Test Drive Unlimited 2 PC

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 255 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 87 out of 255
  2. Negative: 85 out of 255
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 11, 2011
    9
    Addictive and fun, but not for racing sim perfectionists. This game is not a driving/racing sim. It is a human lifestyle sim based around racing/driving. It is like a version of "Sims 3" based around the lives of extremely superficial people. Plastic surgery, haircuts, buying clothes, furniture, exotic cars, mansions, yachts, and having parties are all part of the fun. It is a veryAddictive and fun, but not for racing sim perfectionists. This game is not a driving/racing sim. It is a human lifestyle sim based around racing/driving. It is like a version of "Sims 3" based around the lives of extremely superficial people. Plastic surgery, haircuts, buying clothes, furniture, exotic cars, mansions, yachts, and having parties are all part of the fun. It is a very different type of car based game that is in a class of it's own. Expand
  2. Feb 24, 2011
    8
    Quite a fun game and there is a lot to explore and many side missions to complete and not just from driving (Taking Photos, participating in social events etc). There is a good range of cars to buy. Online freatures are great and will keep the game fresh once you've completed the single player objectives. The world comes to life having online players driving around the Islands with you MMOQuite a fun game and there is a lot to explore and many side missions to complete and not just from driving (Taking Photos, participating in social events etc). There is a good range of cars to buy. Online freatures are great and will keep the game fresh once you've completed the single player objectives. The world comes to life having online players driving around the Islands with you MMO style and there's enough players online to play with. Expand
  3. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    TDU2 is a must have! TDU2 is in a field of it's on. There is no other game out there like it, except TDU. Cruising and exploring two MASSIVE and beautiful islands, alone, is worth the $20 i paid. It's TDU just bigger and better. Unrelentless cop chases where you can be the cop in on the chase. TDU2 is not the best game in the world and it is not nearly as bad as some people are making itTDU2 is a must have! TDU2 is in a field of it's on. There is no other game out there like it, except TDU. Cruising and exploring two MASSIVE and beautiful islands, alone, is worth the $20 i paid. It's TDU just bigger and better. Unrelentless cop chases where you can be the cop in on the chase. TDU2 is not the best game in the world and it is not nearly as bad as some people are making it out to be. The driving engine was geared towards the keyboard user, but if tweak the settings some it feels more controller friendly. The cars are drivable and enjoyable once you give them a fair chance. TDU2 was not intended for the IRacing, rFactor, and other hard core sim gamers only. I personally feel like the driving schools are a little too challenging for this game, but very rewarding.

    Those who choose not to buy TDU2 based on the negative opinion of others, are going to miss out on a treat.

    The only thing that really bothers me about the game, is its re-installations is limited to 4. Now that's one on the main issues Atari could easily address and needs to.
    Expand
  4. Feb 16, 2011
    8
    A very ambitious game. Tow big islands to drive around in and a decent amount of cars to do it in. There is a lot of content in this game for both single player and multiplayer. Graphics are pretty good but surely not ground breaking.

    There are some issues right now that are being worked out, but I personally have experienced any big problems. After a patch or two I think this game will
    A very ambitious game. Tow big islands to drive around in and a decent amount of cars to do it in. There is a lot of content in this game for both single player and multiplayer. Graphics are pretty good but surely not ground breaking.

    There are some issues right now that are being worked out, but I personally have experienced any big problems. After a patch or two I think this game will get even better.
    Expand
  5. Feb 16, 2011
    9
    Really enjoying this so far, contrary to most people opinions I feel the car handling is much improved over TDU1 (playing on 360 pad) it feels less twitchy to me and the cars seem much easier to control as a consequence. AI traffic cars no longer suicidally turn into you at 150mph like in the first game and the police in single player are no longer as easy to agitate, although perhaps itsReally enjoying this so far, contrary to most people opinions I feel the car handling is much improved over TDU1 (playing on 360 pad) it feels less twitchy to me and the cars seem much easier to control as a consequence. AI traffic cars no longer suicidally turn into you at 150mph like in the first game and the police in single player are no longer as easy to agitate, although perhaps its gone too far the other way.

    The game runs well enough on my pc (AMD Phenom II 945 quad core, Radeon HD5770, 4 gig of ram) at about 40/45fps average on high/very high graphics and graphics look noticably better that TDU.

    I loved TDU despite its many flaws and the sequel is better in just about every regard for me, well except the lack of Lamborghini... Now they seem to have sorted the servers to I'm finding it much easier to connect to other people when playing online compared to TDU1. Theres still a couple of features that don't seem to load (TDU life) but the game seems pretty stable and pretty much bug free.

    Very pleased with my purchase, the only regret I have was not pre-ordering it! I wonder if the people that hate the game got the same one as me or whether they expected the level of polish of Forza/GT on a massive 2 island scale which would be impossible (can you imagine GTs creators making a game like this and how long it would take?!!?!). TDU is different and all the better for it.
    Expand
  6. Feb 14, 2011
    8
    This is the kind of game that sucks you in, for better or worse. The open world is sprawling and the cars are fairly well selected, though the game depends too heavily on some brands. Playing this game, I wondered often why they didn't play to the design's strengths as opposed to its weaknesses. The game is spread out across two huge islands, but very few parts of those islands areThis is the kind of game that sucks you in, for better or worse. The open world is sprawling and the cars are fairly well selected, though the game depends too heavily on some brands. Playing this game, I wondered often why they didn't play to the design's strengths as opposed to its weaknesses. The game is spread out across two huge islands, but very few parts of those islands are interesting enough to want to pass by them more than once or twice in an hour. This factor makes racing any race that is over two laps, especially if you have to restart, highly tedious. For the same reasons, the point to point races, with and without competitors, are often a lot of fun and are sometimes brilliant. The car handling can be silly and I would describe the handling as arcade-like. I think this game has a hard time deciding if it is meant for racing game fans or those who have little to no experience with them. The game starts out incredibly easy and then ramps it up. This makes the first few hours pretty boring. I don't care for the effects of colliding with things: I wish there were more damage. I can't think of a good method for repairing though and driving across the islands in a busted vehicle would be a huge drag. The story is thin and the voice acting is often so bad It seems ripped from a subtitle dub of an '80s Japanese action movie. The avatar customization items seem unnecessary, but they are not poorly implemented. I'm sure some people will get a kick out of those. As of now, the PC's online functions are crippled, but I'd be very surprised if I didn't see a fix very soon. PC optimization isn't terrible, but there are instances of unwarranted slowdown in seemingly random places. In one race, I experienced crippling slowdown on one lap and then smooth as butter framerate the next. This may have something to do with the online connectivity problems. I'm curious to see how the online actually pans out when it works, which will hopefully be in the next week or 2. The sound of the engines is pretty good and the radio has a decent selection but seems to try to copy GTA too much. We don't need sarcastic commercials in every game, especially if they aren't funny. Expand
  7. Feb 14, 2011
    9
    The best game in its category
    Great cars design, great environments, really superb !
    Very immersive and original.
    Everything is good in this game
    ...................................................
  8. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    Why do people love and hate this? I'll tell you.
    If you have a controller or wheel then TDU2 will be a whole heap of fun to drive around the endless roads and beautifully rendered scenery. If you are using keyboard only then there is a good chance that your tapping techniques will fail and cause you to write an explosive slamming review. PCâ
  9. Jul 6, 2011
    9
    The game has its flaws.Story is terrible.But come on this is a racing game.Graphics are good,atmosphere is good multiplayer was buggy at release but its fine now.Score (1.0) id must be a floating point number.
  10. Aug 9, 2011
    10
    Despite all it's quirks and bugs, TDU2 is still a very immersible game. Hopefully the new Dev team can fix the existing errors and continue to improve the game, as well as re-integrate features from TDU1.
    Looking forward to DLC2 now.. the Bike shop is already on the island just waiting for the doors to open!
  11. Aug 16, 2011
    10
    No es el TDU2 que yo esperaba, no me aburre jugarlo pero tampoco me emociona ni me envisia jugarlo, solo es un juego mas, no confundir con TDU1, creo que TDU2 deveria tener otro nombre...ya que no es ni la uña de un pie de lo que es TDU1, porfavor, MUESTREN AL MUNDO EL VERDADERO TDU2 QUE LA GENTE AUN NO CONOCE!
  12. Sep 25, 2011
    10
    This game is simply marvelous!! ...it could be improved here and there, but all in all it is the Best Open World driving game on the market, AND faithful to the original, e.g. Test Drive 3 (if anyone remembers that gem:) ...you can spend much-much time driving/competing around Ibiza and Hawaii in this game, just be prepared!!:))
  13. Dec 11, 2011
    10
    The only game with all types of cars ! you can race or u can explore there are collectables and a lot of things to do!
    u can make ur own character and change clothes too !
    the game has a lot to give if u play it it is fun to me the only bad stuff is the driving school for any class and type of car ..... yeah and the storry is stupid and pointless but who cares? its all about the cars if u
    The only game with all types of cars ! you can race or u can explore there are collectables and a lot of things to do!
    u can make ur own character and change clothes too !
    the game has a lot to give if u play it it is fun to me
    the only bad stuff is the driving school for any class and type of car .....
    yeah and the storry is stupid and pointless but who cares? its all about the cars
    if u love cars then u will love this game if u dont love cars and u just wanna play fake driving racing go find something else !
    Expand
  14. Sep 17, 2011
    8
    Annoying driving license lessons but the rest's just a perfect simulation. not for beginners of racing genre. The cat detail is awesome und the roads are endless, the envoirement ist realistic. no loading screens between a single island.
  15. Nov 8, 2014
    10
    Even after 3.5 years after release the game stays one of the best open world games for real car lovers. I wish there were more games with soul like this one.
  16. Dec 30, 2011
    9
    This is a game that rewards people who have these characteristics: acceptance, patience and owning a racing wheel. The worlds are large and fairly well detail & there is some pop in, but the entire world only take about 10 seconds to load, which is quite remarkable. The cars are very well detailed, and there are about 100 or more to choose from. The customize option is limited to onlyThis is a game that rewards people who have these characteristics: acceptance, patience and owning a racing wheel. The worlds are large and fairly well detail & there is some pop in, but the entire world only take about 10 seconds to load, which is quite remarkable. The cars are very well detailed, and there are about 100 or more to choose from. The customize option is limited to only decals, but I don't mind (I find it very similar to Need For Speed: Carbon in many ways). Music is ok with a few standout tracks, but I would put on Grooveshark or your Ipod instead. The social aspect of the game is good, clubs are fun and racing others is really good, now that the glitches have been fixed. True, in the beginning there were alot of problems, but Eden addressed them reletively quickly. The characters are cut-outs, so skip cut scenes. Other voice acting is okay, like on the sales people and on misc. races. The story is really weak, but only is there to explain why there is suddenly legal street racing going on. My main complaint is that handling is bad if your using a keyboard, and doesn't get much better with a xbox controller. A racing wheel makes it alot better. Be warned that this is not a game for sim racers, the game isn't particularly challenging or realistic. This is made to be a social game, were you can cruise around and explore/race others. And on that front, i feel it suceeds Expand
  17. Mar 5, 2012
    10
    This game is actually the MOOOOOOOOSSSST real life looking game... the only **** thing that is spoiling this game, is the characters. They look like barbie figures. But the streets, the cars, the weather system, the apartmens, the mansions the parks, the possibilities, the inviroments, the overall design is F"¤!%@king AMAZING!

    I think this game has about 300hours of
    This game is actually the MOOOOOOOOSSSST real life looking game... the only **** thing that is spoiling this game, is the characters. They look like barbie figures. But the streets, the cars, the weather system, the apartmens, the mansions the parks, the possibilities, the inviroments, the overall design is F"¤!%@king AMAZING!

    I think this game has about 300hours of gameplay. You buy your car like reallife, you sit in it, you smell it, you look at it like it was real. Games doesn't need to look like real life, but if it is detailed like real life, I would defenitly give it a good review point.

    The bad parts of this game is actually the charaters :( and yeah they play a big role in this game. They wanted to make the game look like barbie toys, but that was actually a good idea for the inviroment and car creation. But you feel like you are playing with girl toys. Yeah it's hard to describe, but you would not like to play with barbie if you are a boy on an age of 5. You actually get the same feeling when you try this game. But this is DEFENITLY the most realistic game I've ever tried in my entire life. You because of the design, but because every single detail in the Test Drive 2 world is as big, as huge, as detailed as real life. You feel like you are driving your family to Africa sometimes... sometimes to Turkey and sometimes to Canada. It's bigger than Skyrim, Red Dead Redemption and Deus Ex all together! Very detailed!
    Expand
  18. Dec 25, 2014
    8
    TDU2 is NOT a racing game at heart. It's a driving sandbox with a big emphasis on the social and community features. The car handling and physics are...well, a little weird, but there are numerous assists to compensate--or not. You'll probably spend a while fiddling with the complete range of adjustment sliders covering the analog controls until you find something that feels right.TDU2 is NOT a racing game at heart. It's a driving sandbox with a big emphasis on the social and community features. The car handling and physics are...well, a little weird, but there are numerous assists to compensate--or not. You'll probably spend a while fiddling with the complete range of adjustment sliders covering the analog controls until you find something that feels right.

    Then? Just drive--do some races, explore, buy stuff, interact with the community--which is dwindling fast. Just have fun--there's no pressure here. Sadly--we'll probably never see another Test Drive, but you can always go back to Ibiza and Oahu to relax and cruise.
    Expand
  19. Jul 21, 2012
    10
    I bought this game and played it directly, and the begin of the story of the game, is stupid, you need to do some stupid racing schools, that is wasting of time, but when you finished it (after level 10), you have a big open race world, with so many things, many cars, many events, and extras, you have many single player events, like championships, short bomb event, DLC short bomb event,I bought this game and played it directly, and the begin of the story of the game, is stupid, you need to do some stupid racing schools, that is wasting of time, but when you finished it (after level 10), you have a big open race world, with so many things, many cars, many events, and extras, you have many single player events, like championships, short bomb event, DLC short bomb event, where you need to complete a challenge like make anyone sick, drive the car of another person to another place, very fun, and you can also search for car wrecks, and when you found them, you get a FREE car, and the multiplayer is the biggest part of the game, you have soo many events, like normal races, follow the leader, speed challenges and more! But there is 1 bad thing in this game, when you complete the story, and want to earn money, you will need to play this game much time, it is not easy to earn money. if it was easier , then i give this game a 10! Expand
  20. Jan 3, 2013
    10
    the game is awesome, it made me very surprised to see so many negative votes. TDU2 has the best graphics and coolest mixed single - multi player gameplay. also awesome for co - up driving, and enjoying the canyons or the seasides. you can even design a furniture in ur own house, clothing, haircut, awesome online casino, bikes and etc.

    only thing is - it's kinda hard for the newbies to
    the game is awesome, it made me very surprised to see so many negative votes. TDU2 has the best graphics and coolest mixed single - multi player gameplay. also awesome for co - up driving, and enjoying the canyons or the seasides. you can even design a furniture in ur own house, clothing, haircut, awesome online casino, bikes and etc.

    only thing is - it's kinda hard for the newbies to get used to this game, coz differently from other games the car controlls isn't just W A S D, CTRL and SHIFT. this is *simulator* car controlls are 100% real and everyone knows that the car is harder to drive in real life than in the games like NFS and so on. i brought the steering whell just for this game and my recommendation to everyone who dislikes this game would be to not run over here and write the negative recommendations after their first crash. u cant drive - not the fault of developers.
    Expand
  21. Feb 8, 2014
    10
    for me one of the best games of 2011! many cars, many modes, much fun, pretty hard sometimes, but it feels so good to win and get the money and your own cars!
  22. Jul 26, 2013
    8
    I like this game, it work's with the steering wheel I used on my PC (The original didn't, nice to see that fixed), it worked without a problem on my system on maximum setting's, and most surprisingly it worked fine with Eyefinity! Now, it ain't perfect, the graphic's are not a massive leap from Test Drive Unlimited 1 (Which I was a huge fan of) but they do their job well, and I feel theI like this game, it work's with the steering wheel I used on my PC (The original didn't, nice to see that fixed), it worked without a problem on my system on maximum setting's, and most surprisingly it worked fine with Eyefinity! Now, it ain't perfect, the graphic's are not a massive leap from Test Drive Unlimited 1 (Which I was a huge fan of) but they do their job well, and I feel the car's are well reproduced in this game. Sometime's the engine sound cut's out during a single player race which is odd, but this is not very often for me luckily.

    There are only two radio station's which is slightly disappointing but was not too much really. The character and house customization is a lot better than the original title, especially the latter. Some people I heard said about the handling being bad, but I personally find this to be somewhat subjective as to me they are spot on. They also put in the car wash's in, which was planned for the original but never put in, which is a nice touch.

    Over all I think what they did with Test Drive Unlimited 2 is what they wanted to do with the original but in the original possibly rang out of time. It make's for a intriguing game, and one that has kept me coming back in my spare time for time for month's. I like this game a lot, hope M.O.O.R genre pick's up and more games like this are made would be nice!
    Expand
  23. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    Playing TDU 2 with a Thrustmaster Ferrari 485 Racing wheel has been a joy, I swear the "bad controls and physics" people are playing with the keyboard as i find this game smooth, accurate (the car goes where it is meant to) and wholly as enjoyable as the first. Yes the in game scripting and voice acting is terrible and i havn't used the "Cosmetic Surgery or Clothes shop" so i don't reallyPlaying TDU 2 with a Thrustmaster Ferrari 485 Racing wheel has been a joy, I swear the "bad controls and physics" people are playing with the keyboard as i find this game smooth, accurate (the car goes where it is meant to) and wholly as enjoyable as the first. Yes the in game scripting and voice acting is terrible and i havn't used the "Cosmetic Surgery or Clothes shop" so i don't really mind them being there. Online is a great laugh and never encounter any issues or lag and 99% of the time there are still plenty of people playing.
    So if you have a Controller/Racing Wheel then this game is very much for you. Thinking of playing with Keyboard? then expect to rage and call the game crap.
    Expand
  24. Jul 28, 2014
    8
    Sorry This is Japanese Review.

    ゲームとしては楽しい部類で文句なしではあるが、 システム面の特にオンラインプレイに置いて金曜日からサーバーがダウンしているのかアクセスできず、 プロファイルをオフラインでプレイしようにもオフライン用のユーザを作らないといけなくなり、 仕方なくLANケーブルを毎回抜いてプレイ。これさえなければ9以上だったのに惜しい。
    Sorry This is Japanese Review.

    ゲームとしては楽しい部類で文句なしではあるが、
    システム面の特にオンラインプレイに置いて金曜日からサーバーがダウンしているのかアクセスできず、
    プロファイルをオフラインでプレイしようにもオフライン用のユーザを作らないといけなくなり、
    仕方なくLANケーブルを毎回抜いてプレイ。これさえなければ9以上だったのに惜しい。
  25. Oct 4, 2014
    9
    now most critics and users hate this game while i really enjoyed it but it still has it's fair shares of pros and cons
    .
    Cons -: 1.Bad NPC And player models : this is to be expected from a racing game since they don't usually do models for Human NPCs and by that i mean most don't even have Human NPCs but those that do have human npcs generally looks really bad but the NPC models in
    now most critics and users hate this game while i really enjoyed it but it still has it's fair shares of pros and cons
    .
    Cons -:
    1.Bad NPC And player models : this is to be expected from a racing game since they don't usually do models for Human NPCs and by that i mean most don't even have Human NPCs but those that do have human npcs generally looks really bad but the NPC models in this game is fairly Decent for a racing game atleast.

    2. a bit sensitive steering : well the actual turning isn't that sensitive or easy but a slight turn to the left or right for a few cars can really be extremly sensitive
    .
    .
    Pros -:
    1.Large huge sprawling maps : The map is extremly large especially for a racing game, the world map makes it looks really small but trust me the map can take a huge amount of time to get from one place to another and it isn't all empty you might find other NPCs sprawling around the map so you don't feel alone.

    2.In-game Social Interaction: well i couldn't really fiqure out what to call it but what it actually is in brief you can buy houses, make friends, customize your house etc. you wouldn't exactly expect this from a racing game but they added these interactions and such and it adds to the gameplay it makes it really enjoyable.

    3.Nice Varied Amount of cars : this game has maybe like 180+ Vehicles all varied, theres super cars,off-road SUVs,Classic old cars Etc.

    4.Mod Support : you already know what this means.
    .
    .

    in general this has been one of the most fun racing games i ever played (only rivaled by NFS Most Wanted) buy this game and you won't regret it
    Expand
  26. Nov 24, 2015
    10
    The game is just amazing. I love play this game. For me this game is amazing ! Nothing more to comment because this game is amazing ! I rate this 10/10
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Apr 6, 2011
    60
    Racing game pretends to have a lot of features and extras at first glance. Fact is, this just has some boring races and dusty graphics. [Mar 2011]
  2. PC PowerPlay
    Mar 31, 2011
    70
    Ignore the story and there's a very enticing world to explore. [Apr 2011, p.64]
  3. PC Games
    Mar 21, 2011
    80
    Don't get us wrong, Test Drive Unlimited 2 is a very decent game. With a massive island to explore, beautiful cars and scenery that can take your breath away, it's an absolute eye candy. Still, almost every aspect of the game can use some polish. [Mar 2011, p.99]