such as pyroland. Pyroland was recently released as a part of the Pyro storyline. It is a cheerful alteration to TF2, featuring brightly colored maps with candyland like aspects. Pyroland also features players with high pitched voices, new weapons and gear, and new word spoofs like "DOMINATION" is now "BEST FRIENDS". I personally think this is the best fps I've ever played because of its unique comedy, balance, and game-play. Expand
  91. Aug 1, 2012
    10
    The finest example of what most multiplayer games should be and what games nowadays should try to be like. Fun. Most games today are trying to be realistic , something video games shouldn't be all about . What team fortress 2 does is breaks most rules of physics and logic and creates a fun, balanced, multiplayer fps that updates regularly. Not to mention it is free (although many wouldThe finest example of what most multiplayer games should be and what games nowadays should try to be like. Fun. Most games today are trying to be realistic , something video games shouldn't be all about . What team fortress 2 does is breaks most rules of physics and logic and creates a fun, balanced, multiplayer fps that updates regularly. Not to mention it is free (although many would say it is a bad thing) so if you have a fast, working Pc/Mac this game is a must. Expand
  92. Sep 22, 2012
    10
    Best of the best game! With out comments! The most highly regarded free game in history!
    As one of the most popular multiplayer action games of all time, Team Fortress 2 is constantly evolving with ongoing free updates, with whom in the game, new game modes, maps, items, and, most importantly, hats. Nine game classes will open access to many different tactics.
  93. Sep 13, 2012
    7
    It's difficult to rate this game as it steadily decreases in refined quality with each update, particularly promotional updates that tend to ruin the design ethos. Each weapon released feels like it was beta tested by monkeys, often needing to be rebalanced upon public release, but unfortunately not being balanced until months, if not years down the line. The shere volume of unlocks isIt's difficult to rate this game as it steadily decreases in refined quality with each update, particularly promotional updates that tend to ruin the design ethos. Each weapon released feels like it was beta tested by monkeys, often needing to be rebalanced upon public release, but unfortunately not being balanced until months, if not years down the line. The shere volume of unlocks is overwhelming for new players alienating large numbers of players including the entire F2P player base. Expand
  94. Sep 23, 2012
    10
    I'm never a fan of Multiplayer games. But this game just blows everything away. I always get bored of games eventually. However with the games updates I can keep coming back to it year after year... Plus it's free! So what are you doing? Get downloading!
  95. Oct 8, 2012
    10
    wow, where can i start? its free, and fun, and funny, and its by valve. one of the best PC games ever made, probebly the best multiplayer ever made, or at least the free one. i just cant say anything else, its just a master peace, bravo valve you did it again!
  96. Jul 1, 2013
    10
    To put it shortly, Valve's Team Fortress 2 is "The gift that keeps on giving all year long." There's really no reason you shouldn't be playing TF2, especially considering the price (free).
  97. Dec 23, 2012
    10
    Absolutely awesome, so much better than cod and battlefield! The Heavy is especially epic! The humor, the action, the dlc and everything about this game makes it the best free to play game ever!
  98. May 25, 2013
    10
    I like this game very much. The Gameplay is brilliant, the gameplay epic and the comedy well thought out. You choose from one of 9 unique classes each with a different strategy and abilities. From Engineering stuff to sniping enemies and Backstabbing, I recommend this game.
  99. May 25, 2013
    10
    Free, fast paced, and fun. This stylized and over the top class based FPS from Valve is one of the most addicting and unique games on the PC. Team Fortress 2 constantly rewards you not only with ridiculous and fun combat, but also in its extensive loot it has to offer. With constant updates and user created hats, weapons, and character models, there is no shortage of things to find andFree, fast paced, and fun. This stylized and over the top class based FPS from Valve is one of the most addicting and unique games on the PC. Team Fortress 2 constantly rewards you not only with ridiculous and fun combat, but also in its extensive loot it has to offer. With constant updates and user created hats, weapons, and character models, there is no shortage of things to find and use. There is a learning curve, but that doesn't detract from the game, nor am I going to consider subtracting from this gem among the crowded sea of FPS games. After a couple of games, it gets you hooked and adjusts you to the frantic action around you that offers timeless fun and entertainment. Expand
  100. Jun 2, 2013
    10
    I love this game it puts a fantastic twist on generic fps games. In this game winning revolves around teamwork and not just quick scope everyone until they die strategy. All classes have perks and weaknesses so there is no overpowered class. This game may not have the best graphics but its the gameplay that counts which it excels on. The community has been more and more active in teamI love this game it puts a fantastic twist on generic fps games. In this game winning revolves around teamwork and not just quick scope everyone until they die strategy. All classes have perks and weaknesses so there is no overpowered class. This game may not have the best graphics but its the gameplay that counts which it excels on. The community has been more and more active in team fortress 2 so that means if you have some good ideas you may be able to help out valve. Basically it's a fantastic game that everyone should try out. Plus it is free to play so there is no loss in trying it. Expand
  101. Mar 24, 2012
    0
    I loved team fortress 2 since the day I bought Orange box, 3 years ago, for over 60 bucks (instead of 20...), and since then I saw the various updates and downgrades of this great team shooting game. I always loved class based games and team based shooters so this game got me from the first moment, but now it's just a mere shadow of its glorious past. First things first, the shop reallyI loved team fortress 2 since the day I bought Orange box, 3 years ago, for over 60 bucks (instead of 20...), and since then I saw the various updates and downgrades of this great team shooting game. I always loved class based games and team based shooters so this game got me from the first moment, but now it's just a mere shadow of its glorious past. First things first, the shop really ruined this game, and in the worst ways possible: the weapons are now possible to be bought with REAL money and, in general, these weapons are just "lame" versions of the standard weapons you have from the beginning (instead of doing more damage, you get X more shots, or instead of more shots, you get more damage; the examples are endless). Not only that, some weapons are actually JUST useless (Diamondback, Pain Train, and some are just reskins like the Sharp Dresser or the Holy Mackerel) and some are far too strong (the recent phlogistinator is one big example). Why this choice? The game was perfectly balanced and really the only big updates were the first ones (the Force-a-nature, the Kritzkrieg and, one of the best to me, the dead ringer), but now we get tons of lame weapons, that we have to pay to get them or, if you're patient, you can craft them, which is actualy good: you can craft everything, like weapons, tokens for weapons, and, most "importantly", hats. But really, what's the point? They are barely visible and if I wanted to buy something for make my fave class prettier, I'd rather buy a total customization of the class, instead of simple hats. I just talked mainly because of the shop because it's just THIS the problem of the game: the game itself is still good, the maps are still very enjoyable and the game itself is still large, with 9 classes to learn and master and many ways to play them: it's a lot of content for a F2P game, which means you can easily play and try it out and luckily even enjoy it: you have already the best weapons! If it wasn't for the shop, I'd give it 9 or 10, but with this idea of the shop just...ruined what it was a really balanced and really well though game, making it into just a cash-in game with tons of useless weapons, useless customization options and, in addition, tons of disappointed fans of this once fabulous game. Collapse
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. 100
    The marriage of highly stylised retro-spy presentation, fresh, high octane action, deep and varied classes and the underlying twinkle of humour in its metaphorical eye make Team Fortress 2 far more than just your average fragfest. Long after the novelty of the graphics wears thin, we are left with a refined and accessible multiplayer game that simultaneously cultivates new players whilst retaining enough depth to accommodate even the hardiest of veterans.
  2. The game also does a lovely job of framing your relationship with other players and nurturing them.
  3. It's one hell of a game. With its powerful artistic style and blazingly quick, yet accessible gameplay, it's enough to melt the icy cynicism imprisoning the hearts of even the most jaded among us. That being said, it's not the most complex shooter out there.