TERA PC

TERA Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 757 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: TERA elevates the fight beyond whack-a-mole monotony with imprved aiming, dodging, and tactical timing to create intense and rewarding combat. Unlike other MMOs, you can use your controller or keyboard and mouse to control the action like never before. With all the depth you expect from aTERA elevates the fight beyond whack-a-mole monotony with imprved aiming, dodging, and tactical timing to create intense and rewarding combat. Unlike other MMOs, you can use your controller or keyboard and mouse to control the action like never before. With all the depth you expect from a traditional MMO, plus the intense gratification of action combat, TERA promises to change all the rules. Expand
Buy On
  • Developer: Bluehole Studio
  • Genre(s): Role-Playing, Massively Multiplayer Online, Massively Multiplayer, Fantasy, Fantasy
  • # of players: Massively Multiplayer
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • Rating: M
  • More Details and Credits »

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
TERA Teralith Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Jun 1, 2012
    92
    Overall, I found TERA to be a bombastic mix of bleeding edge graphics and blazing gameplay in an enormous persistent world. I cannot express how much the change to action combat has enriched an already competent MMORPG.
  2. May 30, 2012
    85
    Is TERA worth your time? It depends. Can you handle an endless barrage of generic quests? If the answer is 'yes', you'll find yourself emmerged in a fantastic world. Even though TERA follows a path that is well known in the MMO-handbook, it manages to lift the genre to a higher level in some ways. One of of those ways is the nearly perfect combat system, Also, fans of PvP elements will find a heavenly experience in this absolute pearl of an MMO.
  3. 84
    TERA fixes the very worst aspect of WoW-the lame combat-while making some improvements to other features and doing a good job of emulating the basics. If you're looking for a new MMO, TERA is an excellent choice.
  4. May 8, 2012
    80
    With a fresh take on combat that forgoes a targeting system in favor of a simple crosshair, the game shines in both the visual and gameplay department.
  5. May 25, 2012
    75
    Tera is all about active fighting. The battles feel more dynamic than in any other MMORPG and the design of enemies and the exotic world is praiseworthy. But if you look behind all that, you'll find monotonous quests and an almost non-existent story.
  6. Aug 23, 2012
    70
    Tera sure makes promise on the "true action combat" that it so advertises, but that change alone to the MMORPG formula isn't enough to flip the genre on its head, especially when you've forgotten about other aspects of it.
  7. Jun 22, 2012
    60
    I'm happy that TERA discards the elements that make combat so tedious in other MMOs, but I wish it was bold enough to attempt to fix the many other shortcomings of the genre.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 77 out of 332
  1. May 11, 2012
    10
    Well after a couples I must say I'm impressed for a game that wasn't all that really hyped up to be the next WoW Killer. Let's get that out ofWell after a couples I must say I'm impressed for a game that wasn't all that really hyped up to be the next WoW Killer. Let's get that out of the way right now it isn't and as multiple people have said on the internet the only thing that will kill WoW is Blizzard itself. I like the combat in this game it just feels smoother than WoW or SW:TOR where you just target your target and unload this game makes you move and aim at your target constantly to hit so fights just feel fluid. I was a little disappointed when I learned that PVP isn't included at launch but I'm not a die hard PVPer and they have said it will come "Shortly." Story wise I really don't care for. After reading threw a couple quests I just gave up spending my time and just went to the grind that is MMORPG's to hit the max level. I love the graphics and sound in this game. It's no Crysis look a like but it does look really good for a MMORPG. I'm hoping a modding community develops as the current interface works but could look a lot more pretty once modders work their magic. Right now I'm not 100% if it is worth my 15$ a month to continue playing I need to really explore it more before making that decision but right now I'm impressed it's a fun game to play. Expand
  2. May 2, 2012
    10
    This game has renewed my interest in the MMO genre which I had just about given up on. There are elements that are standard fare such as theThis game has renewed my interest in the MMO genre which I had just about given up on. There are elements that are standard fare such as the questing system, what sets this game apart is the combat system. The combat in all the characters I've played is just downright FUN. Even healing and tanking has been made fun and interesting, a rare thing in MMO's these days. Expand
  3. May 1, 2012
    10
    Well I though I would try to provide a more thoughtful, and not emotionally charged review of my first few days in TERA (and honestly how canWell I though I would try to provide a more thoughtful, and not emotionally charged review of my first few days in TERA (and honestly how can people give the game a 3 based on bugs and netcode that not everyone experiences) by talking about some pros and cons. First let me say that I have never found any lasting appeal with Korean MMO's. I never like the art direction, and I always thought content was severely lacking (offering "grinding" as a sole activity). A friend recommended I try the open beta, and I was hesitant at first - I hate Korean MMO's right? Well, let me say that while the game isn't going to win any awards for breaking the mold with standard fed-ex quests, etc., the combat in this game is so amazing that I have had a hard time going back to the "old way" of doing things in games like WoW. It is so good in fact that I spent more time playing the head start than I did the GW2 beta weekend. It is just that good. So, if you hated Korean MMO's in the past, give this game a shot. You can thank me later :) Expand
  4. May 2, 2012
    8
    Beautiful game that shows what the Unreal Engine can pull off in an MMO. Great combat that brings something new to the table. Quests,Beautiful game that shows what the Unreal Engine can pull off in an MMO. Great combat that brings something new to the table. Quests, though, ugh. Boring, and badly written. Very few voice overs. Playing the game is very fun, despite the questing system; just wish they would have done more with them. Patiently waiting on an mmo with this style of combat + the story telling of SWTOR + the questing of GW2. Expand
  5. May 20, 2012
    7
    Let's get this out of the way, Tera Online breaks some new ground and delivers what 'gamers' want...well a certain demographic anyways. TheLet's get this out of the way, Tera Online breaks some new ground and delivers what 'gamers' want...well a certain demographic anyways. The Real Action combat is quite fun and makes every encounter not so repetitive. The Boss fights are refreshing just because you need to be on your toes throughout the encounter. Unfortunately, bad ping rates will murder your enjoyment for what amounts to a twitchfest.

    Other than that, Tera Online is MoTs. More of the same monsters, more of the same 'let's copy world of warcraft'. The Leveling is poorly balanced, since you tend to out level the zones very very fast. Aside from the MoTs (More of the Same) gameplay, what Tera does deliver is an over abundance of boobage and panty shots.

    No other game ever made has more stripper wear than Tera Online. Fantasy chainmail of women is well known for it's lack of ... 'protection'. More Chain than mail, if you get what I mean...>nudge< >nudge< >wink< >wink<

    On the other hand, the inclusion of the Elin race is already attracting unwanted attention, not only from gamers but from the most detestable segment of society, Pedophiles. In fact, i'd bet if the FBI would catch more Pedophiles in Tera Online than all their previous sting operations combined.
    Expand
  6. Jul 13, 2012
    5
    Being an avid consumer of RPG games since last century, I must say I am tremendously disappointed at Enmasse's Tera endeavour.

    I played the
    Being an avid consumer of RPG games since last century, I must say I am tremendously disappointed at Enmasse's Tera endeavour.

    I played the game for long enough to get 2 characters to level 15 (after a 30ish hours download of the game) and i saw no difference in gameplay from my first minute until the last i was playing. The action is repetitive, the quests are extremely dull, the plot is the same for every race/class and the so called "action oriented" battle system is just a small perk on a otherwise 3ish score game.

    sure the environment is good looking (although nothing spectacular [no grass details on the ground and realistic roads for instance]) but that's about it. This game would have scored a 7 if it had been released about 5 years ago, but nowadays, if u use the same grinding formula of koreans MMOs, your product is just gonna hit way below the curve.

    in summary: only get tera if you enjoy grinding/repetitive games.
    Expand
  7. Aug 10, 2015
    0
    I don't recommend playing this game because the graphic is pretty much horrible and the environment is at its worst. Also, its free to playI don't recommend playing this game because the graphic is pretty much horrible and the environment is at its worst. Also, its free to play but pay to win and look good. EMP price is expensive and there's barely good dungeons to do. The pvp gets very boring. If you guys decided to play this game and celestial hills server, do not join Bootylicious guild. Far most horrible guild in all of my 10 years of mmo. Enhancements in this game is ridiculously stupid. Expand

See all 332 User Reviews

Trailers