User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1208 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 17, 2011
    10
    This game has had my interest for some time. After I became bored with Minecraft and stopped playing it, I found out about this game. After buying it for a few friends and myself, we have all become addicted to it. There is so much to see and do. The art and game play are exceptional. When first starting, everything seemed so much similar to Minecraft. But after an hour of playing, I came to realize just how different the games really are. There is so much more to discover in this game, and so many more reasons to discover these things! Definitely go and buy it for the $10. It is worth it all. Expand
  2. May 25, 2011
    10
    "Let's take Minecraft, rip everything that's GOOD from it, make it 2D, then add fancy weapons and NPCs". Way to go. 10/10 - Best game that I've played all year.
  3. Jun 23, 2011
    10
    It's enraging to see all the MINECRAFT RIPOFF!!!1!!! 0 reviews.

    Let's get this straight, the thing that Terreria are Minecraft share, you can build, you can dig, you can craft.
    Does that seem like general similarities? That's because they are. This game is no where near a Minecraft rip off. At the moment Minecraft is a sandbox building game. Terreria is a 2D RPG where you can build.
    The focus of the two games are very different.

    I've sunk many hours into this game, if you get a good world going with your friends you'll be up until the early hours playing this, there's a lot to do and discover and the frequent updates only add more.

    Granted once you complete it you might want to leave it a while before coming back, but at £6 I'm not concerned, I "completed" it about a month back and since then it's been hugely updated so I'll soon return.
    Expand
  4. Jul 19, 2011
    9
    When I first laid my eyes on this game I didn't think of it as a Minecraft clone at all. The trailer really made me interested, it looked more like an adventure, RPG game than a Minecraft copy. Terraria is exactly that - Adventure. Despite what a lot says about Terraria is being a Minecraft clone, I almost 100 percent disagree. Sure they are a like when it comes to some parts of the game, but that's just required for this type of genre. Battlefield and Call of Duty is even more clones than Minecraft and Terraria.

    Terraria is a Wonderful, amazing game that will bring you a lot of pleasure if you are into adventuring. During my, so far, 200 hours of game-play - I have never felt bored, even if I was doing the same thing for hours.
    Expand
  5. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    Terraria is by far one of the best 2-D-survival, role-playing, side-scrolling games I have ever bought on Steam, and I've been playing it for 123 hours now. You can consider it to be a 2-D version of Minecraft, but it's not. It was built on the same concept, perhaps, but despite Terraria's limitations in graphics, it has so much potential beyond Minecraft. Randomly generated worlds that are small, medium or large; interesting, and almost seeming endless, exploration; online multiplayer; NPC's that move into your homes which you can buy stuff from them and/or sell it; infinite durability for tools and weapons; only losing your coins when you die; all the items you have for your own character get transferred; crafting potions and acquiring a numerous variety of weapons, clothing and other accessories; fighting challenging enemies and bosses; and so much more. This game is on beta version 1.0.4 and the new update which is 1.0.5 is going to add even more content. There have been rumors that the price may increase as more content is added. Overall, it has been the best $10 ever spent for a game so far, so if any of you have an extra $10 in your Paypal account and/or credit/debit card, make an account on Steam if you haven't and buy it now! You will not be disappointed. Expand
  6. Jul 13, 2011
    10
    one of the funnest games i've ever played. i never thought a 2D minecraft would be fun or even possible but they did it. also the price is fantastic, definitely worth $10
  7. Jan 21, 2012
    9
    This game is always in the top 10 most played steam games, with about 20,000 players on daily. Next to kings like TF2, CS and Skyrim. Ignore the red reviews and just ask yourself if this is something you could enjoy, BEFORE buying it. 407 positive reviews to 56 negative... And every negative is upset it's like minecraft! They make no secrets about that, it's obvious before purchase. Then it has tons of rad wiring traps and explosives and lighting and rediculous amounts of custom weapons, accessories, combinations, clothes armor and even ammo types. If you don't feel any nostalgia for the 2D era you should acknowledge that before you even consider buying, because it takes an imagination to lose yourself in a platform world with no ending. That being said I'm 70 hours into just building and digging mines, and I couldn't be having more fun. I played minecraft for 5 hours and it has WAY less going on than terraria. 20000 active steam players a day can't be wrong. Expand
  8. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    The first thing I can say about this game is that it's NOT a rip-off of Minecraft. Yes, it has mining and crafting. Yes, the word "biome" gets tossed around a lot in discussions of both...and that's about it. In Terraria, you mine because you need gear to get to the next step in the game. There are no circuits or minecart tracks here- just better gear so you can fight stronger monsters and more powerful bosses. Past a certain point, there's very little mining at all: you proceed mostly by fighting monsters and finding chests. The game isn't perfect, though: I find that there's a bit of a gap between the gear you'll get from digging underground versus the gear you need to fight the next level of enemies. At one point it almost forms a mobius loop of "You need X sword to beat Y boss and you need to beat Y boss to get X sword". The bosses are also unimaginative in the sense that they don't really vary their attacks or present you with unique challenges- it's mostly just a grind. Also, the fact that you mine for advancement means the ores you find quickly become obsolete- you'll find yourself just ignoring large amounts of ores just because they do diddleysquat for you past a certain point. Still, Terraria is a cheap game that will keep you entertained for a LONG time, and the devs are constantly updating the game, so it can only get better from here. Expand
  9. May 19, 2011
    10
    For £5.99 I've had more hours of enjoyment and more 'game' than any major full price game in a long time. If you're a fan of Metroidvania style games I'd definitely give this a shot. Randomly generated worlds are the way to go!
  10. Dec 15, 2011
    9
    This is more than what most people call it - a minecraft ripoff in 2D. True enough, it's 2D and it has building mechanisms similar to minecraft, but there're more. It has a social interface similar to Animal Crossing: Wild World, where, after building your own town and clearing achievements, NPCs will start moving into your houses, provided that the conditions are met (of course, the social interface isn't as full developed as Animal Crossing). It also as a mining interface similar to motherlord, the acclaimed flash game in miniclip. You get to dig deep down into the earth for rare minerals and ores, and you can craft your items with those materials. It also has a 2D fighting interface similar to maple story, where you battle monsters and creeps in this side-scrolling game. As such, it's really is not simply a minecraft rip off in 2D, but a hybrid of many other titles that are acclaimed in their own genre of game. Get it, especially if it's on discount and you have the cash to spare. Expand
  11. May 29, 2011
    10
    This game is great. Other sandbox games have a weak adventure part, but Terraria gives you the possibility to create and defend your world. Today, the developer wrote about his feature plans for the game and all of them sound absolutely great. I haven't played Terraria online for a second. I still stick to the offline part, waiting for great new content. I would definitely pay for it because i have only paid 10â Expand
  12. Jun 8, 2011
    10
    I'm not going to lie, at first I was really turned off by Terraria. Why would anyone want to play a 2D minecraft clone when we already got minecraft? Then I took another look at it because my friend insisted it was amazing. I watched the trailer, and started picking up on things that definitely weren't MC like. I started poking around and giving it a chance. Now I'm hooked, it's such an awesome adventure game! There's so much to explore and see, always something new, it's hard to get bored. Terraria doesn't deserve to be held up to MC; It's a fine adventure sandbox game all unto itself either way. Now I did poke into the wiki a bit, and started noticing just how much there was to see and do. I recommend you do what I am doing and keep your game as spoiler free as possible. You'll really only have to look at the wiki if you have honestly run out of things to do. Play it in multiplayer if you can as well, that alone really helped improve my experience. Expand
  13. Jul 22, 2012
    9
    I can't remember the last time I got so many hours out of a game that cost so few dollars. Since the game is pretty much user-defined from the get-go, the only real limit is your imagination.
  14. May 22, 2011
    9
    awesome game, must buy, and its only $10 on steam
  15. Jan 1, 2012
    10
    This game may appear to be a minecraft ripoff, but as it turns out , this it the most amazing game ive played in awhile. There is much more content then there is on minecraft and its just....So amazingly fun.
  16. May 23, 2011
    9
    The ones that says that Terraria is like Minecraft should go play the game before writing a "review".

    Terraria is one of those special gems that you find. It's not expensive, it's extremely addicting and one helluva experience. It has all the building and mining of minecraft but with the equipment, combat, looting, and gameplay of a sidescrolling action RPG. the whole game feels more
    polished than Minecraft, anyway, with more items, less bugs, and more fun. It's only $10, it'd be worth at least $50. You should buy it. Now. Expand
  17. May 21, 2011
    10
    It's not Minecraft, even though it very obviously borrows a lot of elements from it. It's got much more character development and feels a lot more fleshed out - more decoration, more different areas and enemies, special events and NPCs... It's very addictive, though it doesn't have the huge replay value of Minecraft. Regardless, it is absolutely worth the ten euros.
  18. Jun 18, 2011
    10
    one thing :the negative reviews are **** from people that only play CoD and Shooting games that think games are just as good as their graphics
    this game is no 2D minecraft rip-off, this game has bosses, awesome end-game and so on. it's able to have much more content than minecraft in less time just because it's in 2D.
    minecraft and terraria are totally different games if you play them
    enough to know them well
    minecraft has a strong building side terraria has a strong adventure side

    both games are great
    i would give this game a 11 in 10 but it's impossible
    Expand
  19. May 19, 2011
    10
    I believe that Indie developers are the key to thinking outside of the box to create games that aren't copying others entirely. Sure this game shares similarites with Minecraft and other games, but I believe this mashup of Minecraft, RPG and adventure games makes this title quite unique. Its an absolutely awesome game that I think everyone should play. It's only $10 people, buy it now and have some fun, Terraria is excellent. Expand
  20. May 22, 2011
    10
    Amazing game. Anybody thinking it is a simple Minecraft clone in an attempt for cash is mentally challenged. If you cannot see the vast playability of this game then you have no care for learning a bit about the game. With a much deeper exploration and rpg style Terraria is a unique experience. Taking actual gameplay and making it exciting, challenging. There is general sense of difficulty that is strengthened by a lighter death penalty. For 20 dollars this game is amazing, for 10 even more. If you are still wondering whether it is a cheap 2D Minecraft knockoff, get real. These developers know what they are doing and have executed it magnificently. Pick this game up, now! Expand
  21. May 17, 2011
    10
    "Terraria is an amazingly enchanting game, that sucked me in from the moment I started it up. With great pixel art, endearing music and lots of retro aspects, terraria will occupy me for years to come. This idea is still fresh and I'm glad somebody didn't shy away from it just because of MineCraft's recent success. "
  22. Jun 28, 2011
    9
    "8"Awesome game. Not gonna give 10 since it is "perfect" and nearly no games are perfect but still HIGH 9. Devs are awesome, even i see many negative who say they suck etc. since they update game often with good updates, unlike minecraft. Game has similarities as minecraft, but MC is building game and Terraria is adventure mainly and some building involved, not much mainly houses for NPC 's and possibly farms and stuff like that. Terraria has many weapons, armors, special items,spells, buff potions etc. Terraria is kinda like minecraft in graphs, both unique, not great but that is how it should be, except MC has texture packs. And the new guide is actually HELPFUL when he tells crafting recipes (kinda). And also monsters, that are very many different. Well i got bored to this game after MANY awesome hours since had collected every items, killed every boss 10 times, except skeletron and now start playing again and find many new items, new monster new biome and all that just in what, 1-1,5 month when minecraft would have given possibly a map and some random tiny things and bug fixes.

    Now if u still think Terraria is ripoff from Minecraft, let me say 1 thing. Stuff that Terraria has and Minecraft has are REAL items and materials like sand dirt stone etc. so materials aren't ripoff, then gameplay. 2d and 3d tiny different and then bigger BUILDING and ADVENTURE. Minecraft is mainly building and Terraria some building but mainly adventure. And I like both Minecraft and Terraria A LOT and cost only ~25â
    Expand
  23. Jul 17, 2011
    10
    I'm gonna give this game a 10/10. It deserves a 8 or a 9 but after seeing how those spambots gave it 0, lowering it's score by a handful and spamming "minecraft clone" I can't help but to feel sorry for the developers... falling on User Score below 8 is devastating for such a promising game.
  24. Jun 16, 2011
    9
    At first glance many will see what looks to appear to be a 2D Minecraft clone, which will leave you sighing at any lack of originality, and if this was your first assumption, you're wrong. Terraria, simply, is much more accessible than Minecraft. It feels more like an adventure game, and crafting isn't guessing / wiki'ing it. Where Minecraft may be more successful in the construction aspects of the mining series, Terraria shines in the adventure portions. Expand
  25. Jul 14, 2011
    10
    When Terraria was released, I passed. I kept seeing ads and still passed. It wasn't until I saw what people were making in the game (i.e. Super Mario and Bowser Pixel Art) and saw a video of Toby Turner playing that I decided to pay $10 for it on Steam. I started playing at around 9pm. It is now 3am and I just stopped for the night; although it took great effort to stop. Here is the layout: A random world generates from the size you choose (small, medium, large). You start with the basics tools and set off to spelunk in a 2D platform game that seems to have endless depth. The difficultly increases the deeper you go, reminding me a little of Dante's Inferno. It has a definitely feel of Castlevania 2, with the night bringing worse creatures and a curse. So, you fight off the monsters while trying to explore deeper and deeper. What you don't realize is that you have built a town from the mud, sticks, and stone. This brings a nurse and a merchant at first. Only when you have crafted your first golden sword do you realize that you are addicted. You must go deeper to see what else lies in wait. What treasure will you find? What heights will you build to? *sigh* Sorrowfully, I have to work tomorrow and this game will be in my dreams. Simple, yet it is only limited by your willingness to explore and by your imagination to build. This has so much depth for such a simple little game. Expand
  26. May 23, 2011
    10
    I have a nasty little cold atm, and I bought this game on Friday and have put in 23 hours by Sunday night.
    This game is quite simply amazing. I love the fact that it is challenging. My only two gripes so far are no Gamepad support, and I have yet to be able to play Multiplayer for some reason I'm still working out. Otherwise I would give this game a perfect 10. This game is an OCD'er's wet
    dream. :D Expand
  27. Jul 2, 2011
    10
    This game is simply amazing. It takes a few hours to figure everything out, but then it just gets better and better. If you think the idea of a 2D platformer / RPG / Minecraft mash-up sounds interesting, you should definitely play this game.
  28. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    Very immersive and expansive sandbox game with soooo much to explore and do. If you're iffy on it or hate it or have friends that do, think about this: Terreria and Minecraft both have bad graphics right? No, wrong, completely wrong. Think about Terraria or Minecraft with good graphics. Now think about cutting down a tree or mining some ore or whatnot etc. Now think about doing it in HD. In HD, --depending on the style/way it's rendered what engine or modeling/animation program is used etc.,-- it'd be impossible to reasonable integrate the whole sandbox aspect that Terraria and Minecraft both have somewhat in common (simply put they're both open world sandboxes that heavily involve exploring etc). Lets say you're mining some ___ ore in "HD", How could you tell how much you've mined over a period of X seconds? In 3D, how could that be represented? 1 block? 1 Pound? 1 Ore? In Minecraft, simple is better (i.e. 1 block, which is very easily visually represented, as it is in Terraria) else the whole sandbox idea would be hard to flow with, as 1 block is a fairly easy unit of measurement. In Terraria, sure it's 2D (not NES/SNES graphics, not DOS, they're just 2D), but the sprites are original and good quality (for sprites, don't say anything if it includes "bad sprites". They are sprites, they're not going to be Ultra High quality, they're 2D, like the terrain in most "3D" games (flat texture that, on flat ground, doesn't involve much texture wrapping). Terraria has options for Small, Medium and Large worlds, and with the size increases, distances to certain areas might also increase. There are very many areas to explore, a multitude of things to find, craft and so on, and with the inclusion of the 1.1 update in ~2 days (222 new items, 3 new NPC's (minecraft doesn't have interactive NPC's in the first place) , that vast amount of original content and gameplay will only increase, as well as a visual improvement to Terraria's visually pleasing 2D graphics. This is NOT a minecraft ripoff, it is a sandbox, minecraft is also a sandbox. The graphics are not bad, they are 2D, and they are good quality for 2D at that. Terraria has a vast amount of room for exploration, there are bosses, multiple mobs with drops (forgot to mention minecraft lacks a combat system, and no, killing a spider, skeleton, creeper, zombie or whatever is NOT combat). In Terraria, mobs occur regularly above ground at night, or during the day in the corruption biome, and are always found underground. In addition, when you die in Terraria, you lose half the amount of coins (which can be stored in chests) you have on you, (I don't care if losing everything is realistic if you lose everything). If you want to die like you do in minecraft, wait until the 1.1 update and enable Hardcore mode (player explodes upon death, and loses everything in inventory). One last note on the graphics, minecraft isn't high quality either, and IMO, it's easier to have a good looking "lower quality" 2D game, then it is to have a good looking "lower quality" 3D game, because it's easier to put more detail into sprites and whatnot then upscaling textures (what's the point of a HD texture on a flat out cube?). If you're thinking of buying Terraria, IMO it's worth $10, it hasn't gotten me bored yet, while I was bored of minecraft forever (personal opinion though) and while Terraria takes ~30mins-1hour (depending on how far you get) to get into it, once you're into it, its completely addictive. and a nice thing about the Developers is that they support the game as long as fans support them with an interest in Terraria, and suggestions (such as new in game mechanics, items, improvements, anything really) can be made and the Devs are happy to include such wanted new features in official updates. No complications with mods, user created content, it's all handled directly by the Devs and implemented directly into the core game. As a final note, Multiplayer in Terraria is like Single player with someone else's character in your world at the same time as you (CO-OP gameplay, or PVP, if you want.) Expand
  29. Jul 29, 2011
    9
    Quite simply it is fun. I like the randomness of the worlds and the general feel of the game is
    "8-Bit". The music is catchy and there is alot to do. Kill creeps, explore and craft better tools
    and weapons. If you have any interest in games it is worth looking into.
  30. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    One of the greatest 2D platformers to come out in recent years, and the first 2D platformer to have a real open-world destructible/buildable environment, complete with dungeons and bosses. Numerous and varied weapons, armour and special items will keep you digging and fighting for hours and hours. -And i can all be played in multiplayer! It's like the beautiful freak child of metroidvania and Minecraft. Expand
  31. Jun 25, 2011
    10
    Of course many are offering this experience as a cheap knock-off of Minecraft's success, when in fact, its a powerhouse of an indie game, and surpasses Minecraft's core experiences by far. At most, similarities found in the games are their crafting systems and the possibility of some freeform building, which differ greatly when comparing both expieriences. But by offering an intense 2D sandbox expierience that offers a multitude of mobs, an old-school RPG expierience, tons of biomes with secrets located in the skies and underground, and an evergrowing slew of updates providing diverse new items, power-ups, weapons, and enemies, Terraria delivers with astounding gameplay that still leaves me addicted to this date. Re-Logic, well done. Expand
  32. May 17, 2011
    10
    Terraria is an amazingly enchanting game, that sucked me in from the moment I started it up. With great pixel art, endearing music and lots of retro aspects, terraria will occupy me for years to come. This idea is still fresh and I'm glad somebody didn't shy away from it just because of MineCraft's recent success.
  33. Jun 9, 2011
    10
    I've been craving a 2D SNES looking game for awhile and here it is. This game sold me after I watched the trailer and the $10 for this game was well spent. It's much so different from minecraft. It has more emphasis on combat with a lot of different tools/weapons/Spells. It still has a good sandbox side to it but minecraft would be better for building as it is 3D. I guess the best way to describe what this game is like is a Zelda/castelvania as far as getting more life and useful tools in a progressive way. You are constantly trying to get better armor through mining rarer ores or killing bosses. The developers are hard at work at all times updating the game with more content for free. I was kind of skeptical at first about buying this game as there weren't any review on release date but It was worth more than the $10 dollars. I has a lot to do, a lot of re-playability, and multiplayer with randomly generated worlds to sandbox in and co-op. If your not sure about picking it up, "just do it." You won't regret it. Expand
  34. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    One of the great sandbox adventure game,can't stop once start!!
    totally addicted with it! After buying it for a few friends and myself, we have all become addicted to it
  35. May 18, 2011
    10
    I initially bought Terraria because I loved Minecraft, and was interested about how it would play out in 2D. At first I thought it was just going to be a cheap knockoff of Minecraft, and boy was I wrong. Terraria really feels like a nice throwback to the retro era with its pixel art and retro music, and really feels like a cross of Castlevania with Minecraft. Admittedly, construction is a bit lacking compared to Minecraft, but the significantly deeper exploration, combat, and items really make up for it. Terraria really feels like less of a "creativity toy" like Minecraft and much more like an actual game. Best of all, it's only $10! Go and get it. Now. Expand
  36. Jun 23, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game has absorbed more of my time than any other game for at least the last 2 years. It has beautiful pixel art, the platforming mechanics feel just right. I'm not hugely keen on the weapon swinging animations but they can be forgiven.

    I like the Castlevania style gameplay and the fact that it has the random level generation of Spelunky which I also enjoyed. Obviously the Minecraft influence is strong but the result is a completely different feeling game which obviously takes influences from lots of different areas. To call it a rip off would be like calling every open world game with vehicles every made a Grand Theft Auto rip off. Absurd, I know!

    I would definitely recommend giving this a chance. It feels a bit slow at first but there are so many weapons to find and so many gadgets to use that totally change the way that you play. From jetpacks to grappling hooks to guns and swords. There's also multiple boss fights and different biomes and lots of clothes and armour. The game is nowhere near finished either and new content is added to the game very frequently.

    I'm actually appalled at some of the hate this game has garnered from Minecraft fans. I like Minecraft for very different reasons to Terraria. It plays in a very different way and you find yourself with very different aims in either game. there definitely tends to be more emphasis on building in Minecraft. I know Notch is a big fan of Terraria.
    Expand
  37. May 19, 2011
    10
    This game is incredible. It takes the building and mining of Minecraft and puts it together with the equipment, combat, looting, and dungeon crawling of a sidescrolling action RPG. Don't listen to the people who give it negative score and say it's a "Minecraft Copy". It's obviously inspired by Minecraft but this game differs in that instead of just being a creative building tool like Minecraft, it's more about the adventure as you are rewarded more for exploring and combat and boss fights than anything else.

    At first glance it may look like a 2D Minecraft but when you actually put time in to it and give it a chance you will see this game has an incredible amount of depth that Minecraft and most other games do not have.
    Expand
  38. May 20, 2011
    10
    this game is awesome. like mine craft meets Zelda type deal.i love how the mob re-spawn and bug while you try and build and explore makes the game a real fun challenge back when games were actually a challenge like NES days
  39. May 17, 2011
    10
    This is an amazingly well done game for such a small development crew. At ten dollars, you get more gameplay than the typical fifty dollar commercial game. In addition, regular content updates will keep the game fresh for a long, long time. If you've enjoyed Minecraft, Zelda, Castlevania, and even Metroid, this game has something to offer you. It's a game about exploration, defense, and the eventual mastery of your environment. My only complaint is the lack of an instruction manual, but the discovery actually adds more than it subtracts.

    This game is fantastic and I recommend every single person on the planet buy it. It approaches perfection.
    Expand
  40. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    This game took me by surprise. I expected it to be a cheap, 2D minecraft clone, but was pleasantly surprised to find that it's so much more. This game is actually what I wished minecraft would have been. The exploration, treasures, and boss fights are all top notch, pun not intended, and lead to hours of fun.
  41. Jun 2, 2011
    10
    Its obvious from moon, Terraria is a labor of love! Its so rare these days.
    Made in less than six months, Terraria describes *basic* form of ultimate sandbox game. Playing it, I felt again like a kid building castles of sand. It doesnt rush you, it doesnt introduce cheap/hyped story lines, it doesnt force you into any silly classes and is not obsessed with redundant numbers. Its well
    balanced and a pleasure to play. Worlds are literally huge and although game is stable and released, developers are promising inspired new content (not DLCs or some similar marketing/cash milking crap). Expand
  42. May 23, 2011
    9
    Its a simplistic (at first glance) 2d minecraft, but after playing a while you will see its fairly complex. Being a 2d game its loaded with features and little perks that make it enjoyable like no other game. You start of with an axe and a pick. No tutorial at all, there is a guide, but he is not too much help. After beating the first night or two, you will be sucked into the 2d world for longer time. There are many more raw materials and recipes than in minecraft and the world is much more aggressive. Lots of mobs try to kill you. That is balanced out by the fact, that death only resets your position to the spawn point, and makes you drop half of your money. The worlds are HUGE (even the small one), therefore the way back to your last position may take a while.
    The biggest drawback is the fact, there is no dedicated server software, but that probably is just question of time. You can start multiplayer game by hosting it on your desktop.
    Expand
  43. May 19, 2011
    9
    Terraria takes the concept of Minecraft and makes it 2D. The art direction is reminiscent of some of the later offerings on the SNES, which in my book is a good thing. The game is about exploration and crafting, much like minecraft, though the crafting is done through an intuitive menu where it shows you what you can make, based on what materials you have. There is also a guide character that will give you helpful tips, but in the end is more a nuisance as he has the tendency to open the door to your house and let monsters in. I think an option to turn him off would have been a good thing. Still, the game is quite fun overall. Expand
  44. May 19, 2011
    10
    One of the best games I've played this year. Combine features of old Legend of Zelda games with a 2D platformer and Minecraftesque building and mining and you get this. I was skeptical at first but that was completely gone after the first hour of playing. Whether you're building an awesome fortress, fighting one of the huge and difficult bosses, defending your fortress against an onslaught or zombies or goblins, or adventuring and looking for loot, it's rarely a dull moment.

    $10 is definitely worth the money. If you thought Minecraft was too expensive but still wanted to play a similar game, get this, you won't regret it.
    Expand
  45. Jul 12, 2011
    9
    This game is much more than a rehash of Minecraft. Less emphasis is placed on construction, and more is placed on exploration and actual gameplay. The difficulty scales well for anybody from casual players to the more hardcore, and the game rewards thoughtful building to protect yourself from enemies.
  46. May 20, 2011
    10
    I've been searching for a fun game that lasts a while and I found it. Crafting in this game keeps you occupied because finding the materials is both time consuming and challenging. Also, I find the graphics suitable for this type game where Minecraft was a bit too poor looking for me.
  47. May 20, 2011
    10
    I think the comparisons to Minecraft are justified, but there is an easy way to describe the differences between the two (I think others here have said it as well). Minecraft is crafting/creating focused and Terraria is action/exploration focused. Both have crafting, creating, exploration, and action, but Terraria definitely emphasizes on its exploration and action. I own and enjoy Minecraft, but the "fun factor" seems much high for Terraria. I love the design and crafting features as they are more streamlined than in Minecraft. I think that it is one of the best games I've ever played. I'll end by saying this:
    If you played Minecraft and thought it was a good idea, but didn't get sucked in like many others, give Terraria a try. For $10 bucks it is worth the price of admission for any Minecraft / adventure game fan.
    Expand
  48. May 21, 2011
    10
    Terraria is not just another minecraft clone. It takes a few core aspects and turns it into a fantastic 2d side scrolling adventure. From boss fights, do dungeon exploration, anything is possible. The NPC's are quite useful, and with free content updates, this game will never become dull. The words "Minecraft clone" really hold no presence in this game. Anyone calling it a clone should honestly be told that Minecraft is just an Infiniminer clone. With Minecrafts success, it is no wonder more games with aspects of it would come out. I for one am glad that this game has gotten a large amount of sales, I love the genre and am happy Minecraft isn't the only game to take suit in the genre.

    after 50+ hours, i can easily give this a 10 / 10
    Expand
  49. May 22, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Simpel game but increibly addictive.
    I was on the fence with this one the game looked really bad judging of the screenshots but when you start tto play you won't stop.

    people who say this is minecraft 2d are just being harsh there are lots of games that borrowed little idears from on another..........well all fps are wolfenstein rip offs period
    Expand
  50. May 22, 2011
    10
    This game is the best $10 of gaming gold you could ever spend.

    BAM! You're dumped in the wilderness with a few trees around the place. What-chu gonna do? Don't sniff the roses too long, those mushrooms can wait to be picked, you better get to chopping some wood and making a goddamn house with your BARE HANDS.

    "But what about that awesome looking naturally formed cave over there?! I can
    see some clay pots that are begging for me to smash them?" I hear you ask? NO. The sun is setting soon, you woke up at mid-day and the zombies and demonic flying eyeballs are just waiting for the sun to set to get a taste of your tender meaty arms and legs!

    Now that you're safe and sound, crying in the fetal position in the corner of your small hut while zombies bash at your door, you can think about what you're going to make of yourself. Are you gonna mine the crap out of the surrounding land finding ores, trinkets and riches? Are you going to scour the surface for the corruption that plagues the land with pure evil? Maybe you want to find the forbidden demon god dungeon of doom death hell at one of the corners of the map? Maybe you should just think of how to build yourself a second floor in your house for a buddy... go slow son. This world aint forgiving.
    Expand
  51. May 22, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing. If you like Zelda, Castlevania, or Metroid you will love Terraria. Terraria is not like Minecraft. Terraria rewards you for exploring the world. It's more about the adventure and combat and boss fights than anything else. It is absolutely worth the ten euros.
  52. May 22, 2011
    10
    I've been playing Terraria for almost a week now with a little over 20 hours invested and I can safely say this game has already and easily made my top 10 games of all time. With free content updates promised for the future, I suspect it will make it into my top 5 and eventually top 3. This is the type of game that I will gladly purchase copies for my friends, it deserves it. Games recently have a tendency to hold your hand throughout the entire game, taking away from the excitement and reward of figuring things out on your own. Terraria is not one of those games. Big studios should take note, it's not fancy graphics and gimmicks that make a game great, it's great game-play and Terraria is overflowing with it. GOTY for me. Expand
  53. May 22, 2011
    10
    Even though "minecraft fanboyism" is somewhat understandable, most of the negative reviewers forget to mention that minecraft is nothing but a literal copy of infiminer. A small detail hypocrites like to ignore just so they can add more credit to their biased opinion, drowning it in demagogy.

    The unbiased fact is that terraria is a great game. Sales and play statistics completely approve
    of it and even minecraft players (altho only the non fanboy ones) like to play it.
    As i write this, its the 5th most played game on steam, beating titles like team fortress 2, black ops, portal 2 and left4dead 2. If you like side scrolling-, sandbox-, adventure- games, you should check it out for sure.
    Expand
  54. May 22, 2011
    9
    If your fine with 2d and the graphics then this game is awesome. Has a lot of content! No major bugs. Awesome game! Has some similarities with Minecraft, but nothing what you could call "ripped off". It's just inspired by Minecraft. At least it seams so.
  55. May 22, 2011
    10
    Great game! A bit hard in the beginning. Looking forward to more content and updates. I hope the developers will build in a in-game server browser for multiplayer. Hopefully there will be a better newbie tutorial too. I haven't tried the multiplayer yet so i cant really say anything about it but I'm guessing that the game will work excellent in that mode.
  56. May 22, 2011
    10
    This little time-waster uses ideas from every game you ever loved and creates a truly addicting gameplay-experience. The graphics are simple and compare to what you might have seen on the SNES and I am loving it. Terraria may be the best 2D-game of this year.
  57. May 23, 2011
    10
    Different Than Minecraft -- Terraria is a solid game that stands on its own and delivers more fun than $10 could get you anywhere else.

    Gameplay Summary -- Terraria combines classic platforming and RPG elements with sandbox gameplay in a randomly generated world. Most of the game can be experienced in Singleplayer, with Multiplayer being identical except for opening up the optional
    player-vs-player combat. Progression -- Progressing through the game brings you to explore deeper underground, farther outward on the surface, and maybe.. up? ;) Your character can be improved by crafting or finding new gear and by increasing your health and mana pools. Gear ranges from tools, to armor, to special accessories that can improve or alter character's mobility and stats. Certain areas remain impassible until you've acquired the right gear or defeated one of the game's three (for now..) boss monsters. Graphics -- 2D sprite artwork, strongly reminiscent of FF4 (FF2 US) and FF6 (FF3 US) from back in the SNES/Sega Genesis days, but fairly well done. This may bother some gamers, but certainly not all.

    If you've never played Minecraft (or if you're new to indie games) --
    It's worth noting Terraria is an Indie game that only just entered development back in January 2011, so it will be a little rough around the edges compared to your typical big-budget game. Your first few minutes in Terraria will likely be a bit frustrating. I recommend you check out some "Surviving your first night in Terraria" youtube videos, or other tutorials just to get started. Once you get into the swing of things, the game becomes less daunting and far more enjoyable.

    Since some of people are wondering why bother if its just like Minecraft (it's not!), here's a short summary of my opinion on major differences -- - Minecraft is better for epic buildings & creations, and its gameplay is almost purely "sandbox" elements. Exploring is mostly sight-seeing. Singleplayer gets stale fast, yet Multiplayer lacks features found in Singleplayer.

    - Terraria is better for adventuring, and its gameplay is a combination of platforming, combat, RPG-ish progression and "sandbox" elements. Exploring is a combination of sight-seeing, loot discovery, and game progression. Singleplayer doesn't get stale nearly as fast, and Multiplayer has all of the features.

    Conclusion --- If any of the gameplay described sounds interesting to you, and the graphics don't bother you, then this game is easily worth the $10. The developer seems responsive and fixed several previously unknown bugs the day after launch. As a bonus, they have clearly stated the intent to add content to the game post launch, for free. If you're on the fence, check out a few of the videos, and realize that what you see is much more fun if you're the one playing!
    Expand
  58. May 23, 2011
    10
    How come the AAA titles can never explore new mechanics in this way? Incredibly engaging and entertaining game - made even better by the addition of some friends.

    It really is a Roguelike all grown up with a lot less frustration.

    Also, for those reviewing without having played the game, saying it is a Minecraft clone. Please, leave - Notch would be embarrassed of you.
  59. May 23, 2011
    10
    Fantastic little game, well worth the money, at the very minimum you should be finding 30+ hours of play, and the time will fly by. Really good use of 2D space, and a very nice progression system.

    It is worth noting that at the time of posting, every single review below "7" is a zero, all but one yelling Minecraft rip-off.

    While there are many similarities to be drawn with Minecraft,
    such as resource gathering, and "blocks", it is in no way a clone or rip-off, and stands as its own game.
    If one must demand a comparison, where Minecraft often tend to focus on the building side of things, this game is an adventuring game. You spending a lot more time willingly fighting monsters, getting better weapons armour, and special accessories with unique functions. You push down (and occasionally upwards or sideways) going between different zones, with different strengths of challenge, and a different environment.
    With areas like corruption, which contain deep chasms which are nigh impossible to explore early game (though when you do, you can create yet another zone by calling down a meteorite), which can spread, and floating islands up in the sky, exploring is a very important factor of the game.

    It is not perfect, and given a more precise scale such as percentage, it would have been given a 98-99, but then no game I've ever played has deserved 100. Curse rounding.

    As far as flaws go, lack of ability to change resolution without 3rd party assistance is a little annoying, especially with multiple screens.
    It is also very occasionally buggy, mostly on the multiplayer, but it is being updated and patch, with new content as well as fixes.
    With the random world generation, certain necessary advancement tools can be hard to find (namely the demon altar), but this is solved by being able to share your character across world, and in your friends worlds, massively increasing chance of access to one.
    Crafting is very experimental. You often get very little indication what a craftable item is used for, and the crafting paths necessary for items, 'less it is a final usable thing, meaning that items like beds can be hard to discover, as you need to create a largish amount of silk beforehand, despite not knowing why. Either an attitude of willing to waste mats experimenting, or use of the wiki will be needed for crafting, if you want everything, however, everything completely necessary is self explanatory.
    Expand
  60. May 25, 2011
    10
    The reason I say Terraria is a beautiful game isn't because of the glorious pixel art; although the combination of pixel art, procedural generation, and smart use of lighting and particle systems are beautiful, but because many of the design decisions are just precisely right. For a game developed over 5 months by 4 people, it shows an incredible level of maturity.

    One of the few things
    Terraria gets wrong is that it doesn't explain the most straight forward thing you need to learn: which is that the mouse cursor is how you primarily interact with the world, limited for the most part by the requirement that your avatar be in relatively close proximity. Of course, close proximity in a game of plunging chasms, flooded caverns and spawning monsters is itself a challenge, but there is no point which so far I've felt like the control scheme has been frustrating or unresponsive.

    Like Minecraft, Terraria uses its procedurally generated backdrop as a palette for you to build and dig, but that's where many of the similarities end. Minecraft remains a toy sandbox (once the thrill and challenge of the first 30 minutes wears off), Terraria an open ended game. I've been meaning to write an article about the importance of that key verb 'dig': because it lets you throw off the shackles of required connectivity that makes much procedural content generation so frustrating (to design and to play in) and lets you generate glorious playgrounds which ultimately may be broken, but which the player has the tools to fix. Where Angband has gone wrong is digging is slow and unrewarding, Spelunky makes the mistake of limiting the level size, but here the maps are effectively limitless in size (in reality, just really huge - use the 3rd party mapping tool - just once - to display a map you've spent 3 or 4 hours exploring to see what I mean), and for the most part well-connected enough so that it is clear where you need to dig to hollow out a pathway or bring down a cascade of sand, but still big enough to make choosing a random direction and tunnelling an exercise in patience and frustration and occasional delight (as so it should be).

    Terraria makes the same smart decision that Minecraft does (and where Love goes horribly wrong) by using its pixel art assets to make it really clear what everything is: here are blocks of dirt, sand and rock, this is tree, grass and flower, and not only are they clearly delineated, but the clever crafting system makes these differences important. I say everything is differentiated: but at the same time rock, and the various ores are similar enough so that you need one next to the other to distinguish the two, forcing you to be keenly observant when you explore underground. Many times, I've paused at a rocky outcrop on the surface that I've run over tens of times, and suddenly realised that it was a valuable iron deposit.

    Exploring underground is as glorious as it could be: musically, rhythmically, the deep, but survivable drops from tunnel system to tunnel system, the splashes of unseen enemies in murky pools, the lighting system which limits your exploration by the torches you bring with you (or have wood and the foresight to be able to construct on the way), the frequent rewards of pots to smash (another Zelda touch to go with the swords swishing through glass and the slime enemy design), and the glorious highs of a single hidden reward which can make a whole trip worthwhile. What has ultimately limited my descents, as well as my overland trips, is water, which a clever take on swimming prevents you from moving quite as freely as you'd have hoped, not to mention limiting your breath. What makes this especially interesting is that it is often water that I've inadvertently let lose from an aquifer higher in the dungeon, which has sunk to the bottommost depths of the level preventing me progressing.

    I've begun exploring the [redacted] you can find on the surface, destroying my first [redacted] with some clever [redacted] placement, and I've found enough [redacted] that the first boss monster has noticed my presence. The surface [redacted] is enough of a challenge in its own right, taking away much of your usual toolset as well as more dangerous enemies, environment and geography; and I'm pausing for air before attempting what, given my equipment (copper and iron, and a nifty magical ranged weapon), sounds like it will be a challenge. Beyond that, I've got more bosses to fight and biomes to explore, and many more magical items to find.

    But I'm worried that I may have already spoiled too much of the game for you. I strongly urge you to stay as spoiler free as possible when you play.
    Expand
  61. Sep 11, 2011
    9
    Don't be fooled, its not some minecraft rip-off with 2D graphics, its actually so diffirent that you might love it even if you hated minecraft, and otherwise. But here you have more stuff to do, other than just building.
  62. May 26, 2011
    9
    Even though there is a lot of content, there could be more. I was hopelessly hooked and managed to get through the content in about 2 days of play. Although for the low price tag, it's still completely worth it. Since it's a sandbox game, I can just start a new game, giving myself my own new goals, even though I've already seen all of the content.
  63. May 26, 2011
    10
    Great little game. I love the old school feel of the game. Control is responsive and the gear choices allow you to play more as a 2d shooter or 2d hack-n-slash. I've really enjoyed the exploration. If you like to dig tunnels and wonder what is just out of sight you will enjoy the exploration aspect of this game. Building up a house has been interesting and I like how expanding the house brings in different NPCs. There are number of random and triggered events to mix up the normal pacing. The game also supports multi-player which is golden for the co-op crowd.

    Two features really increase re-playability of the game for me. The first feature is the random world generation. Each world is different. You can generate a new world whenever you feel like it. The second feature is that the character is persistent outside of the world. If you advance gear in one world you can take it any other world.

    I have almost 40 hours into the game and still have much to explore, build, craft, and battle. For me the game was a complete steal at $10. Best of luck to the developers.
    Expand
  64. Jul 6, 2011
    9
    Don't listen to the naysayers that claim Terraria is a 2D Minecraft-rip off. The only thing those two games share are blocks and crafting.

    Terraria can be summarized as a combination of 32-bit Legends of Zelda, Metroid, Castlevania, a bit of Mario, but with the crafting and construction as inspired by Minecraft. You start off with an axe and a pick and you must construct a home for you
    and your eventual NPC companions to live in. You explore dungeons, and corruptions of nature for magical treasures. You gather ores and dig deeper and deeper to uncover the Earth's secrets and collect resources for forging new armors, weapons, and tools. And then you construct megaproject castles, forts, bunkers, sky cities, etc! Your imagination is the limit!

    And you can do all of this with as many friends as you want on your own servers! You will fall in love with the art style, the quirky music, and the charm of the world. Well worth its affordable price.
    Expand
  65. Aug 6, 2011
    10
    Interesting game with a sand box style that has a much heavier idea of combat than minecraft had. I prefer this 2d setting to any other virtual sandbox's so far personally.
  66. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Fun game. It plays like a mixture of infiniminer, spelunky, and castlevania. Yes, yes, infiniminer and minecraft have blocks. What they DON'T have is a comfortable platforming experience, interesting items, or a fun loot system. A spreading corruption across the land, invasions, meteors with mineable ore, falling stars, randomly placed chests, fun monsters and bosses... These are all gimmicks, but I think they've really made the game. Expand
  67. May 28, 2011
    10
    Simply amazing game!
    I haven't had so much fun with a game in a long time!!
    The game like it is now is 5 times worth its money, and there's still so much more content on the way!
  68. May 31, 2011
    9
    Great game to play with friends. I have been playing this since it came out with a few buddies of mine, and Its been a blast. This game definitely isnt for everyone, but if you value exploration, and rewarding gameplay then this is for you. Also the game is still technically unfinished as the developers have said to expect regular content updates from here on out. Even if they dont update the game its still an excellent purchase for 10$ ive already logged a good 40+ hours. thats more than most 60$ console games already. Expand
  69. May 31, 2011
    10
    I cant believe people would rate this a zero... hell even if its not your cup of tea I can't imagine rating lower than 6 or 7...

    This game is great... more action than Minecraft and feels significantly different. Not as much for building things and more about the adventure. Absolute steal at $10.
  70. Jun 3, 2011
    9
    An amazing game, the art, sounds, and everything is well done. The concept is original and well executed, Notch could not have done better. There is not much to say in an in depth manner, it is just simply fun and addicting. The only negative thing I CAN say about this game is that the multiplayer is virtually unadministered and unadministerable. However, a recent update added a console and some commands along with it, hopefully this will grow into enabling the proper administration of servers. That is the only reason I give it a 9/10. Expand
  71. Jun 4, 2011
    10
    The first screen shot of the game that I saw didn't draw me in, but the video had me interested -Minecraft meets Castlevania. It provides a sandbox to (literally) dig in, plenty to build, new and surprising enemies to defeat and plenty of rare items to discover. It is simple in its concept but robust in depth. The UI is well-done and it feels quite polished. Death is handled very well, with the player losing no inventory, but dropping half of their money, which can be recovered. The game delivers, and after a week I've already recommended it to one friend and gifted it to another. Multiplayer offers many opportunities for hilarity. Expand
  72. Jun 5, 2011
    10
    Terraria is like a big box of Lego. You're free to explore the world and defeat the monster that lurk underground or you can just build whatever you want.

    The crafting system is great, the music is nice and the developers are providing free update.
  73. Jun 5, 2011
    10
    Terraria is an absolutely amazing game as a retro hybrid of minecraft. Its smooth, crisp gameplay, catchy music, and diverse concepts/elements provide a completely unparalelled gameplay experience for all ages.
  74. Jun 5, 2011
    9
    Terraria is an awesome, Minecraft Based 2D Game, with help of popularity of minecraft this game has sold 2 millions in first days of launch, but it is more than a minecraft based game, it is really awesome how well planned is this little game and for 10USD you will get a lot of fun single player and multiplayer
  75. Jun 9, 2011
    10
    Really like any indie game out there it either drags you right in or you can never quite click with it at all. The game provides no coherent information to fully enjoy it so you may probably find yourself sifting through the many forums via steam and it's parent site. When you get over that gripe, and the slightly irritating multiplayer aspect (It's much easier to download and play multiplayer with a program called Hamachi), you get a game with as much character as Minecraft but with inverse interests: the building aspect is nowhere near as satisfying as with Minecraft but the simple yet effective combat and multitude of enemies and some challenge in this respect keep you interested, and addicted to this game, which I can safely say is not the kind of game you should just at face value. Expand
  76. Jun 9, 2011
    10
    Most people are comparing this game to Minecraft, but this game is no Minecraft. Minecraft is about building, mining, and some other stuff. Terraria is about exploring this amazing world and is pushing to the RPG side instead of survival. The game itself is not too unique, but makes up in gameplay style and endless multiplayer fun (Ignoring the constant server whitelists and overprotective server mods), it is amazing fun to play with your friends, and you could bring over your singleplayer character into multiplayer worlds.

    People compare this to Minecraft because it has place and destroy block system similar to Minecraft, but Minecraft just defined a sub-genre that is now a block creative mode, making it more common among more Indie developers.

    The graphics to this game are somewhat beautiful, reminding me of the classic JRPG games on older consoles. The game runs smoothly on low-end PCs, and there is always some cranny to explore. The art is done quite beautiful and makes you seem enchanted in this majestically done game.

    This game is a definite must play, plus you would be supporting Indie Developers.
    Expand
  77. Jun 13, 2011
    10
    Simply one of the best games i played this year! Exploring is even more fun then in minecraft!
    Also it's 2D you do not lose all of the possibility of building!
    The water physics are just amazing! ;)

    10.0
  78. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    Some people call terraria a Minecraft wanna be a Minecraft copycat in all honesty its a game within itself yeah it might have some aspects of Minecraft but terraria just has a larger selection of options in the game play no offence to notch he did a awesome job on Minecraft but the makers of terraria relogic i believe and red or are they the same i dont know ut they just blew all other 2D platform based games out of the water good job guys Expand
  79. Jun 15, 2011
    10
    How could ANYONE who played this game give it a 0? Seriously one of the BEST games I have played in years! This game blends arcade action, strategy and exploration very well - it has great depth and when you get tired of all that? Take your time and build a castle! TOTALLY AWESOME I'm not fooling, this game came out two weeks ago and steam is reporting I have played 100 hours and I have yet to see the end game content. and its only $10... you just cant beat that - I LOVE TERRARIA! Expand
  80. Jun 16, 2011
    9
    Great game if you have the patience to get through the first few nights, also you need friends to play this or it's pretty boring, I love the new combat addition.
  81. Jun 17, 2011
    10
    I always judge a game after about an hour of game play, and on my opinion this game is really good. I've heard many reviewers go to far with their reviews and I decided to try it for my self. It has a lot more than MineCraft. It has adventure, better combat, chests deep underground with cool stuff, heart crystals, and many more. You should go try it for yourself. It is definitely worth the 10$.
  82. Jun 18, 2011
    10
    Great game. I was an avid Minecraft player, and at first had my doubts. I at first thought this was just a Minecraft rip-off. But boy, was I wrong. This is one of the greatest games that I have played in a long while. To those who think this is just 2D Minecraft, think again. The pixel graphics are great, and are perfect for this type of game. This is like a Minecraft-RPG-Platformer sort-of remix. In conclusion, buy this game. This great indie game is completely worth the 10 dollars I paid for it. If you are a fan of Minecraft, then this game is for. Even if you haven't played Minecraft, buy this game. I can almost guarantee that you will like it. Expand
  83. Jun 19, 2011
    9
    Beware to start up Terraria. It is highly addictive, eats up your time like nothing else and is some good old-fashioned fun while doing so. A definitive buy.
  84. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    The game is good, however, the developers are complete moronic idiots to say the least. It is a shame that they took such a potential looking game, and turned it into a money making machine, not giving a damn about their users. For instance, they 'copyright claim' every negative review of the game on youtube. I got my account banned because I criticized their game for having poor replay value. (Which it does, once you reach the endgame)

    For that reason, these developers do not deserve your 10$, go spend it on a game where the developers will actually care about their customers.
    Expand
  85. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    Awesome game. If you like good and funny games try it. You can't be wrong with thist one.
    If you fail at life and like boring things, you can always "play" minecraft.
  86. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    Terraria is an amazing game. It had me hooked in the first minute there is just so much to do. Also this game is nothing like minecraft and they shouldn't be compared.
  87. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    Picked up the game for the price of a good meal and progressed through it steadily. It has a nice combat setup similar to the Castlevania games on DS. Overall it felt unfinished at first, but now the game is seeing BIG regular updates each week, over 60 hours into it and still feeling great that new content is coming, already at patch 1.05 and the content and improvements just keep flowing, this game is leaving Minecraft in it's dust trail for me.

    This games ratings have been flooded with what I can only describe as brain damaged geeks rating at 0 to bring the average score down, this games score will only improve over time and to rub it in Notch is taking ideas from it already.

    You can play and like both games, competition is good for both games, even though they are so different in gameplay only the block placing is similar.
    Expand
  88. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    This game is incredibly amazing. I can't even believe it's 10 dollars. It's extremely addictive and filled with hours of fun, whether you play it alone or with friends. The game goes from zombies to giant worms to flying eye balls and tons of other unique npcs to different places to explore, such as dungeons, jungles, and other places you will find on your adventure. The game is filled with tons of different items, giving you a whole mess of items to craft and provide different ways to play the game making it possible to engage into battle as melee, range, or even a mage. The devs will also be adding new things to the game over time as well, which adds tons of replay ability to the game. Terraria is a must have. Expand
  89. Jun 22, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Terraria is a Great game with a huge Depth.
    The thing about Minecraft istn't right at all.... Minecraft in 2D? the only reference to Minecraft is the Blocky World and thats all. and while Minecraft Focuses on Building stuff in 3D, Terraria focuses on Adventure, awesome items to play with, Plenty of Monsters and even Bosses.
    Terraria does everything Notch (Developer of Minecraft) wasn't able to do in Minecraft.
    He can't bring fun in the game by the meaning of Adventure there is just no Adventure in MInecraft but in Terraria its full of Adventure and thats what makes the People play it. there are just so many more Furniture, Weapons, Accesoires, Armor types and other Funny items you can use and its not just "Search for Diamonds and then you can Build what you want" its a game for Adventurers and Explorer.
    The Haters are given a 0 just because they cant accept innovations Rating a game 0 because it reminds them of Minecraft is just not acceptable.
    "Look its a Computer Game it must be a Copy of PONG!"
    and Minecraft is like many say just a Copy of Infiniminer you cant DENY that but i dont rate Minecraft 0 and Infiniminer 10 just because Minecraft is a copy of it.
    And why not play both games? you have an awesome 3D game for Building and gathering Diamonds
    and on the other side a Refreshing 2D game for Adventuring Exploring and gathering lots of cool stuff
    every game has its own awesome things and there are people who like adventuring more than building and vice versa but you cant just Deny the other fact because it reminds you of some other games.
    Expand
  90. Jun 22, 2011
    10
    Oh, hey, look, it's Minecraft in 2D.

    ...Nah, I'm just f*ckin' with ya. Terraria plays more like Castlevania with generous sprinklings of Minecraft and old Final Fantasy sprites. In order to get them out of the way, I'll start with the negatives, because I felt that they were few and far between. First off, there are certain items that require vigorous "farming" to get, but that can't
    really be avoided, because otherwise it would devalue those items, several of which are incredibly useful. Secondly, the game doesn't support modding quite so well, though I've heard talk that the developers intend to. I certainly hope so. A game like this, with its simplistic sprite design and easy-to-understand mechanics, seems like a breeding ground for wonderful user content beyond all the pretty structures you'll be spending hours building after you finally get those rocket boots.

    Now, on to the positive. Terraria blends the building, mining, crafting, murdering elements of Minecraft with the dungeoneering, loot-gathering, potion-spamming goodness of Symphony of the Night, though it lacks quite as much diversity in creatures. I blame that on the size of the studio, though. While I have yet to play the multiplayer, the single player progression is rewarding and challenging. You'll fight your first boss, be terrified, probably die a lot, then come back later and laugh in its face as you stomp it into the dust with your shiny new weapon, crafted from the crushed dreams of a planet-devouring worm. Feels good, man.

    The game lacks any tangible level-up system, instead allowing players to upgrade mana and health through specific items found while exploring, and upgrading damage resistance with armor crafted from ores found exploring. It's very much one long spelunking trip with loads more violence -- anything that dies breaks into vaguely recognizable chunks of its sprite. Gross. The sprites themselves, however, are very reminiscent of old Final Fantasy games, though I wouldn't count this against it. I nostalgia'd pretty hard. Even the NPCs have memorable sprites and distinct personalities, given the few lines they have. I think I may be switching persons, a grammarian party foul, but players will also very much enjoy crafting their own little village for the NPCs, as they will only move in when you've built them a cozy little home to nestle into.

    I think I've covered the major points I needed to. For ten bucks, this game's a pretty good value. Were a barrel of miniature simians readily available for comparison, I'm sure it would come out on top. I could build a better barrel anyway. Out of Hellstone. Filled with Fire Imps.
    Expand
  91. Jun 22, 2011
    10
    Terraria is an interesting game with many similarities with another game called Minecraft.
    The game its self offers a very retro 2D plat former feel with the diversity and flexibility of a sandbox type game.
    It has a crafting systems with a lot of different items and things that can be created, dungeons, monsters , bosses, treasure and rare items.. all the makings of an interesting world
    to explore and advance in, but this is not for everyone.

    I have friends who like Minecraft but not Terraria but also the other way around, each to their own as they say.
    Personally I have not invested a lot of time in the game but the time I have spent has been well worth it, if you have no issues with sandbox games then you will quickly find your self digging a little more to the early hours of the morning and then freaking out because you have 2hrs to sleep and get ready for work.

    All in all, while the game is not for everyone, it is cheaper then lunch and well worth a try if you are looking for something a little different.
    Expand
  92. Jun 23, 2011
    10
    I bought this game one week after it released and have enjoyed it tremendously. Yes its a simple 2d side scroller but its much more complex and winding than that. I have about 50 hours logged on it already and I am still planning on playing for at least that much more before I get tired of it (patch 1.05 coming out soon!

    $10 buy it!!!!!
  93. Jun 23, 2011
    9
    Terraria is a good deal. For an Indy game its has excellent replay value.
    Yeah you can compare it to minecraft in its mechanics, but its a rather weird comparison. The updates provide extra content, it is a fun multiplayer co-op and pvp. The Graphics are what they are... retro. The gameplay is fun, and yes it can wear thin... but updates keep it interesting enough.
    I give it a 9 because
    its very sandboxy, you can build stuff, you can create stuff and it isnt a huge burden on todays computers. The Bosses provide some insanely tense moments. It's bound to become a 10 as it gets updated with newer features. Expand
  94. Jun 23, 2011
    9
    This was the first game I was excited to play in a long time. I really enjoyed Minecraft, I was still playing it when my friends wanted me to pick up Terraria. They told me, "It's like Minecraft, but 2D!" I was a very skeptical person, so I told them I didn't want to spend the money. I was wrong, this game was simple love.

    The graphics are very friendly and colorful. They evoke
    emotion and really speak about what's going on in the game. The graphics aren't anything high end, but the graphics of this game really augment the gameplay.

    The music is pretty catchy and almost always captures the mood of what's going on. My only concern is the re-use of certain tracks, but it's no big deal because almost all of the music is pretty good.

    The gameplay is tons of fun, Terraria is easy to pick up and dive into. The multiplayer and single player playstyles are both fun. Single player provides a fair bit of progression that will keep you entertained for hours. Multiplayer is especially fun with a few friends. Get together, dig some holes, fight some bosses, kill each other with lava, and go have some simple fun.

    I have one killer that pulled this score away from a 10, there's not enough to do in the game! There needs to be more content! I ran out of stuff to do after a couple of weeks of avid play. The game developers are releasing somewhat regular content patches, over time I'm sure the game will expand nicely.

    Here's the quick rundown: Terraria is a simple game that is a lot of fun. The sounds and graphics are quirky and emotional, the gameplay is a lot of fun that will last you a decent chunk of time, but there isn't much content right now, once you run out there isn't much to do. On a 1-100 scale I would give this game a 92.
    Expand
  95. Jun 24, 2011
    10
    Amazing game. Well made and coded and allows it to expand almost limitlessly and in which ever direction the Terraria community desires. So far they have listened and done just that and I am happy to say it is my favourite game and comes highly recommended for those who like Minecraft but with more action involved.
  96. Jun 24, 2011
    9
    This game proves that 2D gaming is still alive and can still provide a fun gaming experience. Sure the game seems to steal from other build and create games, but this game has just enough unique content in its adventuring sections to make it seem like a breath of fresh air from other similar titles. It has a wide array of things to do past the initial mine and build formula. While not as deep as some would like this game is the kind that you can spend a lot of time on perfecting a building or fighting monsters. Expand
  97. Jul 7, 2011
    10
    This is an great game the devs put a lot of work into making it feel as old school as possible. the music, the sprites and the level design, or well the level generating. if you like mine craft and thing this is just that but 2D this is in no way the case it has building/ crafting elements but is no way modeled after MC. The game is far more based on action, fighting , and loot. I can not help but see all the flaming going on in these reviews and i must say that they sound more sad then any thing. i get that mine craft is a great game, but just because a game lets you build...does not make it mine craft. if you are finding it hard differentiate between these two and are unhappy that the game does not hold your hand and tell you how to be good at the game. maybe you would be better off playing a title by EA... Expand
  98. Aug 2, 2011
    9
    More directed action and adventure than Minecraft, this 2D platformer is part Metroid, part Minecraft, and all good. Easily one of the best games of 2011.
  99. Jun 25, 2011
    10
    I've only played this a little at a friend's house, but so far it is amazing. Everyone who says this is a "2d Minecraft ripoff" is a complete idiot. So they are both made of blocks, and they both have similar tools. But Minecraft is more of a creative game with less emphasis on survival and exploration, whereas in Terraria you build to protect yourself and not just for the sake of building. It also puts more focus on the adventuring aspect, encouraging you to go out and find new things rather than staying in the same general area. Also, the addition of NPCs gives Terraria a hint of RPG that Minecraft doesn't have (That's not to say it's bad, just that that's one part Mojang decided not to put in their game. But this review is about Terarria anyway, so who cares.) In short, the two are completely different games.
    Now, if you are griping about the graphics, then I must assume you are twelve years old and don't have the maturity to realize that you are supposed to PLAY a game. If you want to WATCH something because it LOOKS good, that's what movies are for. And just because this game doesn't look like Call of Duty or StarCraft 2 doesn't make it bad. And also, even if the game looked like ****, as long as the graphics aren't so confusing and/or poor quality that it detracts from your ability to preform as a player, then it shouldn't matter. And if you say the graphics are stolen, then you are simply flaming with no evidence to back your statement up. And in a game where most graphics are a small, low-resolutuion, retro-RPG-style sprite, it's not hard to accidentally make something similar to another game.
    And criticizing the music is even more of a boneheaded thing than criticizing the graphics. I mean, I personally like it but if you don't, there are things called the "volume key" and the "options menu," in which you can turn things like that off. Incredible, I know.
    The clunky controls are hard to back up, but I suppose nothing is perfect. Same thing with the game speed in the beginning. Please note that I said "in the beginning," because after you have been going for a while things will start to seem to become faster by a combination of getting better tools and simply getting used to it. They could have made it a bit quicker to get going but it's still not as bad as some other games I have seen.
    And, don't just take it from me. There are plenty of professional, well-known gamers (TotalBiscuit for one) who would also back this and other, similar games up in the fight against shallow-minded graphics hounds
    Expand
  100. Jun 25, 2011
    10
    I bought this game thinking I would regret this purchase, thinking it was another Minecraft knockoff, but as I skeptically beat off slimes and trees, I slowly got drawn in to the game-play, and eventually realized, it isn't Minecraft, it is a whole new game. New depths and even more content then Minecraft lead it to be one of my most played games. If I have free time and my laptop, I'll be playing Terraria. This game is a great addition to a seasoned Minecrafter's game library, as a companion, and competitor game. Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Mar 19, 2012
    83
    Terraria is one of the best sandbox games. Terraria has some Minecraft spirit, however the focus of the game is on fighting and crafting, so it involves more action. The best way to enjoy Terraria is to play it with a couple of friends on your own server.
  2. Mar 16, 2012
    70
    It's a title that will appeal to the adventurer, the explorer and the builder; not to mention those who appreciate a substantial amount of player freedom. If you happen to be all of those things, Terraria is a lightly tarnished treasure.
  3. Mar 14, 2012
    83
    A lot of games tried to copy Minecraft – or at least participate from its' success. But this two-dimensional take on the well known formula is the only game that is able to step out of the shadow of the indie phenomenon that inspired it. It leads you into a unique world full of creative magic.