Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. May 25, 2011
    Though on the surface it looks like just another "me too" indie game seeking to ride the coattails of Minecraft's success, Terraria expands on the familiar sandbox gameplay with a greater emphasis on combat and adventure that proves very satisfying.
  2. May 31, 2011
    The magical world of Terraria is bursting with terrific content and surprises to keep you invested for a long time.
  3. Jul 28, 2011
    It doesn't seem to be slowing down, either, meaning the game you can buy today wonít be the same game you can buy in six months time. So that twenty hours can easily turn into forty, sixty, a hundred. If you let it.
  4. Jun 1, 2011
    Still, Terraria is a great adventure, one of the best sandbox games around, and an absolute steal for ten bucks on Steam. It's well worth checking out for anyone, regardless of how they feel about Minecraft. Despite having one fewer dimension, Terraria hides greater depth than its 3D cousin.
  5. Jun 29, 2011
    Terraria is the best Minecraft clone on the market. Version 1.05 add many items and the Hardcore mode, which is the ultimate Terraria experience to try!
  6. Jun 17, 2011
    An interesting bidimensional twist of the well known Minecraft: Terraria is accustoming and incredibily "deep" (literally).
  7. Sep 14, 2011
    Long story short, Terraria has a few flaws, but if you're looking for something like Minecraft but not exactly like it, or if you have an itch that Minecraft isn't scratching, for only $9.99 you're virtually guaranteed a good time for quite a while.
  8. PC Gamer
    Jul 14, 2011
    Repetition and trial-and-error learning can be numbing. Only dedicated explorers will unearth its interesting gameplay. [Sept 2011, p.80]
  9. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 19, 2011
    Terraria: The arrival on competition for Minecraft was only a matter of time. Terraria is a two dimensional mining game mixed with platformer and a little bit of Diablo. It's a fun concept, but the yanks can't outmine swedes. [June 2011]
  10. Jul 21, 2011
    The first impression that Terraria might give could come off as a bit stale due to its flat 2D-look, but that look just conceals the immense depth it contains. Real adventurers will be entertained for hours on end by exploring the different environments, fighting countless different monsters and by creating new equipment. The best thing: its low price.
  11. Oct 24, 2011
    The open-sandbox creation genre is still in its infancy, and Terraria is a good, solid, and inexpensive entry.
  12. Mar 19, 2012
    Terraria is one of the best sandbox games. Terraria has some Minecraft spirit, however the focus of the game is on fighting and crafting, so it involves more action. The best way to enjoy Terraria is to play it with a couple of friends on your own server.
  13. Jun 30, 2011
    An experience similar to Minecraft, but it manages to distinguish itself with a heavy dose of breakneck fun that Minecraft often lacks.
  14. May 27, 2011
    Terraria is a small production that offers a cross between Mario and Minecraft... like a 2D platformer with craftsmanship and free construction. Quite limited in its realization, this title makes you play immediately for hours if you like the concept. Just take breaks from time to time!
  15. Mar 14, 2012
    A lot of games tried to copy Minecraft – or at least participate from its' success. But this two-dimensional take on the well known formula is the only game that is able to step out of the shadow of the indie phenomenon that inspired it. It leads you into a unique world full of creative magic.
  16. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Aug 29, 2011
    This sandbox fantasy adventure allows you to craft your own story in rich and unpredictable environments. It has true Mindcraft spirit reforged to 2D visuals. [Issue#207]
  17. 80
    A great little indie game with excellent online support.
  18. Aug 4, 2011
    You stick your nose under your first sod and there you are – in another world. Terraria is not much of a Minecraft 2D rip-off, it's an addictive pursuit of perfection that entertains; even though it stinks of a sweat from the adits.
  19. Jun 15, 2011
    Give this ugly duckling a chance. It may not become a swan, but it's a hell of duck. If you like Minecraft, this game will be a nice change with the focus on exploration.
  20. Jun 16, 2011
    Lack of tutorial, buggy netcode and wobbly combat aside, it's hard not to love the sense of wonder and discovery.
  21. Sep 16, 2011
    A game that in many ways is the 2D equivalent of Minecraft. However, although crafting is a vital point of the game, the exploring and adventure of the game experience is just as central. Terraria therefore offers a different and compelling experience which is best served in multiplayer.
  22. Jun 6, 2011
    Terraria is a potent distraction tool. Buried treasures will always have that allure.
  23. PC PowerPlay
    Aug 8, 2011
    More than a mere Minecraft clone, Terraria takes 2D platforming to a whole new level. [Sept 2011, p.54]
  24. Mar 16, 2012
    It's a title that will appeal to the adventurer, the explorer and the builder; not to mention those who appreciate a substantial amount of player freedom. If you happen to be all of those things, Terraria is a lightly tarnished treasure.
  25. Jul 6, 2011
    If you're a fan of adventure platforms like Metriod and Castlevania, but you always felt they could be a little more sandbox, Terraria is a must have.
  26. Jun 23, 2011
    After having created the toughest armor deep down in Hell, you will realize that you've seen and done everything that Terraria has to offer. But it'll take you about 30 hours to get to that point, plus, free expansions are already on their way.
  27. May 30, 2011
    Quotation forthcoming.
  28. Jun 3, 2011
    Terraria is a game, where you've got to make most of the fun yourself - a giant world to explore, tons of craftable items and currently three challenging bosses make this an easy task though. You'll find all materials really quick and every new item as well as every found crate or new area make you want to explore more of this lovely 8bit universe.
  29. May 31, 2011
    Negativity aside, we've got a real winner on our hands with Terraria. There are plenty of unique weapons to keep you busy, which are crafted with plenty of unique ores found in the core of the earth or even the sky. With great risk comes great reward though, so I'll see you in heaven or hell to mine those minerals on a server at some point!
User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1600 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 42 out of 560
  1. May 17, 2011
    Terraria is an amazingly enchanting game, that sucked me in from the moment I started it up. With great pixel art, endearing music and lots ofTerraria is an amazingly enchanting game, that sucked me in from the moment I started it up. With great pixel art, endearing music and lots of retro aspects, terraria will occupy me for years to come. This idea is still fresh and I'm glad somebody didn't shy away from it just because of MineCraft's recent success. Full Review »
  2. Jun 20, 2011
    One of the greatest 2D platformers to come out in recent years, and the first 2D platformer to have a real open-world destructible/buildableOne of the greatest 2D platformers to come out in recent years, and the first 2D platformer to have a real open-world destructible/buildable environment, complete with dungeons and bosses. Numerous and varied weapons, armour and special items will keep you digging and fighting for hours and hours. -And i can all be played in multiplayer! It's like the beautiful freak child of metroidvania and Minecraft. Full Review »
  3. May 17, 2011
    This game has had my interest for some time. After I became bored with Minecraft and stopped playing it, I found out about this game. AfterThis game has had my interest for some time. After I became bored with Minecraft and stopped playing it, I found out about this game. After buying it for a few friends and myself, we have all become addicted to it. There is so much to see and do. The art and game play are exceptional. When first starting, everything seemed so much similar to Minecraft. But after an hour of playing, I came to realize just how different the games really are. There is so much more to discover in this game, and so many more reasons to discover these things! Definitely go and buy it for the $10. It is worth it all. Full Review »