Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. Jul 31, 2013
    90
    Teleglitch is one of those rare few games that gets everything it attempts to do right. The oppressive atmosphere, crafting system, glitchy visuals, and careful combat are all done extremely well. The only negative thing that can be said for it is that it’s unforgiving.
  2. Jul 31, 2013
    90
    Teleglitch is a harsh mistress, but the cruelest lessons are often the ones that truly stick with us.
  3. Sep 13, 2013
    85
    Beneath the lo-fi visuals and simple animation is a sophisticated, thrilling, and occasionally brutal shooter. [Nov 2013, p.64]
  4. Jul 31, 2013
    85
    Teleglitch: Die More Edition expands upon the greatness of the original game in every way possible.
  5. Aug 7, 2013
    82
    A richer and harder version of the original. It's not suitable for everyone but those who get captured by the mechanics of this challenging roguelike will have a compelling experience.
  6. Sep 23, 2013
    80
    That it does all this without feeling at all compromised in the name of accessibility is testament to its design. [Issue#139, p.117]
  7. Aug 7, 2013
    80
    To beat Teleglitch: Die More Edition you need a lot of patience and resilience, this game can be hard and cruel sometimes. Behind the lo-fi presentation, there's a wonderful shoot'em up, with a rogue like soul and a touch of horror. You'll get scared a lot. And you're gonna love it.
  8. Jul 31, 2013
    80
    Teleglitch is a unique combination of a number of different, but common, gameplay features that mash-up into a great game.
  9. Jul 31, 2013
    80
    It’s solidly built, with slick controls and a mean learning curve but it’s not the kind of game you would sit with for hours on end.
  10. Jul 31, 2013
    80
    If you know what you’re signing up for - incredibly hard gameplay followed by a lot of repetition - then you will definitely enjoy it.
  11. Jul 31, 2013
    80
    Teleglitch is back with the same, hardcore, astounding gameplay. The retro taste of the game is something you’ll remember for a long time, especially considering that even with a pixelated graphic, the game is more fun, thrilling and exiting than many other triple A productions.
  12. Jul 31, 2013
    80
    Teleglitch is a video game with an ancient flavor, capable of diving the player into one of the best sci-fi atmospheres currently available on the indie scene.
  13. Aug 27, 2013
    78
    It may end in frustration, but its worth playing just to see how it masterfully hits all the survival horror notes with its distinct presentation and vicious design.
  14. Aug 1, 2013
    78
    As it stands, most of the potential it has feels ultimately wasted, and the price tag seems way too high for what it is at the end of the day – particularly for a game available on the normally somewhat selective Steam service.
  15. Aug 19, 2013
    70
    It would be hard not to recommend Teleglitch: Die More Edition because of the completeness of both its vision and its conceit. However, I would preface this recommendation with a warning that this is not for the faint of heart or those prone to rage quits. You will be rewarded for your time spent here, what you have is a masochistic delayed gratification but truth be told, isn’t that the best kind?
  16. Jul 31, 2013
    70
    Fraught firefights and desperate scavenging in an uncaring world.
  17. Jul 31, 2013
    70
    Atmospheric, tense, and sometimes unfairly hard, Test3′s roguelike is another welcome entry in a resurgent genre.
  18. Aug 4, 2013
    40
    Teleglitch is an admirable attempt at making an immersive and challenging roguelike, but various issues considerably bog the experience down. In particular, its insanely high difficulty and repetitive nature make the game dull and unenjoyable. As a result, it's only recommended for masochistic players.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Aug 5, 2013
    7
    Teleglitch: Die More Edition is a roguelike top-down shooter that was first released late last year and has since been given an extended edition on Steam. Roguelikes are generally not games where I take my time. There’s a standard pace I play them at, which is not slow in the slightest. After playing dozens of roguelikes in my many years of gaming, I have fallen into a standard slump where it is hard to engage and engross me in the game I am playing. Until now, that is. Taking place in an abandoned military research complex in space, your objective is to explore and find a way off the planet all while trying to stay alive against the hordes of enemies that cover the planet. Using keyboard and mouse controls, picking up items and shooting weapons is straightforward and fairly intuitive. However, ammo is incredibly scarce, forcing you to scavenge for every item you can find and combine them into makeshift weapons in order to survive.
    Teleglitch Die More Edition has many standard roguelike tropes: random loot, random layouts, and permadeath. Even the graphics remind me of early graphical roguelikes, just being a pixelated mess on the screen. I mean, really, I have no idea what the monsters are supposed to be that are chasing me. I simply know they are bad and I need to kill them.
    Set those things aside though, and Teleglitch is a very fresh experience. When I started playing, I was in the “generic roguelike” mindset. As I explored the corridors of the floor plan briskly and carelessly, I died rather quickly. Even though the controls are very easy (move with keyboard, hold right mouse button to aim and click left mouse button to fire) for a top down game, when I entered a room and was swarmed with a small handful of enemies, I wasted a lot of ammo. I’m used to loot being abundant, I’m used to swords and spells, and most importantly, I’m used to taking a step and the enemies taking a step.

    There is a quiet urgency to every Teleglitch play through, though it is hard to explain why. Once you’ve overcome any given room of enemies, you can take your time and consider your plan of action. However, the frenetic pace of combat, which often devolved for me into quiet, pleading screams for mercy while running backwards and waving my knife futilely in the air, carries forward into non-combat moments. Although I was never the victim of a real sneak attack, I still found myself scooping ammo and meat off the floor in a rush, eating on the go and only pausing to take a look at the map when lost.

    What really set the mood for me was the sound cues. Again, everything is presented as if it were originally played on an old Commodore C64 system, yet the audio in Teleglitch did a phenomenal job of slowing me down. As I explored the environments and opened doors, a warbled sound would grow in intensity, signaling a swarm of mutants all targeting me. The most frightening part was having this happen and noticing my ammo was dangerously low.
    The game has been designed with terror in mind. The permadeath adds another layer of tension, and it was infuriating when I was doing great and made a stupid mistake like dropping a bomb instead of throwing it. If my keyboard was not part of my laptop, I might very well have thrown it on more than one occasion.
    Teleglitch: Die More Edition is a brilliant example of how to blend genres that, on paper, don’t sound like a perfect fit. I can’t think of the last time I played a roguelike at a slow, methodical pace, or a top-down shooter paranoid of what was about to happen. The only reason I can’t recommend it to everyone is the punishing difficulty. But then again, we all like to be punished now and again, right?
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 2, 2014
    9
    Awesome and hard. There is a good challenge in this game. the graphics are special and the sound is good, but I miss some Ambient or dynamic sounds or music into the game, like in Dead Space series. But overall a funny great game! Full Review »
  3. Nov 25, 2013
    6
    As great as it looks and sounds, there are moments that Teleglitch feels either too dull or too complex to feel like a great dual stick shooter. I mean, it's like top-down Quake and this should be awesome, but somehow it frustrates me. Full Review »