Team Fortress 2 PC

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 5980 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 17, 2017
    4
    Peut étre un tres bon jeu a son lancement mais aujourd'hui un simple pay2win avec une communauté cancer et des mise a jour de moindre utilité ... bref un jeu mort dépacé par overwatch.
  2. Jan 13, 2017
    9
    Dear anyone who wants to get into TF2:

    --Pros -Casual gameplay, yet contains a high skill ceiling. -Large variety of maps and available gameplay styles. -Lots of mods and customization. --Cons -Has a small dev team of 5 people -Recent updates provide little to no content, yet lots of milking the game. -Devs cater to a minority of competitive players at the cost of the majority
    Dear anyone who wants to get into TF2:

    --Pros
    -Casual gameplay, yet contains a high skill ceiling.
    -Large variety of maps and available gameplay styles.
    -Lots of mods and customization.

    --Cons
    -Has a small dev team of 5 people
    -Recent updates provide little to no content, yet lots of milking the game.
    -Devs cater to a minority of competitive players at the cost of the majority players.

    Play this game while it's still godlike. The devs might ruin it a few years later.
    Expand
  3. Dec 29, 2016
    10
    The first game i ever got on steam and its still the best game i have on steam. I've played hours on this game and i still play it. It is going to live forever and overwatch will be forgotten in a year.
  4. Dec 29, 2016
    10
    This game perfectly combines tactical play and intense action. The nine classes all work well together, while none are overpowered or unfair. Overall an amazing game!!!
  5. Dec 25, 2016
    9
    A classic, never gets old. This game is like soccer/football, no matter how long you haven't played, there's always a time where you will come back to play at least one round. It's always fun, the characters are unique and funny in their own ways. Definitely recommend to anyone, the mechanics aren't complicated at all.
  6. Dec 25, 2016
    10
    Well..My actual score is 9.5,this game is a masterpiece I can say,a kind of "5 more minute please..." game that can really make you addicted.Still you can get bored of the game after weeks of addictive gaming.But still,there are more things that's added to the game in order to make you experience more.Even if it's good or bad,this game will have a spot in your computer.
  7. Dec 23, 2016
    10
    With 1400 hours of experience playing team fortress 2 I can say that this game is one of the most entertaining that I have played, being a free game, still better than enough games in which you have to pay to play, the only thing I see a little Bad is the scale of learning, team fortress 2 has too many mechanics, some are very complex, some are not, but along not explain enough, removingWith 1400 hours of experience playing team fortress 2 I can say that this game is one of the most entertaining that I have played, being a free game, still better than enough games in which you have to pay to play, the only thing I see a little Bad is the scale of learning, team fortress 2 has too many mechanics, some are very complex, some are not, but along not explain enough, removing that aside, if you ask me to download team fortress 2, I would say You can download it, it may be difficult at the beginning, but it will be worth it, no doubt you can see that this is a valve game, very well made. Expand
  8. Dec 16, 2016
    0
    Team Fortress is a WORSE game!It's a **** this game.And the characters are terribles,and the history is poor.You don't play this game?Listen to me:Don't play this game!
  9. Dec 1, 2016
    7
    Team Fortress 2 was a PC game released in 2007. It was originally a pay-to-play game, but was made free-to-play later in it’s lifespan. It was also released for the Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3, but these versions are obsolete. It has received many updates over the last 9 years, and has contended with the likes of Overwatch.
    Team Fortress 2 is a unique take on a first-person shooter. Unlike
    Team Fortress 2 was a PC game released in 2007. It was originally a pay-to-play game, but was made free-to-play later in it’s lifespan. It was also released for the Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3, but these versions are obsolete. It has received many updates over the last 9 years, and has contended with the likes of Overwatch.
    Team Fortress 2 is a unique take on a first-person shooter. Unlike the majority of shooting games, Team Fortress 2 does not try to be realistic. Instead, it is very stylised and colourful. The weapons and characters all have a distinct shape, allowing you to clearly identify any class from great distance.
    The game is based around two teams, who fight over different objectives. The game itself has a backstory; however this isn’t apparent in game. Every game is a battle between RED (Reliable Excavation Demolition) and BLU (Builders League United). The colours of red and blue are well chosen, so that the two teams are very easy to distinguish. This is very important in-game, as it makes it a lot easier to identify who is friend and foe.

    All of the game’s classes are very unique. The characters themselves are designed to be distinguishable between one another, even as a colourless silhouette. This is done to ensure that the player can make a decision about their course of action, without having to get a close up view of their opponent. The shapes of the characters have implications about the combat ability of a class, allowing newer players to pick and choose who to fight.

    The characters have unique personalities. Each class talks about their environment as the games go on, commenting on objectives or kills. These comments are often humorous, and can give players an idea of who is coming around a corner, allowing them time to prepare for an assault.

    The game is highly customisable. In fact, it is a frequent joke amongst players that Team Fortress 2 is not a ‘First-Person Shooter’, but instead a ‘Hat Simulator’. Players may equip different items known as ‘cosmetics’. These, as the names suggest, have no effect on gameplay, but make each player feel unique. Each class has their own set of cosmetics, which may be bought or traded for. A small number of cosmetics are given away to players for completing certain achievements. However, since a lot of players will have these cosmetics, people will usually strive to obtain more unique items.

    Despite the obvious differences, Team Fortress 2 is just like other first-person shooters in a few aspects. It has similar weapons, such as rocket launchers and sniper rifles, and objectives to complete. These allow players familiar with first-person shooters to enjoy the game without having to immediately adapt to new and unique weapons.

    The game consists of nine characters, known as ‘classes’. Classes come in three categories; offense, defense, and support. Offensive classes are made to deal large amounts of damage. Defensive classes are generally classes who do best at defending the objective. Support classes can help deal damage from afar, pick off important targets, or heal friendly players.
    The class groups help keep the game balanced, and to give a team a way to decide which classes are needed in certain situations. For example, a team with a lot of offensive classes but no support classes is likely to suffer against a team with support classes, as the other team could have a method of healing, a person doing damage from afar, or someone to take down the larger classes in one hit.
    Despite certain classes having advantages over others, each class can be useful to a game. For example, a Scout, who has only 125 health points, can take down a Heavy with up to 350 health points, by taking advantage of the Scout’s unique attributes, such as his agility. The Heavy, on the other hand, is slow, and must track fast enemies accurately using his minigun.

    Team Fortress 2 has effective methods of giving visual feedback to the player. The main way that visual feedback is used is the red marker used to indicate the direction from where a player is getting hit. This is extremely useful, not only for determining the location of an attacker, but also to determine the magnitude of the damage done. The game also has visual feedback in the form of a useful GUI. This GUI gives the player all sorts of information about the current match, and also informs you of your health, ammunition, and player deaths. Using these different facts can give a player an idea of where to be at times of need.
    The game also has a lot of audial feedback in the form of hit sounds, something fairly unique to Team Fortress 2. Hit sounds are used as indication of successful shots, and are surprisingly informative. The pitch of the hit sound varies depending on the damage done. This information can be used to judge whether you have done significant damage to other players, and can decide your response. Other aspects of audial feedback are screaming players, and other sounds that can indicate danger or the capturing of an objective.

    Whilst the game itself is a blast to play, it is not without flaws. One of the largest flaws in the game is the lack of team balance. A team can often stray from teamwork, leading to uncoordinated efforts to capture an objective. Often, several players will play as the same class, such as Snipers. This often leads to an oversaturation of that type of player, and a lack of necessary support. One of the most infamous examples of Team Fortress 2’s balance was the autobalance feature. The autobalance feature aimed to balance teams by ensuring that each team has the same amount of players. Recently, Valve decided to do away with this feature, which has lead to unbalanced games, often with a few players facing a full team.
    Updates are few and far between, with most updates being a large disappointment for the community. Announced updates can take years to actually be implemented, and new gameplay elements are not often added, which can sometimes make the game seem stale. Most updates only add a small amount of cosmetics or ‘beta’ maps, which are never actually finished. Cactus Canyon, for example, has been in beta for over 2 years, with no word of a full release. The item servers are also frequently down, leading to a large amount of frustration.
    Despite my love for this game, the recent ‘Meet Your Match’ update has taken away a great deal of the fun for me. The forced matchmaking in this update can often take up to 10 minutes. As aforementioned, the ‘autobalance’ feature is now long gone, which initially met with approval from the community. However, after months of games without autobalance, people have stopped appreciating the removal of the system.
    The game also has a whole host of performance issues, making it hard to recommend to someone without a decent computer. The main problem with Team Fortress 2 is Valve’s refusal to port the game to their new engine, Source 2. This is understandable, as the development team is very small, but unfortunately, it’s absolutely necessary. As it stands, Team Fortress 2 can only use 2 cores of your processor, limiting performance drastically. The updates also seem to make the problem worse, with every addition to the game causing more and more lag. Even someone with a powerful computer would have trouble keeping Team Fortress 2 at a steady framerate.

    Yet another issue with the game is the fact that a player is generally judged by their appearance. Players with more expensive items are nearly always regarded as better than someone with less expensive items. This can lead to bullying, and neglect of players who have not played for as long.
    Overall, TF2 is a fairly solid experience, and is probably the best Free-to-Play game around. Unfortunately, with the recent updates, and incredible drops in performance, I find it hard to recommend to anyone. Even I have stopped playing it recently, as the drops in framerate are infuriating, often occurring at vital moments. I would appreciate the game much more, if Valve would actually show some courtesy for the game.
    Expand
  10. Nov 7, 2016
    10
    When you start playing TF2, before you know it you will be living in your basement, all your friends will never talk to you again, and you will have countless hours piled up on Steam. Why? Because it's Team Fortress 2. It began as a mod in the 1980s, and it is amazing how far it has come. Enjoy the hilarious, gory, intense, hectic, humorous, and insanely fun game and gameplay of TeamWhen you start playing TF2, before you know it you will be living in your basement, all your friends will never talk to you again, and you will have countless hours piled up on Steam. Why? Because it's Team Fortress 2. It began as a mod in the 1980s, and it is amazing how far it has come. Enjoy the hilarious, gory, intense, hectic, humorous, and insanely fun game and gameplay of Team Fortress 2, the most diverse and insane shooter ever. It is built around 9 classes-sorry, did I just say CLASSES? These 9 mercenaries are more then just classes. They are full-on characters, complete with their own personalities, backstories, and places of origin, as well as their own gameplay perks like their own arsenals of crazy weapons, and special abilities. These classes are: Scout, the mischievous quick little maniac from Boston, Soldier, the crazy bloodthirsty patriotic bazooka-wielding commando, Demoman, the head-slicing sticky-bomb-planting grenade-launching blow-everything-up black Scottish cyclops, Heavy, who is the face and symbol of TF2, AKA the tanky, Minigun-shooting mow-down Russian mercenary, Engineer, the tech genius from Texas who builds sentry turrets, teleporters, and health-and-ammo dispensers, then there's the Medic, armed with his trusty medigun and backup weapons, ready to heal all his teammates, then ubercharge them to decimate the enemy team, then there's the sniper, the Australian mercenary who picks off his enemies from afar with headshots, and also throws jars of his own piss at them, then there's the spy, the sly, shifty frenchman who turns invisible, disguises as players on the enemy team, wreaks havoc by sapping engineers' constructs, and picks off his foes with a single stab to the back. And last but not least, the pyro, the biggest mystery of Team Fortress 2. His (or her) true identity remains a mystery, but whoever he or she is, they are a maniac, setting enemies on fire with their flamethrower. So, I just covered all the classes available. But Team Fortress 2 is not complete without its amazing gallery of weapons. See, TF2 doesn't just have the average M4A1s and G36Cs and whatnot. It uses without a doubt the most bizzare arsenal EVER. Robotic arms, cans of milk, swords and shields, jars of piss, snipers that shoot darts that inject foes with piss, laser bazookas, wrenches, shovels, pickaxes, and tons of other wierd implements of destruction. This, among the crazy hats and cosmetics you can buy, make TF2 the most bizarre, funny, and fun game ever, and that is why I love it so much. Oh yeah, and it's completely free to play. So there's that. Expand
  11. Sep 24, 2016
    10
    good game if you dont agree kys fgt, coumminty can be toxic but just mute the 13 year old lenny spaming moron, hats are pointless but there nice to have, real game **** cod big up eminem
  12. Sep 10, 2016
    10
    I think this game is one of the best Valve Games. Team Fortress is best Valve MMO Game. This game like in Overwatch, but Team Fortress was release in 2008 and Overwatch was release in 2016 and Team Fortress is free to play game, Overwatch isnt free to play game. Graphics in Overwatch is better than in TF2, but in TF2 is more characters, more weapons and more fun. Overwatch is good game,I think this game is one of the best Valve Games. Team Fortress is best Valve MMO Game. This game like in Overwatch, but Team Fortress was release in 2008 and Overwatch was release in 2016 and Team Fortress is free to play game, Overwatch isnt free to play game. Graphics in Overwatch is better than in TF2, but in TF2 is more characters, more weapons and more fun. Overwatch is good game, but TF2 is better. TF2 is one of the best MMO Games. Expand
  13. Sep 1, 2016
    9
    Team Fortress 2 is a unique first person shooter game with numerous different play styles, game modes, and classes. When the game was first released in 2007, after six years in development, it was pay to play. However, within the past few years, Valve decided to make the game free to play.
    Most would think that a game that’s been out for nine years would get old, but with the constant
    Team Fortress 2 is a unique first person shooter game with numerous different play styles, game modes, and classes. When the game was first released in 2007, after six years in development, it was pay to play. However, within the past few years, Valve decided to make the game free to play.
    Most would think that a game that’s been out for nine years would get old, but with the constant rebalancing and updates that Valve releases to the community, it’s actually the opposite. Their game modes like King of the Hill, Payload, Payload Races, and Control points (just to name a few) offer the player several different ways to capture the objective and lead their team to victory. Considering all these play styles and ways of winning, it’s pretty straightforward that that’s the aspect of the game that makes it fun, and keeps drawing people in to continue playing.
    The fact that the game is free to play often entails a lot of players would just be running around clueless, and that you can’t buy items. In Team Fortress 2 (TF2), that is not the case. In fact, in this simple WASD controlled game, the stock weapons are statistically better, and generally speaking a free to play player could get around just fine once they master the general feel of the game. However, one can buy items that will get them more of a social reputation in the somewhat questionable community. It’s no secret that having better cosmetics, or even an unusual (an in-game hat that usual costs a high amount of actual real world currency), will get you more heals and intimidate the opposing team, which unfortunately makes free to play players often feel inferior to those who spend money on the game.
    While the game has been out for a whopping nine years, the graphics and sounds will likely never be considered flashy or over the top, in fact they give off a bit of a classic feel to the game, that’s not too overwhelming. TF2’s landscape and battlegrounds are pretty realistic, and while the character models have their own style that fits the game, they fit in nicely with the other aspects of the game nicely.
    This free to play game has received a lot of attention over the years, not only for it’s numerous ways of playing and having fun, but for the extremely homey and classic feel the visuals, sound, and community provide.
    Expand
  14. Aug 31, 2016
    9
    This game if fun as **** go play this game............................................................................................................
  15. Aug 28, 2016
    1
    Rip off of overwatch. Come one Valv! I thot u wer bettir then this. Rippin off popular game series are not ok. I want you guys to continue csgo gambling sites. please ;)
  16. Aug 27, 2016
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I Love this game is awsome.....................................................................

    Very funy........................................................................................................
    Expand
  17. Aug 22, 2016
    8
    Free to play buena optimización los mapas, objetivos y jugadores bien logrados le faltaría un inventario algo mas completo y un poco menos de monotonía por lo demás un juego con una jugabilidad muy buena
  18. Jul 29, 2016
    9
    This game is so close to perfection. With free access and a technically perfect weapon balance, the only bad thing here is the stuff that is missing. Come on, no grenades? No vehicles? Thankfully, powerups and other cool things have been added as weapons and game modes.

    By the way, this is as far from pay-to-win as you can get while still gaining good cash. Give it a try!
  19. Jul 23, 2016
    9
    Team Fortress 2 is an objective-based Team-FPS and free-to-play. Usually you fight against up to 12 other players for various objectives. It offers various classes, maps and objectives, resulting in a good diversity and long-time-fun. Its graphics are fine, from a technical point of view there is also not much to criticize.
  20. Jul 7, 2016
    10
    Best hat simulator with guns motive ever. Now, seriously, it's very fun game, with constant updates never gets old, with 1152 hours played they all were worth. Valve never disappoints me.
  21. Jul 4, 2016
    10
    As a guy who has almost one thousand hours in Team Fortress 2, I can say that this game is incredible. You will experience a lot of cool things, such as MvM (Mann Vs Machine), Competitive mode (now, by the way, officially), and public games. All of these modes are awesome, and you will enjoy it. The mechanics is unique, the game style is pretty cool too. Moreover, there will be sense ofAs a guy who has almost one thousand hours in Team Fortress 2, I can say that this game is incredible. You will experience a lot of cool things, such as MvM (Mann Vs Machine), Competitive mode (now, by the way, officially), and public games. All of these modes are awesome, and you will enjoy it. The mechanics is unique, the game style is pretty cool too. Moreover, there will be sense of humour. One of the greatest games created by Valve Software. Expand
  22. Jun 30, 2016
    8
    If you like to play casual first person shooter games, then this is exactly what you are looking for! And the great thing is that it is completely free, without any restrictions or anything. (also a great hat simulator)
  23. Jun 22, 2016
    8
    Before it's release in 2007, I was more psyched to play TF2 then I'd been for any other game before. I've got more hours logged into it then any other Steam game, hours spent actually playing, and plenty of time spent just messing around with friends in our personal server, playing around with mods. Time spent killing robots in man vs. machine, and slapping around randoms on 24/7 DegrootBefore it's release in 2007, I was more psyched to play TF2 then I'd been for any other game before. I've got more hours logged into it then any other Steam game, hours spent actually playing, and plenty of time spent just messing around with friends in our personal server, playing around with mods. Time spent killing robots in man vs. machine, and slapping around randoms on 24/7 Degroot Keep servers. I have predominantly fond memories of the game, even if I don't play it much at all these days... but I'd sooner play this then Overwatch. Euugh. Expand
  24. Jun 22, 2016
    10
    Better than Overwatch.
    Well balanced.
    So many to unlock.
    So many combinations.
    So much fun.
    Free to play.
    Awesome to play.
    Well optimised,
    Shame on you Blizzard!
  25. Jun 19, 2016
    9
    I was hooked on this game as soon as I got it. I demand that everyone gets this game, don't ask any questions just go out and get it now

    You want my full review? *sigh* fine. TF2 is made by the gods of game developers Valve. TF2 brings in so much stuff to make the online FPS genre feel like a new fresh idea. Tons of more classes that, unlike COD, feel like they're different with
    I was hooked on this game as soon as I got it. I demand that everyone gets this game, don't ask any questions just go out and get it now

    You want my full review? *sigh* fine.

    TF2 is made by the gods of game developers Valve. TF2 brings in so much stuff to make the online FPS genre feel like a new fresh idea. Tons of more classes that, unlike COD, feel like they're different with different appeareances and customization options.

    Gameplay is done in a sort of way to make the player, like me, get addicted to this and make them not want to move for a while, until you improve and make it so that you're the best possible. If u find a server with a perfectly balanced team, you will have tons of fun, filled with tons of tension and tons of fun.

    If any of you have seen my L4D2 review, you'll remember when I said that it mainly focuses on realism but also has a slight cartoon tint to it. TF2 throws realism out the window, goes with a full cartoon tint and cartoon gore and rarely takes anything seriously and it knows it doesn't take itself seriously at times and I respect it for doing that as I haven't seen many shooters that do this sort of thing. It's either that shooters take themselves really seriously, which is the majority of the shooters out there or shooters that take themselves so seriously that it's funny.

    The classes actually feel unique. Unlike other shooters where it feels like it doesn't really matter what class I take, in TF2 it really does dependon ur play style. If u pick a sniper, it REALLY IS harder to fight close distance. If ur playing as Heavy it REALLY IS hard to fight long distance.

    TF2 is a nice breath of fresh air and I'm glad to see that it doesn't follow what other game devs are doing which is why I really respect Valve for making this.

    Pros:
    + Addicting
    + Good classes
    + Good gameplay
    + Creative graphics

    Cons
    - A few glitches
    Expand
  26. Jun 12, 2016
    7
    After playing this game for over 170 hours I would like to make my own opinion about this game. TF2 is a great game however I would like to list some of the bad things about it. The Item dropping system is kind of okay. The problem is that I have to play for 2 hours each day just to get a weapon and it is a waste of my time. But if I would have get alot of weapons, I would have to buyAfter playing this game for over 170 hours I would like to make my own opinion about this game. TF2 is a great game however I would like to list some of the bad things about it. The Item dropping system is kind of okay. The problem is that I have to play for 2 hours each day just to get a weapon and it is a waste of my time. But if I would have get alot of weapons, I would have to buy crates and keys that costs about $2.00 if I recall correctly. But I did not waste money on weapons or HATS. Overall this is a good game, the graphics are a little bit cartoonish and the classes are unique. I love the spy and I sneak up to everyone and scare the **** out of them. Plus if you are poor, this is a right game for you I guarantee you, if you once click multiplayer, I will be sure that you will have tons of fun (Just watch out for little kids).
    7/10
    Expand
  27. Jun 12, 2016
    9
    Now that TF2 is F2P, it becomes one of the best values in online gaming. Super addictive FPS action with a class-based system. Blue and Red teams battle for control points, advance or defend payloads, capture briefcases (aka CTF), and more. I've enjoyed many hours of fun zany action with TF2. In spite of the sometimes chaotic and spastic gameplay, the skill cap with TF2 is quite high. SomeNow that TF2 is F2P, it becomes one of the best values in online gaming. Super addictive FPS action with a class-based system. Blue and Red teams battle for control points, advance or defend payloads, capture briefcases (aka CTF), and more. I've enjoyed many hours of fun zany action with TF2. In spite of the sometimes chaotic and spastic gameplay, the skill cap with TF2 is quite high. Some players can master certain classes and have a huge impact on the game. That being said, the auto-balancing system is genius. If a team is clearly punishing the other team, you can vote to scramble the teams for a fresh start. Expand
  28. Jun 8, 2016
    10
    This game will ruin your life. You'll forget to feed the dog, you may even forget to feed yourself. Your lawn will look like the amazon and the newspapers will pile up. If you don't like your job, perfect, you won't go to work once you start playing. I love this game, more than I loved my girlfriend. I'm a logical (somewhat decent) person. I have memories from 2fort. Help me.
  29. May 31, 2016
    9
    An amazing classic FPS by Valve. There are hundreds of shooters out there that are loads of fun, but nothing compares to Team Fortress 2. The game is friendly to all who want to start playing FPS and i'd recommend it to anyone!
  30. May 28, 2016
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. very very fun and cool!!! If Again, Team Fortress 2 is released after nine years this is the thing that's being still love the game even before the game like I want to like this game. Expand
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. AceGamez
    100
    The marriage of highly stylised retro-spy presentation, fresh, high octane action, deep and varied classes and the underlying twinkle of humour in its metaphorical eye make Team Fortress 2 far more than just your average fragfest. Long after the novelty of the graphics wears thin, we are left with a refined and accessible multiplayer game that simultaneously cultivates new players whilst retaining enough depth to accommodate even the hardiest of veterans.
  2. The game also does a lovely job of framing your relationship with other players and nurturing them.
  3. It's one hell of a game. With its powerful artistic style and blazingly quick, yet accessible gameplay, it's enough to melt the icy cynicism imprisoning the hearts of even the most jaded among us. That being said, it's not the most complex shooter out there.