User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1296 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 31, 2013
    10
    Terraria is a great adventure game. It is simply fun. Open-world, with many dungeons, enemies and bosses, countless weapons and armor sets, and enough variation in accessories so that not all players have the same setup. Particularly fun with friends, but single-player is also fun, if more challenging. It is a little difficult at first, but that ends up adding to the gaming experience.
  2. Jan 17, 2012
    10
    Awesome game with friends. It is like metroid and minecraft smashed together into a fun little romp of fun. Play with friends !!! Not only does it allow the game to be easier, but it allows for other social benefits such as chuckling hysterically as your friend falls 400 feet into lava.
  3. Sep 1, 2011
    9
    It's pretty obvious that I wasn't the first person to think, "Hey, I bet this is exactly like Minecraft but in 2D!" Some mechanics may be similar to (or exactly like) Minecraft in some ways, but I found Terraria's atmosphere to be much stronger than Minecraft, and I think the exact same way about the music. Whether you're into Minecraft or not, I would still consider checking this out. The game being in 2D simplifies some things and makes them less of a hassle - this includes performance issues. The only negative thing I can say about Terraria is that the crafting can take a bit longer to get used to, but the internet is flooded with tutorials and wikis, so it won't take you long to get it under your belt. If the developers of the game are reading this, you did an excellent job. Seriously. Expand
  4. Sep 11, 2011
    9
    Don't be fooled, its not some minecraft rip-off with 2D graphics, its actually so diffirent that you might love it even if you hated minecraft, and otherwise. But here you have more stuff to do, other than just building.
  5. Nov 18, 2013
    9
    Single Player/Multi Player (2/2) (If the single player is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no multplayer) (If the multiplayer is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no single player) Gameplay (1/2) Visuals/Story (1/2) (If the visuals are better than the story, review this section as if it had no story) (If the story is better than the visuals, review this section as if the visuals didn’t matter)

    Accessibility/Longevity (2/2)

    (Review this section only on Accessibility if the game has no longevity) (Review this section only on longevity if the game isn’t accessible)

    Pricing (2/2)

    Wildcard (+1)

    This is a guideline for how to properly review games. Many reviewers like to get a “feel” for a game, and arbitrarily give a game a score that they believe it deserves. This results in wildly different scores between different reviewers, and vastly different scores between similar games. This guideline addresses these problems and scores games fairly and consistently. This guideline also gives scores that are usually similar to the metacritic score.

    The review score is based out of 10 points. There are no “half” or 0.5 increments. It is impossible to have a score above 10 or below 0. The review score will change as the game gets new dlc, drops in price, or if more secrets are found through the game increasing its appeal.

    The scoring is split into 6 sections. The first five sections can add a possible 2 points to the final score. The first 5 sections are Single Player/Multi Player, Gameplay, Visuals/Story, Accessibility/Longevity, and Pricing.

    Notice that 3 of these sections have two parts. These particular sections will be scored based on the stronger part of the game of the two. For example, if a game has a lousy single player campaign, but an excellent multiplayer component, that section will be based solely on the multiplayer as if the single player did not exist. This allows games to be based on their own merits, as many unnecessary features are shoehorned into video games by publishers to reach a “feature quota”. Games that excel in both areas of a section don’t receive should be noted in the written review, but cannot increase the score past 2 in that section. However, it can be taken into account in the final section

    The final section can add 1, add 0, or subtract 1 to the final score. This final section is the “wildcard” section. This section is for how the reviewer “feels” about the game, but limits this only to this section, rather than the entire 10 point review. This section can include any positive or negative point that was not covered in the previous 5 sections.
    Expand
  6. Mar 12, 2012
    10
    There's a lot of obvious parallels between Terarria and Minecraft, but Redigit's masterpiece achieves a much greater depth than Notch's effort. With a greater emphasis on combat and exploration, it's obvious from the start that Terraria is something truly unique. Fans of Castlevania will enjoy the gorgeous retro, pixelated 2D graphics. There truly is a huge amount of content, and with regular updates this game is a steal at $10. Expand
  7. May 19, 2011
    10
    I believe that Indie developers are the key to thinking outside of the box to create games that aren't copying others entirely. Sure this game shares similarites with Minecraft and other games, but I believe this mashup of Minecraft, RPG and adventure games makes this title quite unique. Its an absolutely awesome game that I think everyone should play. It's only $10 people, buy it now and have some fun, Terraria is excellent. Expand
  8. Jan 21, 2012
    9
    This game is always in the top 10 most played steam games, with about 20,000 players on daily. Next to kings like TF2, CS and Skyrim. Ignore the red reviews and just ask yourself if this is something you could enjoy, BEFORE buying it. 407 positive reviews to 56 negative... And every negative is upset it's like minecraft! They make no secrets about that, it's obvious before purchase. Then it has tons of rad wiring traps and explosives and lighting and rediculous amounts of custom weapons, accessories, combinations, clothes armor and even ammo types. If you don't feel any nostalgia for the 2D era you should acknowledge that before you even consider buying, because it takes an imagination to lose yourself in a platform world with no ending. That being said I'm 70 hours into just building and digging mines, and I couldn't be having more fun. I played minecraft for 5 hours and it has WAY less going on than terraria. 20000 active steam players a day can't be wrong. Expand
  9. Jun 25, 2014
    9
    One of the best Indie games i've ever played, ever. Picked it up 2 days ago and i already have 21 hours in it. Terraria doesn't fail to surprise with new monsters, items, and places to explore. It's similar to Minecraft is a few ways, but very different in many others. If you have a few friends to play this game with, there's no reason you shouldn't pick this game up!
  10. Aug 2, 2011
    9
    More directed action and adventure than Minecraft, this 2D platformer is part Metroid, part Minecraft, and all good. Easily one of the best games of 2011.
  11. Jan 9, 2012
    9
    Terraria is a surprisingly fun sandbox platformer game. It provides a perfect balance between building, exploring, crafting, and fighting. The graphics and sound are going to win any awards, but they provide a neat retro feel. The game could use a better tutorial, and digging can be a bit frustrating early on until you get some better mining tools. Once you get past the initial stages of the game, it's easy to get immersed in the game, and there is a lot to do. Expand
  12. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    I try my very hardest not to give out 10s. Isn't the whole point of perfection that it can't ever be achieved? Anyway, I feel this game truly deserves it. I'm a huge fan of side-scrolling games like Castlevania, so this game spoke to me on that sort of primal level. Not only that though, but it has mining, crafting, and creation sort of like Minecraft. IT IS NOT MINECRAFT THOUGH. I don't get why people are so gung-ho about comparing the two. Anyway, I could go on and on about how I love the graphic-style, the music, the boss fights, the dungeons and biomes, and how this game teases my inner collector, but the best praise I could ever give this game is the following: When I sit down to play, I forget to eat and drink. Pizza goes cold, and soda goes flat. True story. Also, it's only $10 and the developers are CONSTANTLY adding more content through free updates. I can't wait for 1.1 to come out. Expand
  13. May 4, 2012
    9
    this game is another retro style marvel, and FYI, its NOT A MINE CRAFT RIPOFF! , its a good game good music, retro graphics, i personalty liked this game
  14. Feb 27, 2014
    9
    Great exploration, great treasure-hunting, great combat, epic fights and a myriad of weapons make Terraria a true masterpiece. There is so much to do, even if all you decide to do is beat all the enemies. You can create or shape vast landscapes and housing, create artificial biomes and item farms, or just have fun beating the pulp out of enemies and bosses. I advise looking at the wiki if you're new, in order to get some idea of what to do.

    HUGE update with 1.2, completely FREE, improved so many aspects of the game and added great content. The developers genuinely care about their fan base. The game was only $2.50 on Steam sale and I played it over 200 hours single player.

    My only complaint is that for multiplayer you have to type in each IP address to get onto the servers, would be a lot easier with a server list or quick-match option.
    Expand
  15. Jul 30, 2011
    9
    Spent a good 70 hours on the very first version of the game, simply a great platformer that revisits old SNES themes melded with the ingenuity of Minecraft in two-dimensions. Sadly re-playability is a problem for me due to its lack of content however, the developers are doing an immensely great job at updating their game with new content!
  16. Jul 20, 2011
    9
    Don't be dismissive and say instantly that it's just 2D Minecraft, it's actually really fun. It feels like a cross between Minecraft and Castlevania, so if you like either, give this game a try. However, while it's a sandbox, I did get the impression that I'd beaten the game as soon as I got myself the best items, but they're still adding content to the game in large worthwhile updates, so let's hope they make the game longer, so to speak. Expand
  17. Oct 7, 2011
    9
    No way you can fault this game for lack of content. There's plenty, and (semi-)random-generation of items, caverns, and veins keeps the game interesting for many hours. With all sandbox-type games, however, there comes a point where you feel like you've gone through just about everything there is to explore. You know how the mechanics work, how enemies work - you've found all the interesting artifacts, and have the NPCs you're interested in. .... And then you go online to see the Terraria Wiki, and -- HOLY #(%*, there's a freaking CLOUD level! You find out you've only explored half the content, and on your way to explore it, the devs release even more new content in an update. Content updates in Terraria are a real treat. It's not just a few balance changes and a a couple new items -- they add new biomes, more monsters, a new NPC, different trees, new mechanics, many new weapons, and major crafting changes. Even if you do play Minecraft, and reviewers are correct in calling Terraria a "2d minecraft clone," the vast amount of different content, different mechanics, and environments still make Terreria a bargain, and likely a very fresh, enjoyable experience for you. Expand
  18. Jul 17, 2011
    10
    When I first heard of Terraria I had a look and thought "Yeah that looks pretty cool" and decided to give it a try. It was very different to what I was expecting, but was still amazing! One of the best 2D Platformers I've ever played. It's also very Addictive
  19. Jun 20, 2013
    9
    Terraria has earned its place as one of the best indie games of all time. Terraria, while it has no real satisfaction in building, has magic, the Underworld, many bosses, and great mining sequences. Pair that with the great end game and you get a phenomenal experience. The combat is also fluent and can become easily overwhelming if you are not wary of you weapon usage and environment. Terraria is addicting, fun, and overall a great game. Expand
  20. Jun 5, 2014
    9
    Get a group of friends, build things, adventure, and fight things. It's a great game. I only gave it a 9 because every once and a while your friends won't all be on the same page, and you can have some boring spells, also connecting everyone together is sometimes a huge pain, hamachi can be flaky sometimes. In general it's pretty addicting though, and has so many different things you can do.
  21. Aug 24, 2011
    10
    A great game, especially for the price. Some may say its a ripoff of Minecraft, but I would have to disagree, I own both games and have spent hundreds of hours in both. Think of it as a 2D version of minecraft that had much less emphasis on building things, and much more emphasis on adventure and combat. if you liked Minecraft, you will very likely love Terraria as well. The only real bad thing is when you have collected pretty much everything... because at that point, it doesnt really feel like you have all too much left to do in the game. Expand
  22. Jun 25, 2011
    10
    Of course many are offering this experience as a cheap knock-off of Minecraft's success, when in fact, its a powerhouse of an indie game, and surpasses Minecraft's core experiences by far. At most, similarities found in the games are their crafting systems and the possibility of some freeform building, which differ greatly when comparing both expieriences. But by offering an intense 2D sandbox expierience that offers a multitude of mobs, an old-school RPG expierience, tons of biomes with secrets located in the skies and underground, and an evergrowing slew of updates providing diverse new items, power-ups, weapons, and enemies, Terraria delivers with astounding gameplay that still leaves me addicted to this date. Re-Logic, well done. Expand
  23. Jun 18, 2012
    9
    This game is so fun. The multiplayer is amazing, its easy to join servers and making them is also easy. The game is 5-10 bucks and its a real bargain. Many players and a lot of items. This game is really fun. People compare it to Minecraft, but I find this BETTER than minecraft. For one, the gameplay is faster and you can make more out of your time than minecrafts hide in a cave type of game. This game has more items than minecraft and has a easy multiplayer, unlike minecraft's servers. Down side is that it can be a bit boring, but if your bored with minecraft, even the boring parts will seem more active than minecrafts. Expand
  24. Oct 1, 2013
    10
    I will not give a game a 10 unless its an all-time favorite. I think there are maybe 4-5 games I've ever played that I would give a 10. This is one of them.

    I demand a lot from games, I detest the mainstream blandness. This game has absolute magic from beginning to end. I've played nearly 400 hours and the MASSIVE and GLORIOUS 1.2 Update just went live. See you in December.
  25. May 14, 2012
    9
    At one point I liked this better than Minecraft. Not for the crafting or building that much as for the adventuring. The RPG elements were a big plus for it. But then the big update came and made me drop the game forever. Before the update if you wanted to be fast you got a shadow armor. You wanted to be strong you got a molten armor. The game was balanced. After the update they put three new kinds of armor that made the old armors useless. The whole game now was about getting enough adamantite to make adamantite armor with your favorite helmet and that was all. After you made that armor the game was again a piece of cake and all other armors were just worse than your's. Before the update there were so many fun ways to play your character which were lost after the update. After the update you could combine most accessories and keep like double in quantity active on you so more customization options were lost since you can now hold practically all useful accessories at the same time instead of choosing a playstyle based on the few you could keep on you.

    Most unbalancing update I've ever seen in a game. Would be 9/10 without this update. Would be 10/10 if the update managed to keep the balance instead of adding a few uber-items.
    Expand
  26. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    I just love this game, it was more than i was expecting. My friend who's name shall remain sufficient for now gifted me this game and i played it instantly since there is so much rave and talk about it. After the first hour of playing with my friend I was nearly addicted. If I were you I would play this game. It is only about 2.50 USD on steam. Enjoy
  27. Jan 26, 2014
    9
    This game is amazingly fun over and over and over again. People say it's a Minecraft ripoff, but don't listen to them. The only similarities it has with Minecraft is the fact you can dig underground, that's all. Terraria is more focused on an RPG aspect and has a larger variety of pretty much everything. The only real problem I really had with it was the annoying falling damage and the fact that hardmode starts off a bit unfair, I guess.

    I have no idea why people keep saying it's "minecraft without all the cool stuff" because in my opinion, Terraria, even prior to 1.1, had cooler stuff than Minecraft. The armors and weapons are all different, unlike in Minecraft where there's not only a total of 5 weapons or something, but 4 of them are the same sword recolored, and the other one is a bow.

    I find this game a lot better because it has way better replay value and lasts a lot longer than Minecraft, is more fair than Minecraft, and the overall design just seems better.
    Expand
  28. Jul 13, 2011
    10
    one of the funnest games i've ever played. i never thought a 2D minecraft would be fun or even possible but they did it. also the price is fantastic, definitely worth $10
  29. Jan 6, 2013
    10
    The pinnacle of sandbox games. If you're a MineCraft fan, definitely take a gander at one of the most interesting indie titles in a long time. This game made me a believer again. A believer in the magic of Gaming!
  30. Apr 8, 2013
    9
    Brilliant. The way the game scales difficulty and introduced new things to you as you continue to explore the game is wonderful. Hard mode is a bit irritating with your homeland town being constantly harassed by malicious enemies if you don't prepare it thoroughly, and I was a bit disappointed once I finished exploring the whole world and had only boss fights to look forward to rather than more exploration, but overall a really fun game I sunk a good 60 hours into. Expand
  31. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    incredibly addicting. Even more addicting than binding of isaac. Points for longevity: 10/10
    I like how you can do what you want and in what order you want in this game. You can make better weapons, armor, guns etc. Gameplay: 10/10. Graphics are good. I think they could have been a little better but they are good enough: 8/10. Music and sounds are good but not great. 8/10. Ovreall still....
  32. Mar 8, 2013
    9
    Game companies love to try and mix irregular genres together every once and a while, and when Re-Logic tried it out, I was pleasantly surprised to see that it worked. Terraria is somewhat of a platforming-sidescrolling-sandbox-RPG, with a great balance of all three genres. I know this game gets a bit of hate for being a "2-D ripoff of Minecraft", but when you take into account how much more this game is combat/RPG focused than MC is, I think it makes a better stand-alone game. Mods aren't required to make it fun, and this game has much better online PVP from what I've noticed. Think of it as Contra-meets-Minecraft-meets-Just Cause 2. Expand
  33. May 21, 2011
    10
    It's not Minecraft, even though it very obviously borrows a lot of elements from it. It's got much more character development and feels a lot more fleshed out - more decoration, more different areas and enemies, special events and NPCs... It's very addictive, though it doesn't have the huge replay value of Minecraft. Regardless, it is absolutely worth the ten euros.
  34. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    Ive been wandering around this game for a while until now were i just bought it on Steam. I love it. Its a 2D adventure rpg game where you can spend long hours and not being bored at all, at least for me. Most people prefer Minecraft because its 3D , its better bla bla bla, i dont care. Terraria has all that and more. Great weapons, great graphics despite being 2D, the bosses are great, the environment is smooth and many more things that i cant explain because i have no words but just: its great. Also play with friends and enjoy hours of fun and creativeness, i recommend everyone stop playing Minecraft and just give a few hours of Terraria and then tell us what do you think about this. Expand
  35. Dec 20, 2011
    9
    Looking to dump hours of your time into a procedurally generated world? Look no further. You begin with basic equipment to deal with basic enemies like slimes and soon you are outrunning a wall of flesh withmagic boots while firing meteor-infused bullets from a gun that is half shark. And that's only pre-hardmode content. If this is your kind of game you will easily get play time from this game to match any AAA title while also paying next to nothing Expand
  36. Jun 8, 2011
    10
    I'm not going to lie, at first I was really turned off by Terraria. Why would anyone want to play a 2D minecraft clone when we already got minecraft? Then I took another look at it because my friend insisted it was amazing. I watched the trailer, and started picking up on things that definitely weren't MC like. I started poking around and giving it a chance. Now I'm hooked, it's such an awesome adventure game! There's so much to explore and see, always something new, it's hard to get bored. Terraria doesn't deserve to be held up to MC; It's a fine adventure sandbox game all unto itself either way. Now I did poke into the wiki a bit, and started noticing just how much there was to see and do. I recommend you do what I am doing and keep your game as spoiler free as possible. You'll really only have to look at the wiki if you have honestly run out of things to do. Play it in multiplayer if you can as well, that alone really helped improve my experience. Expand
  37. May 19, 2011
    10
    This game is incredible. It takes the building and mining of Minecraft and puts it together with the equipment, combat, looting, and dungeon crawling of a sidescrolling action RPG. Don't listen to the people who give it negative score and say it's a "Minecraft Copy". It's obviously inspired by Minecraft but this game differs in that instead of just being a creative building tool like Minecraft, it's more about the adventure as you are rewarded more for exploring and combat and boss fights than anything else.

    At first glance it may look like a 2D Minecraft but when you actually put time in to it and give it a chance you will see this game has an incredible amount of depth that Minecraft and most other games do not have.
    Expand
  38. Jul 12, 2011
    9
    This game is much more than a rehash of Minecraft. Less emphasis is placed on construction, and more is placed on exploration and actual gameplay. The difficulty scales well for anybody from casual players to the more hardcore, and the game rewards thoughtful building to protect yourself from enemies.
  39. Nov 24, 2013
    9
    I really love it when I'm playing with my friend, as we can build a world with each other's help. The only problem is that I got bored later on into the game.
  40. Jul 21, 2011
    10
    I absolutely love this game. Me my brother and his friend will play this hours at a time! the game is so addicting and keeps you coming back for more.
  41. Nov 1, 2011
    9
    I'm only writing this review because night has started in my Terraria. And I can happily tell you that Terraria is unique and near nostalgic in itself. Are you a crafter? An adventurer? Or a fighter? It's all up for you to decide on what you become in your own sandbox like world. The concept of Terraria is refining, the execution is majestic. Now if you excuse me, I have to fight some eyeballs.
  42. Aug 16, 2012
    9
    If you want a simple game that is fun to play and easy to waste time on.... this is the game for you. I spent $2.50 and enjoyed over 100 hours of fun. if you like sandbox free play, this is the game for you. If you want super graphics, no control, a little CGI cut screens, with only one path to play then do not buy this game. I happened to like my own little world.
  43. Sep 27, 2013
    9
    Amazing game, there's tons of things to explore and the game is incredibly enjoyable with or without friends. The only real problem i have with it is the annoying mechanic requiring you to build a house for an npc sometimes not telling you what you're missing.
  44. May 20, 2011
    10
    this game is awesome. like mine craft meets Zelda type deal.i love how the mob re-spawn and bug while you try and build and explore makes the game a real fun challenge back when games were actually a challenge like NES days
  45. Feb 4, 2012
    10
    This game is a blast, is it a MMO with years of entertainment? no, Does it offer a deeply enriching story? no Is it top notch art? no. Terraria is exploration heaven. Terraria is relatable gaming. Terraria is better because there is no hand holding, yet intuitive. Terraria is challenging. Terraria actually engages the right half of your brain, and offers a good bit of action. My only complaint is Terraria can be a bit lonely for long hours.
    Pets would be kool =)

    For 10 bucks though this game is all win for the player.

    I would give Terraria a 9.5, some things could use some polish... but sincethere are so few games that are actually right brained fun out there I'll go with a 10.
    Expand
  46. Jul 21, 2012
    10
    It's my favorite game of ALL TIME. There is so much to do in this game! After 1.1 came out in December of 2011, the game for so much more fun. After you get enough armour, you can go down to fight the Wall of Flesh. If you fight him, a whole new adventure opens up for you to enjoy. New weapons, new ores, new monsters, new biomes, even new materials to build with! You can make traps for enemies to fall into, build houses on floating islands, and WAY More! I don't think I can fit everything into 5,000 characters. It's a definite steal at $10, and it goes on sale quite often! Expand
  47. Jan 19, 2012
    9
    First thing I would like to point out is that this is not a minecraft clone, I was surprised about how the more I played, the less it seemed like minecraft, it takes more of the adventure parts of a sandbox and doesn't do much with building which I think is good as it allowed many different weapons and ways to explore
  48. Jun 2, 2013
    9
    A nice little game that is quite similar to many other games but in my opinion is better due to the combat focus and the exploration focus over other games' building focus.The jump from normal mode to hard mode is a little too big though
  49. Nov 30, 2011
    10
    Vastly superior to Minecraft. More content, more fun, more things to do, and the developers aren't greedy. Plus the game is only 10 dollars and almost always on sale for 5.
  50. Jul 31, 2014
    9
    this is a fun 2D Game
    you can build , defend , craft , create , and explore the games world.
    This game has co-op gameplay with friends and it makes the game that much better.
    you will share laughs with friends for sure.
    this game is very fun and i give this game an
    92/100
  51. May 5, 2013
    10
    After 150 hours of playing I can easily say that this is my favorite sandbox game, 2D game for that matter. There are just so many things to do and every item can be useful. It's only 10 dollars so there is no reason you should turn this indie gem down.
  52. May 25, 2011
    10
    "Let's take Minecraft, rip everything that's GOOD from it, make it 2D, then add fancy weapons and NPCs". Way to go. 10/10 - Best game that I've played all year.
  53. Dec 15, 2011
    9
    This is more than what most people call it - a minecraft ripoff in 2D. True enough, it's 2D and it has building mechanisms similar to minecraft, but there're more. It has a social interface similar to Animal Crossing: Wild World, where, after building your own town and clearing achievements, NPCs will start moving into your houses, provided that the conditions are met (of course, the social interface isn't as full developed as Animal Crossing). It also as a mining interface similar to motherlord, the acclaimed flash game in miniclip. You get to dig deep down into the earth for rare minerals and ores, and you can craft your items with those materials. It also has a 2D fighting interface similar to maple story, where you battle monsters and creeps in this side-scrolling game. As such, it's really is not simply a minecraft rip off in 2D, but a hybrid of many other titles that are acclaimed in their own genre of game. Get it, especially if it's on discount and you have the cash to spare. Expand
  54. May 17, 2011
    10
    This is an amazingly well done game for such a small development crew. At ten dollars, you get more gameplay than the typical fifty dollar commercial game. In addition, regular content updates will keep the game fresh for a long, long time. If you've enjoyed Minecraft, Zelda, Castlevania, and even Metroid, this game has something to offer you. It's a game about exploration, defense, and the eventual mastery of your environment. My only complaint is the lack of an instruction manual, but the discovery actually adds more than it subtracts.

    This game is fantastic and I recommend every single person on the planet buy it. It approaches perfection.
    Expand
  55. Dec 22, 2011
    10
    Terraria is probably my game of the year. You will not find better value for 10$ If played solo, the game is only good. If played with friends, it is exquisite. Minecraft - well, is boring. There is little to do. The combat mechanics suck. Everything is ugly. Terraria is the opposite. There is a point - and since the latest 1.1 patch the amount of content has gone through the roof, snow biomes, new bosses, hardmode, tons of new monsters and items.

    If you don't like Terraria, you either have no soul, or are not really a gamer.
    Expand
  56. Aug 23, 2012
    9
    When people see Terraria, at a first glance, they auto mautically think Minecraft. I'll even confess to being guilty of this too. And I think that this was its downfall, but also its rise. Without Minecraft, Terraria probabley would not have existed. It's not a Minecraft clone but to say it's not Minecraft INSPIRED is ludicrious and you should get your head checked. But It just would not have existed. Saying that, since it was Minecraft inspired people saw it and just, "Well I'll just play Minecraft." Although its Minecraft Inspired, there is Infinatley more to do. There's actually progession and in Minecraft, well, there just isn't. It's as if a genius, took Minecraft, WoW, and Mario, and said, "Hey, let's make a game!" I have logged 170 hours in on this game, and I still am getting upgrades on my armour and weapons. So much to find, so much to do, although it's an empty goal, you still find yourself raiding that dungeon, trying to find another upgrade. 9 out of 10. Expand
  57. May 28, 2013
    10
    Terraria is a fun game you have many things to do and discover they will add OVER 3000 items on this patch the game is a 2D platformer 9,99 euros for me has so problems so i dont play it anymore but it is my favorite game i am waiting for Starbound
  58. Aug 16, 2013
    9
    I never regretted spending my time on this game. It just have enough content to enjoy for hours. Those who say it's a minecraft copy should play this game before saying that, because its false.
  59. Jul 19, 2014
    9
    Un jeu 2d vraiment jolie , le gameplay est vraiment plaisant construire sa base , miner , récolter , explorer , puis lorsque votre stuff est assez bon attaquer vous on nombreux boss du jeu :)
  60. May 23, 2011
    10
    I have a nasty little cold atm, and I bought this game on Friday and have put in 23 hours by Sunday night.
    This game is quite simply amazing. I love the fact that it is challenging. My only two gripes so far are no Gamepad support, and I have yet to be able to play Multiplayer for some reason I'm still working out. Otherwise I would give this game a perfect 10. This game is an OCD'er's wet
    dream. :D Expand
  61. Aug 19, 2011
    10
    WOW! For $10 I got 40 hours of non-stop fun from this game, it was very well thought out and this would have to be one of my favourite games of all time!
    I recommend this most definitely to anyone!
  62. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    Tired of companies like Activision and EA selling you rehashes at $60 and then expecting you to pay much much more with content they held back? Yes they want a future of a copy and paste $100 game. Well, Terraria shows you how games should be. Not only is it only $10this game updates very frequently and they are huge updates. Best of all, they are free! So much more content in these free "DLC" than the big corporations give you, and this is made by a very small team. If they can afford to give you free DLC, surely Activision and EA can afford to give it to you. Nope. They just want as much money as they can get. Terraria is an amazing game. I have over 160 hours logged, according to Steam. It is a 2d sandbox game with unlimited possibilities. Literally! They update it with new content so often! If you defeat all the bosses and explore every biome, you can look for rare items, build with endless possibilities, and best of all, you can play online. There is always something you can do if you get bored. This is the best $10 investment I've ever made. $10 won't even get you a crappy map pack in Call of Duty. Try this game, you will get hooked. You will then realize you don't have to play the sellout junk Activision and EA are trying to sell you (and milk you for all you've got). Graphics don't make a game. It's all about game play. Expand
  63. May 22, 2011
    10
    Amazing game. Anybody thinking it is a simple Minecraft clone in an attempt for cash is mentally challenged. If you cannot see the vast playability of this game then you have no care for learning a bit about the game. With a much deeper exploration and rpg style Terraria is a unique experience. Taking actual gameplay and making it exciting, challenging. There is general sense of difficulty that is strengthened by a lighter death penalty. For 20 dollars this game is amazing, for 10 even more. If you are still wondering whether it is a cheap 2D Minecraft knockoff, get real. These developers know what they are doing and have executed it magnificently. Pick this game up, now! Expand
  64. Jun 16, 2011
    9
    At first glance many will see what looks to appear to be a 2D Minecraft clone, which will leave you sighing at any lack of originality, and if this was your first assumption, you're wrong. Terraria, simply, is much more accessible than Minecraft. It feels more like an adventure game, and crafting isn't guessing / wiki'ing it. Where Minecraft may be more successful in the construction aspects of the mining series, Terraria shines in the adventure portions. Expand
  65. Jun 2, 2011
    10
    Its obvious from moon, Terraria is a labor of love! Its so rare these days.
    Made in less than six months, Terraria describes *basic* form of ultimate sandbox game. Playing it, I felt again like a kid building castles of sand. It doesnt rush you, it doesnt introduce cheap/hyped story lines, it doesnt force you into any silly classes and is not obsessed with redundant numbers. Its well
    balanced and a pleasure to play. Worlds are literally huge and although game is stable and released, developers are promising inspired new content (not DLCs or some similar marketing/cash milking crap). Expand
  66. Jun 27, 2011
    9
    I haven't been this engrossed in a single player experience since the first Diablo came out when I was 13. It's the kind of game you think about when you're not playing.
  67. May 1, 2012
    10
    When it was released, it was called a "2D clone of Minecraft". However, as the updates came in, it started gaining its own personality. The pixel art is charming. The exploration and mining aspects of the game are addictive; this iss one game where mining isn't boring, but rather enthralling. Also, you can reshape your world, which is something many players will spend hours into. A great, well deserved 10 for this one. Expand
  68. Jan 27, 2012
    10
    When I first saw this game, I was like "That game looks terrible!!" Mainly because I thought it was a ripoff of Minecraft, but... it's actually better than Minecraft. Now you start the game with a COMPLETLY random world, nobody else has that world, then you start chopping down trees like Minecraft, build a decent house, then $#!% gets real. The fun part about this game is mining, you have SO much more to mine and do in Terraria. You have NPCs that you can buy stuff from, not only that, but you have 8 bosses in this game, including Skeletron, Eater of Worlds, Eye of Cthulhu but my favourite, is the Wall of Flesh. Like Minecraft, you will never get bored with the updates. No real glitches that I have come across, but it is a great game, even vanilla. Expand
  69. Feb 1, 2012
    10
    Out of all the games ive bought, i would say this game is worth more than it actually cost. The massive new update and intriguing sandbox environment makes this game just as good as minecraft if not better.
    Only down side is this game is very team oriented, solo players who first start will get bored quickly as there is no straight forward tutorial. However if you play with your friends
    and brave the first tedious quarter of an hour figuring what to do, you will find a lot of fun and potential.
    A must have game for those with friends and a few bucks to spend still.
    Expand
  70. Nov 11, 2012
    10
    Bought this baby for $10 on steam sale. Spent more hours on it than games I've bought for $80. Survival, mixed with adventure. not to mention the freaking soundtrack!
  71. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I played Terraria for 188 hours before getting tired of it, and I never even touched multiplayer. Compared to Minecraft, it has much better action/adventure and gameplay elements. Combat is a fun mix of melee, ranged, and various magic spells. The metroidvania gameplay keeps things challenging. The amount of items to find is very addicting, but rarely devolves into farming. Even when random worlds gets boring, you can hit the fan sites and download user made maps, which range from parkour obstacle courses to adventure maps with stories and puzzles. My only complaint is the lack of originality: it does shamelessly copy minecraft, especially early in the game, what with chopping down trees and running from zombies at night. But by the end of the game, when you are flying through the air raining crystal bullets down at a giant skeleton head made of metal while it tries to crush, zap blast, and saw you simultaniously, you will realize this is not Minecraft anymore. Expand
  72. Mar 20, 2013
    10
    This game was unexpectedly fun and unexpectedly complicated. No way you can judge the game by simply seeing it being played by someone else. You have to place it and understand the mechanics... the fighting, the armor upgrades, the grapling hooks, the guns, the flying... It is really one of the most entertaining games I have. Some have rated Half life 2 as 90+ but I played both at the same time, Half life 2 was boring compared to this game. Expand
  73. Oct 3, 2014
    10
    More update in this game in 3 years than in the serie "call of duty" in 12 years (one easy jab, I know). You feel this game evolved (and will keep evolving) from when it started.

    And no, it's not minecraft in 2D, there is a whole fighting side that is very well developped, with a felt progression when you start killing slimes with a copper shortsword and a wood armor and end up using a
    tactical shotgun with heat seeking bullets in a blue armor while killing a giant fish-pig-dragon thingy.

    Also, you can play it in multiplayer, let it be to fight together, against each other, build magnificient structures, or play "Throw-bomb-down-the-mining-shaft-to-mine-faster-and-hear-your-friends-screaming-in-terror".
    Expand
  74. Oct 15, 2013
    9
    The problem with users reviewing is that they never take time to play the whole game. That said, this game is not a rip-off of Minecraft. Even Notch likes it, but oh no, reviewers never bother to gather information! If negative reviewers actually played the game, they would realize the game goes from 2D Minecraft to something more intense and much more varied. Not to mention there's multiplayer, and the 2D CAN be invigorating to play with for some old-style recognition, and the music is just fun to hear. There are lots more monsters and items than in Minecraft, and much more bosses as well, giving more varied gameplay. Of course, with all this implemented, the world is limited and not infinitely generated, though it is indeed randomized each time you make a world. And with the current price of $2.50, it's essentially a must-buy. Heck, it's even a must-buy when it's $9.99. In short: more varied than Minecraft, less free than Minecraft, but is VERY different from Minecraft in general, if you get to actually know the game. Expand
  75. Mar 7, 2014
    10
    This game stunned me like a japanese fighting fish. The graphics are twice as good as battlefield 4. When playing this game it felt so futuristic that i fell down my stairs and my big donkey willy slapped my grand mother accross her face. After that her face was priceless and we both had a wrestling match naked. All that happened due to the outstanding graphics of this game. THANK YOU Rockstar for making this game, it is much better than your other rubbish games like GTA san andreas. Expand
  76. Oct 29, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Terraria is a truly awesome retro themed game in which instantly pulled me in, its artwork and music are just wonderful and the world sizes and amount of exploration is massive, a title in which is surely going to give you hours and hours of fun either on the IOS or Console and PC versions. Good work Re-Logic for producing an awesome game! Expand
  77. Jul 22, 2012
    9
    I can't remember the last time I got so many hours out of a game that cost so few dollars. Since the game is pretty much user-defined from the get-go, the only real limit is your imagination.
  78. Jun 19, 2011
    9
    Beware to start up Terraria. It is highly addictive, eats up your time like nothing else and is some good old-fashioned fun while doing so. A definitive buy.
  79. Aug 21, 2011
    9
    I'll be honest, I jumped into Terraria expecting an experience similar to Mojang's Minecraft. What I got, however, was something bigger and, in some ways, better. Terraria is only really similar to Minecraft due to the crafting system, which is a bit more in depth in Terraria. Whilst stone is quite vital in Minecraft, it's all but useless in Terraria, aside from one or two uses, whilst gold is vital in Terraria, while being just fashion in Minecraft. However, Terraria isn't meant to be like Minecraft. Terraria is a 2D adventure game at heart, and does this really well. At the start, you start with bare basic tools and the smallest, weakest slime can prove to be a challenge. As you progress further down and across the randomly generated maps, you can get resources to make better, stronger tools, some armor and soon become someone that can take out enemies in just one swing. Terraria also includes bosses into the game, which are challenging to defeat, but yield great rewards at the end. One thing that Terraria also does well is the character syncing between both single and multiplayer. If one world has been sweeped of all of it's goodies, you can just start a new world and continue from where you left off. If I do have one complaint, the NPC's in the game can seem a bit 'in the way', especially the controversial Guide. In fact, the Guide gets in the way so much, that there's now an item that allows you to kill him!
    Aside from this gripe however, Terraria is a worthy game for adventurers and crafters alike. Don't shun this game because it looks like a 2D Minecraft. It's far more than that.
    Expand
  80. Dec 19, 2011
    10
    I like this game way better than Minecraft. Minecraft is ultra fun, but sadly, once you find diamond and make a pick axe out of it, it's over and it gets boring to play again. Terraria has NO end! Me and my friends have been playing this game nonstop for over three months! The enemies are super hard, which makes it fun to have to find the right gear to defeat it. After you defeat one of the hardest bosses you ever though possible, there is an even harder one right after it! It goes on and on, and I don't think I will ever get bored of it. It is on the other hand not a perfect game, I don't really like the 2D screen it gives you, but it is easier to see enemies coming instead of being blown up by a Creeper all of a sudden like on Minecraft. It's only $10.00, where as Minecraft is $30.00, so you get a great deal, and all of the awesomeness on multiplayer as well! Expand
  81. Oct 19, 2014
    9
    Terraria is a great game. It has a lot of mechanics I like, and it is a lot more than the "2D Minecraft" people claim it is. there are a lot more mechanics to the game without mods, which I heard there are, but never installed them. The graphics are great as well, with it not being the cliche 8-bit, but 16-bit, with a lot of color and nearly flawless design.

    The way the game operates
    is this: you spawn in a newly generated world to collect resources and be able to defend yourself from enemies that spawn at night. After a certain point, you can dig far down enough to beat the "final" boss and unlock hard mode, which makes that platinum armor you spent hours looking for the materials to make a lot more weak against the new enemies. The mechanics are more complex than often referred to game that is minecraft, from the bosses and entities to the most basic thing such as crafting and building. The multiplayer is like minecraft's multiplayer, ranging from playing with friends to dedicated servers that offer many different things.

    The game is nearly flawless, earning it a 9 out of 10.
    Expand
  82. May 22, 2011
    9
    awesome game, must buy, and its only $10 on steam
  83. Jan 1, 2012
    10
    This game may appear to be a minecraft ripoff, but as it turns out , this it the most amazing game ive played in awhile. There is much more content then there is on minecraft and its just....So amazingly fun.
  84. Jul 17, 2011
    10
    I'm gonna give this game a 10/10. It deserves a 8 or a 9 but after seeing how those spambots gave it 0, lowering it's score by a handful and spamming "minecraft clone" I can't help but to feel sorry for the developers... falling on User Score below 8 is devastating for such a promising game.
  85. Jun 5, 2011
    9
    Terraria is an awesome, Minecraft Based 2D Game, with help of popularity of minecraft this game has sold 2 millions in first days of launch, but it is more than a minecraft based game, it is really awesome how well planned is this little game and for 10USD you will get a lot of fun single player and multiplayer
  86. Jun 9, 2011
    10
    Most people are comparing this game to Minecraft, but this game is no Minecraft. Minecraft is about building, mining, and some other stuff. Terraria is about exploring this amazing world and is pushing to the RPG side instead of survival. The game itself is not too unique, but makes up in gameplay style and endless multiplayer fun (Ignoring the constant server whitelists and overprotective server mods), it is amazing fun to play with your friends, and you could bring over your singleplayer character into multiplayer worlds.

    People compare this to Minecraft because it has place and destroy block system similar to Minecraft, but Minecraft just defined a sub-genre that is now a block creative mode, making it more common among more Indie developers.

    The graphics to this game are somewhat beautiful, reminding me of the classic JRPG games on older consoles. The game runs smoothly on low-end PCs, and there is always some cranny to explore. The art is done quite beautiful and makes you seem enchanted in this majestically done game.

    This game is a definite must play, plus you would be supporting Indie Developers.
    Expand
  87. Dec 19, 2011
    10
    this game is simply amazing. i've put in 100+ hours and i have yet to beat half the bosses or craft half the items.this game is just so deceptively simple. even if you find a new weapon you can always find a better one in a chest or make a faster one with the new ore. however, the difficulty curve after beating the wall of flesh(the hardest boss before defeating it)is incredibly steep, though not impossible. it is also much more rewarding. the difficulty, in reference to dead island, is about as steep as it was when you first entered the city. instead of carelessly collecting the trees you begin to run from gastropods and chaos elemental while frantically shooting at them with cursed bullets from your assault rifle while waiting the last 20 seconds so you can heal. but no matter how i put it i just cant describe it. you just need to help out Red and Blue(the developers). Expand
  88. Dec 21, 2012
    9
    Master builder? 2 dimensional space? Aside from false advertising, Terraria is a great adventure game. You'll spend a lot of time with it since the road to end-game is a long one, but the road is varied and engaging.
  89. Nov 16, 2013
    9
    I absolutely love Terraria. I mean the idea behind the game seems so simplistic: farm materials, make gear, and kill bosses. However, the way it's done just draws the user in wanting more each time. For the price of the game you definitely can't go wrong. Although I will warn people if you're not tech savvy you might have trouble playing with friends as it can require the person hosting the game to forward their ports. Expand
  90. Oct 31, 2013
    9
    Awesome game. Minecraft mixed with old style platformer games. It became something more fun than both.
    Could use some improvement on multiplayer world part. It's annoying that only the player who hosted the world for the first time is able to start it. Would be a 10 if there was a cloud based world service included.
  91. Sep 30, 2014
    9
    Terraria is simply a fantastic game. Sure, it lacks tutorial and isn't too straightforward, but watch a few episodes of a playthrough and you're good to start. It has fun, fast-paced gameplay and is innovative for the amount of content it packs in. You can play it a lot and anytime, but my only problem is that it slightly lacks replayability. Replayability IMO is only moderate. Everything else, fantastic. Get it without hesitation. Expand
  92. Jul 19, 2011
    9
    When I first laid my eyes on this game I didn't think of it as a Minecraft clone at all. The trailer really made me interested, it looked more like an adventure, RPG game than a Minecraft copy. Terraria is exactly that - Adventure. Despite what a lot says about Terraria is being a Minecraft clone, I almost 100 percent disagree. Sure they are a like when it comes to some parts of the game, but that's just required for this type of genre. Battlefield and Call of Duty is even more clones than Minecraft and Terraria.

    Terraria is a Wonderful, amazing game that will bring you a lot of pleasure if you are into adventuring. During my, so far, 200 hours of game-play - I have never felt bored, even if I was doing the same thing for hours.
    Expand
  93. May 29, 2011
    10
    This game is great. Other sandbox games have a weak adventure part, but Terraria gives you the possibility to create and defend your world. Today, the developer wrote about his feature plans for the game and all of them sound absolutely great. I haven't played Terraria online for a second. I still stick to the offline part, waiting for great new content. I would definitely pay for it because i have only paid 10â Expand
  94. Jul 14, 2011
    10
    When Terraria was released, I passed. I kept seeing ads and still passed. It wasn't until I saw what people were making in the game (i.e. Super Mario and Bowser Pixel Art) and saw a video of Toby Turner playing that I decided to pay $10 for it on Steam. I started playing at around 9pm. It is now 3am and I just stopped for the night; although it took great effort to stop. Here is the layout: A random world generates from the size you choose (small, medium, large). You start with the basics tools and set off to spelunk in a 2D platform game that seems to have endless depth. The difficultly increases the deeper you go, reminding me a little of Dante's Inferno. It has a definitely feel of Castlevania 2, with the night bringing worse creatures and a curse. So, you fight off the monsters while trying to explore deeper and deeper. What you don't realize is that you have built a town from the mud, sticks, and stone. This brings a nurse and a merchant at first. Only when you have crafted your first golden sword do you realize that you are addicted. You must go deeper to see what else lies in wait. What treasure will you find? What heights will you build to? *sigh* Sorrowfully, I have to work tomorrow and this game will be in my dreams. Simple, yet it is only limited by your willingness to explore and by your imagination to build. This has so much depth for such a simple little game. Expand
  95. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    This game took me by surprise. I expected it to be a cheap, 2D minecraft clone, but was pleasantly surprised to find that it's so much more. This game is actually what I wished minecraft would have been. The exploration, treasures, and boss fights are all top notch, pun not intended, and lead to hours of fun.
  96. May 28, 2011
    10
    Simply amazing game!
    I haven't had so much fun with a game in a long time!!
    The game like it is now is 5 times worth its money, and there's still so much more content on the way!
  97. Feb 4, 2012
    9
    I LOL'd at all the haters that gave this game a 4 or less. What game were you playing?! This is a great 2D Platformer with so much to do and so many items to craft and build. Shallow gamers should stick to shallow games.
  98. Nov 6, 2014
    9
    I got terraria a long time ago and it is a very fun game. The updates over time have greatly improved the game and added a ton of content and variety. It is a lot more combat oriented than minecraft while at the same time allowing you to do world changing effects much faster than possible in minecraft due to its 2D structure allowing you to cut the map up however you want and so on.
  99. Jul 21, 2012
    9
    Addictive and fun, I've put over 100+ hours into this game in the last couple weeks, and have enjoyed almost every minute of it. I don't like to use wiki's or info sites when I play games like this, and have had a blast discovering each new thing I've found. I'm giving this game a 9 out of 10 only because there are a couple of punishing aspects to the game, that I think shouldn't exist in sandbox games: 1) Potions have a cooldown timer, and 2) Death reduces your armor (you can pay the nurse to get rid of this penalty, but it still feels harsh). These two things are the ONLY times I've ever thought "Hmm, not fun." when playing Terraria. Highly recommended, especially if you think you might like a combination of Minecraft + Metroid + Castlevania. It's even better when you play the multiplayer with a trusted friend. Well worth the ticket price of $9.99, if you're strapped for cash or looking for a really good deal, Steam routinely discounts it 50-75% off. Expand
  100. Sep 9, 2012
    9
    Wonderful game, kept me playing for 220 hours or so, took me about half an hour to really get into it, but when i did, i was hooked! couldnt stop playing this darn game, its gameplay is just drives you to dig more and find more things and even when yourve found everything you can grab a few friends and restart all over again and it will still be enjoyable. everything about this game was good, only wish i had more to explore.
    PS: i dont like minecraft
    Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Mar 19, 2012
    83
    Terraria is one of the best sandbox games. Terraria has some Minecraft spirit, however the focus of the game is on fighting and crafting, so it involves more action. The best way to enjoy Terraria is to play it with a couple of friends on your own server.
  2. Mar 16, 2012
    70
    It's a title that will appeal to the adventurer, the explorer and the builder; not to mention those who appreciate a substantial amount of player freedom. If you happen to be all of those things, Terraria is a lightly tarnished treasure.
  3. Mar 14, 2012
    83
    A lot of games tried to copy Minecraft – or at least participate from its' success. But this two-dimensional take on the well known formula is the only game that is able to step out of the shadow of the indie phenomenon that inspired it. It leads you into a unique world full of creative magic.