Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Feb 16, 2011
    55
    I'm a fan of games that give you control of your character's life (see: buying houses, decorating, pimping sweet rides), but the driving is missing the raw energy it needs to stay interesting and the rest of the experience is bug-ridden.
  2. Feb 14, 2011
    76
    Though the production value leaves a lot to be desired, Test Drive: Unlimited 2 has a lot of content, and maxing out your stats and gaining levels in the game provides a fresh take on progression in the automotive genre.
  3. Feb 28, 2011
    75
    At it stands, Test Drive Unlimited 2 is like a used Ferrari with a broken passenger seat - a solid ride as long as the player doesn't mind some of the nicks and bumps and is willing to drive mostly alone.
  4. Feb 11, 2011
    85
    With two islands, a good number of luxury cars, cool environments and lots of races, Test Drive Unlimited 2 follows the path of the previous installment, and improves on it, although it doesn't change the formula.
  5. Feb 21, 2011
    75
    Enormous and ambitious, Test Drive Unlimited 2 is a good game and a truly unique gameplay-experience. It's a step forward for the series.
  6. Feb 15, 2011
    70
    Please Eden, next time just focus on the driving.
  7. Feb 26, 2011
    90
    Atari's latest open-world racer serves up hotter cars, warmer climates and more torrid racing action than its predecessor. [April 2011, p.70]
  8. Mar 8, 2011
    80
    Test Drive Unlimited 2 is an ambitious and fun racing game that offers a great multiplayer experience to racing lovers. Unfortunately, the not-so-great driving keeps it from being a classic of the genre. Truly a shame, considering the amazing potential the title had.
  9. 60
    Racing game pretends to have a lot of features and extras at first glance. Fact is, this just has some boring races and dusty graphics. [Mar 2011]
  10. Feb 10, 2011
    55
    Test Drive Unlimited 2 will most likely receive a cult following for its kooky characters and general offbeat atmosphere, and the solid multiplayer options will keep many coming back. A word of warning, however - give this one a rent before you go the whole hog, as the baffling physics and numerous technical oddities are sure to kill this ride for many.
  11. Mar 20, 2011
    67
    The joy of the open road in a game that probably shouldn't get away with feeling as fun as it does. [Apr 2011, p.86]
  12. Mar 18, 2011
    88
    Immense fun, very addictive. [Apr 2011, p.104]
  13. Feb 21, 2011
    68
    The developers just ignored the releases of the last four years, so everthing in this game is way out of date: AI, mission designs, physics and online mode. Get Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit instead.
  14. Mar 31, 2011
    70
    Ignore the story and there's a very enticing world to explore. [Apr 2011, p.64]
  15. Mar 14, 2011
    70
    TDU 2, like its predecessor, is a very self-absorbed and meditative game. It doesn't force you to dash through all the championships, to fly to the final race... But there comes an inevitable moment when you start pondering what to do next. All tasks have been completed, all cars have been tested, and you're the best in your club... And that's it?
  16. Feb 16, 2011
    50
    Quotation forthcoming.
  17. Feb 11, 2011
    79
    TDU2 has insane potential and offers a truly unique gameplay-experience, that's nowhere to be found elsewhere. But it's not free of flaws - like the extremely dull single-player story and the mediocre graphics and sound effects. Still: If you consider yourself a gearhead with a thing for socialising, go get it!
  18. Mar 21, 2011
    80
    Don't get us wrong, Test Drive Unlimited 2 is a very decent game. With a massive island to explore, beautiful cars and scenery that can take your breath away, it's an absolute eye candy. Still, almost every aspect of the game can use some polish. [Mar 2011, p.99]
  19. Mar 2, 2011
    87
    However you play TDU2, you're likely to miss out on something Eden Games and Atari did extremely well. Whether that's vehicle paint and decals, avatar fashions, car interiors, a surprisingly robust casino experience, or just some gorgeous scenery in certain out-of-the way places, there's just way too much good stuff going on in this game to have anyone yawning with a cursory playthrough.
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 225 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 83
  2. Negative: 37 out of 83
  1. Feb 14, 2011
    8
    This is the kind of game that sucks you in, for better or worse. The open world is sprawling and the cars are fairly well selected, though theThis is the kind of game that sucks you in, for better or worse. The open world is sprawling and the cars are fairly well selected, though the game depends too heavily on some brands. Playing this game, I wondered often why they didn't play to the design's strengths as opposed to its weaknesses. The game is spread out across two huge islands, but very few parts of those islands are interesting enough to want to pass by them more than once or twice in an hour. This factor makes racing any race that is over two laps, especially if you have to restart, highly tedious. For the same reasons, the point to point races, with and without competitors, are often a lot of fun and are sometimes brilliant. The car handling can be silly and I would describe the handling as arcade-like. I think this game has a hard time deciding if it is meant for racing game fans or those who have little to no experience with them. The game starts out incredibly easy and then ramps it up. This makes the first few hours pretty boring. I don't care for the effects of colliding with things: I wish there were more damage. I can't think of a good method for repairing though and driving across the islands in a busted vehicle would be a huge drag. The story is thin and the voice acting is often so bad It seems ripped from a subtitle dub of an '80s Japanese action movie. The avatar customization items seem unnecessary, but they are not poorly implemented. I'm sure some people will get a kick out of those. As of now, the PC's online functions are crippled, but I'd be very surprised if I didn't see a fix very soon. PC optimization isn't terrible, but there are instances of unwarranted slowdown in seemingly random places. In one race, I experienced crippling slowdown on one lap and then smooth as butter framerate the next. This may have something to do with the online connectivity problems. I'm curious to see how the online actually pans out when it works, which will hopefully be in the next week or 2. The sound of the engines is pretty good and the radio has a decent selection but seems to try to copy GTA too much. We don't need sarcastic commercials in every game, especially if they aren't funny. Full Review »
  2. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    Why do people love and hate this? I'll tell you.
    If you have a controller or wheel then TDU2 will be a whole heap of fun to drive around the
    Why do people love and hate this? I'll tell you.
    If you have a controller or wheel then TDU2 will be a whole heap of fun to drive around the endless roads and beautifully rendered scenery. If you are using keyboard only then there is a good chance that your tapping techniques will fail and cause you to write an explosive slamming review. PCâ
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 17, 2011
    1
    all i can really say is this game is hands down the worst game ever made, has the worst control of any racing game out there, and anyone whoall i can really say is this game is hands down the worst game ever made, has the worst control of any racing game out there, and anyone who say this game is good, has not played the game, its a shame too, it looked like it would be fun, but with its bad control, bad graphics, bad and weird voice acting, i can not recommend this pile of dump Full Review »