User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1610 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 1, 2011
    8
    I haven't played Minecraft, so I'm unable to low-ball this game for being a "knockoff" as many reviewers have. Terraria plays extremely well as a 2d sandbox with lots of options and exploration, the retro look is welcoming to a lot of gamers and doesn't hurt game quality at all, and a very simple UI/control system gives you enough to work with and doesn't overwhelm with a steep learningI haven't played Minecraft, so I'm unable to low-ball this game for being a "knockoff" as many reviewers have. Terraria plays extremely well as a 2d sandbox with lots of options and exploration, the retro look is welcoming to a lot of gamers and doesn't hurt game quality at all, and a very simple UI/control system gives you enough to work with and doesn't overwhelm with a steep learning curve. Though...there's a lot of little detail that the 'Tip Character' doesn't let you know, forcing you to go to forums or Youtube videos to understand (which shouldn't be the case for simple things like how big a home should be to attract people to your world). The music gets a little drab over time as well, but it's very easy to turn it off and pull up your own playlist or Pandora. The combat can be downright irritating at times, tempting you to avoid confrontation with very basic baddies. And the multiplayer is tons of fun, but a lobby system is something to be desired at times, when playing with only friends isn't an option. This is a tremendous game in the end, regardless of little things that could be better. The size of the game really hits you when you go mining down into the world and seem to never hit a boundary, exploring and discovering new things and places is fantastic, and the freedom of creation in Terraria will keep me playing for a long time. Expand
  2. Jun 23, 2011
    10
    It's enraging to see all the MINECRAFT RIPOFF!!!1!!! 0 reviews.

    Let's get this straight, the thing that Terreria are Minecraft share, you can build, you can dig, you can craft. Does that seem like general similarities? That's because they are. This game is no where near a Minecraft rip off. At the moment Minecraft is a sandbox building game. Terreria is a 2D RPG where you can build.
    It's enraging to see all the MINECRAFT RIPOFF!!!1!!! 0 reviews.

    Let's get this straight, the thing that Terreria are Minecraft share, you can build, you can dig, you can craft.
    Does that seem like general similarities? That's because they are. This game is no where near a Minecraft rip off. At the moment Minecraft is a sandbox building game. Terreria is a 2D RPG where you can build. The focus of the two games are very different.

    I've sunk many hours into this game, if you get a good world going with your friends you'll be up until the early hours playing this, there's a lot to do and discover and the frequent updates only add more.

    Granted once you complete it you might want to leave it a while before coming back, but at £6 I'm not concerned, I "completed" it about a month back and since then it's been hugely updated so I'll soon return.
    Expand
  3. Jul 5, 2011
    8
    Just bought 4 copies of this yesterday off of Steam for about $20. First day playing was 6 hours, non-stop, with a friend of mine. In game chat is well presented. Multiplayer can be quite fun and, at times, hilarious. Navigating the UI was a little bit frustrating at first, and being clueless as to what to do at the start was as well. A ton of items is cool. Everything from weapons andJust bought 4 copies of this yesterday off of Steam for about $20. First day playing was 6 hours, non-stop, with a friend of mine. In game chat is well presented. Multiplayer can be quite fun and, at times, hilarious. Navigating the UI was a little bit frustrating at first, and being clueless as to what to do at the start was as well. A ton of items is cool. Everything from weapons and armor, to construction materials and furniture. Awesome 2d graphics. Addictive. A lot to offer. Great buy imo. Expand
  4. Dec 3, 2011
    7
    I was a 7, and with the 1.1 update I'm still a 7. The good side: if you start from scratch, without cheating (from using other toon's items) it can take you a couple days to get the best gear. I spent multiple hours simply getting my footing by making a quality home for me and the traders, and getting standard gear (silver helmet, iron chestplate, gold leggins, and a phaseblade from aI was a 7, and with the 1.1 update I'm still a 7. The good side: if you start from scratch, without cheating (from using other toon's items) it can take you a couple days to get the best gear. I spent multiple hours simply getting my footing by making a quality home for me and the traders, and getting standard gear (silver helmet, iron chestplate, gold leggins, and a phaseblade from a chest), and that's just the start. Since the 1.1 update, I have not even gotten molten armor (which isn't even the best armor anymore), and I have played for 12 hours. The bad side: I know from before the update that once I get the best gear, I will have to make the hard decision of either abandoning a mined out world and starting fresh in a new one (with all of my gear still), or sticking around not really doing anything more in the existing world. Definitely worth the $2.50 I paid through Steam, but it's only a "play-per-update" game, to try the new content. Play a week, tops, before you get bored. Expand
  5. Nov 1, 2011
    9
    I'm only writing this review because night has started in my Terraria. And I can happily tell you that Terraria is unique and near nostalgic in itself. Are you a crafter? An adventurer? Or a fighter? It's all up for you to decide on what you become in your own sandbox like world. The concept of Terraria is refining, the execution is majestic. Now if you excuse me, I have to fight some eyeballs.
  6. Jul 17, 2012
    8
    Like some reviewers have said, it's easy to get bored of the game after a while due to its repetitiveness. Some of the greatest games in history have been repetitive, though, right? (Mario anyone?) I believe this game is best played with friends, if you want to truly have fun. How can you show off your amazing new skyscraper you just built if you play alone? You can fill your friends'Like some reviewers have said, it's easy to get bored of the game after a while due to its repetitiveness. Some of the greatest games in history have been repetitive, though, right? (Mario anyone?) I believe this game is best played with friends, if you want to truly have fun. How can you show off your amazing new skyscraper you just built if you play alone? You can fill your friends' houses with sand, build ingenious pitfall or boulder traps, fight epic bosses together, and have fun getting lost in the labyrinthine cave system, where you'll be spending the majority of your time. If you don't have friends to play with, avoid this game. Expand
  7. Nov 11, 2012
    10
    Bought this baby for $10 on steam sale. Spent more hours on it than games I've bought for $80. Survival, mixed with adventure. not to mention the freaking soundtrack!
  8. May 28, 2011
    10
    Simply amazing game!
    I haven't had so much fun with a game in a long time!!
    The game like it is now is 5 times worth its money, and there's still so much more content on the way!
  9. Jul 17, 2011
    10
    I'm gonna give this game a 10/10. It deserves a 8 or a 9 but after seeing how those spambots gave it 0, lowering it's score by a handful and spamming "minecraft clone" I can't help but to feel sorry for the developers... falling on User Score below 8 is devastating for such a promising game.
  10. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    One of the great sandbox adventure game,can't stop once start!!
    totally addicted with it! After buying it for a few friends and myself, we have all become addicted to it
  11. Jun 1, 2011
    8
    Terraria is a great game, however you must be into this sort of thing in order to truly enjoy it. I really like the fact that everything that is done in this game, must be built off the materials you collect through your adventures. The multiplayer, although not as simple as joining anyone's random world, is still quite fun to play with a friend. However in doing so you should stickTerraria is a great game, however you must be into this sort of thing in order to truly enjoy it. I really like the fact that everything that is done in this game, must be built off the materials you collect through your adventures. The multiplayer, although not as simple as joining anyone's random world, is still quite fun to play with a friend. However in doing so you should stick together most of the time because the spawn rate of creatures does increase greatly! I was a bit lost at the beginning, not entirely sure what to do, so I'd say as far as knocking a few points, having clarity was surely lacking. They have plenty of information online however, along with their youtube videos which can get you started in your own world. (This may just be because they released it earlier than they anticipated for fans chomping at the bit) Just remember this game is it's own genre. It's not so much an RPG, or a 2D shooter! If you check it out and think you wont like it, don't get it! Expand
  12. Jun 15, 2011
    8
    We are a big Minecraft family. I had heard about Terraria in the Minecraft forums. My kids started watching youtube videos of people playing and it looked interesting. I am a big minecraft fan and was from the first moment.. This game definitely takes a bit more to get the hang of things, but once you get there you will be thinking about how much iron or gold you need to iron to get thatWe are a big Minecraft family. I had heard about Terraria in the Minecraft forums. My kids started watching youtube videos of people playing and it looked interesting. I am a big minecraft fan and was from the first moment.. This game definitely takes a bit more to get the hang of things, but once you get there you will be thinking about how much iron or gold you need to iron to get that next weapon. It can seem a bit grindy at times, but seems to have enough surprises to keep you interested, I occasionally get frustrated at controlling the character, especially when stuck in a deep water pit. Multiplayer is fun, whether you play cooperatively or as a team. Overall if you like Minecraft, this game will appeal - just give it a chance to grow on you... I mean, what other game can you get a whoopie cushion. Expand
  13. Jun 19, 2011
    7
    Game was real fun and hooked me for a while, however it was mostly because of the grinding involved to get certain armor sets and weapons/tools. The game is pretty much build a home, dig into the ground, collect ore, build things, make better weapons keep digging. All the while killing monsters that spawn at the speed of a rabbit gangbang. Boss fights aren't very tough unless you have lowGame was real fun and hooked me for a while, however it was mostly because of the grinding involved to get certain armor sets and weapons/tools. The game is pretty much build a home, dig into the ground, collect ore, build things, make better weapons keep digging. All the while killing monsters that spawn at the speed of a rabbit gangbang. Boss fights aren't very tough unless you have low health and no potions

    Will eat up quite a few hours if you want to get everything the game has to do
    Expand
  14. May 22, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing. If you like Zelda, Castlevania, or Metroid you will love Terraria. Terraria is not like Minecraft. Terraria rewards you for exploring the world. It's more about the adventure and combat and boss fights than anything else. It is absolutely worth the ten euros.
  15. Jun 19, 2011
    9
    Beware to start up Terraria. It is highly addictive, eats up your time like nothing else and is some good old-fashioned fun while doing so. A definitive buy.
  16. May 22, 2011
    9
    awesome game, must buy, and its only $10 on steam
  17. May 22, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Simpel game but increibly addictive.
    I was on the fence with this one the game looked really bad judging of the screenshots but when you start tto play you won't stop.

    people who say this is minecraft 2d are just being harsh there are lots of games that borrowed little idears from on another..........well all fps are wolfenstein rip offs period
    Expand
  18. Jul 7, 2011
    5
    I've played 10 hours now in co-op with a friend and start to question myself where this time has gone. Terraria is one more gaming phenomenon that I fail to understand, except how much I search and try to find the worth. I don't have anything against old school DOS graphics, laid back games, original 2D-side-scrollers - I do quite like the fighting in Terraria (would it have been placed inI've played 10 hours now in co-op with a friend and start to question myself where this time has gone. Terraria is one more gaming phenomenon that I fail to understand, except how much I search and try to find the worth. I don't have anything against old school DOS graphics, laid back games, original 2D-side-scrollers - I do quite like the fighting in Terraria (would it have been placed in a better context and be a bit more diversified - someone mentioned there are only a dozen mobs in the entire game). I rreally like games that were created with some dedication, that try to deliver a good experience in any way possible. And I do respect the work of coding and everything that the developers put inside it and hoped they had fun with it, had they only worshipped the players' time a bit more. Terraria really reminds me of a section out of The Phantom' Tollbooth's novel: The Terrible Trivium, a demon in the Mountains of Ignorance who wastes time with useless jobs. By giving the protagonist a pair of tweezers with which he has to shift a whole pile of sand. That's Terraria. It won't get you anywhere important, just waste your time digging and digging and digging literally thousands of tiny little blocks to get a +X defence armor and a +X attack sword in the end with which you bash at the dozen rarely appearing mobs. Expand
  19. Jun 17, 2011
    10
    I always judge a game after about an hour of game play, and on my opinion this game is really good. I've heard many reviewers go to far with their reviews and I decided to try it for my self. It has a lot more than MineCraft. It has adventure, better combat, chests deep underground with cool stuff, heart crystals, and many more. You should go try it for yourself. It is definitely worth the 10$.
  20. Jul 6, 2011
    9
    Don't listen to the naysayers that claim Terraria is a 2D Minecraft-rip off. The only thing those two games share are blocks and crafting.

    Terraria can be summarized as a combination of 32-bit Legends of Zelda, Metroid, Castlevania, a bit of Mario, but with the crafting and construction as inspired by Minecraft. You start off with an axe and a pick and you must construct a home for you
    Don't listen to the naysayers that claim Terraria is a 2D Minecraft-rip off. The only thing those two games share are blocks and crafting.

    Terraria can be summarized as a combination of 32-bit Legends of Zelda, Metroid, Castlevania, a bit of Mario, but with the crafting and construction as inspired by Minecraft. You start off with an axe and a pick and you must construct a home for you and your eventual NPC companions to live in. You explore dungeons, and corruptions of nature for magical treasures. You gather ores and dig deeper and deeper to uncover the Earth's secrets and collect resources for forging new armors, weapons, and tools. And then you construct megaproject castles, forts, bunkers, sky cities, etc! Your imagination is the limit!

    And you can do all of this with as many friends as you want on your own servers! You will fall in love with the art style, the quirky music, and the charm of the world. Well worth its affordable price.
    Expand
  21. May 31, 2012
    7
    The 2D aspect makes exploration and especially building much less fun than Minecraft. Building a structure is boring and isn't really the main focus. Houses are basically just for NPC storage. However, the gameplay is miles beyond Minecraft, the items are great and unique, the NPC's each have a function and are a fine addition, the amount of content is super, the multiplayer is fun asThe 2D aspect makes exploration and especially building much less fun than Minecraft. Building a structure is boring and isn't really the main focus. Houses are basically just for NPC storage. However, the gameplay is miles beyond Minecraft, the items are great and unique, the NPC's each have a function and are a fine addition, the amount of content is super, the multiplayer is fun as hell. Where minecraft is an exploration/building game, this is more of an RPG and action game. As most games nowadays it's overhyped by rabid furry lovers, however fairly it is a good game and worth 7/10 Expand
  22. Dec 21, 2012
    9
    Master builder? 2 dimensional space? Aside from false advertising, Terraria is a great adventure game. You'll spend a lot of time with it since the road to end-game is a long one, but the road is varied and engaging.
  23. May 21, 2011
    10
    It's not Minecraft, even though it very obviously borrows a lot of elements from it. It's got much more character development and feels a lot more fleshed out - more decoration, more different areas and enemies, special events and NPCs... It's very addictive, though it doesn't have the huge replay value of Minecraft. Regardless, it is absolutely worth the ten euros.
  24. May 22, 2011
    7
    An interesting alternative to Minecraft but the merge from 3D to 2D takes away more than you think. Nice as harmless little addition to your game collection - but not the all-immersive, deep experience it promises.
  25. Jun 19, 2011
    8
    A pretty good game, well worth the 10 dollar price it currently has. The progression in the game is fun and the sheer amount of enemies and gear, as well as the variety of both, makes for a fun time exploring. Overall however, content is sparse in areas like end game gear and biome content. Fortunately that is the focus of the devs time right now.

    In short, it's worth 10 dollars alone
    A pretty good game, well worth the 10 dollar price it currently has. The progression in the game is fun and the sheer amount of enemies and gear, as well as the variety of both, makes for a fun time exploring. Overall however, content is sparse in areas like end game gear and biome content. Fortunately that is the focus of the devs time right now.

    In short, it's worth 10 dollars alone now, and with promises of more stuff being regularly added should only get better*.


    *Unless Re-Logic pulls a Notch and goes on weekly vacations.
    Expand
  26. Jul 10, 2012
    6
    For the first four hours you will wonder where the time went, but after a while you begin to question "why?" Terraria is an amazing game, but it doesn't have the lasting appeal I would've liked. The developers solution to the games inevitable stagnation was to add more and more things to it, and to make things more difficult. By the time you pick up Terraria, your friends have already gotFor the first four hours you will wonder where the time went, but after a while you begin to question "why?" Terraria is an amazing game, but it doesn't have the lasting appeal I would've liked. The developers solution to the games inevitable stagnation was to add more and more things to it, and to make things more difficult. By the time you pick up Terraria, your friends have already got the best gear. If you play Terraria on a server with strangers, most of the time someone has set up that server to have a place to powertrip. Small issues in the game such as inventory organization begin to compound frustration by the time you reach over four hours of play. The games price tag is very reasonable, and I would recommend the game, but what it has in originality it lacks in lasting appeal. Expand
  27. Aug 4, 2011
    6
    I don't know what all the raving about this game is; but if you like digging, then you'll certainly get a kick out of it! Otherwise, i just see no RPG element in trying to break bricks for 90% of the game.
  28. Jun 4, 2011
    8
    This game has lots of content but puts the content in a relaxing game style and not so great graphics style. The music the first time you hear it is great, but since there is only 3 minutes of it it gets boring after a while. Hopefully if they continue to add content to the game this will be that one game I play when I want to do something other than shooting or thinking.
  29. Aug 19, 2011
    5
    First let me tell you my idea of fun so you can compare if you see things through my eyes. Call of duty is a mindless shooter that is just completely tedious, Elder scrolls FTW, Any rts game is god-like. Alright first off terraria is like an mmo. You need a friend to have fun. If you play alone, the max hours you will play is 20 hours and the average is 3 hours. This game is just a randomFirst let me tell you my idea of fun so you can compare if you see things through my eyes. Call of duty is a mindless shooter that is just completely tedious, Elder scrolls FTW, Any rts game is god-like. Alright first off terraria is like an mmo. You need a friend to have fun. If you play alone, the max hours you will play is 20 hours and the average is 3 hours. This game is just a random generator. Basically it just creates a world you strip down to bone and then restart on a new world and strip it down. If you have multiple friends the game is just funny because the most random things happen that will slaughter your friend or he will get stuck or even a cave will collapse on him and you will be dieing laughing cuz it might have taken you guys an hour to get where you were. So i give it a 5, if you have a friend its just a social game, if you have no friends than go buy something more dedicated to solo players. Expand
  30. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    Tired of companies like Activision and EA selling you rehashes at $60 and then expecting you to pay much much more with content they held back? Yes they want a future of a copy and paste $100 game. Well, Terraria shows you how games should be. Not only is it only $10this game updates very frequently and they are huge updates. Best of all, they are free! So much more content in these freeTired of companies like Activision and EA selling you rehashes at $60 and then expecting you to pay much much more with content they held back? Yes they want a future of a copy and paste $100 game. Well, Terraria shows you how games should be. Not only is it only $10this game updates very frequently and they are huge updates. Best of all, they are free! So much more content in these free "DLC" than the big corporations give you, and this is made by a very small team. If they can afford to give you free DLC, surely Activision and EA can afford to give it to you. Nope. They just want as much money as they can get. Terraria is an amazing game. I have over 160 hours logged, according to Steam. It is a 2d sandbox game with unlimited possibilities. Literally! They update it with new content so often! If you defeat all the bosses and explore every biome, you can look for rare items, build with endless possibilities, and best of all, you can play online. There is always something you can do if you get bored. This is the best $10 investment I've ever made. $10 won't even get you a crappy map pack in Call of Duty. Try this game, you will get hooked. You will then realize you don't have to play the sellout junk Activision and EA are trying to sell you (and milk you for all you've got). Graphics don't make a game. It's all about game play. Expand
  31. Jul 2, 2011
    10
    This game is simply amazing. It takes a few hours to figure everything out, but then it just gets better and better. If you think the idea of a 2D platformer / RPG / Minecraft mash-up sounds interesting, you should definitely play this game.
  32. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    Picked up the game for the price of a good meal and progressed through it steadily. It has a nice combat setup similar to the Castlevania games on DS. Overall it felt unfinished at first, but now the game is seeing BIG regular updates each week, over 60 hours into it and still feeling great that new content is coming, already at patch 1.05 and the content and improvements just keepPicked up the game for the price of a good meal and progressed through it steadily. It has a nice combat setup similar to the Castlevania games on DS. Overall it felt unfinished at first, but now the game is seeing BIG regular updates each week, over 60 hours into it and still feeling great that new content is coming, already at patch 1.05 and the content and improvements just keep flowing, this game is leaving Minecraft in it's dust trail for me.

    This games ratings have been flooded with what I can only describe as brain damaged geeks rating at 0 to bring the average score down, this games score will only improve over time and to rub it in Notch is taking ideas from it already.

    You can play and like both games, competition is good for both games, even though they are so different in gameplay only the block placing is similar.
    Expand
  33. Jun 28, 2011
    10
    I just can't seem to put this down. With quirky graphics and entertaining exploits, I've been glued to Terraria for the past few weeks. This is a great example that 2D platformers still have relevance. Even though this game came from what seemed to be the shadow of Minecraft, It shines a light of its own. The depth of adventure in this will keep you up at night wanting more. TheI just can't seem to put this down. With quirky graphics and entertaining exploits, I've been glued to Terraria for the past few weeks. This is a great example that 2D platformers still have relevance. Even though this game came from what seemed to be the shadow of Minecraft, It shines a light of its own. The depth of adventure in this will keep you up at night wanting more. The multiplayer option further lengthens gameplay so you can explore and build with your friends. I would advise picking this one up for the $10 steam wants for it. Expand
  34. Mar 12, 2012
    10
    There's a lot of obvious parallels between Terarria and Minecraft, but Redigit's masterpiece achieves a much greater depth than Notch's effort. With a greater emphasis on combat and exploration, it's obvious from the start that Terraria is something truly unique. Fans of Castlevania will enjoy the gorgeous retro, pixelated 2D graphics. There truly is a huge amount of content, and withThere's a lot of obvious parallels between Terarria and Minecraft, but Redigit's masterpiece achieves a much greater depth than Notch's effort. With a greater emphasis on combat and exploration, it's obvious from the start that Terraria is something truly unique. Fans of Castlevania will enjoy the gorgeous retro, pixelated 2D graphics. There truly is a huge amount of content, and with regular updates this game is a steal at $10. Expand
  35. Jul 18, 2011
    10
    Great game, got it on steam sale for a fiver, a week ago and already clocked up about 20 hours on it, love the exploring side of it, and the just five more minutes aspect of it.
    lots of times ive been about to save it and quit and ive just seen something in the background and played for another 30 mins
    A few on here mention about how it can get repetitive after 30 hrs or more, but crikey
    Great game, got it on steam sale for a fiver, a week ago and already clocked up about 20 hours on it, love the exploring side of it, and the just five more minutes aspect of it.
    lots of times ive been about to save it and quit and ive just seen something in the background and played for another 30 mins
    A few on here mention about how it can get repetitive after 30 hrs or more, but crikey if i can get 30 hours out of a five pounds game, then its a good game indeed, plus with the updates adding and changing stuff each time, there is always a reason to come back for more.
    i could spend 40 pounds on a ps3 game for 10 hrs gameplay, and while a different style of game, this easily deserves a 10 based on the sheer amount of enjoyment to price alone
    Expand
  36. Dec 19, 2011
    10
    I like this game way better than Minecraft. Minecraft is ultra fun, but sadly, once you find diamond and make a pick axe out of it, it's over and it gets boring to play again. Terraria has NO end! Me and my friends have been playing this game nonstop for over three months! The enemies are super hard, which makes it fun to have to find the right gear to defeat it. After you defeat one ofI like this game way better than Minecraft. Minecraft is ultra fun, but sadly, once you find diamond and make a pick axe out of it, it's over and it gets boring to play again. Terraria has NO end! Me and my friends have been playing this game nonstop for over three months! The enemies are super hard, which makes it fun to have to find the right gear to defeat it. After you defeat one of the hardest bosses you ever though possible, there is an even harder one right after it! It goes on and on, and I don't think I will ever get bored of it. It is on the other hand not a perfect game, I don't really like the 2D screen it gives you, but it is easier to see enemies coming instead of being blown up by a Creeper all of a sudden like on Minecraft. It's only $10.00, where as Minecraft is $30.00, so you get a great deal, and all of the awesomeness on multiplayer as well! Expand
  37. Feb 4, 2012
    9
    I LOL'd at all the haters that gave this game a 4 or less. What game were you playing?! This is a great 2D Platformer with so much to do and so many items to craft and build. Shallow gamers should stick to shallow games.
  38. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    incredibly addicting. Even more addicting than binding of isaac. Points for longevity: 10/10
    I like how you can do what you want and in what order you want in this game. You can make better weapons, armor, guns etc. Gameplay: 10/10. Graphics are good. I think they could have been a little better but they are good enough: 8/10. Music and sounds are good but not great. 8/10. Ovreall still....
  39. Jul 21, 2012
    9
    Addictive and fun, I've put over 100+ hours into this game in the last couple weeks, and have enjoyed almost every minute of it. I don't like to use wiki's or info sites when I play games like this, and have had a blast discovering each new thing I've found. I'm giving this game a 9 out of 10 only because there are a couple of punishing aspects to the game, that I think shouldn't existAddictive and fun, I've put over 100+ hours into this game in the last couple weeks, and have enjoyed almost every minute of it. I don't like to use wiki's or info sites when I play games like this, and have had a blast discovering each new thing I've found. I'm giving this game a 9 out of 10 only because there are a couple of punishing aspects to the game, that I think shouldn't exist in sandbox games: 1) Potions have a cooldown timer, and 2) Death reduces your armor (you can pay the nurse to get rid of this penalty, but it still feels harsh). These two things are the ONLY times I've ever thought "Hmm, not fun." when playing Terraria. Highly recommended, especially if you think you might like a combination of Minecraft + Metroid + Castlevania. It's even better when you play the multiplayer with a trusted friend. Well worth the ticket price of $9.99, if you're strapped for cash or looking for a really good deal, Steam routinely discounts it 50-75% off. Expand
  40. Jun 18, 2012
    9
    This game is so fun. The multiplayer is amazing, its easy to join servers and making them is also easy. The game is 5-10 bucks and its a real bargain. Many players and a lot of items. This game is really fun. People compare it to Minecraft, but I find this BETTER than minecraft. For one, the gameplay is faster and you can make more out of your time than minecrafts hide in a cave type ofThis game is so fun. The multiplayer is amazing, its easy to join servers and making them is also easy. The game is 5-10 bucks and its a real bargain. Many players and a lot of items. This game is really fun. People compare it to Minecraft, but I find this BETTER than minecraft. For one, the gameplay is faster and you can make more out of your time than minecrafts hide in a cave type of game. This game has more items than minecraft and has a easy multiplayer, unlike minecraft's servers. Down side is that it can be a bit boring, but if your bored with minecraft, even the boring parts will seem more active than minecrafts. Expand
  41. Jul 16, 2012
    9
    The game, in my personal opinion, is very interesting, I like it. The 2D dimension makes it somewhat special, because you see and understand a lot more, than in 3D. Yet you still don't know what is above or under you. The Character creation isn't that original like in Minecraft, but still very easy to use (If you do know RGB!). The feature where you can have items saved had slightly mixedThe game, in my personal opinion, is very interesting, I like it. The 2D dimension makes it somewhat special, because you see and understand a lot more, than in 3D. Yet you still don't know what is above or under you. The Character creation isn't that original like in Minecraft, but still very easy to use (If you do know RGB!). The feature where you can have items saved had slightly mixed feelings on my experience, but should be a nice addition. I think it's a game everyone should try, just like Minecraft. Both are actually, very different. I suggest you to give it a try, and you will, most likely, not regret this decision, I'm sure. Expand
  42. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    guess what???? this game came out before minecraft, hahahahahaha stupid review trolls. for anyone that is putting off buying this game because its "a copy of minecraft" GO! buy it now! it's actually really, really good for a 2D game. For the people saying that "the graphics suck." its a 2D game, what did you expect??
    Please, just buy the game, it's very much worth your while
  43. Feb 27, 2014
    9
    Great exploration, great treasure-hunting, great combat, epic fights and a myriad of weapons make Terraria a true masterpiece. There is so much to do, even if all you decide to do is beat all the enemies. You can create or shape vast landscapes and housing, create artificial biomes and item farms, or just have fun beating the pulp out of enemies and bosses. I advise looking at the wikiGreat exploration, great treasure-hunting, great combat, epic fights and a myriad of weapons make Terraria a true masterpiece. There is so much to do, even if all you decide to do is beat all the enemies. You can create or shape vast landscapes and housing, create artificial biomes and item farms, or just have fun beating the pulp out of enemies and bosses. I advise looking at the wiki if you're new, in order to get some idea of what to do.

    HUGE update with 1.2, completely FREE, improved so many aspects of the game and added great content. The developers genuinely care about their fan base. The game was only $2.50 on Steam sale and I played it over 200 hours single player.

    My only complaint is that for multiplayer you have to type in each IP address to get onto the servers, would be a lot easier with a server list or quick-match option.
    Expand
  44. Mar 6, 2013
    7
    TL;DR A good time waster that has been abandoned by the devs. Terraria is an interesting experience that will probably result in people not knowing what they're doing at first, and then either sticking with it or quitting. One of the only problems is the difficulty and gear curve at first, and then later when hard mode is started. The game has a very slow start due to the fact that youTL;DR A good time waster that has been abandoned by the devs. Terraria is an interesting experience that will probably result in people not knowing what they're doing at first, and then either sticking with it or quitting. One of the only problems is the difficulty and gear curve at first, and then later when hard mode is started. The game has a very slow start due to the fact that you basically need a nightmare pickaxe, which takes a while to get. The game then repeats the curve once you enter hard mode, where you'll have about 4 hits to live with the common enemy. The great things about the game are the well done 8-bit graphics, versatility of the weapons and trinkets, progressive boss fights (though there could be a lot more), and the freedom to build whatever you want. Don't forget to invite a friend or an entire party as well! The only problem is the fact that the devs have essentially abandoned the game, so there will be no further updates unfortunately. While there is still quite a bit of content, you really have very little reason to play after getting a max character.There is also a lot of potential missing with the fact that there are only 4 bosses their hardmode counterparts, and I feel like there could have been more biomes featuring their own boss. One last big thing that might get some people is the grinding you have to do. Its part of the game, but to those who hate it, you might not last through those dry spells of action where it is required. Overall, its still a fun 2D platformer focusing on building and combat, though if you hate grinding and the current fact that it has been dropped, you might not enjoy it. Expand
  45. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    I just love this game, it was more than i was expecting. My friend who's name shall remain sufficient for now gifted me this game and i played it instantly since there is so much rave and talk about it. After the first hour of playing with my friend I was nearly addicted. If I were you I would play this game. It is only about 2.50 USD on steam. Enjoy
  46. Jul 13, 2013
    7
    I have only had 6 hours of play in this game, But I've enjoyed them. Its a bit daunting at first, As there is a lot of depth, And you are told almost nothing about what to do, But once you get it figured out, you'll want to play it a LOT. I want to say lots of people probably come here from minecraft, and a little warning. Its not about building. You'll get bored if you just want to build.I have only had 6 hours of play in this game, But I've enjoyed them. Its a bit daunting at first, As there is a lot of depth, And you are told almost nothing about what to do, But once you get it figured out, you'll want to play it a LOT. I want to say lots of people probably come here from minecraft, and a little warning. Its not about building. You'll get bored if you just want to build. Its about exploring and fighting. Expand
  47. Jul 21, 2013
    9
    terraria is a great game, a 2d minecraft. terraria's inventory is gigantic for there is multiple weapons and miscellaneous. but this game can have some bugs, for instance I tried to summon one of the bosses (in night time) and he did not show up, probably car troubles. the world is gigantic for you can have small, medium, or large. with large it is huge it will take you a long time forterraria is a great game, a 2d minecraft. terraria's inventory is gigantic for there is multiple weapons and miscellaneous. but this game can have some bugs, for instance I tried to summon one of the bosses (in night time) and he did not show up, probably car troubles. the world is gigantic for you can have small, medium, or large. with large it is huge it will take you a long time for you to get to one end of the game to the other. terraria is a excellent game and worth it to buy. Expand
  48. Oct 15, 2013
    9
    The problem with users reviewing is that they never take time to play the whole game. That said, this game is not a rip-off of Minecraft. Even Notch likes it, but oh no, reviewers never bother to gather information! If negative reviewers actually played the game, they would realize the game goes from 2D Minecraft to something more intense and much more varied. Not to mention there'sThe problem with users reviewing is that they never take time to play the whole game. That said, this game is not a rip-off of Minecraft. Even Notch likes it, but oh no, reviewers never bother to gather information! If negative reviewers actually played the game, they would realize the game goes from 2D Minecraft to something more intense and much more varied. Not to mention there's multiplayer, and the 2D CAN be invigorating to play with for some old-style recognition, and the music is just fun to hear. There are lots more monsters and items than in Minecraft, and much more bosses as well, giving more varied gameplay. Of course, with all this implemented, the world is limited and not infinitely generated, though it is indeed randomized each time you make a world. And with the current price of $2.50, it's essentially a must-buy. Heck, it's even a must-buy when it's $9.99. In short: more varied than Minecraft, less free than Minecraft, but is VERY different from Minecraft in general, if you get to actually know the game. Expand
  49. Oct 17, 2014
    6
    The game does not support a resolution that is higher than 1920 × 1200 which is quite disappointing because my screen resolution is 2560 × 1440 (QHD). It's impossible to zoom in while playing the game, this means you have to glue your face in order to feel comfortable aiming your tiny mouse to break every single little block that measures about one centimetre on my screen. The craftingThe game does not support a resolution that is higher than 1920 × 1200 which is quite disappointing because my screen resolution is 2560 × 1440 (QHD). It's impossible to zoom in while playing the game, this means you have to glue your face in order to feel comfortable aiming your tiny mouse to break every single little block that measures about one centimetre on my screen. The crafting system is also a disappointment, if I want to craft a certain item, I have to scroll through a long list of stuff (that isn't even organized) until I find what I need. The concept of this game is cool, but the UI is absolutely terrible. Which is why I unfortunately prefer the mobile version of Terraria over the desktop version, because in the mobile version almost every feature that I listed that isn't in desktop is there.

    Game Version: 1.2.4.1
    Expand
  50. Jun 30, 2014
    9
    近年リリースされた中で最も優れた2Dプラットフォーマーの一つで、ダンジョンとボスを備えたオープンワールドで破壊的・建設的な世界のある最初の2Dプラットフォーマーです。多くの様々な武器や鎧、特別アイテムでプレーヤーは何時間も虜になり戦い続けるでしょう。また多人数でプレイすることもできます! まるでメトロイドヴァニアのとマインクラフトにはまったかわいい子供みたいですね。近年リリースされた中で最も優れた2Dプラットフォーマーの一つで、ダンジョンとボスを備えたオープンワールドで破壊的・建設的な世界のある最初の2Dプラットフォーマーです。多くの様々な武器や鎧、特別アイテムでプレーヤーは何時間も虜になり戦い続けるでしょう。また多人数でプレイすることもできます! まるでメトロイドヴァニアのとマインクラフトにはまったかわいい子供みたいですね。
  51. Aug 19, 2014
    9
    The game is actualy good.But farming takes a while like 2 real life days to get a rare item.Boss fights are better than just hit it till it dies.Pvp is fun.But the game needs a strong pc to run or it will crash and you will lose all of your progress.
  52. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    Ce jeu est une excellente alternative à Minecraft, tout en restant éloigné de son principe, il faut garder à l'esprit que MC n'a pas inventé le Sand Box, loin de là, et qu'il s'en inspiré de Terraria pour sa toute nouvelle dimension RPG.
  53. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    The game is good, however, the developers are complete moronic idiots to say the least. It is a shame that they took such a potential looking game, and turned it into a money making machine, not giving a damn about their users. For instance, they 'copyright claim' every negative review of the game on youtube. I got my account banned because I criticized their game for having poor replayThe game is good, however, the developers are complete moronic idiots to say the least. It is a shame that they took such a potential looking game, and turned it into a money making machine, not giving a damn about their users. For instance, they 'copyright claim' every negative review of the game on youtube. I got my account banned because I criticized their game for having poor replay value. (Which it does, once you reach the endgame)

    For that reason, these developers do not deserve your 10$, go spend it on a game where the developers will actually care about their customers.
    Expand
  54. Nov 14, 2013
    4
    I tried very hard to like this game, I really did. I enjoy this style of game very much, but everything about Terraria was hard to enjoy. Mining and side-scrolling do not mix. You have to click on pixels in order to mine them and listen carefully just to decipher if you are actually in fact mining it at all. There are certain aspects (Like building a home with certain requirements thatI tried very hard to like this game, I really did. I enjoy this style of game very much, but everything about Terraria was hard to enjoy. Mining and side-scrolling do not mix. You have to click on pixels in order to mine them and listen carefully just to decipher if you are actually in fact mining it at all. There are certain aspects (Like building a home with certain requirements that allow various npcs to live there) that I found original and brilliant... I've tried to play this game several times, but every time I find myself thinking, "I could be spending this time on a different building game that is done well.' Expand
  55. Sep 19, 2011
    6
    One thing sums it all: worse than minecraft. I bought it for myself and two other friends when it was 2,5 dollar on steam. We played for 30 hours... but the game is so POINTLESS. After 10 hours, you will have whatever equipment you're aiming for... and your character just has it. Any server, any time - you have the things you got so far. And the other thing, the biggest sin of this game:One thing sums it all: worse than minecraft. I bought it for myself and two other friends when it was 2,5 dollar on steam. We played for 30 hours... but the game is so POINTLESS. After 10 hours, you will have whatever equipment you're aiming for... and your character just has it. Any server, any time - you have the things you got so far. And the other thing, the biggest sin of this game: none of your equipment breaks. It stays forever... alright, then what's the point of playing after you got all? After 15 hours, I had tuxedo, sunglasses, molten armour, the best sword, dark lance and minishark with 5k silver bullets; not to mention full HP. Then it just got pointless.

    And other thing, building? There is no sense in building in terraria... you can achieve same effects in Gimp. Or in minecraft, but there you can have 3D buildings.

    I wanted to say that if minecraft took some elements from terraria it'd be awesome, but well, 1.9 is coming in huge leaps, so i don't need to hope.
    Expand
  56. Sep 1, 2013
    6
    It's not bad, but the mining gets tedious and boring and finding anything useful is like rolling the dice. Once you start the game you're dumped into the game world with little to no idea as to what you're supposed to do and no instructions. Your 'guide' doesn't exactly provide much in the way of help either. If I hadn't seen a video on this game by Totalbiscuit I'd have had no idea what IIt's not bad, but the mining gets tedious and boring and finding anything useful is like rolling the dice. Once you start the game you're dumped into the game world with little to no idea as to what you're supposed to do and no instructions. Your 'guide' doesn't exactly provide much in the way of help either. If I hadn't seen a video on this game by Totalbiscuit I'd have had no idea what I was supposed to be doing. As I mentioned finding useful materials is a shot in the dark... literally. You dig around at random hoping to find something useful which gets tedious and boring. When night rolls around if you're not down in the depths your options are to try and fight off waves monsters or hide in your house (if you managed to build one) and hiding in your house till morning is boring, but trying to fight off waves of monsters in the dark is a nightmare. Expand
  57. Oct 15, 2012
    4
    It's hardly a "game", I'd call it a level editor for a mediocre platform game. And as a level editor, It's even not that good, because you edit the level with your character, while NPC-s attack. Very steep learning curve - you have to be constantly check wiki to figure out what you can and need to do, but once you get things going, you realize there's nowhere to go.
    It's cute, well done
    It's hardly a "game", I'd call it a level editor for a mediocre platform game. And as a level editor, It's even not that good, because you edit the level with your character, while NPC-s attack. Very steep learning curve - you have to be constantly check wiki to figure out what you can and need to do, but once you get things going, you realize there's nowhere to go.
    It's cute, well done for everything that was intended, but there's very little of it. "Motherlode", somewhat similar Flash game was 1/10 of the length, and had no crafting/building, but still felt times more interesting, and also rewarding in the end, unlike Terraria.
    I never got into Minecraft, but invested few weeks into Terraria and can honestly say, there's nothing to miss. Play it if you have *absolutely* nothing to do and Solitaire has lost even remains of its appeal.
    Expand
  58. Dec 3, 2011
    4
    I tried so hard to like Terraria. I really, really did. For one thing, it was free. A friend bought it for me. It is a MAJOR waste when you can't learn to like something you didn't even pay for. Also, lots of my friends were playing it for a long time, and they wanted me to join them on their server, hence the free game. So my drive to like Terraria was threefold: it was free so itI tried so hard to like Terraria. I really, really did. For one thing, it was free. A friend bought it for me. It is a MAJOR waste when you can't learn to like something you didn't even pay for. Also, lots of my friends were playing it for a long time, and they wanted me to join them on their server, hence the free game. So my drive to like Terraria was threefold: it was free so it was wasteful not to play it, I didn't want to be rude and not play it with my friends who bought it for me, and I had heard from so many glowing reviews that there was this gem of a game somewhere beneath the surface.

    Well I've tried, and tried, and I just can't get excited about Terraria. Anytime I play this game, I am bored stiff. Here's where I think the problem lies:

    Yes, there's all the comparisons to Minecraft. Let me tell you, I don't give a crap about any of that. Yes , I've played Minecraft and I liked it a lot. No, I don't care if Terraria "ripped it off" or not. A game can rip of or be inspired by other games as much as it wants. If the end result is fun, we're all the more merry for it. So it's not that it's like Minecraft.

    Same goes for all the comparisons to "Metroidvania" games. Fine with me, so it's not that it's like Metroidvania games. The problem, I believe, is that it's not ENOUGH like either a Metroidvania game or a Minecraft game. That's the feeling I couldn't shake when playing this... this game is just so... lukewarm. Let's look at it from the Minecraft side. As a Minecraft-esque game, i.e. a creative tool with adventure elements, it doesn't stand up. It's just not as fun to create things in 2d. You can't think of the crazy, creative ideas that you can in something like Minecraft because there's just one less plane to work with. On top of that, if you do want to approach it mainly as a way to let out your creativity, you are going to be sorely taxed as monsters crawl up your butt from every angle. You're going to be spending just as much material making yourself new weapons to deal with your enemies as you do making structures. There is too large a helping of action for the arm-chair architect. Also, your creativity will be stunted in the Crafting department. There is no playing around with materials and discovering new combinations here. If you have the raw goods in your inventory, what you can make with them is laid out before you. As a creative tool, Terraria just doesn't stand up. It's just not as good.

    Now let's look at Metroidvania aspect. The same thing has happened here, the action and adventure has been deluded by the crafty-half. The game doesn't respond or play like your standard Metroid shooter/platformer. The physics of your character are clunky and your weapons imprecise. You can tell this game was NOT coded with simply high-quality side-scrolling action in mind.

    What happens with this game is simply this: they tried to combine two niches and wound up watering down both. If you want to play a side-scrolling indie action game on the PC, for god sake, play Capsized or something. After coming back from that, you won't be able to stand Terraria. If you want to build something, play Minecraft. If you really are the niche player these programmers were looking for and you simply MUST have side-scrolling action and building/crafting in the same game... well... then I guess you will love this thing. If you ask me though, you'll only love it because there's nothing better out there in the genre at the moment, just this I gave this a negative score, despite the fact that the structure of the game is basically sound, because the game isn't even entertaining to me in a bad way. It is frustratingly bland.
    Expand
  59. Jan 12, 2015
    1
    Game is cool! At first time i played for many many time, and this time was spending with pleasure!
    But it WAS cool, because developers do not like to update it... Last update there was more than half-year!!! MORE THAN HALF-YEAR FOR ONE UPDATE!!!! Are you kidding me?!
    I think that developers do not care about the players.
  60. Sep 11, 2011
    9
    Don't be fooled, its not some minecraft rip-off with 2D graphics, its actually so diffirent that you might love it even if you hated minecraft, and otherwise. But here you have more stuff to do, other than just building.
  61. Jul 26, 2013
    0
    Let me start by saying I have never played Minecraft. Now then, I simply cannot understand this game's popularity or high score. I've played this game for several hours, given it several second chances when I read about updates, and every time I've found this game to be an incredibly frustrating experience. The controls are stiff and unresponsive. The graphics are terrible even byLet me start by saying I have never played Minecraft. Now then, I simply cannot understand this game's popularity or high score. I've played this game for several hours, given it several second chances when I read about updates, and every time I've found this game to be an incredibly frustrating experience. The controls are stiff and unresponsive. The graphics are terrible even by pixelart standards. The music is irritating. The interface is confusing and incredibly unintuitive. The activities are dull and tedious, even when you have a friend join you. These activities are made worse by the fact that when your "world" is generated and you pop into it, every single monster that pops into the world with you automatically homes in on your position. This means that your attempts to complete the tedious activities are constantly interrupted by unrelenting attacks from monsters that you have to fend off by slowly and clumsily swinging your largely ineffective weapons at them. Trailers and advertisements for Terraria claim that somewhere at the end of all this monotony there is the reward of action and adventure, but I've watched some online videos of said adventure. Quite frankly the destination does not appear to justify the frustrating journey. I would give this one point for being a relatively fresh idea, but charging $10 for this ($15 when it was first released!) is tantamount to robbery. Even $5 is pushing it. Expand
  62. Aug 13, 2011
    6
    The 2D Side Scroller Terraria, based on Minecraft, is a very charming game that appealed in every way, now being ruined by Re-Logic's updates meant to make the game " harder ". What do they actually mean by harder? More frustrating, annoying, grindy, and trial-and-error. Get it before it turns into a grind machine Minecraft clone.
  63. May 21, 2011
    0
    Basically this game is a 2D minecraft but without all the cool stuff you can build in minecraft, lifts etc. You can spend hours playing that is true but you will spend hours doing nothing really, just like minecraft. Very slow, nothing new, worse gameplay because it is 2D, no gamepad support, no decent resolution in fullscreen. Waste of 6 quid and 4 hours of my life.
  64. May 21, 2011
    0
    I got this game on Steam solely because it was cheap, and I wanted to play an old school 2D platformer. Oh boy, what a terrible jumble and mess this game is. It tries to be Minecraft in 2D by giving the ability to build stuff no one cares about, has clunky gameplay, stability issues and is terribly boring. No amount of multiplayer can make this game fun for me. Also, it looks terrible.I got this game on Steam solely because it was cheap, and I wanted to play an old school 2D platformer. Oh boy, what a terrible jumble and mess this game is. It tries to be Minecraft in 2D by giving the ability to build stuff no one cares about, has clunky gameplay, stability issues and is terribly boring. No amount of multiplayer can make this game fun for me. Also, it looks terrible. There are indie games that were designed by single person and look better than this. This is not even a game, more like an operant conditioning experiment in pointless clicking. I wish I could get a refund. I would feel robbed even if this game was free. Expand
  65. gas
    Aug 6, 2012
    4
    I really tried to like this game, i usually tend to like more original concepts then uber mainstream games, anwyay i cant understand where is the fun in this game.
    Duno, for me digging for ages and try to build up some scenery/house/level or what we wanna call it is boring, i like to play real lego or the meccano more tbh.
    I honesly have the feeling that this game has not much to offer,
    I really tried to like this game, i usually tend to like more original concepts then uber mainstream games, anwyay i cant understand where is the fun in this game.
    Duno, for me digging for ages and try to build up some scenery/house/level or what we wanna call it is boring, i like to play real lego or the meccano more tbh.
    I honesly have the feeling that this game has not much to offer, besdie the fact itself its quite creative as idea.
    Expand
  66. May 22, 2011
    0
    If you already have Minecraft, don't buy Terraria! If you don't have Minecraft, then buy it and still don't buy Terraria! Terraria is Minecraft, but 2D and ten times worse. It's the same thing except with less immersion, awful sprites, and an unclassy feeling to it.
  67. Feb 11, 2012
    0
    This is for the developers, and for the developers only. Do not support people who bribe people to write them good reviews. That is not how things are supposed to work.
  68. Jun 19, 2011
    0
    This game is bad, and you should feel bad for playing it. It's like if minecraft (one of the worst and overrated games ever) had a baby with maple story (also garbage).
  69. Aug 9, 2012
    4
    I appreciate why other people may like Terraria, however, i am not one of those people. This game is too complicated for its own good. It tries to simplify the explore-build-discover mindset with 2d graphics, and 'simple' looking menus. It falls far short in my opinion. It provides an instruction level close to that of IKEA. With no way to go but left or right, and tools hard to use andI appreciate why other people may like Terraria, however, i am not one of those people. This game is too complicated for its own good. It tries to simplify the explore-build-discover mindset with 2d graphics, and 'simple' looking menus. It falls far short in my opinion. It provides an instruction level close to that of IKEA. With no way to go but left or right, and tools hard to use and materials difficult to harvest, I could not get past 2 hours with this game. It has potential, but I am clearly not its demographic. Expand
  70. May 27, 2011
    2
    If you like Minecraft, you will like this; otherwise this game is trash. Old school DOS graphics. Figure it out for yourself how to play this because there is no documentation or real intuitiveness to what you are supposed to do. $10 is WAY overpriced; more like FREE to $1 max. It is a 16MB download on steam to give you an idea of how little disk space it wastes on your hard drive. TheIf you like Minecraft, you will like this; otherwise this game is trash. Old school DOS graphics. Figure it out for yourself how to play this because there is no documentation or real intuitiveness to what you are supposed to do. $10 is WAY overpriced; more like FREE to $1 max. It is a 16MB download on steam to give you an idea of how little disk space it wastes on your hard drive. The concept is there, but they need to spend some time on modernizing the game to make it appeal to me. Expand
  71. Jan 28, 2012
    1
    Terraria is a great game if you are still underground, digging, fighting monsters, and exploring. But what do you do after you are done? There is absolutely NOTHING to do after you are done. Build houses... you can't really build cool stuff in terraria. I have played the game for over 200 hours, but I want a refund. NOW PEOPLE KEEP ON SAYING MINECRAFT is BAD just because Notch stoppedTerraria is a great game if you are still underground, digging, fighting monsters, and exploring. But what do you do after you are done? There is absolutely NOTHING to do after you are done. Build houses... you can't really build cool stuff in terraria. I have played the game for over 200 hours, but I want a refund. NOW PEOPLE KEEP ON SAYING MINECRAFT is BAD just because Notch stopped devloping it. I am pretty sure Notch does not want to work on Minecraft for the rest of his life. I know I wouldn't. If you like Minecraft, which started everything, don't buy this game. Also, if you like to build, DEFINATELY, don't buy this game. Expand
  72. May 26, 2011
    0
    Just...awful...
    It's like a poorly designed, unoriginal, messy, 2d, insubstantial, devoid of gameplay, emotionless, dull, repeditive, pointless and unintuitive version of minecraft with all the good bits taken out.
    if you enjoy this game, there's a good chance you'll enjoy lobotomy as well, as they both leave you with the same "wow....I don't feel happy or sad...I just feel like I wasted
    Just...awful...
    It's like a poorly designed, unoriginal, messy, 2d, insubstantial, devoid of gameplay, emotionless, dull, repeditive, pointless and unintuitive version of minecraft with all the good bits taken out.
    if you enjoy this game, there's a good chance you'll enjoy lobotomy as well, as they both leave you with the same "wow....I don't feel happy or sad...I just feel like I wasted an hour of my existance" feeling....that is if you retain feeling.
    Expand
  73. Jun 7, 2011
    4
    When I saw a video about this game called 'Terraria', I thought the same thing as I think many people did; "this looks like minecraft". First I was pretty sure that it isn't going to get popular just by copying minecraft, but it did. Of course the game isn't a straight copy of minecraft, it's a lot more. I am just one of those persons who didn't enjoy the game one bit.
  74. Aug 31, 2011
    4
    Terraria is an endearing game at times. I wanted to love it, and kept diving back in hoping that something would click. It didn't. I know that Minecraft and Terraria are totally different games, but still Terraria borrows a lot from Minecraft but doesn't seem to get it right.
  75. Aug 14, 2015
    0
    This is the worst game in the world, even dayz in comparison with it is a good game, I do not know what else to say, and how you can do this play, but are the same idiots who like this 2d perversion, just stupid idiots are the people who think this game normal game, I have all.
  76. Jun 24, 2011
    4
    This game is a complete rip-off of a well known game. It has no originality whatsoever and makes you feel like you just played a cheap bootlegged version of your favorite game. If this game came out 3 years ago, I would most likely say that it was creative, yet it has wonky build controls, few items, and the game does not even look good. I strongly believe that everyone who gave this aThis game is a complete rip-off of a well known game. It has no originality whatsoever and makes you feel like you just played a cheap bootlegged version of your favorite game. If this game came out 3 years ago, I would most likely say that it was creative, yet it has wonky build controls, few items, and the game does not even look good. I strongly believe that everyone who gave this a high review is probably crazy. Expand
  77. Jun 20, 2011
    0
    Rips off minecraft and the concept is bad. Just can't bring myself to enjoy it. I mean, I don't really luike minecraft all that much but when you're playing a game that is a blantant rip-off...
  78. Aug 26, 2012
    7
    Minecraft ripoff.
    now before you hate on me, to call somthing a ripoff of what could be considered the most sucessful game ever, ioneering (or should isay actually making popular) the block building game type, then calling terraria minecraft ripoff is a comliment.
    while minecraft uused to focus more on mining and building (now minecraft is nicking ideas from terraria) terraria is more
    Minecraft ripoff.
    now before you hate on me, to call somthing a ripoff of what could be considered the most sucessful game ever, ioneering (or should isay actually making popular) the block building game type, then calling terraria minecraft ripoff is a comliment.

    while minecraft uused to focus more on mining and building (now minecraft is nicking ideas from terraria) terraria is more about exploring and fighting bosses, and finding and crafthing a HUGE amount of loot.
    from what i heard this guy made the game for some mates that didnt like certain things about minecraft. when he released it it became hugely popular, and he did the amazing thig of then updating the game.

    its a great game, ridiculously cheap, and even though i have barely ventured from my house in it, i have already clocked 11 hours!
    Expand
  79. May 25, 2013
    5
    You know, this really had me hooked for a while. But it didn't take long for the clunky crafting interface to get annoying (and the devs have given up on improving the game without fixing that). And even more so the looooong travels through the world, which takes simply forever! There is only a rather unhelpful, limited teleport functionality and that's it. Also, a map similar to thatYou know, this really had me hooked for a while. But it didn't take long for the clunky crafting interface to get annoying (and the devs have given up on improving the game without fixing that). And even more so the looooong travels through the world, which takes simply forever! There is only a rather unhelpful, limited teleport functionality and that's it. Also, a map similar to that tools like "Terrafirma" offer should really have been included in the game (maybe combined with a "fog of war"). The world is so big that it's incredibly annoying to have to search for resources and remember the cave structure on top of that.
    So overall I like the combat, the RPG aspects, the crafting possibilities. And I would've really loved to discover more of those things. But the downsides described have absolutely destroyed my enthusiasm and make it feel like the game is wasting my time.
    Expand
  80. Jun 23, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game has absorbed more of my time than any other game for at least the last 2 years. It has beautiful pixel art, the platforming mechanics feel just right. I'm not hugely keen on the weapon swinging animations but they can be forgiven.

    I like the Castlevania style gameplay and the fact that it has the random level generation of Spelunky which I also enjoyed. Obviously the Minecraft influence is strong but the result is a completely different feeling game which obviously takes influences from lots of different areas. To call it a rip off would be like calling every open world game with vehicles every made a Grand Theft Auto rip off. Absurd, I know!

    I would definitely recommend giving this a chance. It feels a bit slow at first but there are so many weapons to find and so many gadgets to use that totally change the way that you play. From jetpacks to grappling hooks to guns and swords. There's also multiple boss fights and different biomes and lots of clothes and armour. The game is nowhere near finished either and new content is added to the game very frequently.

    I'm actually appalled at some of the hate this game has garnered from Minecraft fans. I like Minecraft for very different reasons to Terraria. It plays in a very different way and you find yourself with very different aims in either game. there definitely tends to be more emphasis on building in Minecraft. I know Notch is a big fan of Terraria.
    Expand
  81. Oct 5, 2011
    1
    A Minecraft copy. No comment. I gave 1 , 'couse Minecraft is a grate game... I'v bought it, i tried it, and now i hate it. It was a waste of time and money.
  82. Nov 30, 2011
    10
    Vastly superior to Minecraft. More content, more fun, more things to do, and the developers aren't greedy. Plus the game is only 10 dollars and almost always on sale for 5.
  83. Jul 23, 2011
    7
    This game is very... very FUN! It is a 2d sandbox game where you can build things and fight. I think the building part of the game is taken away because of the fact that it is 2d and that i like to adventure and fight bosses. The multiplayer is very fun. Hosting the game was very easy and very fast which made the experience in multiplayer much more fun. However, the only down side toThis game is very... very FUN! It is a 2d sandbox game where you can build things and fight. I think the building part of the game is taken away because of the fact that it is 2d and that i like to adventure and fight bosses. The multiplayer is very fun. Hosting the game was very easy and very fast which made the experience in multiplayer much more fun. However, the only down side to Terraria is there isn't enough content to continue my addiction to this game. After I got the highest tier items in the game, it just got boring. But the thing is that fun was well worth the 10$. Expand
  84. Nov 24, 2011
    5
    This game is probably the most overrated thing i have ever seen. It is full of bugs, and is charging 10-20 dollars. The game needs fixing and mod support, it is boring after you get everything, as there is no point to continue, do to the bad building engine with limited materials. Very low replay value. Not worth buying unless its on sale for five dollars or less. How this is not a gameThis game is probably the most overrated thing i have ever seen. It is full of bugs, and is charging 10-20 dollars. The game needs fixing and mod support, it is boring after you get everything, as there is no point to continue, do to the bad building engine with limited materials. Very low replay value. Not worth buying unless its on sale for five dollars or less. How this is not a game still in alpha or beta is beyond me. This is NOT a finished project. 5/10 Expand
  85. May 14, 2012
    9
    At one point I liked this better than Minecraft. Not for the crafting or building that much as for the adventuring. The RPG elements were a big plus for it. But then the big update came and made me drop the game forever. Before the update if you wanted to be fast you got a shadow armor. You wanted to be strong you got a molten armor. The game was balanced. After the update they put threeAt one point I liked this better than Minecraft. Not for the crafting or building that much as for the adventuring. The RPG elements were a big plus for it. But then the big update came and made me drop the game forever. Before the update if you wanted to be fast you got a shadow armor. You wanted to be strong you got a molten armor. The game was balanced. After the update they put three new kinds of armor that made the old armors useless. The whole game now was about getting enough adamantite to make adamantite armor with your favorite helmet and that was all. After you made that armor the game was again a piece of cake and all other armors were just worse than your's. Before the update there were so many fun ways to play your character which were lost after the update. After the update you could combine most accessories and keep like double in quantity active on you so more customization options were lost since you can now hold practically all useful accessories at the same time instead of choosing a playstyle based on the few you could keep on you.

    Most unbalancing update I've ever seen in a game. Would be 9/10 without this update. Would be 10/10 if the update managed to keep the balance instead of adding a few uber-items.
    Expand
  86. Jan 17, 2012
    10
    Awesome game with friends. It is like metroid and minecraft smashed together into a fun little romp of fun. Play with friends !!! Not only does it allow the game to be easier, but it allows for other social benefits such as chuckling hysterically as your friend falls 400 feet into lava.
  87. Apr 14, 2012
    4
    i looked video's over Terraria and i thought why i dont buy it? that was a mistake 10 euro's is too mush for me it's better like 5 euro i dont like the game anymore i play'd it 2 days and after that i stopped playing it for me it was a waste of monney
  88. May 10, 2012
    7
    This game is unique. I found it enjoyable but I didn't catch on for me. This is pretty much a 2d, more action packed survival mode for Minecraft.

    Ignore this game and just purchase Minecraft
  89. Feb 20, 2013
    7
    I remember defending this game tooth and nail from those who thought it was an opportunistic attempt at surfing on Minecraft's success. I remember advertising it as a "really good Castlevania and Minecraft mixup at a very fair price", and playing countless hours on it. I guess most of this is still true, but ultimately I realized I was just too much "into the game" to see its real worth atI remember defending this game tooth and nail from those who thought it was an opportunistic attempt at surfing on Minecraft's success. I remember advertising it as a "really good Castlevania and Minecraft mixup at a very fair price", and playing countless hours on it. I guess most of this is still true, but ultimately I realized I was just too much "into the game" to see its real worth at that time: the time where I didn't finish the game. That's right, this game is no Minecraft, it has an end, and it would be perfectly fine if it weren't for its key detail: being a sandbox game. So yeah, my complaint is that once you finished farming for the best gear, there's nothing left to do for you, unless you are into building which is not as good as other games of this kind (despite I love 2D, retro, and the fact that this game was the first to take said elements into sandbox building). There were some updates after I left: it was my understanding that they were basically just extensions of the same thing: new gear to farm for, and some additional thing here and there. It's a shame, it could have been better than this, the fact that the team admittedly abandoned it (except lately I've been hearing about an update?) didn't help. Still, it's a good game. I think of it much like GTA III, it striked me because it was a kind of game I loved brought to date with the innovations of latest gaming, but ultimately in itself it was boring and lacked features that would have been, luckily for us, added later. I still think it deserves a seven, although the negative things about it are really tempting me to click on the yellow scores, but I have to admit that it's good and not all of those 100 hours I played were out of being hypnotized by farming or something. Expand
  90. EDB
    Jun 22, 2012
    1
    I found this game boring, ultimately. The combat is not very fun compared to most scrolling games, the exploration is interesting at first but ultimately becomes unrewarding, and after the endgame there's nothing to do.
  91. Sep 10, 2012
    7
    I had fun with this game the first time through. After that it is very boring. You would think there would be more to reach when you get down to the bottom but it is just lava. There is no real reason to gear up with obsidian etc, because there is nothing to beat. The "dungeon" doesn't yield anything worth the trip, you can craft gear that's way better, so there is no point in gearing upI had fun with this game the first time through. After that it is very boring. You would think there would be more to reach when you get down to the bottom but it is just lava. There is no real reason to gear up with obsidian etc, because there is nothing to beat. The "dungeon" doesn't yield anything worth the trip, you can craft gear that's way better, so there is no point in gearing up for it. The "world bosses" don't drop anything fabulous and are just there to see how fast you can kill them. There are hours and hours to be wasted here, but there is no point to any of it, and you will ask yourself what was it all for? There was nothing to do with all that gear, no climax, no end game, nothing. Also the developer has dropped the game, there are no more updates. What you see is what you get. Steam could remove the "free content updates" as there are no more coming. He also stated he would not release the game for open development as he may not approve in the direction it goes. Worth a pass through, worth 5-$10, but I can honestly say I will never play it again. Expand
  92. Dec 9, 2012
    5
    It gets very boring fast, not being able to create really interesting good looking structures like you could imagine. Minecraft had a payoff of a really nice looking 3-D art structure to make you feel proud of yourself, well Terraria tried it but the result didn't end good.
  93. Jun 30, 2013
    7
    When I was browsing through steam looking for a budget game to play on my spare time, I came up with Terraria. I was hooked in by the trailer. It showed me a mix of platform shooter/minecraft type of game. As a kid I loved to play platform shooters in the arcades. I must say that my first experience with Terraria was positive and the game really sucked me in and I even lost some sleepWhen I was browsing through steam looking for a budget game to play on my spare time, I came up with Terraria. I was hooked in by the trailer. It showed me a mix of platform shooter/minecraft type of game. As a kid I loved to play platform shooters in the arcades. I must say that my first experience with Terraria was positive and the game really sucked me in and I even lost some sleep because of it. I was sure that it would be a great experience, I was right and wrong at the same time.

    Pros:
    + The game is highly entertaining for as long as it lasts.
    + A perfect mix of farming materials, shooting, slashing and killing bosses
    + It has a vast variety of objects to craft
    + If the 1.2 patch will be free for PC it's a great addition to the game.

    Cons:
    - This one is a HUGE minus. The game's monster killing part for me was very short. It took my around 40 hours to be prancing around in full Hallowed armor. I didn't feel like I was rushing through it either. After killing the same bosses again in few minutes I was done with Terraria. The boss encounters didn't provide me with a challenge that I wanted in the first place. I didn't build any arenas or make the encounters easier, simply put the bosses were too easy in my opinion.
    - I felt that the balance between melee and ranged weapons was bad. There's no point in using melee weapons because ranged weapons/magic will get the job done much more easily than the melee weapons do.
    - Building in 2-D wasn't very appealing to me and discovering new caves or creating new worlds didn't add much to the game.
    - Playing an already easy game in multiplayer will just break it, since afaik the boss HP does not scale with the amount of players facing the boss. I realize this would be hard to program since servers can support so many players but still I feel it would be necessary to make killing the bosses even remotely challenging.

    Conclusion:
    I think the game was well worth the money I spent on it. I mean 40 hours of fun for 10 is something very special these days, compared to the 50€ you spend on brand new games, which can't buy you more than 12-20 hours of fun. However, I would call it a casual game for younger/inexperienced audiences. If you're looking for a game that challenges you (and your friends), look elsewhere.
    Expand
  94. Sep 30, 2013
    7
    Fantastic game with great support, though lacking a story. There is a very good progression system that doesn't have to be linear. I thoroughly enjoyed the game. I recommend playing the game with friends. To not do so is to tempt insanity due to isolation. Some game mechanics could use a optional tutorial for those too lazy to go to the wiki. I look forward to the update tomorrow. slimesFantastic game with great support, though lacking a story. There is a very good progression system that doesn't have to be linear. I thoroughly enjoyed the game. I recommend playing the game with friends. To not do so is to tempt insanity due to isolation. Some game mechanics could use a optional tutorial for those too lazy to go to the wiki. I look forward to the update tomorrow. slimes with freaking umbrellas! Need more be said people? Then I will speak more unto the creative capabilities. Sadly limited to 2d, this allows for some interesting design concepts. I am more than happy with it though, as my steam screenshots will begin to attest. "Ph'nglui mglw'nafh Cthulhu R'lyeh wgah'nagl fhtagn." H.P. Lovecraft. Expand
  95. Dec 7, 2013
    9
    Frankly one of the best games on Steam. Contrary to popular belief, it has little to do with Minecraft; Minecraft is a building game with some adventure elements, whereas Terraria is an adventure game with some building elements. Much more so than the building, exploring is the key of Terraria, with actually fun gameplay (unlike Minecraft) and progression galore. Best played with friends,Frankly one of the best games on Steam. Contrary to popular belief, it has little to do with Minecraft; Minecraft is a building game with some adventure elements, whereas Terraria is an adventure game with some building elements. Much more so than the building, exploring is the key of Terraria, with actually fun gameplay (unlike Minecraft) and progression galore. Best played with friends, but it's still serviceable in single player. Also recently got a major content update, with more on the way. Heartily recommended to anyone who's up for some Metroidvania-ish gameplay. Expand
  96. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    At first I thought everything was about MC (Mindcraft) I had no idea Terraria was even a game. I soon learned about it from watching Toby Turner (Tobuscus), but still never picked it up, or even both downloading it for free. While tones of of my friends still played MC a few started playing it. Then it got to the point where one of my friend gave me a free copy they had and I tried it outAt first I thought everything was about MC (Mindcraft) I had no idea Terraria was even a game. I soon learned about it from watching Toby Turner (Tobuscus), but still never picked it up, or even both downloading it for free. While tones of of my friends still played MC a few started playing it. Then it got to the point where one of my friend gave me a free copy they had and I tried it out once still didn't like it that much. That when I was still so heavy into MC that I though all other games like MC where not worth playing.

    one of my friends a few months later then asked if we can play Terraria and like always I said idk its not as good as MC, but I still said i would give it a shot. He helped me throw out the game teaching me how to play and what to do and what not to do and ever since that day I kind of am hooked on it. I went back on MC about 10 days later and was this doesn't feel the same anymore. Way to go u won a place in my heart.
    Expand
  97. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    Terraria is the second best game I've played, first being MC. Terraria is an amazingly enchanting game, it got my interest since I was finding an awesome game in my computer. anyways, thanks for your awesome game, Andrew "Redigit" Spinks!
  98. Nov 26, 2013
    7
    I bought Terraria to fill time a resource that I had in abundance, a couple of months ago and began playing it on "medium core" difficulty. After reaching hard-mode and continuing for quite some time thereafter, I must conclude that the game is pretty good.

    My first impressions were not very positive it took a while for me to work out the controls and get a feel for the game and all
    I bought Terraria to fill time a resource that I had in abundance, a couple of months ago and began playing it on "medium core" difficulty. After reaching hard-mode and continuing for quite some time thereafter, I must conclude that the game is pretty good.

    My first impressions were not very positive it took a while for me to work out the controls and get a feel for the game and all of that could have been avoided had the developers thought fit to include a tutorial or introduction of some sort. The beginning of the game was rather slow, too, being mainly filled with clunky melee combat and mining.

    Had I been busy, I would probably have abandoned Terraria because of the slow start but, with a lot of time to waste, I played for long enough to acquire decent equipment and reach hard-mode, where the game really begins. The game play later on was well worth it.

    I did not expect to enjoy the sandbox house-building aspects that Terraria borrows from Minecraft. I was looking for a fun platformer. I was wrong the building elements drew me in completely. They're incredibly well executed, fun, cathartic and brilliantly integrated into the game play. There's nothing quite like the feeling of relief that one gets from a perfectly timed retreat to one's self-built refuge in Hell.

    I'd recommend Terraria to anyone with a lot of time to play it and patience in spades. It is both fun and rewarding.
    Expand
  99. Dec 27, 2013
    6
    My first thought was of this being a 2D copy of Minecraft, though this added many more features such as merchants (pre minecraft villager) and bosses. It also benefits from regular updating, with a massive update adding a hardmode adding extensive replayability and giving players that had left a chance to come back and experience more. I'd recommend coming back if you left pre-hardmode andMy first thought was of this being a 2D copy of Minecraft, though this added many more features such as merchants (pre minecraft villager) and bosses. It also benefits from regular updating, with a massive update adding a hardmode adding extensive replayability and giving players that had left a chance to come back and experience more. I'd recommend coming back if you left pre-hardmode and giving this game a try if you don't need a story to guide you. I had difficulty getting past the limiting 2D exploration. It's worth a sale price and a good 20 hours of play time, but it's not one of my favorites. Expand
  100. Dec 2, 2011
    0
    It is a nice game, with tonnes of adventure, but only within a 2D environment and limited world, creativity is limited.
    You may get bored with the game once you finished all the adventures, like Dungeon and so. But the progress of getting the end-game gear is so fun that you cannot resist.
    PvP can get a bit frustrating as it is only intensive shooting and spamming bullet, but it can be fun
    It is a nice game, with tonnes of adventure, but only within a 2D environment and limited world, creativity is limited.
    You may get bored with the game once you finished all the adventures, like Dungeon and so. But the progress of getting the end-game gear is so fun that you cannot resist.
    PvP can get a bit frustrating as it is only intensive shooting and spamming bullet, but it can be fun sometimes though.
    Collapse
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Mar 19, 2012
    83
    Terraria is one of the best sandbox games. Terraria has some Minecraft spirit, however the focus of the game is on fighting and crafting, so it involves more action. The best way to enjoy Terraria is to play it with a couple of friends on your own server.
  2. Mar 16, 2012
    70
    It's a title that will appeal to the adventurer, the explorer and the builder; not to mention those who appreciate a substantial amount of player freedom. If you happen to be all of those things, Terraria is a lightly tarnished treasure.
  3. Mar 14, 2012
    83
    A lot of games tried to copy Minecraft – or at least participate from its' success. But this two-dimensional take on the well known formula is the only game that is able to step out of the shadow of the indie phenomenon that inspired it. It leads you into a unique world full of creative magic.