User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 230 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 76 out of 230

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 13, 2013
    4
    To be quite honest with you, if you like this style of driving game, i.e, where you can sort of explore the island in your car; I would recommend getting the first game and avoiding this one. The voice-acting is incredibly cheesy and the 'story' is just awful. At least in Test Drive Unlimited (the first game) they simply didn't have a story-line, probably to avoid this exact problem. TheTo be quite honest with you, if you like this style of driving game, i.e, where you can sort of explore the island in your car; I would recommend getting the first game and avoiding this one. The voice-acting is incredibly cheesy and the 'story' is just awful. At least in Test Drive Unlimited (the first game) they simply didn't have a story-line, probably to avoid this exact problem. The graphics really aren't that much better either so you're not really missing out on much. Expand
  2. Dec 9, 2013
    4
    terrible car handling that makes you wanna headbutt the screen.
    unsastisfying graphics performance that can go glitchy.

    a total step-down from a solid first game.
  3. Feb 12, 2012
    2
    Well, where to start?
    TDU2 tries to be many things. most of which it fails at quite miserably.
    Lets start with what should be the focal point of the game. Cars. Now right off the bat the cars look pretty good, well modeled and the like. But from there it all falls apart.For starters the engine noise of every cars sounds meek and powerless, the handling (if you could call it that) is very
    Well, where to start?
    TDU2 tries to be many things. most of which it fails at quite miserably.
    Lets start with what should be the focal point of the game. Cars. Now right off the bat the cars look pretty good, well modeled and the like. But from there it all falls apart.For starters the engine noise of every cars sounds meek and powerless, the handling (if you could call it that) is very floaty and more often than not you'll end up off-roading. Also maybe it's just me but from the 10 or so hours i put into this game it seems to me like this game has the worst automatic transmission in existence. Off the line my car would not engage first gear for a few seconds then go right to second gear then gear back down to first and then piddle back into second. By which time my opponents had pulled away nicely. So in short as a driving game if is awful. As a open world game it has some legs but they're all but ruined by the aforementioned means of exploring said world. the radio dj's are beyond stupid. talking about how their station plays the best death metal to then lead into some indie rock song.
    The story is so bad i don't even want to recant it
    The games a bloody mess. its not worth anymore than $5. you've been warned.
    Expand
  4. Nov 15, 2011
    3
    coming from tdu1 this is a let down all over the cars handle so odd and out of place even the car selection is disappointing .. they added off-roading witch feels better then the cars on the road but still not good ....ughh this game had so much potential i don't know what they did . grfxs are .. well it dont look as good as tdu1 allot more cartoony (dont know how people can say it lookscoming from tdu1 this is a let down all over the cars handle so odd and out of place even the car selection is disappointing .. they added off-roading witch feels better then the cars on the road but still not good ....ughh this game had so much potential i don't know what they did . grfxs are .. well it dont look as good as tdu1 allot more cartoony (dont know how people can say it looks good ) performance always stuttering bounces between high 30s and 40s online seems to be as broken as the first you see people but not the ones you want people on your friends list dont show up just random's if you just drive in a strait line its fine watch the scenery blow by just don't turn Expand
  5. Mar 29, 2011
    4
    The Good: Cruising around with some friends or by yourself for a couple of hours. Just Cruising.

    The Bad: Can u spell Beta. This game has soo many bugs, completely uninspiring story, lame voice overs (the few that they bothered to do), frustrating!! level design, car upgrades that dont work, a community racing center that was down for a month let alone the online clubs issues, car
    The Good: Cruising around with some friends or by yourself for a couple of hours. Just Cruising.

    The Bad: Can u spell Beta. This game has soo many bugs, completely uninspiring story, lame voice overs (the few that they bothered to do), frustrating!! level design, car upgrades that dont work, a community racing center that was down for a month let alone the online clubs issues, car dynamics wrong (on a very steep incline and stationary, pushing the brakes makes the car skid down, but let off the brakes and freewheel and the car doesn't move. so many good features from TDU1 somehow not included like:
    ability to turn engine on and off
    adjustable radial blur
    adjustable incar seat
    incar dials that actually work (the buggy's rev count is 1,2,3,4,5,6,5,6,7 - QA? tested at all?)
    ability to move cars around garages
    the list seriously just goes on and on

    not to mention that once you finish all the singleplayer races and still have lots to buy you won't be able to make money at any reasonable rate unlike TDU1. you cannot repeat entire cups to win the end prize money, it seriously is a dead game after that for singleplayer. multiplayer fails because only certain people who bought from a specific retailer (not Steam) got the Bugatti Veyron Super Sport as a preorder "bonus" and it will outstrip every other car no matter how much tuning. meaning if you didn't live in a specific country, prepare to not be able to win multiplayer games unless by chance - joy. where's the skill in that?

    such an uninspiring game, disappointment of the year handsdown!!
    Expand
  6. Jan 18, 2012
    2
    quite possibly the worst racing game i've ever played (and i remember pole position on the commodore 64)
    the physics engine is non existent. it feels like you are controlling a bar of soap and not a car.
    the voice acting is abysmal. I've seen plays put on by my 6 year old kid at school that had better acting. the developers seem more interested in your avatar and plastic surgery than the
    quite possibly the worst racing game i've ever played (and i remember pole position on the commodore 64)
    the physics engine is non existent. it feels like you are controlling a bar of soap and not a car.
    the voice acting is abysmal. I've seen plays put on by my 6 year old kid at school that had better acting.
    the developers seem more interested in your avatar and plastic surgery than the cars.
    all characters in the game just come off as obnoxious. the only reason i gave this a 2 is because the developers had the balls to release this pile of pap.
    Expand
  7. Jul 18, 2013
    2
    I couldn't enjoy this game. The driving was so bad that it makes me laugh. Graphics are decent, that's why I gave it a 2. But apart from that, not much positives to say
  8. Feb 17, 2011
    1
    all i can really say is this game is hands down the worst game ever made, has the worst control of any racing game out there, and anyone who say this game is good, has not played the game, its a shame too, it looked like it would be fun, but with its bad control, bad graphics, bad and weird voice acting, i can not recommend this pile of dump
  9. Feb 10, 2011
    4
    Biggest disappointment of the year so far. The only thing i really like about the game is the music and the look of the cars (even though, in first TDU part they seemed more realistic). Cons :

    - cut scenes - really stupid, i spend most of my gametime laughing because i couldn't believe that game with such stupid dialogues can be released - the plot - i wish it wasn't there at all. We had
    Biggest disappointment of the year so far. The only thing i really like about the game is the music and the look of the cars (even though, in first TDU part they seemed more realistic). Cons :

    - cut scenes - really stupid, i spend most of my gametime laughing because i couldn't believe that game with such stupid dialogues can be released
    - the plot - i wish it wasn't there at all. We had none in TDU 1, people loved it, why change it?
    - graphics - it's like TDU1 on highest details with a bit changed graphical engine so it could look less realistic
    - driving - i so want to go to Atari building and get my 40$ back. I really DON'T KNOW who designed the driving in this game, but he definately didn't play the first part. IT IS HORRIBLE.

    I tried all modes on both keyboard and wheel (G25). I gotta say, it's unplayable and there's a lot of problems with additional controlers.

    - major bugs - When i started playing i first made an offline account. I was excited to see day/night cycles and weather system. But guess what, i got informed that all of this doesn't work in offline mode cause of a bug. Oh come on, are you serious?

    Conclusions : If you're more of The Sims fun and you don't care if driving in game cars is fun, get the game. Otherwise you're gonna be disappointed, mad and you will swear a lot while playing this game.

    I really hoped this game was going to destroy the competition and that Atari won't be like other companies, creating new game for the masses and throwing brilliant ideas to the trash. But hey, i guess that if you want to play a good car racing games, you gotta buy a console.
    Expand
  10. Feb 11, 2011
    3
    (I've played about 12h) First of all it's a extremely bad physic-engine, driving doesn't makes fun and isn't realistic. The game-engine as bad as the driving-engine, low details, bad textures and the normal traffic-cars are as ugly as sin!

    (sorry, my Englisch is not that good ;) )
  11. Feb 11, 2011
    2
    Quite a big disappointment considering how much fun the first game was. In fact, when the sequel was announced, I was excited. Reason - a second game could just polish everything the first game had to offer and then some more. It was all set to be a much more refined and fun experience for TDU2. That's what I thought. Unfortunately, this is not the case. TDU2 has it all - bad physics, badQuite a big disappointment considering how much fun the first game was. In fact, when the sequel was announced, I was excited. Reason - a second game could just polish everything the first game had to offer and then some more. It was all set to be a much more refined and fun experience for TDU2. That's what I thought. Unfortunately, this is not the case. TDU2 has it all - bad physics, bad car handling, lackluster driving mechanics and the racing is just horrid. The online play doesn't help this game much. It can be fun to drive around in the free roam mode, but gosh, this is 2011 and we get a game that feels so dated. Not recommended. The graphics - well, there are better titles out there that completely dwarfs this. The recently released NFS: Hot Pursuit is a much better choice. Avoid this. Expand
  12. Mar 3, 2011
    0
    I've played about 9 hours and I've gotta say, Eden for all gamers, fire your story writers, and fire the idiot who thought up the physics. Also maybe fire your voice actors, their repetitive and dull. Actually come to think of it, close up shop and maybe try designing concept art for cars instead. The only thing they got right with the game was the look of the cars and the worldsI've played about 9 hours and I've gotta say, Eden for all gamers, fire your story writers, and fire the idiot who thought up the physics. Also maybe fire your voice actors, their repetitive and dull. Actually come to think of it, close up shop and maybe try designing concept art for cars instead. The only thing they got right with the game was the look of the cars and the worlds appearance. I have a truck that corners better then the sports cars in this game, and from driving fast cars I can say spinning out on every corner is hard to do if you know how to drive. But this physics engine, do more then 30 around a corner and your going to be offroading the sports car. Try the **** view, spin out. The license system is a repetitive drag, and really there is no point of playing as there is no story. Expand
  13. Sep 24, 2011
    1
    I tried to play this game. I tried to enjoy it... I really did, but between the terrible cut-scenes that you couldn't skip and the inexplicable urge for the back end of your car to slide out at the tiniest touch of a button, I could not handle it. I screamed out in frustration many, many times, and rage quit many, many times.... much like I was playing a Call of Duty game online......>.
  14. Aug 23, 2012
    4
    Nice cars, nice world, but those are the only positives about this game. If racing game has terrible driving physics, then I can't even enjoy the good things.
  15. Jan 14, 2012
    0
    This game sucks big time, I wouldn't even call it a racing game because it's more like a sequel to The Sims, but for someone who like to play with dolls and dress them up I guess it can be somewhat entertaining. The driving itself is completely ridiculous, no physics what so ever and the cars feels like weightless toy cars, there are also plenty of bugs and game crashes. This is a veryThis game sucks big time, I wouldn't even call it a racing game because it's more like a sequel to The Sims, but for someone who like to play with dolls and dress them up I guess it can be somewhat entertaining. The driving itself is completely ridiculous, no physics what so ever and the cars feels like weightless toy cars, there are also plenty of bugs and game crashes. This is a very poor console port that you should stay away from at all costs. Expand
  16. Sep 1, 2012
    3
    I was excited for TDU2. After wasting away my time on other games, I was looking forwards to a new open-world racing game. Looked great, with its large selection of cars and its massive environment. What they didn't tell me, though, was the absolutely awful license mechanic, which forces you to repeatedly go through near-impossible courses in record time just to enter a race. Not toI was excited for TDU2. After wasting away my time on other games, I was looking forwards to a new open-world racing game. Looked great, with its large selection of cars and its massive environment. What they didn't tell me, though, was the absolutely awful license mechanic, which forces you to repeatedly go through near-impossible courses in record time just to enter a race. Not to mention the abomination that is the handling. Cars, including the Aston Martin Vantage (one of my favourites in real life, I might add) spin out and do 360 degree turns seemingly on their own when you floor it. Slow down and you'll get left behind by the other Barbie-doll racers. And when (if?) you beat it, you have to go back to school, where you repeatedly fail the challenges as the teacher turns to you, smiles creepily, and says "don't worry! You'll get it!" Expand
  17. Feb 10, 2013
    2
    Ouch, should not have bought this. I figured that after about 20 years of the franchise, they would know how to make a racing game. Sadly, I was wrong. The driving feels incredibly unrealistic. The way NFS makes you aware of the limits of physics and the car, in TDU2 the car, nor the physics seem to have limits. The story and cut scenes, instead of redeeming the terrible game-play, onlyOuch, should not have bought this. I figured that after about 20 years of the franchise, they would know how to make a racing game. Sadly, I was wrong. The driving feels incredibly unrealistic. The way NFS makes you aware of the limits of physics and the car, in TDU2 the car, nor the physics seem to have limits. The story and cut scenes, instead of redeeming the terrible game-play, only add insult to injury because of their incredibly childish plot. Finally, the game lacks technically. It crashed for the first time during the installation by the downloader and the graphics look aweful because of the lack of support for my monitor with 16:10 aspect ratio. Do yourself a favor and do not buy this. Even if it's on sale, it's a bad buy. Expand
  18. Feb 11, 2013
    0
    I had to press Alt-Gr Return to get fullscreen, disable surround sound just to hear anything and press repeatedly until my fingers hurts just to reconfigure some of the keys on the keyboard. As soon as you touch the gravel, you get enough penalty seconds to never be able to win the race. There is no spring physics at all so that it feels like driving a train. The car's local inertia feelsI had to press Alt-Gr Return to get fullscreen, disable surround sound just to hear anything and press repeatedly until my fingers hurts just to reconfigure some of the keys on the keyboard. As soon as you touch the gravel, you get enough penalty seconds to never be able to win the race. There is no spring physics at all so that it feels like driving a train. The car's local inertia feels like 4.5 so that the car just keep spinning around. If you drive faster than 30 km/h while steering, you will drift 360 degrees out of control while burning rubber. When I drive a car in real life, it is like glued to the road at 70 km/h. Expand
  19. Feb 10, 2011
    4
    One of the worst car games I've ever played, I was looking forward to this game a long time and then "boom" disappointed as hell at a game which developers had loads of time to create. A little plus because they had okay characters but the rest is just......
  20. Feb 14, 2011
    1
    Visually TDU2 is a nice game, good physics and apparently good multiplayer. The problem? It doesn't work. Online play is completely broken, don't even waste your money buying the game to play multiplayer at this point as it doesn't work. The servers have been down since launch and even though Atari says they are "up and being monitored" that simply means, to them, that there's powerVisually TDU2 is a nice game, good physics and apparently good multiplayer. The problem? It doesn't work. Online play is completely broken, don't even waste your money buying the game to play multiplayer at this point as it doesn't work. The servers have been down since launch and even though Atari says they are "up and being monitored" that simply means, to them, that there's power applied to the server hardware. If you want to play online don't waste your time. If you want a good racing sim for solo play, look elsewhere, this game was designed for online play period, offline is just for training and short term play. Expand
  21. Sep 5, 2011
    1
    Worst driving handling games I ever played. I can even control better when I'm driving GT5 using simulation mode compared to this. This isn't any realistic driving, anyone will be a fool to buy this game and play. I, myself, is a fool and regretted buying this game, it's a waste of money. The driving physics is just worst than any simulation racing games out there.
  22. Nov 24, 2011
    3
    I've been playing driving sims now for over 15 years with Jeff Crammonds Grand Prix on the Amiga being the first real sim I played. In al this time, pretty much ever since the first Need for speed game came out have I wanted a truly free roaming, real to life driving sim that makes me feel like I am actually driving a sports car that I can't afford round the streets of a city. Test driveI've been playing driving sims now for over 15 years with Jeff Crammonds Grand Prix on the Amiga being the first real sim I played. In al this time, pretty much ever since the first Need for speed game came out have I wanted a truly free roaming, real to life driving sim that makes me feel like I am actually driving a sports car that I can't afford round the streets of a city. Test drive unlimited pretty much fails in every single aspect to deliver this. Even the free roaming mode is crippled by the lack of any handling physics at all. You cant even just enjoy "cruising" unless you like cruising in a hovercraft with a mind of it's own. Also, minimum specs for this game are a Gefore 8800GTX? Are you kidding me? With graphics this bad I'd expect to be able to run it with my old Voodoo2. Test Drive 5 looked better than this. Lazy, lazy programing. MW3 runs great on my machine and yet this game runs like a dog with no legs. I hate to slate a game, but this takes the biscuit. I'm glad I only payed £3 for it n the steam sale. Now I know why it's in the sale... Expand
  23. Feb 13, 2013
    2
    This game was kind of a disappointment. The game controls horrible on a keyboard, the cars handle really strange, the physics are just terrible and the crash-mechanics are just awful. Add to that forced on social that detracts from the driving, limited amount of tracks and game-modes, random crashes and a ton of other minor annoyances and you get a pretty below average game. The islandThis game was kind of a disappointment. The game controls horrible on a keyboard, the cars handle really strange, the physics are just terrible and the crash-mechanics are just awful. Add to that forced on social that detracts from the driving, limited amount of tracks and game-modes, random crashes and a ton of other minor annoyances and you get a pretty below average game. The island where you can free roam looks nice and are quite spacey and varied but the subpar driving mechanics manages to take the fun out of that. Personally i did not have a good time with this game and i really cant see who really would. The hardcore racing guys should stay away because of the awkward driving and fans of arcade racers should stay away for the same reason plus the fact that the game really lacks the variation or speed that you would expect from an arcade racer. I would not recommend this game and i am sure that you can find a better racing game of whichever kind you are looking for. Expand
  24. Apr 23, 2011
    0
    Extremely disappointing. Concur with all the negative comments here. The sounds, the pop ups, the dated graphics, the ropey handling are inexcusable, not to mention the bugs. Avoid like the plague and let's pray someone is willing to take the franchise forward with a real TDU2
  25. MTR
    Mar 18, 2011
    1
    Intento de simulador con una fisica desastrosa juntado con un control pesimo (teclado). Totalmente alejado de la diversion rapida que pueden proporcionar los NFS, es incomparable a cualquier simulador tipo GT. El puntito se lo doy por la parte "Los Sims" que envuelve todo lo que no son la carrera.
  26. Apr 27, 2011
    0
    cant play it I keep getting the blue screen of death after ten minutes and no i'm not a noob I have the most updated graphics drivers and nothing is overheating. i play other games with no problem. overall the game is buggy and I don't recommend wasting your money on it
  27. Jul 10, 2011
    2
    very disappointed at this game. compare to the TDU this game doesn't live up the expectation. the graphic hasn't improved significantly except the weather effect. two major issues that render this game un-enjoyable are the driving experience and the crippled network. the steering is far away from realistic; and the network often prevent the game from even loading. the "plot" and the NPCsvery disappointed at this game. compare to the TDU this game doesn't live up the expectation. the graphic hasn't improved significantly except the weather effect. two major issues that render this game un-enjoyable are the driving experience and the crippled network. the steering is far away from realistic; and the network often prevent the game from even loading. the "plot" and the NPCs are laughable, the voice acting is awkward. WORD OF ADVICE: do not buy unless it's less than 5 bucks. Expand
  28. Feb 28, 2011
    2
    They ruined every good detail of this game. Driving model, music, graphics, optimalization. Everything is a total disaster. This game is not worth to be called Test Drive. Shame on you ATARI and EDEN :(
  29. Mar 9, 2011
    2
    After you make all races on singleplayer mode the game i so boring boring and boring ! Stuipid social options. Lack of cars and customization of them. Big disappointment !
  30. Mar 25, 2011
    3
    Horribly tame and cheap physics in this game. All the fanboys excuse it by trying to force an idea that we expected it to be a sim. That is wrong: we expected the arcade racing from tdu1, maybe even slightly improved.
    What we got instead is driving and sounds straight out of a flash game. This is by far the worst car-game I have played and I've played some real budget stinkers from the
    Horribly tame and cheap physics in this game. All the fanboys excuse it by trying to force an idea that we expected it to be a sim. That is wrong: we expected the arcade racing from tdu1, maybe even slightly improved.
    What we got instead is driving and sounds straight out of a flash game. This is by far the worst car-game I have played and I've played some real budget stinkers from the 90s.
    The second excuse fanboys pull is that this game "isn't about racing". Gee that's odd: lots of fast cars and lots of them things called "races" in this game. How the hell are you trying to convince potential buyers that this isn't about racing???
    The "plot" in the game is ridiculous: written by a teenager for teenagers? The stability of the game itself is even worse and the devs are doing nothing: stillborn game.

    So if you like arcade racers like flatout, grid, nfs... or heck basically any racing game at all: DO NOT BUY THIS. Most importantly of all: try not to listen to the fanboys.
    If you however would like to play rich man sims - barbie house party then TDU2 is definitely a game for you.
    Expand
  31. Mar 25, 2011
    1
    I honestly didn't expect this game to be so bad. The 1st TDU game was revolutionary, it had it's issues but it was a damn good game. But the facts are facts, TDU2 is incredibly buggy, incredibly difficult and it pretty much made everything that was bad about the 1st TDU game 10 times worse. It still features the same forced driving mechanics which lack any kind of physics, the sameI honestly didn't expect this game to be so bad. The 1st TDU game was revolutionary, it had it's issues but it was a damn good game. But the facts are facts, TDU2 is incredibly buggy, incredibly difficult and it pretty much made everything that was bad about the 1st TDU game 10 times worse. It still features the same forced driving mechanics which lack any kind of physics, the same ''anti-roll'' system which prevents the cars from flipping at more than 45 degrees, and the same brain dead A.I. . Add to that some poorly voiced cut-scenes, a vinyl system that totally doesn't work, a ton of bugs and multiplayer lag and at least 5 times less cars than the 1st game. Expand
  32. Apr 21, 2011
    1
    Without a doubt THE WORST DRIVING GAME EVER, simply nothing can reddem this game, the handling is trash, the grahics look like games from 2004, utter ****
  33. Jul 1, 2011
    1
    Let me start by saying I played the original Test Drive Unlimited a lot, and that was a brilliant game.

    TDU2 in short, is not. Where do I start... The car controls are the main problem. The steering doesn't respond well, and switches between chronic understeer and snap oversteer. The side view head turning is slow so you can't look sideways quickly, the GPS isn't clear (the blue arrow
    Let me start by saying I played the original Test Drive Unlimited a lot, and that was a brilliant game.

    TDU2 in short, is not. Where do I start... The car controls are the main problem. The steering doesn't respond well, and switches between chronic understeer and snap oversteer. The side view head turning is slow so you can't look sideways quickly, the GPS isn't clear (the blue arrow symbol often gets lost against the blue of the sky, and making it out at a quick glance isn't easy. Roads aren't displayed well on the GPS.

    The voice acting is horrendous, and even the radio stations just feel like they're trying to copy the ones from Grand Theft Auto games.

    Graphically, the game isn't much better than the first and looks dated, even on high settings.

    Options didn't always save, fullscreen isn't even an option in the Video Options (I had to Google it ato find out that the only way is Alt+Enter).

    Honestly, I find it hard to believe this is the follow up to TDU. Avoid at all costs, absolutely awful game.
    Expand
  34. May 7, 2012
    3
    pros - Grab a car and drive it wherever you like on two big islands (if train-like car dynamics is your thing)
    cons - Everything else
    verdict - Atari's underfunded and underdeveloped "most anticipated racing title of 2011!"
  35. May 23, 2011
    3
    Let's get the good out of the way. This game looks great, the weather effect is very nice, driving in the rain looked great. That's about it.

    Now on to the bad. WTF is wrong with the handling physics? TDU1's physics was fine, why did they felt the need to change it? Now all the cars are have lots of grip, and yet they understeer like a mofo. The controller support is way worse than
    Let's get the good out of the way. This game looks great, the weather effect is very nice, driving in the rain looked great. That's about it.

    Now on to the bad. WTF is wrong with the handling physics? TDU1's physics was fine, why did they felt the need to change it? Now all the cars are have lots of grip, and yet they understeer like a mofo. The controller support is way worse than TDU1. I have a Betop C033 controller, it was plug and play in TDU1. But in TDU1 I spent hours trying to get it to steer smoothly, the car still feels very twitchy at high speed. I even went back and drove some cars in TDU1 to refresh my memory. It's either bad handling physics or bad controller support, either way, it's a step down from TDU1. The new social stuff is not fun either. I don't care how my avatar looks like, I don't want to spend money on cosmetic surgeries. Atari, you need to understand that we enjoy the racing social aspect, you got your priorities all wrong. In a racing game, physics is the most important aspect, you neglected that to improve the social aspect? WTF?! I really wanted to like this game, TDU1 is probably the second most played racing game for me (Right behind the GT series), but I didn't enjoy TDU2 at all during the 5+ hours that I played. If you guys ever decided to make TDU3, hire the team that made the first game back, fire the team that made the second game.
    Expand
  36. Aug 7, 2011
    2
    Big letdown with this game. I played the first TDU and liked it so much. When I heard they were releasing a sequel I was pretty excited. And this came along. BIG letdown. Graphics budget is way too taxing, even for some of the higher-end video cards, there are many instances of lag that affect the race at hand forcing a restart of the game as a whole, very very buggy game. As far asBig letdown with this game. I played the first TDU and liked it so much. When I heard they were releasing a sequel I was pretty excited. And this came along. BIG letdown. Graphics budget is way too taxing, even for some of the higher-end video cards, there are many instances of lag that affect the race at hand forcing a restart of the game as a whole, very very buggy game. As far as gameplay is concerned, dropping the pedal to the metal off a start doesn't always guarantee a surefire rocketing start and the car will sit there revving while your competition leaves you in their dust. Game physics seem to defy the laws of motion in this universe. Signs you knocked over reappear almost instantly. The plot is quite hokey but it's fun to play it through and amass all those cars and attempt to drive them with any kind of control and speed. The idea of customizing houses and cars is cool. Two maps to choose from is a nice touch and having all that land to scour is pretty awesome. All in all though this game is a big fail and is not worth the money. It's almost like it was rushed to just get it out the door in time. SAVE YOUR MONEY AND SAVE YOUR BREATH TO COOL YOUR SOUP INSTEAD OF YELLING AT THE GAME BECAUSE IT SUCKS. Expand
  37. Apr 12, 2015
    0
    This game. It's a mess. A very big mess. We do feel proud for the ones who had created the box art for this game, they sure made this game look absolutely awesome, and we mean that. Of course, the player ends up crying their eyes out when this game spits and vomits in their face right after it slaps them with the cold, disgusting truth of how bad it really is.

    From very poor audio
    This game. It's a mess. A very big mess. We do feel proud for the ones who had created the box art for this game, they sure made this game look absolutely awesome, and we mean that. Of course, the player ends up crying their eyes out when this game spits and vomits in their face right after it slaps them with the cold, disgusting truth of how bad it really is.

    From very poor audio design to awkward handling and physics so bad you can't even make fun of it, to completely atrocious voice acting to low quality graphics and visual effects, Test Drive Unlimited 2 is not even worth being at the butt end of any joke.

    When you drive in this game, it feels like your moving a hunk of rock on broken wheels on ice. The car physics are such a disgrace to every racing game ever made to the point that we almost puked blood out our ears. The racing licenses you have to complete in order to continue racing in the official races are complete garbage, being absolute useless half the time and seem to get extremely hard (due to being really strict on times, not just what you have to do) really, really quickly.

    The graphics are bland and feel colorless half time, and are not very appealing. Like, jeez, was it that hard to add some saturation and contrast?

    The car selection isn't too bad, they including cars and vehicles that are not in many racing games, but still included common cars. Not too much to say that's bad about the selection, though it is a tad bit small.

    When you explore the islands, all you will find are old car scrapes that you can get money for finding, but that's basically it. There's miles of grass and fields with nothing in them. What a waste. You can see buildings and trees and things that look nice, but there's nothing really cool to actually find, like hidden treasures and cars and such.

    The voice acting in Test Drive Unlimited 2 can make anybody's ears start bleeding from the horrible acting and the extreme awkwardness. None of the "characters" have any depth and they all act very dumb. We've seen socks that are more intelligent. Also, the player races against the same small group of racers in the ENTIRE GAME. You have the ability to challenge any other driver to a dual race (similar in Need For Speed: Underground 2), but of course, the other drivers decline your offer. Every. Single. Time. With no actual reason either of course. This might have been made only to work online, but the servers that players use to go online almost never work for some strange reason.

    Our question is this: what in the world went wrong? The developers had a really good idea going: a paradise-styled racing game, set place on two big different islands, fancy sports and super cars, various events and races to compete in, and even various houses to purchase and a few things you can find while exploring the islands. We are stunned at how much polishing this game requires before it can be considered being even simply priced at $30.

    It's almost heartbreaking to see a good idea go to complete waste. We are so disappointed in the developers that actually thought this was a great game in the end. Here's some words to describe this game:

    Bland.
    Repetitive.
    Boring.
    Low-quality.
    Underdeveloped.
    Strange.
    Disappointing.

    Bottom line: this game is a big pile of you-know-what on the face of the entire racing game genre. For the love of goodness, stay away from this game!
    Expand
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. 60
    Racing game pretends to have a lot of features and extras at first glance. Fact is, this just has some boring races and dusty graphics. [Mar 2011]
  2. Mar 31, 2011
    70
    Ignore the story and there's a very enticing world to explore. [Apr 2011, p.64]
  3. Mar 21, 2011
    80
    Don't get us wrong, Test Drive Unlimited 2 is a very decent game. With a massive island to explore, beautiful cars and scenery that can take your breath away, it's an absolute eye candy. Still, almost every aspect of the game can use some polish. [Mar 2011, p.99]