User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 5482 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dr.BeardSmithy
    Jan 9, 2010
    10
    Great Game! I never get tired of it! Make a Teamfortress 3 or just update the characters more!
  2. MikeM.
    Jan 16, 2008
    10
    Hands down, the best online shooter ever created. Valve has created a masterpiece and brought back what it means to have fun with your friends online!
  3. CheahY.
    Jun 10, 2008
    10
    It is simply awsome with all the upgrade weapon and best gameplay!!!!!!
  4. AnonymousMC
    Sep 2, 2009
    10
    Team Fortress 2 is one of the most entertaining multi-player games out. Even though it has been out for almost 2 years now, it is still widely played. Valve is releasing update content for TF2 as well. Best of all, unline some other games that require you to continue to pay for content as it is released, all of the TF2 update content is free. And there is no monthly subscription. Buy theTeam Fortress 2 is one of the most entertaining multi-player games out. Even though it has been out for almost 2 years now, it is still widely played. Valve is releasing update content for TF2 as well. Best of all, unline some other games that require you to continue to pay for content as it is released, all of the TF2 update content is free. And there is no monthly subscription. Buy the game, and you can play it as much as you want. Expand
  5. armaguy
    Jan 3, 2010
    10
    If you like FPS games and you have gotten a sense of humour you will like the game. I my self like the humour the shooting and the fact that the game grows all the time. It grows by giving the classes (9 classes in the game) achievments that will open weapons for the class. You can unlock the weapons by doing a right amount of the achievments. I can't find any minus points for the If you like FPS games and you have gotten a sense of humour you will like the game. I my self like the humour the shooting and the fact that the game grows all the time. It grows by giving the classes (9 classes in the game) achievments that will open weapons for the class. You can unlock the weapons by doing a right amount of the achievments. I can't find any minus points for the game. It is good that you can buy the game with orange box if you don't have any half life 2 then go there and buy orange box(the game is also sold alone) This is a must buy!!! Expand
  6. AshB.
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    Best FPS ever. this game sets the standard for FPS's now, and will not be a easy thing to beat. the classes are diverse and the gameplay is outstanding, this is not some boring quake frag fest, this is a tactical fast paced FPS that will not be replaced by another game anytime soon.
  7. SirC.
    Oct 17, 2007
    10
    One of the most engaging team action games ever to grace our computer screens, TF2 is perfect fun and dangerously compelling. It has the kind of magnetic appeal that keeps us glued to the game and coming back for more. The character mix is ideal, enabling and encouraging cooperative play; and the rapid respawn permits character change mid-game, making it beneficial to those with a One of the most engaging team action games ever to grace our computer screens, TF2 is perfect fun and dangerously compelling. It has the kind of magnetic appeal that keeps us glued to the game and coming back for more. The character mix is ideal, enabling and encouraging cooperative play; and the rapid respawn permits character change mid-game, making it beneficial to those with a team-view of life. Hours of hilarious fun for a pittance, I take my hat off to Valve. I love this doctor! Expand
  8. JakeH.
    Feb 13, 2008
    10
    AMAZING! This game is absolutely perfect. Balance is great, encourages teamwork. Excellent maps in balance, character, and uniqueness. I would recommend this game to ANYONE who enjoys shooters.
  9. AnonymousMC
    Feb 1, 2008
    10
    Awesome game, Best FPS out there hands down. I seem to notice the only people who vote it poorly are people looking for a nice tactical game(You're obviously not intellegent enough to notice the non tactical graphics) and people who expect it to be a remake of TFC. Personally I though TFC SUCKED. But thats not my point, the point is that this game where meant to be exactly like TFCAwesome game, Best FPS out there hands down. I seem to notice the only people who vote it poorly are people looking for a nice tactical game(You're obviously not intellegent enough to notice the non tactical graphics) and people who expect it to be a remake of TFC. Personally I though TFC SUCKED. But thats not my point, the point is that this game where meant to be exactly like TFC they would have renamed it Team Fortress Source not 2. Its a NEW game not a cheap ripoff and frankly its the most entertaining multiplayer game I've ever played. Expand
  10. AnonymousMC
    Mar 10, 2008
    10
    An awesome game, the best "team" game I've ever played. Having no single player mode means that comparing it to other FPS just isn't possible. However since playing this I now find the single player FPS games dull, linear and lacking any subtlety. TFT
  11. AnonymousMC
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    I would have given this game a 9.8 or something if I could have, but between a 9 and a 10, this game gets the perfect score. There are the occasional flaws, and the style of game play certainly isn't the usual hit and run and repeat mode of FPS shooters today. Team play is a MUST, and you won't survive long unless you utilize the games exact focus, your teammates. Amazing gameI would have given this game a 9.8 or something if I could have, but between a 9 and a 10, this game gets the perfect score. There are the occasional flaws, and the style of game play certainly isn't the usual hit and run and repeat mode of FPS shooters today. Team play is a MUST, and you won't survive long unless you utilize the games exact focus, your teammates. Amazing game play, hilarious extras, HOURS and HOURS of redeeming value. I'll be playing this one for years. Expand
  12. AnonymousMC
    May 4, 2008
    10
    Dear D S,

    The grappling hook was a mod, part of NeoTF. It's not actually TFC. Also, 4fort4 is a custom map. The death cam prevents the spies from camping in the same spot and makes them use skill. The spy's invisibility helps new players, since the spy used to be an impossible class for any one just joining. All in all, TF2 is turning into an amazing game especially with the
    Dear D S,

    The grappling hook was a mod, part of NeoTF. It's not actually TFC. Also, 4fort4 is a custom map. The death cam prevents the spies from camping in the same spot and makes them use skill. The spy's invisibility helps new players, since the spy used to be an impossible class for any one just joining. All in all, TF2 is turning into an amazing game especially with the new addon for the medic and soon for all the other classes, with new weapons and the new gold rush map.
    Expand
  13. JeffN.
    Jun 1, 2008
    10
    This is a very good game and a lot of fun when you play it with your friends.
  14. TobiasS.
    Jun 10, 2008
    10
    Very funny, and it's worth every dollar I paid for it. Getting rewarderd with unlockable items by completing achivements was an excellent idea the TF2-Team came up with. It gives you kind of the same feeling you get when you level up in an MMORPG, but it still doesn't make it impossible for an unexperienced player to kill an experienced player, very nice. Even thought the game Very funny, and it's worth every dollar I paid for it. Getting rewarderd with unlockable items by completing achivements was an excellent idea the TF2-Team came up with. It gives you kind of the same feeling you get when you level up in an MMORPG, but it still doesn't make it impossible for an unexperienced player to kill an experienced player, very nice. Even thought the game was realesed 2007, it doesn't require a very good computer which is very good as well. All classes in the team are has something special and gives you a reason to play them all. And maybe the best thing with TF2, losing doesn't make it less funny. Expand
  15. LeopoldK
    Jun 1, 2008
    10
    It's a new level of multiplayer games!
  16. B.S.
    Jun 7, 2008
    10
    This is by far one of the best online multiplayer games out there! I've never seen something like it ever. I used to think that Team Fortress 2 would be the worst part of the Orange Box, but it wasn't, I'd say it was one of the best parts of it(except for the Half-life 2 series). This is a game you would HAVE TO BUY! This is a perfect ten, no bugs or anything with smooth This is by far one of the best online multiplayer games out there! I've never seen something like it ever. I used to think that Team Fortress 2 would be the worst part of the Orange Box, but it wasn't, I'd say it was one of the best parts of it(except for the Half-life 2 series). This is a game you would HAVE TO BUY! This is a perfect ten, no bugs or anything with smooth gameplay and GREAT graphics. That is way I give this game a 10 out of 10. Expand
  17. FreddieK
    Jun 9, 2008
    10
    I consider myself a hardcore fps'er and always play / played the games which require some skill and tactics like. TF2 is a nice change to that mix, it is a simple game which is so straight forward it's Fun. I can honestly say i was not to fussed about it and got it as part of the OB, i figured i'd give it ago to see what it was like and since then iv'e been hooked. I consider myself a hardcore fps'er and always play / played the games which require some skill and tactics like. TF2 is a nice change to that mix, it is a simple game which is so straight forward it's Fun. I can honestly say i was not to fussed about it and got it as part of the OB, i figured i'd give it ago to see what it was like and since then iv'e been hooked. It's a rare game where once you start playin you can't stop. The classes all have the ability to take on one another which is something i like in a game, i myself am a pyro player which is underated and underpowerd BUT with tactics employed it can become very deadly. This game is not meant to be taken seriously and its meant for pick up and play ability, there is no such thing as a Pro in this game i find as anyone can take on anyone in this game and stand a fair chance, My only real gripe is the critical hit buisness, i can understand why they are there but it just not seem fair for the team on the reciving end for example 1 Crit rocket or grenade will end the life of anythin with health less than 150 outright and there is nothing that can be done about it. Other than that its a solid newcomer and an instant classic, sure it does not keep to the original but id rather play somethign new and refreshing than old and boring (grenade spam is not a fun way to play a game no matter what way you cut it) Expand
  18. JamesM.
    Jul 10, 2008
    10
    It is a very fun multiplayer experience.
  19. MelowS.
    Jul 29, 2008
    10
    This game has, and continues to get, a lot of polish. From the expresive characters and silly one liners, to the serious team work needed to push past some strong defenses, to the random and often heroic way things can pan out, this game has almost unlimited replay value. It may be cartoony, and it may not have very realistic weapon and firing models, but luckily these all just contribute This game has, and continues to get, a lot of polish. From the expresive characters and silly one liners, to the serious team work needed to push past some strong defenses, to the random and often heroic way things can pan out, this game has almost unlimited replay value. It may be cartoony, and it may not have very realistic weapon and firing models, but luckily these all just contribute to making the game a blast. Unlike other games (counter-strike) you won't be destroyed instantly by people who have been playing nonstop for the past 8 years. The diversity in classes, and the relatively low amount of point-click-kill classes makes things like being sneaky and exploiting situations more important. That isn't to say that you can't get good at this game. You can, and there are many players that consistently dominate servers. However, the beauty of it is that relatively new players can end up in the top three too, just by having a great round, getting some good medic heals (or doing some good healing) or just happening to detonate some sticky bombs under 10 players by chance. This game has been criticized for one feature, which is that all melee and ranged weapons have a low chance of getting a critical hit (double damage). This means that you can run out of ammo, pull out your machete, and send an otherwise capable player with a full clip sailing through the air like a rag doll. These critics need to realized that the critical hits are just another fun way of getting unpredictable outcomes in otherwise boring repetitive gameplay. I have watched enough knife fights in counter-strike (yawn) to realized the value of this feature and its overall contribution to replay value. So in summary, if you like online multilayer games, appreciate amazing heroics, last second saves, OMGWTFBBQ moments and the prospect of new features always being on the horizon, play this game. Expand
  20. DanielR.
    Jul 3, 2008
    10
    It is a fun, entertaining, and silly game that is easy to laugh over. Instead of pounding the keyboard when the pyro lights my disguised spy on fire, i crack up to the reaction that the enemy team gets when i am running around their base screaming for a medic.
  21. AlexS
    Aug 9, 2008
    10
    This is an absolutely brilliant game. This game makes you feel good about getting owned. It is incredibly balanced, and fun to play; every class is deadly if used correctly. The graphics are amazingly well done, and are a nice change of pace from other games that strive for hyper-realism. I have nothing bad to say about this game.
  22. RyanD.
    Sep 5, 2008
    10
    This is pretty much my favorite online game of all time. Team Fortress 2 is both fun to look at and fun to play. Game play has been improved greatly since Team Fortress Classic and there are regular updates including new weapons, maps, and achievements. Sadly, no Hunted map yet.
  23. mattp
    Dec 6, 2009
    10
    it's an amazing online game and everyone knows that, providing hilarious taunts and speech. with the mumbling pyro to the cocky scout. a game to remember that deserves to have 100 metascore!
  24. ChapelX
    Oct 5, 2009
    10
    As one of the few girl TF2 players, I must say, adjusting to server after server packed with guys was a little jarring at first. However, that didn't do anything bad for the gameplay, and I was hooked after my first match. This game is simply glorious, and I am quite addicted to it. It's a really fun game with great graphics and a whole bunch of hilarious bits thrown in, and As one of the few girl TF2 players, I must say, adjusting to server after server packed with guys was a little jarring at first. However, that didn't do anything bad for the gameplay, and I was hooked after my first match. This game is simply glorious, and I am quite addicted to it. It's a really fun game with great graphics and a whole bunch of hilarious bits thrown in, and it's just simply wonderful. Expand
  25. AnonymousMC
    Mar 17, 2009
    10
    I am a long time FPS player i have gone through the ranks of that old south park n64, though the classic james bond games, though CSs and CoDs, and some of the newer rpg shooters such as BioShock. After all of these years of games I can say with a great deal of certainty that TF2 is among the best shooters i have ever played. It combines trates that most shooters fall short in with theI am a long time FPS player i have gone through the ranks of that old south park n64, though the classic james bond games, though CSs and CoDs, and some of the newer rpg shooters such as BioShock. After all of these years of games I can say with a great deal of certainty that TF2 is among the best shooters i have ever played. It combines trates that most shooters fall short in with the introduction of a True medic class team work plays a far greater role than i have seen in any other shooter. With a great sense of humor both the writers and the staff as a whole captivate the majority of players, including my self. I can say with out the slightest bit of hesitation that if valve continues to maintain this game i will have no reason to buy another shooter platform game for a great deal of time.. or untill Tf3 is released. Feel free to email me if you are thinking about buying it i will have no problem giving a more detailed answer to bobbysnobby@hotmail.com Expand
  26. JoeT.
    Mar 8, 2009
    10
    This game is perfect. A little humor, a few explosions. I can only think of one other thing it could use but thats not appropriate for all ages. Addictive would be an understatement.
  27. AnonymousMC
    May 2, 2009
    10
    Great game, the style of the game play is well balanced, because of the otherwise annoying fan base, that supposedly always has something to complain about, forcing valve to change it.
    The reason why some people might hate this game, is that they have a slow computer, or simply judge the class pack as unbalanced, even if it does shift the amount of that class to the entire team or
    Great game, the style of the game play is well balanced, because of the otherwise annoying fan base, that supposedly always has something to complain about, forcing valve to change it.
    The reason why some people might hate this game, is that they have a slow computer, or simply judge the class pack as unbalanced, even if it does shift the amount of that class to the entire team or something similar for a week or two. Eventually, it returns to normal. Another way one could hate it is because they don't join up in a clan and use teamwork, so TF2 really needs a person willing to coordinate their team mates using a microphone. Not doing this leads to the comments that the weapons are too weak or too powerful: Ex. A heavy, charging ahead of his them (somehow.) Will be picked off by a sniper, unless the team spies murder him with their ITTY BITTY KNIVES, then a demoman or ubercharged(Where the medic heals a ton and gets to turn a class invulnerable for 8 seconds) class may have to charge ahead to remove sentries, while a pyro burns all allies in sight, trying to prevent spies from sapping their team's sentries. A solider may need to use his rockets to also remove sentries or clear out enemies while a sniper removes the medic healing the other teams heavy, allowing his team to rush in and give him a quick death.
    Finally, they clear out the control point, where the speedy scout can rush in and capture it before the other team respawns.
    And that's how team work is used in team fortress 2.
    The teamwork in TF2 differs from something like Call of duty, where a skilled player can run on in a blind frenzy, killing anything in his path, or a lone sniper can remove a whole team. Otherwise, Team fortress 2 is a face paced game where solo playing is hard, and skill has little use, creating a fun game where you could have long wars on granary, coordinated rushes and overall fun. The only thing about the game is that you may have to find a clan to do much teamwork. I'd give TF2 a 9.7,(For always needing teamwork, unless it's a pub and no teamwork is present) but score rounds up to 10
    Expand
  28. AnonymousMC
    May 22, 2009
    10
    first of all, if your reading this, ignore all comments below 6, because 1.There is NO lag unless your computer is a steaming pile of crap

    and 2. The updates dont unbalance it, for some people, some of the updates will jsut haev WORSE weapons, its all about your style of play, because not only is there 9 classes, but there is about 2307941098374129347 different ways to play each class.
    first of all, if your reading this, ignore all comments below 6, because 1.There is NO lag unless your computer is a steaming pile of crap

    and 2. The updates dont unbalance it, for some people, some of the updates will jsut haev WORSE weapons, its all about your style of play, because not only is there 9 classes, but there is about 2307941098374129347 different ways to play each class.

    with fast paced game play, and respawn waves, you will have to use team work, but you wont even realise you are!

    overall, great game and an awesome community to go with it.

    did i mention it was AWESOME?!?!?!
    Expand
  29. FaizanK
    May 3, 2009
    10
    Must be the best first person online multiplayer I've ever played! Class Characters have rich backgrounds; graphics style is wicked (I thought it was too cartoony before I had it but that changed fast); games are well balanced through the classes; and constant updates such as weapons packs, maps and gameplay changes keep it fresh (and they're free!). This game is pretty much Must be the best first person online multiplayer I've ever played! Class Characters have rich backgrounds; graphics style is wicked (I thought it was too cartoony before I had it but that changed fast); games are well balanced through the classes; and constant updates such as weapons packs, maps and gameplay changes keep it fresh (and they're free!). This game is pretty much perfect. Maybe not a perfect 10 (it can be a pain to be new to the game without any friends as finding a decent map and game is hard without some prior knowledge) but its way more than a 9 (so Ive basically rounded up here). I've had it for a year now and I'm still not bored of it. Expand
  30. AnonymousMC
    Jun 10, 2009
    10
    Great game, I have been playing for a two months now and I am still learning new tactics. Fantastic range of maps (06-2009) that provide plenty of variety. I think that the fact you can change class during the game if you need to employ new tactics makes this a truly awesome game.
  31. AnonymousMC
    Jun 18, 2009
    10
    I would have said 9.6, but the rating system wouldn't allow me.

    Anyway, TF2, where to begin... First of all, I've liked this game roughly a month before I actually played it. I'm not a VALVe fanboy or anything, but that's saying a lot. I don't even know why. Maybe it's because it's style and art direction is much different from normal First person
    I would have said 9.6, but the rating system wouldn't allow me.

    Anyway, TF2, where to begin... First of all, I've liked this game roughly a month before I actually played it. I'm not a VALVe fanboy or anything, but that's saying a lot. I don't even know why.
    Maybe it's because it's style and art direction is much different from normal First person shooters, like Call of Duty, Killzone, and countless others, and it's different in a good way. The characters are based almost solely on stereotype (in the non-insulting way). Scout is this fast kid from Boston and is a huge fan of baseball. Heavy comes from the heart of the Soviet Union, and is a huge man mammoth with a big gun. Anything about Pyro that doesn't seem completely obvious at first glance has not been revealed. Each class has it's own personality, weapons (despite a ton of them sharing a shot gun as a secondary weapon), and their own use. Scout achieves objectives faster (x2 speed when capturing a control point), Engineer can build sentries to block off pathways/deny the other team from archiving the objective, Spy can cloak, disguise, destroy those, and kill priority targets. Sniper can do the same, but only when they are in an open area is a Sniper effective. Soldiers and Demomen can be launched by their own explosives, thus being able to clear the area from above. All classes have their own use, and they can be used pretty well in the way they were meant to be used.

    Maps are great. Most maps are symmetrical, so if you know one side you know the other. They all have perfectly tuned length/width (I.E.: Spy can make it from the beginning of a hall way to a little place where most people don't look and uncloak), so that every class can play successfully.

    A lot classes go together. Heavy/Medic combos are ridiculously powerful, but can be overcome with a little teamwork, or some spy comes to give his friends a hand, or his enemies a knife. In the back. Pyro, unlike most classes, can go with most classes and end up helping someone if played right. A Pyro tagging along side of a Heavy/Medic pair can make them last longer, though it may be a bit harder for the Medic. With the new update, Pyros can now compression blast fire off of teammates, and Pyros can be a real threat to Heavy/Medic pairs. A sniper can overlook the front lines and pick off enemies quickly. Classes mix, and teamwork is formed. No matter how good you are, you will always get killed by that Heavy/Medic combo. Teamwork IS victory in this game, not like in other FPS'.

    The music that plays in the main menu is awesome. Too bad no ambiances play in-game. Then again, music doesn't effect how you play the game.

    The servers, like most Steam servers, are either good or bad. And when it's bad it's REALLY BAD, but it hardly happens. The compatibility with custom maps is always good, since most maps that are used are almost as good as VALVe's official maps.

    Scores:
    Not-very-final-score-effecting scores:
    Graphics: 9. It's unique art style really makes it much better than most FPS of today, which seem to rip off of each other.
    Sound: 9.5. I really, REALLY, love the sound. The music is awesome, the sounds are awesome, the voice clips are awesome (needa dispensah here), and the mic quality seems to be better. Seems to be. I never really listen to people with mics on other games.
    Story: That's it's major flaw. It has none. I'm not saying it's not a game with no story mode, but so far that's the biggest problem I can really think of. Hopefully it'll come with a new update or something.
    Important stuff:
    Gameplay: 9.7 The class based multi-player is REALLY fun, challenging, and there's tons of unlockables and counting, refreshing your play experience.
    Online quality: 9.5 Very good. Not the best, but very good. It pretty much depends on how good your connection is. If you can load a moderately sized page in 10 seconds or less, good, if not, bad.

    Overall, 9.6. Due to rating system on this thing, though, I rounded it up.
    Expand
  32. GregJ
    Jun 19, 2009
    10
    Best ever fps online multiplayer game. A must buy. Also there r awesome videos about each class you can be and each one comes from a different country. Also the classes are balanced and they work together as a team.
  33. TimB
    Aug 8, 2009
    10
    Completely intoxicating. If I had dollar for everytime I've cursed at this game I could quit my job. Which is cool, cause I wish I could stay home and play this masterpiece all day. I've been playing this game for a year now and, although I have taken a few breaks, this game still has lasting appeal. The addition of the new weapons adds an entirely new dynamic and gives it even Completely intoxicating. If I had dollar for everytime I've cursed at this game I could quit my job. Which is cool, cause I wish I could stay home and play this masterpiece all day. I've been playing this game for a year now and, although I have taken a few breaks, this game still has lasting appeal. The addition of the new weapons adds an entirely new dynamic and gives it even more replayability. The games are so different, you could play the same map for hours and still keep on your toes. I'm in love. Sorry wifey, I'll be workin late... these sentries aren't gonna build themselves! Expand
  34. MikaelO
    Jan 11, 2010
    10
    Before this I barely played any shooters, but TF2 really is a great game and has given me an awesome gaming experience along with opening my mind for other shooters. Thanks Valve!
  35. Soraryuu
    Jan 1, 2010
    10
    I've spent a good 300+ hours playing this game. Almost every one of them were enjoyable. I'm too lazy to point out why, so I'll just give it a 10 and reason it with "I love it, best 15$ I've ever spent".
  36. OskarJ
    Jan 10, 2010
    10
    For me The best online shooter. Cartoon style characters all with own personalities. 10/10!
  37. Noneofyourbuisness
    Jan 8, 2010
    10
    amazing game not to hard to learn, the classes are VERY well ballenced if you know what your doing but at first it may seem like pyros are rigged. Takes some playing time to get good but so do all games. There are many custom mods and maps adding alot of cool things, so unlike Alan T said now there are bigger maps some with interesting theams and things. There are items randomly given amazing game not to hard to learn, the classes are VERY well ballenced if you know what your doing but at first it may seem like pyros are rigged. Takes some playing time to get good but so do all games. There are many custom mods and maps adding alot of cool things, so unlike Alan T said now there are bigger maps some with interesting theams and things. There are items randomly given during playing time and from achivements earned they fixed the duplicate item problem through crafting so you can get rid of the extras/dont wants to make things you can use. All the people iv played with are friendly and fun and there are NO aimboters/hackers. All in all a great game with a simple graphics style but that work very well for the game and a very responsive company (valve/steam). Buy it (it regularly goes on sale through steam) and you wont be diapointed with its enjoyability, replayabliity and system requirements. Expand
  38. JakeB
    Jan 8, 2010
    10
    An incredible game, I daresay it may even be the greatest multiplayer game of all time. It's cool, wacky, cartoony and above all...fun.
  39. MattM
    Feb 1, 2010
    10
    I love this game,i would give it 9.5 but 10 rounds closer and all that math,anyways.... The Good Stuff 1.Its fun 2.Many mods and custom maps so i have a lot more to do 3.9 Different classes,each with their own advantages For example: Heavy:Slow but shoots lots of lead to your face Scout:lil low on HP but fast and jumps high with a shotgun and so on 4.Usually Quick DL's The OK stuff I love this game,i would give it 9.5 but 10 rounds closer and all that math,anyways.... The Good Stuff 1.Its fun 2.Many mods and custom maps so i have a lot more to do 3.9 Different classes,each with their own advantages For example: Heavy:Slow but shoots lots of lead to your face Scout:lil low on HP but fast and jumps high with a shotgun and so on 4.Usually Quick DL's The OK stuff 1.The Graffics are out of date,but its supposed to be like that for the fun of it 2.Heavy is OVERHEALTHED! The Bad 1.The spys pistol is a lil weak (i know alot of you think its TOO strong but it should be 1-hit-kill Overall:GREAT game that always kickz azzzz the orange box includes this great game,so that might be something to,and if you have steam the valve complete pack is a nice deal with all the good games like this,l4d,l4d2,CS and all that.It gets updated alot so its also a very very good game in valve's opinion,cuz its old. Recommended? HELL YAAAA. Expand
  40. RichLeonetti
    Nov 10, 2007
    10
    Fantastic game. The classes are balanced and maps interesting, and the action keep you coming back for more.
  41. BrianS.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    What to say about this except "oh thank god". Valve has owned the IP for Team Fortress now for a long time, my first experience with Team Fortress was in Quake around TF2.4 or so the game back then was innovative and good, the Valve port of Team Fortress for Half Life was good too, but never have I seen a team play mod come into its own like this. The theme and personality of this game is What to say about this except "oh thank god". Valve has owned the IP for Team Fortress now for a long time, my first experience with Team Fortress was in Quake around TF2.4 or so the game back then was innovative and good, the Valve port of Team Fortress for Half Life was good too, but never have I seen a team play mod come into its own like this. The theme and personality of this game is just breath taking. Valve could have very easily released a Team Fortress for HL2 just a few weeks after its original release, but no, they took their time with it and instead of rehashing a tired old concept they totally reinvented it, out of the projects released with the Orange box I'd have to say that while Episode 2 is nice (though short) and Portal is just mind blowing in concept, TF2 really outshines them both for innovation and outstanding design improvements. I've been waiting for TF2 for awhile now and watched it go through several ilterations and even appear to be vaporware, all I can say is bravo, the wait has been worth it and TF2 more than delivers in all facets of game play. TF2 sets the new bar for development in video games, combining great action, good team play and a really entertaining design theme to quite literally steal all the bases for a home run game. I never give a game a ten, but to be honest, to give TF2 anything less would be a flat out lie. Buy it! Expand
  42. JakobL.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    Really a fun game.. Takes you away from the seriousness of other online games.
  43. RichardH.
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Awesome fun, great graphics, well balanced classes and Valves experience of pumping out excellent shooters makes this game pure brilliance!
  44. NickH.
    Nov 30, 2007
    10
    TF2 combines gorgeous visuals, fast and furious gameplay and comedy. The game is an example for other developers showing that when time and care is taken in the details it produces a wonderful product.
  45. SeanM.
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Absolutly brilliant game, awesome mix between the different classes.
  46. MikeB.
    Oct 14, 2007
    10
    Very good! Old School fun with a new twist. I really don't have anything bad to say about TF2, and would definitely recommend it to anyone looking to get away from serious pseudo-realistic shooters such as BF2/Quake Wars. A breath of fresh air.
  47. Jean-PhilippeD.
    Oct 14, 2007
    10
    This is by far the most exciting and fluent FPS I have ever played. I don't generally like shooters, but TF2 REALLY changed that, with it's wide variety of classes to play, wether you like to be in the action, kicking some butt, or supporting your teammates at a distance, or healing them, there's just so many classes, it is hard to find someone who will not like the game!
  48. AnonymousMC
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    KICK ASS!!! I loved TFC1 and TFC2 puts it to shame but still keeps that classic love of TFC1 all the maps look kick ass! HL SOURCE OWNS!!! and the Cartoon look of the chars is crazy and flows really well could ask for anything better! Can't wait for ten years from now if there will be a TFC3!
  49. ColeG.
    Oct 16, 2007
    10
    A great game, hours of fun. Couldn't have asked for a better sequel to my all-time favorite classic online shooter game.
  50. AnonymousMC
    Oct 17, 2007
    10
    if you dont like this game its because youre always getting dominated.... ive never played tf1, i bought the orange box and played the beta for tf2 and was hooked and im still hooked... best multiplayer game out there because you actually need to have a strategy and use team work...
  51. JW
    Oct 17, 2007
    10
    Wow! Just what i was expecting from Valve and they delivered a Great, fun, Fast action,Team-work shooter good job!
  52. PhilippS.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    Great Game. Includes the tactical aspect of BF2, the graphic of CSS and the fun of CS.
  53. RobC.
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    Simply brilliant. Its wacky, silly, twisted, and down right fun every second. Its simple enough that anyone can pick it up a moment's notice and not do too bad but there is a certain level of depth that can keep the veterans on their toes and coming back for more. If there is one game that should get multi-player game of the year, this would take it hands down. As an aside, there is Simply brilliant. Its wacky, silly, twisted, and down right fun every second. Its simple enough that anyone can pick it up a moment's notice and not do too bad but there is a certain level of depth that can keep the veterans on their toes and coming back for more. If there is one game that should get multi-player game of the year, this would take it hands down. As an aside, there is one thing that bugs me, and its not so much the game itself but the way people play it. The game is called "Team Fortress 2" not "im the lone ranger and dont give too poops about anyone around me so im gonna go run around all stupid like". Listen to your teammates, get a strategy (even if its a crude one), and work together people! Expand
  54. MatthewW.
    Oct 19, 2007
    10
    Amazing multiplayer frantic action. This game looks amazing, plays amazing, and it so well balanced. Anyone can choose a class of their liking depending on their playstyle and have a great time.
  55. imranimran
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    The Best game ive played its alot more funnier and crazier then the 1st team fortress classic.
  56. TimW.
    Oct 20, 2007
    10
    Best Team Fortress out of the two! Every character is now balanced and the game play and visuals is amazing! Very fast paced and will be loved for many reasons.
  57. TobiasL.
    Dec 16, 2007
    10
    This is one of the most well designed games in the entire history of gaming. Not only has it brought multi player FPS to perfection, it's fast, it's fun, it is very simple, yet so complex and difficult. The graphics are astounding, as soon as you see another player it only takes a split second before you know exactly what class he is playing and how to react to that. Every This is one of the most well designed games in the entire history of gaming. Not only has it brought multi player FPS to perfection, it's fast, it's fun, it is very simple, yet so complex and difficult. The graphics are astounding, as soon as you see another player it only takes a split second before you know exactly what class he is playing and how to react to that. Every strategy can be countered and team play is of the essence if you want to go far. This game is a true 10. Expand
  58. NickW.
    Oct 21, 2007
    10
    First of all, I would like to respond to A C: They got rid of grenades because they sucked and ruined the game. They removed "faking death" and replaced it with the cloaking, which is way better. The maps are just as long as the others. Best game ever! Definitely worth the money!
  59. JamesC.
    Oct 23, 2007
    10
    I don't think they could have made a more loyal and fitting tribute to one of the best multiplayer FPSes of all time if they'd tried. Perfection.
  60. MarkS.
    Oct 23, 2007
    10
    I played it once and it was OK. Went back again and had some fun. The more I played the most fun it became.... now I cannot stay away. To say it grow on you is a tremendous understatement.
  61. TimK.
    Oct 24, 2007
    10
    Possibly the downfall of man. Highly addictive. Certainly able to break apart marriages. Sever blood ties. One could be facing death tied to the rails with a freight train bearing down upon him if he didnt stop playing TF2 and all you would hear him screaming is "Uber me Uber me!" Am I playing it? Let me get back to you on that. My team is screaming for a medic.
  62. GaëlR.
    Oct 25, 2007
    10
    Very very nice game ! Graphic quality is pretty good; Gameplay is amazing and I really enjoy to play a rôle playing FPS !! Not yet a TF2 player ? Just buy and try !
  63. MattM.
    Oct 26, 2007
    10
    Superbly balanced gameplay. Great stylistic visuals. Frenetic, deeply strategic and so addicting!
  64. SamJ.
    Oct 27, 2007
    10
    This is the most fun you can have on a pc! TF2 is an absolute blast, I find myself laughing at one thing or another almost every round I play. The classes are good, balance is good, it looks good and it plays good. Nuff said, get it and enjoy!
  65. StuO.
    Dec 9, 2007
    10
    Never has team play been this much fun! The cartoonesque characters are beautifully drawn, the taunts encapsulate the splendid humour and the learning curve is perfect for veterans and newbies alike. The varied character class keep this game on the top of my play list and the ability to swap class between frags is tantamount to the longevity of the game. I hope there's further Never has team play been this much fun! The cartoonesque characters are beautifully drawn, the taunts encapsulate the splendid humour and the learning curve is perfect for veterans and newbies alike. The varied character class keep this game on the top of my play list and the ability to swap class between frags is tantamount to the longevity of the game. I hope there's further official maps made available soon, because this is one game I'll be coming back to for months. Expand
  66. =Sixpack=
    Oct 2, 2008
    10
    Since 1998 and the days of online Quake2 i haven't played anything that came close,and trust me i have played them all,forget anything people tell you and try this - its great fun and learning each class is an art in its own right,i can only play three classes with any conviction. TF2 - you wont regret it.
  67. AnonymousMC
    Jan 2, 2008
    10
    one of the most enjoyable online shooters by far-
    The action is too fast paced for anyone to act like a moron and ruin it for everyone. Each character has his own strengh/weaknesses and take a small learning curve.
    but once you find your favorite 2 or 3 types of character to use- youll come back for team fortress two action when your looking for a quick semi strategic adrenaline rush.
    one of the most enjoyable online shooters by far-
    The action is too fast paced for anyone to act like a moron and ruin it for everyone. Each character has his own strengh/weaknesses and take a small learning curve.
    but once you find your favorite 2 or 3 types of character to use- youll come back for team fortress two action when your looking for a quick semi strategic adrenaline rush. runs smooth and is very balanced- two thumbs up.
    Expand
  68. IngmarsM.
    Oct 24, 2008
    10
    Game is very well balanced and graphics look nice. even through game is not matching it Minimal system requirements and it laggs heavy in middle of battle its good. Thank you Valve! I have played only pirated version of this but I'm gonna buy it! its worth it.
  69. TimS.
    Jan 24, 2008
    10
    This game is amazing- at first I was a little worried when I heard about the "cartoon-like" graphics, but Valve pulled through and released something absolutely stunning. The graphics are beautiful, with the somewhat retro-themed layout complementing the cartoon-feel of the levels. The game play itself is positively wonderful- the classes are varied, each with special attributes, and This game is amazing- at first I was a little worried when I heard about the "cartoon-like" graphics, but Valve pulled through and released something absolutely stunning. The graphics are beautiful, with the somewhat retro-themed layout complementing the cartoon-feel of the levels. The game play itself is positively wonderful- the classes are varied, each with special attributes, and though I feel that the characters could have been balanced better, overall it was well done. I gave this game a 10/10 because I was a HL2:DM addict, and went cold turkey on that and picked TF2 up like a bad habit- and I've never looked back. I've played upwards of 24 hours on this game, and they have all been rewarding. Expand
  70. AnonymousMC
    Jan 30, 2008
    10
    I like the game so much because it's great, the updates the game gets regularly are great, and the major update pack it's going to get will just be awesome. The "Meet the..." series are also fantastic.
    I wish good luck to Valve with their new game, and hope they'll keep up the good work. Thanks, bye!
  71. ZenS.
    Jan 8, 2008
    10
    Team Fortress 2 does something different than most FPS. For one, instead of churning out a million maps and throwing a batch of identical players onto them, they crank out and finely polish 9 distinct and exciting classes and put them onto a small amount of maps. Team Fortress 2 follows the ever popular blue ocean strategy, and in doing so, redefines what is expected from you in terms of Team Fortress 2 does something different than most FPS. For one, instead of churning out a million maps and throwing a batch of identical players onto them, they crank out and finely polish 9 distinct and exciting classes and put them onto a small amount of maps. Team Fortress 2 follows the ever popular blue ocean strategy, and in doing so, redefines what is expected from you in terms of skills. The great players of this game are not twitch-reflex Counter-Strike junkies who can clip that tiny pixel of your head from across the map - they are those who learn the weapons, learn the maps, work together, and know how to adapt to new dynamic situations. For the most part, no two battles in this game are ever the same. Expand
  72. ChristofferL.
    Jan 9, 2008
    10
    This game is just the best multiplayer game created by Valve. Poor TFC that this game is leeching the players from the older games, however, I heard that Valve would copy the mods and some maps so it is a TF with better design of everything and a two in its end. You better try it, its impossible to resist playing this game when you have get a finger in the game. All red coloured comments lies.
  73. Craig
    Feb 16, 2008
    10
    The best class based FPS to date. TF2 is going to set the benchmark for all future FPS games in terms of originality, style, replayability, fun. its a great game as it is also simple.
  74. SteveeC.
    Feb 18, 2008
    10
    That's greatest thats I has seen in multiplayer gaming!
  75. Joel
    Feb 20, 2008
    10
    I've not seen a better fast-action multiplayer fps in a long while!
  76. AnonymousMC
    Mar 23, 2008
    10
    Extremely newb-friendly. Gets linearly deeper with every hour played, as you gain your skill. The variety in gameplay (classes, tactics, map knowledge, human factor) always keeps things interesting. And OH!... the graphics are absolutely amazing!
    Perfect online-shooter, thank you VALVE!!! Words just aren't enough to describe how incredible this game is.
  77. AnonymousMC
    Mar 30, 2008
    10
    The most fun I've ever had (and have) playing an FPS. Classes are balanced but still require skills to play. (My favorite is pyro by far, I love ambushing.) The graphics are cartoony, but the animation and detail are quite amazing. Maps are best played with a lot of people (at least 8 on both teams). Every class contributes to the team one way or another. Overall this game is very funThe most fun I've ever had (and have) playing an FPS. Classes are balanced but still require skills to play. (My favorite is pyro by far, I love ambushing.) The graphics are cartoony, but the animation and detail are quite amazing. Maps are best played with a lot of people (at least 8 on both teams). Every class contributes to the team one way or another. Overall this game is very fun to play and just an awesome experience, completely worth it to buy. Expand
  78. MartijnV.
    May 10, 2008
    10
    One of the best games I've played so far.
  79. AnonymousMC
    May 1, 2008
    10
    This is the most fun the average FPS guy can have. Seriously, this game kicks ass, and even if there are "easy" classes, you can still learn some advances techniques for them, like rocketjumps or mid-air-kills for the Soldier. And yes, it is balanced, and "if you think there should be grenades, you are the reason why we needed a new game." Additionally, Valve brings some new stuff in, likeThis is the most fun the average FPS guy can have. Seriously, this game kicks ass, and even if there are "easy" classes, you can still learn some advances techniques for them, like rocketjumps or mid-air-kills for the Soldier. And yes, it is balanced, and "if you think there should be grenades, you are the reason why we needed a new game." Additionally, Valve brings some new stuff in, like Goldrush (Payload game style) and achievements and unlock-weapons for all classes. Expand
  80. AntonK.
    May 14, 2008
    10
    This is the best team shooter It was a time without Battlefield, Counter-Strike and other... but was TF Classic.
  81. MartijnV.
    May 14, 2008
    10
    One of the best games I've played so far.
  82. vova585[OWNER]Vovan
    May 22, 2008
    10
    Very good game, I like it because it has a great balance between classes.
  83. AnonymousMC
    May 4, 2008
    10
    This is the best game ever made. The graphics are awesome as well as humor in the game! You can play this amazing games for hours without getting bored. The only dissapointment is the range of the FlameThrower. But else than that EVERYTHING was great! I had a cool time playing this with my friend, and thats a game you MUST have! Valve you are making life easier for every gamer in theThis is the best game ever made. The graphics are awesome as well as humor in the game! You can play this amazing games for hours without getting bored. The only dissapointment is the range of the FlameThrower. But else than that EVERYTHING was great! I had a cool time playing this with my friend, and thats a game you MUST have! Valve you are making life easier for every gamer in the world, except the Cookie Monster in Simpson. Expand
  84. DSC
    Jun 16, 2008
    10
    Much better than the XBox360 version, and is an all around great game.
  85. AaronL.
    Jun 19, 2008
    10
    This game is ridiculous and awesome at the same time, not unlike Jesus taking steroids and fighting a band of highway midgets.
  86. PaulW.
    Jun 19, 2008
    10
    This game combines humor and excellent gameplay.
  87. TimoP.
    Jun 21, 2008
    10
    This game is going to keep a lot of old and new multiplayer FPS enthusiasts occupied for the next few years.
  88. AdamO.
    Jun 6, 2008
    10
    Awesome game, lots of content, never boring, every gamer should own it!
  89. EvanD.
    Jul 1, 2008
    10
    Incredibly fun, brilliantly polished, and continuously supported with free content by Valve. For $20, it's a great buy for anyone that likes traditional shooters.
  90. sp
    Jul 12, 2008
    10
    never seen such a funny game - teamplay requiered !! 10 points.
  91. MarceloR.
    Jul 17, 2008
    10
    The game is awesome. Very funny and has a gameplay far superior than any First Person Shooter i'd already played.
  92. TomT.
    Jul 23, 2008
    10
    Does not insult players' intelligence. Extremely funny & addictive. I love the the rubber duck. Design of a genius.
  93. DrewM
    Jul 5, 2008
    10
    Best game out never get sick of like Natural Selection.
  94. JoakimF.
    Jul 8, 2008
    10
    This is a great game with a great 50's or 60's comicbook-feel to it. The comical feel to the game makes this game wonderful, and with the "Silhouette-design" it's easy to see what enemy you'll be facing even at a far distance. The co-op in the team is nice and there's always new tactics to use. I love this game!
  95. MitchellC.
    Jul 8, 2008
    10
    The best game I've ever played, it's absolutely worth every penny down to the detail and fun that the game actually is, it's great, and It deserves respect for the time it took to make, the though about lots of things before releasing it to make it more fun (if you list to the commentary node) It's a wonderful game for veterans, news anyone, everyone can enjoy it if The best game I've ever played, it's absolutely worth every penny down to the detail and fun that the game actually is, it's great, and It deserves respect for the time it took to make, the though about lots of things before releasing it to make it more fun (if you list to the commentary node) It's a wonderful game for veterans, news anyone, everyone can enjoy it if you like FPS with a cartoonish style. Expand
  96. JackF.
    Jul 9, 2008
    10
    An "easy to learn, hard to master" game of the highest calibre. New players will find comfort in classes like soldier and heavy, while more experienced players will use the more complicated classes. Every class has a unique feel to it and each are great fun to use. The shortage of maps has been fixed, as Valve is constantly releasing new maps and weapon unlocks to add even more replay An "easy to learn, hard to master" game of the highest calibre. New players will find comfort in classes like soldier and heavy, while more experienced players will use the more complicated classes. Every class has a unique feel to it and each are great fun to use. The shortage of maps has been fixed, as Valve is constantly releasing new maps and weapon unlocks to add even more replay value. For $30 (It's now $30), it is the best multiplayer game out there, easy. Expand
  97. ChrilleB.
    Jul 9, 2008
    10
    Superior game, but still doesn't chase Quakeworld in experience.
  98. EllisN.
    Aug 11, 2008
    10
    Endless hopurs of fun, changing envirments and diffrent tasks make this game a superb team based game and makes no room for bordem.
  99. NicholasA.
    Aug 2, 2008
    10
    TFC2 has brought back the team based chaos that is my favorite type of gameplay. Well balanced classes that offer a variety ways to fight balance out an already well rounded game. Special abilites have made the game fresh and the eye candy is spectacular.
  100. ScottK
    Aug 20, 2008
    10
    I LOVE this game - from the great variety of player classes, to the "awards", to the unlockable weapons/upgrades. . . there's nothing not to like about it.
  101. Apr 2, 2012
    0
    Game becomes worse and worse with each update. Bullets lag so you can get killed seemingly through a wall but lag will make it so your "shadow" still appears as though it's not behind the wall. You can "backstab" someone from the side, top and bottom. And valve continues to bite into the "noob" influx from the f2p switch and release weapons that are easier and easier to get kills with.Game becomes worse and worse with each update. Bullets lag so you can get killed seemingly through a wall but lag will make it so your "shadow" still appears as though it's not behind the wall. You can "backstab" someone from the side, top and bottom. And valve continues to bite into the "noob" influx from the f2p switch and release weapons that are easier and easier to get kills with. Turning into a sad CoD wannabe. Collapse
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. 100
    The marriage of highly stylised retro-spy presentation, fresh, high octane action, deep and varied classes and the underlying twinkle of humour in its metaphorical eye make Team Fortress 2 far more than just your average fragfest. Long after the novelty of the graphics wears thin, we are left with a refined and accessible multiplayer game that simultaneously cultivates new players whilst retaining enough depth to accommodate even the hardiest of veterans.
  2. The game also does a lovely job of framing your relationship with other players and nurturing them.
  3. It's one hell of a game. With its powerful artistic style and blazingly quick, yet accessible gameplay, it's enough to melt the icy cynicism imprisoning the hearts of even the most jaded among us. That being said, it's not the most complex shooter out there.