Team Fortress 2 PC

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 6052 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. EdwardS
    Nov 8, 2009
    10
    A great game, with great balance and with constant updates to keep it fresh.
  2. GeorgeP
    Nov 9, 2009
    10
    Amazing class based action. Funny. Gorgeous. Unique. Keeps getting better.
  3. matth
    Nov 9, 2009
    10
    Best multiplayer game i have ever played, hands down
  4. SheaH
    Oct 21, 2009
    10
    A lot of fun right from the get go. I think people are having a problem with the drop system for new weapons because the new weapons don't provide an outright advantage like other tree system games. I think its great. Even new weapons have their balance where an advantage is added and on taken away KEEPING THE GAME BALANCED. I think valve has been quite succesfull keeping this game A lot of fun right from the get go. I think people are having a problem with the drop system for new weapons because the new weapons don't provide an outright advantage like other tree system games. I think its great. Even new weapons have their balance where an advantage is added and on taken away KEEPING THE GAME BALANCED. I think valve has been quite succesfull keeping this game very balanced. Don't forget its cartoonish quality. You're not supposed to have an outright advantage on someone starting out, except for your skill. People are too worried about being rewarded for playing the game. The reward is hours of enjoyment you get from it, which you payed for by the way. Get this game. Its fun. Expand
  5. Panic
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    By far one of the top shooters to date, and it actually encourages teamwork over solo play. Ignore the babies crying about random drop system, you can still earn weapons by achievements and the game it still great even with or with out them since there is no "super" must have weapon.
  6. TrevorA
    Jan 2, 2009
    10
    This game is truly a work of art. although each class has a variety of weakness' as a group their strengths balance out making for a even match even if one of the classes has a greater advantage (depending on map, player skill, and etc.). The game is meant for a variety of players and play styles make 'fun for the whole family' feel to the game. Since this game relys on This game is truly a work of art. although each class has a variety of weakness' as a group their strengths balance out making for a even match even if one of the classes has a greater advantage (depending on map, player skill, and etc.). The game is meant for a variety of players and play styles make 'fun for the whole family' feel to the game. Since this game relys on team work and coordination of the classes those without a Microphone could see some of the action in the game to be frustrating. but those who do have the mic's in game usually alert those who do not have mic's to where they are needed. overall the game is amazing. i would reccomend it to anyone who has friends who have a steam account. or those who want to get into computer gaming (for it is the best platform ever...). best of luck Expand
  7. JakeP.
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    An excellent game that defied everything i ever thought about it. Nothing is too overpowered, as sentries can be taken down with 4 rockets and snipers, even with their insta-kill headshots, are easily weakened. In my opinion, this game is easily my favorite and it will stay as such for a long, long time to come.
  8. JamesR
    Dec 17, 2009
    10
    Definitely the best FPS-Multiplayer shooter out there. Great game variety, a lovely atmopshere and of course free updates which are clever designed.
  9. MRT
    Jan 22, 2009
    10
    This game has eaten up so much of my life, and I still find it fun. As one of the reviews says, it does get a tad repetitive after 150-200 hours, but who cares! They have been adding unlockable items too, further increasing the game's lifespan.
  10. GabrielR
    Dec 20, 2009
    10
    It IS the best FPS i have ever played. Its a fun game, not like the others that are always the same thing, same weapons etc. It is fun for its graphics, the characters are very well made, big variety of weapons, classes, maps... i honestly don't see anything bad about it. Its surely a must-buy.
  11. CharlieS
    Dec 20, 2009
    9
    I have had this game for a year and a half, and no matter what other FPS titles I buy, this is the one i will always compare them too. But many people have talked about that in the other reviews here. I give this game a 9 because it is true that at first the experience is very daunting. Learning everything about the game is very difficult given the general attitude of some players. I have had this game for a year and a half, and no matter what other FPS titles I buy, this is the one i will always compare them too. But many people have talked about that in the other reviews here. I give this game a 9 because it is true that at first the experience is very daunting. Learning everything about the game is very difficult given the general attitude of some players. However there are many servers with really decent players who are kind and helpful. My advice is to find a server close to your home (for low Ping) and to play there until people know who you are. Perhaps join a clan server, where people from that clan will often help new players. Also, read beginner articles on Ubercharged.net and listen to podcasts from Control Point Podcast. These will help you start off and get more out of the game quicker. Finally, for those players who like a more sophisticated FPS, TF2 has a thriving competitive (6 vs 6) community where more advanced playeers can earn cash and glory. Feel free to check that out once you settle into the game. In short, find a nice server, and have FUN!! Expand
  12. PeterK
    Dec 21, 2009
    10
    This game is very good. Its not like any other game. Its come a very long way since 2007 and its getting better every update. I've heard people complain about the class updates, because it makes the game unbalanced. Valve are trying to keep this game as balanced as possible. If your good at any class you'll be able to take down almost anyone. This game is just one of the best out there
  13. NiklasS
    Dec 6, 2009
    10
    This is by far the greatest game, I have ever played to date. The classes are fun and different, and yet they're still well balanced. There's no classes you can't kill. I've played over 700 hours of this game, in a year, and I normally get pretty tired of a game fast, but this is just awesome. It's worth EVERY little penny, it's simply a must-have.
  14. ConnorM
    Dec 7, 2009
    10
    Excellent game, well balanced visually and game wise. The best part about it(which Is what many games now a days tend to forget) is its FUN, which Is what I game should be in the end. It gets a well deserved 10 from me and a must buy.
  15. AngeloB
    Dec 9, 2009
    8
    I feel the drop system isn't evolving enough. If your gonna play a fav char then drop some thing for that one. Then the more you play the higher the drop rate gets prompting you to switch up. Then when other char drops happen then it should lessen the drop time for the next one you need for that fav char.
  16. Bor
    Oct 3, 2009
    10
    The Best Game!!!
  17. AlecG
    Oct 6, 2009
    10
    By far my favorite Multiplayer game, This game is hilarious, and fun. Well balanced Classes each, not with limitations, but rather their own capabilities. A game that fits together while seeming as though it doesn't. I guarantee you'll like it, unless you hate class based combat, and prefer Call of Duty then fine. It hasn't gotten boring for me, and i've played it for By far my favorite Multiplayer game, This game is hilarious, and fun. Well balanced Classes each, not with limitations, but rather their own capabilities. A game that fits together while seeming as though it doesn't. I guarantee you'll like it, unless you hate class based combat, and prefer Call of Duty then fine. It hasn't gotten boring for me, and i've played it for over 36 hours, This game is the greatest! Expand
  18. AnonymousMC
    Mar 14, 2009
    10
    I love this game. Yes i do die a lot and yes the achievements are kinda hard to get done but there also needs to be more. It is a very fun game though. They do need to add more things for engineers and more achievements for them as well to unlock better turrets and what not.
  19. AnonymousMC
    Mar 21, 2009
    10
    This is a fantastic online multiplayer game. There are nine different characters/classes to play as, which is like having nine different video games at your fingertips. Plus, the fact that it is a multiplayer game online means that each and every game is different. Thus, this game never gets old!

    Highly recommended.
  20. AlexR
    Mar 26, 2009
    10
    Since October 2007 if there has been one multiplayer game that outshines the rest, TF2 is certainly it. Well balanced, solid player base and continued support only add to the best gaming experience on the pc. Throw in Valves' continued support of the low-mid end hardware scene allowing anyone to play this game and the fact that there are tons of servers makes for a reliable game. The Since October 2007 if there has been one multiplayer game that outshines the rest, TF2 is certainly it. Well balanced, solid player base and continued support only add to the best gaming experience on the pc. Throw in Valves' continued support of the low-mid end hardware scene allowing anyone to play this game and the fact that there are tons of servers makes for a reliable game. The naysayers will first highlight the "cartoony" art direction, but this game certainly isn't Looney Tunes. The art style adds to the realm and atmosphere which is retro 50-60's type and blends perfectly with witty and sometimes dark but always timely responses from classes in certain situations. This game just would not have the same charm without its art style, the comedy wouldn't work and this game would have fallen by the wayside many months ago. Expand
  21. AnonymousMC
    Mar 9, 2009
    10
    notice the amount of 10s. now notice the amounts of 0s. significantly less. stop using 0 as "your way to balance the score", this game IS a 10 and if you're too much of a noob or an old nostalgic pro stop whining and enjoy its greatness, but don't give it a 0 to 'balance' the score cause all you're doing is unbalancing the score. these 10s are honest, those 0s arenotice the amount of 10s. now notice the amounts of 0s. significantly less. stop using 0 as "your way to balance the score", this game IS a 10 and if you're too much of a noob or an old nostalgic pro stop whining and enjoy its greatness, but don't give it a 0 to 'balance' the score cause all you're doing is unbalancing the score. these 10s are honest, those 0s are bitter. don't be bitter. Expand
  22. OmarI
    Apr 14, 2009
    10
    I have been playing TF2 for at least a year, and it is the best game I have ever seen. I loved the characters, models and weapons. Playing the game really is fun because : -The characters sometimes talks, like heavy or other characters have funny emotions and funny faces. -It is so well balanced that you don't feel any injustice (especially for the crits, many players don't like I have been playing TF2 for at least a year, and it is the best game I have ever seen. I loved the characters, models and weapons. Playing the game really is fun because : -The characters sometimes talks, like heavy or other characters have funny emotions and funny faces. -It is so well balanced that you don't feel any injustice (especially for the crits, many players don't like them but they're very important in the game and makes the game funnier to play with) -Maps are very well made, great spots and nice ways of playing it. -Graphics are great, not only the resolution but the weapons and when firing with a weapon is nice. Expand
  23. MikeD
    May 20, 2009
    10
    I have never had as much fun playing any on-line FPS as I've had with this game. I must admit, my first impressions were poor at best. I was disappointed in the lack of strategic depth, the cartoony graphics and the departure from the original. I actually put the game away for close to a year. (I may have also been turned off because my first time through was on console) Then a I have never had as much fun playing any on-line FPS as I've had with this game. I must admit, my first impressions were poor at best. I was disappointed in the lack of strategic depth, the cartoony graphics and the departure from the original. I actually put the game away for close to a year. (I may have also been turned off because my first time through was on console) Then a friend of mine telling me how much fun he was having so I figured I'd give it another shot. After a few exciting rounds I began to realize less is more in this case. Valve took TFC and refinded it, distilled each class into it's basic essence which encourages team play in a way the previous game never could. Too many are quick to dismiss this game as not deep enough, not realistic enough, not hard enough or not enough like the original. If you want depth or realism the box art should be enough to tell you to stay away. If you want strategic depth, play an RTS. If you want a game that's "Nintendo Hard" go play an NES cart. If you love TFC so much, just keep playing that! This is a game that good players can excel at and new players can learn and have fun with. Expand
  24. ReddaG
    May 22, 2009
    10
    I just played this game and i really really love it, it is one of the funniest action games that I've played ever. I wish to give this game 10/10 because it is so incredible, thanks.
  25. AndrewW
    May 26, 2009
    10
    One of the best online shooters I've played. Better than Gears of War 2 and Halo 3, both of which I was addicted to.
  26. AnonymousMC
    May 26, 2009
    10
    wow this is an awsome game. i was suprised when i saw it was cartoony but when you get to play it it sucks since your pc dosent support orange box then u get a free week and u like it and then you buy it its epic just pure epic!!! it is worth very £uro! its only 20. go ahead buy it.
  27. NathanS
    May 6, 2009
    10
    After having purchased the Orange Box upon its release, TF2 has been a constant success, with ever growing game content, via community maps, weapon packs for classes and rebalancing. As far as Josh's comment with hacking. This is almost entirely server dependant. Personally, in the last 24 hours of game play, not encountered an individual that I believed to be hacking. Otherwise, I After having purchased the Orange Box upon its release, TF2 has been a constant success, with ever growing game content, via community maps, weapon packs for classes and rebalancing. As far as Josh's comment with hacking. This is almost entirely server dependant. Personally, in the last 24 hours of game play, not encountered an individual that I believed to be hacking. Otherwise, I don't feel I can add too much more to some of the other things that have been said about the game, other than that the game is an amazing amount of fun, and is well worth the $20 Valve is charging for it. Expand
  28. Julyxx
    Jun 20, 2009
    10
    Fantastic game! while the steam forum is full of flame (weapon x for y is OVERPOWERED / z is too weak..) i just think that valve is doing a brilliant job. any other game that gives new content often (like wow) costs money every month but here you get new maps etc for free! because of the good working steam community features it works like a charm to join a server and invite your friends Fantastic game! while the steam forum is full of flame (weapon x for y is OVERPOWERED / z is too weak..) i just think that valve is doing a brilliant job. any other game that gives new content often (like wow) costs money every month but here you get new maps etc for free! because of the good working steam community features it works like a charm to join a server and invite your friends to the game to rock the server Expand
  29. CodeyB
    Jun 2, 2009
    10
    This is as perfect of an FPS on the PC that I've played. The big gimmick to the game (other than the graphics), is the classes. Unlike other games that implemented classes, this game is actually very balanced. The more interesting classes (Spy and Engineer) take more skill to be good, but are very powerful when learned. To compensate, they have the lowest health pool in the game. A This is as perfect of an FPS on the PC that I've played. The big gimmick to the game (other than the graphics), is the classes. Unlike other games that implemented classes, this game is actually very balanced. The more interesting classes (Spy and Engineer) take more skill to be good, but are very powerful when learned. To compensate, they have the lowest health pool in the game. A big focus is team-work and without it, you will fail. There are many levels now, and many types of gameplay. You can do the usual deathmatch style, or a more fun variant like CTF or Payload. With the advent of achievements and unlockable weapons, the game even got better. There are currently 239 achievements to unlock. Some are based on specific classes, while others are general achievements. To unlock all the weapons is now not solely based on the achievements, but are randomly given to players. This will let the less-talented players still get new weapons. All in all, if you like FPS you HAVE to buy this game. Expand
  30. RobertK
    Jun 5, 2009
    10
    This is my favourite game, I never expected that Valve will release another such fantastic game which is based on Source Engine. It have been much improved since I remember the first weeks when it was released. What is most cool thing is that Valve are releaseing updates for this game which improves the game, and I don't mean just bugs and crashes, they add new weapons for characters This is my favourite game, I never expected that Valve will release another such fantastic game which is based on Source Engine. It have been much improved since I remember the first weeks when it was released. What is most cool thing is that Valve are releaseing updates for this game which improves the game, and I don't mean just bugs and crashes, they add new weapons for characters to play with, look, maps etc. and everything for FREE if the game is already purchased on Steam account. I hope Valve will keep updating this game and will keep game balance so the fans would be happy because there are thousands fans of Team Fortress 2. Expand
  31. AnonymousMC
    Jun 9, 2009
    10
    By Far this is one of the best multiplayer FPS games I've played. It's not all about running and gunning like a certain popular game on the 360. Although running and gunning is an option, it usually ends with you dead by the opposing team. The way that your team has to use all the classes in order to win is just amazing and something I havn't experienced in a game. AmazingBy Far this is one of the best multiplayer FPS games I've played. It's not all about running and gunning like a certain popular game on the 360. Although running and gunning is an option, it usually ends with you dead by the opposing team. The way that your team has to use all the classes in order to win is just amazing and something I havn't experienced in a game. Amazing FPS game that anyone can learn and it's definitely a steal for the current price. Expand
  32. AdamT
    Jul 22, 2009
    10
    Team fortress 2 is a fantastic multiplayer game on many accounts. You can play as any of 9 classes: Scout, Sniper, Pyro, Demoman, Heavy, Engineer, MEdic, Soilder, and Spy; All with instict advantages and disadvenatages. Gameplay rarely get's boring considering the fact that you can play as 9 different characters, all with different weapons and special abilities. There's a huge Team fortress 2 is a fantastic multiplayer game on many accounts. You can play as any of 9 classes: Scout, Sniper, Pyro, Demoman, Heavy, Engineer, MEdic, Soilder, and Spy; All with instict advantages and disadvenatages. Gameplay rarely get's boring considering the fact that you can play as 9 different characters, all with different weapons and special abilities. There's a huge list of achievments to tackle in your spare time, and some characters have milestones to unlock, giving them new weapons and abilities. I've had Team fortress 2 for a good long time, and I don't think I'm ever going to get bored of it, because unlike most games, you have 9 different ways to play it. Expand
  33. AnonymousMC
    Aug 12, 2009
    10
    This game is solid gold in my opinion, I've never come across a teamwork focused FPS that brings me back for more so often. I got Tf2 in the orange box and haven't ever regretted it. If you like fast-paced and adrenaline filled gaming, this gem of a game is for you.
  34. AnthonyS
    Aug 21, 2009
    10
    This game never gets old. This will probably remain my favorite FPS for a long time! Here are some reasons to like it: The art style is fun. The characters/classes are all very unique and psychotic, they are so enjoyable that there have been many videos and webcomics made about them, Valve event released a series of "Meet The ____" videos. The endless content, Valve really knows how to This game never gets old. This will probably remain my favorite FPS for a long time! Here are some reasons to like it: The art style is fun. The characters/classes are all very unique and psychotic, they are so enjoyable that there have been many videos and webcomics made about them, Valve event released a series of "Meet The ____" videos. The endless content, Valve really knows how to please their customers releasing a plethora of major game mechanics and content updates every few months. A great community. Some amazing community maps! Valve's maps are also well designed (even though most of them stick to the same boring desert/concrete theme). Absurd weapons (a jar of pee and a baseball, seriously?). Fun class combinations! The amazing teamwork aspect of the game that is lost in many FPSs. Things that are just wacky and fun (taunts, death cam and end of round coup de grace). Et cetera!!! Expand
  35. JC
    Sep 1, 2009
    10
    Without a doubt the most flawlessly executed multiplayer game I have ever witnessed. Perfectly designed to entertain every shooter fan, with a broad variety of gameplay options, and perfect balance. The graphics are luscious, colorful, and extremely fun.
  36. JacobL.
    Jan 12, 2010
    10
    This game was a new twist for First Person Shooters and a great twist. I love to see something new and original and thats exactly what i found in this game. The classes were very well balanced. This game is very much the high light of my day. 10/10
  37. Adrienne
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    An excellent game. Much better than TFC was in my opinion. All classes are actually playable, fun, and fair. A must have game to all FPS lovers.
  38. JasonW.
    Nov 11, 2007
    9
    Definitely worth the wait. TF2 is a great multiplayer game. Unmistakable character designs, brilliant (but too few) maps, well balanced, distinct player classes.
  39. MikeK.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Fantastic gameplay, great graphics, great maps. What more could an FPS gamer ask for? Maybe a few more maps, but other than that, this thing is beautiful.
  40. ChristianJ.
    Nov 12, 2007
    10
    Best game ever made, its not like Counter Strike and so, 9 classes, with some speciel Goods. Good Game.
  41. ThomsR.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    Great game, the nine different characters make the game more fun and exciting, you can really play it for several houres.
  42. AnthonyW.
    Nov 16, 2007
    10
    It is fast, funny and fun, i just wish there were more like it.
  43. BobS.
    Nov 2, 2007
    10
    One of the most amazing games that has come out in a long time. With exciting fights and varity in characters personalitys and specialtys. There is an amazing balance of stragity and skill
  44. AnonymousMC
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    I, like al ot of people out there, thought this game would never come. I have been around since the tf days and then tfc came out and now this is just a welcoming surprise. I had my doubts, but after playing it and coupling it with the graphics it is a hell of time. Good ole mayhem, arms and limbs flying about and the funny antics that each class has make this game as fun as it'sI, like al ot of people out there, thought this game would never come. I have been around since the tf days and then tfc came out and now this is just a welcoming surprise. I had my doubts, but after playing it and coupling it with the graphics it is a hell of time. Good ole mayhem, arms and limbs flying about and the funny antics that each class has make this game as fun as it's predecessors. Good job valve, you have managed to amazed us again. How do you do it?! Portal is pretty dang fun as well, so by the orange box. ;-) Expand
  45. DaveG.
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    This game is very one of the best with his fast and attractive gameplay, its a non-stop action and I love it, Graphics are really Awsome for a cartoon. It really amaze me. It worth the price!
  46. ChrisH.
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    Very cool, well balanced multiplayer. I love the cartoony graphics and theam music.
  47. AnonymousMC
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    Since I filled in this form already and you set the javascipt to not allow resizing, I lost what I typed in and I won't type it again. Plus, you can't see the next "error" page anyway because most of it is outside of the upper portion of the window. Not very helpful.
  48. I.A.
    Oct 19, 2007
    10
    Awesome, extremely fresh and different(as FPS games go), 10/10 graphics, addicting gameplay and most improtantly -> it's absolutely FUN!
  49. JamesB.
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    Amazing! A game that is actually FUN to play! Characters all have their own personalities which makes the game even more groundbreaking.
  50. JamesG.
    Oct 21, 2007
    10
    Amazingly brilliant game. Some TFC old-timers may go OMG THIS ISN'T THE EXACT SAME GAME, but this is a far more fun game.
  51. RichardV.
    Oct 22, 2007
    10
    The most addictive, first person shooter ever, an exelent balance between all clases. Its just, a masterpiece.
  52. EvanS.
    Dec 23, 2007
    10
    This game is one of the most fun and addicting team based strategy games out there. With fast paced action and many different classes combined with on-line play, it will keep anyone up all night.
  53. YermakirumY.
    Dec 28, 2007
    10
    Very good game.
  54. CraigM.
    Oct 23, 2007
    10
    Team Fortress 2 completely dominated the season opener LAN party at Abattoir.Net -- not since Battlefield 2 has a FPS held the reigns so tight. To sum TF2 up in four words, action, action, action and fun!
  55. ChrisC.
    Oct 27, 2007
    10
    This is a great followup to TFC. Granted they took away a couple good features of the original, they made up for it with great teamwork required gaming.
  56. AndrewB.
    Oct 29, 2007
    10
    This is the best game in the world in my opinion. It has perfect class balance and gameplay. Only thing missing is more maps, which will be made in due time.
  57. AnonymousMC
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    El team force 2 es lo mejor que le a pasado a valve, tampoco quiero dejar a parte el Half-life 2 o el Counter-strike:Source pero el team force 2 esta arrasando en todos los paises sobre todo en america y en españa... Destaca por su grafica de comic (pero realista) su cachondeo con los personages.... vamos resumiendo que es la OSTIA, como dice el '' THE NEW YORKEl team force 2 es lo mejor que le a pasado a valve, tampoco quiero dejar a parte el Half-life 2 o el Counter-strike:Source pero el team force 2 esta arrasando en todos los paises sobre todo en america y en españa... Destaca por su grafica de comic (pero realista) su cachondeo con los personages.... vamos resumiendo que es la OSTIA, como dice el '' THE NEW YORK TIMES'' porcierto un buen periodico. Si alguien quiere ablar con migo my steam es/is COPEGI. SALUDOS Expand
  58. AnonymousMC
    Nov 14, 2008
    10
    I got this game since beta and saw how the unique cartoon style has made this game fun and humorous game yet also can be a serious game if the team work together and still be funny, loved every minute of it. The first class I played was the heavy, loved his minigun and his taunts and pretty much everything about him. "Keep crying babies!"
  59. SteveL.
    Nov 15, 2008
    10
    I love this game.
  60. AnonymousMC
    Nov 23, 2008
    10
    well...i only got this game because of team fortress classic and 1.5.....it is is nothing like them buy its GREAT FUN!!!this game is worth every dollar,yen,rubbel or whatever your currency is....the other games you should get that are as amazing as this one are Counter strike: source(or any one of them) and fortress forever(search it up on Google or steam its free...basically team fortresswell...i only got this game because of team fortress classic and 1.5.....it is is nothing like them buy its GREAT FUN!!!this game is worth every dollar,yen,rubbel or whatever your currency is....the other games you should get that are as amazing as this one are Counter strike: source(or any one of them) and fortress forever(search it up on Google or steam its free...basically team fortress 1.5:source with super cool new weapons(not many though,,,not to spoils the game Expand
  61. SpencerH.
    Jan 17, 2008
    10
    An extremely fun game, with great visual style, that will look good no matter how real other graphics are. Different classes, plenty of servers, and a small variety of maps ensures that there will always be something to do.
  62. AnonymousMC
    Dec 14, 2008
    10
    Best, most complete multiplayer fps i've ever played. Zaaaa and anonymous are both ridiculous and didnt stick around long enough to see that the upgrades change the game without unbalancing it. The balancing is incredible, there are truly no bad classes and no unbeatable combinations. Everything else seems to have been said already, although let me add that there are a surprisingBest, most complete multiplayer fps i've ever played. Zaaaa and anonymous are both ridiculous and didnt stick around long enough to see that the upgrades change the game without unbalancing it. The balancing is incredible, there are truly no bad classes and no unbeatable combinations. Everything else seems to have been said already, although let me add that there are a surprising number of casual gamers being brought into the TF2 community, but there are huge niches for both the most casual and gung-ho gamers around. Expand
  63. AnonymousMC
    Dec 19, 2008
    10
    Been playing this game for over a month, used to play the original TF back in the days as well as other multiplayer games such as Counter Strike and I must say this is a worthy sucessor to those games.

    Balanced gameplay, varied classes, replayable maps as well as a continous stream of updates fram Valve makes this game feel fresh everytime you play it.
  64. AnonymousMC
    Oct 31, 2008
    10
    An absolutely excellent game in every aspect. It is a revolutionary first-person shooter in that you cannot always rely on you yourself to win the game. You will have to use every member of your team in order to win the game. It has incredible replay-value and the most excellent multi-player I've ever seen.
  65. DominicJ.
    Feb 11, 2008
    10
    I love this game Period to much to say speechless on how to explain it all.
  66. Tobias>
    Feb 14, 2008
    10
    Funniest game in its genre.... I´ve played every game in this category since doom.... and I have never had so much fun. First time, I laughed myself of the chair.
  67. MarkB.
    Feb 17, 2008
    10
    very nice, multiple choices....and Weapons! Looking forward to future updates.
  68. ChristianS.
    Feb 19, 2008
    10
    The best game EVER, great graphics effects, quality, lot of violence and blood , cold comedy, etc! Lots of challenging, and cools stats and achievement that you can earn!
  69. AnonymousMC
    Feb 29, 2008
    10
    The only gripe I have with this version is the game has gotten rid of the grenades. Us TFC veterans need to look past this, though. The devs are striving for BALANCE, and let me tell you, TF2 sets a new bar for the "weakest link" theory.

    The new graphics engine amplifies the cartoon violence to a new Pixar era of amusing individuality in facial animation. The community is as strong as
    The only gripe I have with this version is the game has gotten rid of the grenades. Us TFC veterans need to look past this, though. The devs are striving for BALANCE, and let me tell you, TF2 sets a new bar for the "weakest link" theory.

    The new graphics engine amplifies the cartoon violence to a new Pixar era of amusing individuality in facial animation. The community is as strong as ever. You can see this, because the game is updated about every two weeks, and hacks are few/far between. Most importantly, each class doesn't feel more powerful than the next. All have an important role in teamwork. Don't let the haters or fans of one particular class tell you otherwise. Master each class, and you can see each has an equal strenth and weakness.

    All in all, the best online multiplayer shooter ever made (TFC) has been upgraded with more balance and better visuals. Job well done.
    Expand
  70. AnonymousMC
    Mar 11, 2008
    10
    Such an amazing game, reaching my 50 hour now and I am still having tons of fun. Found a nice clan and i'm kicking ass. I suggest everyone gets this game, and for the love of god do not whine about pyros, they rock so much. They are the best ambush classes of all time, and evne now I am yet to be able to fully master them even though that is the clast I revel in, train hard, fightSuch an amazing game, reaching my 50 hour now and I am still having tons of fun. Found a nice clan and i'm kicking ass. I suggest everyone gets this game, and for the love of god do not whine about pyros, they rock so much. They are the best ambush classes of all time, and evne now I am yet to be able to fully master them even though that is the clast I revel in, train hard, fight well, die with pride. Expand
  71. AnonymousMC
    Mar 13, 2008
    10
    After playing a variety of FPS, starting with Weapons Factory (a team-based game for Quake 2), then moving to TFC (Team Fortress Classic), I can say I am well and truely addicted to TF2. Yeah, it is not as complicated as it's predecessors (no grenade spamming, no exploding dispensers, etc.), but the MAIN left fist to the balls is still there...tactics and fraggin. You may join aAfter playing a variety of FPS, starting with Weapons Factory (a team-based game for Quake 2), then moving to TFC (Team Fortress Classic), I can say I am well and truely addicted to TF2. Yeah, it is not as complicated as it's predecessors (no grenade spamming, no exploding dispensers, etc.), but the MAIN left fist to the balls is still there...tactics and fraggin. You may join a team getting it's nads cracked and become a medic or scout and turn the entire game around by how well the team meshes together. That's right..team, thus the name of the game. I've been playing it straight since it has come out (4+ months) and haven't touched Episodes 1 or 2 and have forgotten what Counter-Strike: Source is or how to play it. Screw the NY Times and their idiot reviewers. Hell, when was the last time they got anything right anyway. Buy it, play it, live it. Expand
  72. AnonymousMC
    Apr 15, 2008
    10
    This game practically redefines the multiplayer FPS genre. There is no other game that is this unique, and at the same time, as fun to play as this. Sure Halo 3 is great for a while, but it get very repetetive and extremely competetive. With Team Fortress 2, you get nine classes to choose from, each with different styles of gameplay.

    Say your one of those Sam Fisher or Snake stealth
    This game practically redefines the multiplayer FPS genre. There is no other game that is this unique, and at the same time, as fun to play as this. Sure Halo 3 is great for a while, but it get very repetetive and extremely competetive. With Team Fortress 2, you get nine classes to choose from, each with different styles of gameplay.

    Say your one of those Sam Fisher or Snake stealth game players, hop in as the Spy!
    Real time strategy? Build up your sentries and dispensers in tactial spots as an Engineer!
    Love racing games? Start running circles around your enemies, stealing their intelligence on the way, as the Scout!

    Team Fortress 2 seems to pack so many different gameplay types for the characters into one game, there's a role for everyone!

    If you've ever played the originial, you'd know how unbalanced the game would be for, say, Spies and Scouts, hardly getting any kills because of underpowered weapons. The sequel however, balances all the classes evenly! The Scout can get loads of kills, provided he gets close and uses his Scattergun effectively. The Spy now has a cloak and an instant kill backstab.
    The list goes on and on for how more it's been balanced.

    But hey, the graphics aren't chopped liver either-a fresh new stylized look, and all the characters are given one thing that most mulitplayer games lack... personality (get the game and find out what I mean) and it's easy tell what type of character someone is from simply their silhouette, voice or weapon.

    In short: GET THIS GAME! Along with the 4 other games it comes with in the Orange Box, it's the best gaming deal of the century! 5 Games for the price of Halo 3 minus 10 bucks!
    Expand
  73. AnonymousMC
    Apr 25, 2008
    10
    Ok, here is a message to all the people who rated this game terribly. A) there is a at least 10:1 ratio concerning good comments: bad comments and B) look at all the professional opinions...all above 80%. There is little wrong with TF2. The graphics are fresh and charming and it has a high replay value. All of those who said it got boring should really set their priorities straight, it isOk, here is a message to all the people who rated this game terribly. A) there is a at least 10:1 ratio concerning good comments: bad comments and B) look at all the professional opinions...all above 80%. There is little wrong with TF2. The graphics are fresh and charming and it has a high replay value. All of those who said it got boring should really set their priorities straight, it is a straight forward round based shooter. And as for all those bugs some people are complaining about, I haven't experienced one bug concerning TF2, maybe you should realise that something is wrong with your PC, not the game...It is a well thought out and thoroughly enjoyable game; one of the best multiplayer experiences in a long time. Expand
  74. AnonymousMC
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    This game was absolutely the best shooting game I have played on the PC plaform. One quality that makes this game special is that there are several different calsses which are all unique in their own special ways. This is also the only game I have seen that the Sniper class carries rifle. The variety of weapons also gives a nice mix to the game. I really didn't see Soldier'sThis game was absolutely the best shooting game I have played on the PC plaform. One quality that makes this game special is that there are several different calsses which are all unique in their own special ways. This is also the only game I have seen that the Sniper class carries rifle. The variety of weapons also gives a nice mix to the game. I really didn't see Soldier's rocket launcher being used as his primary weapon. This game overall is the best shooting game. The only flaw to this is that for people with low-quality video cards might have a bit of trouble playing this game. I really suggest getting a NVIDIA 256 mg video card. I currently use this card and the game runs smoothly. This is a shooting game that is actually fun to get killed in. I rate this aesome game a full 10. Expand
  75. KyleB
    May 11, 2008
    10
    This game is the most amazing game in the entire whole world. 10/10 graphcis 10/10 gamelpay 10/10 motivation.
  76. ScottW.
    May 19, 2008
    10
    TF2 is the perfect game for anyone. If you like fast paced gameplay or slower paced, this game will fit you gaming style!
  77. MarceloG.
    May 25, 2008
    10
    Best game ever. Creative character, creative maps, very good. Keep like that.
  78. JaredS.
    Jun 16, 2008
    10
    I think all the classes are perfectly balanced.
  79. NicolasN.
    Jun 17, 2008
    10
    That is a good game, the grafic is beautiful and the game play too, nothing to add, just nice game.
  80. JeremyD.
    Jun 17, 2008
    10
    Most in-depth first person shooter I have ever played. I loved TFC and I love TF2 even more.
  81. AndrewC.
    Jun 19, 2008
    10
    Hilarious game a lot of fun a must buy.
  82. RubenC.
    Jun 21, 2008
    10
    I really like it.And now, with the pyro's new weapons it's even better!!!!! Waiting for more updates.
  83. AW
    Jun 21, 2008
    10
    Very kick ass game. Possibly the best game on steam.
  84. RoccoM.
    Jun 23, 2008
    10
    This game has made gaming way better with its graphics and updates. I feel it is the best game of its generation.
  85. NikitaE.
    Jun 24, 2008
    10
    No comments. This is amazing!
  86. MattS.
    Jun 24, 2008
    10
    Best game I have played since Tribes.
  87. MurdocM.
    Jun 25, 2008
    10
    It's fast paced, constantly updating, maps are made to be played numerous times. It's one of the best designed games of its time.
  88. JoshP
    Jul 21, 2008
    10
    Awesome game. I would recommend it to anyone. Easy to get into, great FPS.
  89. JeffreyZ.
    Jul 21, 2008
    10
    I love the game ! teamplay that is needed,caracters and theyre gun design, the game style....as a map designer myself i love to see the perfect finished maps.
  90. ChrisW.
    Jul 23, 2008
    10
    Very fun game. New players can play as simple classes like heavy while experienced players and pros can play as more complicatet classes like demoman and pyro and that's good. You will find comfort in this game even if you just has played it in 2 minutes.
  91. DennisG.
    Jul 29, 2008
    10
    Awesome game. Until Battlefield Heroes will be released, no "comic-style" game was that awesome as TF2 was. Maybe it won't even beat BF:Heroes, let's see.
  92. IanB.
    Aug 15, 2008
    10
    Not just a great shooter, but a great shooter with strategic elements involved. the epitome of what a shooter should be but usually isn't.
  93. CortneyK.
    Aug 24, 2008
    10
    Excellent execution, game modes, and character achievements.
  94. Dragon
    Aug 26, 2008
    10
    Great game to play with friends online. With all the classes theres huge replayability value. The classes are well balanced, skill and teamwork is favored over plain luck in most cased.
  95. DanD.
    Aug 31, 2008
    10
    Nine years, TOTALLY worth the wait!!!!! So what if the game is a normal 2 teams one winner death match, its FUN! With all the stuff you can do between the classes, it gets crazy out there in the battle! Must buy game! Haha!
  96. ColinD.
    Sep 11, 2008
    10
    By far, the best multiplayer experience you'll have ever had. (other than Counter-Strike 1.6) This game, with it's unlockable achievements, Valve-branded maps, user-created maps, and a variety of other fantastic gameplay features easily pushes this game to the top of all the PC gaming charts!
  97. GabrielL.
    Sep 19, 2008
    10
    Fun game. especially when playing with friends. this game allow friends to work together and create better bonds - really a teamwork game.
  98. JoshP.
    Sep 22, 2008
    10
    I considered knocking a point or two off just to seem reasonable but honestly, there really isn't anything bad about this game. It's very well balanced and actually pulls off the whole teamwork required thing. I'm going to give it a full 10, for it's audience, it's perfect.
  99. ChandlerP
    Nov 14, 2009
    10
    Team Foretress 2 is by far one of my favorite First Person Shooters of all time: it forces you to use teamwork which makes the game more challenging, it is purposely easy to apply modifications to (hooray for Valve), and the large array of servers and well made custom maps constantly leaves a new experience every game. The game also contains humor you can discover in game simply by Team Foretress 2 is by far one of my favorite First Person Shooters of all time: it forces you to use teamwork which makes the game more challenging, it is purposely easy to apply modifications to (hooray for Valve), and the large array of servers and well made custom maps constantly leaves a new experience every game. The game also contains humor you can discover in game simply by listening to what the characters say. Although I gave it a 10, it does have some problems, however they're not bad enough to lower the score down from a 10. The game will become boring if you are in a very small server, and the Dead Ringer item for the spy seems to be a very unfair advantage against enemies. All in all, it's a very enjoyable game and I would say that it's one that should be in every good PC gamer's game list. Expand
  100. BrandonL
    Nov 15, 2009
    10
    TF2 is an amazing game, i loved it, got it for Xbox AND pc, just because it's such a good game, i HAD to have multiple systems to play it on. I love this game so much, it's so addicting, because every day you can download a new map and it never gets old when you get to play more and more custom maps and build up your own collection.
  101. Mar 19, 2012
    8
    This is a fun game, and the controls and very smooth and intuitive. It's very simple to jump into some multiplayer matches, run around, and shoot stuff. Unfortunately, I got bored fairly quickly, and soon asked myself "why am I playing this?" The game didn't provide any highly compelling answers, at least for me. In general, this is a great FPS game, it just seemed to lack a point andThis is a fun game, and the controls and very smooth and intuitive. It's very simple to jump into some multiplayer matches, run around, and shoot stuff. Unfortunately, I got bored fairly quickly, and soon asked myself "why am I playing this?" The game didn't provide any highly compelling answers, at least for me. In general, this is a great FPS game, it just seemed to lack a point and didn't have that much staying power. Collapse

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. AceGamez
    100
    The marriage of highly stylised retro-spy presentation, fresh, high octane action, deep and varied classes and the underlying twinkle of humour in its metaphorical eye make Team Fortress 2 far more than just your average fragfest. Long after the novelty of the graphics wears thin, we are left with a refined and accessible multiplayer game that simultaneously cultivates new players whilst retaining enough depth to accommodate even the hardiest of veterans.
  2. The game also does a lovely job of framing your relationship with other players and nurturing them.
  3. It's one hell of a game. With its powerful artistic style and blazingly quick, yet accessible gameplay, it's enough to melt the icy cynicism imprisoning the hearts of even the most jaded among us. That being said, it's not the most complex shooter out there.