Terraria Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1625 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Terraria offers players a chance to be an action gamer, master builder, a collector, and even an explorer.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Jun 1, 2011
    100
    Still, Terraria is a great adventure, one of the best sandbox games around, and an absolute steal for ten bucks on Steam. It's well worth checking out for anyone, regardless of how they feel about Minecraft. Despite having one fewer dimension, Terraria hides greater depth than its 3D cousin.
  2. Aug 4, 2011
    90
    You stick your nose under your first sod and there you are – in another world. Terraria is not much of a Minecraft 2D rip-off, it's an addictive pursuit of perfection that entertains; even though it stinks of a sweat from the adits.
  3. Jun 29, 2011
    88
    Terraria is the best Minecraft clone on the market. Version 1.05 add many items and the Hardcore mode, which is the ultimate Terraria experience to try!
  4. May 27, 2011
    80
    Terraria is a small production that offers a cross between Mario and Minecraft... like a 2D platformer with craftsmanship and free construction. Quite limited in its realization, this title makes you play immediately for hours if you like the concept. Just take breaks from time to time!
  5. Oct 24, 2011
    80
    The open-sandbox creation genre is still in its infancy, and Terraria is a good, solid, and inexpensive entry.
  6. Jun 17, 2011
    80
    An interesting bidimensional twist of the well known Minecraft: Terraria is accustoming and incredibily "deep" (literally).
  7. May 30, 2011
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 546
  1. May 17, 2011
    10
    Terraria is an amazingly enchanting game, that sucked me in from the moment I started it up. With great pixel art, endearing music and lots ofTerraria is an amazingly enchanting game, that sucked me in from the moment I started it up. With great pixel art, endearing music and lots of retro aspects, terraria will occupy me for years to come. This idea is still fresh and I'm glad somebody didn't shy away from it just because of MineCraft's recent success. Expand
  2. Jun 28, 2011
    10
    I just can't seem to put this down. With quirky graphics and entertaining exploits, I've been glued to Terraria for the past few weeks. ThisI just can't seem to put this down. With quirky graphics and entertaining exploits, I've been glued to Terraria for the past few weeks. This is a great example that 2D platformers still have relevance. Even though this game came from what seemed to be the shadow of Minecraft, It shines a light of its own. The depth of adventure in this will keep you up at night wanting more. The multiplayer option further lengthens gameplay so you can explore and build with your friends. I would advise picking this one up for the $10 steam wants for it. Expand
  3. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    Tired of companies like Activision and EA selling you rehashes at $60 and then expecting you to pay much much more with content they heldTired of companies like Activision and EA selling you rehashes at $60 and then expecting you to pay much much more with content they held back? Yes they want a future of a copy and paste $100 game. Well, Terraria shows you how games should be. Not only is it only $10this game updates very frequently and they are huge updates. Best of all, they are free! So much more content in these free "DLC" than the big corporations give you, and this is made by a very small team. If they can afford to give you free DLC, surely Activision and EA can afford to give it to you. Nope. They just want as much money as they can get. Terraria is an amazing game. I have over 160 hours logged, according to Steam. It is a 2d sandbox game with unlimited possibilities. Literally! They update it with new content so often! If you defeat all the bosses and explore every biome, you can look for rare items, build with endless possibilities, and best of all, you can play online. There is always something you can do if you get bored. This is the best $10 investment I've ever made. $10 won't even get you a crappy map pack in Call of Duty. Try this game, you will get hooked. You will then realize you don't have to play the sellout junk Activision and EA are trying to sell you (and milk you for all you've got). Graphics don't make a game. It's all about game play. Expand
  4. Jul 31, 2014
    9
    this is a fun 2D Game
    you can build , defend , craft , create , and explore the games world.
    This game has co-op gameplay with friends and
    this is a fun 2D Game
    you can build , defend , craft , create , and explore the games world.
    This game has co-op gameplay with friends and it makes the game that much better.
    you will share laughs with friends for sure.
    this game is very fun and i give this game an
    92/100
    Expand
  5. Jun 5, 2011
    9
    Terraria is an awesome, Minecraft Based 2D Game, with help of popularity of minecraft this game has sold 2 millions in first days of launch,Terraria is an awesome, Minecraft Based 2D Game, with help of popularity of minecraft this game has sold 2 millions in first days of launch, but it is more than a minecraft based game, it is really awesome how well planned is this little game and for 10USD you will get a lot of fun single player and multiplayer Expand
  6. Jun 4, 2011
    8
    This game has lots of content but puts the content in a relaxing game style and not so great graphics style. The music the first time you hearThis game has lots of content but puts the content in a relaxing game style and not so great graphics style. The music the first time you hear it is great, but since there is only 3 minutes of it it gets boring after a while. Hopefully if they continue to add content to the game this will be that one game I play when I want to do something other than shooting or thinking. Expand
  7. Jun 20, 2011
    0
    Rips off minecraft and the concept is bad. Just can't bring myself to enjoy it. I mean, I don't really luike minecraft all that much but whenRips off minecraft and the concept is bad. Just can't bring myself to enjoy it. I mean, I don't really luike minecraft all that much but when you're playing a game that is a blantant rip-off... Expand

See all 546 User Reviews

Trailers