Terraria Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1568 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Terraria offers players a chance to be an action gamer, master builder, a collector, and even an explorer.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Jun 1, 2011
    100
    Still, Terraria is a great adventure, one of the best sandbox games around, and an absolute steal for ten bucks on Steam. It's well worth checking out for anyone, regardless of how they feel about Minecraft. Despite having one fewer dimension, Terraria hides greater depth than its 3D cousin.
  2. Aug 4, 2011
    90
    You stick your nose under your first sod and there you are – in another world. Terraria is not much of a Minecraft 2D rip-off, it's an addictive pursuit of perfection that entertains; even though it stinks of a sweat from the adits.
  3. Jun 29, 2011
    88
    Terraria is the best Minecraft clone on the market. Version 1.05 add many items and the Hardcore mode, which is the ultimate Terraria experience to try!
  4. May 27, 2011
    80
    Terraria is a small production that offers a cross between Mario and Minecraft... like a 2D platformer with craftsmanship and free construction. Quite limited in its realization, this title makes you play immediately for hours if you like the concept. Just take breaks from time to time!
  5. Oct 24, 2011
    80
    The open-sandbox creation genre is still in its infancy, and Terraria is a good, solid, and inexpensive entry.
  6. Jun 17, 2011
    80
    An interesting bidimensional twist of the well known Minecraft: Terraria is accustoming and incredibily "deep" (literally).
  7. May 30, 2011
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 42 out of 555
  1. May 17, 2011
    10
    Terraria is an amazingly enchanting game, that sucked me in from the moment I started it up. With great pixel art, endearing music and lots ofTerraria is an amazingly enchanting game, that sucked me in from the moment I started it up. With great pixel art, endearing music and lots of retro aspects, terraria will occupy me for years to come. This idea is still fresh and I'm glad somebody didn't shy away from it just because of MineCraft's recent success. Expand
  2. Jul 2, 2011
    10
    This game is simply amazing. It takes a few hours to figure everything out, but then it just gets better and better. If you think the ideaThis game is simply amazing. It takes a few hours to figure everything out, but then it just gets better and better. If you think the idea of a 2D platformer / RPG / Minecraft mash-up sounds interesting, you should definitely play this game. Expand
  3. Jan 1, 2012
    10
    This game may appear to be a minecraft ripoff, but as it turns out , this it the most amazing game ive played in awhile. There is much moreThis game may appear to be a minecraft ripoff, but as it turns out , this it the most amazing game ive played in awhile. There is much more content then there is on minecraft and its just....So amazingly fun. Expand
  4. Jul 19, 2014
    9
    Un jeu 2d vraiment jolie , le gameplay est vraiment plaisant construire sa base , miner , récolter , explorer , puis lorsque votre stuff estUn jeu 2d vraiment jolie , le gameplay est vraiment plaisant construire sa base , miner , récolter , explorer , puis lorsque votre stuff est assez bon attaquer vous on nombreux boss du jeu :) Expand
  5. May 26, 2011
    9
    Even though there is a lot of content, there could be more. I was hopelessly hooked and managed to get through the content in about 2 days ofEven though there is a lot of content, there could be more. I was hopelessly hooked and managed to get through the content in about 2 days of play. Although for the low price tag, it's still completely worth it. Since it's a sandbox game, I can just start a new game, giving myself my own new goals, even though I've already seen all of the content. Expand
  6. Jun 4, 2011
    8
    This game has lots of content but puts the content in a relaxing game style and not so great graphics style. The music the first time you hearThis game has lots of content but puts the content in a relaxing game style and not so great graphics style. The music the first time you hear it is great, but since there is only 3 minutes of it it gets boring after a while. Hopefully if they continue to add content to the game this will be that one game I play when I want to do something other than shooting or thinking. Expand
  7. Jun 20, 2011
    0
    Rips off minecraft and the concept is bad. Just can't bring myself to enjoy it. I mean, I don't really luike minecraft all that much but whenRips off minecraft and the concept is bad. Just can't bring myself to enjoy it. I mean, I don't really luike minecraft all that much but when you're playing a game that is a blantant rip-off... Expand

See all 555 User Reviews

Trailers