• Publisher: Atari
  • Release Date: May 1, 2012
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Jun 1, 2012
    92
    Overall, I found TERA to be a bombastic mix of bleeding edge graphics and blazing gameplay in an enormous persistent world. I cannot express how much the change to action combat has enriched an already competent MMORPG.
  2. May 14, 2012
    91
    The fact is that TERA has an incredible amount going for it as an MMO. It forges ahead of most other offerings in terms of graphics, it presents a style of combat that not only sets itself apart from most options but manages to be a major selling point for the game, it comes with a diverse array of fun classes to play as, and it does it all with style and grace.
  3. May 3, 2012
    90
    TERA may not offer enough to dethrone World of Warcraft, but it is a wonderful game with a thrilling story and loads of action. Above all else the combat mechanics are a great innovation.
  4. Aug 3, 2012
    89
    I enjoyed my time with Tera and it did leave me wanting to play more. If you can get past the occasional lag and easy starting area, it's a nice alternative to WoW. Whether or not it'll survive against WoW remains to be seen, but I think Tera will stick around for quite some time.
  5. Jun 20, 2012
    85
    TERA is a well done classic MMORPG with great attention to detail. It takes what is best from the genre and adds just enough original things to keep it fresh and interesting. And most of all - TERA is very pleasing to the eyes.
  6. May 30, 2012
    85
    Is TERA worth your time? It depends. Can you handle an endless barrage of generic quests? If the answer is 'yes', you'll find yourself emmerged in a fantastic world. Even though TERA follows a path that is well known in the MMO-handbook, it manages to lift the genre to a higher level in some ways. One of of those ways is the nearly perfect combat system, Also, fans of PvP elements will find a heavenly experience in this absolute pearl of an MMO.
  7. May 21, 2012
    85
    A more than noteworthy MMORPG with a phenomenal combat system. We are sure future MMORPG will take good note of TERA's combat mechanics and once you try it you will be convinced. Despite this great combat system, the game is too traditional in other aspects. Every fan of the genre should give it at least a try.
  8. May 16, 2012
    85
    TERA is beautiful to see and explore, and exciting to play. It may stick too close to some of the generic conceits of MMO gameplay, but it most definitely offers a unique and enjoyable experience.
  9. May 14, 2012
    85
    Fantastic combat system and impressive graphics. TERA is a joy for the senses and an adventure that will fill the player with light, colour, rich landscapes and imaginative monsters. However, the quest design is a bit poor and predictable.
  10. May 16, 2012
    84
    On its loftiest promise of redefining massively multiplayer combat for good, Tera delivers a stunning new model of action that can't be ignored. Its only flaw is keeping the focus of its ambitions narrow, choosing to play it safe in almost every other regard with the form and function of an otherwise conventional MMO.
  11. 84
    TERA fixes the very worst aspect of WoW-the lame combat-while making some improvements to other features and doing a good job of emulating the basics. If you're looking for a new MMO, TERA is an excellent choice.
  12. May 14, 2012
    83
    Overall, Tera is extremely fun; the real time battle system makes the game very unique among the MMO genre. The use of the Unreal Engine and the beautiful soundtrack does a wonderful job of immersing players into the world. The promise of the Vanarchs sounds like a great attempt at giving players the ability to really influence the world, though the questing system is somewhat disappointing in the sense that it makes the game feel like a standard MMO. And finally the battle system makes the game stand out against a slew of MMO games that have already made a name for themselves.
  13. 80
    Highly addictive new MMORPG thanks to its fantastic environment and sophisticated combat system. Main story and quest lines deserve some improvements. [July 2012]
  14. Jun 6, 2012
    80
    Tera struggles with a couple of annoying issues but looks wonderful, doesn't cost much and fantastic combat system turns this MMORPG into a real action game. [July 2012, p.56]
  15. Jun 4, 2012
    80
    TERA is a fantasy MMO-game that eschews the well worn concept of MMO-combat for something draws more inspiration from games like Devil May Cry and God of War than World of Warcraft. Visually stunning, though a bit heavy on the fan service side, TERA delivers fast paced combat and a rich world to conquer, either by force or through politics. All in all, an enjoyable experience.
  16. 80
    Tera delivers an accessible yet deep MMO experience with a fairly thin story, addictive combat and graphics that continue to impress.
  17. May 18, 2012
    80
    What the game does well it does very well, the action combat system being the foremost example of that. There's no shortage of small missteps that interfered with my total satisfaction with the game, made even more annoying by the fact that most of them could have had simple fixes. But the good does significantly outweigh the bad, and if you're looking for an MMO that plays very dynamically and differently from most of the pack, Tera is right up your alley.
  18. May 11, 2012
    80
    Too light to really capture PvE fans in the long run, Tera offers, on the other hand, a new level of challenge for those who like player versus player battles, thanks to its manual "true" targeting combat. Even though there's still some major things missing (like the battlegrounds), Tera remains a solid MMO, blessed with top-notch visuals. It's only true weakness: serious competitors coming in 2012.
  19. May 9, 2012
    80
    With its fun and entertaining PvE and PvP, TERA proves to be a title with great potential. If you are bored with what you are playing now, we suggest you to give it a try.
  20. May 8, 2012
    80
    With a fresh take on combat that forgoes a targeting system in favor of a simple crosshair, the game shines in both the visual and gameplay department.
  21. May 28, 2012
    77
    TERA is a game that certainly offers a fresh appeal on an aging genre but there isn't quite enough "new" here.
  22. May 23, 2012
    77
    TERA stands mightily on its own as a unique, inherently fun, MMO experience. Even if you don't wind up loving it as I have, you should definitely give it a try. Just get past the Isle of Dawn before you judge it, fight a BAM and try a dungeon. Chances are, you'll see why I've been so charmed.
  23. Aug 22, 2012
    75
    That being said, Tera is in surprisingly good shape for a game so early in its life cycle. The journey to level cap is mostly entertaining, endgame content is available, and the core gameplay elements are solid.
  24. Jun 23, 2012
    75
    The world of Tera is one that most gamers have seen a lot: monsters, heroes with a lot of equipment and heroines with huge, erm… skills. It's hard to blame people for leaving Tera for what it is after having taken a quick glance at it. But that would be a shame because Tera has a few refreshing game mechanics. The real-time battles are about skill instead of statistics and many different monsters make every fight exhilarating. It's too bad though that it has a terribly boring questing system.
  25. May 25, 2012
    75
    Tera is all about active fighting. The battles feel more dynamic than in any other MMORPG and the design of enemies and the exotic world is praiseworthy. But if you look behind all that, you'll find monotonous quests and an almost non-existent story.
  26. May 16, 2012
    75
    Generic questing aside, Tera is a well-executed game: it's easy on the eyes, smooth under the fingers, and remarkably stable.
  27. May 15, 2012
    75
    TERA is not a game that will revolutionize the MMORPG world, offering repetitive and boring quests. However, its battle system, taking a page out of action titles, happens to propose a more dynamic and interesting gameplay that MMORPG commonly offer on the market. For the first time, the ability to aim and move play a part in TERA, and the beauty of its graphics and its charming universe can be considered as strong points, which is not alwalys the case in titles like this.
  28. Jun 25, 2012
    73
    Looks fantastic, with interesting combat mechanics, but dull quests ruin the party. [Aug 2012, p.83]
  29. Jun 12, 2012
    73
    Tera features a truely great combat system but it actually hides cumbersome mechanics and repetitive quest grinding with poor endgame contents and a shallow PvP system. Next updates should provide a decent amount of content but in the meanwhile TERA is just a mediocre MMO with sexy ladies and cool gear.
  30. Aug 23, 2012
    70
    Tera sure makes promise on the "true action combat" that it so advertises, but that change alone to the MMORPG formula isn't enough to flip the genre on its head, especially when you've forgotten about other aspects of it.
  31. Jul 22, 2012
    70
    A nicely dressed game with a fun combat system, which also lets its Asian grinder-roots shine through. Especially during the quests they should have mustered more courage to try something new. There is fun to be had here, but you have to know, what you get yourself into.
  32. Jun 28, 2012
    70
    TERA is faithful to the Korean tradition. However, while devoted to grinding, TERA introduces interesting new features such as the political system. The lack of appropriate endgame content, and the mismanagement by Frogster and Blue Hole are emptying the servers.
  33. Jun 17, 2012
    70
    If simply taken as the sum of its parts, TERA might not seem all that impressive. But considering just how excellent its combat is and just how gorgeous everything in-game looks, it's impossible to dismiss the game as just another run-of-the-mill MMO.
  34. May 21, 2012
    70
    Pushed to the extremes of an MMORPG, even the commendable highs of its unrelenting focus on combat run out of steam long before you even reach the level cap, and that's a terrible fate for a game that otherwise shows so much promise.
  35. May 17, 2012
    70
    TERA is a game caught between MMO past and MMO future. Its action-based combat is a breath of fresh air for the genre, and makes tackling its giant enemy monsters all the more thrilling, but its quests are formulaic and repetitious, serving no real purpose other than to move you through zones while anticipating the next giant boss fight.
  36. May 16, 2012
    70
    Tera will be remembered for two things: art and its implementation of a combat experience unique to the genre. But the use of familiar MMO tropes feels somewhat uninspired. From the beginning, taking down monsters and levelling up is easy and only after the player leaves the Island of Dawn do monsters pose more of a challenge, but the biggest enemy you'll have to contend with is boredom. While Tera has a strong focus on community and PvP and the combat certainly is an innovation that I'd like to see implemented in more MMOs, I've had a difficult time breaking through the monotony of the non-community experience.
  37. Aug 13, 2012
    68
    Action-oriented combat and interesting graphics aren't enough to overcome what is overall a rather bland experience.
  38. May 25, 2012
    65
    Tera's an action-MMO that nails the "action" part and then manages a face-palm-inducing face-plant on all the other bits.
  39. Jun 6, 2012
    64
    Heavy grind will rightly put people off, but make it to grouping and its combat shines. Some of the races are still creepy though.
  40. Jun 22, 2012
    60
    I'm happy that TERA discards the elements that make combat so tedious in other MMOs, but I wish it was bold enough to attempt to fix the many other shortcomings of the genre.
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 587 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 56 out of 279
  1. May 25, 2012
    2
    Tera offers almost nothing different or unique outside of it's combat and political system (even then, I'm not fond of a potentially retarded player being in charge of so much). It feels like they put a lot of effort into over hyping their combat system and not enough effort into...anything else. The game would have more potential if it wasn't a standard-style MMO with the most basic cut and dry questing system available. If you want a story line, forget about it. Just expect to collect 10 boxes and kill 50 boars. Not just -any- boars though, but boars with the same model and skills you saw when you were level 5, forty levels ago. Yes, a lot of recycled mobs standing in a field. If you manage to stomach the horrible level 55 through 60 grind and make it to level cap, expect the game to be heavily dependent on gear (which you'll struggle in getting unless you know a Tank or you are a Tank). Otherwise, have fun in 2hr+ queues even if you're a healer. ==== As for the dungeons, it's probably the best part of the game, however their LFG system is flawed but it gets the job done (barely). What's wrong with the LFG system? Well, for starters, people AFK and that's not the worst part, the AFKers are usually the group leaders. Who can kick? Group leaders. By then, you'll probably have your tank leave out of frustration and your group falls apart. Another scenario, my personal favorite, is someone who "buys a tank" to tank for them in a dungeon but upon arrival, the Tank will leave as soon as everyone zones in. Again, the group falls apart. The next best part though is wiping. Since you get zoned into an instance, chances are you have no idea where this instance is, so if you wipe, you're ported back to a town somewhere in the zone. Thus, you have people leaving because 1) You wiped, 2) They're lost, 3) They're tired of waiting for the lost person to find their way. *Another* flaw is the fact that if you press "wait" before entering a Dungeon, there is no option to teleport back to the dungeon. Yeah..this wasn't thought through. ====

    Finally, I don't think Tera offers enough to be deemed as "unique." The hype of the combat system will wither away after level 40 and I promise you'll be clawing your eyes out by the time you kill your 9823794872938479824 recycled quest mob. The depth of the quests is not worth reading (not even the "story" quest), the cut scenes are awful and poorly translated. There's just not much to do at cap to even justify putting yourself through so much pain and agony. Not to mention (take it as good or bad, as a female gamer I found it weird) all the female characters look and dress like porn stars. Tera took "battle thongs" to a whole new level. ====

    PS: I hope you -really- like 100% gear based, stuns, back-to-back knockdowns, chain CC's, getting ganked/zerged, and getting two shot [unless...you're a lancer], because that's about what you can expect from Tera's PVP. So much for skill (because..aiming is hard or something?). Honestly, it's no wonder this game failed in other countries already. But don't take my word for it, try it for yourselves and make your own opinion.
    Full Review »
  2. May 1, 2012
    10
    Well I though I would try to provide a more thoughtful, and not emotionally charged review of my first few days in TERA (and honestly how can people give the game a 3 based on bugs and netcode that not everyone experiences) by talking about some pros and cons. First let me say that I have never found any lasting appeal with Korean MMO's. I never like the art direction, and I always thought content was severely lacking (offering "grinding" as a sole activity). A friend recommended I try the open beta, and I was hesitant at first - I hate Korean MMO's right? Well, let me say that while the game isn't going to win any awards for breaking the mold with standard fed-ex quests, etc., the combat in this game is so amazing that I have had a hard time going back to the "old way" of doing things in games like WoW. It is so good in fact that I spent more time playing the head start than I did the GW2 beta weekend. It is just that good. So, if you hated Korean MMO's in the past, give this game a shot. You can thank me later :) Full Review »
  3. May 1, 2012
    10
    The game is simply amazing. It's terrific. Don't let a bunch of internet trolls troll you. I played in the closed beta, and all the problems in the beta are fixed. I would give this an 11/10 but the character customization on some races held it back, so it only gets 10/10 Full Review »