User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1141 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 27, 2012
    10
    When I first saw this game, I was like "That game looks terrible!!" Mainly because I thought it was a ripoff of Minecraft, but... it's actually better than Minecraft. Now you start the game with a COMPLETLY random world, nobody else has that world, then you start chopping down trees like Minecraft, build a decent house, then $#!% gets real. The fun part about this game is mining, you have SO much more to mine and do in Terraria. You have NPCs that you can buy stuff from, not only that, but you have 8 bosses in this game, including Skeletron, Eater of Worlds, Eye of Cthulhu but my favourite, is the Wall of Flesh. Like Minecraft, you will never get bored with the updates. No real glitches that I have come across, but it is a great game, even vanilla. Expand
  2. Feb 1, 2012
    10
    Out of all the games ive bought, i would say this game is worth more than it actually cost. The massive new update and intriguing sandbox environment makes this game just as good as minecraft if not better.
    Only down side is this game is very team oriented, solo players who first start will get bored quickly as there is no straight forward tutorial. However if you play with your friends
    and brave the first tedious quarter of an hour figuring what to do, you will find a lot of fun and potential.
    A must have game for those with friends and a few bucks to spend still.
    Expand
  3. Feb 2, 2012
    9
    BEst GAME EVER!!! this game is super fun and you can do many things with your friends! You can explore and make you imagination true in 2D. so far ive played for 200 hours +. As you get better, you will understand more things
  4. Feb 4, 2012
    10
    This game is a blast, is it a MMO with years of entertainment? no, Does it offer a deeply enriching story? no Is it top notch art? no. Terraria is exploration heaven. Terraria is relatable gaming. Terraria is better because there is no hand holding, yet intuitive. Terraria is challenging. Terraria actually engages the right half of your brain, and offers a good bit of action. My only complaint is Terraria can be a bit lonely for long hours.
    Pets would be kool =)

    For 10 bucks though this game is all win for the player.

    I would give Terraria a 9.5, some things could use some polish... but sincethere are so few games that are actually right brained fun out there I'll go with a 10.
    Expand
  5. May 4, 2012
    9
    this game is another retro style marvel, and FYI, its NOT A MINE CRAFT RIPOFF! , its a good game good music, retro graphics, i personalty liked this game
  6. Mar 7, 2012
    8
    Terraria is a magical combination between 2D platformer/"shooter"-fighter + creative building + Item Farmer. I like the options you have in building stuff, it gets very close to minecraft. The fighting (pve/pvp) makes a lot of fun (far far far far far more then minecraft), especially the heroic bosses and pvp with some friends is just a ton of fun.
  7. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    incredibly addicting. Even more addicting than binding of isaac. Points for longevity: 10/10
    I like how you can do what you want and in what order you want in this game. You can make better weapons, armor, guns etc. Gameplay: 10/10. Graphics are good. I think they could have been a little better but they are good enough: 8/10. Music and sounds are good but not great. 8/10. Ovreall still....
  8. Jul 26, 2012
    10
    This game combines rpg classic graphic style and platforms in a sandbox title that brings a lot of fun for both casual and hardcore gamers, I like it more than minecraft!
  9. Apr 17, 2012
    9
    I love this, no it's not a cheap rip off of minecraft. There two different games, one more on the adventure and see you can get the better stuff than the other person. Minecraft is more on the builting, they both can built cool things. Another major different between the games is that minecraft is a fps, while Terraria is a completely different on using a tps and side scoller, which works well but it can be too dark sometimes. I think a issue is that the guide is useful but doesn't really help if he gets in your way to often. A strong point is that you will not get tired of the game fast, there are a lot of things you can do. Go adventure and be a awesome viking or a wizard or just built the coolest things you can imagine. I think that people should stop calling it a "cheap rip off of Minecraft" they different and besides they don't have any support. Also if was a rip off of minecraft it would have been a fps, not a side scroller. Expand
  10. Apr 22, 2012
    9
    Terraria is a 2-D platform-crafting game, where you must dig, fight, explore, and build! You must dig for and find materials, in caves, oceans and dungeons, and use them to make better weapons, armour and items. It'll take you a while to get to know how to play it properly and get into it. You must also fight enemies, and build shelter so you can survive the night. It's fun to play, addictive, and it's only $10! ~ Rating: 9.2/10 Expand
  11. Apr 27, 2012
    10
    I wasn't going to review this game but after seeing the absolutely horrible low-rated reviews for this game by little kids with terrible grammar, I felt that I needed to throw in my 10. It's a great game for people who like Minecraft style items/digging/crafting, 2d platforming and combat, and adventuring.
  12. May 2, 2012
    10
    Terraria is often compared with Minecraft, but in my (humble) opinion, it is much better. The crafting involves more logic (no *forming* a door with loose planks, you just need the good materials and the spot to make it), the combat is much more fun (the flying, many sorts of different weapons keeps it entertaining) and mining is more fun since you can see where there is an open room. I played over 100 hours of this, and I still want more. Expand
  13. May 11, 2012
    10
    Best 2.50$ game I have ever bought. Yes it's almost exactly like Minecraft but once you start playing it and exploring it, it so isn't. The worlds are as small or as massive as you want and your destiny in it is truely up to you. For the 1st hour or more the game will be a drag because you only have basic tools with no armor but once you start collecting better and better gear and weapons it becomes a blast. The music is alright but it can get on the annoying side after a while so that's why I just turned it down. There is a tad steep learning curve when you first start out and even more so when you get more and more stuff that's why the Terraria Wiki is your best friend for finding out what you need to know. My only real nit pick with this game is it is over really fast once you get going and the developer has already said on his website that he ceased development for it which is a pity because it is a fun game but I can also see his point. Expand
  14. May 14, 2012
    9
    3 words Better than minecraft


    Don't get me wrong, Imagine Minecraft but with the terraria variety of things... more and better enemies... Different patterns. a kind hard mode when you defeat a kind of final boss With new things coming up all the times. NPCs who interact with you. and lots of crafting... I imagined this game as minecraft and I thought it would be better than it ... if it
    where 3d.

    The game is good But when you reach the end game the fun ends. The problems are the hardmode bosses. If you dont play with like 4 friends... the bosses are almost impossible. The rest of the game is fine IT could have some enemies more and more variety of patterns but is not aggravating at all.. Good game
    Expand
  15. Jul 21, 2012
    9
    Addictive and fun, I've put over 100+ hours into this game in the last couple weeks, and have enjoyed almost every minute of it. I don't like to use wiki's or info sites when I play games like this, and have had a blast discovering each new thing I've found. I'm giving this game a 9 out of 10 only because there are a couple of punishing aspects to the game, that I think shouldn't exist in sandbox games: 1) Potions have a cooldown timer, and 2) Death reduces your armor (you can pay the nurse to get rid of this penalty, but it still feels harsh). These two things are the ONLY times I've ever thought "Hmm, not fun." when playing Terraria. Highly recommended, especially if you think you might like a combination of Minecraft + Metroid + Castlevania. It's even better when you play the multiplayer with a trusted friend. Well worth the ticket price of $9.99, if you're strapped for cash or looking for a really good deal, Steam routinely discounts it 50-75% off. Expand
  16. Dec 31, 2012
    9
    It seems like people either love or hate this game by the reviews. What I find especially funny are the people who don't like this genre giving this game a rating of 0 or 1. What's the point of even rating this game at all? If you gave this game a 0, you're exaggerating. It works, it plays, and there's a lot to it. Another thing that's funny is the Minecraft fans who rip on this game because it's a "copy." So pathetic. And yet ANOTHER thing that's funny is the people judging the graphics. You guys realize that's a stylistic approach, right? It has a classic, retro look and feel to it. It wasn't like they created this game but had limitations so they just made the graphics "bad." All in all, the really low ratings come from people who are mad they spent $5 - $10 on a game they found boring/they didn't know what to do, people who love Minecraft and think this game is a copy, and trolls. If you like sandbox games, sidescrollers, fighting enemies with many different weapons, crafting, and building structures, then you'll like this game. Look at videos if you aren't sure. Expand
  17. Jun 16, 2012
    8
    Upon starting the game for the first time, the similarities to MineCraft are quite obvious. You must collect wood and find a shelter to hide out for the night. However, just 10 minutes of game play showed me how different (and, in some aspects, better) this game is from MineCraft. There is a greater variety of enemies, NPCs come to live in your town, and, frankly, there is just more stuff to do. I can't go into details, because the surprises add to the fun, but just reading on the Terraria Wiki shows me that, even with all the time I have logged, there is still so much more for me to discover and do. The reason I rated an 8, not a 10, is because of two big inconveniences I have run into. First, the game can't be paused, unless auto-pause is on, which means you will be unable to navigate with the inventory/crafting menu open. Also, whenever you exit the game and relaunch, you start back at the spawn point, which might come in handy if you are battling a ton of monsters and about to die, you can just exit and relaunch, but if you are in the middle of a cave, and you have to exit out the game for whatever reason, it is hard to resume where you left off.
    Final thoughts: While most games focus on graphics, Terraria focuses on the actual game play. While it most likely did come from the idea of MineCraft, it adds to MineCraft in so many ways. Granted, I still love MineCraft and will continue to play it, Terraria is a great game as well. If I am in the mood to be creative and build and explore, MineCraft is what I will play. If I am in the mood for an adventure, Terraria. Two completely separate games, one unique concept. If you love MineCraft, play Terraria! If you love Terraria, play MineCraft! Terraria is probably the best 10 bucks I have ever spent. Period.
    Expand
  18. Jun 18, 2012
    9
    This game is so fun. The multiplayer is amazing, its easy to join servers and making them is also easy. The game is 5-10 bucks and its a real bargain. Many players and a lot of items. This game is really fun. People compare it to Minecraft, but I find this BETTER than minecraft. For one, the gameplay is faster and you can make more out of your time than minecrafts hide in a cave type of game. This game has more items than minecraft and has a easy multiplayer, unlike minecraft's servers. Down side is that it can be a bit boring, but if your bored with minecraft, even the boring parts will seem more active than minecrafts. Expand
  19. Jul 16, 2012
    9
    The game, in my personal opinion, is very interesting, I like it. The 2D dimension makes it somewhat special, because you see and understand a lot more, than in 3D. Yet you still don't know what is above or under you. The Character creation isn't that original like in Minecraft, but still very easy to use (If you do know RGB!). The feature where you can have items saved had slightly mixed feelings on my experience, but should be a nice addition. I think it's a game everyone should try, just like Minecraft. Both are actually, very different. I suggest you to give it a try, and you will, most likely, not regret this decision, I'm sure. Expand
  20. Jul 21, 2012
    10
    It's my favorite game of ALL TIME. There is so much to do in this game! After 1.1 came out in December of 2011, the game for so much more fun. After you get enough armour, you can go down to fight the Wall of Flesh. If you fight him, a whole new adventure opens up for you to enjoy. New weapons, new ores, new monsters, new biomes, even new materials to build with! You can make traps for enemies to fall into, build houses on floating islands, and WAY More! I don't think I can fit everything into 5,000 characters. It's a definite steal at $10, and it goes on sale quite often! Expand
  21. Aug 25, 2012
    9
    Terraria is definitely the most fun I've had with a game in awhile. The first thing I noticed were the pixelated visuals, and they work so perfectly with its vast environment. The game's mechanics are really solid, and its replay value is substantial. It's especially fun to pick up with friends. It appeals more to the explorer than the crafter, however. There's always something to go out and search for or obtain in the game, and I love that feeling. Although you can build awesome, detailed structures in Terraria, it's fairly limited as it's a sidescroller. In the end, your main objectives are to explore and combat against the various bosses in the generated world. More specifically, some things I really liked with the game were how I could port a character between different worlds (including single player worlds to multiplayer worlds and vice versa) with such ease and not having to sacrifice anything for it. I also love how it was a little more straight-forward about what to do in the game with their "guide" character. You don't have to spend large amounts of time looking up how to craft things on its wiki because it's there for you. You DO need to spend some time on the wiki in order to know how exactly to progress and know what is all available to you, but you're not completely dependent on it like you are with Minecraft. Overall, it's a great game, especially with friends. The only downside I had with the game was that I felt that sometimes there wasn't enough content available. Also, some people may disagree, but I think the implementation of an experience system would have been nice as well. I can't wait for Starbound to come out in the near future from these guys. They definitely know how to make an awesome game. Expand
  22. Jan 29, 2013
    10
    I couldn't between a 9 and an 8 because this game was so fun, The Gameplay, The Combat and The Mechanics. The is nothing wrong with the controls at all but its just when you start the game you are not exactly sure what you are supposed to do. Like when I started it I kind of stared at the screen thinking WHAT!? but then when you get the hang of it it really starts to grip you with the joy of the game but in Conclusion I really do think you should buy this game if you see it on a steam sale and you are not sure if you should click the add to cart button, I would say to you DO IT because it is very fun unless you are not a sidescroller person Expand
  23. Aug 9, 2012
    4
    I appreciate why other people may like Terraria, however, i am not one of those people. This game is too complicated for its own good. It tries to simplify the explore-build-discover mindset with 2d graphics, and 'simple' looking menus. It falls far short in my opinion. It provides an instruction level close to that of IKEA. With no way to go but left or right, and tools hard to use and materials difficult to harvest, I could not get past 2 hours with this game. It has potential, but I am clearly not its demographic. Expand
  24. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    guess what???? this game came out before minecraft, hahahahahaha stupid review trolls. for anyone that is putting off buying this game because its "a copy of minecraft" GO! buy it now! it's actually really, really good for a 2D game. For the people saying that "the graphics suck." its a 2D game, what did you expect??
    Please, just buy the game, it's very much worth your while
  25. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I played Terraria for 188 hours before getting tired of it, and I never even touched multiplayer. Compared to Minecraft, it has much better action/adventure and gameplay elements. Combat is a fun mix of melee, ranged, and various magic spells. The metroidvania gameplay keeps things challenging. The amount of items to find is very addicting, but rarely devolves into farming. Even when random worlds gets boring, you can hit the fan sites and download user made maps, which range from parkour obstacle courses to adventure maps with stories and puzzles. My only complaint is the lack of originality: it does shamelessly copy minecraft, especially early in the game, what with chopping down trees and running from zombies at night. But by the end of the game, when you are flying through the air raining crystal bullets down at a giant skeleton head made of metal while it tries to crush, zap blast, and saw you simultaniously, you will realize this is not Minecraft anymore. Expand
  26. Aug 16, 2012
    9
    If you want a simple game that is fun to play and easy to waste time on.... this is the game for you. I spent $2.50 and enjoyed over 100 hours of fun. if you like sandbox free play, this is the game for you. If you want super graphics, no control, a little CGI cut screens, with only one path to play then do not buy this game. I happened to like my own little world.
  27. Aug 23, 2012
    9
    When people see Terraria, at a first glance, they auto mautically think Minecraft. I'll even confess to being guilty of this too. And I think that this was its downfall, but also its rise. Without Minecraft, Terraria probabley would not have existed. It's not a Minecraft clone but to say it's not Minecraft INSPIRED is ludicrious and you should get your head checked. But It just would not have existed. Saying that, since it was Minecraft inspired people saw it and just, "Well I'll just play Minecraft." Although its Minecraft Inspired, there is Infinatley more to do. There's actually progession and in Minecraft, well, there just isn't. It's as if a genius, took Minecraft, WoW, and Mario, and said, "Hey, let's make a game!" I have logged 170 hours in on this game, and I still am getting upgrades on my armour and weapons. So much to find, so much to do, although it's an empty goal, you still find yourself raiding that dungeon, trying to find another upgrade. 9 out of 10. Expand
  28. Mar 6, 2013
    7
    TL;DR A good time waster that has been abandoned by the devs. Terraria is an interesting experience that will probably result in people not knowing what they're doing at first, and then either sticking with it or quitting. One of the only problems is the difficulty and gear curve at first, and then later when hard mode is started. The game has a very slow start due to the fact that you basically need a nightmare pickaxe, which takes a while to get. The game then repeats the curve once you enter hard mode, where you'll have about 4 hits to live with the common enemy. The great things about the game are the well done 8-bit graphics, versatility of the weapons and trinkets, progressive boss fights (though there could be a lot more), and the freedom to build whatever you want. Don't forget to invite a friend or an entire party as well! The only problem is the fact that the devs have essentially abandoned the game, so there will be no further updates unfortunately. While there is still quite a bit of content, you really have very little reason to play after getting a max character.There is also a lot of potential missing with the fact that there are only 4 bosses their hardmode counterparts, and I feel like there could have been more biomes featuring their own boss. One last big thing that might get some people is the grinding you have to do. Its part of the game, but to those who hate it, you might not last through those dry spells of action where it is required. Overall, its still a fun 2D platformer focusing on building and combat, though if you hate grinding and the current fact that it has been dropped, you might not enjoy it. Expand
  29. Jan 1, 2013
    10
    A great game, lacks only a few things that could be added but it is addicting. Compare this to Minecraft, they are both amazing, but Terraria is like a copy, a little bit, again more could be added, but since there is 2 more Terraria games on the way (Xbox 360 & PS3) it would be hard to keep things going on PC.
  30. Jan 25, 2013
    10
    Absolutely no complaints about this game. So much fun! It is better to play with a group of friends than alone for sure, but the overall premise made this game amazing. And hardmode....is actually hard. My poor castle was destroyed within the first blood moon :'(

    Oh...and the soundtrack makes this game!
  31. May 5, 2013
    10
    After 150 hours of playing I can easily say that this is my favorite sandbox game, 2D game for that matter. There are just so many things to do and every item can be useful. It's only 10 dollars so there is no reason you should turn this indie gem down.
  32. Jul 19, 2013
    8
    I bought this game on sale for about 2 bucks purely for the lulz. Little did I know this game was laced with crack.
    WARNING: Simple yet so addictive.
  33. Apr 30, 2013
    9
    At first I was skeptic when I saw the game but I soon realized that it doesn't matter if the game is 2d because as long as the game mechanics are solid and appealing you can have a lot of fun with it
  34. Sep 1, 2013
    6
    It's not bad, but the mining gets tedious and boring and finding anything useful is like rolling the dice. Once you start the game you're dumped into the game world with little to no idea as to what you're supposed to do and no instructions. Your 'guide' doesn't exactly provide much in the way of help either. If I hadn't seen a video on this game by Totalbiscuit I'd have had no idea what I was supposed to be doing. As I mentioned finding useful materials is a shot in the dark... literally. You dig around at random hoping to find something useful which gets tedious and boring. When night rolls around if you're not down in the depths your options are to try and fight off waves monsters or hide in your house (if you managed to build one) and hiding in your house till morning is boring, but trying to fight off waves of monsters in the dark is a nightmare. Expand
  35. Jun 2, 2013
    10
    Fantastic game, spent over 120 hours playing it and i would recommend it to anyone looking for an interesting hybrid of genres. The game continues to be updated to this day and the soundtrack is fantastic, especially for the boss fights.
  36. Jun 12, 2013
    10
    Terraria is a fun game. It has a nice combat system that gets more complex as it goes on. It focuses mostly on adventure, with some building here and there. There are plenty of bosses and enemies to fight. There are also many biomes to explore. There are a lot of items, including boomerangs and grappling hooks. It has one of my favorite end games of any games. There are a few mods to explore in this game as well. Terraria is a really good game, some may just say that it's a 2D Minecraft, but it is much, much more. Buy this game. Expand
  37. Jul 13, 2013
    7
    I have only had 6 hours of play in this game, But I've enjoyed them. Its a bit daunting at first, As there is a lot of depth, And you are told almost nothing about what to do, But once you get it figured out, you'll want to play it a LOT. I want to say lots of people probably come here from minecraft, and a little warning. Its not about building. You'll get bored if you just want to build. Its about exploring and fighting. Expand
  38. Jul 21, 2013
    9
    terraria is a great game, a 2d minecraft. terraria's inventory is gigantic for there is multiple weapons and miscellaneous. but this game can have some bugs, for instance I tried to summon one of the bosses (in night time) and he did not show up, probably car troubles. the world is gigantic for you can have small, medium, or large. with large it is huge it will take you a long time for you to get to one end of the game to the other. terraria is a excellent game and worth it to buy. Expand
  39. Aug 20, 2013
    10
    Terraria, amazing adventure, exploration, rpg, crafting, building, fighting, bosses and flying island, terraria has got all of those and it doesn't cost much! I highly recommend this game, if you played minecraft before and start playing terraria, please don't use torch as a weapon :D!
  40. Sep 30, 2013
    10
    its a great game. you should definitely pick this game up. its better than minecraft in my opinion. building and combat are great and its the best sandbox game out there
  41. Nov 14, 2013
    4
    I tried very hard to like this game, I really did. I enjoy this style of game very much, but everything about Terraria was hard to enjoy. Mining and side-scrolling do not mix. You have to click on pixels in order to mine them and listen carefully just to decipher if you are actually in fact mining it at all. There are certain aspects (Like building a home with certain requirements that allow various npcs to live there) that I found original and brilliant... I've tried to play this game several times, but every time I find myself thinking, "I could be spending this time on a different building game that is done well.' Expand
  42. Oct 15, 2013
    9
    The problem with users reviewing is that they never take time to play the whole game. That said, this game is not a rip-off of Minecraft. Even Notch likes it, but oh no, reviewers never bother to gather information! If negative reviewers actually played the game, they would realize the game goes from 2D Minecraft to something more intense and much more varied. Not to mention there's multiplayer, and the 2D CAN be invigorating to play with for some old-style recognition, and the music is just fun to hear. There are lots more monsters and items than in Minecraft, and much more bosses as well, giving more varied gameplay. Of course, with all this implemented, the world is limited and not infinitely generated, though it is indeed randomized each time you make a world. And with the current price of $2.50, it's essentially a must-buy. Heck, it's even a must-buy when it's $9.99. In short: more varied than Minecraft, less free than Minecraft, but is VERY different from Minecraft in general, if you get to actually know the game. Expand
  43. Oct 15, 2013
    0
    Completely unintuitive and uninteresting. I generally like pixel art, but having to squint to see your character is just too much to bear. And your "guide" for the game escapes from you while you're trying to follow its instructions. What a waste of my $2.
  44. Jul 19, 2011
    9
    When I first laid my eyes on this game I didn't think of it as a Minecraft clone at all. The trailer really made me interested, it looked more like an adventure, RPG game than a Minecraft copy. Terraria is exactly that - Adventure. Despite what a lot says about Terraria is being a Minecraft clone, I almost 100 percent disagree. Sure they are a like when it comes to some parts of the game, but that's just required for this type of genre. Battlefield and Call of Duty is even more clones than Minecraft and Terraria.

    Terraria is a Wonderful, amazing game that will bring you a lot of pleasure if you are into adventuring. During my, so far, 200 hours of game-play - I have never felt bored, even if I was doing the same thing for hours.
    Expand
  45. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    Terraria is by far one of the best 2-D-survival, role-playing, side-scrolling games I have ever bought on Steam, and I've been playing it for 123 hours now. You can consider it to be a 2-D version of Minecraft, but it's not. It was built on the same concept, perhaps, but despite Terraria's limitations in graphics, it has so much potential beyond Minecraft. Randomly generated worlds that are small, medium or large; interesting, and almost seeming endless, exploration; online multiplayer; NPC's that move into your homes which you can buy stuff from them and/or sell it; infinite durability for tools and weapons; only losing your coins when you die; all the items you have for your own character get transferred; crafting potions and acquiring a numerous variety of weapons, clothing and other accessories; fighting challenging enemies and bosses; and so much more. This game is on beta version 1.0.4 and the new update which is 1.0.5 is going to add even more content. There have been rumors that the price may increase as more content is added. Overall, it has been the best $10 ever spent for a game so far, so if any of you have an extra $10 in your Paypal account and/or credit/debit card, make an account on Steam if you haven't and buy it now! You will not be disappointed. Expand
  46. Jul 23, 2011
    8
    Good game, i got this on a bargain offer through steam, like £1.75. its a good fun sandbox game. i know its early in the game's life but it does need some more features, monsters, npcs, crafting recipes and secrets. the dev says there is more features to come and they will be free
  47. Jan 21, 2012
    9
    This game is always in the top 10 most played steam games, with about 20,000 players on daily. Next to kings like TF2, CS and Skyrim. Ignore the red reviews and just ask yourself if this is something you could enjoy, BEFORE buying it. 407 positive reviews to 56 negative... And every negative is upset it's like minecraft! They make no secrets about that, it's obvious before purchase. Then it has tons of rad wiring traps and explosives and lighting and rediculous amounts of custom weapons, accessories, combinations, clothes armor and even ammo types. If you don't feel any nostalgia for the 2D era you should acknowledge that before you even consider buying, because it takes an imagination to lose yourself in a platform world with no ending. That being said I'm 70 hours into just building and digging mines, and I couldn't be having more fun. I played minecraft for 5 hours and it has WAY less going on than terraria. 20000 active steam players a day can't be wrong. Expand
  48. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    The first thing I can say about this game is that it's NOT a rip-off of Minecraft. Yes, it has mining and crafting. Yes, the word "biome" gets tossed around a lot in discussions of both...and that's about it. In Terraria, you mine because you need gear to get to the next step in the game. There are no circuits or minecart tracks here- just better gear so you can fight stronger monsters and more powerful bosses. Past a certain point, there's very little mining at all: you proceed mostly by fighting monsters and finding chests. The game isn't perfect, though: I find that there's a bit of a gap between the gear you'll get from digging underground versus the gear you need to fight the next level of enemies. At one point it almost forms a mobius loop of "You need X sword to beat Y boss and you need to beat Y boss to get X sword". The bosses are also unimaginative in the sense that they don't really vary their attacks or present you with unique challenges- it's mostly just a grind. Also, the fact that you mine for advancement means the ores you find quickly become obsolete- you'll find yourself just ignoring large amounts of ores just because they do diddleysquat for you past a certain point. Still, Terraria is a cheap game that will keep you entertained for a LONG time, and the devs are constantly updating the game, so it can only get better from here. Expand
  49. Aug 18, 2011
    7
    It's a fun game - I logged about 70 hours or so. The crafting, item grind and building of homes is really the addictive part of the game. Like every other game it gets tedious after a while. The low-level mobs spawn too frequently and are more annoying than challenging. Their combat tactics are about 80% bump and collide for damage and 20% of them lob projectiles of some sort which is very limited and repetitive for a modern game. You'll find yourself thrilled at first and soon be asking yourself when will it end... A good value if you get it at the $5 sale point on steam. Expand
  50. Jul 22, 2012
    9
    I can't remember the last time I got so many hours out of a game that cost so few dollars. Since the game is pretty much user-defined from the get-go, the only real limit is your imagination.
  51. Aug 26, 2012
    7
    Minecraft ripoff.
    now before you hate on me, to call somthing a ripoff of what could be considered the most sucessful game ever, ioneering (or should isay actually making popular) the block building game type, then calling terraria minecraft ripoff is a comliment.

    while minecraft uused to focus more on mining and building (now minecraft is nicking ideas from terraria) terraria is more
    about exploring and fighting bosses, and finding and crafthing a HUGE amount of loot.
    from what i heard this guy made the game for some mates that didnt like certain things about minecraft. when he released it it became hugely popular, and he did the amazing thig of then updating the game.

    its a great game, ridiculously cheap, and even though i have barely ventured from my house in it, i have already clocked 11 hours!
    Expand
  52. Jun 28, 2011
    9
    "8"Awesome game. Not gonna give 10 since it is "perfect" and nearly no games are perfect but still HIGH 9. Devs are awesome, even i see many negative who say they suck etc. since they update game often with good updates, unlike minecraft. Game has similarities as minecraft, but MC is building game and Terraria is adventure mainly and some building involved, not much mainly houses for NPC 's and possibly farms and stuff like that. Terraria has many weapons, armors, special items,spells, buff potions etc. Terraria is kinda like minecraft in graphs, both unique, not great but that is how it should be, except MC has texture packs. And the new guide is actually HELPFUL when he tells crafting recipes (kinda). And also monsters, that are very many different. Well i got bored to this game after MANY awesome hours since had collected every items, killed every boss 10 times, except skeletron and now start playing again and find many new items, new monster new biome and all that just in what, 1-1,5 month when minecraft would have given possibly a map and some random tiny things and bug fixes.

    Now if u still think Terraria is ripoff from Minecraft, let me say 1 thing. Stuff that Terraria has and Minecraft has are REAL items and materials like sand dirt stone etc. so materials aren't ripoff, then gameplay. 2d and 3d tiny different and then bigger BUILDING and ADVENTURE. Minecraft is mainly building and Terraria some building but mainly adventure. And I like both Minecraft and Terraria A LOT and cost only ~25â
    Expand
  53. May 25, 2013
    5
    You know, this really had me hooked for a while. But it didn't take long for the clunky crafting interface to get annoying (and the devs have given up on improving the game without fixing that). And even more so the looooong travels through the world, which takes simply forever! There is only a rather unhelpful, limited teleport functionality and that's it. Also, a map similar to that tools like "Terrafirma" offer should really have been included in the game (maybe combined with a "fog of war"). The world is so big that it's incredibly annoying to have to search for resources and remember the cave structure on top of that.
    So overall I like the combat, the RPG aspects, the crafting possibilities. And I would've really loved to discover more of those things. But the downsides described have absolutely destroyed my enthusiasm and make it feel like the game is wasting my time.
    Expand
  54. Apr 15, 2012
    6
    It's not a bad game at all, but the progress is kind of linear and the people you will meet online are just bunch of **** Everyone has the best armor and weapons, every second nickname contains awesome or epic... Just way too much to bear for me. But otherwise, I enjoyed playing it for few days, however I don't see it worth spending 10 Euros like i did. Tere's much more cheaper games out there, that will satisfy you and keep you playing for much longer. Expand
  55. Jul 14, 2011
    10
    When Terraria was released, I passed. I kept seeing ads and still passed. It wasn't until I saw what people were making in the game (i.e. Super Mario and Bowser Pixel Art) and saw a video of Toby Turner playing that I decided to pay $10 for it on Steam. I started playing at around 9pm. It is now 3am and I just stopped for the night; although it took great effort to stop. Here is the layout: A random world generates from the size you choose (small, medium, large). You start with the basics tools and set off to spelunk in a 2D platform game that seems to have endless depth. The difficultly increases the deeper you go, reminding me a little of Dante's Inferno. It has a definitely feel of Castlevania 2, with the night bringing worse creatures and a curse. So, you fight off the monsters while trying to explore deeper and deeper. What you don't realize is that you have built a town from the mud, sticks, and stone. This brings a nurse and a merchant at first. Only when you have crafted your first golden sword do you realize that you are addicted. You must go deeper to see what else lies in wait. What treasure will you find? What heights will you build to? *sigh* Sorrowfully, I have to work tomorrow and this game will be in my dreams. Simple, yet it is only limited by your willingness to explore and by your imagination to build. This has so much depth for such a simple little game. Expand
  56. Jun 25, 2011
    10
    Of course many are offering this experience as a cheap knock-off of Minecraft's success, when in fact, its a powerhouse of an indie game, and surpasses Minecraft's core experiences by far. At most, similarities found in the games are their crafting systems and the possibility of some freeform building, which differ greatly when comparing both expieriences. But by offering an intense 2D sandbox expierience that offers a multitude of mobs, an old-school RPG expierience, tons of biomes with secrets located in the skies and underground, and an evergrowing slew of updates providing diverse new items, power-ups, weapons, and enemies, Terraria delivers with astounding gameplay that still leaves me addicted to this date. Re-Logic, well done. Expand
  57. Jun 23, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game has absorbed more of my time than any other game for at least the last 2 years. It has beautiful pixel art, the platforming mechanics feel just right. I'm not hugely keen on the weapon swinging animations but they can be forgiven.

    I like the Castlevania style gameplay and the fact that it has the random level generation of Spelunky which I also enjoyed. Obviously the Minecraft influence is strong but the result is a completely different feeling game which obviously takes influences from lots of different areas. To call it a rip off would be like calling every open world game with vehicles every made a Grand Theft Auto rip off. Absurd, I know!

    I would definitely recommend giving this a chance. It feels a bit slow at first but there are so many weapons to find and so many gadgets to use that totally change the way that you play. From jetpacks to grappling hooks to guns and swords. There's also multiple boss fights and different biomes and lots of clothes and armour. The game is nowhere near finished either and new content is added to the game very frequently.

    I'm actually appalled at some of the hate this game has garnered from Minecraft fans. I like Minecraft for very different reasons to Terraria. It plays in a very different way and you find yourself with very different aims in either game. there definitely tends to be more emphasis on building in Minecraft. I know Notch is a big fan of Terraria.
    Expand
  58. Jul 12, 2011
    9
    This game is much more than a rehash of Minecraft. Less emphasis is placed on construction, and more is placed on exploration and actual gameplay. The difficulty scales well for anybody from casual players to the more hardcore, and the game rewards thoughtful building to protect yourself from enemies.
  59. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    This game is incredibly amazing. I can't even believe it's 10 dollars. It's extremely addictive and filled with hours of fun, whether you play it alone or with friends. The game goes from zombies to giant worms to flying eye balls and tons of other unique npcs to different places to explore, such as dungeons, jungles, and other places you will find on your adventure. The game is filled with tons of different items, giving you a whole mess of items to craft and provide different ways to play the game making it possible to engage into battle as melee, range, or even a mage. The devs will also be adding new things to the game over time as well, which adds tons of replay ability to the game. Terraria is a must have. Expand
  60. Jun 22, 2011
    7
    I'd give the game a ten if not for the confusion of the early game, which is what most people seem to get stuck on, rage quit, then come here and rate it as a 0. But as you learn how to do different things ( like crafting, and the people from Minecraft seem to forget about the time before you could go to a wiki and see the pattern for everything ) the game just gets better and better. And it's also not a Minecraft ripoff in 2d, saying that is like saying every hot-key based MMO is a ripoff of WoW. They're from the same genre, which is relatively new and has only a few games in it so people automatically go into fan boy rage mode when seeing a trailer for it.
    So to sum it up, if you got a bit of extra cash and some free time, go get it.
    ALSO to any of you people who just despise it for no good reason who are convinced that everyone who does like it must be the devs in disguise, please do PM Pandemic on the Minecraft Forums to at least ensure I'm not a dev.
    Expand
  61. Jun 22, 2011
    10
    Oh, hey, look, it's Minecraft in 2D.

    ...Nah, I'm just f*ckin' with ya. Terraria plays more like Castlevania with generous sprinklings of Minecraft and old Final Fantasy sprites. In order to get them out of the way, I'll start with the negatives, because I felt that they were few and far between. First off, there are certain items that require vigorous "farming" to get, but that can't
    really be avoided, because otherwise it would devalue those items, several of which are incredibly useful. Secondly, the game doesn't support modding quite so well, though I've heard talk that the developers intend to. I certainly hope so. A game like this, with its simplistic sprite design and easy-to-understand mechanics, seems like a breeding ground for wonderful user content beyond all the pretty structures you'll be spending hours building after you finally get those rocket boots.

    Now, on to the positive. Terraria blends the building, mining, crafting, murdering elements of Minecraft with the dungeoneering, loot-gathering, potion-spamming goodness of Symphony of the Night, though it lacks quite as much diversity in creatures. I blame that on the size of the studio, though. While I have yet to play the multiplayer, the single player progression is rewarding and challenging. You'll fight your first boss, be terrified, probably die a lot, then come back later and laugh in its face as you stomp it into the dust with your shiny new weapon, crafted from the crushed dreams of a planet-devouring worm. Feels good, man.

    The game lacks any tangible level-up system, instead allowing players to upgrade mana and health through specific items found while exploring, and upgrading damage resistance with armor crafted from ores found exploring. It's very much one long spelunking trip with loads more violence -- anything that dies breaks into vaguely recognizable chunks of its sprite. Gross. The sprites themselves, however, are very reminiscent of old Final Fantasy games, though I wouldn't count this against it. I nostalgia'd pretty hard. Even the NPCs have memorable sprites and distinct personalities, given the few lines they have. I think I may be switching persons, a grammarian party foul, but players will also very much enjoy crafting their own little village for the NPCs, as they will only move in when you've built them a cozy little home to nestle into.

    I think I've covered the major points I needed to. For ten bucks, this game's a pretty good value. Were a barrel of miniature simians readily available for comparison, I'm sure it would come out on top. I could build a better barrel anyway. Out of Hellstone. Filled with Fire Imps.
    Expand
  62. Jun 22, 2011
    10
    Terraria is an interesting game with many similarities with another game called Minecraft.
    The game its self offers a very retro 2D plat former feel with the diversity and flexibility of a sandbox type game.
    It has a crafting systems with a lot of different items and things that can be created, dungeons, monsters , bosses, treasure and rare items.. all the makings of an interesting world
    to explore and advance in, but this is not for everyone.

    I have friends who like Minecraft but not Terraria but also the other way around, each to their own as they say.
    Personally I have not invested a lot of time in the game but the time I have spent has been well worth it, if you have no issues with sandbox games then you will quickly find your self digging a little more to the early hours of the morning and then freaking out because you have 2hrs to sleep and get ready for work.

    All in all, while the game is not for everyone, it is cheaper then lunch and well worth a try if you are looking for something a little different.
    Expand
  63. Jun 23, 2011
    9
    Terraria is a good deal. For an Indy game its has excellent replay value.
    Yeah you can compare it to minecraft in its mechanics, but its a rather weird comparison. The updates provide extra content, it is a fun multiplayer co-op and pvp. The Graphics are what they are... retro. The gameplay is fun, and yes it can wear thin... but updates keep it interesting enough.
    I give it a 9 because
    its very sandboxy, you can build stuff, you can create stuff and it isnt a huge burden on todays computers. The Bosses provide some insanely tense moments. It's bound to become a 10 as it gets updated with newer features. Expand
  64. Jun 23, 2011
    9
    This was the first game I was excited to play in a long time. I really enjoyed Minecraft, I was still playing it when my friends wanted me to pick up Terraria. They told me, "It's like Minecraft, but 2D!" I was a very skeptical person, so I told them I didn't want to spend the money. I was wrong, this game was simple love.

    The graphics are very friendly and colorful. They evoke
    emotion and really speak about what's going on in the game. The graphics aren't anything high end, but the graphics of this game really augment the gameplay.

    The music is pretty catchy and almost always captures the mood of what's going on. My only concern is the re-use of certain tracks, but it's no big deal because almost all of the music is pretty good.

    The gameplay is tons of fun, Terraria is easy to pick up and dive into. The multiplayer and single player playstyles are both fun. Single player provides a fair bit of progression that will keep you entertained for hours. Multiplayer is especially fun with a few friends. Get together, dig some holes, fight some bosses, kill each other with lava, and go have some simple fun.

    I have one killer that pulled this score away from a 10, there's not enough to do in the game! There needs to be more content! I ran out of stuff to do after a couple of weeks of avid play. The game developers are releasing somewhat regular content patches, over time I'm sure the game will expand nicely.

    Here's the quick rundown: Terraria is a simple game that is a lot of fun. The sounds and graphics are quirky and emotional, the gameplay is a lot of fun that will last you a decent chunk of time, but there isn't much content right now, once you run out there isn't much to do. On a 1-100 scale I would give this game a 92.
    Expand
  65. Jun 24, 2011
    10
    Amazing game. Well made and coded and allows it to expand almost limitlessly and in which ever direction the Terraria community desires. So far they have listened and done just that and I am happy to say it is my favourite game and comes highly recommended for those who like Minecraft but with more action involved.
  66. Jun 24, 2011
    9
    This game proves that 2D gaming is still alive and can still provide a fun gaming experience. Sure the game seems to steal from other build and create games, but this game has just enough unique content in its adventuring sections to make it seem like a breath of fresh air from other similar titles. It has a wide array of things to do past the initial mine and build formula. While not as deep as some would like this game is the kind that you can spend a lot of time on perfecting a building or fighting monsters. Expand
  67. Jul 7, 2011
    10
    This is an great game the devs put a lot of work into making it feel as old school as possible. the music, the sprites and the level design, or well the level generating. if you like mine craft and thing this is just that but 2D this is in no way the case it has building/ crafting elements but is no way modeled after MC. The game is far more based on action, fighting , and loot. I can not help but see all the flaming going on in these reviews and i must say that they sound more sad then any thing. i get that mine craft is a great game, but just because a game lets you build...does not make it mine craft. if you are finding it hard differentiate between these two and are unhappy that the game does not hold your hand and tell you how to be good at the game. maybe you would be better off playing a title by EA... Expand
  68. Jun 25, 2011
    10
    I've only played this a little at a friend's house, but so far it is amazing. Everyone who says this is a "2d Minecraft ripoff" is a complete idiot. So they are both made of blocks, and they both have similar tools. But Minecraft is more of a creative game with less emphasis on survival and exploration, whereas in Terraria you build to protect yourself and not just for the sake of building. It also puts more focus on the adventuring aspect, encouraging you to go out and find new things rather than staying in the same general area. Also, the addition of NPCs gives Terraria a hint of RPG that Minecraft doesn't have (That's not to say it's bad, just that that's one part Mojang decided not to put in their game. But this review is about Terarria anyway, so who cares.) In short, the two are completely different games.
    Now, if you are griping about the graphics, then I must assume you are twelve years old and don't have the maturity to realize that you are supposed to PLAY a game. If you want to WATCH something because it LOOKS good, that's what movies are for. And just because this game doesn't look like Call of Duty or StarCraft 2 doesn't make it bad. And also, even if the game looked like ****, as long as the graphics aren't so confusing and/or poor quality that it detracts from your ability to preform as a player, then it shouldn't matter. And if you say the graphics are stolen, then you are simply flaming with no evidence to back your statement up. And in a game where most graphics are a small, low-resolutuion, retro-RPG-style sprite, it's not hard to accidentally make something similar to another game.
    And criticizing the music is even more of a boneheaded thing than criticizing the graphics. I mean, I personally like it but if you don't, there are things called the "volume key" and the "options menu," in which you can turn things like that off. Incredible, I know.
    The clunky controls are hard to back up, but I suppose nothing is perfect. Same thing with the game speed in the beginning. Please note that I said "in the beginning," because after you have been going for a while things will start to seem to become faster by a combination of getting better tools and simply getting used to it. They could have made it a bit quicker to get going but it's still not as bad as some other games I have seen.
    And, don't just take it from me. There are plenty of professional, well-known gamers (TotalBiscuit for one) who would also back this and other, similar games up in the fight against shallow-minded graphics hounds
    Expand
  69. Jun 25, 2011
    10
    I bought this game thinking I would regret this purchase, thinking it was another Minecraft knockoff, but as I skeptically beat off slimes and trees, I slowly got drawn in to the game-play, and eventually realized, it isn't Minecraft, it is a whole new game. New depths and even more content then Minecraft lead it to be one of my most played games. If I have free time and my laptop, I'll be playing Terraria. This game is a great addition to a seasoned Minecrafter's game library, as a companion, and competitor game. Expand
  70. Jun 26, 2011
    9
    Terraria is a creative and addicting game. Ive put about 25 hours into it now and I am still hooked. At 10 bucks you just cant beat that. Where do I begin........it reminds me a lot of zelda except with many more items to find which is one of the reasons it is so addictive. Playing with friends is a blast and the developers add content consistantly for free. I have not played mine craft and some people think this is a rip off of that game. All I know is this game is really good and has a lot of heart. I would have given the game a 10 if it wasn't for the confusing multiplayer set up process. As far as I know you have to open ports on your network and a few other things to play with friends. This game needs some simple match making and it would be perfect and more accessible. I got around this by using a program called Himatchi which let me connect to my friend. If you are an old school action rpg fan this game is for you. If you are a fan of zelda and can deal with throw back graphics then buy this game right now. A true gem in a sea of big budget garbage games that are being churned out these days. Expand
  71. Jun 26, 2011
    10
    What originally seemed like a game that plays itself off of the minecraft crowd, is now nothing like it. with graphics that will easly run on most PCs and a 2D landscape it resembles that of SNES platformers. It is a game you can pick up and play and not get bored easily. Like minecraft, you find what you want to do and by the end, with most powerful weapons in hand, you still keep playing. weither its building a tower or a giant **** and balls, this game will hold your attention. The developers are updating and adding new content so there is always something to get later even if you have everything. Fun mulitplayer with PvP possible or co-op. Fight your friends or journey into the bowls of the land. It is a must have. Expand
  72. Jun 27, 2011
    9
    I haven't been this engrossed in a single player experience since the first Diablo came out when I was 13. It's the kind of game you think about when you're not playing.
  73. Oct 7, 2011
    9
    No way you can fault this game for lack of content. There's plenty, and (semi-)random-generation of items, caverns, and veins keeps the game interesting for many hours. With all sandbox-type games, however, there comes a point where you feel like you've gone through just about everything there is to explore. You know how the mechanics work, how enemies work - you've found all the interesting artifacts, and have the NPCs you're interested in. .... And then you go online to see the Terraria Wiki, and -- HOLY #(%*, there's a freaking CLOUD level! You find out you've only explored half the content, and on your way to explore it, the devs release even more new content in an update. Content updates in Terraria are a real treat. It's not just a few balance changes and a a couple new items -- they add new biomes, more monsters, a new NPC, different trees, new mechanics, many new weapons, and major crafting changes. Even if you do play Minecraft, and reviewers are correct in calling Terraria a "2d minecraft clone," the vast amount of different content, different mechanics, and environments still make Terreria a bargain, and likely a very fresh, enjoyable experience for you. Expand
  74. Nov 30, 2011
    10
    Vastly superior to Minecraft. More content, more fun, more things to do, and the developers aren't greedy. Plus the game is only 10 dollars and almost always on sale for 5.
  75. Jun 30, 2011
    9
    Let me start by saying that the first time i saw this game i said "pff it's a minecraft copy in 2d"
    then my cousin started playing and told me to start too so i thought "meh lets try it"
    yeah its basicly the same kind of game but if u think in that way quake was a copy of doom,
    the difference is where the game has been improved and i say it has improved a lot, there is so much more to
    do, they took the idea of minecraft and improved it a lot, there are random events like goblin army, blood moon rising, etc, that improved the game in so many ways that it's worth your time and money Expand
  76. Jul 6, 2011
    9
    A little slow for the first couple hours. But if you are a fan of nostalgia Squaresoft RPGs / Metroid / Castlevania series with a minecraft building system this game eventually evolves into an absolutely amazing experience. With random generating worlds and co-op, its one of the best gaming deals around.
  77. Mar 12, 2012
    10
    There's a lot of obvious parallels between Terarria and Minecraft, but Redigit's masterpiece achieves a much greater depth than Notch's effort. With a greater emphasis on combat and exploration, it's obvious from the start that Terraria is something truly unique. Fans of Castlevania will enjoy the gorgeous retro, pixelated 2D graphics. There truly is a huge amount of content, and with regular updates this game is a steal at $10. Expand
  78. Jul 15, 2011
    5
    well.. Probably these guys who game 10 dont have more than 20 hours of gameplay... Let me say what I think: This IS a good game. It has great features, like potions, guns, magic and great dungeons... but after doing all that stuff, i sincerelly have to say that it gets TOO boring. :(

    After my 30 hours of gameplay, im sorry to say that i cant even launch the game anymore.. I mean, at
    least not now. About Minecraft vs. Terraria, all i have to say is: Minecraft. "But minecraft also gets boring!"
    well, then u have the m ultiplayer. "BUT TERRARIA ALSO HAVE MULTIPLAYER!" well, its a crap. It doesnt have plugins and moderations.. blablabla... But its still a quite nice game, if you're going to buy it, get in a steam offer, because it not worthy the 10 buck (but that you'll see after the 20th hour of gameplay)

    my message to you: Its not a bad game, but it isnt the best game ever. Have that in mind ;D

    my score: 7.5
    Expand
  79. Jul 16, 2011
    9
    Many people complain that this game is a complete ripoff off Minecraft but even notch himself likes this game!
    Thus if it werent for notch this game wouldnt have become as well known as it is :)
    Ok back to the game: The game has very similiar building basics like Minecraft but thats the ONLY thing in Terraria u will find is similiar (except for zombies at night)
    Terraria is more like an
    adventure game version of Minecraft. So if you're thinking about buying the game just for building in it i don't think you should buy it so buy Minecraft instead. Terraria just like Minecraft isn't a full game yet so if you buy it look forward to updates and new things being added and make sure to play Terraria with lots of friends. The more the merrier Expand
  80. Jul 17, 2011
    10
    A work in progress drawing elements from minecraft (and a few others), BUT an AWESOME and unique game in it's own right.

    I bought this game immediately upon release, loaded it up, built a house, killed some stuff, figured it was a cute minecraft rip-off in 2D, and left it alone. It wasn't until a few weeks later that I gave it another shot after watching a trailer for the 1.0.5 patch. At
    first glance, it definitely has alot in common with minecraft. You start out with only some basic tools, have to gather resources, avoid or fight enemies, build a shelter and survive your first night. Eventually you will improve on your house and begin to mine deeper and deeper underground to find rarer and better resources, dungeons, and whatever. Sound familiar? BUT WAIT! Terraria takes off in a different direction with NPC's who move into your home, epic bosses, events such as goblin invasions, magic spells, different sets of armor with bonuses, grappling hooks, unique weapon drops and rocket boots. Mmmm, rocket boots. If anything, Terraria is a wonderful combination of minecraft-diablo-lode runner-worms. Point is, it's amazing. Like I said however, it is a work in progress (like minecraft) so don't expect a completed game. I sunk hours upon hours into Terraria and am now waiting for some juicy new content. And that's another thing - the Terraria developers seem to be much more active than Mojang are with minecraft. Also, I recommend finding a friend(s) to play coop with to get the most out of it, though you won't lose out playing alone.
    Seriously, it's $10. Just do it.
    Expand
  81. May 31, 2012
    10
    Its a great game very fun and addictive, also have very big updates(Free) companies should learn from this guys. A lot of items, materiales, weapons. Its just great :)
  82. Jul 20, 2011
    8
    You may be thinking that this is just a crappy copy of the best downloadable game on the market Minecraft but how wrong you are. Terrarria is fantastic unlike Minecraft Terrarria has an RPG side to it so stuff building houses head underground and get some gear. It looks pretty good not the best 2D platformer graphics though. The music puts you into such a tranquil snake as your mining fighting beasties or even taking on giant eyes. It's undeniably fun and it is only 9.99 what a bargain. Expand
  83. Jul 21, 2011
    10
    Great game minecraft and this game are about the same terraria is way better though fun with my friends. Its very fun because my friends and i love the merchants the npcs (the guide stinks) well becaues its something that minecraft doesnt have and a 2d game like terraria does which is pretty freaking cool you no. also this game deserves a 10 because guns are pretty awsome and you can get that in terraria sounds cool its really well worth it you should really go get it. Expand
  84. Sep 30, 2011
    8
    Terraria may look like a Minecraft clone but it is way more then that. Terraria focus much more on exploration and crafting then Minecraft do. You do build a base that can be as simplistic or ambitious as you like but the joy you get from Terraria is when you discover a new cave system with allot of gold that you need for your new armour or manage to take down one of the games challenging bosses. Many items are craftable but many more can only be found in chest or dungeons or deep caves so there are good reasons to explore them. The only thing Terraria misses is a better tutorial system. Check out one of the online guides, else you will feel completely lost the first two hours of the game.

    All in all, a strong recommendation to anyone interested in side-scrolling adventure games! (Most fun with friends!)
    Expand
  85. Jul 23, 2011
    7
    This game is very... very FUN! It is a 2d sandbox game where you can build things and fight. I think the building part of the game is taken away because of the fact that it is 2d and that i like to adventure and fight bosses. The multiplayer is very fun. Hosting the game was very easy and very fast which made the experience in multiplayer much more fun. However, the only down side to Terraria is there isn't enough content to continue my addiction to this game. After I got the highest tier items in the game, it just got boring. But the thing is that fun was well worth the 10$. Expand
  86. Jul 26, 2011
    10
    When i first looked at the trailers of Terraria, i thought "aww c'mon, its just a copy of minecraft", but then after sometime i decided to try the game out, and then i bought it, and i must say i got surprised, this game has soo much to offer, and there is soo much to do, that's its completely unbelievable, i can play for hours and hours, and it just doesn't get boring, the trailers might look boring, but you have to play a game like this judge it, and it only costs 10$, that is the best game i have bought for a long time, and its definitely worth it. i have also played minecraft, but this game is just overall more addictive and fun in my oppinion. Expand
  87. Jul 27, 2011
    10
    My first impression of this game was not great at all. Graphics wise the game is the most unappealing of all the games I am currently playing, but the simplistic nature of the graphics is what makes it so great. It bring back old memories of past 2D platform games that were just as great as this one. Not only can you enjoy the good times in Terraria, but you can also get creative and create your own worlds. From PVP Arenas to giant fortresses fending off hordes of zombies, the amount of creativity that can be produced in this game is almost limitless. On another note many compare this game to MineCraft. These two games although they share similar aspects, they are different and have their own sparks. MineCraft is pointed more towards construction and dimensions and isn't much of an adventure game whereas Terraria is, and I'd have to choose Terraria over MineCraft anyday. Expand
  88. Jul 31, 2011
    8
    I originally had the opinion that this was a Minecraft ripoff at first sight. Then I bought it, and found out that the game has a nostalgic, 2d-retro platforming style combined with all the things we love about MC. I still prefer Minecraft, but go ahead and buy this if you like MC, are looking for an adventure game, or just want to have a good time in general.
  89. Aug 1, 2011
    8
    Terraria is brilliant to say the least. Never before has a 2D universe held so much complexity and exploration possibilities as Terraria. It is unfair to compare Terraria to Minecraft. The only thing they actually have in common is that you can build stuff and that stuff comes to kill you at night. But you can also build stuff in Zoo Tycoon or fight stuff at night in Stronghold etc. So it is unfair at least to say that Terraria is nothing but a mindless rip-off. Personally i prefer the adventure, exploration style of it over Minecraft which in my opinion gets dull really fast. Since when did you last time get in a boss-fight with a giant flying eye, dug you way to a vast underground jungle or purified a corrupted desert in Minecraft? As cheap as it is, Terraria is a must-have, whether you like adventuring or just being creative, everyone, even my 9-year old sister, can find something entertaining to do, and as friends join the fun it gets even more enjoyable. I've played Terraria way more than any of those Indie-Games i from time to time stumble over on Steam, and i can only say that i even played Terraria more than both Civilization V and Total War: Shogun 2 together, though i think those were mild disappointments but that a review for another time. Just get the hell out there and buy Terraria. Expand
  90. Aug 2, 2011
    7
    The game starts out quite good. It addicted me and got me playing it for hours. Digging, building, crafting, exploring... but once you craft the best equipments kill every boss and go through all events it starts to fell like "is that all?". Well, after that you can go to multiplayer PvP but I didn't enjoyed it that much.I think the game has a good potential to expand and improve considerably. So, until the new promised "massive updates" show up, my opinion on it is "fun but a little disappointing in the long term" Expand
  91. Aug 7, 2011
    10
    Terraria - Ah, What To Say.... Simply The Best, Always Growing And Adding New Things. This Game Is Wonderful And I Cant Wait To See What It Blooms Into.
  92. Aug 8, 2011
    7
    I got this during the steam summer sale for 2.50 so its a win even if it sucked. Right off the bat it was really fun to play especially on multiplayer like at 10 hours i started to see how small it really was theres only like 10 armor sets and 8 npc's. After 20 hours i had the best gear and i started to think whats the goal there was noting really more to do. So i wouldn't recommend it for any more then 6 bucks. Cool game not enough content. Expand
  93. Aug 8, 2011
    10
    I didn't like Minecraft at all, because it was only sandbox, with occasional NPC's to harass you. Friend of mine recommended Terraria, and i bought it from Steam sale, it cost less than 5â
  94. Aug 8, 2011
    9
    Everything I wanted out of Minecraft and more, Don't be fooled by the 2D graphics, this game doesn't need the third dimension to give a brilliant gaming experience. I got a good 50 hours out of this game in my first few weeks of playing, easily worth the small sum I paid for it. The developers are constantly working on new updates, so this game should keep giving for a while still!
  95. Aug 10, 2011
    7
    Let me start by saying that no one should dismiss this game without playing it first. Yes it's a 2D platformer, but it sets itself apart from the crowd with it's rich environments which encourage exploration; vast array of equipment and customization; and the player's ability to shape the world to their whim. In a similar vein to Minecraft you can build over, destroy and sculpt the land around you, which really helps the game feel unique and stay that way for at least 20 hours of solid gameplay.

    I spent 26 hours with the game in total, and roughly 15 hours were spent in either 2 player or 3 player co-operative modes. Setting up a multiplayer game is much simpler than in Minecraft, and provided you have friends with the game can dramatically increase the fun you have with it. Playing it alone I felt drained quickly - you can tell it's geared towards co-operative play more than anything else.

    My issues with the game stem from it's construction. Initially the game offers little guidance; just as Minecraft does, and you are required to continually visit the wiki to understand both the basics and the more advanced aspects of the game. A tutorial would definitely not go amiss here - the AI guide you are lumped with at the beginning of the game gives you random, often cryptic clues as to what to do - why a simple, short and organized tutorial was not included remains a mystery. Still, if you (like I) manage to wade through the wiki and find the best course of action, you will eventually hit the second issue inherent in the game. Without giving too much away, much of the most advanced armor and weaponry is genuinely incredibly difficult to acquire - whilst this makes it feel more precious in your eyes, ores like Hellstone can only be mined with the best pickaxes and these are very difficult to get in the first place. It feels like Terraria has intentionally put a block in the way of your previously rapid acquirement of new stuff, and "new stuff" is really what keeps the game going.

    That's not to say it's a bad game in any way. Working out strategies to defeat the bosses and fending off blood moons and goblin invasions is genuinely fun stuff, the music is great and there is a lot out there in this world to discover. To draw a comparison to Minecraft again - even when you've discovered everything in Minecraft, you still feel compelled to build, the game still makes you want to play. The limitations of making Terraria a 2D game means what you can build is severely hampered and doesn't really draw any fresh resolve from the player to continue after a certain point. Personally, I found it great fun getting to the 20-hour mark, but beyond that my interest fell sharply. There just isn't enough to do after you've found everything you need, and the game suffers because of it.

    In short, the game is genuinely good fun for a few hours play with your friends in the evening, and few other games offer such a relaxing, engaging experience up to a certain point, after which it lacks the depth for any sort of longevity.
    Expand
  96. Aug 10, 2011
    10
    This is one of the few games that you start playing, and before you know it, daybreak arrives. It appeals to many people with it's 2D art style, RPG elements, platforming, resource collecting through mining for stone and ores, chopping trees down for wood which you can use to create what your heart desires. For that alone builders and artists will love Terraria. Terraria's soundtrack is incredibly soothing containing themes that fit the mood of the environment you are currently in whether you are deep underground, outside in the daylight, or fighting against monsters at night. Controls are very simple to pick up. Overall, Terraria is a great game and deserves to be placed high on the pedestal. At It's price Terraria is a total steal. You will not be disappointed especially if you are fond of Metroidvania type games. Expand
  97. Aug 10, 2011
    10
    Ok, after 173 hours of playing Terraria, I'm still coming back for more. Redigit and his crew at Re-logic did a good job working this. With constant patches to improve npc AI and items, the game keeps getting better. After five months of development, they released a good game. I watched PaperbatVG's videos of this game before it came out, and that probably gave me a better idea on how to play it. You people who are giving it bad reviews, try to think of something better to do that just attack the game or it's developers. You could perhaps write something to help improve it if Re-logic saw it. Expand
  98. Aug 18, 2011
    8
    Graphics aren't everything in a game, and Terraria is living proof. It's a 2D platformer-sandbox-builder-explorer type game. For the person who likes to explore rather than build, there are dungeons to loot, bosses to fight, and even more things. The best thing: It's not even done yet. More items, bosses, enemies, and locations are patched in, so you can keep discovering new things.
  99. Aug 20, 2011
    10
    One of the most fun games to come out in a long time. Simple , creative , exciting and fun ! Theres lots of room for improvements and implementations here but Terraria proves that you dont need great graphics to make a memorable game and is well worth the 15 bucks. I recommend to anyone.
  100. Aug 21, 2011
    9
    I'll be honest, I jumped into Terraria expecting an experience similar to Mojang's Minecraft. What I got, however, was something bigger and, in some ways, better. Terraria is only really similar to Minecraft due to the crafting system, which is a bit more in depth in Terraria. Whilst stone is quite vital in Minecraft, it's all but useless in Terraria, aside from one or two uses, whilst gold is vital in Terraria, while being just fashion in Minecraft. However, Terraria isn't meant to be like Minecraft. Terraria is a 2D adventure game at heart, and does this really well. At the start, you start with bare basic tools and the smallest, weakest slime can prove to be a challenge. As you progress further down and across the randomly generated maps, you can get resources to make better, stronger tools, some armor and soon become someone that can take out enemies in just one swing. Terraria also includes bosses into the game, which are challenging to defeat, but yield great rewards at the end. One thing that Terraria also does well is the character syncing between both single and multiplayer. If one world has been sweeped of all of it's goodies, you can just start a new world and continue from where you left off. If I do have one complaint, the NPC's in the game can seem a bit 'in the way', especially the controversial Guide. In fact, the Guide gets in the way so much, that there's now an item that allows you to kill him!
    Aside from this gripe however, Terraria is a worthy game for adventurers and crafters alike. Don't shun this game because it looks like a 2D Minecraft. It's far more than that.
    Expand
  101. May 14, 2012
    0
    At one point I liked this better than Minecraft. Not for the crafting or building that much as for the adventuring. The RPG elements were a big plus for it. But then the big update came and made me drop the game forever. Before the update if you wanted to be fast you got a shadow armor. You wanted to be strong you got a molten armor. The game was balanced. After the update they put three new kinds of armor that made the old armors useless. The whole game now was about getting enough adamantite to make adamantite armor with your favorite helmet and that was all. After you made that armor the game was again a piece of cake and all other armors were just worse than your's. Before the update there were so many fun ways to play your character which were lost after the update. After the update you could combine most accessories and keep like double in quantity active on you so more customization options were lost since you can now hold practically all useful accessories at the same time instead of choosing a playstyle based on the few you could keep on you.

    Most unbalancing update I've ever seen in a game. Would be 9/10 without this update. Would be 10/10 if the update managed to keep the balance instead of adding a few uber-items.
    Collapse
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Mar 19, 2012
    83
    Terraria is one of the best sandbox games. Terraria has some Minecraft spirit, however the focus of the game is on fighting and crafting, so it involves more action. The best way to enjoy Terraria is to play it with a couple of friends on your own server.
  2. Mar 16, 2012
    70
    It's a title that will appeal to the adventurer, the explorer and the builder; not to mention those who appreciate a substantial amount of player freedom. If you happen to be all of those things, Terraria is a lightly tarnished treasure.
  3. Mar 14, 2012
    83
    A lot of games tried to copy Minecraft – or at least participate from its' success. But this two-dimensional take on the well known formula is the only game that is able to step out of the shadow of the indie phenomenon that inspired it. It leads you into a unique world full of creative magic.