Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 42 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Teleglitch is a roguelike top-down shooter with pixel graphics.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. Jul 31, 2013
    90
    Teleglitch is one of those rare few games that gets everything it attempts to do right. The oppressive atmosphere, crafting system, glitchy visuals, and careful combat are all done extremely well. The only negative thing that can be said for it is that it’s unforgiving.
  2. Sep 13, 2013
    85
    Beneath the lo-fi visuals and simple animation is a sophisticated, thrilling, and occasionally brutal shooter. [Nov 2013, p.64]
  3. Aug 7, 2013
    82
    A richer and harder version of the original. It's not suitable for everyone but those who get captured by the mechanics of this challenging roguelike will have a compelling experience.
  4. Jul 31, 2013
    80
    Teleglitch is a video game with an ancient flavor, capable of diving the player into one of the best sci-fi atmospheres currently available on the indie scene.
  5. Jul 31, 2013
    80
    If you know what you’re signing up for - incredibly hard gameplay followed by a lot of repetition - then you will definitely enjoy it.
  6. Aug 1, 2013
    78
    As it stands, most of the potential it has feels ultimately wasted, and the price tag seems way too high for what it is at the end of the day – particularly for a game available on the normally somewhat selective Steam service.
  7. Aug 4, 2013
    40
    Teleglitch is an admirable attempt at making an immersive and challenging roguelike, but various issues considerably bog the experience down. In particular, its insanely high difficulty and repetitive nature make the game dull and unenjoyable. As a result, it's only recommended for masochistic players.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Aug 25, 2014
    10
    I LOVE THIS GAME, ITS THE BEST GAME EVER!!!!

    I have now played this for a ½ year, and the new 9.3 update is great, it's Doom, Quake,
    I LOVE THIS GAME, ITS THE BEST GAME EVER!!!!

    I have now played this for a ½ year, and the new 9.3 update is great, it's Doom, Quake, half-life-ish feeling of this game, it's awesome, but one thing, and only ONE thing, this game need, is some soundtracks, but is also nizzle, that there is'nt any music to disturb, it's actually fine, that there isn't any music at all, but atleast have som main menu music ;)

    i'm gonna play this again, this weekend! This game is a gem!

    Greetings from Denmark
    Expand
  2. Feb 2, 2014
    9
    Awesome and hard. There is a good challenge in this game. the graphics are special and the sound is good, but I miss some Ambient or dynamicAwesome and hard. There is a good challenge in this game. the graphics are special and the sound is good, but I miss some Ambient or dynamic sounds or music into the game, like in Dead Space series. But overall a funny great game! Expand
  3. Jun 6, 2015
    8
    Teleglitch, a top down shooter where you kill aliens, zombies, spider looking creatures and much more. In this game you can use your fists, aTeleglitch, a top down shooter where you kill aliens, zombies, spider looking creatures and much more. In this game you can use your fists, a gun, or even bombs (if you find them). If you kill the creatures you do have the possibility to get canned meat which increases your health and also a better chance at surviving the section. The goal of this game is to survive the section without dieing, if you die you have to restart section you are on. But after completing the all the sections within that level you can do other levels that you can do. The best thing about this game is that it supports a controller because lets face it... the controls on a keyboard are pretty horrible in the game. The art style is cool and a good game to waste a good hour on. Expand
  4. Jun 24, 2015
    7
    This game is really good, although my playtime is pretty short, the game has really pulled me in. It's tons of fun , very atmospheric and mostThis game is really good, although my playtime is pretty short, the game has really pulled me in. It's tons of fun , very atmospheric and most of all very frightening! The game its self is hard as nails (believe me) once you die, even if you have made it like to Level 3 or more, you will lose everything! The only bit that put me off was its level of difficulty, which probably means I will only play once or twice here. But everything else about it really appeals to me. Expand
  5. Nov 25, 2013
    6
    As great as it looks and sounds, there are moments that Teleglitch feels either too dull or too complex to feel like a great dual stickAs great as it looks and sounds, there are moments that Teleglitch feels either too dull or too complex to feel like a great dual stick shooter. I mean, it's like top-down Quake and this should be awesome, but somehow it frustrates me. Expand
  6. Oct 17, 2013
    6
    Teleglitch; Die More Edition does exactly what it sets out to do. Allows you to die in new, brutal ways by new monster types, and on strangeTeleglitch; Die More Edition does exactly what it sets out to do. Allows you to die in new, brutal ways by new monster types, and on strange new levels. (And kill in new ways, with a plethora of new items and weapons, craftable and otherwise.)

    The game is brutal and unforgiving- to the point where there are literally no videos on youtube featuring a complete playthrough of the game. Its extreme difficulty, though endearing, is also its greatest flaw. Progressing even to the first 'checkpoint' is a tedious and difficult experience, and the utter lack of any kind of save scumming, or closer-together checkpoints makes it nearly impossible for the average gamer to get past level 3.

    The atmosphere, enemy variety, lore, changing and shifting maps, and all-around polished feel of this game make it a classic. It's that one game that just sits on your shelf, taunting you, and drawing you back for more punishment. It's a keeper.
    Collapse
  7. May 21, 2014
    0
    In short: no graphics, no sound, no story, no world, highly primitive game-play...

    In the past, developers has very limited possibilities
    In short: no graphics, no sound, no story, no world, highly primitive game-play...

    In the past, developers has very limited possibilities to make a game, but they tried to make it best. Artists worked hard on every pixel. Programmers invented great features to make the game live. Designers created epic game worlds, interesting story and varied, well-balanced game-play to make player happy.
    Now, many developers (like teleglitch devs) are giving a crap on every game aspects. "...I'll make a crap, but it will be difficult and players will got challenge..." - they think. And yes - many players spend hours of their life for moving a pixel left and right, in the way devs want (and paying money of course). But What for??
    Expand

See all 10 User Reviews