Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 114 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Tesla Effect revives the glory years of PC adventure games with a return to the full-motion video (FMV) game genre. Known for its sardonic humor, Tesla Effect will be the first Tex Murphy game since 1998. ATLUS and Big Finish games will release Tesla Effect on Steam and other PC platforms worldwide in early 2014. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Jun 12, 2014
    85
    If you haven't experienced the multimedia revolution back in the 90s, there's no point to start now. Tesla Effect is a design drug for us who marveled the magnificent pre-rendered graphics of Rebel Assault and cursed Phantasmagoria to hell. Retrofitted with high-definition videos and polygon graphics, Tesla Effect is a modern relic in the most positive way possible. [June 2014]
  2. Jun 3, 2014
    80
    Well worth the time of any Tex Murphy fan. Wven those that know nothing about the history of the protagonist will find something to like.
  3. May 14, 2014
    79
    Tesla Effect: A Tex Murphy Adventure is more than a love letter to the series' die-hard supporters. It's a solid adventure title that's loaded with brain teasers, personable characters, and a great musical score.
  4. May 14, 2014
    70
    If you haven't played the original back in the day, this will probably look trashy to you. The story oftentimes borders on nonsense and the puzzles regularly are uninspired. But that's not what this is about. This is about once again seeing the world through Tex Murphy's eyes. And that's as much a privilege today as it was back in the olden times.
  5. May 7, 2014
    68
    Every aspect -- from the humor to the puzzles to the live action cutscenes -- feels beamed here straight from the ‘90s. Sometimes it’s charming, and others, it’s just dated. But if nothing else, Tex’s puns and underdog relatability ultimately still make this rocky, uneven case worth cracking.
  6. 60
    Tex is back and it's right where he left off, ignoring more than 15 years of gaming evolution. It would've helped if he kept himself a little more up to speed.
  7. Jul 1, 2014
    40
    Tex Murphy had risen from the dead only to show us his aged face, and then again he faded into oblivion – along with his logical conundrums and his very dead game design. Fans of the series may try, the others definitely not.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 33
  2. Negative: 4 out of 33
  1. May 10, 2014
    10
    This is a great game if you are looking for something different, of course some people don't understand that this is a kickstarter game with a low budget so, people that complain about the acting, first thing you need to understand is that this is the way Tex Murphy games are, second thing is that they can't hire professional actors because of the budget, so if you are not a fan, i suggest you get into the previous series or at least watch the gameplay or play the demo before you buy this so you will be sure if this game is for you. Graphics are good enough comparing to the previous series, this is a game made for fans of the Tex Murphy series, but also it was made with the purpose of being a different game to any kind of genres as Shooters, RTS, Adventures as The Wolf Among Us and others. Exploring, Puzzles, Having different paths and different endings, Humour and the most important thing, it will show you one of the best characters ever in adventure games! now, if you just want more Shooters, Rts, Rpgs, or Adventures like The Walking Dead, so probably this game is not for you. Expand
  2. Jun 9, 2014
    10
    Please do not wait another 16 years to release a Tex Murphy adventure. This is exactly what adventure gaming should be about. Love everything about the game. Expand
  3. May 8, 2014
    10
    I see dated and retro being used as a negative in a lot of reviews and let me just say these are totally positives. Todays games are filled with cut scene skippers and hand holding and linear story or gameplay. I grew up on these games Tex murphy, Black Dahlia, Spycraft, Blade Runner, etc, etc, these are an art form that was lost due to cost cutting measures and over reliance on cgi. sure its great when a game shows perfect synch with cg characters environments and voice actors but guess what, real actors already have realistic movements and facial features. Remember L.A. Noire I loved that game but it might as well have been a FMV game for all the special detail the new 360 camera process they used gave it. In short welcome back Tex we missed you pull up a chair and tell us many, many more stories. Expand
  4. May 10, 2014
    10
    An interesting story full of twists and lots of humor. Having only briefly played UAKM and Pandora Directive, never having finished them, I did not feel left out, in fact just having a vague knowledge of the characters and games was enough for me to get most of the references. A great jumping on point and a great send off to the character of Tex Murphy. Expand
  5. May 9, 2014
    10
    All right , just finished the game. And well .... that's all I wanted . I had fear before playing, fear to be disappointed ... But you did it. you kept your promise. A lot of kickstarter project was a real deception. But not this one. Everything from a TEX GAME is here. Music, scenario, humour, acting, ambiance .... And everybody knows how it's difficult to satisfy FANS and to reboot feelings from old franchise (even George lucas didn't succeed lol) You succeed to recreate the feeling we all had when playing tex murphy. So for that, just thank you. I didn't believe it myself but what a job whit this budget. Can't wait for the next and be sure of my support for that :) Great job. Expand
  6. May 9, 2014
    10
    It would have been easy for the creators of Tesla Effect to simply have given us what we wanted: another Tex Murphy game in the mold of UAKM, PD, and Overseer. In fact, they could have simply reused those engines, and most fans would have been happy. Instead, they dramatically reinvented the series to near perfection. The 3D world exploration is better than ever. And except for a definite decrease in the amount of clickable objects (one of my favorite aspects from previous games in the series), it shines. The acting is as good as its ever been, and the story is touching. The best feature of the game, though, is its least mentioned--the subtle funneling of Tex along specific story pathways. And, aside from a few hiccups where the story branches merge back together, its done wonderfully. A few of the puzzles fail to impress (some are insultingly easy while others almost appear to be missing a hint document), but as a whole, this Tex Murphy fan is impressed and satisfied and hoping for a return to Chandler Avenue soon! Expand
  7. May 13, 2014
    3
    I was a kick starter backer, and a fan of the series, and I am quite disappointed in this game. I understand it as created on a limited budget, but the FMV sequences were so sup-par in quality that it was hard to love this game no matter how much I tried. Everything was wrong, sloppy editing to poor chroma keying, lifeless static backgrounds, artifacts seemingly from compression. I had really hoped Big Finish would seek the right skills to bring this game to life since it is all about the FMV, but alas they have not. Hopefully the next iteration will bring back my love for the series. Expand

See all 33 User Reviews