Team Fortress 2 PC

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 5919 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KennyD.
    Jun 7, 2008
    7
    The reason for the 7 is because the game has to many problems starting up the game and when u do get into the game that excitment can be short lived by noobie class like the demomen or the pyro. To me it makes no sence in making a game when one class can take no skill and ur able to take out an intire team by ur self it makes it seem to unbalanced. The hit box lag is awful and the sniper The reason for the 7 is because the game has to many problems starting up the game and when u do get into the game that excitment can be short lived by noobie class like the demomen or the pyro. To me it makes no sence in making a game when one class can take no skill and ur able to take out an intire team by ur self it makes it seem to unbalanced. The hit box lag is awful and the sniper even though ur on the head and u take the shot it wont count. yes the game is exciting but only when u do well. And the game seems to demanding on computers when u play it. it shows u the recomended but yet its still very chopy u could have made the game easier to run and make it more balanced so that every person who plays it gets a far chance. Expand
  2. May 29, 2013
    7
    This game is something very unique to the gaming experience. It's a FPS game, but it doesn't take itself to seriously. This works for the most part, but it falls down at a few points. These points include: stupidly unrealistic damage, a couple of OP weapons and lack of a decent singleplayer.
  3. Jun 24, 2013
    7
    Team Fortress 2 is a good but not as great game as the other Valve masterpieces. The gameplay can be awesome and awful at the same time. No matter how you want to play tactical... There is always a guy in your team who just runs around and kills everybody... So if you never played it you should give it a try since it is F2p but... I think CS or L4D is much better.
  4. Aug 14, 2013
    7
    Although I feel the game has deteriorated a bit from when I originally played it, I feel as though this sets the bar for first person shooters. It deviates from most cliche titles that constantly rinse and repeat the standard FPS formula. In order to like the game, you have to be good at it, which is why I feel like a lot less people are enjoying the game, due to their inexperience. IAlthough I feel the game has deteriorated a bit from when I originally played it, I feel as though this sets the bar for first person shooters. It deviates from most cliche titles that constantly rinse and repeat the standard FPS formula. In order to like the game, you have to be good at it, which is why I feel like a lot less people are enjoying the game, due to their inexperience. I recommend new players to try a variety of maps and classes to truly get the best experience. Expand
  5. Sep 16, 2013
    7
    while i don't think this is the greatest fps ever like some other people do, it's a good competitive multiplayer game. although my favorite part is the very well done co-op mode. there are varying classes which ensures that there'a a class that almost everyone will like, as well as weapons and crates that you can find.
  6. May 3, 2012
    7
    I wouldn't really fully recommend this to any old school gamer, but for free it's one of the best games ever. VALVe have done an amazing job making their games available free to play for all, with premium access to the Orange Box buyers, so now VALVe can bring in lots more players that weren't previously aware of their awesome games. Only problem I find with it is most of the community,I wouldn't really fully recommend this to any old school gamer, but for free it's one of the best games ever. VALVe have done an amazing job making their games available free to play for all, with premium access to the Orange Box buyers, so now VALVe can bring in lots more players that weren't previously aware of their awesome games. Only problem I find with it is most of the community, and the unseriousness of the gameplay. The hats, the items, they just don't do it for me. TFC was all about teamwork, shooting, and plain seriousness. Whereas with TF2, it's all just joking, cartoon-y, hats, items, trading...You get the point. I like the game, and I still recommend it to everyone, but It's just not for me. Expand
  7. Mar 24, 2012
    7
    I loved team fortress 2 since the day I bought Orange box, 3 years ago, for over 60 bucks (instead of 20...), and since then I saw the various updates and downgrades of this great team shooting game. I always loved class based games and team based shooters so this game got me from the first moment, but now it's just a mere shadow of its glorious past. First things first, the shop reallyI loved team fortress 2 since the day I bought Orange box, 3 years ago, for over 60 bucks (instead of 20...), and since then I saw the various updates and downgrades of this great team shooting game. I always loved class based games and team based shooters so this game got me from the first moment, but now it's just a mere shadow of its glorious past. First things first, the shop really ruined this game, and in the worst ways possible: the weapons are now possible to be bought with REAL money and, in general, these weapons are just "lame" versions of the standard weapons you have from the beginning (instead of doing more damage, you get X more shots, or instead of more shots, you get more damage; the examples are endless). Not only that, some weapons are actually JUST useless (Diamondback, Pain Train, and some are just reskins like the Sharp Dresser or the Holy Mackerel) and some are far too strong (the recent phlogistinator is one big example). Why this choice? The game was perfectly balanced and really the only big updates were the first ones (the Force-a-nature, the Kritzkrieg and, one of the best to me, the dead ringer), but now we get tons of lame weapons, that we have to pay to get them or, if you're patient, you can craft them, which is actualy good: you can craft everything, like weapons, tokens for weapons, and, most "importantly", hats. But really, what's the point? They are barely visible and if I wanted to buy something for make my fave class prettier, I'd rather buy a total customization of the class, instead of simple hats. I just talked mainly because of the shop because it's just THIS the problem of the game: the game itself is still good, the maps are still very enjoyable and the game itself is still large, with 9 classes to learn and master and many ways to play them: it's a lot of content for a F2P game, which means you can easily play and try it out and luckily even enjoy it: you have already the best weapons! If it wasn't for the shop, I'd give it 9 or 10, but with this idea of the shop just...ruined what it was a really balanced and really well though game, making it into just a cash-in game with tons of useless weapons, useless customization options and, in addition, tons of disappointed fans of this once fabulous game. Expand
  8. May 27, 2011
    7
    While a suprisingly addictive multiplayer package of tons of options, the overdistribution of premium content in the form of weapons, hats, and progression puts this acclaimed game at an average for me. But overall, TF2 is unique with its graphical prowess, gameplay, and stylized combination of design.
  9. May 7, 2011
    7
    This is a nice game, A great 1st person shooting game with great timing and battles, Awesome user created maps, and many games with fun servers with different types of chat. But the games seem like everytime you join any server, The server is the same game i play every server i go to. Most user created servers are protected and you can't kill anyone at all, and i'm always kicked from theThis is a nice game, A great 1st person shooting game with great timing and battles, Awesome user created maps, and many games with fun servers with different types of chat. But the games seem like everytime you join any server, The server is the same game i play every server i go to. Most user created servers are protected and you can't kill anyone at all, and i'm always kicked from the servers. My computer's fail graphics card shows the graphics very well and outstanding, but however the game always lags and it never accomplishes to work when i switch servers. If i want to cancel loading, I have to shutdown my entire computer and turn it back on again, I barely play it anymore because my graphics card can't be updated on this computer, and on my laptop it has low memory and i can't delete my enhanced tools that cost alot of money, such as portal 2 for instance, and my animation set, In other words it has low computer memory and i can't delete 5GB of memory. This game is although very good, nice graphics, and a good temporarily daily shooting game, I can't stand most player made servers, the lag, the 10 minute wasted control point games, and the way you need a very high graphics card to operate this. I would give it a 6, but I rather prefer giving a 7 because it's pretty good, and i can't base most of my opinion on my computer errors. Expand
  10. Sep 13, 2012
    7
    It's difficult to rate this game as it steadily decreases in refined quality with each update, particularly promotional updates that tend to ruin the design ethos. Each weapon released feels like it was beta tested by monkeys, often needing to be rebalanced upon public release, but unfortunately not being balanced until months, if not years down the line. The shere volume of unlocks isIt's difficult to rate this game as it steadily decreases in refined quality with each update, particularly promotional updates that tend to ruin the design ethos. Each weapon released feels like it was beta tested by monkeys, often needing to be rebalanced upon public release, but unfortunately not being balanced until months, if not years down the line. The shere volume of unlocks is overwhelming for new players alienating large numbers of players including the entire F2P player base. Expand
  11. Oct 11, 2010
    7
    This was really really fun for me at first but as time went on it kinda lost it's appeal and recent changes have made this title appeal even less to me. I really don't like the fact that they added a store where you can just buy the special items.
  12. Nov 10, 2011
    7
    Okay guys, TF2 on release was near perfect, when it got to right before the engineer update, it WAS perfect, but then EVERYTHING changed, it went from a nice shoot em up team based combat game to a hat trading online store (Literally) But its free now, worth your time, ive been playing for a very long time (almost 1000 hours) and I think its still playable, but not nearly as fun as it usedOkay guys, TF2 on release was near perfect, when it got to right before the engineer update, it WAS perfect, but then EVERYTHING changed, it went from a nice shoot em up team based combat game to a hat trading online store (Literally) But its free now, worth your time, ive been playing for a very long time (almost 1000 hours) and I think its still playable, but not nearly as fun as it used to be, I agree that it deserves to be re graded, but then you could also say in its defense that we would all be bored of it by now if it did not update. I would think otherwise. I liked the idea of only getting hats by grinding and not blind robbery. Expand
  13. CRL
    Jul 25, 2011
    7
    This was not why I bought the Orange Box, as I'm not big with multiplayer gaming. However since then it's proven to be surprisingly fun, and there's something there for anyone. While it's a bit outshone by the rest of the Orange Box, TF2 is still a fun and addictive game.
  14. Jul 11, 2013
    5
    I bought the Orange Box so naturally I am angry that the game is now "free.

    The game has never fully captured my interest. On all the servers I played on last night, I went 50 kills and like 2 deaths with Pyro. Nobody can stop me, and I don't have any upgrades or anything. The game is flat out too darn easy because of all the 5-12 year old kids playing. F2P ruined the game. Period.
    I bought the Orange Box so naturally I am angry that the game is now "free.

    The game has never fully captured my interest. On all the servers I played on last night, I went 50 kills and like 2 deaths with Pyro. Nobody can stop me, and I don't have any upgrades or anything. The game is flat out too darn easy because of all the 5-12 year old kids playing.

    F2P ruined the game. Period. Back in 1996 when I played the original, you had to have a lot of skill in the game. Noobs would get owned over and over. Now... there's no skill at all. It's just hats.

    Valve, don't make games like this free. That was a bad move. Let the kids grow up or let them purchase the game and commit to getting good at it.

    It's just flat out too easy. I can't stress this more. You grow tired of playing because of the low level of skill everyone has.

    I'm not even gonna comment on how over done the graphics are. It takes years to load a map.
    Expand
  15. Feb 8, 2012
    5
    The game was a perfect game on release, now mods and a free to play business plan have destroyed the game and community. This hat-collecting simulator devoured the perfect teamwork-based game that was Team Fortress 2 and replaced it with a terrible, terrible game.
  16. Stealthmanstealthy
    May 17, 2008
    6
    The game is so-so. the graphics are good with comic look and sm 3. the gameplay is not that good because it is simple and lagged to perform stuff like jumping. the first game is more dynamic this one is very different but it still is its sequel. i dont like it very much i stick to the oldies, classics and counter-strike non-source for example, because the newer games aren't too cool The game is so-so. the graphics are good with comic look and sm 3. the gameplay is not that good because it is simple and lagged to perform stuff like jumping. the first game is more dynamic this one is very different but it still is its sequel. i dont like it very much i stick to the oldies, classics and counter-strike non-source for example, because the newer games aren't too cool as the old. Expand
  17. Sep 6, 2013
    6
    The original TF2 was awesome, but Valve totally screwd the games with hats and needless things like that, also, the announcer of the game is just horrible! It is a old woman just trying to yell at the screen, nevertheless, I will say this game deserves a 6.
  18. zooterboy
    Dec 13, 2009
    5
    I'm missing something. I must be. Because all these people that are spewing love letters to Valve over this game are making me scratch my head. I've played quite a few hours of this game, trying all the classes, different servers, etc. I'm still waiting for the 'great' thing in this. It is flat out boring. Along with that is the inevitable 'destroy the I'm missing something. I must be. Because all these people that are spewing love letters to Valve over this game are making me scratch my head. I've played quite a few hours of this game, trying all the classes, different servers, etc. I'm still waiting for the 'great' thing in this. It is flat out boring. Along with that is the inevitable 'destroy the noob' factor that plagues the human race; so that it is nearly impossible to ever learn this game because you're being mocked by every player you ever meet. I didn't buy this game when it came out, I didn't give it a try until almost 2 years later, and I don't know why I ever bought it. Oh, and additionally, there is a serious lack of any kind of documentation that would assist someone learning this game. I found that fact alone horrifyingly blatant. The game has some good points: the humor is good; the artistic direction is pretty good, though a bit simplistic; and it has a lot of maps. For me, it's just run of the mill stuff, nothing really special about it. (no, I didn't buy the orange box, and I don't own an Xbox. And I have a better PC than most) Expand
  19. AnonymousMC
    May 1, 2008
    5
    A good looking game with a great sense of humor that has a lot of potential for a good team game. Unfortunately that's where the praise ends. The maps are too small often with only a couple of entry points to each control point often creating stalemates. The all class grenade spamming of TFC has been replaced with Demomen grenade and sticky bomb spamming and Sentry Gun camping of TF2.A good looking game with a great sense of humor that has a lot of potential for a good team game. Unfortunately that's where the praise ends. The maps are too small often with only a couple of entry points to each control point often creating stalemates. The all class grenade spamming of TFC has been replaced with Demomen grenade and sticky bomb spamming and Sentry Gun camping of TF2. There's talk of strategy but the implementation of a random critical hits system and the aforementioned small maps sucks that out like a mosquito on your arm. The kill cam means that being a spy or sniper is a dangerous occupation as the people you kill will know where to go looking. Team Fortress is by no means bad, it's competent but that's it, more something you'd rent for a night so you can have a laugh rather than buy to implement creative strategy on a battlefield. Expand
  20. DS
    Feb 18, 2008
    5
    Not as cool as the first one. Sure the graphics are better, but there is not a lot of skill needed for many classes. I miss the grenades of TFC, the pyro flamethrower is almost useless because you have to be soo close to hit, and the damage it does is not much unless you corner them. They need to beef that up. Literally half the time it wont start, but goes to a white screen and just Not as cool as the first one. Sure the graphics are better, but there is not a lot of skill needed for many classes. I miss the grenades of TFC, the pyro flamethrower is almost useless because you have to be soo close to hit, and the damage it does is not much unless you corner them. They need to beef that up. Literally half the time it wont start, but goes to a white screen and just dies. The biggest disappointment is the invisibility of the spy. They might as well just kill you at random because that is what the spy ends up doing anyways. You are getting a good battle going, and out of no where you die. No chance of even seeing what killed you. Since they shift camera to who just killed you, if its a sniper it gives away their position. I don't play the sniper, but i imagine that has to irritate them. I miss the grappling hook too, as well as maps like 4fort4. After waiting for ten year in vaporland, I think they could have done better Expand
  21. Jan 1, 2013
    6
    I had my fair share of fun with this game. I liked the fact that it played so differently from other shooters. Yea, maybe the graphic style was part of the reason why I liked it, but also because gunplay is just so different in this game.
    There's no "gunner class" like in other shooters. Each class plays differently and has it's own jobs.
    This is certainly no deathmatch game, all modes
    I had my fair share of fun with this game. I liked the fact that it played so differently from other shooters. Yea, maybe the graphic style was part of the reason why I liked it, but also because gunplay is just so different in this game.
    There's no "gunner class" like in other shooters. Each class plays differently and has it's own jobs.
    This is certainly no deathmatch game, all modes need some sort of teamwork.

    This is all fine and good for the first few hours, but then you start to realize something. Every match is basically a routine. The fact that you're pretty **** when trying to do something outside of your role in the team makes you pretty much do the same things over and over again.

    Then there's also the horrible drop system. Now I like the fact that pretty much everyone has a chance in this game, even newcommers. There's no leveling system like in other games that makes you unlock better equipment. Every new weapon has it's pros and cons and can even change how you play the class.
    However the fact that weapons drop so randomly and inconsistantly makes you pretty much keep on playing for no real reason. You're just hoping that at one point you get the weapon you desire.

    Seeing how it's free to play, I'd say go give it a shot. There's certainly nothing to lose and fun to be had.
    Collapse
  22. Apr 2, 2012
    6
    Game becomes worse and worse with each update. Bullets lag so you can get killed seemingly through a wall but lag will make it so your "shadow" still appears as though it's not behind the wall. You can "backstab" someone from the side, top and bottom. And valve continues to bite into the "noob" influx from the f2p switch and release weapons that are easier and easier to get kills with.Game becomes worse and worse with each update. Bullets lag so you can get killed seemingly through a wall but lag will make it so your "shadow" still appears as though it's not behind the wall. You can "backstab" someone from the side, top and bottom. And valve continues to bite into the "noob" influx from the f2p switch and release weapons that are easier and easier to get kills with. Turning into a sad CoD wannabe. Expand
  23. May 7, 2012
    5
    For a f2p it's a nice game.The graphics are fun and the classes are good, but the hat stuff ruined it, and mega HP is annoying.I only played 2 hours and got bored, so 5/10.
  24. KentB.
    Nov 13, 2007
    5
    As a sequel, its a great disappointment. Team Fortress Classic (TFC) had a rich array of game types and maps, mostly thanks to the community that kept it alive. Each class in TFC had a multitude of abilities and a real depth of skill to be acquired. TF2 could have build upon that depth, but chose instead to make the game more shallow. There are fewer game types, less class-specific skills As a sequel, its a great disappointment. Team Fortress Classic (TFC) had a rich array of game types and maps, mostly thanks to the community that kept it alive. Each class in TFC had a multitude of abilities and a real depth of skill to be acquired. TF2 could have build upon that depth, but chose instead to make the game more shallow. There are fewer game types, less class-specific skills to learn, fewer weapons, and fewer inter-class interactions. Overall, the game is a regression, rather than a progression, of team fortress. That said, it does have a great artistic appeal and certainly makes the classes unique. That appears to have been their main goal, and they achieved that. Its just unfortunate that valve didn't build upon the classic multiplayer that they had rather than tear it down to something that equates to a cosmetic overhaul to the day of defeat. Expand
  25. Oct 8, 2011
    5
    Why? Why don't I like this game? I was very excited about the game's unique look, interesting characters, brilliant voice acting and hilarious promotional videos. To this day, I find it one of the most beautiful games ever made. But that's where my enthusiasm stops, because as soon as I join a match, I lose all of it. The game just plays so... rigid. Maybe it's just me being bad at theWhy? Why don't I like this game? I was very excited about the game's unique look, interesting characters, brilliant voice acting and hilarious promotional videos. To this day, I find it one of the most beautiful games ever made. But that's where my enthusiasm stops, because as soon as I join a match, I lose all of it. The game just plays so... rigid. Maybe it's just me being bad at the game, but none of the classes really feel like they matter. I bought the game fairly late, and I hear people saying that "it used to be better, now it's more of a hat trading game than an actual shooter". Then suddenly, Valve decided to milk the cow even more by making TF2 a free-to-play game, run by a micro transaction system. This just felt like a stab in the back of the people who bought the game, because suddenly having bought the game beforehand didn't matter, you still had to pay. I know the items you can buy are not really giving you much of an advantage, but I still find it a cheap trick. I respect Valve and I really enjoy most of their games, but I hope they don't make a habit out of this. Expand
  26. Zed
    Aug 26, 2009
    6
    I got this game with the orange box when it first came out. when i first started playing this game i thought it was brilliant, the sort of game i was looking for... it was geniunely fun and worked really well... that is of course when valve decieded to be tossers and patch the crap out of the game... the new maps were okay, though the only one i actually like is badwater. but it was the I got this game with the orange box when it first came out. when i first started playing this game i thought it was brilliant, the sort of game i was looking for... it was geniunely fun and worked really well... that is of course when valve decieded to be tossers and patch the crap out of the game... the new maps were okay, though the only one i actually like is badwater. but it was the class updates that infuriated me with the new weapons and alike ruining the balance of the game... well the whole game infact. i mean if it aint broke why fix it? it really killed it for me, and after a year of being annoyed i finally re-installed the game to find more updates and some truely awful maps... hoodoo is the worst that i can remember. so i had to go back to my favorites... (2fort, dustbowl, hydro and well) and try and enjoy the game... yes the game is still fun, but just doesn't give me the evil smile on my face after i get humiliating kills that it used to. still a good game, but that's it. Expand
  27. KG
    Oct 25, 2007
    6
    At the end of the day, after you play this game for an hour, it just comes off as boring and uninspired. Cartoony graphics, underpowered weapons and sluggish movement ruin what otherwise might be a nice concept. In spite of being a class based team game it reeks of shallowness and pandering to the masses. If someone is looking for a good strategic FPS that rewards skill and intelligence At the end of the day, after you play this game for an hour, it just comes off as boring and uninspired. Cartoony graphics, underpowered weapons and sluggish movement ruin what otherwise might be a nice concept. In spite of being a class based team game it reeks of shallowness and pandering to the masses. If someone is looking for a good strategic FPS that rewards skill and intelligence equally I recommend Quake Wars or Red Orchestra. Expand
  28. Dec 30, 2010
    6
    To sum it up, it's counter-strike with a fancy skin. The game offers very little innovation. The got a comic style graphics, and is not afraid to joke about itself. The missions are generic battlefield-style points, capture flag or capture a package(information).
    There are a couple of different classes that you can choose from, which gives a mediocre feeling of diversity.
    There isn't very
    To sum it up, it's counter-strike with a fancy skin. The game offers very little innovation. The got a comic style graphics, and is not afraid to joke about itself. The missions are generic battlefield-style points, capture flag or capture a package(information).
    There are a couple of different classes that you can choose from, which gives a mediocre feeling of diversity.
    There isn't very much to say about this game, as I said it's just another FPS with a little touch to it.
    Expand
  29. AnonymousMC
    Mar 1, 2008
    6
    The game in its proposal is awesome.
    However compared with other games like battlefield I didnt like the playability.
    TF2 have very small scenarios and is very much fast paced.
    It apears that only those who are very much good can have some fun while noobs get wasted all the time and dont have fun at all.
    In BF2 I get wasted all the time but at least I make some score and I have a lot more fun.
  30. BlakeB
    Apr 10, 2008
    5
    Brilliant.
  31. Jan 1, 2013
    0
    I had my fair share of fun with this game. I liked the fact that it played so differently from other shooters. Yea, maybe the graphic style was part of the reason why I liked it, but also because gunplay is just so different in this game.
    There's no "gunner class" like in other shooters. Each class plays differently and has it's own jobs.
    This is certainly no deathmatch game, all modes
    I had my fair share of fun with this game. I liked the fact that it played so differently from other shooters. Yea, maybe the graphic style was part of the reason why I liked it, but also because gunplay is just so different in this game.
    There's no "gunner class" like in other shooters. Each class plays differently and has it's own jobs.
    This is certainly no deathmatch game, all modes need some sort of teamwork.

    This is all fine and good for the first few hours, but then you start to realize something. Every match is basically a routine. The fact that you're pretty **** when trying to do something outside of your role in the team makes you pretty much do the same things over and over again.

    Then there's also the horrible drop system. Now I like the fact that pretty much everyone has a chance in this game, even newcommers. There's no leveling system like in other games that makes you unlock better equipment. Every new weapon has it's pros and cons and can even change how you play the class.
    However the fact that weapons drop so randomly and inconsistantly makes you pretty much keep on playing for no real reason. You're just hoping that at one point you get the weapon you desire.

    Seeing how it's free to play, I'd say go give it a shot. There's certainly nothing to lose and fun to be had.
    Collapse
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. AceGamez
    100
    The marriage of highly stylised retro-spy presentation, fresh, high octane action, deep and varied classes and the underlying twinkle of humour in its metaphorical eye make Team Fortress 2 far more than just your average fragfest. Long after the novelty of the graphics wears thin, we are left with a refined and accessible multiplayer game that simultaneously cultivates new players whilst retaining enough depth to accommodate even the hardiest of veterans.
  2. The game also does a lovely job of framing your relationship with other players and nurturing them.
  3. It's one hell of a game. With its powerful artistic style and blazingly quick, yet accessible gameplay, it's enough to melt the icy cynicism imprisoning the hearts of even the most jaded among us. That being said, it's not the most complex shooter out there.