User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1141 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 22, 2011
    10
    This game is not just a copy of minecraft. Its a great game based on fighting and combat. A variety of weapons armor, spells, and stuff makes it a great game to play. Even though its pixelated, the artwork is still amazing. Its the best 2d game I've ever played. It's bosses, corruption, a variety of monsters, and hard challenges make it a game to hard to resist. And too everyone who says its slow, or boring, have never gotten anywhere into the game, because they find it too hard. Expand
  2. Aug 22, 2011
    10
    the most addicting game i have played since minecraft, wayyyyy better enemies better maps, better crafting. and such make this game a must buy!! its worth the 30$ to buy a four pack on steam so you and 3 friends can go exploring!!
  3. Aug 24, 2011
    8
    Terraria blends unique 2D platform sandbox action RPG gameplay with building elements presumably adopted from a recent title that many of you may be familiar with. Similarities (and ongoing debates) aside, it is safe to say that Terraria executes it all comfortably; providing a vast, robust and adventurous experience that is well worth the inexpensive price tag.
  4. Aug 25, 2011
    10
    The score for this game is far too low for its quality and fun. People see a pickaxe and ore and think, wow, Minecraft ripoff! The gameplay is an adventure about one person, you, who wakes up and has no idea what to do. Once you figure out the basic gameplay, Terraria shines. A 2D platformer is always welcome in my collection of games, and this game is the best I have ever played. What I love about this game is a constant sense of progression and reward. As you journey into the underground, you will find a variety of monsters awaiting you, in areas such as the Underground Jungle and Hell. You will als find rewards, such as rare armor and accessories in chests, and as drops from monsters. A mix of weapons awaits you, from spells like the rare Flamelash, to guns such as the Minishark (Half shark, half gun, completely awesome). The multiplayer multiplies the fun. DISCLAIMER: I own both Minecraft and Terraria. I Expand
  5. Aug 25, 2011
    10
    Fantastic game, with constantly increasing depth. Anyone who claims that it's like minecraft hasn't played enough to write a proper review, because it's not. It feels much more like a metroidvania game than anything else, and is almost entirely about item collection to access new areas. Unlike metroid, though, the reason you don't enter the new areas isn't because you don't have super-missles, but because the enemies there will kill you instantly. The mining elements are basically just ways to collect stuff to make cooler stuff, and not at all like minecraft. The point of the game is not to build or be especially creative, but to improve yourself via item collection. Expand
  6. Aug 26, 2011
    10
    People say that Terraria is just a 2D Minecraft. Sure it has crafting and mining. But what's Minecraft? An Infiminer clone. People need to realize that games borrow from other games. You need to realize that Minecraft isn't a game anymore, it's a genre. If you stop letting yourself get offended when a game has some of the stuff other games have, you could enjoy the game for what it is.
  7. Mar 30, 2012
    9
    A fantastic experience for those who put some imagination and creativity into gaming.
    Start your life as a hunchbacked proto-human, living in dual dimensions, with only the most basic survival tools. Hammer SMASH! Axe CHOP! Pickaxe... ugh... PICK! Use these skills to shape the world around you or to beat back the creatures currently nibbling at your toes.

    A research student, vaguely
    interested in your evolution, but too impatient to adhere to prime directives, will stand by and patiently explain what every object you've found is and how you can combine or refine them into complex objects.

    Now, you've summoned up fire and bested the worst night terrors on Earth. And, like an hero, you've come to the conclusion that it's time to oil yourself up and go looking for styggian horrors in the caves behind your hovel. Hours later you're clawing your way back out of this hellhole with a sack full of iron ore, already on your way to blasting demons with boomsticks and wading knee deep through chainsaw puree. And if, along the way, a castle should be built for your greatness and all of his new, cool friends, then all the better.
    Expand
  8. Aug 29, 2011
    9
    I can understand why Terraria has a bad reputation. It's very difficult to get into, there is a very limited in game tutorial in the form of a "Guide," and there is room for a lot of improvement. However, the developers are indeed constantly improving and expanding the game in a way where I believe it can be enjoyable, even from the beginning. At first, I expected some sort of Maple Story/Minecraft mashup, which actually isn't an inaccurate judgement from a cursory glance. However, as I continued to play the game, I found it more and more enjoyable. Using outside resources and guides improved the game experience for me, but I don't know if that applies to everyone. I hope Terraria continues to expand so that gameplay becomes even more enjoyable. Expand
  9. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    I try my very hardest not to give out 10s. Isn't the whole point of perfection that it can't ever be achieved? Anyway, I feel this game truly deserves it. I'm a huge fan of side-scrolling games like Castlevania, so this game spoke to me on that sort of primal level. Not only that though, but it has mining, crafting, and creation sort of like Minecraft. IT IS NOT MINECRAFT THOUGH. I don't get why people are so gung-ho about comparing the two. Anyway, I could go on and on about how I love the graphic-style, the music, the boss fights, the dungeons and biomes, and how this game teases my inner collector, but the best praise I could ever give this game is the following: When I sit down to play, I forget to eat and drink. Pizza goes cold, and soda goes flat. True story. Also, it's only $10 and the developers are CONSTANTLY adding more content through free updates. I can't wait for 1.1 to come out. Expand
  10. Jan 19, 2012
    9
    First thing I would like to point out is that this is not a minecraft clone, I was surprised about how the more I played, the less it seemed like minecraft, it takes more of the adventure parts of a sandbox and doesn't do much with building which I think is good as it allowed many different weapons and ways to explore
  11. Sep 15, 2011
    10
    Terraria is an amazing game. I loved it from the first moment I heard about it. It never gets boring, there's always something to do. Amazing boss fights, awesome caves, challenging battles! There is something for everyone. You can build gigantic structures, explore caves and dungeons, mine ores to craft better and better tools... Overall a great game! Ignore anyone who says it sucks! It most certainly doesn't! And it is not copying off Minecraft. Minecraft is a great game also, but they are both very different! Expand
  12. Sep 16, 2011
    9
    One of the best games I have ever played in the 15 years I am alive. I'm not a big fan of over-done graphics and fancy effects and 3D which is why I was and still am very attracted to this game. It'd be ignorant to say this game isn't a Minecraft copy, because it is, but it's also much more than that, it has many more options and the great thing about the game is, is the fact that it keeps expanding with new features and the developers of the game actually listen what the community has to say and try to improve Terraria with the suggestions they get. Definitely worth the money and if you enjoy the simple style, I would definitely recommend it to play. Expand
  13. Sep 20, 2011
    9
    Me, being a person who enjoyed the game that was out of my reach due to low ram, Minecraft, LOVE this game. It is super open-ended and way to easy to get into. The only problem is that it is too easy to complete. If you were to sit down and play the game ONCE through (without Hardcore on), it would be done in one day. Hardcore....maybe three. I love it, but a 9.0 is what its worth.
  14. Oct 6, 2011
    7
    Every single negative review I've seen mentions Minecraft, when the fact is, this game has nothing to do with Minecraft. Notch himself has said he recognizes Terraria as a separate game, not as a copy of his own.

    Now as for my review, I liked the game, but it does have issues. Many issues. For instance, once you get to a certain point, everything gets far too easy and boring. It feels
    more like a chore when your about five hours of game play in, if you work quickly enough. The bosses are great but there are so few of them that you have to fight the same ones to get materials for the really god items. While I understand this game is technically still being developed, it should be made obvious. It's not in beta, this is a release that just updates a lot. Also, I do not agree with the pricing. It is too high for what the game is.

    Another thing about other reviews is they keep mentioning how terrible the graphics are, when that's the point. This game wasn't meant to look AMAZING. And if people can't see that, then they shouldn't have bought it in the first place, because it was obvious just looking at the games store page how it would look.

    Back to my own review, I for one think the graphics are exactly what they were meant to be, and it looks good.

    The long and short of it is, this game is not for people who buy high end computers so they can run games like Crysis 2 flawlessly. This game is, in fact, an indie game, and should be treated as such.
    Expand
  15. Nov 24, 2011
    5
    This game is probably the most overrated thing i have ever seen. It is full of bugs, and is charging 10-20 dollars. The game needs fixing and mod support, it is boring after you get everything, as there is no point to continue, do to the bad building engine with limited materials. Very low replay value. Not worth buying unless its on sale for five dollars or less. How this is not a game still in alpha or beta is beyond me. This is NOT a finished project. 5/10 Expand
  16. Dec 2, 2011
    10
    This game took me about fifteen minutes of saying "what the heck?" before it got me hooked. That said I'm 5 hours in or so and it's really impressing me. It may be simple graphics, but, if you really look you'll see tons of attention to detail with regards to lighting up different parts of the world. Water or lava effects the terrain in really incredible ways. This is no mario or metroid from ten years ago. This game is beautiful in it's own right. It's fun, creative, and the changing music as you dig deeper is a really nice touch. For what I paid this is a 10/10 Expand
  17. Oct 19, 2011
    9
    Set in a charming 2D world, this game of building, exploring and combat is great fun, especially with a friend or seven in multiplayer. The smallest worlds are still a decent size, with the huge ones taking forever to explore. You can build a huge stone castle or a series of cosy wooden cottages. Many deadly enemies and huge bosses can be found, with dozens of interesting weapons and tools available to help defeat them. This game can give you ten times as much fun as a game ten times the price. Expand
  18. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    Ive been wandering around this game for a while until now were i just bought it on Steam. I love it. Its a 2D adventure rpg game where you can spend long hours and not being bored at all, at least for me. Most people prefer Minecraft because its 3D , its better bla bla bla, i dont care. Terraria has all that and more. Great weapons, great graphics despite being 2D, the bosses are great, the environment is smooth and many more things that i cant explain because i have no words but just: its great. Also play with friends and enjoy hours of fun and creativeness, i recommend everyone stop playing Minecraft and just give a few hours of Terraria and then tell us what do you think about this. Expand
  19. May 14, 2012
    9
    At one point I liked this better than Minecraft. Not for the crafting or building that much as for the adventuring. The RPG elements were a big plus for it. But then the big update came and made me drop the game forever. Before the update if you wanted to be fast you got a shadow armor. You wanted to be strong you got a molten armor. The game was balanced. After the update they put three new kinds of armor that made the old armors useless. The whole game now was about getting enough adamantite to make adamantite armor with your favorite helmet and that was all. After you made that armor the game was again a piece of cake and all other armors were just worse than your's. Before the update there were so many fun ways to play your character which were lost after the update. After the update you could combine most accessories and keep like double in quantity active on you so more customization options were lost since you can now hold practically all useful accessories at the same time instead of choosing a playstyle based on the few you could keep on you.

    Most unbalancing update I've ever seen in a game. Would be 9/10 without this update. Would be 10/10 if the update managed to keep the balance instead of adding a few uber-items.
    Expand
  20. Aug 30, 2013
    8
    Edit score updated since 'hard mode' was added to the game (and with more extra content and depth than any 'hard mode' I've ever seen in a videogame before).

    I would have enjoyed this game far, far more if there were more challenging game modes. I play it hardcore to increase the challenge, but as most good gamers know, hardcore is a little more of an excersice in patience than it is
    skill, and it would have been nice to just see a 'hard' difficulty level, with stronger monsters, and perhaps with a save point each dawn, to up the challenge. Expand
  21. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    When i first started playing Terraria, i found it very similar to Minecraft. After logging about 27 hours on the game i realized it had a very different point to the game. It was more dungeoneering than building. Minecraft has the element that wants you to make a beast mansion. Then in Terraria It gives you the element to explore. Cave's, Sky Temples with locked chests, the underworld filled with lava. and last but not least corruption. on another point Minecraft is 3D as Terraria is 2D. Although this is usually a key part of a game in Terraria it doesn't seem to matter at all. So if i had to rate this game it would be a 10 out of 10. Just because they took the time to make a game that would not be as graphically good as Minecraft or other mining 3D games. So 10 out of 10 on my vote. amazing game. Expand
  22. Nov 17, 2011
    7
    It's a decent game but gets boring after a while of playing. I by myself have played it only a total of 51 hours, and in most cases forced to. I personally do not enjoy the game as much as others do. I don't think there's anything wrong with me, it's just not my type. And I hate how you can get the best armors in a matter of 30 minutes or so, and after that you're done. Boom! Delete your map and start over. The game is too simple to be super-duper amazing. Although I'm looking forward to the new update with lighting changes with a percentage of 50%. I'll probably give it a try, or maybe not. I'll just get another headache probably. Expand
  23. May 1, 2012
    10
    When it was released, it was called a "2D clone of Minecraft". However, as the updates came in, it started gaining its own personality. The pixel art is charming. The exploration and mining aspects of the game are addictive; this iss one game where mining isn't boring, but rather enthralling. Also, you can reshape your world, which is something many players will spend hours into. A great, well deserved 10 for this one. Expand
  24. Jan 6, 2013
    10
    The pinnacle of sandbox games. If you're a MineCraft fan, definitely take a gander at one of the most interesting indie titles in a long time. This game made me a believer again. A believer in the magic of Gaming!
  25. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    Play the game. Torrent it, borrow the .exe files from a friend, whatever you have to do. I am a firm believer of not judging a book by it's cover. If you don't like it, that's okay, but at least you tried it. I tried Minecraft, some time ago then again recently and I just can't get into it, it's so boring and tedious IMO. So try Terraria! if you like it, awesome, if not that's okay! Have fun. :D
  26. Dec 3, 2011
    10
    Terraria has more weapons monster's, rpgsurvival elements, a wider selection of items, bosses, character customization and better exploration. This game feels like with every block you pick you achieve a task, there is so much to explore in a single world so much to collect so much to do. I've played this games for 100's of hours and still can't be pried away from it. It's simply one of the most simplest indie 2d side scroller games ever. It has different things that have never been experienced by players. It's not minecraft its more than minecraft, 10/10 A diverse and new way to play! Expand
  27. Dec 1, 2011
    10
    Only a fool would say that it Terraria is Minecraft. Yes, I do not like Mine, but I'm telling the truth is a different game! It makes sense! And not just dig, dig and dig ... In Terraria have bosses, dungeons, magic and much more! Pity the self-purchase Terraria, but not Minecraft.
    Thanks to Google Translate :) [Russia]
  28. Jan 24, 2012
    10
    This game is awesome its graphics are very nostalgic the weapons and items are reminiscent of 'Minecraft' but this game is a whole lot different there's more items and weapons with the new updates plus new bosses whats not like? If your looking for a good game that's relatively cheap this is the game for you
  29. Dec 2, 2011
    10
    Terraria is a true gem of a game, that is rivaling my desire to play Skyrim (which is quite an accomplishment). Anyone that says Terraria is just 2D minecraft must not have played either game extensively. Perhaps they mined some mud in each, put them back on the ground in a row and made a house, and then came here and reviewed the games saying they were the same. Minecraft: Blocks + Pickaxe = House ---> End of Gameplay --->
    Quit.

    Terraria:
    Blocks + Pickaxe = House -->
    Start of Gameplay -->

    Followed by:
    Actual Adventure to be had; Loads of legitimate monsters; Real items with Tiers and different stats; Bosses; Traps; Treasure; Loads of different environments to discover, with different challenges introduced with them; Tons of nifty gadgets to enjoy;
    So much more I've forgotten.

    Once Minecraft implements half of these, then user's can start to claim a Minecraft is 3D Terraria (in that order)
    Expand
  30. Dec 2, 2011
    8
    It is a nice game, with tonnes of adventure, but only within a 2D environment and limited world, creativity is limited.
    You may get bored with the game once you finished all the adventures, like Dungeon and so. But the progress of getting the end-game gear is so fun that you cannot resist.
    PvP can get a bit frustrating as it is only intensive shooting and spamming bullet, but it can be fun
    sometimes though. Expand
  31. Jan 17, 2012
    9
    So, I think this game is amazing. I wanted to wait to see what kind of content they came out with before giving my rating to the game. After playing for months on end, and still having fun building, exploring, trading, designing, fighting ect...I still have a ton of fun playing the game. The reason I give a 9 out of 10, is becuase of 2 minor complaints. The single player mode is boring after a while. It does take a long time, and it would be helpful if you could copy rooms if you have the materials. Just simple things, like a wall that is x blocks high, a matching wall on the other side, an automatic roof and automatic background. The background gets very tedious, especially if you want to do something complicated or layered. They did address this, so it is only a minor concern. The other problem I have is no good multilayer support yet. I understand if they cannot create dedicated servers for the game, but Steam has server support for all kinds of games already. Also, there is still a low cap of players which is annoying. I would love to come with a team of people and build a city or something, but 4 people just doesn't cut it, and even building a tower takes a long time. I very much look forward to playing this game for a long time, and hope to see continued content updates that both focus on balancing things you can build/design and things you can fight/craft. I think the sky is the limit for this game, and as long as you have an imagination, you will be very happy playing. For people looking for a more structured game experience, with a start, middle and end, then this game is not for you. There is no end for the game, and you can keep coming up with new things and making even more interesting towns

    The biggest pluses for this game for me, especially with the advent of switches, is the limitless things you can build and create. You can build modern looking skyscrapers, and you can build castles/dungeons. You can make houses out of anything, and even create bio-domes that capture the essences of a type of area. You can build, craft, fight, explore, treasure hunt, PvP. It may have no start, middle or end, and it may be easy to get max hearts/mana (which I hope they increase in later updates though a more difficult way of getting them), but the amount of depth to the game is huge. It would probably take a month of solid game play to find the mats for and craft the best stuff. You could spend an entire year building a city and underground if you wanted to, and make your own world. The only limiting factor to this game is you.
    Expand
  32. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    Terraria is a great game. I got is for $2.50 on steam and even purchased as a gift for a friend. The server capabilities are there and its a cinch to set up and for anyone to log on. The game is an old school sidescroller so if you care about graphics, this is not your game. If you want some thing that will give you 50+ hours of fun in pvp with friends, cave exploration, many different biomes (with even a Christmas themed winter biome released for the holidays) upgrading weapons and equipment and defeating bosses with a 2nd playthrough built into the experience, then this is your game. There are many options that you can tweek to tailor to your gaming experience. It's slow in the beginning before you get armor, ore and other things but there is a built in NPC that will tell you how to craft various items and how to move forward in your quest. This game is definitely the best when you get some friends together and start finding items to help prepare you for your first boss fight. Get this game when it's on sale on steam and you can go wrong! Expand
  33. Dec 26, 2011
    10
    If you like Minecraft, you'll most likely love this game. It has the building and creativity aspect of Minecraft with much more adventure to it. The bosses and events are a lot of fun and your loot actually means something here in Terraria. I loved Minecraft but tossed it aside when I tried Terraria. Multiplayer in Terraria is much better than Minecraft too. On the Minecraft server my friends and I had, we just went about building our things and checking out each other's creations but that was all there was to do. In Terraria we band up and go exploring because it really helps with more people, where as helping your buddy mine in minecraft is BORING. Big improvement imho! Expand
  34. Jan 17, 2012
    10
    Awesome game with friends. It is like metroid and minecraft smashed together into a fun little romp of fun. Play with friends !!! Not only does it allow the game to be easier, but it allows for other social benefits such as chuckling hysterically as your friend falls 400 feet into lava.
  35. Jan 10, 2012
    8
    This game follows the same crack-addiction do-nothing gameplay (in the sense that you can spend many hours building a house just to realize you just spent many hours building an in-game house...) that Minecraft uses but does it a little differently. Terraria is more combat/exploration driven than Minecraft, which is more building driven. As such, Terraria tends to feel limited by it's content while Minecraft tends to feel limited by imagination. Luckily, I have no imagination, so Terraria was a nice change of pace. So what is Terraria? It's basically a game about mining and exploring. You can craft things with your minerals, fight monsters, and trigger world-changing events. I've spent about 30 hours with the game and have seen most of the content (I played through with two friends, one who's spent twice as much time as me with it). Overall everything about the game is pretty fun and I don't want to spoil anything. I got a lot of laughs and enjoyment from the game. My three complaints are that the UI can be frustrating, searching for specific minerals is annoying, and the game is extremely content dependent and my interest fell HARD when content ran out. Other than that, I had a great time. Definitely worth the price, especially if you have friends to play with. Expand
  36. Jan 14, 2012
    10
    This game is fun and surprisingly less money than it is worth. If you like mining, crafting, exploring and fighting evil, then this is a good game for you.
  37. Jan 20, 2012
    7
    Terraria is a great game, and despite the many accusations, it is not like Minecraft at all, except for the idea of digging, and Minecraft was definitely not the first to include this type of gameplay, just the first to make it famous. The game is pretty cool, but after beating all the bosses, you very quickly reach a point in the game where there is honestly not much to do. At this point you can build stuff, which can be a lot of fun, but there isn't much of a sense of accomplishment. Multiplayer pvp is pretty boring, since no sane person would enter a pvp without the best armors and weapons in the game. When everyone has identical loadouts, it's just like any 2d platforming pvp game. However, I still love the game, and I like looking on Curse to see the latest build somebody has made. There are all kinds of cool adventure and rpg maps. Since the game has so much downloadable content, it is worth getting. Get it if you like a good, simple slash-everything-to-bits game with a touch of RPG and lots of building. Expand
  38. Aug 16, 2013
    10
    So far so great. If you can get pass the simply cartoony looking visuals (which in many ways doesn't do the deep gameplay justice) there's a very deep gaming experience to be had. A day night system (you won't want to be out at night), digging and building, water physics, 'secret treasures, rooms & caves', crafting and huge random generated worlds to be explored (I've started with a small one and it's still freaking huge) meaning no two games are the same! Massively impressed with this so far and it makes a nice change from the (although also can good great too) linear predictable rinse and repeat games we're use too especially after completion. Gameplay-wise, this is part of what 'next-gen' means to me. PS For those who think this is a Minecraft clone (which apparently is in turn an Infiniminer clone) do a google search on for game call Digger T Rock, that came way before Minecraft and Terraria and the latter has more in common with in some ways Expand
  39. Dec 11, 2013
    8
    When it was initially released, I thought Terraria was an alright game, not great but not terrible either. With the recent 1.2 update, I gave the game another shot and it is such an improvement over the original version. Retro graphics and sound is a nice touch and the expansive worlds provide a great deal of freedom and exploration as there are a variety of biomes, enemies and loot to be discovered. The inclusion of an optional tutorial would be nice for newcomers though and I would've liked some more guidance in terms of crafting items, as I found myself constantly alt-tabbing to check a wiki. Options for world generation would be nice as well, so I don't have to generate a whole bunch for a pyramid or something. There is a sense of progression in the game which does make Terraria more accessible for players who find absolute freedom a little daunting. Even for players who aren't into building great spectacles of creativity, there was much fun to be had in acquiring the best gear available.

    Overall a good game, but not without a couple flaws. The icing on the cake is the game is very cheap so get it now if you haven't already!
    Expand
  40. Mar 9, 2012
    8
    It's basically Minecraft in 2D and the lovely settings help making it a bit more than the game that copied Minecraft. For a cheap price you can play hours and hours and explore the places around you. The gameplay is extremely well made and offers a lot of possibilities. All in all a very good game, addicting and with a great replay value.
  41. Mar 11, 2012
    8
    Terraria is very nicely executed sandbox. If you expect stories and quests then this game is not for you. That being said, game is not for everyone. You go venture underground and slay mobs, build your castles in fairly nice 2D graphics in a bit old style.
    There are 2 major downsides of the game.
    Firstly as you kill more bosses and go to hardcore mode, hardcore bosses are really very hard.
    Game basically forces you to go multiplayer. If you have noone to play with, then you may end up not killing them at all. They are doable in single, but very hard.
    Secondly developers already announced that there will be no support in future which may turn some away.
    All in all the game will be as good as you make it yourself in good sandbox style.
    Expand
  42. Apr 14, 2012
    4
    i looked video's over Terraria and i thought why i dont buy it? that was a mistake 10 euro's is too mush for me it's better like 5 euro i dont like the game anymore i play'd it 2 days and after that i stopped playing it for me it was a waste of monney
  43. May 10, 2012
    7
    This game is unique. I found it enjoyable but I didn't catch on for me. This is pretty much a 2d, more action packed survival mode for Minecraft.

    Ignore this game and just purchase Minecraft
  44. Feb 20, 2013
    7
    I remember defending this game tooth and nail from those who thought it was an opportunistic attempt at surfing on Minecraft's success. I remember advertising it as a "really good Castlevania and Minecraft mixup at a very fair price", and playing countless hours on it. I guess most of this is still true, but ultimately I realized I was just too much "into the game" to see its real worth at that time: the time where I didn't finish the game. That's right, this game is no Minecraft, it has an end, and it would be perfectly fine if it weren't for its key detail: being a sandbox game. So yeah, my complaint is that once you finished farming for the best gear, there's nothing left to do for you, unless you are into building which is not as good as other games of this kind (despite I love 2D, retro, and the fact that this game was the first to take said elements into sandbox building). There were some updates after I left: it was my understanding that they were basically just extensions of the same thing: new gear to farm for, and some additional thing here and there. It's a shame, it could have been better than this, the fact that the team admittedly abandoned it (except lately I've been hearing about an update?) didn't help. Still, it's a good game. I think of it much like GTA III, it striked me because it was a kind of game I loved brought to date with the innovations of latest gaming, but ultimately in itself it was boring and lacked features that would have been, luckily for us, added later. I still think it deserves a seven, although the negative things about it are really tempting me to click on the yellow scores, but I have to admit that it's good and not all of those 100 hours I played were out of being hypnotized by farming or something. Expand
  45. Nov 21, 2013
    8
    RPG and sandbox elements in game, combined with scripted events such as bosses. The only downside is I wish they introduced an option to get a server list in game instead of resorting to out of game server lists.
  46. EDB
    Jun 22, 2012
    1
    I found this game boring, ultimately. The combat is not very fun compared to most scrolling games, the exploration is interesting at first but ultimately becomes unrewarding, and after the endgame there's nothing to do.
  47. Sep 10, 2012
    7
    I had fun with this game the first time through. After that it is very boring. You would think there would be more to reach when you get down to the bottom but it is just lava. There is no real reason to gear up with obsidian etc, because there is nothing to beat. The "dungeon" doesn't yield anything worth the trip, you can craft gear that's way better, so there is no point in gearing up for it. The "world bosses" don't drop anything fabulous and are just there to see how fast you can kill them. There are hours and hours to be wasted here, but there is no point to any of it, and you will ask yourself what was it all for? There was nothing to do with all that gear, no climax, no end game, nothing. Also the developer has dropped the game, there are no more updates. What you see is what you get. Steam could remove the "free content updates" as there are no more coming. He also stated he would not release the game for open development as he may not approve in the direction it goes. Worth a pass through, worth 5-$10, but I can honestly say I will never play it again. Expand
  48. Aug 25, 2012
    10
    this game is great.. probable my favorite game out there... i like the fact that you can do whatever you want... there is no story in the game, but kept me playing for over 160 hours... and all for $5... that is money well spent.. the first 3 hours of the game... oh man those were hard as i did not really know what to do/ where to go and eventually ended up using the online wiki. yea this game plays like minecraft but it is not minecraft... its better in my opinion as is focuses on you progressing through the game by getting new gear and fighting new bosses... minecraft on the other hand just felt like a survival simulator and focused on either playing the game as if you were just dropped into the wilderness and had to survive or had amazing powers to just spawn any kind of material one might have wanted to make anything... anyway back to terraria... only 2 really annoying problems with terraria is that its slow at times but hey so is minecraft and the devs stop making updates for terraria (but if you want more items, ores, bosses, etc... there are some really good mods out there for terarria) if you have not bought it yet you should buy it now, and support the new title that is coming out soon Starbound. Expand
  49. Feb 10, 2013
    8
    I, like many other gamers I'm sure, was very skeptical of this game when my friend recommended it to me. When I first saw the videos for it on Youtube, steam, and various other places, I could not help but immediately think of Minecraft in 2-D and who could blame me? After playing it however I realize the there are several differences as well as a few unfortunate similarities between this and Minecraft. First of all, like Minecraft, you will spend a majority of your time digging underground looking for various metals and the such and like Minecraft it's incredibly monotonous trying to find enough to craft everything you need. In fact it's harder to obtain the right amount of material to make things like better armor and weapons and other tools. It goes without saying then that this game is much better and easier with friends, still it is enjoyable playing single player from time to time. The real fun of Terraria comes when you actually get the right amount of materials to create a myriad of different tools, weapons, armor, and accessories for your character to use. There is the basic stuff, things like swords and pickaxes and armor. Then there's a lot of cool stuff that you can't get in Minecraft such as guns, lightsabers, flails, rocket boots, wings, spell books, special charms that turn you into a werewolf, the list goes on. There is a lot that Terraria can offer you but only if you're willing to work very hard to get it, but when you do, you feel awesome. Expand
  50. Sep 4, 2012
    8
    This game, terraria is a very good game. It is a good game for people who are familiar with minecraft. It's the same concept of survival and such and they put a bit more into it. The controls are a bit confusing and hard to work with but other than that, its a very good game.
  51. Sep 9, 2012
    9
    Wonderful game, kept me playing for 220 hours or so, took me about half an hour to really get into it, but when i did, i was hooked! couldnt stop playing this darn game, its gameplay is just drives you to dig more and find more things and even when yourve found everything you can grab a few friends and restart all over again and it will still be enjoyable. everything about this game was good, only wish i had more to explore.
    PS: i dont like minecraft
    Expand
  52. Feb 27, 2014
    9
    Great exploration, great treasure-hunting, great combat, epic fights and a myriad of weapons make Terraria a true masterpiece. There is so much to do, even if all you decide to do is beat all the enemies. You can create or shape vast landscapes and housing, create artificial biomes and item farms, or just have fun beating the pulp out of enemies and bosses. I advise looking at the wiki if you're new, in order to get some idea of what to do.

    HUGE update with 1.2, completely FREE, improved so many aspects of the game and added great content. The developers genuinely care about their fan base. The game was only $2.50 on Steam sale and I played it over 200 hours single player.

    My only complaint is that for multiplayer you have to type in each IP address to get onto the servers, would be a lot easier with a server list or quick-match option.
    Expand
  53. May 31, 2013
    10
    Terraria is a great adventure game. It is simply fun. Open-world, with many dungeons, enemies and bosses, countless weapons and armor sets, and enough variation in accessories so that not all players have the same setup. Particularly fun with friends, but single-player is also fun, if more challenging. It is a little difficult at first, but that ends up adding to the gaming experience.
  54. Dec 17, 2012
    7
    Sidescrolling sandbox game with a focus on multiplayer spelunking. Devs have added tons of content since launch and is a legitimate action game with tons of armor, weapons and spells to collect. Randomized maps provide a new adventure anytime you want to start over and you can easily swap items between maps/servers. Great gameplay made even better with friends.
  55. Nov 5, 2012
    9
    I picked this game up at $9.99 after a recommendation from a friend and have never regretted it. It's whatever you make of it; if you're boring and unimaginative, you'll find it slow-paced and limiting. If you go into it with an open mind you will have a great time. The only reason I haven't rated this game a 10 is that for a lot of things you'll find yourself relying on the Terraria wiki. There's so much variety you should never be bored. Expand
  56. Nov 8, 2012
    9
    My bro gifted this to me on Steam, and let me tell you, it was one of the best days of my life. I spent the next 17 hours running around in 2D mayhem land. The wall system is really cool, needing to have background walls to prevent monsters from spawning. It is a fun game, and I encourage all to buy and play it.
  57. Nov 12, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Terraria is a awesome game. It was the top game on steam for first 6 days of release, but sadly it had stopped development. It also supports mods, that is a party starter for some users. Expand
  58. Mar 29, 2013
    8
    I would like to make an update to my previous review, even though towards the end there is nothing to do, and you most likely have everything in the game, there is still an insane amount of conquering to do in every realm thing. And it is also pretty fun to burn stuff with the lava and such.
  59. Kyr
    Oct 23, 2013
    10
    Amazing Game,The only limit is your imagination and really fun! also,there's a lot of references in the game,and they are all cool! i REALLY recommend trying out,every penny worth's it!
  60. May 3, 2013
    10
    经典的独立游戏代表作,迷你的容量,丰富的内容,单就探索和改造世界的能力就足以令人沉迷许久,并且支持自创服务器邀朋友一起共同冒险。绝对是2D版“我的世界”不二之选。值得收藏和细细把玩。同时期待其精神上的续作Starbound。
  61. Dec 9, 2012
    5
    It gets very boring fast, not being able to create really interesting good looking structures like you could imagine. Minecraft had a payoff of a really nice looking 3-D art structure to make you feel proud of yourself, well Terraria tried it but the result didn't end good.
  62. May 28, 2013
    10
    Terraria is a fun game you have many things to do and discover they will add OVER 3000 items on this patch the game is a 2D platformer 9,99 euros for me has so problems so i dont play it anymore but it is my favorite game i am waiting for Starbound
  63. Jun 2, 2013
    9
    A nice little game that is quite similar to many other games but in my opinion is better due to the combat focus and the exploration focus over other games' building focus.The jump from normal mode to hard mode is a little too big though
  64. Jan 16, 2013
    10
    I think that all users must give 10 for this game. The ones who don't like it are that ones who don't like this sort of games. I liked it when i saw it for first time. Please like and give 10.
  65. Jan 19, 2013
    9
    I honestly like this game more than Minecraft, which many consider it to be a knockoff of. While you do mine various metals and have pickaxes, it end there. Terraria Has everything from unicorns to laser shooting machine guns, and while the game doesn't portray their vast expanse of items immediately, as you play into the game, you will see how much of a great game Terraria is.
  66. Mar 11, 2013
    10
    Utterly fantastic game, I have clocked in over 100 hours and still not bored. Normally on Steam sales quite often, it should be hard to miss this. Unfortunately many compare this to Minecraft, which is a shame as this game stands on its own two feet, the pixel art is charming, enchanting soundtrack and uber fun gameplay, the multiplayer can be pretty mental too. I will be picking this up again when launched on consoles. Expand
  67. Jan 26, 2014
    9
    This game is amazingly fun over and over and over again. People say it's a Minecraft ripoff, but don't listen to them. The only similarities it has with Minecraft is the fact you can dig underground, that's all. Terraria is more focused on an RPG aspect and has a larger variety of pretty much everything. The only real problem I really had with it was the annoying falling damage and the fact that hardmode starts off a bit unfair, I guess.

    I have no idea why people keep saying it's "minecraft without all the cool stuff" because in my opinion, Terraria, even prior to 1.1, had cooler stuff than Minecraft. The armors and weapons are all different, unlike in Minecraft where there's not only a total of 5 weapons or something, but 4 of them are the same sword recolored, and the other one is a bow.

    I find this game a lot better because it has way better replay value and lasts a lot longer than Minecraft, is more fair than Minecraft, and the overall design just seems better.
    Expand
  68. Mar 8, 2013
    9
    Game companies love to try and mix irregular genres together every once and a while, and when Re-Logic tried it out, I was pleasantly surprised to see that it worked. Terraria is somewhat of a platforming-sidescrolling-sandbox-RPG, with a great balance of all three genres. I know this game gets a bit of hate for being a "2-D ripoff of Minecraft", but when you take into account how much more this game is combat/RPG focused than MC is, I think it makes a better stand-alone game. Mods aren't required to make it fun, and this game has much better online PVP from what I've noticed. Think of it as Contra-meets-Minecraft-meets-Just Cause 2. Expand
  69. Aug 29, 2013
    8
    Terraria continues to receive hefty updates, even as Starbound's release date edges closer. There's a ton of stuff to do in this game, and while comparisons to Minecraft are understandable, Terraria offers a lot more content. The exploration elements are great, though environments do get repetitive due to the small number of biomes (being rectified in Starbound thankfully). Combat is fast-paced and unforgiving, and hordes of zombies knocking on your doorstep every night keeps you tense and focused. Terraria is a great game to sink a lot of hours into just experimenting. Expand
  70. Mar 1, 2013
    9
    With the amount of fun I've had on this game, 70+ hours, I'd love to give it a 10. Though, it does need some polishing, which I why I give it a 9. Anyone who believes it is a Minecraft copy will be disappointed, because, it isn't. Sure it uses similar ideas, but what voxel sandbox game doesn't share ideas? With different bosses, loads of monsters (more to come in a update soon), and a whole extra gameplay mode (Hardmode) after beating the last boss, this game has a ton to offer. Did I mention it's only 10$?! The polishing this game needs is highly understood also, seeing as in early stages it was hacked and the lead developer was forced to release it unfinished, so he could get credit for his game.
    Overall, this game will give much more play time than any 60$ game in my opinion. It already has for me, and I'm just entering Hardmode.
    Expand
  71. Mar 20, 2013
    10
    This game was unexpectedly fun and unexpectedly complicated. No way you can judge the game by simply seeing it being played by someone else. You have to place it and understand the mechanics... the fighting, the armor upgrades, the grapling hooks, the guns, the flying... It is really one of the most entertaining games I have. Some have rated Half life 2 as 90+ but I played both at the same time, Half life 2 was boring compared to this game. Expand
  72. Mar 23, 2013
    9
    It is a great 2d survival, action game. Hosts of weapons, spells, and potions keep combat fresh and interesting. Mine your way to better weapons and build giant pieces of art whilst exploring expansive worlds. What annoys me isn't the game, but people who say this is a wannabe Minecraft clone. Minecraft did not create the survival genre or mining, in fact, Minecraft was and still could be considered, an Infiminer clone. This is confirmed as well. This is also more about combat. Expand
  73. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    I just love this game, it was more than i was expecting. My friend who's name shall remain sufficient for now gifted me this game and i played it instantly since there is so much rave and talk about it. After the first hour of playing with my friend I was nearly addicted. If I were you I would play this game. It is only about 2.50 USD on steam. Enjoy
  74. May 4, 2013
    10
    This game stole nothing from minecraft is everyone thinking that if a game has building stuff and zombies at night that is it just stealing from minecraft?Terraria has more than minecraft more weapons biomes bosses and more.Terraria is better than minecraft in many ways.
  75. Apr 10, 2013
    8
    Terraria is an amazing game, taking from all aspects: free-roam, rpg, adventure, sandbox, and allows you to do plenty of things in game, such as boss fights, creating your own world, and exploring dungeons and caverns to expand your wealth and arsenal. The sad thing about Terraria is that creativity isn't that possible in 2D compared to minecraft where 3D is amazingly easy, and when you have all the end-game items there really isn't much to do but delete your character, delete your world and start all over again; or try to make farms of all sorts. The annoying thing about Terraria is that it's very easy when you get the end-game armour and weapons, leaving you to try and figure out what to do. A little imagination, however, can go a long way. Making farms and houses look visually appealing, making boss or gameplay challenges (underwater fight, no armour/potions fight, tier1 gear fight, etc# can make the game a lot more fun than people think. the disappointing thing is that Terraria's updates are slow #especially since they only started updating it again after the 1.1.2 release#, and there's no supply&demand other than ammunition for ranged weapons which is easily accomodated as items have no durability #unlike minecraft) If you enjoy exploring, surviving, creating things to your appeal; then I'd reccomend this game for you, because with a little imagination, something simple goes a long way Expand
  76. Apr 25, 2013
    10
    Terraria is an very addictive game you will always find new things to build in your world and there is a ton of items, biomes to explore.

    I got this game in the Steam indie games sale for 3$, or normally, it would be 10$.
    Worth buying this game!
  77. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    Retro 16-bit-style 2D platformer (of sorts) reminiscent of the early days of gaming but with a unique flavour of its own. "Dig! Fight! Explore! Build!" Is the motto of the game and that's what you do. The game takes place on an immense randomly generated map. Dig deep into this map to find items to craft, precious metals to forge into armour, enemies to fight who drop rare and powerful items, end bosses, unique environments, a plethora of weapons to find and craft, and a whole lot more. A seemingly simple game that many will inevitably sink hundreds, some even thousands, of hours into. 10/10 Expand
  78. Mar 12, 2014
    9
    I have to admit, I bought this game and it was in my steam library a few months before I got into it. After I really started playing it, I was having a blast. I would sit down to check up on my house and ended up playing this for 5 or 6 hour sessions at a time. All of this review so far is pre 1.2 update, by the way. I really think this is one of the best games out there to just relax and have a good time. Anyone who buys this on PC, (Xbox 360 version SUCKED), will have the time of their life while playing this. For only $10 on Steam, that is an AMAZING price for endless hours of fun I have proudly clocked in 231 hours to this wonder, and am still pleased with it's experience. This is an amazing product and you should definitely buy it. Only if it's on PC though. Expand
  79. May 4, 2013
    10
    I like Terraria and i bought it when i was 7, so ik got it 3 whole YEARS and i know how to make a server it a great time but now is the server in hardmode and there is 11% corrupt and 9% hallow so we made much Holy Water but my brother wants the world not complete hallow and then we need spend more coins out on the Drayd and now we are bored but it Terraria is AWSOME so play it now!
  80. May 15, 2013
    10
    Absolutely amazing game. I bought it in the late 2011 if i remember correctly, played it all summer with my friends! If you enjoy alot of action, items and building stuff, you will adore this game, 100% better than Minecraft in my personal opinion! Buy this game, people!
  81. May 16, 2013
    10
    Terraria is my favorite game... so... I NEED A UPDATE!!! the 1.1.2 is boring and old... i like the adventures, the monster, the sandbox and the bosses, TERRARIA HAVE ALL OF THIS THINGS!!!
  82. May 16, 2013
    9
    I was not a fan of minecraft (as often compared to a 2D version of it), but I completely enjoyed the casual gameplay, especially with friends. I spent countless hours trying to get weapons good enough to defeat bosses and have the enjoyment and also remorse of rendering a large world and getting lost exploring trying to find more material or my way back out of the ground alive so that I may keep my things.

    The game is relatively cheap, and it often goes on sale on steam, so I highly recommend this game for everyone. I wish they didn't stop updating it, but it is still a really great game to have in your arsenal. I literally bought this game for everyone I knew, spent well over 100 dollars worth of copies (on sale each time).
    Expand
  83. May 26, 2013
    10
    Terraria is an amazing game that takes everything you love about minecraft adds some unique rpg elements and character customization this game is a must play it gets very addicting and you will find yourself playing more than minecraft so check that out on steam and its half the price of minecraft thats always a plus
  84. May 28, 2013
    8
    Often accused of being a 2D Minecraft clone, Terraria proves that this couldn't be further from the truth. While I admit they do have some similarities, when you get into the meat of the game it becomes it's own thing. Accompanied with an enchanting soundtrack and charming retro pixel art, Terraria has become one of my favorites.
  85. Oct 22, 2013
    10
    Terraria is the better sandbox game of the last year.
    Big, various and nice!

    Crafting, exploration and monster are the parts that make this game great.
  86. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    I absolutely love Terraria.
    You're thrown into a randomly generated world, it's that simple. There is no tutorial waiting for you, it's your choice to either go off and explore the world around you, dig for materials or build to space. You get three basic tools, a sword, a pick-axe and an axe to get you started. Once you chip away and play further into the game, you get sucked in, the
    combat has a great flow to it with many varying weapons and tonnes of enemies to fight including boss battles with Giant Eyeballs or entire Armies of Goblins. What I also love about Terraria is that the enemies aren't push overs (except for puny little green and blue slimes) If you aren't prepared to fight then you're going to get beaten to a pulp, unless of course you're amazing at plat-formers like Super Mario, then you can just use your plat-forming prowess to avoid all kinds of incoming onslaughts (However you can't go on forever doing this)
    The Games amount of content is astounding and it will have you playing for hours (Around 70 hours from start to finish)
    I think to be honest, for the price, just go and buy it. If you're cautious. buy it on a sale where it will cost next to nothing. Then, sit back relax, then play Teraria and prepare for a good time.
    Expand
  87. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    Terraria is an awesome game to explore, it suck's that the world isn't infinite and it only runs on windows. Besides that it's awesome to play with you're friends!
  88. Jun 20, 2013
    9
    Terraria has earned its place as one of the best indie games of all time. Terraria, while it has no real satisfaction in building, has magic, the Underworld, many bosses, and great mining sequences. Pair that with the great end game and you get a phenomenal experience. The combat is also fluent and can become easily overwhelming if you are not wary of you weapon usage and environment. Terraria is addicting, fun, and overall a great game. Expand
  89. Jun 30, 2013
    7
    When I was browsing through steam looking for a budget game to play on my spare time, I came up with Terraria. I was hooked in by the trailer. It showed me a mix of platform shooter/minecraft type of game. As a kid I loved to play platform shooters in the arcades. I must say that my first experience with Terraria was positive and the game really sucked me in and I even lost some sleep because of it. I was sure that it would be a great experience, I was right and wrong at the same time.

    Pros:
    + The game is highly entertaining for as long as it lasts.
    + A perfect mix of farming materials, shooting, slashing and killing bosses
    + It has a vast variety of objects to craft
    + If the 1.2 patch will be free for PC it's a great addition to the game.

    Cons:
    - This one is a HUGE minus. The game's monster killing part for me was very short. It took my around 40 hours to be prancing around in full Hallowed armor. I didn't feel like I was rushing through it either. After killing the same bosses again in few minutes I was done with Terraria. The boss encounters didn't provide me with a challenge that I wanted in the first place. I didn't build any arenas or make the encounters easier, simply put the bosses were too easy in my opinion.
    - I felt that the balance between melee and ranged weapons was bad. There's no point in using melee weapons because ranged weapons/magic will get the job done much more easily than the melee weapons do.
    - Building in 2-D wasn't very appealing to me and discovering new caves or creating new worlds didn't add much to the game.
    - Playing an already easy game in multiplayer will just break it, since afaik the boss HP does not scale with the amount of players facing the boss. I realize this would be hard to program since servers can support so many players but still I feel it would be necessary to make killing the bosses even remotely challenging.

    Conclusion:
    I think the game was well worth the money I spent on it. I mean 40 hours of fun for 10 is something very special these days, compared to the 50€ you spend on brand new games, which can't buy you more than 12-20 hours of fun. However, I would call it a casual game for younger/inexperienced audiences. If you're looking for a game that challenges you (and your friends), look elsewhere.
    Expand
  90. Jul 13, 2013
    8
    I think Terraria is a great game!

    Some may say this is a 2-D Minecraft

    Their wrong

    Minecraft has lots of building, Terraria is all about the adventure, with many bosses, underground dungeons, you can go to hell!

    It's awesome!
  91. Jul 12, 2013
    10
    Terraria is a game that has various cool elements brought together in epic ways, there isn't leveling, nor is there a skill tree, it's still an rpg though. It has epic mining which is the only part that's much like games like minecraft, it also has Castlevania/Metroid/Zelda elements which is in the form of awesome loot, it also has nice original monster, epic boss fights, a good soundtrack, and on the moment I'm typing this there is a big patch in development that will double the amount of items available in the game. If you like games that are rewarding, fun to play and the ability to easily sink up to hundreds or thousand of hours of gameplay without getting bored, this is the game. Expand
  92. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    I can't say enough good things about this game. Old-school looks, randomly generated worlds, sandbox style go anywhere do anything game, it's like an SNES side scroller mixed with a RPG and minecraft. This game is just FUN and you can sink many hours into it. The only downside to this game is that it is no longer updated, because there is a lot more that could be added in.
  93. Dec 3, 2013
    8
    There is a lot of people that gives 0 and tells you "its like Minecraft but without all the cool items" and so on. This game is not like Minecraft at all. i get upset because people are saying this. all games where you have to mine is not a rip off of Minecraft. this is a solid and good 2D game. does not deserve the 0´s. This game got A LOT more stuff then minecraft has. i play both and i like both. there are not even close to the same game! Expand
  94. Oct 1, 2013
    10
    I will not give a game a 10 unless its an all-time favorite. I think there are maybe 4-5 games I've ever played that I would give a 10. This is one of them.

    I demand a lot from games, I detest the mainstream blandness. This game has absolute magic from beginning to end. I've played nearly 400 hours and the MASSIVE and GLORIOUS 1.2 Update just went live. See you in December.
  95. Aug 16, 2013
    9
    I never regretted spending my time on this game. It just have enough content to enjoy for hours. Those who say it's a minecraft copy should play this game before saying that, because its false.
  96. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    I love this game. Get over 100 hours into that game. This game is much deeper than you think you not only kill bosses and explore, but unlock modes found rare items make traps pvp with your friends and much more with 1.2 update it become one of my favorites sandbox games.
  97. Sep 5, 2013
    10
    Terraria ist so GEIL Ihr müsst es im Multiplayer mit Freunden zocken wie Minecraft nur mit Vielen Funktionen es gibt Viele Bosse Neue Erze und Viele Items
  98. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    94 hours... i spent playing this game according to steam.... 94 hours... You could say, "well 94 hours is not that much after a year owning the game..." but no. I spent 94 hours playing this game... in 1 week. 1 week. do the math... seriously DO NOT PLAY THIS IF YOU HAVE A WEEK OFF!!!

    Sandbox... 2d. simple. intuitive (must be brain dead not to understand this(if by any chance you are..
    use a search tool called google ffs and quit doing anything harder than messing in paint...)) and... challening even though lol its still easy for those who want...

    A true masterpiece... definetly not a ripoff minecraft... its like saying any game of a specific genre is a rip off a game of the same genre that came before... lol just because both are sandbox and 1 of the elements is building stuff doesnt mean this is a ripoff..

    If i had to describe it with 1 word, it would be addicting... so many things to work on, to make progress. And it is sooo easy to see how it gets harder and what you should do if you want to continue and improve.. seriously... deeper harder nough said.
    Expand
  99. Sep 11, 2013
    8
    Offers a wonderful mix of action/adventure, dungeon-crawling, and sandbox gameplay that can be surprisingly deep despite the deceptively simple retro-2D graphical style.

    With randomly-generated worlds that you could mould to however you like; this game has replay value that is only limited by your imagination!
  100. Jun 12, 2013
    0
    Terraria is a fun game. It has a nice combat system that gets more complex as it goes on. It focuses mostly on adventure, with some building here and there. There are plenty of bosses and enemies to fight. There are also many biomes to explore. There are a lot of items, including boomerangs and grappling hooks. It has one of my favorite end games of any games. There are a few mods to explore in this game as well. Terraria is a really good game, some may just say that it's a 2D Minecraft, but it is much, much more. Buy this game. Collapse
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Mar 19, 2012
    83
    Terraria is one of the best sandbox games. Terraria has some Minecraft spirit, however the focus of the game is on fighting and crafting, so it involves more action. The best way to enjoy Terraria is to play it with a couple of friends on your own server.
  2. Mar 16, 2012
    70
    It's a title that will appeal to the adventurer, the explorer and the builder; not to mention those who appreciate a substantial amount of player freedom. If you happen to be all of those things, Terraria is a lightly tarnished treasure.
  3. Mar 14, 2012
    83
    A lot of games tried to copy Minecraft – or at least participate from its' success. But this two-dimensional take on the well known formula is the only game that is able to step out of the shadow of the indie phenomenon that inspired it. It leads you into a unique world full of creative magic.