Metascore
31

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 11
  2. Negative: 9 out of 11
  1. Feb 20, 2012
    60
    Quotation forthcoming.
  2. Feb 20, 2012
    55
    Maybe if this budget title were offered for 5 dollars, more gamers might be interested in putting on their asskicking shoes. For now though, I can't offer much of a recommendation.
  3. Feb 20, 2012
    42
    Amusing for a short period of time, the Asskickers will ultimately wear out its welcome in your gaming agenda in just a few hours or plays. It's a fun reminder of what the beat'em up genre has to offer, but will unfortunately remind of what is wrong with it as well. Die hard beat'em up fans only need apply... and even they won't be entertained for long.
  4. Aug 11, 2011
    40
    The premise and humor provide some enjoyment, but there's no getting over the glaring mechanical missteps featured in this mediocre beat-'em up game.
  5. Jul 28, 2011
    30
    The Asskickers is a fun throwback to older, more difficult beat 'em ups. It has a great art style and fun story. Unfortunately, the game is plagued by problems and glitches.
  6. Jul 28, 2011
    30
    With its dodgy controls and dull combat, it is hard to recommend this game to anybody, even a real retro brawler fan.
  7. Aug 12, 2011
    25
    Does little to elevate itself over the antiquated genre it spawned from. The hand-drawn 2D art is nice, and the real-world caricatures that act as bosses after each stage might elicit a smirk, but the game is short, shallow, and unable to properly execute the simple, tried-and-true beat 'em up gameplay style, let alone advance it.
  8. Mar 6, 2013
    20
    Quality assurance is a beautiful thing, people. It keeps sprites on the screen, weapons able to be picked up when available always, and everything working as they should. I don't know if all was alright in Windows, but playing on a Mac… well, don't bother.
  9. Nov 20, 2011
    20
    Unfortunately The Asskickers doesn't kick much ass.
  10. Aug 10, 2011
    20
    The Asskickers claims to be the rebirth of the 2D beat'em all genre. It's just a resounding failure, in almost every way.
  11. Sep 3, 2011
    10
    Beyond some sharp points in the visual style, The Asskickers is a prime example of why beat 'em ups have all but been abandoned. Go play Streets of Rage if you need a reminder of how relevant that still feels – this game won't satiate anyone's thirst for 16-bit nostalgia.
User Score
2.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 5 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. CBG
    Feb 20, 2012
    7
    This game is not as bad as all the reviews make it out to be.Sure the animations could have been more fluid and it does not have AAAThis game is not as bad as all the reviews make it out to be.Sure the animations could have been more fluid and it does not have AAA production values but at $4.99 I had a real blast with this game.
    First, I like the art style. It may not be to everybody's taste but you can see that a lot of effort has been put into the art. It's colourful, pretty unique and more importantly it fits perfectly with the general cartoonish atmosphere of the game. I really liked the fact that this game does not take itself seriously.
    You punch fratboys, you spank bankers, you punish corrupt cops and more generally you bring justice to white collar criminals.There again, it might not be for everyone's taste but personally, I really appreciated this effort. It's not so often that we have a game who is tongue-in-cheek and not afraid to be politically incorrect. It was especially true for the ending of the game which really surprised me and reminded me of a silly version of Streets of Rage.

    Apart from that its a pretty standard beat'em up with a lot of action and some effort to make the levels as varied as possible. Good thing is, you can play in co-op with a friend on the same screen and use some pretty funny collaborative attacks. I must say however that II was disappointed the game did not have some kind of XP system to unlock new moves as well as suffering from a few glitches.
    It's good, funny and original but it could definitively be much better : 7/10
    Full Review »