Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 114 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Tesla Effect revives the glory years of PC adventure games with a return to the full-motion video (FMV) game genre. Known for its sardonic humor, Tesla Effect will be the first Tex Murphy game since 1998. ATLUS and Big Finish games will release Tesla Effect on Steam and other PC platforms worldwide in early 2014. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31
  1. Jun 12, 2014
    85
    If you haven't experienced the multimedia revolution back in the 90s, there's no point to start now. Tesla Effect is a design drug for us who marveled the magnificent pre-rendered graphics of Rebel Assault and cursed Phantasmagoria to hell. Retrofitted with high-definition videos and polygon graphics, Tesla Effect is a modern relic in the most positive way possible. [June 2014]
  2. Jun 3, 2014
    80
    Well worth the time of any Tex Murphy fan. Wven those that know nothing about the history of the protagonist will find something to like.
  3. May 14, 2014
    79
    Tesla Effect: A Tex Murphy Adventure is more than a love letter to the series' die-hard supporters. It's a solid adventure title that's loaded with brain teasers, personable characters, and a great musical score.
  4. May 8, 2014
    70
    Prepare yourself for a time travel. Tesla Effect is far from being perfect, but seeing Tex Murphy back in action in a classic point-and-click adventure is surely a positive thing for videogames.
  5. May 14, 2014
    70
    Tex Murphy has been fairly successfully transported to the modern era, and maybe that's enough for the established fans. It's just a shame he didn't pick up enough new tricks in his sixteen-year hiatus for everyone else to take notice.
  6. May 9, 2014
    65
    Tex Murphy might be alive in 2014 but he'll need to learn a few more tricks if he's to stay around for another adventure.
  7. Jul 1, 2014
    40
    Tex Murphy had risen from the dead only to show us his aged face, and then again he faded into oblivion – along with his logical conundrums and his very dead game design. Fans of the series may try, the others definitely not.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 33
  2. Negative: 4 out of 33
  1. May 11, 2014
    10
    Tesla Effect has all the elements that will please new fans to the genre and fulfill the appetite of the old. I am so pleased how this game turned out and while it took 16 years to come to fruition...I could not be happier. The graphics are current, the story telling is stellar, the high def 2K full motion video is beyond unreal! I'll be playing Tesla Effect for years to come...I really hope we get another installment, I would LOVE to see what the crew over at BFG (Big Finish Games) would take the character(s) and how they would continue the story. Amazing work guys...long live the Mutant League!
    - Menacexp
    Expand
  2. Jun 1, 2014
    10
    I have never enjoyed a PC adventure game more than Tex Murphy's Tesla Effect, and I've been playing PC games since 1986. The most remarkable thing about this newest Tex Murphy adventure is how well, after nearly 16 years, the characters have aged. Those who reprised their roles were wonderful, and Tex Murphy himself (Chris Jones) didn't miss a beat with his funny comments and charming dialog. I often laughed out loud while playing.

    The very best part of this newest Tex Murphy is how wonderfully updated the mechanics of the game were. No more clunky movements of the past, especially when trying to elevate to look into drawers and such. The choice of Casual and Gamer was genius. I chose casual, and the in-game hints were fantastic. The complete differences in the endings was also remarkable. I played the game 7 times, and got every ending including finding all of the comic books to access Tex's storage room.

    A user score of 8.5 is unfathomable to me - if this game doesn't rate a 10, then I can't think of another that does. I've played all of the "classics" through the years, including all of the King's Quest, Police Quest, Gabriel Knight, and Tex Murphy games. Far and away, this game had everything single thing that I love about adventure games.

    The number one thing I found so wonderful about Tesla Effect is that I could, finally, on the casual level, choose to skip puzzles that I simply did not want to spend frustrating hours to complete and be stuck not being able to advance in the game. That one feature alone makes this game a 10.

    The beautiful locations; the funny and intelligent dialog, the wonderful puzzles and use of inventory items, and the fantastic characters made this the most outstanding adventure game I have ever played.
    Also, being able to download from Steam, play for days, then uninstall so that the huge game doesn't clog my hard drive is nothing short of genius.

    Giving this game a 10 doesn't even do it justice.
    Expand
  3. May 8, 2014
    10
    I see dated and retro being used as a negative in a lot of reviews and let me just say these are totally positives. Todays games are filled with cut scene skippers and hand holding and linear story or gameplay. I grew up on these games Tex murphy, Black Dahlia, Spycraft, Blade Runner, etc, etc, these are an art form that was lost due to cost cutting measures and over reliance on cgi. sure its great when a game shows perfect synch with cg characters environments and voice actors but guess what, real actors already have realistic movements and facial features. Remember L.A. Noire I loved that game but it might as well have been a FMV game for all the special detail the new 360 camera process they used gave it. In short welcome back Tex we missed you pull up a chair and tell us many, many more stories. Expand
  4. May 10, 2014
    10
    This is a great game if you are looking for something different, of course some people don't understand that this is a kickstarter game with a low budget so, people that complain about the acting, first thing you need to understand is that this is the way Tex Murphy games are, second thing is that they can't hire professional actors because of the budget, so if you are not a fan, i suggest you get into the previous series or at least watch the gameplay or play the demo before you buy this so you will be sure if this game is for you. Graphics are good enough comparing to the previous series, this is a game made for fans of the Tex Murphy series, but also it was made with the purpose of being a different game to any kind of genres as Shooters, RTS, Adventures as The Wolf Among Us and others. Exploring, Puzzles, Having different paths and different endings, Humour and the most important thing, it will show you one of the best characters ever in adventure games! now, if you just want more Shooters, Rts, Rpgs, or Adventures like The Walking Dead, so probably this game is not for you. Expand
  5. May 9, 2014
    10
    Tesla Effect is the most enjoyable game since Grim Fandango. It requires thinking, not finger twitching. It actually has a plot, a real plot, not an excuse for a plot. And it is replete with characters to interact with.
    But if you prefer games that virtually play themselves, as some reviewers who knock this game as being old fashioned do, look elsewhere ... or watch TV. This is exactly like the old Tex Murphy adventure games, Under A Killing Moon, Pandora Directive, and Overseer, except that all of the production values are much much higher, and the video cut scenes are in HD.
    Expand
  6. May 8, 2014
    10
    This has fulfilled my need for a new Tex Murphy game and more. As a big fan admittedly of the series ever since I spotted Under A Killing Moon on a store shelf, I went into this knowing it had a venerable history to live up to.

    The interface is nicely refined, there are more graphics options than you'd think an adventure game should have, exploring is easy as Arrow keys (I'm mostly an FPS gamer but have used them since Doom) double up for the usual WASD controls, there's an FOV slider (more than Call of Duty tends to ship with these days) and more. Also the videos retain the humor of the series,all while being in 2K resolution and seamless in transition (at least on my PC).

    Heartily recommend to any adventurer.
    Expand
  7. May 13, 2014
    3
    I was a kick starter backer, and a fan of the series, and I am quite disappointed in this game. I understand it as created on a limited budget, but the FMV sequences were so sup-par in quality that it was hard to love this game no matter how much I tried. Everything was wrong, sloppy editing to poor chroma keying, lifeless static backgrounds, artifacts seemingly from compression. I had really hoped Big Finish would seek the right skills to bring this game to life since it is all about the FMV, but alas they have not. Hopefully the next iteration will bring back my love for the series. Collapse

See all 33 User Reviews