Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1302 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Terraria offers players a chance to be an action gamer, master builder, a collector, and even an explorer.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Jun 1, 2011
    100
    Still, Terraria is a great adventure, one of the best sandbox games around, and an absolute steal for ten bucks on Steam. It's well worth checking out for anyone, regardless of how they feel about Minecraft. Despite having one fewer dimension, Terraria hides greater depth than its 3D cousin.
  2. Aug 4, 2011
    90
    You stick your nose under your first sod and there you are – in another world. Terraria is not much of a Minecraft 2D rip-off, it's an addictive pursuit of perfection that entertains; even though it stinks of a sweat from the adits.
  3. Jun 29, 2011
    88
    Terraria is the best Minecraft clone on the market. Version 1.05 add many items and the Hardcore mode, which is the ultimate Terraria experience to try!
  4. May 27, 2011
    80
    Terraria is a small production that offers a cross between Mario and Minecraft... like a 2D platformer with craftsmanship and free construction. Quite limited in its realization, this title makes you play immediately for hours if you like the concept. Just take breaks from time to time!
  5. Oct 24, 2011
    80
    The open-sandbox creation genre is still in its infancy, and Terraria is a good, solid, and inexpensive entry.
  6. Jun 17, 2011
    80
    An interesting bidimensional twist of the well known Minecraft: Terraria is accustoming and incredibily "deep" (literally).
  7. May 30, 2011
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 501
  1. May 17, 2011
    10
    Terraria is an amazingly enchanting game, that sucked me in from the moment I started it up. With great pixel art, endearing music and lots ofTerraria is an amazingly enchanting game, that sucked me in from the moment I started it up. With great pixel art, endearing music and lots of retro aspects, terraria will occupy me for years to come. This idea is still fresh and I'm glad somebody didn't shy away from it just because of MineCraft's recent success. Expand
  2. Oct 9, 2014
    10
    Terraria is awesome! I can't tell you all about this game. becous this game have very big content! If you wanna be a warrior - it's yourTerraria is awesome! I can't tell you all about this game. becous this game have very big content! If you wanna be a warrior - it's your choise, if you wanna be a wizard - it's your choise too, if you wanna be a alchemist - it's your choise again! This game can give you all what you need! Sprites in this game is awesome, just like in a oldest games.
    I recommend this game for all people! Buy it and enjoy!
    Expand
  3. Jun 23, 2011
    10
    It's enraging to see all the MINECRAFT RIPOFF!!!1!!! 0 reviews.

    Let's get this straight, the thing that Terreria are Minecraft share, you
    It's enraging to see all the MINECRAFT RIPOFF!!!1!!! 0 reviews.

    Let's get this straight, the thing that Terreria are Minecraft share, you can build, you can dig, you can craft.
    Does that seem like general similarities? That's because they are. This game is no where near a Minecraft rip off. At the moment Minecraft is a sandbox building game. Terreria is a 2D RPG where you can build. The focus of the two games are very different.

    I've sunk many hours into this game, if you get a good world going with your friends you'll be up until the early hours playing this, there's a lot to do and discover and the frequent updates only add more.

    Granted once you complete it you might want to leave it a while before coming back, but at £6 I'm not concerned, I "completed" it about a month back and since then it's been hugely updated so I'll soon return.
    Expand
  4. Mar 12, 2014
    9
    I have to admit, I bought this game and it was in my steam library a few months before I got into it. After I really started playing it, I wasI have to admit, I bought this game and it was in my steam library a few months before I got into it. After I really started playing it, I was having a blast. I would sit down to check up on my house and ended up playing this for 5 or 6 hour sessions at a time. All of this review so far is pre 1.2 update, by the way. I really think this is one of the best games out there to just relax and have a good time. Anyone who buys this on PC, (Xbox 360 version SUCKED), will have the time of their life while playing this. For only $10 on Steam, that is an AMAZING price for endless hours of fun I have proudly clocked in 231 hours to this wonder, and am still pleased with it's experience. This is an amazing product and you should definitely buy it. Only if it's on PC though. Expand
  5. Jun 5, 2011
    9
    Terraria is an awesome, Minecraft Based 2D Game, with help of popularity of minecraft this game has sold 2 millions in first days of launch,Terraria is an awesome, Minecraft Based 2D Game, with help of popularity of minecraft this game has sold 2 millions in first days of launch, but it is more than a minecraft based game, it is really awesome how well planned is this little game and for 10USD you will get a lot of fun single player and multiplayer Expand
  6. Jun 1, 2011
    8
    I haven't played Minecraft, so I'm unable to low-ball this game for being a "knockoff" as many reviewers have. Terraria plays extremely wellI haven't played Minecraft, so I'm unable to low-ball this game for being a "knockoff" as many reviewers have. Terraria plays extremely well as a 2d sandbox with lots of options and exploration, the retro look is welcoming to a lot of gamers and doesn't hurt game quality at all, and a very simple UI/control system gives you enough to work with and doesn't overwhelm with a steep learning curve. Though...there's a lot of little detail that the 'Tip Character' doesn't let you know, forcing you to go to forums or Youtube videos to understand (which shouldn't be the case for simple things like how big a home should be to attract people to your world). The music gets a little drab over time as well, but it's very easy to turn it off and pull up your own playlist or Pandora. The combat can be downright irritating at times, tempting you to avoid confrontation with very basic baddies. And the multiplayer is tons of fun, but a lobby system is something to be desired at times, when playing with only friends isn't an option. This is a tremendous game in the end, regardless of little things that could be better. The size of the game really hits you when you go mining down into the world and seem to never hit a boundary, exploring and discovering new things and places is fantastic, and the freedom of creation in Terraria will keep me playing for a long time. Expand
  7. Oct 15, 2013
    0
    Completely unintuitive and uninteresting. I generally like pixel art, but having to squint to see your character is just too much to bear. AndCompletely unintuitive and uninteresting. I generally like pixel art, but having to squint to see your character is just too much to bear. And your "guide" for the game escapes from you while you're trying to follow its instructions. What a waste of my $2. Expand

See all 501 User Reviews

Trailers