• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 147 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Tesla Effect revives the glory years of PC adventure games with a return to the full-motion video (FMV) game genre. Known for its sardonic humor, Tesla Effect will be the first Tex Murphy game since 1998. ATLUS and Big Finish games will release Tesla Effect on Steam and other PC platformsTesla Effect revives the glory years of PC adventure games with a return to the full-motion video (FMV) game genre. Known for its sardonic humor, Tesla Effect will be the first Tex Murphy game since 1998. ATLUS and Big Finish games will release Tesla Effect on Steam and other PC platforms worldwide in early 2014. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. Jun 12, 2014
    85
    If you haven't experienced the multimedia revolution back in the 90s, there's no point to start now. Tesla Effect is a design drug for us who marveled the magnificent pre-rendered graphics of Rebel Assault and cursed Phantasmagoria to hell. Retrofitted with high-definition videos and polygon graphics, Tesla Effect is a modern relic in the most positive way possible. [June 2014]
  2. May 19, 2014
    80
    Tesla Effect is a low budget game with many flaws but it's also a great adventure made of memorable characters, great lines and funny moments.
  3. May 16, 2014
    76
    It does not reach the level and the beauty of its great predecessors, but Tesla Effect: A Tex Murphy Adventure is still a good and nostalgic adventure game. Let's hope this Big Finish Games effort is not an isolated case, but the beginning of something more lasting.
  4. May 14, 2014
    70
    Tex Murphy has been fairly successfully transported to the modern era, and maybe that's enough for the established fans. It's just a shame he didn't pick up enough new tricks in his sixteen-year hiatus for everyone else to take notice.
  5. May 7, 2014
    68
    Every aspect -- from the humor to the puzzles to the live action cutscenes -- feels beamed here straight from the ‘90s. Sometimes it’s charming, and others, it’s just dated. But if nothing else, Tex’s puns and underdog relatability ultimately still make this rocky, uneven case worth cracking.
  6. 60
    Tex is back and it's right where he left off, ignoring more than 15 years of gaming evolution. It would've helped if he kept himself a little more up to speed.
  7. Jul 1, 2014
    40
    Tex Murphy had risen from the dead only to show us his aged face, and then again he faded into oblivion – along with his logical conundrums and his very dead game design. Fans of the series may try, the others definitely not.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 40
  2. Negative: 4 out of 40
  1. Aug 7, 2014
    10
    Thank you for making this game! I had such a great time playing Tesla Effect. The puzzles are great: finally I get to take up my notebook andThank you for making this game! I had such a great time playing Tesla Effect. The puzzles are great: finally I get to take up my notebook and make notes to solve riddles. Games today are to easy. This game makes you think, and ponder on what to do next. With this game you get a different experience. Graphics and acting are the way Tex Murphy fans want it. Couldn't ask for more! Expand
  2. May 8, 2014
    10
    I see dated and retro being used as a negative in a lot of reviews and let me just say these are totally positives. Todays games are filledI see dated and retro being used as a negative in a lot of reviews and let me just say these are totally positives. Todays games are filled with cut scene skippers and hand holding and linear story or gameplay. I grew up on these games Tex murphy, Black Dahlia, Spycraft, Blade Runner, etc, etc, these are an art form that was lost due to cost cutting measures and over reliance on cgi. sure its great when a game shows perfect synch with cg characters environments and voice actors but guess what, real actors already have realistic movements and facial features. Remember L.A. Noire I loved that game but it might as well have been a FMV game for all the special detail the new 360 camera process they used gave it. In short welcome back Tex we missed you pull up a chair and tell us many, many more stories. Expand
  3. Jun 9, 2014
    10
    Please do not wait another 16 years to release a Tex Murphy adventure. This is exactly what adventure gaming should be about. LovePlease do not wait another 16 years to release a Tex Murphy adventure. This is exactly what adventure gaming should be about. Love everything about the game. Expand
  4. May 10, 2014
    10
    An interesting story full of twists and lots of humor. Having only briefly played UAKM and Pandora Directive, never having finished them, IAn interesting story full of twists and lots of humor. Having only briefly played UAKM and Pandora Directive, never having finished them, I did not feel left out, in fact just having a vague knowledge of the characters and games was enough for me to get most of the references. A great jumping on point and a great send off to the character of Tex Murphy. Expand
  5. May 8, 2014
    10
    This is the funniest game I've played since Portal 2. Tesla Effect is excellent, a return-to-form for FMV games, and a glorious adventureThis is the funniest game I've played since Portal 2. Tesla Effect is excellent, a return-to-form for FMV games, and a glorious adventure filled with twists, turns, and surprises. Expand
  6. Mar 21, 2015
    9
    Right from the first Blade Runner style flight through a futuristic city with epic music playing in the background and then Tex appears in hisRight from the first Blade Runner style flight through a futuristic city with epic music playing in the background and then Tex appears in his speeder, looking totally cheesy on an amateurish green screen, you know the Tex is back! This combo of seriousness, noir atmosphere and detective story with absolute cheese factor and humour is what makes it great. There has been lot of bad things written about the technical side of things, but it's actually pretty good, locations such as the beach house are quite beautiful, interface is clean and functional and my playthrough has been 100% bug free, which is a rarity nowadays, especially for Unity engine games. I really liked the story, music is amazing, acting is cool and some of the flashback sequences from older games such as Under a Killing Moon were a nice nostalgia trip. My only problem was with the dialog system, where the answers selection is written in some kind of metaphor system which can be hard to decipher for a non-native english speaker, never knowing what you're actually answering and some of the puzzles were a bit annoying, but other than that Tesla Effect is a great game and it's been a pleasure to see Tex in good form after all those years. 9/10 Expand
  7. May 13, 2014
    3
    I was a kick starter backer, and a fan of the series, and I am quite disappointed in this game. I understand it as created on a limitedI was a kick starter backer, and a fan of the series, and I am quite disappointed in this game. I understand it as created on a limited budget, but the FMV sequences were so sup-par in quality that it was hard to love this game no matter how much I tried. Everything was wrong, sloppy editing to poor chroma keying, lifeless static backgrounds, artifacts seemingly from compression. I had really hoped Big Finish would seek the right skills to bring this game to life since it is all about the FMV, but alas they have not. Hopefully the next iteration will bring back my love for the series. Collapse

See all 40 User Reviews