TERA PC

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 728 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 9, 2012
    4
    Game is nice looking(except for the kiddie porn part) and combat is different. But at this point, it's pretty much the same old MMO cookie cutter approach to games and I am bored to death of it. So take this into consideration. I couldn't even make it to level 11, but some tell me it gets better after level 20. If you have more patience than me, this might be something to try. But overall,Game is nice looking(except for the kiddie porn part) and combat is different. But at this point, it's pretty much the same old MMO cookie cutter approach to games and I am bored to death of it. So take this into consideration. I couldn't even make it to level 11, but some tell me it gets better after level 20. If you have more patience than me, this might be something to try. But overall, it was very boring asian style grinding. Expand
  2. May 28, 2012
    4
    Combat system is okay. Just okay. The questing is horrible. Very, very, horrible. The character models are really ridiculous too. If your really into Asian stuff than maybe its for you but i find it stupid.
  3. May 2, 2012
    4
    I'd like to preface this by saying that TERA has alot of potential. However, the biggest threat to TERA's success isn't coming from any current or upcoming MMO; it's coming from TERA. Mainly, the 1-19 leveling experience. It takes a 6-8 hours to start having fun in the game. That means if you have one of each of the 8 classes (like myself), you will wind up spending 48-64 hours doing theI'd like to preface this by saying that TERA has alot of potential. However, the biggest threat to TERA's success isn't coming from any current or upcoming MMO; it's coming from TERA. Mainly, the 1-19 leveling experience. It takes a 6-8 hours to start having fun in the game. That means if you have one of each of the 8 classes (like myself), you will wind up spending 48-64 hours doing the most unimaginative and mundane quests in MMOs in the last 5 years. It is the single stupidest thing that a generally smart dev team has done for this game. THIS needs to be changed before I can give TERA a good score (-2 points). And no, the 20 min prologue did not help...it only serves to confuse new players.

    Character Design
    There is enough variance to make most people happy, but you will be playing someone with an overly sexualized body, or a baraka/amani. I was very happy with my Archer

    Combat
    Combat is stupid easy for the first 1-19 levels. The monsters in general are either small and don't take much damage or big enough that there really isn't that much of a challenge in aiming. Level 20, you fight your first BAM, which is quite a jarring and fun experience. However, it only serves to highlight the absolute idiocy of having the first 6-8 hours be so lame. EME has FUN stuff in the game!! WHY don't they show it to you outside of the 20min prologue?

    Questing
    Not going to even talk about it. It's nothing special.


    Final Opinion
    I feel that TERA is a waste of HUGE potential. It's an MMO that forgot the RPG. Is it a good MMO? Yes. Is it good enough to warrant the $50-80 box cost + 10-15 bucks a month or chronoscroll cash grind? I don't think so.
    Expand
  4. May 8, 2012
    4
    FIrst, let me say, the combat is pretty amazing..for an MMO. I have to admit. However, the character races, the quests, and the general feel of the game [outside of the pretty aesthetics] is incredibly dull and repetitive. You have a pedophilia based class of little girls [creepy anyone?], as well as some random idiotic animal furries, and absurd looking humanoids.

    Typical of an Asian
    FIrst, let me say, the combat is pretty amazing..for an MMO. I have to admit. However, the character races, the quests, and the general feel of the game [outside of the pretty aesthetics] is incredibly dull and repetitive. You have a pedophilia based class of little girls [creepy anyone?], as well as some random idiotic animal furries, and absurd looking humanoids.

    Typical of an Asian mmo, and maybe it suits some people, but not me.

    All of that aside, the game is fairly shallow, focusing on little more than a slightly enjoyable combat system, that will get old fast. Should have been a single player rpg.
    Expand
  5. May 18, 2012
    4
    Another typical asian MMO, no ground-breaking new stuff and the gameplay lacks.
    The game looks good tho.
    Nothing Special, but not bad.
    Meh i'm not impressed
  6. May 24, 2012
    4
    Absolutely NO endgame whatsoever. Takes less than a week to hit max level. After that, nothing to do. Meaningless PVP, no reward whatsoever. Looks good though.
  7. May 24, 2012
    4
    Combat is amazing except that you have to stand still to much to cast. The rest of the (early) game is just terrible. Standard MMO questing and levelling. I am done with that really. A game has to be fun right away. Not later on. Though I doubt it will be any better on higher level. Probably more of the same standard MMO stuff. When will MMO makers learn that the early game is veryCombat is amazing except that you have to stand still to much to cast. The rest of the (early) game is just terrible. Standard MMO questing and levelling. I am done with that really. A game has to be fun right away. Not later on. Though I doubt it will be any better on higher level. Probably more of the same standard MMO stuff. When will MMO makers learn that the early game is very important to keep players (especially trials) interested. Expand
  8. Feb 15, 2013
    4
    This game is NOT good past end game. When you first start playing it, you will think it's AMAZING, until you finish the game.
    It's fun for temporary play up until 60, but post 60 it's a fest of what the should I do next? It's a run of the mill MMO with kill x monsters, bring back to npc quests, travel to a new location ordeal. It's a huge grind fest where you spend all your time
    This game is NOT good past end game. When you first start playing it, you will think it's AMAZING, until you finish the game.
    It's fun for temporary play up until 60, but post 60 it's a fest of what the should I do next? It's a run of the mill MMO with kill x monsters, bring back to npc quests, travel to a new location ordeal. It's a huge grind fest where you spend all your time trying to get gear (without it, you're useless) and then they re-update the gear making you get all brand NEW gear. The enchantment system in this game SUCKS. Grouping up sucks. You have to be doing the exact same quests to get any decent EXP in the game, and trust me, people aren't doing the exact same quests. You're likely to solo this entire game.

    This game is fun for the first 3 months. After that you'll be looking for something new.
    Expand
  9. Apr 5, 2013
    4
    I see 10's and 9's in the review column and I wonder why???! Seriously this game isn't that great. After playing this game and playing Blade and Soul (Yes I have a KSSN so I can get in) Blade and Soul far out does this game. In fact as long as Blade and Soul has been in development a small part of me tells me TERA stole the concept from them and rushed this game out to cash-in. Enough biasI see 10's and 9's in the review column and I wonder why???! Seriously this game isn't that great. After playing this game and playing Blade and Soul (Yes I have a KSSN so I can get in) Blade and Soul far out does this game. In fact as long as Blade and Soul has been in development a small part of me tells me TERA stole the concept from them and rushed this game out to cash-in. Enough bias hate though lets move on. First of all I must absolutely say that this games visuals and graphics are AMAZING! Holy s*** I can never get over it! It is a true wonder to see on my monitor. I couldn't get over all the details in it. That does however bring me to optimization of the game. Seriously this game makes my amazing computer look as good a damn potato as I can only get 20 to 40 FPS unless I turn off the UI which it then spikes to 80 FPS. Funnier thing of it all is when I turned the graphics to minimum it was still at 20 to 40.... wtf? No change in FPS at all?! So it obviously wasn't my computer just horrible programming. Story in this game is just... awful. I played the Korean version and I can tell you the story you see in the US version is absolute rubbish and fan made. It is non-canon garbage! The characters will never stick with you... you won't remember anyone for more than a day or two as they phase out to the sidelines. The voice acting is terrible. For the Federation? Lol no. Yet another fan addition like thing to this game. Not even 2 days in did I try and port in the Japanese Voices with the great NOOOOOOOOOOOOORRRRRRRIOOOOOOOO (Norio) in it. The combat of this game feels like WoW only without the auto target system. Don't hate me for that statement I know it shouldn't be thrown in there but face rolling 1~12 automatically lands in there for me. Although the nice part is the fact you can now run around and dodge the attacks yourself so that defiantly made up a bit for it. As I was playing this I found the challenge to be non existent... seriously 1~50 was a solo run. It was so bring that I was playing an MMO only to solo 90% of it. At the time I was playing this game they had only recently added one PvP aspect to the game (aside from being on a PvP server) and that was battlegrounds and I gotta say this in my final statement how it sums up the entire end game as soon as you reach the end. MASSIVE F***ING GAMBLING! HOLY S*** NEVER HAVE I SEEN SO MUCH RNG (Random Number Generation) IN ONE GAME THAT I ALMOST WENT BLIND! So not only do you have to upgrade your weapon to +9 (which is pretty hard btw) you have to unlock your weapon to masterwork level and you have to reidentify the weapon constantly to get good stats on it. This is the end game. Right there. You grind constantly (I did for 2 months) to try and get all your weapons and armor to Masterwork level with the proper stats and the high number. After 2 months of Grind I only got up to +5 and the best I could get for stats was 2/4 of the things. Yes it is that bad! That's when I quit. If not you cannot succeed in the RNG upgrades then you will not succeed in PvP or PvE. IT IS PART OF THE PVE PROGRESSION! THIS BROKE THE GAME FOR ME! No way was I staying here with a game so heavily dependent on luck. All your skill in PvP don't mean squat when someone with +12 armor/weapon comes along and 2 shots your +5 armor/weapon character. It is pretty much those who grind the most win. This game was a 6/10 but due to the end game being so awful it falls all the way down to a 4/10. if you don't like massive RNG then don't play this game. The forums were swarmed with complaints about this but the mods have cracked down and will not allow people to talk about how awful it is now. Pretty much covering up such awful end gameplay. I'd avoid this game unless you have nothing better to do. Expand
  10. Feb 28, 2013
    4
    Tera boasts a unique combat system that they say has never been done before, but that's not true. Vindictus, C9, Dragon's Nest, Mabinogi, and RYL2 all have similar combat systems and I'm sure I'm missing many more that have combat that includes an aiming receptacle, the ability to block, directional attacks, and a combo system. The problem is not that they aren't the first to do it, butTera boasts a unique combat system that they say has never been done before, but that's not true. Vindictus, C9, Dragon's Nest, Mabinogi, and RYL2 all have similar combat systems and I'm sure I'm missing many more that have combat that includes an aiming receptacle, the ability to block, directional attacks, and a combo system. The problem is not that they aren't the first to do it, but that they didn't do it as well. Tera pales in comparison to Vindictus, C9, and Dragon's Nest. I felt like it was more on par with Mabinogi, an ancient game by today's standards, because of the stilted movement and awkward transitions. Every time you execute a skill, you stop moving. When you want to go from one skill to the next, there is often a half-second hesitation before execution. Thus, what is supposed to be a twitch-based system ends up being a more traditional MMO style experience where you button spam a mob while awkwardly kiting or blocking well ahead of time. Compare that to Vindictus's combat which is totally fluid and gives you complete control over your movement, which is required, because each mob has their own pattern of attack that can't be skirted by simply circle-kiting. Tera was appealing to many people because it does feature an open world. A very empty open world. People don't party in the fields, it seems everybody is in the instances, where you have queues! Queues that can only be made shorter if you pay $15 a month to play. In addition to the monthly fee, they also have a cash shop where prices are exorbitant. I am not a fan of $16 dollar mounts and $5 a pop for a single character slot. You might make up for all this with an interesting story, but questing is abysmal. They are your standard fetch quests with very little else going for them. There is no story worth paying attention to in this game. Your character is a hollow shell, the ultimate yes-man, who repeats the same phrases over and over in quest dialog (For the federation! etc.) I think the biggest flaw is that you cannot win against a boss mob solo. This is unthinkable for a twitch-based game. Anything should be possible if it is truly based on skill and timing, not on gear or level. But boss mobs get lock-on-target skills that will simply one-hit you. You have no way to dodge them or escape their range. Even the most crazy, high-level boss in Vindictus has been soloed by someone. It might've taken 100 hours of their life to learn how to do it, and time to completion may be beyond what any normal person would ever think of as reasonable, but it's been done. In this world, class and gear have too much impact on your playability, just like your standard MMO. This is not really a true twitch MMO. Expand
  11. Nov 12, 2015
    4
    Not worth a review its average for MMO's nothing to stand above really not that fun to play late game content is more frustrating then entertaining, combat is ok but it's nothing to write home about, unless your hardcore about testing every single mmo ever just skip it
  12. Jul 25, 2013
    4
    I really dislike this game. I tried playing it some times, but every time I exited it after 20, 30 minutes because it's... uh... boring. Yeah, this game is really boring. Compare TERA to WoW. WoW is like basement for every new MMO, because everyone can see that TERA brought many ideas from WoW. Next thing is gameplay. On early levels it's, like I said before, boring. I can't tell you aboutI really dislike this game. I tried playing it some times, but every time I exited it after 20, 30 minutes because it's... uh... boring. Yeah, this game is really boring. Compare TERA to WoW. WoW is like basement for every new MMO, because everyone can see that TERA brought many ideas from WoW. Next thing is gameplay. On early levels it's, like I said before, boring. I can't tell you about higher levels, because I didn't have desire to play this game more. Now some pros: amazing graphic and sound design, cool characters and classes. Amazing, but how it will improve boring gameplay? By some way sure, but I didn't feel like it does something. Oh, one more thing. Poorly made quests aren't something special (kill X monsters, bring X items from monsters, talk to X npc, kill [name of boss] Expand
  13. Oct 13, 2013
    4
    Used to be a huge fan of the game, and paid for membership for many months. Unfortunately, the past few weeks have been a disaster. More than half of the people who used to play have completely disappeared, and the population of the game has dwindled into a small niche market. The game is worth a go in the beginning, but don't expect to be playing much longer once your reach the level cap.Used to be a huge fan of the game, and paid for membership for many months. Unfortunately, the past few weeks have been a disaster. More than half of the people who used to play have completely disappeared, and the population of the game has dwindled into a small niche market. The game is worth a go in the beginning, but don't expect to be playing much longer once your reach the level cap. I wish this game the very best, but as far as I'm concerned, there are better games out there which doesn't push out its core users. Expand
  14. Dec 2, 2014
    4
    generic questing.
    Great graphics, but lame characters made to attract horny kids.
    The "action combat" wasn't very action like, honestly. The melee classes revert to a pretty generic button mashing MMO, the ranged classes aren't much different. I didn't play it very much though, honestly, the character designs and F2P tells me that it just wants easy profits from horny dudes. Sort of
    generic questing.
    Great graphics, but lame characters made to attract horny kids.
    The "action combat" wasn't very action like, honestly. The melee classes revert to a pretty generic button mashing MMO, the ranged classes aren't much different.
    I didn't play it very much though, honestly, the character designs and F2P tells me that it just wants easy profits from horny dudes.
    Sort of like scarlet blade in the sense that, unless it does some really amazing ground breaking work, its all going to be overshadowed by the cheap money grabbing character designs.
    The community is very young from what I saw.

    The f2p model isn't that bad, people who pay monthly get some pretty hefty gold/xp benefits, but its not terrible.
    Expand
  15. May 18, 2015
    4
    The game is pretty good looking. Combat is great when you're playing pve. However, other than providing many hours of semi enjoyable level grind, Tera online has very little to offer. After bringing two characters to level cap, I feel like I have a pretty good idea of the game. PVP is pretty much irreconcilably broken. The outcomes of fights rely on gear, not skill, and this gear isThe game is pretty good looking. Combat is great when you're playing pve. However, other than providing many hours of semi enjoyable level grind, Tera online has very little to offer. After bringing two characters to level cap, I feel like I have a pretty good idea of the game. PVP is pretty much irreconcilably broken. The outcomes of fights rely on gear, not skill, and this gear is only attainable if you log many many hours of dungeon runs and crafting. Even if you were to do this, why would you? Incentives to stay in other MMOs aren't there in Tera.
    I think that the biggest problem Tera faces is the imbalance between classes. For an MMO that has been around for as long as Tera has, you would think that they would have figured out class balance by now.
    Overall I spent way too many hours running back and forth doing tearfully boring missions, all to finally reach level cap and realize that the community is toxic, and the game is empty of any real content.
    Expand
  16. Jun 11, 2015
    4
    While the graphics are good, and I like the timed dodge/block mechanics, once those began to get old I found the character types not sufficiently diverse, the quests bland, a lack of a solid story, and the level of immersion antiquated because you don't hear the NPC's speak.
  17. May 21, 2016
    4
    Tera é um jogo online que tinha tudo pra ser bom, mas a longo prazo foi sendo estragado pela produtora que o controla. Um jogo repleto de bugs, crashes e demora pra carregar. As classes são completamente desequilibradas, o jogo vive lançando novas classes genéricas e abandonando as antigas. O resultado é que algumas classes estão em extrema desvantagem em comparação com as nova. É um jogoTera é um jogo online que tinha tudo pra ser bom, mas a longo prazo foi sendo estragado pela produtora que o controla. Um jogo repleto de bugs, crashes e demora pra carregar. As classes são completamente desequilibradas, o jogo vive lançando novas classes genéricas e abandonando as antigas. O resultado é que algumas classes estão em extrema desvantagem em comparação com as nova. É um jogo também que não possui nenlhum conteúdo para quem é novato , pois enquanto você não for 65 a única coisa que vc irá fazer é repetir a mesma dungeon seguidas vezes até finalmente alcançar o lvl 65. As Quando vc alcançar lvl 65 irá ficar eternamente montando set, indo nas mesmas dungeons seguidas vezes até conseguir os desejados itens. Tentar ficar bom com apenas um personagem é extremamente dificil, pois você só tem um limite de quantas vezes você pode em uma DG com o mesmo personagem, sendo assim vc é meio que obrigado a criar 5 personagens se quiser ficar com muito dinheiro.

    É completamente mal otimizado e o fps vive oscilando mesmo em placas de vídeo caras. Os gráficos são fracos - Possui texturas de baixa qualidade e por isso abusam de uma iluminação realista na tentativa de ofuscar a textura de baixa resolução .
    Os personagens são mal feitos, possuem aquela "marca" no pescoço como se a cabeça deles fossem encaixadas no corpo parecendo um boneco de plastico. Já os cabelos ficam "flutando" sobre a cabeça, oq demonstra a despreocupação da produtora com os pequenos detalhes. O mapa é enorme e completamente vazio e genérico, fazendo com que se torne desnecessário seu tamanho, pois só serve pra vc percorrer longos caminhos até chegar no Npc.
    O jogo é apelativo sexualmente, você só vê "criancinhas" de camisola andando pela cidade ou então castanics semi nuas. As montarias são ridículas e infantis e não combinam com ambiente do jogo. Até montaria de hello kit existe no game, oq é extremamente ridículo.
    Expand
  18. May 3, 2012
    3
    Many people will tell you the combat is revolutionary, but it's not. We've seen this before in games like Invictus. And the truth of the matter is that invictus does it better. In Tera you're locked into your combat animations, which is incredibly lame.

    After that, the game is nothing more than your run of the mill WoW clone MMO. Incredibly linear questing, fedex quests galore, kill 10
    Many people will tell you the combat is revolutionary, but it's not. We've seen this before in games like Invictus. And the truth of the matter is that invictus does it better. In Tera you're locked into your combat animations, which is incredibly lame.

    After that, the game is nothing more than your run of the mill WoW clone MMO. Incredibly linear questing, fedex quests galore, kill 10 rats and so forth. All that polished off with a strong pedophile vibe.

    I guess some people like looking at overly sexualized 10 year old girls though. Not the kind of people I like being around though.
    Expand
  19. Aug 3, 2012
    3
    The graphics are impressive, if not in poor taste. The gameplay is laughably bad. Their idea of "action combat" is so rudimentary and simplistic, calling it "true action combat" is more than just a joke - it's borderline criminal false advertising.

    You have two choices for leveling up - grind big mobs in a party (BAMs) or grind little mobs over and over (quests.) This wouldn't be so
    The graphics are impressive, if not in poor taste. The gameplay is laughably bad. Their idea of "action combat" is so rudimentary and simplistic, calling it "true action combat" is more than just a joke - it's borderline criminal false advertising.

    You have two choices for leveling up - grind big mobs in a party (BAMs) or grind little mobs over and over (quests.) This wouldn't be so terrible if not for how bad the combat in this game really is. Look elsewhere. I wouldn't even recommend TERA if it were F2P - which it is destined to be.
    Expand
  20. Sep 30, 2013
    3
    Honestly all this game has going for it is the combat system. It was well done, but everything else is pretty bad. The game itself deserves maybe a 6, but the player base and gear progression bumps it down to a 3. The entire economy runs on novelty items bought with real money. The problem is that nearly all high end gear can be purchased from other players for in-game currency. BecauseHonestly all this game has going for it is the combat system. It was well done, but everything else is pretty bad. The game itself deserves maybe a 6, but the player base and gear progression bumps it down to a 3. The entire economy runs on novelty items bought with real money. The problem is that nearly all high end gear can be purchased from other players for in-game currency. Because many players buy novelty junk for real money to sell it in game, it inflates prices of gear to ridiculous levels that you can only really make from real money novelty stuff. You would think that isn't a big deal since you can just farm the items you need yourself... but you would be wrong. Trying to find a group for anything in end game is extremely difficult if you actually still need items from that instance. The players just will not invite you to an instance that drops t14 unless you are full t14. So the progression system is basically buy items from broker, run content you don't need items from simply to sell on broker, use that money to buy better stuff, etc. Really stupid. The content is also lacking, its all 5-man and no content has been released in a long time. Expand
  21. Feb 24, 2014
    3
    I have found this game to be very unappealing to say the least. I played about 10 or 12 levels and found the experience repetivie already. Story-wise the game seems very weak. Immersion is almost non-existent. Graphics don't look very well either. It feels generic and cheap. I recognize why other people like TERA and there are few innovations which contribute well to the MMO genre andI have found this game to be very unappealing to say the least. I played about 10 or 12 levels and found the experience repetivie already. Story-wise the game seems very weak. Immersion is almost non-existent. Graphics don't look very well either. It feels generic and cheap. I recognize why other people like TERA and there are few innovations which contribute well to the MMO genre and which should be appretiated. As a whole, this game disappointed me greatly though. Expand
  22. May 21, 2014
    3
    Poorly Optimized. Terrible quest-lines, the only " good " things are the combat mechanics and MAYBE pvp ( if you had more than 15 fps(5 in nexus lol.) ) The game also look terrible, it uses a very ugly bloom to try to make it looks better. The game, to be frank, looks like wow. In 2014. (2012 release date.) It looks like wow, okay. But, the fps are terrible. Changing the resolutionPoorly Optimized. Terrible quest-lines, the only " good " things are the combat mechanics and MAYBE pvp ( if you had more than 15 fps(5 in nexus lol.) ) The game also look terrible, it uses a very ugly bloom to try to make it looks better. The game, to be frank, looks like wow. In 2014. (2012 release date.) It looks like wow, okay. But, the fps are terrible. Changing the resolution doesn't help at all, too. Let's say Tera is beautiful on the outside, but taste terrible in the inside. The (kinda dead) fan base try to yell and protect the game, but it's already been 2 years and the game still looks terrible, there is absolutely no event, all the money goes into upgrading the store and the " Tera Club (Players that pay to get some bonuses) " (actually true.) So, yeah, the game is really dead, they are going to release a new class soon, don't know why, they should try to add endgame content first of all because you're actually really bored in this game at max level unlike others MMORPG. The game looks damn HYPE, but is not.
    There is also some kind of political things going on but it's basically only for PVP and bonuses and idiots spamming the chat (as far as I know. ) And also, the game is so dead right now. It's quite a good thing I think.

    TL;DR : The game could be good. But it's a Korean game, and most of them means store over endgame/gameplay/optimization

    Peace out.
    Expand
  23. Nov 26, 2014
    3
    I find this game very boring and grindy. Quests of kill 15 of a goat mob then 10 of some other mob and repeat. Or collect some sort of item. Not really any variety in quests. The story didn't grip me and dislike the trashy races.

    It is good for making me fall asleep, so I only pay it at night with friends as it helps me get a good sleep.
  24. Dec 19, 2014
    3
    This is actually a fun game - the overall concept it nothing new, but the combat system is really fun, much more fast paced / hack-n-slash than the traditional ''click-n-cast" like WoW. Unfortunately, if you're based in Europe, Gameforge - the publisher - are HORRIBLE. Frequent patch problems, launcher is really buggy, downloads are very slow, so your first install might take days (and I'mThis is actually a fun game - the overall concept it nothing new, but the combat system is really fun, much more fast paced / hack-n-slash than the traditional ''click-n-cast" like WoW. Unfortunately, if you're based in Europe, Gameforge - the publisher - are HORRIBLE. Frequent patch problems, launcher is really buggy, downloads are very slow, so your first install might take days (and I'm on a 150Mbps cable line so its not my end) and worst is the Terrible support (especially annoying if you're actually paid money through the store) Expand
  25. Jun 11, 2012
    2
    Depressing.

    I bought this hoping it would be amazing, and it's sad that this game is the equivalent of a dumb cheerleader. "Pretty, perky and new" in the looks department, but "bland, uninteresting, and slightly daft" everywhere else. Questing is the same grind, TERAfan's will defend it to the death and begin to attack other games instead of admitting it's bad. Too many "KILL X OF Y"
    Depressing.

    I bought this hoping it would be amazing, and it's sad that this game is the equivalent of a dumb cheerleader. "Pretty, perky and new" in the looks department, but "bland, uninteresting, and slightly daft" everywhere else.


    Questing is the same grind, TERAfan's will defend it to the death and begin to attack other games instead of admitting it's bad. Too many "KILL X OF Y" quests, not a lot of variety in the quest department. Rewards are a trifle compared to just grinding mobs for XP, (Unless you are on a PVP server and getting ganked by bored level 60's who consider the endgame= griefing lowbies) It's stale, and boring.

    Combat is fun, snappy, and responsive but it falls flat on it's face everywhere else. A game that's a year old (In Korea) is bringing NOTHING but a new combat system to bat. No matter how hard people deny it, this game is on a one-way path to F2P and eventual abandonment by everyone but a core group of Elin loving weirdos who think it's a "crime" that they censored the "little girl race" in the west.


    The subscription fee is high, coupled with NOTHING to do at Endgame except grief and PK other players, do GvG battles (Where the other Guild Leader hides on a level 1 alt, to avoid losing), or do the ultra lag inducing and horribly implemented Nexus raids. (EVERY PLAYER ZERG RUSH THE NEXUS! IT'S HOW YOU WIN!)

    This game deserves at least 2 points for being pretty, and running decent. Outside of that, the lack of story, lack of any substance, and the lack of anything more than a /local filled with elitist trolling jerkoffs spouting off constantly about how "TERA IS BETTER THAN X, Y, AN Z". If you need to do that in /local daily, you're obviously trolling or trying to actually convince yourself that what you are saying is true.

    The sad fact is, most of the discussion on the forums is asking EME to fix things, or petitions to ad something as simple as officers to a guild. This game WILL NOT LAST!


    tl;dr- Probably the WORST MMORPG I've ever played, Guild Wars 2 is worlds above this in terms of quests, story, combat, PvP, action, and fun!
    Expand
  26. May 1, 2012
    2
    Marandopsu said it best. The graphics sliders don't seem to affect the draw distance. I hate when enemies appear in front of me and to me that's a deal breaker.
  27. May 14, 2012
    2
    A lot can be said of the combat style; its certainly different from the "WoW" combat system. Its decent, but nothing special. But that's not why i'm here.

    I cant play this game on good conscience. When i first logged on i was immediately shown a character creation button. After clicking it, i was shown a stripper. Breasts bouncing, but swinging; it was so tacky. immediately repulsed from
    A lot can be said of the combat style; its certainly different from the "WoW" combat system. Its decent, but nothing special. But that's not why i'm here.

    I cant play this game on good conscience. When i first logged on i was immediately shown a character creation button. After clicking it, i was shown a stripper. Breasts bouncing, but swinging; it was so tacky. immediately repulsed from this character, i skipped down the selection list;
    Furries,
    Child Porn,
    And more boobs were all that i was shown. So, finally, i switched to men. Despire the lack of breasts, there was still a massive ammount of erotica. Now, see, some people like this sort of thing, but i do'nt care. Whenever i log into my level 85 paladin on WoW, i immediately start role-playing; This is the sort of character i love, a great warrior, protector of greatness and blah blah blah. But when i logged onto the male human stripper, i wasn't a great warrior, or a mage, or a thief. I was a stripper. If i have to sit down and try and care for these people - care for erotica - I would go insane. i just couldn't do it.
    I had so little fun in the 2 hours i played the game that i cant recommend it to anyone. The only reason its not getting a 0 is because of the (Decent) combat system. That's all i can say, really.
    Expand
  28. May 1, 2012
    2
    The game is very pretty, the controls are fairly decent and the combat is very action packed but I can't recommend this game. The support is lacking due to the many bugs that have popped up, character creation and transfers have been severely limited resulting in new players being unable to join their friends on more popular servers and in general it's been a bumpy ride.

    Give it a try on
    The game is very pretty, the controls are fairly decent and the combat is very action packed but I can't recommend this game. The support is lacking due to the many bugs that have popped up, character creation and transfers have been severely limited resulting in new players being unable to join their friends on more popular servers and in general it's been a bumpy ride.

    Give it a try on a buddy pass if you can. Because I can't recommend spending $50 on the game in its current state.
    Expand
  29. May 19, 2012
    2
    i tried to like this game but i cant :( its just a typical Korean MMO, Ok its got a dynamic combat system... gets boring fast, Story is very bad, don't like the art direction , the quests are the same old fetch , kill ones you get in any MMO, its not for me, however if you are into Asian style games you will probably love it. I gave it a low rating as i personally didn't enjoy it, buti tried to like this game but i cant :( its just a typical Korean MMO, Ok its got a dynamic combat system... gets boring fast, Story is very bad, don't like the art direction , the quests are the same old fetch , kill ones you get in any MMO, its not for me, however if you are into Asian style games you will probably love it. I gave it a low rating as i personally didn't enjoy it, but that's just me, you may like it, and to be honest if its your first experience of an MMO , there are worse ones out there. Expand
  30. May 12, 2012
    2
    Tera has two things going for it:

    #1 Nice graphics #2 Nice Innovation of Aim Combat (in an MMO) From there on it's a downward slope and it gets very old and boring quickly. I found the aim combat to work better in PvE more than PVP (archer vs archer was ridiculously stupid). Sure tackling some BAM's and instances are fun... at first... but the fun does die out quickly, at least for me.
    Tera has two things going for it:

    #1 Nice graphics
    #2 Nice Innovation of Aim Combat (in an MMO)

    From there on it's a downward slope and it gets very old and boring quickly. I found the aim combat to work better in PvE more than PVP (archer vs archer was ridiculously stupid). Sure tackling some BAM's and instances are fun... at first... but the fun does die out quickly, at least for me. I've tried K-Tera long ago and lvled to 50 and thought the game was disappointing, I then tried European Beta and found that the only things that have been westernised is the language difference and a few map icons, needless to say the European was also disappointing... at least for me!
    Expand
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Aug 23, 2012
    70
    Tera sure makes promise on the "true action combat" that it so advertises, but that change alone to the MMORPG formula isn't enough to flip the genre on its head, especially when you've forgotten about other aspects of it.
  2. Aug 22, 2012
    75
    That being said, Tera is in surprisingly good shape for a game so early in its life cycle. The journey to level cap is mostly entertaining, endgame content is available, and the core gameplay elements are solid.
  3. Aug 13, 2012
    68
    Action-oriented combat and interesting graphics aren't enough to overcome what is overall a rather bland experience.