TERA PC

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 746 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 20, 2017
    2
    Oh the potential this game had, and how how far it has fallen.

    I was in the beta for Tera and the initial NA release, and I played the game to late 2015. Over time (and 7 max level characters) I've watched Tera become the travesty it is now, and after trying it again (uninstalled mere hours ago) I want to give it the review it deserves though there isn't enough space. I'll say what I
    Oh the potential this game had, and how how far it has fallen.

    I was in the beta for Tera and the initial NA release, and I played the game to late 2015. Over time (and 7 max level characters) I've watched Tera become the travesty it is now, and after trying it again (uninstalled mere hours ago) I want to give it the review it deserves though there isn't enough space. I'll say what I can and give ratings for the initial release and the current release for comparison.

    GRAPHICS- 7/10 - 3/10 - On release in 2012, the graphics were astounding. Customization wasn't overly impressive but it wasn't by any means limited. Of course this was back before gender/race locked classes existed. After the big lawsuit by NCSoft quality dropped drastically. BHS removed a significant number of unique models from the game and began recycling everything, and the quality of graphics dropped dramatically. By the time Fate of Arun came around, the exact same skin was used for all of the new gear in the game with the only exceptions being over priced vanity skins you purchase for real world money. Monsters in the game were re-used over and over with not even differing move sets between them. There is also a massive disparity in the costumes made for females compared to males, with 3 times as many created for female only characters.

    GAMEPLAY - 8/10 - 4/10 - Game play has and will probably always be the strongest quality of this game, and is largely the only point where Tera holds up even remotely. The game play was designed to be fast and reactive, with a heavy emphasis on aiming your skills and your weapon. There is no tab targeting and only select spells can lock on. However, this is something that suffers from the horrible quality of the game. Skills de-sync everywhere, and the constant and severe server lag makes it exceptionally hard to participate in precision based combat. The classes themselves are also subject to a horrible state of unbalance, the newer AOE based classes are purposefully made to be exceptionally strong compared to the older classes, and always locked to a specific race's female (in most cases, Elin). The gameplay had an amazing amount of potential, but it has been run into the ground by the astoundingly bad quality of the games servers, the number of game breaking bugs (many are so bad that you can only fix them by completely reinstalling the game) and poor optimization resulting in the game becoming more unstable since these problems have ALWAYS been there. And this is before we talk about dependence on the cash shop.

    SOUND - 4/10 - Sound has been constant throughout the game. The music, voices and sounds were never impressive, and they remain as such.

    STORY - 7/10 - 2/10 - The initial story of the game was engaging and interesting, despite having poor voice performances. The continents are actually two slumbering titans which "dreamed" the gods into existence. The gods then created the mortal races that live on the massive creatures, but a civil war left most gods dead or trapped on the mortal realm. Now the mysterious Argons have emerged from the underworld to either kill or wake the titans, effectively ending existence. This story was dropped within the first year, leaving entire plot lines unfinished. Important characters disappeared without a trace (Elleon, Thulsa) or were just introduced for no reason (most of the gods). New content is limited, bosses have no back story to them at all and lore is nonexistent. The game's world itself feels distinctly hollow with the lack of writing or world building.

    OTHER - The cash shop. You WILL use the cash shop, or you will fail. This is the worst aspect of this game. Improving your gear's level through enchanting is essential to progression. You enchant gear by sacrificing materials called Alkahests and Feedstock to give it a stat boost, up to +9. Then you masterwork it with two scrolls that also re-roll the stats on the gear, so that you can improve it to +12 with MASTERWORK alkahest, then awaken it through MORE scrolls, so that you can improve it to +15 with more masterwork alkahest. This process is subject to HORRENDOUSLY unforgiving RNG which gets worse at every point, while the number of materials you need raises exponentially with the equipment tier and bonus level and all of the materials you have to grind for. Higher tier materials have lower quantities and droprates, and the RNG is made purposefully more unforgiving on better gear. It is normal to use tens of thousands of materials to gain a single level on a single piece of gear. OR you can just buy special materials from the cash shop with a 100% success rate.

    Final words - While initially 8/10 with monumental potential, it's now nothing more than a poorly maintained cash grab trying not so hard to masquerade as a video game. Poor management of the NA and EU game versions drove it below ground and the cash shop design smothers basic gameplay. 2/10, Don't waste your time here.
    Expand
  2. Dec 28, 2016
    1
    It feels like one of does special DVDs you used to get from events with uncut content and alpha parts of the game.
    The lore is all over the place and the voice actors sound like they rather stay at home.
    The combat is easy to figure out but hard to use because of its clunky nature. except for that i find it to be a fine game, as long as you got friends you can always overlook the small
    It feels like one of does special DVDs you used to get from events with uncut content and alpha parts of the game.
    The lore is all over the place and the voice actors sound like they rather stay at home.
    The combat is easy to figure out but hard to use because of its clunky nature.
    except for that i find it to be a fine game, as long as you got friends you can always overlook the small things.
    i give it a one for making it into an actual game. But cant say that there is more that feels like i can put it as positive, its like getting an e for effort
    Expand
  3. Nov 25, 2016
    4
    At first i thought this is going to be an amazing MMO and i was incredibly dissapointed. I quit after reaching level 14 since the game got boring extremely quickly. Not only that the game runs like complete **** even on decent computers and the graphics look really awkward. Combat however is really fun, but thats about it.
  4. May 21, 2016
    4
    Tera é um jogo online que tinha tudo pra ser bom, mas a longo prazo foi sendo estragado pela produtora que o controla. Um jogo repleto de bugs, crashes e demora pra carregar. As classes são completamente desequilibradas, o jogo vive lançando novas classes genéricas e abandonando as antigas. O resultado é que algumas classes estão em extrema desvantagem em comparação com as nova. É um jogoTera é um jogo online que tinha tudo pra ser bom, mas a longo prazo foi sendo estragado pela produtora que o controla. Um jogo repleto de bugs, crashes e demora pra carregar. As classes são completamente desequilibradas, o jogo vive lançando novas classes genéricas e abandonando as antigas. O resultado é que algumas classes estão em extrema desvantagem em comparação com as nova. É um jogo também que não possui nenlhum conteúdo para quem é novato , pois enquanto você não for 65 a única coisa que vc irá fazer é repetir a mesma dungeon seguidas vezes até finalmente alcançar o lvl 65. As Quando vc alcançar lvl 65 irá ficar eternamente montando set, indo nas mesmas dungeons seguidas vezes até conseguir os desejados itens. Tentar ficar bom com apenas um personagem é extremamente dificil, pois você só tem um limite de quantas vezes você pode em uma DG com o mesmo personagem, sendo assim vc é meio que obrigado a criar 5 personagens se quiser ficar com muito dinheiro.

    É completamente mal otimizado e o fps vive oscilando mesmo em placas de vídeo caras. Os gráficos são fracos - Possui texturas de baixa qualidade e por isso abusam de uma iluminação realista na tentativa de ofuscar a textura de baixa resolução .
    Os personagens são mal feitos, possuem aquela "marca" no pescoço como se a cabeça deles fossem encaixadas no corpo parecendo um boneco de plastico. Já os cabelos ficam "flutando" sobre a cabeça, oq demonstra a despreocupação da produtora com os pequenos detalhes. O mapa é enorme e completamente vazio e genérico, fazendo com que se torne desnecessário seu tamanho, pois só serve pra vc percorrer longos caminhos até chegar no Npc.
    O jogo é apelativo sexualmente, você só vê "criancinhas" de camisola andando pela cidade ou então castanics semi nuas. As montarias são ridículas e infantis e não combinam com ambiente do jogo. Até montaria de hello kit existe no game, oq é extremamente ridículo.
    Expand
  5. Feb 18, 2016
    2
    The once innovative idea of putting a little bit of action grew old with time, but if there is a good side to it, it would be that. Graphics are good in theory but in practice, the game is extremely poorly optimized with thought of single core processors and dx9, it wasn't good even when it was released and gotten only worse with updates which forces even 980ti users to run on low in someThe once innovative idea of putting a little bit of action grew old with time, but if there is a good side to it, it would be that. Graphics are good in theory but in practice, the game is extremely poorly optimized with thought of single core processors and dx9, it wasn't good even when it was released and gotten only worse with updates which forces even 980ti users to run on low in some dungeons and cities as is often reported on forums. The game has always been essentially pay 2 win - that is the most important Asian versions (Korean and Japan). Same is true for European Gameforge version. It has been known that the only exception, ever since the game went f2p, was the North American version. But even for Tera NA it should be noted that from day one you can buy level 60 and get to 65 in an evening (60 to 65 levels were added on top of what was designed when they game was buy 2 play and are very fast to go through on purpose with a set of special quests). Then, you can buy the best gear in the game and also a premium subscription that gives you twice the amount of rewards for everything that matters, twice the amount of dungeon runs a day - which are limited and free stuff daily like dungeon reset scrolls allowing you to progress 4x faster than a standard player. Inventory and bank space is also limited and has to be expanded with microtransaction items. All that items can be traded with in game money if somebody already paid real money for it and certain parts of armor can only be bought or upgraded efficiently with paid items (and by efficiently I mean that instead of getting them in one day you may spend 100 days fighting with rng). Having those items isn't a necessity but often nobody will want to play with you any proper dungeons if you don't buy them, it will be okay if you have 5 friends but otherwise you'll end up complaining at the forums like other people. Please keep in mind i'm describing the Tara NA which is considered to NOT be p2w - what that means is that BHS - the company making the game - often doesn't care about that version as it doesn't bring them much money, many things that are broken because for e.g. Tera NA decided to not put certain items in microtransactions store are often fixed with a year of delay. Realistically it would take about 4-6 months of playing 2-4h a day to get the gear paying users get in first month and with 6 month gear cycles making old gear worthless players are forced to start from 0 or pay every 6 months. The pvp content always used to be extremely unbalanced across the classes and even though NA and EU community used to really enjoy the pvp part, BHE sees the game as a PVE game and has been neglecting pvp, releasing more and more imbalanced classes, incentivising people to pay for gear, levels etc. for those new classes. The old classes are right now mostly irrelevant and often kicked from parties for not contributing enough to the run. Furthermore, each patch dungeons are being deleted from the game giving less and less content to play while releasing less dungeons which are often criticised to be "
    yet another rehash of old dungeons". Thus the endgame consists mostly of mundane task endlessly grinding mobs for vanguard points that are used to buy materials for enchanting which essentially is a gold sink . Killing 2400 mobs killing aprox.400 per 15 min. (with 5 top level characters) which yields a total of minimum 1h30min but more realistically 2h of mindless grind (look for "tera tar quest" videos) gives you enough materials for 2.88 enchant attempts. With number of tries averaging 100 to fully enchant one out of four enchantable gear pieces and ranging even up to 350 tries enchanting at least your weapon (most crucial part for running top dungeons and pvp, which requires a separate set of gear) it can take you up to 243 hours of mindless grind. Or you could pay and get better enchanting materials, or gold and just buy materials from other players. But, as they say, if it can be gained with in game means it's not pay 2 win. The support is horrible and while professional with responses it can take them a week to respond depending on type of your ticket (under an hour if it's money related) and you'll always get the samey, schematic, sorry can't do answer. On the plus side, the game, because of it's action nature, doesn't suffer from botters. It's worth noting that a lot of community is toxic but that's typical for online games, and that all new classes are race locked and gender locked to oversexualized females (e.g. Elins). Music is limited and mediocre. Lore unimportant since the game went f2p. If you never played an action mmo it can be a fresh experience for a while, making the grind to lvl.65 on first character even somewhat enjoyable.
    Expand
  6. Jan 14, 2016
    2
    I have played this game for over two years now. I have seen it at its best, and now currently its worst. The only thing that kept me playing was the action combat, but not even that is enough now. The community is incredibly toxic (given a f2p game) but what's even worse is that Enmasse Entertainment, the publisher for Bluehole is horrible now. They do less than pay attention to theI have played this game for over two years now. I have seen it at its best, and now currently its worst. The only thing that kept me playing was the action combat, but not even that is enough now. The community is incredibly toxic (given a f2p game) but what's even worse is that Enmasse Entertainment, the publisher for Bluehole is horrible now. They do less than pay attention to the community's needs, banning people from forums if they were to list a single complaint that is bashing the company. They lost their best staff and now are currently running their game into the dirt, promising players content but then pushing it back by more than two months. The only compensation is a cash grab event that only makes Enmasse more money. If you don't believe how displeased the community is, go ahead and check the forums. They are removing downvotes on the forums however, so soon enough we won't even be able to voice our displeasure. The game is going downhill as their support is getting worse by the month and there are no fixes to problems in game that are mentioned frequently. I used to love this game, but now I'm just tired. Expand
  7. Jan 14, 2016
    0
    Back in the pay to play days, I considered this game a lot of fun. However, now (at least the NA version of the game) its terrible. Prepare for a boring grind up to cap, or pay like 60$ to cut out the middle man and get to 60, 5 levels from cap. Once you're at cap, fight the same boss a bunch of times and hope it drops what you need. Then enchant it, probably spending all of your hardBack in the pay to play days, I considered this game a lot of fun. However, now (at least the NA version of the game) its terrible. Prepare for a boring grind up to cap, or pay like 60$ to cut out the middle man and get to 60, 5 levels from cap. Once you're at cap, fight the same boss a bunch of times and hope it drops what you need. Then enchant it, probably spending all of your hard earned gold on it, because it's literally impossible to make the in-game currency, well, IN-GAME without spending your hard earned real money in the cash shop to sell to someone. Which is hard because no one has money anymore. Content takes too long to come out, seen in the January Letter in the forums on the EME site, a much wanted/needed dungeon has been pushed back till March. We were promised it in January. This is just one of the many broken promises. This game is poorly optimized. Not even the best of the best computers can run it at 100%. The developer in Korea is more interested in milking money out of costumes. Prepare for the new classes being female (or at this point, Elin) only. The community itself is full of trolls and lots of disgusting "jokes".

    Sure, the combat is fun, but it's not worth the absolute **** that comes with it. In all honesty, do not buy into this game. If you're interested in this type of combat, look into Blade and Soul. It's coming out very soon. TERA itself has fallen.
    Expand
  8. Jan 14, 2016
    0
    Amazing game but destroyed by Bluehole and EME (publisher). No EME staff plays the game or is at max level and they don't know what the community needs or wants. All they keep doing is more cash grab events and nothing else other than trashing the best action combat out there. Tera really has the potential to be the best game out there if only these publishers and BHS had some sort of brain..
  9. Jan 14, 2016
    0
    garbage publisher, and garbage dev team, only releasing female only classes, and instead of working on content they work on new cash shop interface. completely ignores their player base .
  10. Jan 14, 2016
    0
    ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ Give Class Balance ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ Give UI Fix ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ Give Game Optimization
    ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ Give Class Balance ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ Give UI Fix ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ Give Game Optimization
    ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ Give Class Balance ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ Give UI Fix ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ Give Game Optimization
  11. Jan 14, 2016
    0
    Fix the UI lag
    Optimize the game
    Stop of crating famale and gender lock classes
    Give us a real content
    Without this, that game will still a trash
    Rip TERA 2016
  12. Dec 1, 2015
    0
    All reviews on Dec 1, 2015 are fake brigading reviews, a new account with no posts asked the TERA subreddit to post positive reviews here which was probably a dev. This game is utter **** besides the combat system, don't even bother.
  13. Nov 5, 2015
    0
    The game is a failure.
    - Very-very long installation. The downloader was **** at release, but there was a bandwith and like 1 patch. Now the bandwith comes and goes (3mb-50kb), and there are 8 patches. The patcher sometimes brokes down and stops. Had to delete temp in appdata to fix it. The avr download time is 3 day.
    - Dangerously unreliable client. You get a crash like every 10
    The game is a failure.
    - Very-very long installation. The downloader was **** at release, but there was a bandwith and like 1 patch. Now the bandwith comes and goes (3mb-50kb), and there are 8 patches. The patcher sometimes brokes down and stops. Had to delete temp in appdata to fix it. The avr download time is 3 day.
    - Dangerously unreliable client. You get a crash like every 10 minutes. Everything is crashing in the game. I tried to make a new character, I crashed 3 times under the process. Try to do an instance, a bg, or a raid like this. It's not possible.
    - Ugly characters. The problem is not the anime styled look or sth like that. Simply, the characters are ugly. Males/females get an ugly makeup, ugly clothes and the prefaces.. whory (male and female). The female creation is a horror. Most of the hairs are the same long-style and there aren't any short style ingame. None. The faces look very bad when you look closely. It's like a strange mix between a European, an Asian and an Anime face. I needed 20-30 minutes to rework it to a good-looking female (hardly any good costumization) than the game crashed. I did it again, clicked to the change name and crashed. Than I crashed at the damn finish button. Most people want to make a perfect looking lady as their character. Thats not possible.

    Etz. Big dissappointment.
    Expand
  14. Oct 17, 2015
    0
    ok yall. tera can be great like the classes, graphics and the plot story line whatever idk. but THEY GOTTA FIX THEIR QUEST PATHS OR CHECKPOINTS CAUSE THIS BOI HERE BE GOING AROUND KILLING NOTHING FOR 30 MINS. thanks tera
  15. Aug 10, 2015
    0
    I don't recommend playing this game because the graphic is pretty much horrible and the environment is at its worst. Also, its free to play but pay to win and look good. EMP price is expensive and there's barely good dungeons to do. The pvp gets very boring. If you guys decided to play this game and celestial hills server, do not join Bootylicious guild. Far most horrible guild in all ofI don't recommend playing this game because the graphic is pretty much horrible and the environment is at its worst. Also, its free to play but pay to win and look good. EMP price is expensive and there's barely good dungeons to do. The pvp gets very boring. If you guys decided to play this game and celestial hills server, do not join Bootylicious guild. Far most horrible guild in all of my 10 years of mmo. Enhancements in this game is ridiculously stupid. Expand
  16. Jul 28, 2015
    1
    IF you can get the gamer to play - which you likely won't be able to even after 20+ hrs being given dreadful advice that will compromise the security of your system, like "turn off your firewall, install invalidated security certificates, install root files" and reinstall and pray. This game has zero support, just some drones that repeat the same bad advice. Given it is now run from aIF you can get the gamer to play - which you likely won't be able to even after 20+ hrs being given dreadful advice that will compromise the security of your system, like "turn off your firewall, install invalidated security certificates, install root files" and reinstall and pray. This game has zero support, just some drones that repeat the same bad advice. Given it is now run from a Seattle based company there is no excuse.

    The game itself? No idea - after over 30 hours dicking about with the **** setup and even worse advice I gave up

    I'd recommend giving it a try - but it doesn't work out of the box - do yourself a favour - it doesn't like your PC and these clowns won't know or care to fix it.

    This isn't trolling - this is an honest review after spending almosta weeks worth of my time trying to get it to work with "advice" from the tech staff and forums as wel as unofficla attempts to work around the issue of being unable to login. Not sure? check google and see how common this issue is - and then see how many solutions have worked.
    Expand
  17. Jun 11, 2015
    4
    While the graphics are good, and I like the timed dodge/block mechanics, once those began to get old I found the character types not sufficiently diverse, the quests bland, a lack of a solid story, and the level of immersion antiquated because you don't hear the NPC's speak.
  18. May 25, 2015
    1
    This game is awful overall and the only people who should every play it are people who love endless grind or pulling out their credit cards so they can pay to win.

    I'll be nice though and start with the only positive. The gameplay mechanics itself is decently fun in PVE. Rolling around and chaining abilities can be challenging on harder bosses and offers something most MMOs don't.
    This game is awful overall and the only people who should every play it are people who love endless grind or pulling out their credit cards so they can pay to win.

    I'll be nice though and start with the only positive. The gameplay mechanics itself is decently fun in PVE. Rolling around and chaining abilities can be challenging on harder bosses and offers something most MMOs don't. However, it's largely repetitive after a while and can get old after you get halfway to the level cap. This is about all TERA has to offer.

    As for the rest of it, once you hit the level cap expect a huge gear disadvantage followed by endless grind with a horrific community and just about every other standard feature you'd expect out of an MMO falling flat on its face so hard that I honestly can't believe, after all the past examples we've had, they'd do so freaking bad at this things.

    First off, let's discuss PvP. It's not balanced. In terms of classes alone, TERA is another game which for some indeterminable reason decided to implement the god awful trinity (heals, DPS, tank) for groups. This automatically means that certain classes are going to faceroll other classes on the spot just by the nature of what their class is designed to do in 1v1. Their chosen method to fix this is to basically make healer classes have an endless supply of health, heals, mana and dodge skills which, instead of making it engaging to try to kill a healer, basically make it impossible to solo most healers and makes it a game of running around chasing them constantly. It's not fun. Not only this, but the two classes they've recently implemented are so undeniably overpowered that it's completely ruined PvP. The gunner has abilities that can completely wipe a group in 3v3 in one shot, and other abilities that require no skill at all but still wipe half of your health away while other melee DPS classes have to get off entire combos in exact order and pray the other player doesn't somehow desync while they're doing it to even come close to that kind of damage.

    Did I mention the gear grind for PvP also? Once you hit the level cap, you'll be put on a horrible, boring, and uneventful grind for gear. What's worse is that without the top gear, you'll be at such a huge disadvantage that you'll be effectively cut out from about half of the PvP content available. What's even worse is that players can pay to get this gear at such a hugely faster pace that it's effectively pay to win. Also the battlegrounds you have are awful and all broken for various reasons which I can't list here because it'd take too long. They're just bad, and you have to repeat them over and over to get end game gear, along with grinding PvE. What's even worse is that instead of fixing their current BGs or adding new interesting PvP content, they're just adding higher level armor for more grind to keep players around. Expect constant desyncs and lag spikes while you're playing too; screen freeze and then sudden death. So much fun.

    The graphics are OK but poorly optimized. It's about on the level of Aion for pure visuals but chugs like the Witcher 3.

    The combo system they tried to implement is something every player avoids because it just doesn't work like it should. Because of this, players turn to hotkey binding like WoW which, in my opinion, is awful and should have died for every MMO that came out after WoW.

    PvE is a grind and very samey. Nothing new after hitting level 30 or so. The same quests and then playing the same dungeons repeatedly just like WoW to get end game gear which is an even worse grind than PvP gear. I don't recommend it.

    The game is oversexualized. I found it hard to play at first just because of this. There's an overwhelmingly preferred race called Elin which is modeled after maybe an 8 year old anime girl which everyone dresses up in lingerie and stuff. It's obvious that there is some pedophilia infiltrating the ranks of TERA players.

    The broker is useless. Players put up stacks of consumable items which other players must buy the whole amount for sale or none at all. On top of this, the broker has a system where you have to negotiate with the player selling while they are online in order to receive a reasonable price. Otherwise, the game tacks on an extra set percentage which goes to neither player and just disappears as a tax. The negotiate option is obnoxious as it spams in chat trying to force you to answer it. People will constantly lowball your price too making you constantly hit refuse.

    The community of TERA is awful. It's not much better than **** The GMs haven't moderated the game in forever so harassment, derogatory language, racism, sexism, and pure filth are everywhere in chat. You'll be hard pressed to run into a decent group of people anywhere in the game who aren't the LOL YOU'RE SO BAD types either.

    I'm starting to run out of space so I'll just sum it up here. This is an awful game. Avoid it at all costs unless you really want a long grind.
    Expand
  19. May 18, 2015
    4
    The game is pretty good looking. Combat is great when you're playing pve. However, other than providing many hours of semi enjoyable level grind, Tera online has very little to offer. After bringing two characters to level cap, I feel like I have a pretty good idea of the game. PVP is pretty much irreconcilably broken. The outcomes of fights rely on gear, not skill, and this gear isThe game is pretty good looking. Combat is great when you're playing pve. However, other than providing many hours of semi enjoyable level grind, Tera online has very little to offer. After bringing two characters to level cap, I feel like I have a pretty good idea of the game. PVP is pretty much irreconcilably broken. The outcomes of fights rely on gear, not skill, and this gear is only attainable if you log many many hours of dungeon runs and crafting. Even if you were to do this, why would you? Incentives to stay in other MMOs aren't there in Tera.
    I think that the biggest problem Tera faces is the imbalance between classes. For an MMO that has been around for as long as Tera has, you would think that they would have figured out class balance by now.
    Overall I spent way too many hours running back and forth doing tearfully boring missions, all to finally reach level cap and realize that the community is toxic, and the game is empty of any real content.
    Expand
  20. Mar 7, 2015
    2
    I honestly can't believe all the POSITIVE REVIEWS for this 'game.'

    Do all these people like playing the SAME GAME they've played five-ten times before?! BEST COMBAT SYSTEM EVER?! I might like DOUBLE DRAGON better than this! I only got to level 11 and I could ALREADY TELL it was going to be the SAME redundant CHORE QUESTS every damn place I go! It's just another
    I honestly can't believe all the POSITIVE REVIEWS for this 'game.'

    Do all these people like playing the SAME GAME they've played five-ten times before?!

    BEST COMBAT SYSTEM EVER?! I might like DOUBLE DRAGON better than this!

    I only got to level 11 and I could ALREADY TELL it was going to be the SAME redundant CHORE QUESTS every damn place I go! It's just another walk-around-and-do-this (again) game!

    These ratings should be a FOUR MAX and more realistically a 2.5!

    I'm convinced En Masse Entertainment paid off thousands of people to give this game GOOD RATINGS and then went broke soon after so they had to make it FREE TO PLAY.

    Garbage game with VERY FEW UPSIDES.

    3/10!
    Expand
  21. Dec 19, 2014
    3
    This is actually a fun game - the overall concept it nothing new, but the combat system is really fun, much more fast paced / hack-n-slash than the traditional ''click-n-cast" like WoW. Unfortunately, if you're based in Europe, Gameforge - the publisher - are HORRIBLE. Frequent patch problems, launcher is really buggy, downloads are very slow, so your first install might take days (and I'mThis is actually a fun game - the overall concept it nothing new, but the combat system is really fun, much more fast paced / hack-n-slash than the traditional ''click-n-cast" like WoW. Unfortunately, if you're based in Europe, Gameforge - the publisher - are HORRIBLE. Frequent patch problems, launcher is really buggy, downloads are very slow, so your first install might take days (and I'm on a 150Mbps cable line so its not my end) and worst is the Terrible support (especially annoying if you're actually paid money through the store) Expand
  22. Dec 2, 2014
    4
    generic questing.
    Great graphics, but lame characters made to attract horny kids.
    The "action combat" wasn't very action like, honestly. The melee classes revert to a pretty generic button mashing MMO, the ranged classes aren't much different. I didn't play it very much though, honestly, the character designs and F2P tells me that it just wants easy profits from horny dudes. Sort of
    generic questing.
    Great graphics, but lame characters made to attract horny kids.
    The "action combat" wasn't very action like, honestly. The melee classes revert to a pretty generic button mashing MMO, the ranged classes aren't much different.
    I didn't play it very much though, honestly, the character designs and F2P tells me that it just wants easy profits from horny dudes.
    Sort of like scarlet blade in the sense that, unless it does some really amazing ground breaking work, its all going to be overshadowed by the cheap money grabbing character designs.
    The community is very young from what I saw.

    The f2p model isn't that bad, people who pay monthly get some pretty hefty gold/xp benefits, but its not terrible.
    Expand
  23. Nov 26, 2014
    3
    I find this game very boring and grindy. Quests of kill 15 of a goat mob then 10 of some other mob and repeat. Or collect some sort of item. Not really any variety in quests. The story didn't grip me and dislike the trashy races.

    It is good for making me fall asleep, so I only pay it at night with friends as it helps me get a good sleep.
  24. Jun 4, 2014
    0
    So yea, my game crashed today at the last few minutes of a 2 hour long instance. I talked the gm's about this and all they told me was that I wasn't present during the last fight hence I will not be rewarded with **** and that my 2 hours of hard work is basically flushed down the toilet. They told me to trouble shoot the problem and I asked what would happen if I trouble shoot it for them.So yea, my game crashed today at the last few minutes of a 2 hour long instance. I talked the gm's about this and all they told me was that I wasn't present during the last fight hence I will not be rewarded with **** and that my 2 hours of hard work is basically flushed down the toilet. They told me to trouble shoot the problem and I asked what would happen if I trouble shoot it for them. Then they started saying how I was abusing their live chat and cut me off the chat. I then relogged asking them why it's so hard to answer one simple question that requires one simple answer. They told me the exact same thing which in other words is telling me to **** off. So yea, if you don't want to risk getting dc'd due to their ****ty servers and not receive the rewards you deserve, don't play this game. Expand
  25. May 21, 2014
    3
    Poorly Optimized. Terrible quest-lines, the only " good " things are the combat mechanics and MAYBE pvp ( if you had more than 15 fps(5 in nexus lol.) ) The game also look terrible, it uses a very ugly bloom to try to make it looks better. The game, to be frank, looks like wow. In 2014. (2012 release date.) It looks like wow, okay. But, the fps are terrible. Changing the resolutionPoorly Optimized. Terrible quest-lines, the only " good " things are the combat mechanics and MAYBE pvp ( if you had more than 15 fps(5 in nexus lol.) ) The game also look terrible, it uses a very ugly bloom to try to make it looks better. The game, to be frank, looks like wow. In 2014. (2012 release date.) It looks like wow, okay. But, the fps are terrible. Changing the resolution doesn't help at all, too. Let's say Tera is beautiful on the outside, but taste terrible in the inside. The (kinda dead) fan base try to yell and protect the game, but it's already been 2 years and the game still looks terrible, there is absolutely no event, all the money goes into upgrading the store and the " Tera Club (Players that pay to get some bonuses) " (actually true.) So, yeah, the game is really dead, they are going to release a new class soon, don't know why, they should try to add endgame content first of all because you're actually really bored in this game at max level unlike others MMORPG. The game looks damn HYPE, but is not.
    There is also some kind of political things going on but it's basically only for PVP and bonuses and idiots spamming the chat (as far as I know. ) And also, the game is so dead right now. It's quite a good thing I think.

    TL;DR : The game could be good. But it's a Korean game, and most of them means store over endgame/gameplay/optimization

    Peace out.
    Expand
  26. Mar 5, 2014
    2
    I've played this competitively + casually from BETA all the way into the Dungeon Assault (Q4 2013) and Alliance patch (Q1 2014). With the recent patches, all PvE Lv60 dungeons are obsolete excluding the latest one.

    In terms of PvP, if you're looking for competitive PvP you're definitely not going to get it here. 3 vs 3 Team Queue takes more than 30-60 mins or more if you're not playing
    I've played this competitively + casually from BETA all the way into the Dungeon Assault (Q4 2013) and Alliance patch (Q1 2014). With the recent patches, all PvE Lv60 dungeons are obsolete excluding the latest one.

    In terms of PvP, if you're looking for competitive PvP you're definitely not going to get it here. 3 vs 3 Team Queue takes more than 30-60 mins or more if you're not playing in prime-time (solo queue is much worse). Even during prime-time, queue times are roughly 5-15 mins. Alliance PvP is just mass PvP between guilds and other alliances. Except this game is a very poorly optimized PC game. Anything more than 20+ players and even the best computers in this era can't render grey character blobs. This is not due to system performance, it is because the game was poorly constructed.

    PvP is surely lacking in every aspect. Arena PvP takes extremely long to queue for. Battleground PvP requires little to no skill. PvE content is extremely stale since you only need to do 1-2 PvE dungeons for all your PvE Gear.

    Gearing and raising your item-level for this game at a moderate to fast pace requires either a ton of gold or a lot of real-life money to convert into gold. This game monopolizes your time for very little reward.

    If you're a casual then this probably doesn't apply to you. If you're competitive at PvP and PvE and you're not located on the West Coast you will experience over 80-100 ping constantly. This game is no longer subscribe to play, so don't expect good servers. The best server on this game spikes from time to time on its populated days (such as weekends) and they are very unstable. They go up to 100-200, to maybe 300+ if you live on the East Coast. This also applies to Central and Eastern players since server spikes happen to everyone.
    Expand
  27. Feb 24, 2014
    3
    I have found this game to be very unappealing to say the least. I played about 10 or 12 levels and found the experience repetivie already. Story-wise the game seems very weak. Immersion is almost non-existent. Graphics don't look very well either. It feels generic and cheap. I recognize why other people like TERA and there are few innovations which contribute well to the MMO genre andI have found this game to be very unappealing to say the least. I played about 10 or 12 levels and found the experience repetivie already. Story-wise the game seems very weak. Immersion is almost non-existent. Graphics don't look very well either. It feels generic and cheap. I recognize why other people like TERA and there are few innovations which contribute well to the MMO genre and which should be appretiated. As a whole, this game disappointed me greatly though. Expand
  28. Nov 2, 2013
    0
    Don't listen to the 10/10 glowing reviews, because they are all fake, and they conveniently leave out fatal drawbacks of Tera.

    Here is a REAL Review, from an actual player: Pros: Graphics and FPS-style combat. Cons: MAJOR game-breaking bugs (reported over 50 of them so far, and this game has been out for 3 years?)! HUGE design flaws such as: Can't even enter or exit
    Don't listen to the 10/10 glowing reviews, because they are all fake, and they conveniently leave out fatal drawbacks of Tera.

    Here is a REAL Review, from an actual player:

    Pros:

    Graphics and FPS-style combat.

    Cons:

    MAJOR game-breaking bugs (reported over 50 of them so far, and this game has been out for 3 years?)!

    HUGE design flaws such as:

    Can't even enter or exit through doors of your own team's castle in PvP battlegrounds

    Teleporter menus in cities are TEXT-ONLY rather than a VISUAL MAP

    Quests are completely redundant and have little or no creative process involved (e.g. same quest, different monster)

    Quest List is very cluttered

    Quest objectives do NOT automatically show up on the map (e.g. you have to open each one manually, and find the objective, activate the link, and THEN it shows up... redundant? Lazy programmers? Yes!)

    Opening up the map does not show the current zone you're in, rather it is completely ZOOMED OUT (again, lazy programming)

    Mini-map radar in the upper right has no terrain on it, and it is completely dark, has some dots every now and then... is this a joke? (no, it's lazy programming)

    Lots of repetitive spell animations (i.e. they use mostly generic circles for every single caster AoE spell)

    No AFK command (can you believe this? I was laughing when I first found out)

    While riding a horse you CANNOT dismount by casting a spell or ability; the ONLY way you can dismount is by using the "summon horse" ability again (e.g. imagine how annoying this gets after a while, you just want to jump right into something with a spell, bam, but you can't, because you have to de-summon the horse first instead of allowing you to de-summon it by simply casting any other spell like every other MMO does... lazy programming yet again)

    When you disconnect from the game while in a dungeon, and you are kicked while offline, you still receive a 15 minute debuff that does not allow you to use dungeon or battleground matching system again; even if you were already in there for 15 minutes

    You lose all your spells and abilities from your hotkey bar after you finish a Battleground match if you're still inside of a siege tank or tower gun (this bug has been around for over a year apparently, still NOT fixed)

    There are NO MAILBOXES in this game, you must go through an NPC, which holds both Bank and Mailbox options, and the Mailbox option is labeled as "PARCEL POST" (Seriously? You couldn't even just make a simple mailbox?)

    When you die in this game, your base health upon resurrection is dramatically reduced due to low "stamina," and the only way to get it back is either drink an expensive potion, or stand by a campfire for 5 minutes (do you really, honestly, truly, want to stand by a campfire for 5 minutes in the middle of your dungeon run?)

    Another note on dying: If you "release" or "resurrect" while inside of a dungeon, it will revive you at the nearest town, all the way outside of the dungeon, and typically it would take you 5-10 minutes just to get back to the dungeon (unless of course you have a lot of money and pay for teleport scrolls, which most people do not have... do you really want to waste 5 minutes by a campfire AND 5-10 minutes running back to the dungeon?)

    Dungeon bosses have absolutely no diverse range of mechanics; it's all tank and spank, and the tank can't even hold aggro half the time (I guess that makes it a little more exciting at least? Until you die of course, then you have the 5 minute campfire or 5-10 minutes of running back)

    More on Dungeons: There are VERY FEW of them, and you have to wait until level 20 (only 60 levels max in this game just so you know) before you can try your FIRST dungeon. Also, there are GAP periods between some dungeons, where you will be unable to queue up to the instance dungeon matching system (i.e. at level 32-35), so that is yet again another period you will be forced to either manually find a group, or go back to redundant questing

    Very Low Population: This is probably the biggest drawback, despite all of the design flaws and horrendous bugs, because without other players, you can't even form groups to do anything, so you will often be stuck waiting even during the middle of the day to find a group for a dungeon, or go back to redundant questing

    Massive Server Lag due to lack of consistent maintenance (delay of up to about 10 seconds for chat messages at times) I will update this list in the near future, but this is what I have so far at nearly maximum level. Overall: This game's development team is shamefully lazy, and you should invest your valuable time elsewhere.
    Expand
  29. Oct 13, 2013
    4
    Used to be a huge fan of the game, and paid for membership for many months. Unfortunately, the past few weeks have been a disaster. More than half of the people who used to play have completely disappeared, and the population of the game has dwindled into a small niche market. The game is worth a go in the beginning, but don't expect to be playing much longer once your reach the level cap.Used to be a huge fan of the game, and paid for membership for many months. Unfortunately, the past few weeks have been a disaster. More than half of the people who used to play have completely disappeared, and the population of the game has dwindled into a small niche market. The game is worth a go in the beginning, but don't expect to be playing much longer once your reach the level cap. I wish this game the very best, but as far as I'm concerned, there are better games out there which doesn't push out its core users. Expand
  30. Sep 30, 2013
    3
    Honestly all this game has going for it is the combat system. It was well done, but everything else is pretty bad. The game itself deserves maybe a 6, but the player base and gear progression bumps it down to a 3. The entire economy runs on novelty items bought with real money. The problem is that nearly all high end gear can be purchased from other players for in-game currency. BecauseHonestly all this game has going for it is the combat system. It was well done, but everything else is pretty bad. The game itself deserves maybe a 6, but the player base and gear progression bumps it down to a 3. The entire economy runs on novelty items bought with real money. The problem is that nearly all high end gear can be purchased from other players for in-game currency. Because many players buy novelty junk for real money to sell it in game, it inflates prices of gear to ridiculous levels that you can only really make from real money novelty stuff. You would think that isn't a big deal since you can just farm the items you need yourself... but you would be wrong. Trying to find a group for anything in end game is extremely difficult if you actually still need items from that instance. The players just will not invite you to an instance that drops t14 unless you are full t14. So the progression system is basically buy items from broker, run content you don't need items from simply to sell on broker, use that money to buy better stuff, etc. Really stupid. The content is also lacking, its all 5-man and no content has been released in a long time. Expand
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Aug 23, 2012
    70
    Tera sure makes promise on the "true action combat" that it so advertises, but that change alone to the MMORPG formula isn't enough to flip the genre on its head, especially when you've forgotten about other aspects of it.
  2. Aug 22, 2012
    75
    That being said, Tera is in surprisingly good shape for a game so early in its life cycle. The journey to level cap is mostly entertaining, endgame content is available, and the core gameplay elements are solid.
  3. Aug 13, 2012
    68
    Action-oriented combat and interesting graphics aren't enough to overcome what is overall a rather bland experience.