Team Fortress 2 PC

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 6084 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JacobW.
    Sep 27, 2009
    10
    All those who say is stinks, and how there's flaws are wrong! Everyone was over the halo war in a day or two, there never WAS any servers who kicked you based on whether you had the halo or not. He may have thought that because there was a joke on the forums saying so, which was soon proven false. To the person who said there's a bunch of bad maps, wake up! those maps were made All those who say is stinks, and how there's flaws are wrong! Everyone was over the halo war in a day or two, there never WAS any servers who kicked you based on whether you had the halo or not. He may have thought that because there was a joke on the forums saying so, which was soon proven false. To the person who said there's a bunch of bad maps, wake up! those maps were made by players for FUN! Don't like them? Don't play them! Finally, to the person who said that it's almost impossible to learn, you must STINK at this game VERY badly. It might be hard for you to learn because you were running directly into the gun fire wondering what do. You're NEVER supposed to do that in any game. You also said that it's impossible to win with some classes against others. That's incorrect. The only case I can think of that is ALMOST impossible to win is scout vs. Heavy. With the scout having the least health, ok weapons, and speed he's best for capturing points and intel and long range attacking. (maybe sometimes close range with his bat and ball) The heavy is very slow, but has 3 or 4 times the health of the scout, and an awesome gun. In most cases heavy WILL win vs. the scout, but you should immediately learn that is what you AVOID. In all other cases, anyone can win. For example, the spy can backstab people for an immediate kill. However, he has low health as well, so he must be very sneaky or face death. The spy is a very good counter for the heavy, and so is the sniper. However, the spy can take out the sniper if needed. So you see, every class is best for taking out another, with some just for general purposes. Next time, THINK about what you're typing before you do it. Oh, and I'm not a fan boy, I just can't stand some people's stupidity. This game is awesome, don't let others decide for you. Read all the high scores and ignore the low ones. See you in-game! Expand
  2. AnonymousMC
    Sep 12, 2009
    10
    When I first bought this game, I thought it was going to be identical to the 360 version... I was expecting another humdrum shooter that I would eventually get bored of. But then I was thrown in to a map unlike anything like the 360...
    Explosions everywhere! People fighting, shooting, stabbing, and punching all in one general area! The way they balance the system of fighting amongst
    When I first bought this game, I thought it was going to be identical to the 360 version... I was expecting another humdrum shooter that I would eventually get bored of. But then I was thrown in to a map unlike anything like the 360...
    Explosions everywhere! People fighting, shooting, stabbing, and punching all in one general area! The way they balance the system of fighting amongst classes is amazing! Truly one of the best FPS titles in a long time.
    Expand
  3. AnonymousMC
    Sep 6, 2009
    10
    this is the best fps shooter ever and al of you that are giving this a bad score need to stfu and stop crying becuase you suck at fps. if you get killed alot it means you suck alot. just because you suck doesnt mean the game does. all hail the sniper
  4. AnonymousMC
    Sep 2, 2009
    10
    Team Fortress 2 is one of the most entertaining multi-player games out. Even though it has been out for almost 2 years now, it is still widely played. Valve is releasing update content for TF2 as well. Best of all, unline some other games that require you to continue to pay for content as it is released, all of the TF2 update content is free. And there is no monthly subscription. Buy theTeam Fortress 2 is one of the most entertaining multi-player games out. Even though it has been out for almost 2 years now, it is still widely played. Valve is releasing update content for TF2 as well. Best of all, unline some other games that require you to continue to pay for content as it is released, all of the TF2 update content is free. And there is no monthly subscription. Buy the game, and you can play it as much as you want. Expand
  5. JC
    Sep 1, 2009
    10
    Without a doubt the most flawlessly executed multiplayer game I have ever witnessed. Perfectly designed to entertain every shooter fan, with a broad variety of gameplay options, and perfect balance. The graphics are luscious, colorful, and extremely fun.
  6. AustinB
    Aug 30, 2009
    10
    This game is awesome!! I hadn't played team fortress classic in a LONG time and was very excited to when I first got TF2. The only letdown for me was that the characters were cartoonish. Other than that its great. I love the mods and various adjustments to the gameplay. I hear people saying its just like all the other class games and that each class can be beaten by another class no This game is awesome!! I hadn't played team fortress classic in a LONG time and was very excited to when I first got TF2. The only letdown for me was that the characters were cartoonish. Other than that its great. I love the mods and various adjustments to the gameplay. I hear people saying its just like all the other class games and that each class can be beaten by another class no matter what...All that means is that the person saying that isn't very skilled and needed a reason or venue to complain about it. Each class now has upgrades and specific weapons that have to be used properly(keword: PROPERLY). If this is done any class can dominate... you just have to figure out which class accomodates your particular style of gameplay, whether it is running directly up on your enemy or picking them off with a headshot from the distance. Expand
  7. PatrickS
    Aug 29, 2009
    10
    The poster, Phillip D, can be proven to be wrong in his awful review. Firstly : No one class can instantly beat the other, this is a misconception held only by newer players who not yet understand their classes' capability. Any one class has a chance of defeating any other class in one on one combat. Secondly, this mechanic is not intended to be part of an RTS game, it is an FPS. The poster, Phillip D, can be proven to be wrong in his awful review. Firstly : No one class can instantly beat the other, this is a misconception held only by newer players who not yet understand their classes' capability. Any one class has a chance of defeating any other class in one on one combat. Secondly, this mechanic is not intended to be part of an RTS game, it is an FPS. Your team is supposed to be seperate from you. The game offers a great deal of refreshing gameplay, you have nine classes to choose from, each with their own merits and disadvantages, and a variety of different playstyles available to each. On top of this you then have a selection of different gamemodes which allow you almost infinite replayablility. Regarding your claim that everything have been applied before, yes, certainly a lot of the concepts in Team Fortress 2 have been used before. You have the fast one, the sneaky one, the strong one etc etc, but these concepts are wide spreading to almost anything. The ideal that TF2 creates for gamers is a unique experience with Valve's take on each of the variations. Regarding your complaint about "step-in playing", well, I don't even know what that means. It is not unusual for a new player to join a server and change the balance of a game, pushing their team to victory. I fear again you need more experience with the game before simply joining, dying, and writing a bad review. You state that the only way to achieve and learn the game is to have good team or an empty server, and this simply isn't true. When you look at the mechanics of the game, it is remarkably easy to watch your team and see what they are doing wrong and learn from them. Even in losing, learning by doing is a very good method. There are also not a lot of custom mods/map downloading, if you search for pure servers. I personally do not play on modded servers such as Zombie Fortress but thanks to the server filter that Valve has implemented it is very simple to find a server that you want, be it modified or unmodified. The game is very cartoony, and that is part of its stylised selling point, however, your main gripe here is that the gameplay is not fun. I believe you have simply failed to give the game a chance. It appears from your comments that you have bought the game, joined a full server, decided to be a scout and died maybe a dozen times to a heavy and decided that the game is unfair, poorly balanced and not fun, and then decided to write this review. This is a horribly biased view of Team Fortress 2, certainly, it is not uncommon to see players like yourself who have no idea how to play the game because they are simply unable to give it a chance after their first temper tantrum about being killed. The reason this game is still standing is because it is a unique and very rewarding game, with similar gameplay. The huge variety of tatics, maps, classes and team strategy allow it to be almost unsurpassable in replayability. You complain about the game changing every month, making you have to re-learn the game. I've decided not to attack this directly, as I can't disprove your misconception, but I can simply offer that this has never actually happened. There has never been an update significant enough. And for your final comment, the sniper uses a bow, not a crossbow, and there are no levels to grind to anyway, and a random drop system has allowed all players and equal chance of attaining items alongside the regular achievement based system, which rewards merit. This most certainly is an FPS game, and it is the poorly concieved views about Team Fortress 2 which players like you perpetrate which can jade the view of potential gamers. So, in my final statement I would say, if you are reading this deciding if you should buy Team Fortress 2, you will need a little patience to learn about your class, learn its capabilities and how it works for you. When you have, you'll become a good player. You will be able to defeat others, even multiple others, then you can play on different maps, with different tatics, and when you're bored of that, switch to one of the eight other classes and have a whole new experience! Expand
  8. AnthonyS
    Aug 21, 2009
    10
    This game never gets old. This will probably remain my favorite FPS for a long time! Here are some reasons to like it: The art style is fun. The characters/classes are all very unique and psychotic, they are so enjoyable that there have been many videos and webcomics made about them, Valve event released a series of "Meet The ____" videos. The endless content, Valve really knows how to This game never gets old. This will probably remain my favorite FPS for a long time! Here are some reasons to like it: The art style is fun. The characters/classes are all very unique and psychotic, they are so enjoyable that there have been many videos and webcomics made about them, Valve event released a series of "Meet The ____" videos. The endless content, Valve really knows how to please their customers releasing a plethora of major game mechanics and content updates every few months. A great community. Some amazing community maps! Valve's maps are also well designed (even though most of them stick to the same boring desert/concrete theme). Absurd weapons (a jar of pee and a baseball, seriously?). Fun class combinations! The amazing teamwork aspect of the game that is lost in many FPSs. Things that are just wacky and fun (taunts, death cam and end of round coup de grace). Et cetera!!! Expand
  9. RolfM
    Aug 21, 2009
    10
    Having played this game for a total of 75 hours now, I can safely say that it is the most fun I've ever had with an online game. The joy comes first and firemost from the diversity of the different classes, not only with regards to the superb animations and voice acting lending to their colorful, cartoonish personalities, but also the totally different playstyles required for each Having played this game for a total of 75 hours now, I can safely say that it is the most fun I've ever had with an online game. The joy comes first and firemost from the diversity of the different classes, not only with regards to the superb animations and voice acting lending to their colorful, cartoonish personalities, but also the totally different playstyles required for each and everyone - from the brutish heavy to the sneaky spy. On top of the core layout you've got Valve's ever dedicated support for the game with free class updates (and also, more recently, a classless update!) with new weapons waiting for you to unlock them. While Valve have provided these weapons with distinct advantages, they were also sensible enough to make sure there were clear disadvantages in choosing new weapons over the old ones. By doing this, they've managed to keep the game fresh with new content that continues to surprise and amuse (the jarate! the hats!) without screwing up the balance. Thumbs up to Valve for creating - and continuing to add to - this, their most superbly entertaining and replayable masterpiece. Expand
  10. AnonymousMC
    Aug 12, 2009
    10
    This game is solid gold in my opinion, I've never come across a teamwork focused FPS that brings me back for more so often. I got Tf2 in the orange box and haven't ever regretted it. If you like fast-paced and adrenaline filled gaming, this gem of a game is for you.
  11. TimB
    Aug 8, 2009
    10
    Completely intoxicating. If I had dollar for everytime I've cursed at this game I could quit my job. Which is cool, cause I wish I could stay home and play this masterpiece all day. I've been playing this game for a year now and, although I have taken a few breaks, this game still has lasting appeal. The addition of the new weapons adds an entirely new dynamic and gives it even Completely intoxicating. If I had dollar for everytime I've cursed at this game I could quit my job. Which is cool, cause I wish I could stay home and play this masterpiece all day. I've been playing this game for a year now and, although I have taken a few breaks, this game still has lasting appeal. The addition of the new weapons adds an entirely new dynamic and gives it even more replayability. The games are so different, you could play the same map for hours and still keep on your toes. I'm in love. Sorry wifey, I'll be workin late... these sentries aren't gonna build themselves! Expand
  12. IskiL
    Aug 8, 2009
    10
    The best multiplayes game I played EVER! Team Fortress 2 is funny for years, I don't get bored with this game. The cartoon graphics is maybe the most important thing of this game, because it's draws my attention, and makes this game different than the others. Truely, I think VALVe made a great work.
  13. JacobS
    Aug 7, 2009
    10
    I have spent over 280 hours of this game and i still get to see things new which is an impressive feat for a game. New class updates and valve regularly supporting this game makes it something that i will always love valve for. Another great thing is the random game modes that you can find, like prophunt where pyros have to find the other team which are disguised and different items I have spent over 280 hours of this game and i still get to see things new which is an impressive feat for a game. New class updates and valve regularly supporting this game makes it something that i will always love valve for. Another great thing is the random game modes that you can find, like prophunt where pyros have to find the other team which are disguised and different items in-game, or random weapons where you never know if you might become a heavy with a sniper or a pyro with a needlegun. No matter how you look at this game it is awesome and definitely worth my 20 dollars. Expand
  14. FredrikA
    Jul 23, 2009
    10
    With several years in development it would be a shame if Team Fortress 2 didn't live up to the multiplayer greatness of it's predecessor. Team Fortress might be the new counter strike of fps multiplayer games when it comes to potential competitive online gaming, and with good reason. TF2 is a game that puts heavy weight on team work and how team mates play together. This is With several years in development it would be a shame if Team Fortress 2 didn't live up to the multiplayer greatness of it's predecessor. Team Fortress might be the new counter strike of fps multiplayer games when it comes to potential competitive online gaming, and with good reason. TF2 is a game that puts heavy weight on team work and how team mates play together. This is excellent for organized matches and tournament yet might leave the public experience alittle lacking. Altough TF2 is a game that all online gamers should try and own and if you're like me you wouldn't want to miss out on this great game. Expand
  15. AdamT
    Jul 22, 2009
    10
    Team fortress 2 is a fantastic multiplayer game on many accounts. You can play as any of 9 classes: Scout, Sniper, Pyro, Demoman, Heavy, Engineer, MEdic, Soilder, and Spy; All with instict advantages and disadvenatages. Gameplay rarely get's boring considering the fact that you can play as 9 different characters, all with different weapons and special abilities. There's a huge Team fortress 2 is a fantastic multiplayer game on many accounts. You can play as any of 9 classes: Scout, Sniper, Pyro, Demoman, Heavy, Engineer, MEdic, Soilder, and Spy; All with instict advantages and disadvenatages. Gameplay rarely get's boring considering the fact that you can play as 9 different characters, all with different weapons and special abilities. There's a huge list of achievments to tackle in your spare time, and some characters have milestones to unlock, giving them new weapons and abilities. I've had Team fortress 2 for a good long time, and I don't think I'm ever going to get bored of it, because unlike most games, you have 9 different ways to play it. Expand
  16. LeeW
    Jul 21, 2009
    9
    Probably one of the top multi-player games of this decade. Very well balanced between the classes although people would have you believe they're not balanced at all. As ever with most Valve games I think the support is amazing and we constantly see improvements added and of course the much loved class updates. Splendid map design and everyone loves the SDK allowing the community to Probably one of the top multi-player games of this decade. Very well balanced between the classes although people would have you believe they're not balanced at all. As ever with most Valve games I think the support is amazing and we constantly see improvements added and of course the much loved class updates. Splendid map design and everyone loves the SDK allowing the community to add to the game as well. All hosted on steam which allows for seem less updating. Great game, 9 stars because with everything there is room for a little improvement. Expand
  17. AnonymousMC
    Jul 13, 2009
    10
    In my opinion, Team Fortress 2 deserves a clear 10.
    It is the most addictive ego-shooter I have ever played due to its unique style and different gameplay. It is challenging to get to know each character with his strengths and weaknesses. The patches are a good way to keep you playing this awesome game.
  18. Robb
    Jul 13, 2009
    10
    Excellent game, by far the best multiplayer game I have ever owned (and I have owned a lot) it takes a little while to get good with some of the classes (eg, spy) but there is always room for a newbie on the team, every class has a unique playstyle, so everyone from trigger-happy-rambos to calculating strategists have room to play. Nathaniel H's review is a bit inaccurate, there is Excellent game, by far the best multiplayer game I have ever owned (and I have owned a lot) it takes a little while to get good with some of the classes (eg, spy) but there is always room for a newbie on the team, every class has a unique playstyle, so everyone from trigger-happy-rambos to calculating strategists have room to play. Nathaniel H's review is a bit inaccurate, there is an anti-cheat system in place and it works incredibly well (ive met probably 2-3 cheaters ever, and they were on servers whith cheats turned on) demomen mines explode when the demoman right clicks, they are not proxy. I have never encountered snipers headshotting through walls, nor scouts instakiling from 25 feet away. new content is STILL being made for this game, which is amasing, its a great game that is still getting attention from the devs, and will do for a very long time. Expand
  19. JakeM
    Jul 5, 2009
    9
    I gave this a 9 for the amazing concept and continuous addictive gameplay Team Fortress 2 provides. I don't think they could have implemented a better name for this game either, if you are not working as a team, you will lose like you aren't working as a team, simple as that. This game provides plenty of achievements to unlock various weapons and accessories to aid you in the I gave this a 9 for the amazing concept and continuous addictive gameplay Team Fortress 2 provides. I don't think they could have implemented a better name for this game either, if you are not working as a team, you will lose like you aren't working as a team, simple as that. This game provides plenty of achievements to unlock various weapons and accessories to aid you in the warzone of pushing carts, capturing control points, and of course, stealing the intel. Whether you are on defense or offense, Team Fortress 2 is a nonstop action packed hilarious outrage for anyone to play. Expand
  20. Julyxx
    Jun 20, 2009
    10
    Fantastic game! while the steam forum is full of flame (weapon x for y is OVERPOWERED / z is too weak..) i just think that valve is doing a brilliant job. any other game that gives new content often (like wow) costs money every month but here you get new maps etc for free! because of the good working steam community features it works like a charm to join a server and invite your friends Fantastic game! while the steam forum is full of flame (weapon x for y is OVERPOWERED / z is too weak..) i just think that valve is doing a brilliant job. any other game that gives new content often (like wow) costs money every month but here you get new maps etc for free! because of the good working steam community features it works like a charm to join a server and invite your friends to the game to rock the server Expand
  21. GregJ
    Jun 19, 2009
    10
    Best ever fps online multiplayer game. A must buy. Also there r awesome videos about each class you can be and each one comes from a different country. Also the classes are balanced and they work together as a team.
  22. dreadlock
    Jun 18, 2009
    10
    This game rocks in every aspect, for me, when I had the money to bought it, I didn't think twice, and I don't regret it. This game combines booth defence co-op mod when your in team blue, and attack and rush mod where you just pair up with someone and work togheder to your team manage to get the control points. It also has Capture the Flag mode where you secretly have to enter This game rocks in every aspect, for me, when I had the money to bought it, I didn't think twice, and I don't regret it. This game combines booth defence co-op mod when your in team blue, and attack and rush mod where you just pair up with someone and work togheder to your team manage to get the control points. It also has Capture the Flag mode where you secretly have to enter the enemies base and steal the inteligence and return it to your base. Another excellent thing about the game its the constant updates which brings you a total new experiences from new unlockable weapons to lots of personal achievements (and one of the last updates was to make us find our own unlockable weapons, so it has gotten even better). If you still are undecided just whatch some of the videos from youtube about Team Fortress 2 gameplay and drool yourself until the only thing you want its that game, Period. Expand
  23. AnonymousMC
    Jun 18, 2009
    10
    I would have said 9.6, but the rating system wouldn't allow me.

    Anyway, TF2, where to begin... First of all, I've liked this game roughly a month before I actually played it. I'm not a VALVe fanboy or anything, but that's saying a lot. I don't even know why. Maybe it's because it's style and art direction is much different from normal First person
    I would have said 9.6, but the rating system wouldn't allow me.

    Anyway, TF2, where to begin... First of all, I've liked this game roughly a month before I actually played it. I'm not a VALVe fanboy or anything, but that's saying a lot. I don't even know why.
    Maybe it's because it's style and art direction is much different from normal First person shooters, like Call of Duty, Killzone, and countless others, and it's different in a good way. The characters are based almost solely on stereotype (in the non-insulting way). Scout is this fast kid from Boston and is a huge fan of baseball. Heavy comes from the heart of the Soviet Union, and is a huge man mammoth with a big gun. Anything about Pyro that doesn't seem completely obvious at first glance has not been revealed. Each class has it's own personality, weapons (despite a ton of them sharing a shot gun as a secondary weapon), and their own use. Scout achieves objectives faster (x2 speed when capturing a control point), Engineer can build sentries to block off pathways/deny the other team from archiving the objective, Spy can cloak, disguise, destroy those, and kill priority targets. Sniper can do the same, but only when they are in an open area is a Sniper effective. Soldiers and Demomen can be launched by their own explosives, thus being able to clear the area from above. All classes have their own use, and they can be used pretty well in the way they were meant to be used.

    Maps are great. Most maps are symmetrical, so if you know one side you know the other. They all have perfectly tuned length/width (I.E.: Spy can make it from the beginning of a hall way to a little place where most people don't look and uncloak), so that every class can play successfully.

    A lot classes go together. Heavy/Medic combos are ridiculously powerful, but can be overcome with a little teamwork, or some spy comes to give his friends a hand, or his enemies a knife. In the back. Pyro, unlike most classes, can go with most classes and end up helping someone if played right. A Pyro tagging along side of a Heavy/Medic pair can make them last longer, though it may be a bit harder for the Medic. With the new update, Pyros can now compression blast fire off of teammates, and Pyros can be a real threat to Heavy/Medic pairs. A sniper can overlook the front lines and pick off enemies quickly. Classes mix, and teamwork is formed. No matter how good you are, you will always get killed by that Heavy/Medic combo. Teamwork IS victory in this game, not like in other FPS'.

    The music that plays in the main menu is awesome. Too bad no ambiances play in-game. Then again, music doesn't effect how you play the game.

    The servers, like most Steam servers, are either good or bad. And when it's bad it's REALLY BAD, but it hardly happens. The compatibility with custom maps is always good, since most maps that are used are almost as good as VALVe's official maps.

    Scores:
    Not-very-final-score-effecting scores:
    Graphics: 9. It's unique art style really makes it much better than most FPS of today, which seem to rip off of each other.
    Sound: 9.5. I really, REALLY, love the sound. The music is awesome, the sounds are awesome, the voice clips are awesome (needa dispensah here), and the mic quality seems to be better. Seems to be. I never really listen to people with mics on other games.
    Story: That's it's major flaw. It has none. I'm not saying it's not a game with no story mode, but so far that's the biggest problem I can really think of. Hopefully it'll come with a new update or something.
    Important stuff:
    Gameplay: 9.7 The class based multi-player is REALLY fun, challenging, and there's tons of unlockables and counting, refreshing your play experience.
    Online quality: 9.5 Very good. Not the best, but very good. It pretty much depends on how good your connection is. If you can load a moderately sized page in 10 seconds or less, good, if not, bad.

    Overall, 9.6. Due to rating system on this thing, though, I rounded it up.
    Expand
  24. KrisC
    Jun 18, 2009
    10
    This game is a great game. I assume everyone with minus 4 has a very bad computer or a bad connection, because I get NO lag. It runs smoothly on my computer and it overall is a nice game to play. It doesn't use sound or other things games do, such as Call of Duty 4, but hey, it adds more to the fun! Little stealth, little aim, little building, little of everything to be had in this This game is a great game. I assume everyone with minus 4 has a very bad computer or a bad connection, because I get NO lag. It runs smoothly on my computer and it overall is a nice game to play. It doesn't use sound or other things games do, such as Call of Duty 4, but hey, it adds more to the fun! Little stealth, little aim, little building, little of everything to be had in this game. Overall 10/10. Expand
  25. TimothyT
    Jun 16, 2009
    10
    This game, simply put, is a package of raw fun. With the appealing graphical style, fast paced gameplay, and constant updates being added, it's hard to find a better game for your money.
  26. AlexD
    Jun 14, 2009
    10
    Team fortress is by far the best multiplayer game out there. I have an hp entertainment computer that runs with windows vista and an ATI 3200 Hd graphics card and it runs perfect. I barely ever get a lag and the graphics look absolutely marvelous! The classes all have there strengths and weaknesses which keeps all players from just choosing one class all the time. Gameplay is spectacular Team fortress is by far the best multiplayer game out there. I have an hp entertainment computer that runs with windows vista and an ATI 3200 Hd graphics card and it runs perfect. I barely ever get a lag and the graphics look absolutely marvelous! The classes all have there strengths and weaknesses which keeps all players from just choosing one class all the time. Gameplay is spectacular and very smooth animations. Limited weapons except for when updates come out. Very many achievements to get in the game. 245 to be exact! My final rating on this game would be 9.6/10 (I rounded) but only for the limited weapons. Expand
  27. AnonymousMC
    Jun 11, 2009
    10
    i really like the game been playing since the game first came out and still im playing it today... at first when it came it it was so addicting game... i like the teamwork.. i can feel it in my heart that team work is important in this game and you cant live without it.. the game is funny and really hits my humor.. so everyday i come to home, i start the computer, log in to steam and starti really like the game been playing since the game first came out and still im playing it today... at first when it came it it was so addicting game... i like the teamwork.. i can feel it in my heart that team work is important in this game and you cant live without it.. the game is funny and really hits my humor.. so everyday i come to home, i start the computer, log in to steam and start playing team fortress 2 everyday!!! Expand
  28. AnonymousMC
    Jun 10, 2009
    10
    Great game, I have been playing for a two months now and I am still learning new tactics. Fantastic range of maps (06-2009) that provide plenty of variety. I think that the fact you can change class during the game if you need to employ new tactics makes this a truly awesome game.
  29. AnonymousMC
    Jun 9, 2009
    10
    By Far this is one of the best multiplayer FPS games I've played. It's not all about running and gunning like a certain popular game on the 360. Although running and gunning is an option, it usually ends with you dead by the opposing team. The way that your team has to use all the classes in order to win is just amazing and something I havn't experienced in a game. AmazingBy Far this is one of the best multiplayer FPS games I've played. It's not all about running and gunning like a certain popular game on the 360. Although running and gunning is an option, it usually ends with you dead by the opposing team. The way that your team has to use all the classes in order to win is just amazing and something I havn't experienced in a game. Amazing FPS game that anyone can learn and it's definitely a steal for the current price. Expand
  30. RobertK
    Jun 5, 2009
    10
    This is my favourite game, I never expected that Valve will release another such fantastic game which is based on Source Engine. It have been much improved since I remember the first weeks when it was released. What is most cool thing is that Valve are releaseing updates for this game which improves the game, and I don't mean just bugs and crashes, they add new weapons for characters This is my favourite game, I never expected that Valve will release another such fantastic game which is based on Source Engine. It have been much improved since I remember the first weeks when it was released. What is most cool thing is that Valve are releaseing updates for this game which improves the game, and I don't mean just bugs and crashes, they add new weapons for characters to play with, look, maps etc. and everything for FREE if the game is already purchased on Steam account. I hope Valve will keep updating this game and will keep game balance so the fans would be happy because there are thousands fans of Team Fortress 2. Expand
  31. CodeyB
    Jun 2, 2009
    10
    This is as perfect of an FPS on the PC that I've played. The big gimmick to the game (other than the graphics), is the classes. Unlike other games that implemented classes, this game is actually very balanced. The more interesting classes (Spy and Engineer) take more skill to be good, but are very powerful when learned. To compensate, they have the lowest health pool in the game. A This is as perfect of an FPS on the PC that I've played. The big gimmick to the game (other than the graphics), is the classes. Unlike other games that implemented classes, this game is actually very balanced. The more interesting classes (Spy and Engineer) take more skill to be good, but are very powerful when learned. To compensate, they have the lowest health pool in the game. A big focus is team-work and without it, you will fail. There are many levels now, and many types of gameplay. You can do the usual deathmatch style, or a more fun variant like CTF or Payload. With the advent of achievements and unlockable weapons, the game even got better. There are currently 239 achievements to unlock. Some are based on specific classes, while others are general achievements. To unlock all the weapons is now not solely based on the achievements, but are randomly given to players. This will let the less-talented players still get new weapons. All in all, if you like FPS you HAVE to buy this game. Expand
  32. AndrewW
    May 26, 2009
    10
    One of the best online shooters I've played. Better than Gears of War 2 and Halo 3, both of which I was addicted to.
  33. AnonymousMC
    May 26, 2009
    10
    wow this is an awsome game. i was suprised when i saw it was cartoony but when you get to play it it sucks since your pc dosent support orange box then u get a free week and u like it and then you buy it its epic just pure epic!!! it is worth very £uro! its only 20. go ahead buy it.
  34. RonnyL
    May 24, 2009
    10
    If you're new to Valve games, don't be fooled by the low prices. This is such a great game in every aspect. The gameplay is awesome, but what makes the game great is the style. every explosion or kill just seems cinematic in a way. The only complaint about the game i've seen here is that the class updates make the game "unbalanced" which just isnt true. The new weapons If you're new to Valve games, don't be fooled by the low prices. This is such a great game in every aspect. The gameplay is awesome, but what makes the game great is the style. every explosion or kill just seems cinematic in a way. The only complaint about the game i've seen here is that the class updates make the game "unbalanced" which just isnt true. The new weapons aren't really better than the old ones, just different. I, personally, love the updates. been playing since release (about 2 1/2 years now) and have yet to go more than a week without playing it. Expand
  35. ReddaG
    May 22, 2009
    10
    I just played this game and i really really love it, it is one of the funniest action games that I've played ever. I wish to give this game 10/10 because it is so incredible, thanks.
  36. AnonymousMC
    May 22, 2009
    10
    first of all, if your reading this, ignore all comments below 6, because 1.There is NO lag unless your computer is a steaming pile of crap

    and 2. The updates dont unbalance it, for some people, some of the updates will jsut haev WORSE weapons, its all about your style of play, because not only is there 9 classes, but there is about 2307941098374129347 different ways to play each class.
    first of all, if your reading this, ignore all comments below 6, because 1.There is NO lag unless your computer is a steaming pile of crap

    and 2. The updates dont unbalance it, for some people, some of the updates will jsut haev WORSE weapons, its all about your style of play, because not only is there 9 classes, but there is about 2307941098374129347 different ways to play each class.

    with fast paced game play, and respawn waves, you will have to use team work, but you wont even realise you are!

    overall, great game and an awesome community to go with it.

    did i mention it was AWESOME?!?!?!
    Expand
  37. JohnH
    May 21, 2009
    10
    A masterpiece. Groundbreaking graphic style and gameplay that only gets boring after hundreds of hours of gameplay. Great balance between classes; nobody is overpowered. I wouldn't say it's a sequel to a previous shooter, it's an entirely new game.
  38. MikeD
    May 20, 2009
    10
    I have never had as much fun playing any on-line FPS as I've had with this game. I must admit, my first impressions were poor at best. I was disappointed in the lack of strategic depth, the cartoony graphics and the departure from the original. I actually put the game away for close to a year. (I may have also been turned off because my first time through was on console) Then a I have never had as much fun playing any on-line FPS as I've had with this game. I must admit, my first impressions were poor at best. I was disappointed in the lack of strategic depth, the cartoony graphics and the departure from the original. I actually put the game away for close to a year. (I may have also been turned off because my first time through was on console) Then a friend of mine telling me how much fun he was having so I figured I'd give it another shot. After a few exciting rounds I began to realize less is more in this case. Valve took TFC and refinded it, distilled each class into it's basic essence which encourages team play in a way the previous game never could. Too many are quick to dismiss this game as not deep enough, not realistic enough, not hard enough or not enough like the original. If you want depth or realism the box art should be enough to tell you to stay away. If you want strategic depth, play an RTS. If you want a game that's "Nintendo Hard" go play an NES cart. If you love TFC so much, just keep playing that! This is a game that good players can excel at and new players can learn and have fun with. Expand
  39. DanE
    May 20, 2009
    10
    This game is purely amazing. Whoever gives it a zero usually comments that they 'die quickly' or the game isn't 'hardcore' enough for them. The game was never meant to be hardcore, its a fun game that you can play for hours and still love it. As far as dying quickly, play the game more than 10 minutes and learn to play, its not difficult considering the amazing This game is purely amazing. Whoever gives it a zero usually comments that they 'die quickly' or the game isn't 'hardcore' enough for them. The game was never meant to be hardcore, its a fun game that you can play for hours and still love it. As far as dying quickly, play the game more than 10 minutes and learn to play, its not difficult considering the amazing balance Valve put into it. Expand
  40. NathanS
    May 6, 2009
    10
    After having purchased the Orange Box upon its release, TF2 has been a constant success, with ever growing game content, via community maps, weapon packs for classes and rebalancing. As far as Josh's comment with hacking. This is almost entirely server dependant. Personally, in the last 24 hours of game play, not encountered an individual that I believed to be hacking. Otherwise, I After having purchased the Orange Box upon its release, TF2 has been a constant success, with ever growing game content, via community maps, weapon packs for classes and rebalancing. As far as Josh's comment with hacking. This is almost entirely server dependant. Personally, in the last 24 hours of game play, not encountered an individual that I believed to be hacking. Otherwise, I don't feel I can add too much more to some of the other things that have been said about the game, other than that the game is an amazing amount of fun, and is well worth the $20 Valve is charging for it. Expand
  41. JustinS
    May 3, 2009
    9
    Overall an amazing game. The graphics alone set it apart from other games, but the gameplay is what really makes it stand out. Balanced classes and a hint of humor make it a must have for all FPS gamers.
  42. FaizanK
    May 3, 2009
    10
    Must be the best first person online multiplayer I've ever played! Class Characters have rich backgrounds; graphics style is wicked (I thought it was too cartoony before I had it but that changed fast); games are well balanced through the classes; and constant updates such as weapons packs, maps and gameplay changes keep it fresh (and they're free!). This game is pretty much Must be the best first person online multiplayer I've ever played! Class Characters have rich backgrounds; graphics style is wicked (I thought it was too cartoony before I had it but that changed fast); games are well balanced through the classes; and constant updates such as weapons packs, maps and gameplay changes keep it fresh (and they're free!). This game is pretty much perfect. Maybe not a perfect 10 (it can be a pain to be new to the game without any friends as finding a decent map and game is hard without some prior knowledge) but its way more than a 9 (so Ive basically rounded up here). I've had it for a year now and I'm still not bored of it. Expand
  43. AnonymousMC
    May 2, 2009
    10
    Great game, the style of the game play is well balanced, because of the otherwise annoying fan base, that supposedly always has something to complain about, forcing valve to change it.
    The reason why some people might hate this game, is that they have a slow computer, or simply judge the class pack as unbalanced, even if it does shift the amount of that class to the entire team or
    Great game, the style of the game play is well balanced, because of the otherwise annoying fan base, that supposedly always has something to complain about, forcing valve to change it.
    The reason why some people might hate this game, is that they have a slow computer, or simply judge the class pack as unbalanced, even if it does shift the amount of that class to the entire team or something similar for a week or two. Eventually, it returns to normal. Another way one could hate it is because they don't join up in a clan and use teamwork, so TF2 really needs a person willing to coordinate their team mates using a microphone. Not doing this leads to the comments that the weapons are too weak or too powerful: Ex. A heavy, charging ahead of his them (somehow.) Will be picked off by a sniper, unless the team spies murder him with their ITTY BITTY KNIVES, then a demoman or ubercharged(Where the medic heals a ton and gets to turn a class invulnerable for 8 seconds) class may have to charge ahead to remove sentries, while a pyro burns all allies in sight, trying to prevent spies from sapping their team's sentries. A solider may need to use his rockets to also remove sentries or clear out enemies while a sniper removes the medic healing the other teams heavy, allowing his team to rush in and give him a quick death.
    Finally, they clear out the control point, where the speedy scout can rush in and capture it before the other team respawns.
    And that's how team work is used in team fortress 2.
    The teamwork in TF2 differs from something like Call of duty, where a skilled player can run on in a blind frenzy, killing anything in his path, or a lone sniper can remove a whole team. Otherwise, Team fortress 2 is a face paced game where solo playing is hard, and skill has little use, creating a fun game where you could have long wars on granary, coordinated rushes and overall fun. The only thing about the game is that you may have to find a clan to do much teamwork. I'd give TF2 a 9.7,(For always needing teamwork, unless it's a pub and no teamwork is present) but score rounds up to 10
    Expand
  44. Andrewv
    May 2, 2009
    10
    This game makes a Team work with each other to win. the Different classes are all pretty well balanced. And it has a good look to it not realistic but cool. And it has sum really funny content. Achievements and unlocks make it even better to get into. everyone that i have shown this game to has loved it so it gets the best score i can think of a 10!
  45. AndrewL
    May 2, 2009
    9
    I've played FPS a lot and this has to be one of my favorite. Every class has a diffrent way to play and everyone plays ever class diffrently. TF2 is a game you can play for years and not get bored, but there are many people who are really good at it and it takes some fun out of the game for newer players.
  46. JamesT
    May 1, 2009
    10
    Pure bloody brilliance. The classes are balanced perfectly, the characters memorable and hilarious, the graphics excellent. This is by far the best class-based multiplayer shooter ever made. It's also the only game I've played that can keep me grinning like a loon out of sheer joy for two hours straight.
  47. OmarI
    Apr 14, 2009
    10
    I have been playing TF2 for at least a year, and it is the best game I have ever seen. I loved the characters, models and weapons. Playing the game really is fun because : -The characters sometimes talks, like heavy or other characters have funny emotions and funny faces. -It is so well balanced that you don't feel any injustice (especially for the crits, many players don't like I have been playing TF2 for at least a year, and it is the best game I have ever seen. I loved the characters, models and weapons. Playing the game really is fun because : -The characters sometimes talks, like heavy or other characters have funny emotions and funny faces. -It is so well balanced that you don't feel any injustice (especially for the crits, many players don't like them but they're very important in the game and makes the game funnier to play with) -Maps are very well made, great spots and nice ways of playing it. -Graphics are great, not only the resolution but the weapons and when firing with a weapon is nice. Expand
  48. Zeitgeist
    Apr 8, 2009
    10
    TF2 is a great game. As with anything, judging this game after playing it for only one day is a bit naive. It has initial appeal since even brand new players can get kills here and there and contribute to the team, but the basics are also learned quickly and fine tuning the tricks to each class gives this game much replay value. Very well balanced as no single class is particularly TF2 is a great game. As with anything, judging this game after playing it for only one day is a bit naive. It has initial appeal since even brand new players can get kills here and there and contribute to the team, but the basics are also learned quickly and fine tuning the tricks to each class gives this game much replay value. Very well balanced as no single class is particularly overpowered, each can be countered if you know what you're doing. The ingenuity of game design put forth in this game is astounding, and each update excites me to see what Valve has done to evolve the game. One of the best and polished multiplayer fpses I have ever played. Expand
  49. SimeonB
    Mar 28, 2009
    10
    It's awesome. Style, gameplay, variety, graphics, pace, balance, everything is just right. There might be small issues after certain class updates, as too many players choose that class by then and it seems annoying/unbalanced. But that's nothing serious and sorts itself out after a week or two. The ONE game i keep coming back and hardly dont play for a whole week. Get it, its worth it.
  50. TJF
    Mar 27, 2009
    10
    This is a revolutionary game.It shows devolpers that they can make a great game,and not have to make it all serious.Tske the heavy and his "sanvich".Maoi M is just a noob.Its called "TEAM"Fortress 2. Which means you just can't rush in by yourself and expect to get a 10 kill streak.It may seem hard at first,but just practice with maybe one class and get good with it and then try new This is a revolutionary game.It shows devolpers that they can make a great game,and not have to make it all serious.Tske the heavy and his "sanvich".Maoi M is just a noob.Its called "TEAM"Fortress 2. Which means you just can't rush in by yourself and expect to get a 10 kill streak.It may seem hard at first,but just practice with maybe one class and get good with it and then try new classes and balance it out. For example I started off just using the pyro, but now I can use all the classes well. Also the updates where you can unlock new guns is one of my favorite things about tf2. So if you enjoy Team Fortress 2 on the 360 or PS3 I highly recomend getting it for your PC and get Steam. I'd say will also enjoy the first Team Fortress or Counter-Strike or Garry's Mod. Expand
  51. AlexR
    Mar 26, 2009
    10
    Since October 2007 if there has been one multiplayer game that outshines the rest, TF2 is certainly it. Well balanced, solid player base and continued support only add to the best gaming experience on the pc. Throw in Valves' continued support of the low-mid end hardware scene allowing anyone to play this game and the fact that there are tons of servers makes for a reliable game. The Since October 2007 if there has been one multiplayer game that outshines the rest, TF2 is certainly it. Well balanced, solid player base and continued support only add to the best gaming experience on the pc. Throw in Valves' continued support of the low-mid end hardware scene allowing anyone to play this game and the fact that there are tons of servers makes for a reliable game. The naysayers will first highlight the "cartoony" art direction, but this game certainly isn't Looney Tunes. The art style adds to the realm and atmosphere which is retro 50-60's type and blends perfectly with witty and sometimes dark but always timely responses from classes in certain situations. This game just would not have the same charm without its art style, the comedy wouldn't work and this game would have fallen by the wayside many months ago. Expand
  52. AnonymousMC
    Mar 21, 2009
    10
    This is a fantastic online multiplayer game. There are nine different characters/classes to play as, which is like having nine different video games at your fingertips. Plus, the fact that it is a multiplayer game online means that each and every game is different. Thus, this game never gets old!

    Highly recommended.
  53. AnonymousMC
    Mar 19, 2009
    10
    A classic FPS in virtually every way. Arguably one of the best multiplayer-focused First Person Shooters of all time. I can agree in almost every since with what others have said - whatever new games I buy, I always find myself coming back to and playing this game, without hesitation, quickly and easily, even after literally hundreds of hours of play time. The variety of gameplay styles,A classic FPS in virtually every way. Arguably one of the best multiplayer-focused First Person Shooters of all time. I can agree in almost every since with what others have said - whatever new games I buy, I always find myself coming back to and playing this game, without hesitation, quickly and easily, even after literally hundreds of hours of play time. The variety of gameplay styles, maps, classes, and unlockable weapons ensures that this game will live long enough to see the release of TF3. Its graphics are excellent and involve real time facial movements, not frozen faces like you might see in other FPS games. Its only con being the high graphics load, you can understand why TF2 is such a classic shooter. Expand
  54. AnonymousMC
    Mar 17, 2009
    10
    I am a long time FPS player i have gone through the ranks of that old south park n64, though the classic james bond games, though CSs and CoDs, and some of the newer rpg shooters such as BioShock. After all of these years of games I can say with a great deal of certainty that TF2 is among the best shooters i have ever played. It combines trates that most shooters fall short in with theI am a long time FPS player i have gone through the ranks of that old south park n64, though the classic james bond games, though CSs and CoDs, and some of the newer rpg shooters such as BioShock. After all of these years of games I can say with a great deal of certainty that TF2 is among the best shooters i have ever played. It combines trates that most shooters fall short in with the introduction of a True medic class team work plays a far greater role than i have seen in any other shooter. With a great sense of humor both the writers and the staff as a whole captivate the majority of players, including my self. I can say with out the slightest bit of hesitation that if valve continues to maintain this game i will have no reason to buy another shooter platform game for a great deal of time.. or untill Tf3 is released. Feel free to email me if you are thinking about buying it i will have no problem giving a more detailed answer to bobbysnobby@hotmail.com Expand
  55. AnonymousMC
    Mar 14, 2009
    10
    I love this game. Yes i do die a lot and yes the achievements are kinda hard to get done but there also needs to be more. It is a very fun game though. They do need to add more things for engineers and more achievements for them as well to unlock better turrets and what not.
  56. AnonymousMC
    Mar 9, 2009
    10
    notice the amount of 10s. now notice the amounts of 0s. significantly less. stop using 0 as "your way to balance the score", this game IS a 10 and if you're too much of a noob or an old nostalgic pro stop whining and enjoy its greatness, but don't give it a 0 to 'balance' the score cause all you're doing is unbalancing the score. these 10s are honest, those 0s arenotice the amount of 10s. now notice the amounts of 0s. significantly less. stop using 0 as "your way to balance the score", this game IS a 10 and if you're too much of a noob or an old nostalgic pro stop whining and enjoy its greatness, but don't give it a 0 to 'balance' the score cause all you're doing is unbalancing the score. these 10s are honest, those 0s are bitter. don't be bitter. Expand
  57. JoeT.
    Mar 8, 2009
    10
    This game is perfect. A little humor, a few explosions. I can only think of one other thing it could use but thats not appropriate for all ages. Addictive would be an understatement.
  58. AnonymousMC
    Mar 6, 2009
    10
    Team Fortress 2 is a great game. A stride away from generic shooters, this game introduces a nice class based system. Unlike your other shooters out there, every class is completely different from each other. Every class has a different roll. It all comes together for one of the greatest shooters valve has created yet.
  59. GraemeB
    Mar 2, 2009
    9
    Superb multi-player game. It keeps evolving as Valve add new packs, maps and tweak the weapons etc. Graphics are fun and the voice comments are wonderful. On the downside - you need a fast machine, as big maps and lots of players = low FPS.
  60. danet
    Feb 25, 2009
    10
    The marriage of highly stylised retro-spy presentation, fresh, high octane action, deep and varied classes and the underlying twinkle of humour in its metaphorical eye make Team Fortress 2 far more than just your average fragfest. Long after the novelty of the graphics wears thin, we are left with a refined and accessible multiplayer game that simultaneously cultivates new players whilst The marriage of highly stylised retro-spy presentation, fresh, high octane action, deep and varied classes and the underlying twinkle of humour in its metaphorical eye make Team Fortress 2 far more than just your average fragfest. Long after the novelty of the graphics wears thin, we are left with a refined and accessible multiplayer game that simultaneously cultivates new players whilst retaining enough depth to accommodate even the hardiest of veterans. Expand
  61. eds
    Jan 28, 2009
    10
    Honestly, Team Fortress 2 is the best game I have ever played, period. All the classes, all the styles of plauing, never get boring. And the teamwork and cooperation required to play this game is just remarkable. More so then any other game. Using different classes, different weapons, and different skills to adapt to the varying maps is great. You can build sentry turrets and teleporters Honestly, Team Fortress 2 is the best game I have ever played, period. All the classes, all the styles of plauing, never get boring. And the teamwork and cooperation required to play this game is just remarkable. More so then any other game. Using different classes, different weapons, and different skills to adapt to the varying maps is great. You can build sentry turrets and teleporters as an engineer, go invisible as a spy, and light some peopel up as a pyro. Plus, all the updates, new maps, and new weapons make you want to keep playing.... get this game, it's great. Expand
  62. MRT
    Jan 22, 2009
    10
    This game has eaten up so much of my life, and I still find it fun. As one of the reviews says, it does get a tad repetitive after 150-200 hours, but who cares! They have been adding unlockable items too, further increasing the game's lifespan.
  63. JakeP.
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    An excellent game that defied everything i ever thought about it. Nothing is too overpowered, as sentries can be taken down with 4 rockets and snipers, even with their insta-kill headshots, are easily weakened. In my opinion, this game is easily my favorite and it will stay as such for a long, long time to come.
  64. JamesF
    Jan 6, 2009
    9
    I've played many online FPS's over the years, namely the battlefield series, and I have to say that Team Fortress 2 is different. Which is why it is so brilliant. All the classes have a purpose, and no one class is overplayed over the others. The sheer amount of balance work that has gone into this game makes it, in my opinion, well worth the investment, and with the promise of I've played many online FPS's over the years, namely the battlefield series, and I have to say that Team Fortress 2 is different. Which is why it is so brilliant. All the classes have a purpose, and no one class is overplayed over the others. The sheer amount of balance work that has gone into this game makes it, in my opinion, well worth the investment, and with the promise of future updates from VALVe, it is sure to evolve into an even more solid title. Expand
  65. TrevorA
    Jan 2, 2009
    10
    This game is truly a work of art. although each class has a variety of weakness' as a group their strengths balance out making for a even match even if one of the classes has a greater advantage (depending on map, player skill, and etc.). The game is meant for a variety of players and play styles make 'fun for the whole family' feel to the game. Since this game relys on This game is truly a work of art. although each class has a variety of weakness' as a group their strengths balance out making for a even match even if one of the classes has a greater advantage (depending on map, player skill, and etc.). The game is meant for a variety of players and play styles make 'fun for the whole family' feel to the game. Since this game relys on team work and coordination of the classes those without a Microphone could see some of the action in the game to be frustrating. but those who do have the mic's in game usually alert those who do not have mic's to where they are needed. overall the game is amazing. i would reccomend it to anyone who has friends who have a steam account. or those who want to get into computer gaming (for it is the best platform ever...). best of luck Expand
  66. AnonymousMC
    Dec 31, 2008
    9
    one of the best online game ever, very competitive and LOTS of content. it might be a bit harsh for new players since there are all those new weapons to unlock and all those maps to get use to but once u get the hang of it, u will not want to hit the exit button
  67. AnonymousMC
    Dec 29, 2008
    10
    It is a really good game. And to the people who say it's unbalanced due to the achievements...

    The new weapons have 1 downfall to every good thing it has. The Ubersaw swings less rapid, but gives Uber every time you hit. Natasha does less damage, but slows the opponent down. The Backburner does critical hits on the back, but it has no compression blast. Valve is making
    It is a really good game. And to the people who say it's unbalanced due to the achievements...

    The new weapons have 1 downfall to every good thing it has.

    The Ubersaw swings less rapid, but gives Uber every time you hit.

    Natasha does less damage, but slows the opponent down.

    The Backburner does critical hits on the back, but it has no compression blast.

    Valve is making it fair to other classes, don't say it's bad for that reason!
    Expand
  68. LukeM.
    Dec 25, 2008
    9
    Best Game Ever!!!!
  69. AnonymousMC
    Dec 23, 2008
    10
    I've had this game for a month or two and I LOVE IT!
    Its amazing, its very fast paced, It has lot's of co-op action and By god the graphics are MAGNIFICANT! There's only 1 flaw with the game and thats the slow updates. Plus only three chracters have unlockable weps right now.
    But other than that, I suggest everyone should BUY this game! ^_^
  70. AnonymousMC
    Dec 19, 2008
    10
    Been playing this game for over a month, used to play the original TF back in the days as well as other multiplayer games such as Counter Strike and I must say this is a worthy sucessor to those games.

    Balanced gameplay, varied classes, replayable maps as well as a continous stream of updates fram Valve makes this game feel fresh everytime you play it.
  71. AnonymousMC
    Dec 14, 2008
    10
    Best, most complete multiplayer fps i've ever played. Zaaaa and anonymous are both ridiculous and didnt stick around long enough to see that the upgrades change the game without unbalancing it. The balancing is incredible, there are truly no bad classes and no unbeatable combinations. Everything else seems to have been said already, although let me add that there are a surprisingBest, most complete multiplayer fps i've ever played. Zaaaa and anonymous are both ridiculous and didnt stick around long enough to see that the upgrades change the game without unbalancing it. The balancing is incredible, there are truly no bad classes and no unbeatable combinations. Everything else seems to have been said already, although let me add that there are a surprising number of casual gamers being brought into the TF2 community, but there are huge niches for both the most casual and gung-ho gamers around. Expand
  72. AnonymousMC
    Dec 10, 2008
    10
    I don't get how someone could not like a game this fun. Design of the characters and maps (even user generated ones) are great. Weapon upgrades do not take away from the game, they are still very fair and balanced. New weapons were only added to give players more choice on which to use.
  73. KyleO.
    Nov 25, 2008
    9
    I've got to say that I'm not huge into many first-person shooters, but this had everything I liked. It was fast-paced, with well-balanced characters, and overall I love the cartoon-like aspect of it. Of course, some people may not like the wait at certain points, but I'm sure that can be changed. I'd definitely recommend it to something that is a casual online gamer.
  74. AnonymousMC
    Nov 23, 2008
    10
    well...i only got this game because of team fortress classic and 1.5.....it is is nothing like them buy its GREAT FUN!!!this game is worth every dollar,yen,rubbel or whatever your currency is....the other games you should get that are as amazing as this one are Counter strike: source(or any one of them) and fortress forever(search it up on Google or steam its free...basically team fortresswell...i only got this game because of team fortress classic and 1.5.....it is is nothing like them buy its GREAT FUN!!!this game is worth every dollar,yen,rubbel or whatever your currency is....the other games you should get that are as amazing as this one are Counter strike: source(or any one of them) and fortress forever(search it up on Google or steam its free...basically team fortress 1.5:source with super cool new weapons(not many though,,,not to spoils the game Expand
  75. AnonymousMC
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Probably the best team coordinated multiplayer game out there. Valve does an excellent job in making the best class system the world has seen. If they notice that one class is played less, or weaker or unbalanced in any way they release weapon upgrades for them first. The best thing about these weapon upgrades is that they are not always better than the original, they all change the wayProbably the best team coordinated multiplayer game out there. Valve does an excellent job in making the best class system the world has seen. If they notice that one class is played less, or weaker or unbalanced in any way they release weapon upgrades for them first. The best thing about these weapon upgrades is that they are not always better than the original, they all change the way the class is played and that keeps the game fresh and even more fun. The game is funny, creative, an all around excellent game. I highly recommend it! Expand
  76. AnonymousMC
    Nov 17, 2008
    10
    I think its a real fun game. Fast action FPS with nice teambased play. All together in a cartoony style. A good thing is the achievements, you want to get them because they unlock new items for your class. Good working and game wich can bring you fun for a long time.
  77. SteveL.
    Nov 15, 2008
    10
    I love this game.
  78. AnonymousMC
    Nov 14, 2008
    10
    I got this game since beta and saw how the unique cartoon style has made this game fun and humorous game yet also can be a serious game if the team work together and still be funny, loved every minute of it. The first class I played was the heavy, loved his minigun and his taunts and pretty much everything about him. "Keep crying babies!"
  79. AnonymousMC
    Oct 31, 2008
    10
    An absolutely excellent game in every aspect. It is a revolutionary first-person shooter in that you cannot always rely on you yourself to win the game. You will have to use every member of your team in order to win the game. It has incredible replay-value and the most excellent multi-player I've ever seen.
  80. TomN.
    Oct 25, 2008
    10
    Appears to be a marmite game. Fantastic in every way. I have chalked up over one hundred hours on this game and I still love lt. The team work aspect is unparelleled in any other game (maybe Red Orchestra comes close). You cannot go it alone, you need your team mates and if you are in a team which wants to win (I haven't encountered many that don't so far), then you can't Appears to be a marmite game. Fantastic in every way. I have chalked up over one hundred hours on this game and I still love lt. The team work aspect is unparelleled in any other game (maybe Red Orchestra comes close). You cannot go it alone, you need your team mates and if you are in a team which wants to win (I haven't encountered many that don't so far), then you can't go wrong. Nothing like the camp fest that is DoDs. I can't wait for the additional achievement packs. Expand
  81. IngmarsM.
    Oct 24, 2008
    10
    Game is very well balanced and graphics look nice. even through game is not matching it Minimal system requirements and it laggs heavy in middle of battle its good. Thank you Valve! I have played only pirated version of this but I'm gonna buy it! its worth it.
  82. TylerB.
    Oct 5, 2008
    9
    A gory, violent but animated game pulled into one to make a great game played by so many people worldwide.
  83. =Sixpack=
    Oct 2, 2008
    10
    Since 1998 and the days of online Quake2 i haven't played anything that came close,and trust me i have played them all,forget anything people tell you and try this - its great fun and learning each class is an art in its own right,i can only play three classes with any conviction. TF2 - you wont regret it.
  84. None
    Sep 29, 2008
    10
    Great Game! Fun and Nice team based gameplay.
  85. asdffdsa
    Sep 27, 2008
    10
    This is the best FPS I've played in a while. Only problem is the limited number of maps if you don't have it for PC. If you have it for the PC though, you're doing great. Seriously, 9 classes, no under or overpowered ones. Leave it to Valve to find a way to do that.
  86. MiniK.
    Sep 27, 2008
    10
    I love this game......there is frustrattion that you can get out of it but other then this its really fun......the only thing I dont like about the game is the people that think their all that and can pick on Noobies.......i don't want to mention any names but when i first started playing havok and nomad of the rg clan were really mean and they still are today just not mean too I love this game......there is frustrattion that you can get out of it but other then this its really fun......the only thing I dont like about the game is the people that think their all that and can pick on Noobies.......i don't want to mention any names but when i first started playing havok and nomad of the rg clan were really mean and they still are today just not mean too me.........soooo yeah i would rate it a 10 and if you happen to want a new server to play in then look up NEMU DUSTBOWL AND NEMU GOLDRUSH. Expand
  87. James
    Sep 27, 2008
    10
    Incredibly entertaining. Play it once and you'll be hooked.
  88. RickN.
    Sep 26, 2008
    10
    I'm not a professional gamer, but I have been in the high-tech electronics and computer industry professionally for about 39 years. I just know when I like something well enough to comment about it. I play some multi-player online games and they all offer some level of enjoyment, but Team Fortress 2 has been my favorite to date. I must admit that I was not very impressed with tf2 the I'm not a professional gamer, but I have been in the high-tech electronics and computer industry professionally for about 39 years. I just know when I like something well enough to comment about it. I play some multi-player online games and they all offer some level of enjoyment, but Team Fortress 2 has been my favorite to date. I must admit that I was not very impressed with tf2 the first time I played it at a friends house, because I could not stay alive long enough to see much of what I was playing. Since then, that same friend put up a tf2 server and made it family oriented. Since then I play it frequently and have a great time. One of my sons lives in a different state and we have played some online games before and tf2 is the one we both like the best of all the other games. I also have a 12 year old grand daughter, who likes to play and I like the cartoon body parts that we see and the personality and humor in the characters. Some of the in-game language could be cleaned up for the younger players, in my opinion, but this is the one game that we can all play as a family online and have a great time, loaded with lots of action. My mindset is different when I play tf2. I play it for fun and enjoyment, so I don't get so uptight when I don't do well, because playing this game constantly reminds me that it's only a game. The custom maps are very enjoyable to play and a few of our members have made some maps. The graphics is great and the gameplay is very fluid. Of course, being in the computer industry, I build my own computer systems and networks, so I have learned what works well together. Windows XP 32-bit and Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit are the systems that I mostly use. I recommend Team Fortress 2 to everyone that wants to get started playing online. It is easy to understand and full of action from the very start. I love the different character classes and the way they look and taunt, but it is a great example of how everyone has a valuable talent when you play together. Expand
  89. ChrisL
    Sep 25, 2008
    9
    Really fun game, only drawback being that everyone has to start somewhere, and isn't that entertaining when the pro's are giving you a humiliation lesson!
  90. JoshP.
    Sep 22, 2008
    10
    I considered knocking a point or two off just to seem reasonable but honestly, there really isn't anything bad about this game. It's very well balanced and actually pulls off the whole teamwork required thing. I'm going to give it a full 10, for it's audience, it's perfect.
  91. Ross
    Sep 21, 2008
    10
    The only people who don't like this game must be allergic to fun, because that's what Team Fortress 2 is, pure and unadulterated.
  92. GabrielL.
    Sep 19, 2008
    10
    Fun game. especially when playing with friends. this game allow friends to work together and create better bonds - really a teamwork game.
  93. SamuelP.
    Sep 19, 2008
    10
    Team Fortress 2 is definitely something new and exciting from Valve Software. It's a fun game with plenty of characters and a lot to do, and the game is colorfully designed. The game, a project of the source engine, is definitely brilliant with high quality graphics and sounds; it's a must buy for any online gamer.
  94. RandallH.
    Sep 18, 2008
    9
    I love the concept of the game. (I do not know why people thing there is no tactics in this game) I have noticed that most of the time your team will loose if you do not have at least one person helping and the team agreeing to do it. (From my perspective) Anyways, aside from that, I would recommend that if at all possible that you do get it with the PC, the console is just not good for I love the concept of the game. (I do not know why people thing there is no tactics in this game) I have noticed that most of the time your team will loose if you do not have at least one person helping and the team agreeing to do it. (From my perspective) Anyways, aside from that, I would recommend that if at all possible that you do get it with the PC, the console is just not good for the game or you can not get the best out of TF2 from console. I will say the cartoony graphics are good, and most people that play the game will not get tired of it, there are some but not many. And with all the new stuff with maps, and gametypes makes it even funnier to play. For the most part the new weapons are in there own way very useful, if you know how to use them and when. I also like that they changed the milestones to get the weapons. It is not just a little easier, but for people that are not the best at the game can at least get one or two of them. The only cons about the game are the Medics achievements. I do think that some of them are a bit silly. Like urbering your friends and urbering the Scout. Actually it scared me when they released the medic. I thought that this would be the result for all the classes but luckily for the most part the other classes so far seem to be reasonable. The only other con is how that some of the PL maps need a fix. The new one that was released with the Heavy pack is better but still tends to favor the defense. And as for Dustbowl (sigh I have played this map too much) Defense is very difficult (when you have Even teams). Overall this game can be one of the best. Actually when I first got Orange Box, I never played TF2 (I have had TF2 just about as long as it has been out) at first I played it but never really enjoyed it. But ever since of May of 2008, I have played more and more of this game enjoying it the more I play it. So for some of you this game could grow (meaning you will enjoy it more) like it did for me. The final score is 9.2 I just rounded Expand
  95. TaylorC.
    Sep 13, 2008
    10
    Team Fortress 2 is my favorite multiplayer game ever by far. This game has no deathmatch. The game is instead focused on very strategic gameplay types. There are 9 different character classes and to win, a team must work together with all classes and dominate the other team. If you buy this game, make sure you buy the PC version, it is the only to have updates so far and the updates will Team Fortress 2 is my favorite multiplayer game ever by far. This game has no deathmatch. The game is instead focused on very strategic gameplay types. There are 9 different character classes and to win, a team must work together with all classes and dominate the other team. If you buy this game, make sure you buy the PC version, it is the only to have updates so far and the updates will only be free on PC. The updates however, are not just fixing bugs and balancing. Each update adds new weapons, new maps, and much more and are usually based on one class. Expand
  96. ColinD.
    Sep 11, 2008
    10
    By far, the best multiplayer experience you'll have ever had. (other than Counter-Strike 1.6) This game, with it's unlockable achievements, Valve-branded maps, user-created maps, and a variety of other fantastic gameplay features easily pushes this game to the top of all the PC gaming charts!
  97. BobB.
    Sep 7, 2008
    10
    The most chaotic, insane, and bloody multiplayer game to date. And, of course, the best.
  98. PEvans
    Sep 6, 2008
    10
    Brilliant! This game is different and is heading in the right direction with it's great features. I would give it 9.5 due to having to unlock things on the updates but I have to round it off to the closest figure.
  99. AlexR.
    Sep 6, 2008
    10
    Love this game, really easy to get the hang of, and the variety of gameplay, and surf maps in partcular are extremely good. no complaints!!
  100. RyanD.
    Sep 5, 2008
    10
    This is pretty much my favorite online game of all time. Team Fortress 2 is both fun to look at and fun to play. Game play has been improved greatly since Team Fortress Classic and there are regular updates including new weapons, maps, and achievements. Sadly, no Hunted map yet.

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. AceGamez
    100
    The marriage of highly stylised retro-spy presentation, fresh, high octane action, deep and varied classes and the underlying twinkle of humour in its metaphorical eye make Team Fortress 2 far more than just your average fragfest. Long after the novelty of the graphics wears thin, we are left with a refined and accessible multiplayer game that simultaneously cultivates new players whilst retaining enough depth to accommodate even the hardiest of veterans.
  2. The game also does a lovely job of framing your relationship with other players and nurturing them.
  3. It's one hell of a game. With its powerful artistic style and blazingly quick, yet accessible gameplay, it's enough to melt the icy cynicism imprisoning the hearts of even the most jaded among us. That being said, it's not the most complex shooter out there.