Terraria Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1496 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Terraria offers players a chance to be an action gamer, master builder, a collector, and even an explorer.

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Jun 1, 2011
    100
    Still, Terraria is a great adventure, one of the best sandbox games around, and an absolute steal for ten bucks on Steam. It's well worth checking out for anyone, regardless of how they feel about Minecraft. Despite having one fewer dimension, Terraria hides greater depth than its 3D cousin.
  2. Aug 4, 2011
    90
    You stick your nose under your first sod and there you are – in another world. Terraria is not much of a Minecraft 2D rip-off, it's an addictive pursuit of perfection that entertains; even though it stinks of a sweat from the adits.
  3. Jun 29, 2011
    88
    Terraria is the best Minecraft clone on the market. Version 1.05 add many items and the Hardcore mode, which is the ultimate Terraria experience to try!
  4. May 27, 2011
    80
    Terraria is a small production that offers a cross between Mario and Minecraft... like a 2D platformer with craftsmanship and free construction. Quite limited in its realization, this title makes you play immediately for hours if you like the concept. Just take breaks from time to time!
  5. Oct 24, 2011
    80
    The open-sandbox creation genre is still in its infancy, and Terraria is a good, solid, and inexpensive entry.
  6. Jun 17, 2011
    80
    An interesting bidimensional twist of the well known Minecraft: Terraria is accustoming and incredibily "deep" (literally).
  7. May 30, 2011
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 42 out of 545
  1. May 17, 2011
    10
    Terraria is an amazingly enchanting game, that sucked me in from the moment I started it up. With great pixel art, endearing music and lots ofTerraria is an amazingly enchanting game, that sucked me in from the moment I started it up. With great pixel art, endearing music and lots of retro aspects, terraria will occupy me for years to come. This idea is still fresh and I'm glad somebody didn't shy away from it just because of MineCraft's recent success. Expand
  2. Jan 9, 2016
    10
    Many people call this game '2D Minecraft', at least here in Korea. I personally play minecraft and loved the game. When I first bought theMany people call this game '2D Minecraft', at least here in Korea. I personally play minecraft and loved the game. When I first bought the game in Steam, I was thinking this game just as a '2D Minecraft', which made me just think that it's similar to Minecraft.

    But, Wow. This game was so had tons of more features than minecraft - like variety of weapons, different bosses, etc. What I have to say is that you must play this game.
    Expand
  3. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    Ce jeu est une excellente alternative à Minecraft, tout en restant éloigné de son principe, il fautCe jeu est une excellente alternative à Minecraft, tout en restant éloigné de son principe, il faut garder à l'esprit que MC n'a pas inventé le Sand Box, loin de là, et qu'il s'en inspiré de Terraria pour sa toute nouvelle dimension RPG. Expand
  4. Jun 30, 2014
    9
    近年リリースされた中で最も優れた2Dプラットフォーマーの一つで、ダンジョンとボスを備えたオープンワールドで破壊的・建設的な世界のある最初の2Dプラットフォーマーです。多くの様々な武器や鎧、特別アイテムでプレーヤーは何時間も虜になり戦い続けるでしょう。また多人数でプレイすることもできま近年リリースされた中で最も優れた2Dプラットフォーマーの一つで、ダンジョンとボスを備えたオープンワールドで破壊的・建設的な世界のある最初の2Dプラットフォーマーです。多くの様々な武器や鎧、特別アイテムでプレーヤーは何時間も虜になり戦い続けるでしょう。また多人数でプレイすることもできます! まるでメトロイドヴァニアのとマインクラフトにはまったかわいい子供みたいですね。 Expand
  5. May 26, 2011
    9
    Even though there is a lot of content, there could be more. I was hopelessly hooked and managed to get through the content in about 2 days ofEven though there is a lot of content, there could be more. I was hopelessly hooked and managed to get through the content in about 2 days of play. Although for the low price tag, it's still completely worth it. Since it's a sandbox game, I can just start a new game, giving myself my own new goals, even though I've already seen all of the content. Expand
  6. Jun 1, 2011
    8
    Terraria is a great game, however you must be into this sort of thing in order to truly enjoy it. I really like the fact that everything thatTerraria is a great game, however you must be into this sort of thing in order to truly enjoy it. I really like the fact that everything that is done in this game, must be built off the materials you collect through your adventures. The multiplayer, although not as simple as joining anyone's random world, is still quite fun to play with a friend. However in doing so you should stick together most of the time because the spawn rate of creatures does increase greatly! I was a bit lost at the beginning, not entirely sure what to do, so I'd say as far as knocking a few points, having clarity was surely lacking. They have plenty of information online however, along with their youtube videos which can get you started in your own world. (This may just be because they released it earlier than they anticipated for fans chomping at the bit) Just remember this game is it's own genre. It's not so much an RPG, or a 2D shooter! If you check it out and think you wont like it, don't get it! Expand
  7. Aug 14, 2015
    0
    This is the worst game in the world, even dayz in comparison with it is a good game, I do not know what else to say, and how you can do thisThis is the worst game in the world, even dayz in comparison with it is a good game, I do not know what else to say, and how you can do this play, but are the same idiots who like this 2d perversion, just stupid idiots are the people who think this game normal game, I have all. Expand

See all 545 User Reviews

Trailers