User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1143 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 16, 2011
    9
    One of the best games I have ever played in the 15 years I am alive. I'm not a big fan of over-done graphics and fancy effects and 3D which is why I was and still am very attracted to this game. It'd be ignorant to say this game isn't a Minecraft copy, because it is, but it's also much more than that, it has many more options and the great thing about the game is, is the fact that it keeps expanding with new features and the developers of the game actually listen what the community has to say and try to improve Terraria with the suggestions they get. Definitely worth the money and if you enjoy the simple style, I would definitely recommend it to play. Expand
  2. Dec 3, 2011
    10
    Terraria has more weapons monster's, rpgsurvival elements, a wider selection of items, bosses, character customization and better exploration. This game feels like with every block you pick you achieve a task, there is so much to explore in a single world so much to collect so much to do. I've played this games for 100's of hours and still can't be pried away from it. It's simply one of the most simplest indie 2d side scroller games ever. It has different things that have never been experienced by players. It's not minecraft its more than minecraft, 10/10 A diverse and new way to play! Expand
  3. Dec 2, 2011
    10
    Terraria is a true gem of a game, that is rivaling my desire to play Skyrim (which is quite an accomplishment). Anyone that says Terraria is just 2D minecraft must not have played either game extensively. Perhaps they mined some mud in each, put them back on the ground in a row and made a house, and then came here and reviewed the games saying they were the same. Minecraft: Blocks + Pickaxe = House ---> End of Gameplay --->
    Quit.

    Terraria:
    Blocks + Pickaxe = House -->
    Start of Gameplay -->

    Followed by:
    Actual Adventure to be had; Loads of legitimate monsters; Real items with Tiers and different stats; Bosses; Traps; Treasure; Loads of different environments to discover, with different challenges introduced with them; Tons of nifty gadgets to enjoy;
    So much more I've forgotten.

    Once Minecraft implements half of these, then user's can start to claim a Minecraft is 3D Terraria (in that order)
    Expand
  4. Dec 5, 2011
    10
    This is one of the greatest games I have ever played. Once the 1.1 update came out, Skyrim became near meaningless to me. I can't seem to tear myself away from this game even with Skyrim taunting at me to play it. It is incredibly fun and addicting. Minecraft may be 3D, but its gameplay does not even compare to Terraria's in terms of sheer quality and content. With its lighthearted tone, great gameplay, excelleny replay value, absolute quality and effort put into it, and great soundtrack, I would easily play this over Minecraft any day. Expand
  5. Dec 20, 2011
    9
    This game is amazing. Has to be one of the best games in steam right now and Im not even kidding. There are so many things you can do in this game like gardening, building stuff, decorating, killing monsters, going around mining, killing bosses, etc etc. And its just wonderful. The only thing it really needs is something like...I dont know....Modding? Or something like that. The developers are also very active with adding more stuff! its pretty epic! A must have for anyone who likes sandbox games Expand
  6. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    Terraria is a great game. I got is for $2.50 on steam and even purchased as a gift for a friend. The server capabilities are there and its a cinch to set up and for anyone to log on. The game is an old school sidescroller so if you care about graphics, this is not your game. If you want some thing that will give you 50+ hours of fun in pvp with friends, cave exploration, many different biomes (with even a Christmas themed winter biome released for the holidays) upgrading weapons and equipment and defeating bosses with a 2nd playthrough built into the experience, then this is your game. There are many options that you can tweek to tailor to your gaming experience. It's slow in the beginning before you get armor, ore and other things but there is a built in NPC that will tell you how to craft various items and how to move forward in your quest. This game is definitely the best when you get some friends together and start finding items to help prepare you for your first boss fight. Get this game when it's on sale on steam and you can go wrong! Expand
  7. Jul 26, 2012
    10
    This game combines rpg classic graphic style and platforms in a sandbox title that brings a lot of fun for both casual and hardcore gamers, I like it more than minecraft!
  8. Apr 22, 2012
    9
    Terraria is a 2-D platform-crafting game, where you must dig, fight, explore, and build! You must dig for and find materials, in caves, oceans and dungeons, and use them to make better weapons, armour and items. It'll take you a while to get to know how to play it properly and get into it. You must also fight enemies, and build shelter so you can survive the night. It's fun to play, addictive, and it's only $10! ~ Rating: 9.2/10 Expand
  9. Jul 16, 2012
    9
    The game, in my personal opinion, is very interesting, I like it. The 2D dimension makes it somewhat special, because you see and understand a lot more, than in 3D. Yet you still don't know what is above or under you. The Character creation isn't that original like in Minecraft, but still very easy to use (If you do know RGB!). The feature where you can have items saved had slightly mixed feelings on my experience, but should be a nice addition. I think it's a game everyone should try, just like Minecraft. Both are actually, very different. I suggest you to give it a try, and you will, most likely, not regret this decision, I'm sure. Expand
  10. Aug 25, 2012
    9
    Terraria is definitely the most fun I've had with a game in awhile. The first thing I noticed were the pixelated visuals, and they work so perfectly with its vast environment. The game's mechanics are really solid, and its replay value is substantial. It's especially fun to pick up with friends. It appeals more to the explorer than the crafter, however. There's always something to go out and search for or obtain in the game, and I love that feeling. Although you can build awesome, detailed structures in Terraria, it's fairly limited as it's a sidescroller. In the end, your main objectives are to explore and combat against the various bosses in the generated world. More specifically, some things I really liked with the game were how I could port a character between different worlds (including single player worlds to multiplayer worlds and vice versa) with such ease and not having to sacrifice anything for it. I also love how it was a little more straight-forward about what to do in the game with their "guide" character. You don't have to spend large amounts of time looking up how to craft things on its wiki because it's there for you. You DO need to spend some time on the wiki in order to know how exactly to progress and know what is all available to you, but you're not completely dependent on it like you are with Minecraft. Overall, it's a great game, especially with friends. The only downside I had with the game was that I felt that sometimes there wasn't enough content available. Also, some people may disagree, but I think the implementation of an experience system would have been nice as well. I can't wait for Starbound to come out in the near future from these guys. They definitely know how to make an awesome game. Expand
  11. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    guess what???? this game came out before minecraft, hahahahahaha stupid review trolls. for anyone that is putting off buying this game because its "a copy of minecraft" GO! buy it now! it's actually really, really good for a 2D game. For the people saying that "the graphics suck." its a 2D game, what did you expect??
    Please, just buy the game, it's very much worth your while
  12. Nov 12, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Terraria is a awesome game. It was the top game on steam for first 6 days of release, but sadly it had stopped development. It also supports mods, that is a party starter for some users. Expand
  13. Mar 1, 2013
    9
    With the amount of fun I've had on this game, 70+ hours, I'd love to give it a 10. Though, it does need some polishing, which I why I give it a 9. Anyone who believes it is a Minecraft copy will be disappointed, because, it isn't. Sure it uses similar ideas, but what voxel sandbox game doesn't share ideas? With different bosses, loads of monsters (more to come in a update soon), and a whole extra gameplay mode (Hardmode) after beating the last boss, this game has a ton to offer. Did I mention it's only 10$?! The polishing this game needs is highly understood also, seeing as in early stages it was hacked and the lead developer was forced to release it unfinished, so he could get credit for his game.
    Overall, this game will give much more play time than any 60$ game in my opinion. It already has for me, and I'm just entering Hardmode.
    Expand
  14. Mar 23, 2013
    9
    It is a great 2d survival, action game. Hosts of weapons, spells, and potions keep combat fresh and interesting. Mine your way to better weapons and build giant pieces of art whilst exploring expansive worlds. What annoys me isn't the game, but people who say this is a wannabe Minecraft clone. Minecraft did not create the survival genre or mining, in fact, Minecraft was and still could be considered, an Infiminer clone. This is confirmed as well. This is also more about combat. Expand
  15. May 16, 2013
    10
    Terraria is my favorite game... so... I NEED A UPDATE!!! the 1.1.2 is boring and old... i like the adventures, the monster, the sandbox and the bosses, TERRARIA HAVE ALL OF THIS THINGS!!!
  16. May 16, 2013
    9
    I was not a fan of minecraft (as often compared to a 2D version of it), but I completely enjoyed the casual gameplay, especially with friends. I spent countless hours trying to get weapons good enough to defeat bosses and have the enjoyment and also remorse of rendering a large world and getting lost exploring trying to find more material or my way back out of the ground alive so that I may keep my things.

    The game is relatively cheap, and it often goes on sale on steam, so I highly recommend this game for everyone. I wish they didn't stop updating it, but it is still a really great game to have in your arsenal. I literally bought this game for everyone I knew, spent well over 100 dollars worth of copies (on sale each time).
    Expand
  17. May 26, 2013
    10
    Terraria is an amazing game that takes everything you love about minecraft adds some unique rpg elements and character customization this game is a must play it gets very addicting and you will find yourself playing more than minecraft so check that out on steam and its half the price of minecraft thats always a plus
  18. Jul 21, 2013
    9
    terraria is a great game, a 2d minecraft. terraria's inventory is gigantic for there is multiple weapons and miscellaneous. but this game can have some bugs, for instance I tried to summon one of the bosses (in night time) and he did not show up, probably car troubles. the world is gigantic for you can have small, medium, or large. with large it is huge it will take you a long time for you to get to one end of the game to the other. terraria is a excellent game and worth it to buy. Expand
  19. Oct 12, 2013
    10
    This game is absolute perfection. With the instalment of the free 1.2 content update, this game is better than ever. So many areas to explore, so many items to craft, so many monsters and bosses to fight, so many biomes! I wish I could buy this game twice, just to show them my support!
  20. Oct 20, 2013
    10
    $10 for 200 hours of entertainment. I don't think I've ever gotten a better deal from anything that wasn't free. Best purchase ever. The developers are amazing. Replay value is uncanny. 10/10
  21. Oct 31, 2013
    10
    People like to compare this to Minecraft, but it's completely different. And I love it for that. So many tiers of armours and weapons, a wide variety of enemies and NPCs, and many, many bosses. The art was beautiful and retro, the music perfectly complements the game and gameplay is perfect.
  22. Nov 3, 2013
    10
    Amazingly well designed game, nice music and enviroment, extremely fun gameplay.

    There are like hundreds of creatures, and killing them is just half f the fun! you can mine, build, explore, craft...

    a must have game for every player that likes a casual survival/explore adventure ;D
  23. Dec 12, 2013
    10
    An Amazing game full of adventure, With oncoming Amazing updates,
    So many possibility's And items and Bosses and NPC's I would encourage people to play it,
    It has a great price and when you really get into it, It will take you Until you have done everything you can...Which is endless
  24. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    Terraria is by far one of the best 2-D-survival, role-playing, side-scrolling games I have ever bought on Steam, and I've been playing it for 123 hours now. You can consider it to be a 2-D version of Minecraft, but it's not. It was built on the same concept, perhaps, but despite Terraria's limitations in graphics, it has so much potential beyond Minecraft. Randomly generated worlds that are small, medium or large; interesting, and almost seeming endless, exploration; online multiplayer; NPC's that move into your homes which you can buy stuff from them and/or sell it; infinite durability for tools and weapons; only losing your coins when you die; all the items you have for your own character get transferred; crafting potions and acquiring a numerous variety of weapons, clothing and other accessories; fighting challenging enemies and bosses; and so much more. This game is on beta version 1.0.4 and the new update which is 1.0.5 is going to add even more content. There have been rumors that the price may increase as more content is added. Overall, it has been the best $10 ever spent for a game so far, so if any of you have an extra $10 in your Paypal account and/or credit/debit card, make an account on Steam if you haven't and buy it now! You will not be disappointed. Expand
  25. May 19, 2011
    10
    For £5.99 I've had more hours of enjoyment and more 'game' than any major full price game in a long time. If you're a fan of Metroidvania style games I'd definitely give this a shot. Randomly generated worlds are the way to go!
  26. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    Very immersive and expansive sandbox game with soooo much to explore and do. If you're iffy on it or hate it or have friends that do, think about this: Terreria and Minecraft both have bad graphics right? No, wrong, completely wrong. Think about Terraria or Minecraft with good graphics. Now think about cutting down a tree or mining some ore or whatnot etc. Now think about doing it in HD. In HD, --depending on the style/way it's rendered what engine or modeling/animation program is used etc.,-- it'd be impossible to reasonable integrate the whole sandbox aspect that Terraria and Minecraft both have somewhat in common (simply put they're both open world sandboxes that heavily involve exploring etc). Lets say you're mining some ___ ore in "HD", How could you tell how much you've mined over a period of X seconds? In 3D, how could that be represented? 1 block? 1 Pound? 1 Ore? In Minecraft, simple is better (i.e. 1 block, which is very easily visually represented, as it is in Terraria) else the whole sandbox idea would be hard to flow with, as 1 block is a fairly easy unit of measurement. In Terraria, sure it's 2D (not NES/SNES graphics, not DOS, they're just 2D), but the sprites are original and good quality (for sprites, don't say anything if it includes "bad sprites". They are sprites, they're not going to be Ultra High quality, they're 2D, like the terrain in most "3D" games (flat texture that, on flat ground, doesn't involve much texture wrapping). Terraria has options for Small, Medium and Large worlds, and with the size increases, distances to certain areas might also increase. There are very many areas to explore, a multitude of things to find, craft and so on, and with the inclusion of the 1.1 update in ~2 days (222 new items, 3 new NPC's (minecraft doesn't have interactive NPC's in the first place) , that vast amount of original content and gameplay will only increase, as well as a visual improvement to Terraria's visually pleasing 2D graphics. This is NOT a minecraft ripoff, it is a sandbox, minecraft is also a sandbox. The graphics are not bad, they are 2D, and they are good quality for 2D at that. Terraria has a vast amount of room for exploration, there are bosses, multiple mobs with drops (forgot to mention minecraft lacks a combat system, and no, killing a spider, skeleton, creeper, zombie or whatever is NOT combat). In Terraria, mobs occur regularly above ground at night, or during the day in the corruption biome, and are always found underground. In addition, when you die in Terraria, you lose half the amount of coins (which can be stored in chests) you have on you, (I don't care if losing everything is realistic if you lose everything). If you want to die like you do in minecraft, wait until the 1.1 update and enable Hardcore mode (player explodes upon death, and loses everything in inventory). One last note on the graphics, minecraft isn't high quality either, and IMO, it's easier to have a good looking "lower quality" 2D game, then it is to have a good looking "lower quality" 3D game, because it's easier to put more detail into sprites and whatnot then upscaling textures (what's the point of a HD texture on a flat out cube?). If you're thinking of buying Terraria, IMO it's worth $10, it hasn't gotten me bored yet, while I was bored of minecraft forever (personal opinion though) and while Terraria takes ~30mins-1hour (depending on how far you get) to get into it, once you're into it, its completely addictive. and a nice thing about the Developers is that they support the game as long as fans support them with an interest in Terraria, and suggestions (such as new in game mechanics, items, improvements, anything really) can be made and the Devs are happy to include such wanted new features in official updates. No complications with mods, user created content, it's all handled directly by the Devs and implemented directly into the core game. As a final note, Multiplayer in Terraria is like Single player with someone else's character in your world at the same time as you (CO-OP gameplay, or PVP, if you want.) Expand
  27. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    One of the great sandbox adventure game,can't stop once start!!
    totally addicted with it! After buying it for a few friends and myself, we have all become addicted to it
  28. May 19, 2011
    10
    One of the best games I've played this year. Combine features of old Legend of Zelda games with a 2D platformer and Minecraftesque building and mining and you get this. I was skeptical at first but that was completely gone after the first hour of playing. Whether you're building an awesome fortress, fighting one of the huge and difficult bosses, defending your fortress against an onslaught or zombies or goblins, or adventuring and looking for loot, it's rarely a dull moment.

    $10 is definitely worth the money. If you thought Minecraft was too expensive but still wanted to play a similar game, get this, you won't regret it.
    Expand
  29. May 21, 2011
    10
    Terraria is not just another minecraft clone. It takes a few core aspects and turns it into a fantastic 2d side scrolling adventure. From boss fights, do dungeon exploration, anything is possible. The NPC's are quite useful, and with free content updates, this game will never become dull. The words "Minecraft clone" really hold no presence in this game. Anyone calling it a clone should honestly be told that Minecraft is just an Infiniminer clone. With Minecrafts success, it is no wonder more games with aspects of it would come out. I for one am glad that this game has gotten a large amount of sales, I love the genre and am happy Minecraft isn't the only game to take suit in the genre.

    after 50+ hours, i can easily give this a 10 / 10
    Expand
  30. May 22, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Simpel game but increibly addictive.
    I was on the fence with this one the game looked really bad judging of the screenshots but when you start tto play you won't stop.

    people who say this is minecraft 2d are just being harsh there are lots of games that borrowed little idears from on another..........well all fps are wolfenstein rip offs period
    Expand
  31. May 22, 2011
    10
    This game is the best $10 of gaming gold you could ever spend.

    BAM! You're dumped in the wilderness with a few trees around the place. What-chu gonna do? Don't sniff the roses too long, those mushrooms can wait to be picked, you better get to chopping some wood and making a goddamn house with your BARE HANDS.

    "But what about that awesome looking naturally formed cave over there?! I can
    see some clay pots that are begging for me to smash them?" I hear you ask? NO. The sun is setting soon, you woke up at mid-day and the zombies and demonic flying eyeballs are just waiting for the sun to set to get a taste of your tender meaty arms and legs!

    Now that you're safe and sound, crying in the fetal position in the corner of your small hut while zombies bash at your door, you can think about what you're going to make of yourself. Are you gonna mine the crap out of the surrounding land finding ores, trinkets and riches? Are you going to scour the surface for the corruption that plagues the land with pure evil? Maybe you want to find the forbidden demon god dungeon of doom death hell at one of the corners of the map? Maybe you should just think of how to build yourself a second floor in your house for a buddy... go slow son. This world aint forgiving.
    Expand
  32. May 22, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing. If you like Zelda, Castlevania, or Metroid you will love Terraria. Terraria is not like Minecraft. Terraria rewards you for exploring the world. It's more about the adventure and combat and boss fights than anything else. It is absolutely worth the ten euros.
  33. May 22, 2011
    10
    I've been playing Terraria for almost a week now with a little over 20 hours invested and I can safely say this game has already and easily made my top 10 games of all time. With free content updates promised for the future, I suspect it will make it into my top 5 and eventually top 3. This is the type of game that I will gladly purchase copies for my friends, it deserves it. Games recently have a tendency to hold your hand throughout the entire game, taking away from the excitement and reward of figuring things out on your own. Terraria is not one of those games. Big studios should take note, it's not fancy graphics and gimmicks that make a game great, it's great game-play and Terraria is overflowing with it. GOTY for me. Expand
  34. May 22, 2011
    10
    Even though "minecraft fanboyism" is somewhat understandable, most of the negative reviewers forget to mention that minecraft is nothing but a literal copy of infiminer. A small detail hypocrites like to ignore just so they can add more credit to their biased opinion, drowning it in demagogy.

    The unbiased fact is that terraria is a great game. Sales and play statistics completely approve
    of it and even minecraft players (altho only the non fanboy ones) like to play it.
    As i write this, its the 5th most played game on steam, beating titles like team fortress 2, black ops, portal 2 and left4dead 2. If you like side scrolling-, sandbox-, adventure- games, you should check it out for sure.
    Expand
  35. May 22, 2011
    9
    If your fine with 2d and the graphics then this game is awesome. Has a lot of content! No major bugs. Awesome game! Has some similarities with Minecraft, but nothing what you could call "ripped off". It's just inspired by Minecraft. At least it seams so.
  36. z0m
    May 22, 2011
    8
    20 hours of play later, I can easily say purchasing Terraria has been the best 10 bucks I've spent in a while. I decided to give the game a eight simply because there are some things missing. The devs did mention in a post at Terraria Online that they basically released the beta version for multiple reasons and are well aware of server hosting issues and incomplete content. Future updates are already in the works but I'm reviewing the game as of now. If the TerrariaOnline.com Wiki didn't exist or if people don't take the initiative to seek answers for their questions about the game, I can see how it is very frustrating in the beginning. The Guide doesn't really help you at all and hardly goes in depth when explaining the proper way to build a shelter and how to get the other NPCs to move in. Also, explanation of the crafting system deserves some improvement. If you have no IT background, hosting a server is difficult and entering a users IP to join instead of selecting from a list is frustrating as well. Other than that, the game is genuinely fun. A couple friends and I started a world together and I found myself laughing almost the entire time. The content is so intricate, you are bound to spend hours exploring and adventuring. I am truly excited for what they add in the future. Expand
  37. May 22, 2011
    10
    This little time-waster uses ideas from every game you ever loved and creates a truly addicting gameplay-experience. The graphics are simple and compare to what you might have seen on the SNES and I am loving it. Terraria may be the best 2D-game of this year.
  38. May 23, 2011
    10
    Different Than Minecraft -- Terraria is a solid game that stands on its own and delivers more fun than $10 could get you anywhere else.

    Gameplay Summary -- Terraria combines classic platforming and RPG elements with sandbox gameplay in a randomly generated world. Most of the game can be experienced in Singleplayer, with Multiplayer being identical except for opening up the optional
    player-vs-player combat. Progression -- Progressing through the game brings you to explore deeper underground, farther outward on the surface, and maybe.. up? ;) Your character can be improved by crafting or finding new gear and by increasing your health and mana pools. Gear ranges from tools, to armor, to special accessories that can improve or alter character's mobility and stats. Certain areas remain impassible until you've acquired the right gear or defeated one of the game's three (for now..) boss monsters. Graphics -- 2D sprite artwork, strongly reminiscent of FF4 (FF2 US) and FF6 (FF3 US) from back in the SNES/Sega Genesis days, but fairly well done. This may bother some gamers, but certainly not all.

    If you've never played Minecraft (or if you're new to indie games) --
    It's worth noting Terraria is an Indie game that only just entered development back in January 2011, so it will be a little rough around the edges compared to your typical big-budget game. Your first few minutes in Terraria will likely be a bit frustrating. I recommend you check out some "Surviving your first night in Terraria" youtube videos, or other tutorials just to get started. Once you get into the swing of things, the game becomes less daunting and far more enjoyable.

    Since some of people are wondering why bother if its just like Minecraft (it's not!), here's a short summary of my opinion on major differences -- - Minecraft is better for epic buildings & creations, and its gameplay is almost purely "sandbox" elements. Exploring is mostly sight-seeing. Singleplayer gets stale fast, yet Multiplayer lacks features found in Singleplayer.

    - Terraria is better for adventuring, and its gameplay is a combination of platforming, combat, RPG-ish progression and "sandbox" elements. Exploring is a combination of sight-seeing, loot discovery, and game progression. Singleplayer doesn't get stale nearly as fast, and Multiplayer has all of the features.

    Conclusion --- If any of the gameplay described sounds interesting to you, and the graphics don't bother you, then this game is easily worth the $10. The developer seems responsive and fixed several previously unknown bugs the day after launch. As a bonus, they have clearly stated the intent to add content to the game post launch, for free. If you're on the fence, check out a few of the videos, and realize that what you see is much more fun if you're the one playing!
    Expand
  39. May 23, 2011
    10
    How come the AAA titles can never explore new mechanics in this way? Incredibly engaging and entertaining game - made even better by the addition of some friends.

    It really is a Roguelike all grown up with a lot less frustration.

    Also, for those reviewing without having played the game, saying it is a Minecraft clone. Please, leave - Notch would be embarrassed of you.
  40. May 23, 2011
    10
    Fantastic little game, well worth the money, at the very minimum you should be finding 30+ hours of play, and the time will fly by. Really good use of 2D space, and a very nice progression system.

    It is worth noting that at the time of posting, every single review below "7" is a zero, all but one yelling Minecraft rip-off.

    While there are many similarities to be drawn with Minecraft,
    such as resource gathering, and "blocks", it is in no way a clone or rip-off, and stands as its own game.
    If one must demand a comparison, where Minecraft often tend to focus on the building side of things, this game is an adventuring game. You spending a lot more time willingly fighting monsters, getting better weapons armour, and special accessories with unique functions. You push down (and occasionally upwards or sideways) going between different zones, with different strengths of challenge, and a different environment.
    With areas like corruption, which contain deep chasms which are nigh impossible to explore early game (though when you do, you can create yet another zone by calling down a meteorite), which can spread, and floating islands up in the sky, exploring is a very important factor of the game.

    It is not perfect, and given a more precise scale such as percentage, it would have been given a 98-99, but then no game I've ever played has deserved 100. Curse rounding.

    As far as flaws go, lack of ability to change resolution without 3rd party assistance is a little annoying, especially with multiple screens.
    It is also very occasionally buggy, mostly on the multiplayer, but it is being updated and patch, with new content as well as fixes.
    With the random world generation, certain necessary advancement tools can be hard to find (namely the demon altar), but this is solved by being able to share your character across world, and in your friends worlds, massively increasing chance of access to one.
    Crafting is very experimental. You often get very little indication what a craftable item is used for, and the crafting paths necessary for items, 'less it is a final usable thing, meaning that items like beds can be hard to discover, as you need to create a largish amount of silk beforehand, despite not knowing why. Either an attitude of willing to waste mats experimenting, or use of the wiki will be needed for crafting, if you want everything, however, everything completely necessary is self explanatory.
    Expand
  41. May 25, 2011
    10
    The reason I say Terraria is a beautiful game isn't because of the glorious pixel art; although the combination of pixel art, procedural generation, and smart use of lighting and particle systems are beautiful, but because many of the design decisions are just precisely right. For a game developed over 5 months by 4 people, it shows an incredible level of maturity.

    One of the few things
    Terraria gets wrong is that it doesn't explain the most straight forward thing you need to learn: which is that the mouse cursor is how you primarily interact with the world, limited for the most part by the requirement that your avatar be in relatively close proximity. Of course, close proximity in a game of plunging chasms, flooded caverns and spawning monsters is itself a challenge, but there is no point which so far I've felt like the control scheme has been frustrating or unresponsive.

    Like Minecraft, Terraria uses its procedurally generated backdrop as a palette for you to build and dig, but that's where many of the similarities end. Minecraft remains a toy sandbox (once the thrill and challenge of the first 30 minutes wears off), Terraria an open ended game. I've been meaning to write an article about the importance of that key verb 'dig': because it lets you throw off the shackles of required connectivity that makes much procedural content generation so frustrating (to design and to play in) and lets you generate glorious playgrounds which ultimately may be broken, but which the player has the tools to fix. Where Angband has gone wrong is digging is slow and unrewarding, Spelunky makes the mistake of limiting the level size, but here the maps are effectively limitless in size (in reality, just really huge - use the 3rd party mapping tool - just once - to display a map you've spent 3 or 4 hours exploring to see what I mean), and for the most part well-connected enough so that it is clear where you need to dig to hollow out a pathway or bring down a cascade of sand, but still big enough to make choosing a random direction and tunnelling an exercise in patience and frustration and occasional delight (as so it should be).

    Terraria makes the same smart decision that Minecraft does (and where Love goes horribly wrong) by using its pixel art assets to make it really clear what everything is: here are blocks of dirt, sand and rock, this is tree, grass and flower, and not only are they clearly delineated, but the clever crafting system makes these differences important. I say everything is differentiated: but at the same time rock, and the various ores are similar enough so that you need one next to the other to distinguish the two, forcing you to be keenly observant when you explore underground. Many times, I've paused at a rocky outcrop on the surface that I've run over tens of times, and suddenly realised that it was a valuable iron deposit.

    Exploring underground is as glorious as it could be: musically, rhythmically, the deep, but survivable drops from tunnel system to tunnel system, the splashes of unseen enemies in murky pools, the lighting system which limits your exploration by the torches you bring with you (or have wood and the foresight to be able to construct on the way), the frequent rewards of pots to smash (another Zelda touch to go with the swords swishing through glass and the slime enemy design), and the glorious highs of a single hidden reward which can make a whole trip worthwhile. What has ultimately limited my descents, as well as my overland trips, is water, which a clever take on swimming prevents you from moving quite as freely as you'd have hoped, not to mention limiting your breath. What makes this especially interesting is that it is often water that I've inadvertently let lose from an aquifer higher in the dungeon, which has sunk to the bottommost depths of the level preventing me progressing.

    I've begun exploring the [redacted] you can find on the surface, destroying my first [redacted] with some clever [redacted] placement, and I've found enough [redacted] that the first boss monster has noticed my presence. The surface [redacted] is enough of a challenge in its own right, taking away much of your usual toolset as well as more dangerous enemies, environment and geography; and I'm pausing for air before attempting what, given my equipment (copper and iron, and a nifty magical ranged weapon), sounds like it will be a challenge. Beyond that, I've got more bosses to fight and biomes to explore, and many more magical items to find.

    But I'm worried that I may have already spoiled too much of the game for you. I strongly urge you to stay as spoiler free as possible when you play.
    Expand
  42. May 26, 2011
    10
    Great little game. I love the old school feel of the game. Control is responsive and the gear choices allow you to play more as a 2d shooter or 2d hack-n-slash. I've really enjoyed the exploration. If you like to dig tunnels and wonder what is just out of sight you will enjoy the exploration aspect of this game. Building up a house has been interesting and I like how expanding the house brings in different NPCs. There are number of random and triggered events to mix up the normal pacing. The game also supports multi-player which is golden for the co-op crowd.

    Two features really increase re-playability of the game for me. The first feature is the random world generation. Each world is different. You can generate a new world whenever you feel like it. The second feature is that the character is persistent outside of the world. If you advance gear in one world you can take it any other world.

    I have almost 40 hours into the game and still have much to explore, build, craft, and battle. For me the game was a complete steal at $10. Best of luck to the developers.
    Expand
  43. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Fun game. It plays like a mixture of infiniminer, spelunky, and castlevania. Yes, yes, infiniminer and minecraft have blocks. What they DON'T have is a comfortable platforming experience, interesting items, or a fun loot system. A spreading corruption across the land, invasions, meteors with mineable ore, falling stars, randomly placed chests, fun monsters and bosses... These are all gimmicks, but I think they've really made the game. Expand
  44. Jun 4, 2011
    10
    The first screen shot of the game that I saw didn't draw me in, but the video had me interested -Minecraft meets Castlevania. It provides a sandbox to (literally) dig in, plenty to build, new and surprising enemies to defeat and plenty of rare items to discover. It is simple in its concept but robust in depth. The UI is well-done and it feels quite polished. Death is handled very well, with the player losing no inventory, but dropping half of their money, which can be recovered. The game delivers, and after a week I've already recommended it to one friend and gifted it to another. Multiplayer offers many opportunities for hilarity. Expand
  45. Jun 5, 2011
    10
    Terraria is like a big box of Lego. You're free to explore the world and defeat the monster that lurk underground or you can just build whatever you want.

    The crafting system is great, the music is nice and the developers are providing free update.
  46. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    Some people call terraria a Minecraft wanna be a Minecraft copycat in all honesty its a game within itself yeah it might have some aspects of Minecraft but terraria just has a larger selection of options in the game play no offence to notch he did a awesome job on Minecraft but the makers of terraria relogic i believe and red or are they the same i dont know ut they just blew all other 2D platform based games out of the water good job guys Expand
  47. Jun 15, 2011
    8
    We are a big Minecraft family. I had heard about Terraria in the Minecraft forums. My kids started watching youtube videos of people playing and it looked interesting. I am a big minecraft fan and was from the first moment.. This game definitely takes a bit more to get the hang of things, but once you get there you will be thinking about how much iron or gold you need to iron to get that next weapon. It can seem a bit grindy at times, but seems to have enough surprises to keep you interested, I occasionally get frustrated at controlling the character, especially when stuck in a deep water pit. Multiplayer is fun, whether you play cooperatively or as a team. Overall if you like Minecraft, this game will appeal - just give it a chance to grow on you... I mean, what other game can you get a whoopie cushion. Expand
  48. Jun 15, 2011
    10
    How could ANYONE who played this game give it a 0? Seriously one of the BEST games I have played in years! This game blends arcade action, strategy and exploration very well - it has great depth and when you get tired of all that? Take your time and build a castle! TOTALLY AWESOME I'm not fooling, this game came out two weeks ago and steam is reporting I have played 100 hours and I have yet to see the end game content. and its only $10... you just cant beat that - I LOVE TERRARIA! Expand
  49. Jun 16, 2011
    9
    Great game if you have the patience to get through the first few nights, also you need friends to play this or it's pretty boring, I love the new combat addition.
  50. Jun 17, 2011
    10
    I always judge a game after about an hour of game play, and on my opinion this game is really good. I've heard many reviewers go to far with their reviews and I decided to try it for my self. It has a lot more than MineCraft. It has adventure, better combat, chests deep underground with cool stuff, heart crystals, and many more. You should go try it for yourself. It is definitely worth the 10$.
  51. Jun 19, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If you enjoyed playing Minecraft and would like to relive the 8-bit side-scroller days, then you should check out Terraria. It starts you off a little more friendly by providing you with the basic tools for you to start mining and building your shelter. (Pick, Axe, Sword, Hammer) Once you've gathered some materials, you can scroll thru the very easy list of items that you can craft. Just that like Minecraft, you don't know how to make anything more without checking the Wiki page for all the crafting recipes. Once you've got your house built correctly, you'll have NPC's start moving into the rooms you've built. Gaining ones like the "Demolitionist" and "Nurse" after finding items deep in the caves randomly generated

    For a game only made in 4 months and being patched constantly, This is a pretty fun sandbox game. I'm only 19 hours in and finally got a Grappling Hook made and using Gold and Silver items. -------
    Pros:
    The items on your character stay with them, regardless of starting a new singleplayer map or multiplayer.
    There is a convenient list of items you can scroll thru to see what you can make.
    Everything stacks, so you don't have single items taking up inventory space.
    There is no durability for items. They stay with you forever until you sell them.
    -----
    Cons:
    There's zero tutorial built into the game in order for you to learn how to play and advance, despite there being an NPC Guide for you to talk to. You have to goto Youtube and/or a Wiki page to look up things.
    Expand
  52. Jun 19, 2011
    8
    A pretty good game, well worth the 10 dollar price it currently has. The progression in the game is fun and the sheer amount of enemies and gear, as well as the variety of both, makes for a fun time exploring. Overall however, content is sparse in areas like end game gear and biome content. Fortunately that is the focus of the devs time right now.

    In short, it's worth 10 dollars alone
    now, and with promises of more stuff being regularly added should only get better*.


    *Unless Re-Logic pulls a Notch and goes on weekly vacations.
    Expand
  53. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    The game is good, however, the developers are complete moronic idiots to say the least. It is a shame that they took such a potential looking game, and turned it into a money making machine, not giving a damn about their users. For instance, they 'copyright claim' every negative review of the game on youtube. I got my account banned because I criticized their game for having poor replay value. (Which it does, once you reach the endgame)

    For that reason, these developers do not deserve your 10$, go spend it on a game where the developers will actually care about their customers.
    Expand
  54. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    Awesome game. If you like good and funny games try it. You can't be wrong with thist one.
    If you fail at life and like boring things, you can always "play" minecraft.
  55. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    Terraria is an amazing game. It had me hooked in the first minute there is just so much to do. Also this game is nothing like minecraft and they shouldn't be compared.
  56. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    This game is incredibly amazing. I can't even believe it's 10 dollars. It's extremely addictive and filled with hours of fun, whether you play it alone or with friends. The game goes from zombies to giant worms to flying eye balls and tons of other unique npcs to different places to explore, such as dungeons, jungles, and other places you will find on your adventure. The game is filled with tons of different items, giving you a whole mess of items to craft and provide different ways to play the game making it possible to engage into battle as melee, range, or even a mage. The devs will also be adding new things to the game over time as well, which adds tons of replay ability to the game. Terraria is a must have. Expand
  57. Jun 22, 2011
    7
    I'd give the game a ten if not for the confusion of the early game, which is what most people seem to get stuck on, rage quit, then come here and rate it as a 0. But as you learn how to do different things ( like crafting, and the people from Minecraft seem to forget about the time before you could go to a wiki and see the pattern for everything ) the game just gets better and better. And it's also not a Minecraft ripoff in 2d, saying that is like saying every hot-key based MMO is a ripoff of WoW. They're from the same genre, which is relatively new and has only a few games in it so people automatically go into fan boy rage mode when seeing a trailer for it.
    So to sum it up, if you got a bit of extra cash and some free time, go get it.
    ALSO to any of you people who just despise it for no good reason who are convinced that everyone who does like it must be the devs in disguise, please do PM Pandemic on the Minecraft Forums to at least ensure I'm not a dev.
    Expand
  58. Jun 22, 2011
    10
    Oh, hey, look, it's Minecraft in 2D.

    ...Nah, I'm just f*ckin' with ya. Terraria plays more like Castlevania with generous sprinklings of Minecraft and old Final Fantasy sprites. In order to get them out of the way, I'll start with the negatives, because I felt that they were few and far between. First off, there are certain items that require vigorous "farming" to get, but that can't
    really be avoided, because otherwise it would devalue those items, several of which are incredibly useful. Secondly, the game doesn't support modding quite so well, though I've heard talk that the developers intend to. I certainly hope so. A game like this, with its simplistic sprite design and easy-to-understand mechanics, seems like a breeding ground for wonderful user content beyond all the pretty structures you'll be spending hours building after you finally get those rocket boots.

    Now, on to the positive. Terraria blends the building, mining, crafting, murdering elements of Minecraft with the dungeoneering, loot-gathering, potion-spamming goodness of Symphony of the Night, though it lacks quite as much diversity in creatures. I blame that on the size of the studio, though. While I have yet to play the multiplayer, the single player progression is rewarding and challenging. You'll fight your first boss, be terrified, probably die a lot, then come back later and laugh in its face as you stomp it into the dust with your shiny new weapon, crafted from the crushed dreams of a planet-devouring worm. Feels good, man.

    The game lacks any tangible level-up system, instead allowing players to upgrade mana and health through specific items found while exploring, and upgrading damage resistance with armor crafted from ores found exploring. It's very much one long spelunking trip with loads more violence -- anything that dies breaks into vaguely recognizable chunks of its sprite. Gross. The sprites themselves, however, are very reminiscent of old Final Fantasy games, though I wouldn't count this against it. I nostalgia'd pretty hard. Even the NPCs have memorable sprites and distinct personalities, given the few lines they have. I think I may be switching persons, a grammarian party foul, but players will also very much enjoy crafting their own little village for the NPCs, as they will only move in when you've built them a cozy little home to nestle into.

    I think I've covered the major points I needed to. For ten bucks, this game's a pretty good value. Were a barrel of miniature simians readily available for comparison, I'm sure it would come out on top. I could build a better barrel anyway. Out of Hellstone. Filled with Fire Imps.
    Expand
  59. Jun 22, 2011
    10
    Terraria is an interesting game with many similarities with another game called Minecraft.
    The game its self offers a very retro 2D plat former feel with the diversity and flexibility of a sandbox type game.
    It has a crafting systems with a lot of different items and things that can be created, dungeons, monsters , bosses, treasure and rare items.. all the makings of an interesting world
    to explore and advance in, but this is not for everyone.

    I have friends who like Minecraft but not Terraria but also the other way around, each to their own as they say.
    Personally I have not invested a lot of time in the game but the time I have spent has been well worth it, if you have no issues with sandbox games then you will quickly find your self digging a little more to the early hours of the morning and then freaking out because you have 2hrs to sleep and get ready for work.

    All in all, while the game is not for everyone, it is cheaper then lunch and well worth a try if you are looking for something a little different.
    Expand
  60. Jun 23, 2011
    9
    This was the first game I was excited to play in a long time. I really enjoyed Minecraft, I was still playing it when my friends wanted me to pick up Terraria. They told me, "It's like Minecraft, but 2D!" I was a very skeptical person, so I told them I didn't want to spend the money. I was wrong, this game was simple love.

    The graphics are very friendly and colorful. They evoke
    emotion and really speak about what's going on in the game. The graphics aren't anything high end, but the graphics of this game really augment the gameplay.

    The music is pretty catchy and almost always captures the mood of what's going on. My only concern is the re-use of certain tracks, but it's no big deal because almost all of the music is pretty good.

    The gameplay is tons of fun, Terraria is easy to pick up and dive into. The multiplayer and single player playstyles are both fun. Single player provides a fair bit of progression that will keep you entertained for hours. Multiplayer is especially fun with a few friends. Get together, dig some holes, fight some bosses, kill each other with lava, and go have some simple fun.

    I have one killer that pulled this score away from a 10, there's not enough to do in the game! There needs to be more content! I ran out of stuff to do after a couple of weeks of avid play. The game developers are releasing somewhat regular content patches, over time I'm sure the game will expand nicely.

    Here's the quick rundown: Terraria is a simple game that is a lot of fun. The sounds and graphics are quirky and emotional, the gameplay is a lot of fun that will last you a decent chunk of time, but there isn't much content right now, once you run out there isn't much to do. On a 1-100 scale I would give this game a 92.
    Expand
  61. Jun 24, 2011
    4
    This game is a complete rip-off of a well known game. It has no originality whatsoever and makes you feel like you just played a cheap bootlegged version of your favorite game. If this game came out 3 years ago, I would most likely say that it was creative, yet it has wonky build controls, few items, and the game does not even look good. I strongly believe that everyone who gave this a high review is probably crazy. Expand
  62. Jun 25, 2011
    10
    I bought this game thinking I would regret this purchase, thinking it was another Minecraft knockoff, but as I skeptically beat off slimes and trees, I slowly got drawn in to the game-play, and eventually realized, it isn't Minecraft, it is a whole new game. New depths and even more content then Minecraft lead it to be one of my most played games. If I have free time and my laptop, I'll be playing Terraria. This game is a great addition to a seasoned Minecrafter's game library, as a companion, and competitor game. Expand
  63. Jun 26, 2011
    10
    What originally seemed like a game that plays itself off of the minecraft crowd, is now nothing like it. with graphics that will easly run on most PCs and a 2D landscape it resembles that of SNES platformers. It is a game you can pick up and play and not get bored easily. Like minecraft, you find what you want to do and by the end, with most powerful weapons in hand, you still keep playing. weither its building a tower or a giant **** and balls, this game will hold your attention. The developers are updating and adding new content so there is always something to get later even if you have everything. Fun mulitplayer with PvP possible or co-op. Fight your friends or journey into the bowls of the land. It is a must have. Expand
  64. Jun 30, 2011
    9
    Let me start by saying that the first time i saw this game i said "pff it's a minecraft copy in 2d"
    then my cousin started playing and told me to start too so i thought "meh lets try it"
    yeah its basicly the same kind of game but if u think in that way quake was a copy of doom,
    the difference is where the game has been improved and i say it has improved a lot, there is so much more to
    do, they took the idea of minecraft and improved it a lot, there are random events like goblin army, blood moon rising, etc, that improved the game in so many ways that it's worth your time and money Expand
  65. Jul 2, 2011
    10
    Check how they fake user reviews (Vote it up plz so everyone can see):

    BigMike May 17, 2011 10 Terraria is an amazingly enchanting game, that sucked me in from the moment I started it up. With great pixel art, endearing music and lots of retro aspects, terraria will occupy me for years to come. This idea is still fresh and I'm glad somebody didn't shy away from it just because of
    MineCraft's recent success.

    j0rv1d May 17, 2011 10 "Terraria is an amazingly enchanting game, that sucked me in from the moment I started it up. With great pixel art, endearing music and lots of retro aspects, terraria will occupy me for years to come. This idea is still fresh and I'm glad somebody didn't shy away from it just because of MineCraft's recent success. "
    Expand
  66. Jul 2, 2011
    10
    The reviews that say "This game sucks because bla bla bla and horrible graphics" amuse me very much. This game has a FEW resemblances to Minecraft, but think about this, with no Mods. Does Minecraft have Bosses? Does Minecraft have Dungeons? Does Minecraft have Jungles? Does Minecraft have Corruption? Now here are some smaller details. Does Minecraft have Tables? Does Minecraft have Chairs? Does Minecraft have 7 different types of armor? All of those are NO. Sure, Terraria borrows some unique features from Minecraft but Terraria also has a boatload of unique features of it's own. Also, to that graphics thing, IT'S 2D! WHAT DO YOU EXPECT YOU CoD FAN BOYS?! Expand
  67. Jul 3, 2011
    10
    As one of the very few people online who hate Minecraft, I was not expecting to like Terraria. At first glance, it looks exactly like a 2D version of everybody's favorite virtual Lego game with all the mining, crafting, building, and pointless sandboxing. Don't let that fool you however; Terraria and Minecraft are as different as Super Mario Bros and Mega Man. While Minecraft focuses more on building amazing structures, Terraria is more centered around combat and exploration. It's still a sandbox game, so you're free to do whatever, but I enjoyed exploring the massive world I randomly generated in Terraria more than I did in Minecraft. Unlike Minecraft, there are more monsters to fight and there are even boss battles to spice things up a bit. Don't let whatever impressions you have of Minecraft stop you from giving Terraria a try. I was a bit skeptical when I threw my $7 (Steam sale) at Terraria, but I'm immensely satisfied with how far my purchase has gotten me. Expand
  68. Jul 4, 2011
    10
    This is a fantasic open world 2D side scroller. Lots of loot and mobs, many areas to explore and endless building options. Has great online multiplayer options and great PVP. I put in over 100 hours before I felt like I've seen it all, and thats not bad for 10 bucks if you ask me (which you didn't)... Its worth checking out

    (Written as of version1.0.5.)
  69. Jul 6, 2011
    9
    A little slow for the first couple hours. But if you are a fan of nostalgia Squaresoft RPGs / Metroid / Castlevania series with a minecraft building system this game eventually evolves into an absolutely amazing experience. With random generating worlds and co-op, its one of the best gaming deals around.
  70. Jul 15, 2011
    5
    well.. Probably these guys who game 10 dont have more than 20 hours of gameplay... Let me say what I think: This IS a good game. It has great features, like potions, guns, magic and great dungeons... but after doing all that stuff, i sincerelly have to say that it gets TOO boring. :(

    After my 30 hours of gameplay, im sorry to say that i cant even launch the game anymore.. I mean, at
    least not now. About Minecraft vs. Terraria, all i have to say is: Minecraft. "But minecraft also gets boring!"
    well, then u have the m ultiplayer. "BUT TERRARIA ALSO HAVE MULTIPLAYER!" well, its a crap. It doesnt have plugins and moderations.. blablabla... But its still a quite nice game, if you're going to buy it, get in a steam offer, because it not worthy the 10 buck (but that you'll see after the 20th hour of gameplay)

    my message to you: Its not a bad game, but it isnt the best game ever. Have that in mind ;D

    my score: 7.5
    Expand
  71. Jul 16, 2011
    9
    Many people complain that this game is a complete ripoff off Minecraft but even notch himself likes this game!
    Thus if it werent for notch this game wouldnt have become as well known as it is :)
    Ok back to the game: The game has very similiar building basics like Minecraft but thats the ONLY thing in Terraria u will find is similiar (except for zombies at night)
    Terraria is more like an
    adventure game version of Minecraft. So if you're thinking about buying the game just for building in it i don't think you should buy it so buy Minecraft instead. Terraria just like Minecraft isn't a full game yet so if you buy it look forward to updates and new things being added and make sure to play Terraria with lots of friends. The more the merrier Expand
  72. Jul 18, 2011
    10
    Great game, got it on steam sale for a fiver, a week ago and already clocked up about 20 hours on it, love the exploring side of it, and the just five more minutes aspect of it.
    lots of times ive been about to save it and quit and ive just seen something in the background and played for another 30 mins
    A few on here mention about how it can get repetitive after 30 hrs or more, but crikey
    if i can get 30 hours out of a five pounds game, then its a good game indeed, plus with the updates adding and changing stuff each time, there is always a reason to come back for more.
    i could spend 40 pounds on a ps3 game for 10 hrs gameplay, and while a different style of game, this easily deserves a 10 based on the sheer amount of enjoyment to price alone
    Expand
  73. Jul 21, 2011
    9
    Great indy game with plenty to do, nice retro graphics and nice bubbly soundtrack. Obviously quite similar to minecraft but with more emphasis on exploration. Full review on my site here: http://bit.ly/oufCTk
  74. Jul 21, 2011
    9
    one of this games features is also one of its worst, when you see Terraria you think Minecraft and this is what bigs it up but also lets it down. I will start by saying I bought Terraria one week ago and when I first started I was like "what the hell do I do here" and before long I was devoured by zombies, I left it for about an hour until a friend noticed i had bought it and asked me how I liked it, after an in depth discussion and a link to the wiki I had another shot at it. With the help of the wiki and my friend I really got into the game, after four days playing we had beaten the eye of cthulhu, used the drops to make a better pick and the game spiralled upwards from there .
    Now, my first point was that when people play this and are expecting minecraft they get let down because this game isn't minecraft. When people play expecting a fun multiplayer sandbox based explorer they get given what they expect, a fun entertaining game.

    In summary:-

    Graphics - (9) - The graphics in Terraria are good for what they are trying to be, They aren't fancy but they accomplish what they set out to do.

    Gameplay - (8) - Terraria is a bit of a slow burning start, with no real tutorial and most users having to look on the wiki. However when taught to use it even new players get the hang of it quickly and learn from there. The actual gameplay itself is the same, it starts slow but picks up speed as you progress and once you get near the end the gameplay is so fast when you see new players you remember how frustrated you got before you made the big push forward.

    Concept - (9) - no matter how much you wish this was Minecraft it is not, and for good reason. Terraria developed its own identity a while ago and it may well be a channel for Minecraft veterans and vice versa but Terraria will keep growing and will surpass Minecraft until you hear whispers of "Hey, have you tried that game, what's it called.... oh yeah, Minecraft."
    "No, What is it." "It's like Terraria!"

    General - (10) - With Terraria constantly expanding it will develop into a great game for all. It is consistently in the top ten games on steam and hits and stays at number one for a long time when a new update comes out. You are never short of a multiplayer game to join and its great fun with friends

    Price - (10) - for £6/$10 there are few other games you could buy that give you this much enjoyment and if you got 3 friends together and bought the four pack then it would save you £1.50/$2.50 each. is that still too much, then trawl the steam forum and you can find people touting the remains of a four pack for considerably less, I grabbed a bargain and scored a copy for my brother for £1.25/$2

    Want to play, Add me on steam. ID - Jimjam03
    Expand
  75. Jul 21, 2011
    10
    Great game minecraft and this game are about the same terraria is way better though fun with my friends. Its very fun because my friends and i love the merchants the npcs (the guide stinks) well becaues its something that minecraft doesnt have and a 2d game like terraria does which is pretty freaking cool you no. also this game deserves a 10 because guns are pretty awsome and you can get that in terraria sounds cool its really well worth it you should really go get it. Expand
  76. Jul 22, 2011
    10
    This game is truly amazing. This game is unique. And although is shares many elements with Minecraft, it is so different you cannot compare the two without sounding like an idiot. And if you say you "Played" the game and that it is a copy of Minecraft, you clearly played it for 2 minutes and then quit. It goes beyond Minecraft in many ways. Sure, you can build mine and craft items, but then you can go out and find items that cant be crafted and are super rare. It ranges from things such as aglets, to super rare weapons such as the Phaseblade. There is so much more to do. Terraria is simply Minecraft if you shoved in Zelda and some RP. Expand
  77. Jul 23, 2011
    10
    I'm extremely glad I bought this game on a long weekend! I actually put 40 hours into this game in a three day period. I just lugged my laptop around and sat and explored this game. It is crazy fun. I have noticed on several of the negative reviews for this game people say things like worst fifteen minuets ever or worst hour wasted. Well if you aren't prepared to give this game probably around six to ten hours of exploration prepare for a letdown. If however you want to explore, and learn then perhaps, this is your style of game. I find humor in how few people give this game a five. It is like the either don't give it a chance and ergo the bad score, or the do give it a chance and are like WOW his truly is amazing! I do have to admit though that I'm a fan of the eight bit style graphics and have been since they were around so that really is a positive in my book. I continue to dump time into this game. At 40 hours I have quite a place to live and have made it around half way into the armor building. I have all gold armor and actually some advanced tools. I wish this game was around when I was a kid I can't imagine what I would have done! Expand
  78. Jul 23, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If your a hater on this game go play your 12 year old call of duty, because this game is fantastic for 10 bucks. Graphics are good you can still make pixel art. You will probably, like me play this game for a long while during 1 update and when it gets a little boring sit around wait for a new update and jump right back into it doing that all over again. Great game even for the ones who have not played minecraft Expand
  79. Jul 23, 2011
    7
    This game is very... very FUN! It is a 2d sandbox game where you can build things and fight. I think the building part of the game is taken away because of the fact that it is 2d and that i like to adventure and fight bosses. The multiplayer is very fun. Hosting the game was very easy and very fast which made the experience in multiplayer much more fun. However, the only down side to Terraria is there isn't enough content to continue my addiction to this game. After I got the highest tier items in the game, it just got boring. But the thing is that fun was well worth the 10$. Expand
  80. Jul 26, 2011
    10
    When i first looked at the trailers of Terraria, i thought "aww c'mon, its just a copy of minecraft", but then after sometime i decided to try the game out, and then i bought it, and i must say i got surprised, this game has soo much to offer, and there is soo much to do, that's its completely unbelievable, i can play for hours and hours, and it just doesn't get boring, the trailers might look boring, but you have to play a game like this judge it, and it only costs 10$, that is the best game i have bought for a long time, and its definitely worth it. i have also played minecraft, but this game is just overall more addictive and fun in my oppinion. Expand
  81. Jul 27, 2011
    10
    My first impression of this game was not great at all. Graphics wise the game is the most unappealing of all the games I am currently playing, but the simplistic nature of the graphics is what makes it so great. It bring back old memories of past 2D platform games that were just as great as this one. Not only can you enjoy the good times in Terraria, but you can also get creative and create your own worlds. From PVP Arenas to giant fortresses fending off hordes of zombies, the amount of creativity that can be produced in this game is almost limitless. On another note many compare this game to MineCraft. These two games although they share similar aspects, they are different and have their own sparks. MineCraft is pointed more towards construction and dimensions and isn't much of an adventure game whereas Terraria is, and I'd have to choose Terraria over MineCraft anyday. Expand
  82. Jul 29, 2011
    10
    Fan of Minecraft, you will definatly love this game to pieces! I bought this game a few days after the release date and I was so pumped for it. The graphics may not be Crysis 2 level, but its a whole more fun than Crisis 2! They give you free updates when you buy and just enjoy the wonderful game. The concept of collecting, building, mining even teamwork on multiplayer! 10/10, I still love this after 30+ hours! Expand
  83. Aug 7, 2011
    10
    Terraria - Ah, What To Say.... Simply The Best, Always Growing And Adding New Things. This Game Is Wonderful And I Cant Wait To See What It Blooms Into.
  84. Aug 8, 2011
    10
    I didn't like Minecraft at all, because it was only sandbox, with occasional NPC's to harass you. Friend of mine recommended Terraria, and i bought it from Steam sale, it cost less than 5â
  85. Aug 10, 2011
    7
    Let me start by saying that no one should dismiss this game without playing it first. Yes it's a 2D platformer, but it sets itself apart from the crowd with it's rich environments which encourage exploration; vast array of equipment and customization; and the player's ability to shape the world to their whim. In a similar vein to Minecraft you can build over, destroy and sculpt the land around you, which really helps the game feel unique and stay that way for at least 20 hours of solid gameplay.

    I spent 26 hours with the game in total, and roughly 15 hours were spent in either 2 player or 3 player co-operative modes. Setting up a multiplayer game is much simpler than in Minecraft, and provided you have friends with the game can dramatically increase the fun you have with it. Playing it alone I felt drained quickly - you can tell it's geared towards co-operative play more than anything else.

    My issues with the game stem from it's construction. Initially the game offers little guidance; just as Minecraft does, and you are required to continually visit the wiki to understand both the basics and the more advanced aspects of the game. A tutorial would definitely not go amiss here - the AI guide you are lumped with at the beginning of the game gives you random, often cryptic clues as to what to do - why a simple, short and organized tutorial was not included remains a mystery. Still, if you (like I) manage to wade through the wiki and find the best course of action, you will eventually hit the second issue inherent in the game. Without giving too much away, much of the most advanced armor and weaponry is genuinely incredibly difficult to acquire - whilst this makes it feel more precious in your eyes, ores like Hellstone can only be mined with the best pickaxes and these are very difficult to get in the first place. It feels like Terraria has intentionally put a block in the way of your previously rapid acquirement of new stuff, and "new stuff" is really what keeps the game going.

    That's not to say it's a bad game in any way. Working out strategies to defeat the bosses and fending off blood moons and goblin invasions is genuinely fun stuff, the music is great and there is a lot out there in this world to discover. To draw a comparison to Minecraft again - even when you've discovered everything in Minecraft, you still feel compelled to build, the game still makes you want to play. The limitations of making Terraria a 2D game means what you can build is severely hampered and doesn't really draw any fresh resolve from the player to continue after a certain point. Personally, I found it great fun getting to the 20-hour mark, but beyond that my interest fell sharply. There just isn't enough to do after you've found everything you need, and the game suffers because of it.

    In short, the game is genuinely good fun for a few hours play with your friends in the evening, and few other games offer such a relaxing, engaging experience up to a certain point, after which it lacks the depth for any sort of longevity.
    Expand
  86. Aug 10, 2011
    10
    This is one of the few games that you start playing, and before you know it, daybreak arrives. It appeals to many people with it's 2D art style, RPG elements, platforming, resource collecting through mining for stone and ores, chopping trees down for wood which you can use to create what your heart desires. For that alone builders and artists will love Terraria. Terraria's soundtrack is incredibly soothing containing themes that fit the mood of the environment you are currently in whether you are deep underground, outside in the daylight, or fighting against monsters at night. Controls are very simple to pick up. Overall, Terraria is a great game and deserves to be placed high on the pedestal. At It's price Terraria is a total steal. You will not be disappointed especially if you are fond of Metroidvania type games. Expand
  87. Aug 10, 2011
    10
    Ok, after 173 hours of playing Terraria, I'm still coming back for more. Redigit and his crew at Re-logic did a good job working this. With constant patches to improve npc AI and items, the game keeps getting better. After five months of development, they released a good game. I watched PaperbatVG's videos of this game before it came out, and that probably gave me a better idea on how to play it. You people who are giving it bad reviews, try to think of something better to do that just attack the game or it's developers. You could perhaps write something to help improve it if Re-logic saw it. Expand
  88. Aug 18, 2011
    8
    Graphics aren't everything in a game, and Terraria is living proof. It's a 2D platformer-sandbox-builder-explorer type game. For the person who likes to explore rather than build, there are dungeons to loot, bosses to fight, and even more things. The best thing: It's not even done yet. More items, bosses, enemies, and locations are patched in, so you can keep discovering new things.
  89. Aug 20, 2011
    10
    One of the most fun games to come out in a long time. Simple , creative , exciting and fun ! Theres lots of room for improvements and implementations here but Terraria proves that you dont need great graphics to make a memorable game and is well worth the 15 bucks. I recommend to anyone.
  90. Aug 25, 2011
    10
    The score for this game is far too low for its quality and fun. People see a pickaxe and ore and think, wow, Minecraft ripoff! The gameplay is an adventure about one person, you, who wakes up and has no idea what to do. Once you figure out the basic gameplay, Terraria shines. A 2D platformer is always welcome in my collection of games, and this game is the best I have ever played. What I love about this game is a constant sense of progression and reward. As you journey into the underground, you will find a variety of monsters awaiting you, in areas such as the Underground Jungle and Hell. You will als find rewards, such as rare armor and accessories in chests, and as drops from monsters. A mix of weapons awaits you, from spells like the rare Flamelash, to guns such as the Minishark (Half shark, half gun, completely awesome). The multiplayer multiplies the fun. DISCLAIMER: I own both Minecraft and Terraria. I Expand
  91. Aug 26, 2011
    10
    People say that Terraria is just a 2D Minecraft. Sure it has crafting and mining. But what's Minecraft? An Infiminer clone. People need to realize that games borrow from other games. You need to realize that Minecraft isn't a game anymore, it's a genre. If you stop letting yourself get offended when a game has some of the stuff other games have, you could enjoy the game for what it is.
  92. Aug 29, 2011
    9
    I can understand why Terraria has a bad reputation. It's very difficult to get into, there is a very limited in game tutorial in the form of a "Guide," and there is room for a lot of improvement. However, the developers are indeed constantly improving and expanding the game in a way where I believe it can be enjoyable, even from the beginning. At first, I expected some sort of Maple Story/Minecraft mashup, which actually isn't an inaccurate judgement from a cursory glance. However, as I continued to play the game, I found it more and more enjoyable. Using outside resources and guides improved the game experience for me, but I don't know if that applies to everyone. I hope Terraria continues to expand so that gameplay becomes even more enjoyable. Expand
  93. Sep 14, 2011
    9
    Like many people I was also put off by the 2D super mario look but i quickly got over it, there is just so much to do and so many enemies I love how they are even making it better. The only problem i have with it is that it isn't also available for the Mac Os Since i bought two copies for my self and my gf (which has a mac) and is really annoying to have to restart and jump on boot camp just to play it. So guys if you read this plz plz plz plz! Make it available on mac also, your only hurting your selves by not having it available to a broader market =( Expand
  94. Sep 15, 2011
    10
    Terraria is an amazing game. I loved it from the first moment I heard about it. It never gets boring, there's always something to do. Amazing boss fights, awesome caves, challenging battles! There is something for everyone. You can build gigantic structures, explore caves and dungeons, mine ores to craft better and better tools... Overall a great game! Ignore anyone who says it sucks! It most certainly doesn't! And it is not copying off Minecraft. Minecraft is a great game also, but they are both very different! Expand
  95. Sep 20, 2011
    9
    Me, being a person who enjoyed the game that was out of my reach due to low ram, Minecraft, LOVE this game. It is super open-ended and way to easy to get into. The only problem is that it is too easy to complete. If you were to sit down and play the game ONCE through (without Hardcore on), it would be done in one day. Hardcore....maybe three. I love it, but a 9.0 is what its worth.
  96. Oct 6, 2011
    7
    Every single negative review I've seen mentions Minecraft, when the fact is, this game has nothing to do with Minecraft. Notch himself has said he recognizes Terraria as a separate game, not as a copy of his own.

    Now as for my review, I liked the game, but it does have issues. Many issues. For instance, once you get to a certain point, everything gets far too easy and boring. It feels
    more like a chore when your about five hours of game play in, if you work quickly enough. The bosses are great but there are so few of them that you have to fight the same ones to get materials for the really god items. While I understand this game is technically still being developed, it should be made obvious. It's not in beta, this is a release that just updates a lot. Also, I do not agree with the pricing. It is too high for what the game is.

    Another thing about other reviews is they keep mentioning how terrible the graphics are, when that's the point. This game wasn't meant to look AMAZING. And if people can't see that, then they shouldn't have bought it in the first place, because it was obvious just looking at the games store page how it would look.

    Back to my own review, I for one think the graphics are exactly what they were meant to be, and it looks good.

    The long and short of it is, this game is not for people who buy high end computers so they can run games like Crysis 2 flawlessly. This game is, in fact, an indie game, and should be treated as such.
    Expand
  97. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    Ce jeu est une excellente alternative à Minecraft, tout en restant éloigné de son principe, il faut garder à l'esprit que MC n'a pas inventé le Sand Box, loin de là, et qu'il s'en inspiré de Terraria pour sa toute nouvelle dimension RPG.
  98. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    great game if you have friends you can play for hours. some ppl says it is like an 2d minecraft not true since in minecraft you got like 7 things that you can do crafting wise that is worth.terraria though is focused on the more adventures style.since it is like 4 bosses guns magic special swords and all kinds of stuff o do i have played over 100 hours still not tired of it since Re-logic can fit more things in 4mb than notch can put in 1gb Expand
  99. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    When i first started playing Terraria, i found it very similar to Minecraft. After logging about 27 hours on the game i realized it had a very different point to the game. It was more dungeoneering than building. Minecraft has the element that wants you to make a beast mansion. Then in Terraria It gives you the element to explore. Cave's, Sky Temples with locked chests, the underworld filled with lava. and last but not least corruption. on another point Minecraft is 3D as Terraria is 2D. Although this is usually a key part of a game in Terraria it doesn't seem to matter at all. So if i had to rate this game it would be a 10 out of 10. Just because they took the time to make a game that would not be as graphically good as Minecraft or other mining 3D games. So 10 out of 10 on my vote. amazing game. Expand
  100. Dec 1, 2011
    10
    Only a fool would say that it Terraria is Minecraft. Yes, I do not like Mine, but I'm telling the truth is a different game! It makes sense! And not just dig, dig and dig ... In Terraria have bosses, dungeons, magic and much more! Pity the self-purchase Terraria, but not Minecraft.
    Thanks to Google Translate :) [Russia]
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Mar 19, 2012
    83
    Terraria is one of the best sandbox games. Terraria has some Minecraft spirit, however the focus of the game is on fighting and crafting, so it involves more action. The best way to enjoy Terraria is to play it with a couple of friends on your own server.
  2. Mar 16, 2012
    70
    It's a title that will appeal to the adventurer, the explorer and the builder; not to mention those who appreciate a substantial amount of player freedom. If you happen to be all of those things, Terraria is a lightly tarnished treasure.
  3. Mar 14, 2012
    83
    A lot of games tried to copy Minecraft – or at least participate from its' success. But this two-dimensional take on the well known formula is the only game that is able to step out of the shadow of the indie phenomenon that inspired it. It leads you into a unique world full of creative magic.