Team Fortress 2 PC

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 6050 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. GegolenS.
    Jun 27, 2008
    4
    Not bad. Spies are overpowered and it lacks the class balance that the original QW TF had. Definitely better on the PC, don't even bother on a console.
  2. AC
    Oct 19, 2007
    0
    Does not match the old TF... got rid of grenades, faking death, demopacks, and much more. The maps seem to be shorter and the over all feel just leaves me unsatisfied. All these years of waiting for this? I say take it back and maybe in a year or two more you may just have the right stuff.
  3. Jul 12, 2011
    3
    JUST a fail it sucks i rather play E.T. than this stupid game. really why is this game so great i don't see it. and its very buggy and low quality so reallt bad.
  4. KG
    Oct 25, 2007
    6
    At the end of the day, after you play this game for an hour, it just comes off as boring and uninspired. Cartoony graphics, underpowered weapons and sluggish movement ruin what otherwise might be a nice concept. In spite of being a class based team game it reeks of shallowness and pandering to the masses. If someone is looking for a good strategic FPS that rewards skill and intelligence At the end of the day, after you play this game for an hour, it just comes off as boring and uninspired. Cartoony graphics, underpowered weapons and sluggish movement ruin what otherwise might be a nice concept. In spite of being a class based team game it reeks of shallowness and pandering to the masses. If someone is looking for a good strategic FPS that rewards skill and intelligence equally I recommend Quake Wars or Red Orchestra. Expand
  5. BeanB.
    Oct 13, 2007
    0
    this game is nothing compared to its previous incarnation. The higher end skills that you could develop have been removed from the game leaving the game for average players. Like DOD Source Valve has decided to move their games to a place where skill is developed to where you cant develop past a certain point. For sure this game will not have the shelf life of TFC because it has none of this game is nothing compared to its previous incarnation. The higher end skills that you could develop have been removed from the game leaving the game for average players. Like DOD Source Valve has decided to move their games to a place where skill is developed to where you cant develop past a certain point. For sure this game will not have the shelf life of TFC because it has none of its class. Expand
  6. Dec 30, 2010
    6
    To sum it up, it's counter-strike with a fancy skin. The game offers very little innovation. The got a comic style graphics, and is not afraid to joke about itself. The missions are generic battlefield-style points, capture flag or capture a package(information).
    There are a couple of different classes that you can choose from, which gives a mediocre feeling of diversity.
    There isn't very
    To sum it up, it's counter-strike with a fancy skin. The game offers very little innovation. The got a comic style graphics, and is not afraid to joke about itself. The missions are generic battlefield-style points, capture flag or capture a package(information).
    There are a couple of different classes that you can choose from, which gives a mediocre feeling of diversity.
    There isn't very much to say about this game, as I said it's just another FPS with a little touch to it.
    Expand
  7. GabrielU
    Jan 24, 2010
    4
    I don't understand the big buzz around this game. It's a little fun. This game is just too "simple", I mean, just few maps, games, most of characters are dull (scout, medic, soldier, heavy, bomberman)... I've played few hours with joy, now it's boring. Meh, I think that I shall install UT2k4 once again. Or go RO! But it's different kind of online fps.
  8. Dec 28, 2012
    0
    Boring, too many updates.. its just a hat game, the list goes on and on and on.. No wonder its a free game, stay away! When I got this game it was part of the orange box, If when I purchased the orange box and knew about Team Fortress 2 at the time. I would of not have bought it. But I bought it only for the Half Life 2 series. Just a huge disappointment and largely a waste of hard drive space
  9. Nov 30, 2012
    0
    This game sucks. I don't understand the hype behind it and I couldn't play over an hour before getting bored. It is a hat simulator with no sense of achievement, and valve charging tons of money for these hats is absolutely pathetic, even worse is the people who buy them. This game is mindless and there is nothing unique about it.
  10. Dr.BeardSmithy
    Jan 9, 2010
    10
    Great Game! I never get tired of it! Make a Teamfortress 3 or just update the characters more!
  11. TobiasS.
    Jun 10, 2008
    10
    Very funny, and it's worth every dollar I paid for it. Getting rewarderd with unlockable items by completing achivements was an excellent idea the TF2-Team came up with. It gives you kind of the same feeling you get when you level up in an MMORPG, but it still doesn't make it impossible for an unexperienced player to kill an experienced player, very nice. Even thought the game Very funny, and it's worth every dollar I paid for it. Getting rewarderd with unlockable items by completing achivements was an excellent idea the TF2-Team came up with. It gives you kind of the same feeling you get when you level up in an MMORPG, but it still doesn't make it impossible for an unexperienced player to kill an experienced player, very nice. Even thought the game was realesed 2007, it doesn't require a very good computer which is very good as well. All classes in the team are has something special and gives you a reason to play them all. And maybe the best thing with TF2, losing doesn't make it less funny. Expand
  12. B.S.
    Jun 7, 2008
    10
    This is by far one of the best online multiplayer games out there! I've never seen something like it ever. I used to think that Team Fortress 2 would be the worst part of the Orange Box, but it wasn't, I'd say it was one of the best parts of it(except for the Half-life 2 series). This is a game you would HAVE TO BUY! This is a perfect ten, no bugs or anything with smooth This is by far one of the best online multiplayer games out there! I've never seen something like it ever. I used to think that Team Fortress 2 would be the worst part of the Orange Box, but it wasn't, I'd say it was one of the best parts of it(except for the Half-life 2 series). This is a game you would HAVE TO BUY! This is a perfect ten, no bugs or anything with smooth gameplay and GREAT graphics. That is way I give this game a 10 out of 10. Expand
  13. FreddieK
    Jun 9, 2008
    10
    I consider myself a hardcore fps'er and always play / played the games which require some skill and tactics like. TF2 is a nice change to that mix, it is a simple game which is so straight forward it's Fun. I can honestly say i was not to fussed about it and got it as part of the OB, i figured i'd give it ago to see what it was like and since then iv'e been hooked. I consider myself a hardcore fps'er and always play / played the games which require some skill and tactics like. TF2 is a nice change to that mix, it is a simple game which is so straight forward it's Fun. I can honestly say i was not to fussed about it and got it as part of the OB, i figured i'd give it ago to see what it was like and since then iv'e been hooked. It's a rare game where once you start playin you can't stop. The classes all have the ability to take on one another which is something i like in a game, i myself am a pyro player which is underated and underpowerd BUT with tactics employed it can become very deadly. This game is not meant to be taken seriously and its meant for pick up and play ability, there is no such thing as a Pro in this game i find as anyone can take on anyone in this game and stand a fair chance, My only real gripe is the critical hit buisness, i can understand why they are there but it just not seem fair for the team on the reciving end for example 1 Crit rocket or grenade will end the life of anythin with health less than 150 outright and there is nothing that can be done about it. Other than that its a solid newcomer and an instant classic, sure it does not keep to the original but id rather play somethign new and refreshing than old and boring (grenade spam is not a fun way to play a game no matter what way you cut it) Expand
  14. MelowS.
    Jul 29, 2008
    10
    This game has, and continues to get, a lot of polish. From the expresive characters and silly one liners, to the serious team work needed to push past some strong defenses, to the random and often heroic way things can pan out, this game has almost unlimited replay value. It may be cartoony, and it may not have very realistic weapon and firing models, but luckily these all just contribute This game has, and continues to get, a lot of polish. From the expresive characters and silly one liners, to the serious team work needed to push past some strong defenses, to the random and often heroic way things can pan out, this game has almost unlimited replay value. It may be cartoony, and it may not have very realistic weapon and firing models, but luckily these all just contribute to making the game a blast. Unlike other games (counter-strike) you won't be destroyed instantly by people who have been playing nonstop for the past 8 years. The diversity in classes, and the relatively low amount of point-click-kill classes makes things like being sneaky and exploiting situations more important. That isn't to say that you can't get good at this game. You can, and there are many players that consistently dominate servers. However, the beauty of it is that relatively new players can end up in the top three too, just by having a great round, getting some good medic heals (or doing some good healing) or just happening to detonate some sticky bombs under 10 players by chance. This game has been criticized for one feature, which is that all melee and ranged weapons have a low chance of getting a critical hit (double damage). This means that you can run out of ammo, pull out your machete, and send an otherwise capable player with a full clip sailing through the air like a rag doll. These critics need to realized that the critical hits are just another fun way of getting unpredictable outcomes in otherwise boring repetitive gameplay. I have watched enough knife fights in counter-strike (yawn) to realized the value of this feature and its overall contribution to replay value. So in summary, if you like online multilayer games, appreciate amazing heroics, last second saves, OMGWTFBBQ moments and the prospect of new features always being on the horizon, play this game. Expand
  15. DanielR.
    Jul 3, 2008
    10
    It is a fun, entertaining, and silly game that is easy to laugh over. Instead of pounding the keyboard when the pyro lights my disguised spy on fire, i crack up to the reaction that the enemy team gets when i am running around their base screaming for a medic.
  16. Jean-PhilippeD.
    Oct 14, 2007
    10
    This is by far the most exciting and fluent FPS I have ever played. I don't generally like shooters, but TF2 REALLY changed that, with it's wide variety of classes to play, wether you like to be in the action, kicking some butt, or supporting your teammates at a distance, or healing them, there's just so many classes, it is hard to find someone who will not like the game!
  17. =Sixpack=
    Oct 2, 2008
    10
    Since 1998 and the days of online Quake2 i haven't played anything that came close,and trust me i have played them all,forget anything people tell you and try this - its great fun and learning each class is an art in its own right,i can only play three classes with any conviction. TF2 - you wont regret it.
  18. AnonymousMC
    Mar 1, 2008
    6
    The game in its proposal is awesome.
    However compared with other games like battlefield I didnt like the playability.
    TF2 have very small scenarios and is very much fast paced.
    It apears that only those who are very much good can have some fun while noobs get wasted all the time and dont have fun at all.
    In BF2 I get wasted all the time but at least I make some score and I have a lot more fun.
  19. BlakeB
    Apr 10, 2008
    5
    Brilliant.
  20. DrewF.
    Jun 10, 2008
    9
    I just love the way that this game looks!!! Cartoony and fun. It is just that, Fun. If you like you Online FPS's like the COD 4 monster, then I don't think you'll like this, but if you just wana have some fun blowing things up, and shouting 'Cry some more' whilst shooting a gun that cost $40,000 to shoot a minuet, then go for this game. Always being added to as I just love the way that this game looks!!! Cartoony and fun. It is just that, Fun. If you like you Online FPS's like the COD 4 monster, then I don't think you'll like this, but if you just wana have some fun blowing things up, and shouting 'Cry some more' whilst shooting a gun that cost $40,000 to shoot a minuet, then go for this game. Always being added to as well. Real team game play!! Expand
  21. JoakimF.
    Jul 8, 2008
    10
    This is a great game with a great 50's or 60's comicbook-feel to it. The comical feel to the game makes this game wonderful, and with the "Silhouette-design" it's easy to see what enemy you'll be facing even at a far distance. The co-op in the team is nice and there's always new tactics to use. I love this game!
  22. DaveC
    Aug 27, 2008
    10
    TF2 is the most fun I've had with any online shooter, the voice acting for the different classes is top-of-the-class, the irreverent humor even if you win or loose makes you want to play another round. The graphics make it visually appealing, nothing short of gorgeous, and the game play experience between the different classes make it almost a new tactical game every time you choose TF2 is the most fun I've had with any online shooter, the voice acting for the different classes is top-of-the-class, the irreverent humor even if you win or loose makes you want to play another round. The graphics make it visually appealing, nothing short of gorgeous, and the game play experience between the different classes make it almost a new tactical game every time you choose a new character to duke it out with. Different types of MP gaming may become a bit repetitive after the first few hundred hours of playing, but honestly, i have no problem with it. 10/10 all the way. Hands down an addition to the hall of fame. Expand
  23. SamuelP.
    Sep 19, 2008
    10
    Team Fortress 2 is definitely something new and exciting from Valve Software. It's a fun game with plenty of characters and a lot to do, and the game is colorfully designed. The game, a project of the source engine, is definitely brilliant with high quality graphics and sounds; it's a must buy for any online gamer.
  24. RickN.
    Sep 26, 2008
    10
    I'm not a professional gamer, but I have been in the high-tech electronics and computer industry professionally for about 39 years. I just know when I like something well enough to comment about it. I play some multi-player online games and they all offer some level of enjoyment, but Team Fortress 2 has been my favorite to date. I must admit that I was not very impressed with tf2 the I'm not a professional gamer, but I have been in the high-tech electronics and computer industry professionally for about 39 years. I just know when I like something well enough to comment about it. I play some multi-player online games and they all offer some level of enjoyment, but Team Fortress 2 has been my favorite to date. I must admit that I was not very impressed with tf2 the first time I played it at a friends house, because I could not stay alive long enough to see much of what I was playing. Since then, that same friend put up a tf2 server and made it family oriented. Since then I play it frequently and have a great time. One of my sons lives in a different state and we have played some online games before and tf2 is the one we both like the best of all the other games. I also have a 12 year old grand daughter, who likes to play and I like the cartoon body parts that we see and the personality and humor in the characters. Some of the in-game language could be cleaned up for the younger players, in my opinion, but this is the one game that we can all play as a family online and have a great time, loaded with lots of action. My mindset is different when I play tf2. I play it for fun and enjoyment, so I don't get so uptight when I don't do well, because playing this game constantly reminds me that it's only a game. The custom maps are very enjoyable to play and a few of our members have made some maps. The graphics is great and the gameplay is very fluid. Of course, being in the computer industry, I build my own computer systems and networks, so I have learned what works well together. Windows XP 32-bit and Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit are the systems that I mostly use. I recommend Team Fortress 2 to everyone that wants to get started playing online. It is easy to understand and full of action from the very start. I love the different character classes and the way they look and taunt, but it is a great example of how everyone has a valuable talent when you play together. Expand
  25. NathanielH.
    Jul 8, 2009
    5
    Reason for low vote. snipers out of balance with rest of game. also numerous hacks where snipers always get head shot even thru walls, scouts 2 shot from 25 feet away with a shot gun and demo mans nades exploded whenin proxy instead of after certain time. since they have no real anti cheat software but for the steam vac a lot of hackers are rampart in game now.
  26. FarisalF
    Jan 21, 2010
    10
    Best multi game ever! And yet it is updated and alive. Fun and more fun. Brilliant! I am not a gay but I love Robin Walker :) Great job indeed.
  27. MichaelM.
    Nov 3, 2007
    10
    Fantastic gameplay. I wasn't big on the removal of grenades, but now that I've been playing, it makes for a better experience. No more spamming. Watch the detail of the characters. They lean depending on the direction they are running. Little things too, like the rope on the Engy's belt sways as he runs. It's good stuff. If you haven't played it yet, go buy it. Fantastic gameplay. I wasn't big on the removal of grenades, but now that I've been playing, it makes for a better experience. No more spamming. Watch the detail of the characters. They lean depending on the direction they are running. Little things too, like the rope on the Engy's belt sways as he runs. It's good stuff. If you haven't played it yet, go buy it. Now. Do it. Expand
  28. TomN.
    Oct 25, 2008
    10
    Appears to be a marmite game. Fantastic in every way. I have chalked up over one hundred hours on this game and I still love lt. The team work aspect is unparelleled in any other game (maybe Red Orchestra comes close). You cannot go it alone, you need your team mates and if you are in a team which wants to win (I haven't encountered many that don't so far), then you can't Appears to be a marmite game. Fantastic in every way. I have chalked up over one hundred hours on this game and I still love lt. The team work aspect is unparelleled in any other game (maybe Red Orchestra comes close). You cannot go it alone, you need your team mates and if you are in a team which wants to win (I haven't encountered many that don't so far), then you can't go wrong. Nothing like the camp fest that is DoDs. I can't wait for the additional achievement packs. Expand
  29. ThatMudkipGuy
    May 25, 2008
    10
    I usually never buy onine games, but when the Gold Rush free 3-day trial came on, i decided to give it a try, and downloaded it. What i found was nothing short of a diamond mine. Graphics were awesome. The way classes were dependent with each other was awesome. The 10 million people which quickly became my nemesis were exciting. I had racked up about 40 hours of gameplay, when I was I usually never buy onine games, but when the Gold Rush free 3-day trial came on, i decided to give it a try, and downloaded it. What i found was nothing short of a diamond mine. Graphics were awesome. The way classes were dependent with each other was awesome. The 10 million people which quickly became my nemesis were exciting. I had racked up about 40 hours of gameplay, when I was kicked off, and the trial was over. I knew that this was a game not to miss, and somtime in the next week, downloaded it. It still does not cease to amaze or challenge me, even after weeks, maybe months gone by. This is quite possibly the Best Game for the PC right now, and will be for the next few years. Good job, Valve team! Expand
  30. CC.
    May 31, 2008
    10
    I gave this game a 10 because of its visual art style, simplistic but addictive gameplay, the balance each class has over each other, and just overall fun and the design of the game. Even if you have not played other multi-player games before, I think that if you pick up this game, you might have a hard time putting it down.
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. AceGamez
    100
    The marriage of highly stylised retro-spy presentation, fresh, high octane action, deep and varied classes and the underlying twinkle of humour in its metaphorical eye make Team Fortress 2 far more than just your average fragfest. Long after the novelty of the graphics wears thin, we are left with a refined and accessible multiplayer game that simultaneously cultivates new players whilst retaining enough depth to accommodate even the hardiest of veterans.
  2. The game also does a lovely job of framing your relationship with other players and nurturing them.
  3. It's one hell of a game. With its powerful artistic style and blazingly quick, yet accessible gameplay, it's enough to melt the icy cynicism imprisoning the hearts of even the most jaded among us. That being said, it's not the most complex shooter out there.