Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 66 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Teslagrad is a 2D puzzle-platformer, where you play as a young lad who suddenly finds himself embroiled in an ancient conflict that will shake the foundations of his entire existence, and bring a gruesome truth to light.

    The game revolves around the use of electricity and magnetism, and
    your ingenuity will be put to the test as you employ the amazing technology of the Teslamancers to traverse the abandoned Tesla Tower. The game is completely devoid of both text and dialogue, and prefers to tell the story purely through visual means. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Dec 17, 2013
    95
    Teslagrad is an exceptional example of non-verbal storytelling, relying on delightfully smooth animation and clever puzzles to see the player through to the end.
  2. Dec 21, 2013
    90
    Teslagrad has a clever level design, great visual style and uses gameplay mechanics in a way that keeps the player both alert and eager to learn new things.
  3. Jan 7, 2014
    90
    Clever design, brilliant gameplay, well-balanced difficulty and unique visual style: Teslagrad is an excellent action-platformer that fans of the genre shouldn't miss.
  4. Dec 11, 2013
    80
    This is a game where every aspect shows that there's a lot of effort put into it. Harder than the average title, its mix of platforming and puzzles sets a solid foundation for a beautiful experience.
  5. Dec 16, 2013
    80
    Teslagrad is a game with a good mix of platforming, puzzles, and old school playability.
  6. Dec 13, 2013
    80
    Rain Games have done a stellar job with Teslagrad. They have created an atmospheric world that drags you in and implores you to explore it. The graphics and art style are wonderful, the puzzles are logical and satisfying to solve, and the game is a proper challenge even for weathered gamers.
  7. 60
    Beautifully drawn, beautifully animated, yet frustrating puzzle platformer, capable of enchanting you in one minute and pissing you off in another. [Issue#238]

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Dec 20, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Teslagrad by the norwegian develper Rain Games can be described in one Word. Brutal difficulty.
    Teslagrad has a beautiful handdrawn art style With atmospheric Music and challenging Puzzles. There is a Catch With it though. It is hard to know where Your Next Puzzle or boss battle is, but still this is one hell of a game. If you want a hard and unique platformer With Puzzles ,you will absolutely love this game just as much as I did.The story is about that you are the son of Nikola Tesla, when you're city is attacked by an army you're mother says to you that you need to find Your after he dissapeared into the massive Tower in the city. Inside the Tower you get awesome gadgets like the magnet glove and boots that gives you a little dash and some theaters which tells you why the army is attacking Your city.
    Expand
  2. Dec 17, 2013
    9
    This is a platforming game where the main puzzle mechanic revolves around maniplulating electicity and magnetic charges an works really well.

    The gameplay is a bit to hard and frustrating for my taste, but the stunning visuals and "mood" of the game more than makes up for it.
    Expand
  3. Dec 18, 2013
    9
    I think of this as a mix between Metroid and Little Nemo with a really fun art style. Previous review mentioned electricity and magnetism. I find that the mechanics in this just represent interaction between electrically charged objects and there isn't much magnetism. Magnetism doesn't come into play until there is charge motion, and the objects don't act like permanent magnets either, only charged objects. But this was a really fun game either way. I will definitely be recommending it to people i know. Story telling is really well done also, silent but effective. Expand
  4. Apr 28, 2014
    8
    i didn't play it till the end but i am close, so far it's a perfect one it's puzzles are awesome lots of fun little hard, it has some great ideas, it has no talking but it has a story it's not just an arcade game, you will love it if you like puzzles games .
    the bad thing is that some times i just get sick from a hard puzzle and just close the game, because you will play the puzzle over and over again until you pass it, has no score you die with one hit and has unlimited lives i mean if you don't the game would suck from its hardness .
    Expand
  5. Dec 30, 2013
    8
    Did not even play this game... how to remove critic oh never mind i will buy it soon and review it....................................................... Collapse
  6. Jan 11, 2014
    6
    The graphics are amazing, and the controls are pretty tight, but poor level design prevents this from being a great game. Far too often, small mistakes force you to repeat long, boring stretches of platforming, making for a tedious experience. The boss fights are also fairly uninspired, and since you die in one hit, you'll be playing them over and over again. I don't mind difficult platforming (I've put far too many hours into Super Meat Boy), but this game just feels like a chore. I tried to force myself to keep playing, just to see the beautiful environments, but I soon gave up. Expand
  7. Jan 5, 2014
    5
    I like the graphics and the general concept, also the background music and most of the puzzles.

    What I don't like is the general flow of
    how it challenges you. Most stuff is pretty easy and not challenging at all, and then you run into something which requires precise timing and quick fingers (try the demo and go down to the metal monster).

    Also I find the controls (although they are rebindable) are counter intiuitive. WASD for movement, so far so good, but then left/right arrow for red/blue charge my brain permanently got confused about using the arrow keys for something that does not have anything to do with direction.
    Expand

See all 11 User Reviews