Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 214 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Test Drive Unlimited 2 expands on the traditional racing experience providing gamers with M.O.O.R.: Massively Open Online Racing; immersing drivers in a persistent online environment and revolutionizing multiplayer racing communities as players compete, team up, and share their achievementsTest Drive Unlimited 2 expands on the traditional racing experience providing gamers with M.O.O.R.: Massively Open Online Racing; immersing drivers in a persistent online environment and revolutionizing multiplayer racing communities as players compete, team up, and share their achievements and creations online. Unlike any other driving game, TDU2 blends the open world experience with realistic vehicles and performance dynamics and for the first time, TDU2 features vehicle damage, weather effects, day and night cycles, and a brand new island to explore. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Feb 26, 2011
    90
    Atari's latest open-world racer serves up hotter cars, warmer climates and more torrid racing action than its predecessor. [April 2011, p.70]
  2. Mar 2, 2011
    87
    However you play TDU2, you're likely to miss out on something Eden Games and Atari did extremely well. Whether that's vehicle paint and decals, avatar fashions, car interiors, a surprisingly robust casino experience, or just some gorgeous scenery in certain out-of-the way places, there's just way too much good stuff going on in this game to have anyone yawning with a cursory playthrough.
  3. Mar 21, 2011
    80
    Don't get us wrong, Test Drive Unlimited 2 is a very decent game. With a massive island to explore, beautiful cars and scenery that can take your breath away, it's an absolute eye candy. Still, almost every aspect of the game can use some polish. [Mar 2011, p.99]
  4. Feb 21, 2011
    75
    Enormous and ambitious, Test Drive Unlimited 2 is a good game and a truly unique gameplay-experience. It's a step forward for the series.
  5. Mar 14, 2011
    70
    TDU 2, like its predecessor, is a very self-absorbed and meditative game. It doesn't force you to dash through all the championships, to fly to the final race... But there comes an inevitable moment when you start pondering what to do next. All tasks have been completed, all cars have been tested, and you're the best in your club... And that's it?
  6. Feb 21, 2011
    68
    The developers just ignored the releases of the last four years, so everthing in this game is way out of date: AI, mission designs, physics and online mode. Get Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit instead.
  7. Feb 16, 2011
    50
    Quotation forthcoming.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 80
  2. Negative: 36 out of 80
  1. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    Why do people love and hate this? I'll tell you.
    If you have a controller or wheel then TDU2 will be a whole heap of fun to drive around the
    Why do people love and hate this? I'll tell you.
    If you have a controller or wheel then TDU2 will be a whole heap of fun to drive around the endless roads and beautifully rendered scenery. If you are using keyboard only then there is a good chance that your tapping techniques will fail and cause you to write an explosive slamming review. PCâ
    Expand
  2. Nov 8, 2014
    10
    Even after 3.5 years after release the game stays one of the best open world games for real car lovers. I wish there were more games with soulEven after 3.5 years after release the game stays one of the best open world games for real car lovers. I wish there were more games with soul like this one. Expand
  3. Jul 26, 2013
    8
    I like this game, it work's with the steering wheel I used on my PC (The original didn't, nice to see that fixed), it worked without a problemI like this game, it work's with the steering wheel I used on my PC (The original didn't, nice to see that fixed), it worked without a problem on my system on maximum setting's, and most surprisingly it worked fine with Eyefinity! Now, it ain't perfect, the graphic's are not a massive leap from Test Drive Unlimited 1 (Which I was a huge fan of) but they do their job well, and I feel the car's are well reproduced in this game. Sometime's the engine sound cut's out during a single player race which is odd, but this is not very often for me luckily.

    There are only two radio station's which is slightly disappointing but was not too much really. The character and house customization is a lot better than the original title, especially the latter. Some people I heard said about the handling being bad, but I personally find this to be somewhat subjective as to me they are spot on. They also put in the car wash's in, which was planned for the original but never put in, which is a nice touch.

    Over all I think what they did with Test Drive Unlimited 2 is what they wanted to do with the original but in the original possibly rang out of time. It make's for a intriguing game, and one that has kept me coming back in my spare time for time for month's. I like this game a lot, hope M.O.O.R genre pick's up and more games like this are made would be nice!
    Expand
  4. Sep 23, 2012
    5
    I know that what many people enjoyed with the first game was the "free" feeling, and that is something you miss in this game. I think that theI know that what many people enjoyed with the first game was the "free" feeling, and that is something you miss in this game. I think that the "rank" system isn't fit for this game at all. The only upside, which actually is a big upside according to me, is that it is really easy to learn the game, and those drivers licence tests you have to take are great. Expand
  5. Feb 11, 2011
    3
    (I've played about 12h) First of all it's a extremely bad physic-engine, driving doesn't makes fun and isn't realistic. The game-engine as bad(I've played about 12h) First of all it's a extremely bad physic-engine, driving doesn't makes fun and isn't realistic. The game-engine as bad as the driving-engine, low details, bad textures and the normal traffic-cars are as ugly as sin!

    (sorry, my Englisch is not that good ;) )
    Expand
  6. Feb 10, 2013
    2
    Ouch, should not have bought this. I figured that after about 20 years of the franchise, they would know how to make a racing game. Sadly, IOuch, should not have bought this. I figured that after about 20 years of the franchise, they would know how to make a racing game. Sadly, I was wrong. The driving feels incredibly unrealistic. The way NFS makes you aware of the limits of physics and the car, in TDU2 the car, nor the physics seem to have limits. The story and cut scenes, instead of redeeming the terrible game-play, only add insult to injury because of their incredibly childish plot. Finally, the game lacks technically. It crashed for the first time during the installation by the downloader and the graphics look aweful because of the lack of support for my monitor with 16:10 aspect ratio. Do yourself a favor and do not buy this. Even if it's on sale, it's a bad buy. Expand
  7. Apr 27, 2011
    0
    cant play it I keep getting the blue screen of death after ten minutes and no i'm not a noob I have the most updated graphics drivers andcant play it I keep getting the blue screen of death after ten minutes and no i'm not a noob I have the most updated graphics drivers and nothing is overheating. i play other games with no problem. overall the game is buggy and I don't recommend wasting your money on it Expand

See all 80 User Reviews