Teleglitch Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Teleglitch is a roguelike top-down shooter with pixel graphics. The game takes place in procedurally generated military research & training complex that has a different map every time you play. The game's mission is to give players like you a chance to walk in the dark corridors, grippingTeleglitch is a roguelike top-down shooter with pixel graphics. The game takes place in procedurally generated military research & training complex that has a different map every time you play. The game's mission is to give players like you a chance to walk in the dark corridors, gripping their gun and few last rounds of ammunition. To play with finger on the trigger, high on adrenaline. The developers want to give you the, paranoid, sweaty, and bloody hard kind of fun. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Jan 22, 2013
    90
    While there's perhaps not the verve and variety of peers like Spelunky or The Binding of Isaac, what Teleglitch does do is sell you on the atmosphere and the minutiae of combat.
  2. Mar 11, 2013
    84
    Tense and atmospheric, Teleglitch wields difficulty, action and horror to create an unsettling survival experience.
  3. Dec 6, 2012
    80
    Along with FTL and Spelunky, Teleglitch takes the core elements of a roguelike, does away with tradition, and creates a hybrid of a game unlike any I've played before. If you are a fan of horror, top-down shooters, and RPGs, Teleglitch won't disappoint. However, you will likely disappoint yourself when you play it.
  4. Feb 6, 2013
    80
    A tense, grueling, ultimately fulfilling survival experience that's low-fi in nature but brain-melting in execution. [Feb 2013, p.84]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    It's hard! but damn I love it! I don't know what exactly, but Yeah! it's awesome, I thinking it's like good old Doom in some ways, but wishIt's hard! but damn I love it! I don't know what exactly, but Yeah! it's awesome, I thinking it's like good old Doom in some ways, but wish some ambient/Dynamic music like in Dead Space, that will make tension in a whole new level! but it's definitely one of the best games of the year!

    And there gonna come some new patches soon! ^^
    Expand
  2. Aug 25, 2014
    10
    I LOVE THIS GAME, ITS THE BEST GAME EVER!!!!

    I have now played this for a ½ year, and the new 9.3 update is great, it's Doom, Quake,
    I LOVE THIS GAME, ITS THE BEST GAME EVER!!!!

    I have now played this for a ½ year, and the new 9.3 update is great, it's Doom, Quake, half-life-ish feeling of this game, it's awesome, but one thing, and only ONE thing, this game need, is some soundtracks, but is also nizzle, that there is'nt any music to disturb, it's actually fine, that there isn't any music at all, but atleast have som main menu music ;)

    i'm gonna play this again, this weekend! This game is a gem!

    Greetings from Denmark
    Expand
  3. Feb 18, 2015
    10
    My favorite roguelike. I got it for free in a humble sale, but it's worth buying as well if you like roguelikes, science fiction, weirdMy favorite roguelike. I got it for free in a humble sale, but it's worth buying as well if you like roguelikes, science fiction, weird mysterious things, and item combinations. Expand
  4. Jun 29, 2013
    9
    Man, I love this game! Teleglitch isn't exactly a household name, but those of us in the know are privy to a decidedly pixelicious, almostMan, I love this game! Teleglitch isn't exactly a household name, but those of us in the know are privy to a decidedly pixelicious, almost rogue like, top-down survival shooter. And I for one, absolutely adore it. If retro aesthetics and wonderfully simplistic survival-based shooting is your thing (of course it is, right?), I reckon you will too. For everyone else, just give this game a try. What have you got to lose?!

    9 out of 10 all day long!

    [SIDE NOTE]: If developers Johamm & Mihkel Tael happen to ever see this, please guys, look into bringing this wonderful game to a much wider demographic than *just* the PC crowd. If ever a largely unknown indie title deserved a shot at the big time, it's Teleglitch. Especially so with the new 'Die More Edition'.

    To be perfectly honest, I've always been more of a handheld gaming enthusiast, so yes, it goes without saying that I'd love to see Teleglitch go handheld. Moreover, with Sony's excellent 'PS Hearts Devs' indie drive, what better device than Paystation Vita huh? Perhaps with a dash of cross-buy-tastic PS3 (or even PS4) support thrown in for good measure!

    The convenience of iOS would probably be pretty cool for some, but personally speaking, I'm really not a fan of virtual touchscreen controls, and with Nintendo's 3DS heavily weighted towards 'games for all the family', Vita is definitely where it's at for me!
    Expand
  5. May 19, 2013
    9
    Very tense and compelling top-down shooter. It has a survival horror feel to it with scarce resources and plenty of enemies. The difficulty isVery tense and compelling top-down shooter. It has a survival horror feel to it with scarce resources and plenty of enemies. The difficulty is high, with permadeath and only being able to save at the end of a level. I would highly recommend this game if you like fast paced, tense action and difficult games that reward fast reflexes and resource management. Expand
  6. Jul 26, 2013
    9
    Retro aesthetic, subtle atmosphere, satisfying gunplay, unforgiving difficulty. Patient and careful exploration will reward you with items toRetro aesthetic, subtle atmosphere, satisfying gunplay, unforgiving difficulty. Patient and careful exploration will reward you with items to craft advance weapons, but twitchy, adrenaline-intense combat execution will keep you alive. It's not for everyone, so try out the demo first. Personally, I fell in love after playing the demo and immediately bought myself a copy. Expand
  7. Jul 25, 2013
    4
    I normally love the top down shooter genre, and this game shows a lot of promise. But on the whole the experience is very lacking.

    The
    I normally love the top down shooter genre, and this game shows a lot of promise. But on the whole the experience is very lacking.

    The game tells you levels are procedurally generated, but the variation they do have is far more limited than you would think. Each level has the same rooms, just arranged into different places with some awkward hallways stringing them together.

    Other reviewers have commented that it's hard, but most any game can be made just as hard by removing any save functions. The overall effect of removing save points and deleting saves when you die was more tedious and frustrating that I have to slog through the same areas again. And again. And again. If that's your idea of fun I can only imagine what kind of abusive household you must have grown up in.

    Another frustration, the knife (which you will have to use a ridiculous amount for a top down "shooter") does not automatically keep attacking. I had to download an auto-clicker just to spam left clicks for me because you will wear out your index finger and mouse in short order otherwise. If that sounds too technical for you or if you plan on playing on a console without a turbo button controller you should not buy this game.

    The painfully low resolution makes it hard to even know what you're looking at, which in later levels when enemies start carrying guns will regularly prove fatal. The flavor text you pick up from terminals is probably my favorite part, but if I wanted to indulge my bookish side I'd be better served by ordering a book. At $15 it's hard to say it's not worth the price, but it certainly isn't worth the time.
    Expand