User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 56 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 56
  2. Negative: 8 out of 56

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 6, 2012
    8
    I love this new spin on Bard's Tale, I played all of the old PC games from the 80s and they always had some humor involved but this one topped them all. It was very enjoyable and the endings are cool and funny. This is a nice break from the cliche. It is good for one good play through, just make sure to save it towards the end so you can reload and see both endings.
  2. Dec 17, 2012
    8
    A decent, even if kinda stiff gameplay. Excellent humor and situations like from Monty Pythons. A lot of battles (which eventually get old, since the fighting isn't all the exciting), below average graphics, solid length and three endings. Overall I do recommend this game mostly because of story, the game mechanics are flawed, but not that bad so you would just give up on the game.
  3. Nov 6, 2013
    3
    While the send up of RPG tropes is appealing and, at times, very amusing, this game is simply awful. It suffers from one of the worst combat systems I've ever had the misfortune to have been subjected to, being both extremely unresponsive and uninteresting. The graphics are primitive and dull and the art direction is uninspired to the extreme. The writing is a little uneven but, for theWhile the send up of RPG tropes is appealing and, at times, very amusing, this game is simply awful. It suffers from one of the worst combat systems I've ever had the misfortune to have been subjected to, being both extremely unresponsive and uninteresting. The graphics are primitive and dull and the art direction is uninspired to the extreme. The writing is a little uneven but, for the most part, really well done with some very funny and enjoyable comedic bits. The voice acting is excellent for the most part during the game's cutscenes, only to be offset by some atrocious voice work during combat. Cary Elwes seems wasted, often choosing to play the Bard in a bored and disengaged characterization instead of a likeably charismatic rogue. The overall sound design is also horrible, with low quality effects, out of place and repetitive ambient sounds and voiceover lines stepping on each other. The RPG elements of the game have been dumbed down to near non-existence, and the loot system (for what paltry loot there is) is unrewarding since all finds are immediately converted into money, with no management of inventory or equipment. Summoned companions have settable AI modes which have almost no effect on actual gameplay. The game also has a tendency to screw up the controls coming out of cutscenes.
    Given the inherent promise of a humorous skewering of RPG clichés, it's disappointing that a serviceable game couldn't have been produced around that premise.
    Expand
  4. Feb 3, 2015
    5
    This game is sort of alright.

    Love the songs in this game. That is probably the only thing going for it, the humour and awesome songs. The controls, combat and camera are very clunky and awkward and the constant load screens are annoying as well. No inventory, little depth to the game and it becomes repetitive. Though no inventory can be classed as a good thing especially if
    This game is sort of alright.

    Love the songs in this game.

    That is probably the only thing going for it, the humour and awesome songs.

    The controls, combat and camera are very clunky and awkward and the constant load screens are annoying as well. No inventory, little depth to the game and it becomes repetitive.

    Though no inventory can be classed as a good thing especially if you're a hoarder who finds it hard to part with anything in case you need it later. Not so with this game, no need to sell anything, it is automatic, any loot you pick up whether it be wolf pelts, or jewels etc. immediately turn to silvers, the currency of this game. If you find a weapon more powerful then the equipped, it immediately equips it and turns the old into silvers. But it also means less depth and not really any choice of what you equip. Such as you would rather equip a faster sword that has less dmg, but nope it would equip the weapon does the most dmg.

    This game is also very linear and more like an action adventure game than an RPG.

    I like the main character he is rather snarky and selfish and not a typical save the world hero, which makes for a nice change. He's in it primarily for coin and booty.

    But even so the fun songs become repetitive and don't vary much, always the same bad luck song with slight variation sung by trow. So 7 Trow songs and only 2, more unique songs that I came across and Iam very thorough in exploring so don't think I missed any.

    Can't recommend this game for the humour alone does not make up for the negatives.

    I found it a bit too repetitive to recommend, I only kept playing as I hate leaving a game uncompleted and it was not so terrible that I couldn't stand playing and now that I completed it, it's not a game Iam likely ever to play again. And to see the other ending I can just watch it on You Tube.
    Expand
  5. LarryM.
    Sep 13, 2005
    9
    It was fun and if not for the bugs in the video/game play I would have given it a 10. I thoroughly enjoyed the satire and the overall trek.
  6. JackK.
    Jun 26, 2005
    9
    This game was better than a lot of the late generic RPGs, and had more of a catch to it than alot of other late PC RPGs. So this game deserves atleast a "9" because it hit the PC. PC doesn't have too many great games drop on us.
  7. Mar 21, 2012
    8
    This game is not a challenger to Diablo. You will not horde items and decide whether you would like the quicker sword with a less power, or the more powerful sword that's a bit slower. You won't have to make difficult decisions about whether to save a woman or save a town. The RPG mechanics are not innovative or thought-provoking. And the quest will not demand countless hours of yourThis game is not a challenger to Diablo. You will not horde items and decide whether you would like the quicker sword with a less power, or the more powerful sword that's a bit slower. You won't have to make difficult decisions about whether to save a woman or save a town. The RPG mechanics are not innovative or thought-provoking. And the quest will not demand countless hours of your life. You will, however, enjoy every step in your (admittedly short) journey. It's funny, it's quirky, and you'll never have to worry about anything except moving forward. Everything you pick up is something you automatically equip or something that turns instantly to gold (you should still take a look at what these things are, though, as ofttimes, it's hilarious). Even new weapons, when you find one, will be automatically equipped and your old sword will turn to gold. These are not admirable designs in a deep, multiplayer adventure. In this game, though, which you play alone, they are godsends. It's $5 right now on Steam, and worth every penny. It won't change your life, but it will leave you happy. Expand
  8. RobeerC.
    Jul 10, 2005
    10
    I've just walked through this game, and it was a great fun. I can only say, it's a must play game. Good songs for everyone ;)
  9. HarryR.
    Aug 4, 2005
    9
    Quite fun. Played the orignal games with my son when he was fairly young. This wouldn't be as much appreciated by a 10 year old. But the tongue in cheek version of an RPG is good fun. The character acting is great. The challenge isn't the insane RPG of a Dungeon Lords, where quests involve absolutely absurd soutions. (Wizardry was also an early favorite.) Rather this is a decent Quite fun. Played the orignal games with my son when he was fairly young. This wouldn't be as much appreciated by a 10 year old. But the tongue in cheek version of an RPG is good fun. The character acting is great. The challenge isn't the insane RPG of a Dungeon Lords, where quests involve absolutely absurd soutions. (Wizardry was also an early favorite.) Rather this is a decent RPG with a really good sense of humor. Even the treasure recovered is worth a chuckle or three or ten. Not it's not the old Bard's Tale. But if you want to relive that all of the three originals are included. What it is is the closest thing to a comic Role Playing Novel yet released on a PC disc. Expand
  10. G.Doane
    Jun 7, 2005
    9
    If it's Bard's Tale it has to be good. I'm ready for the character to swing three times and miss!
  11. DonnieBrasco
    Jun 15, 2005
    4
    Awesome, hilarious absurd humor a'la Monty Python paired with subpar graphics, no RPG elements and "dumbed-down-to-ground" playflow make this a very mixed game. With a nice skills/char development and much more depth concerning gameplay this could have been a classic. Does the name "Anachronox" ring a bell? Not far....
  12. Knief
    May 19, 2005
    4
    Judging by the demo, anywho, this is a game well after its time, bringing nothing new to the genre.
  13. Mar 23, 2012
    3
    Vapid, mediocre, pointless game. Makes me concerned about the $15 I pledged for Wasteland 2 on Kickstarter...if these people consider this Bard's Tale game to be a game worth playing, who knows how they'll butcher Wasteland. Here's my guess: Dull, pointless combat. (Face your target, click him. Rinse, repeat.) The lowest common denominator of character development. Uninspired,Vapid, mediocre, pointless game. Makes me concerned about the $15 I pledged for Wasteland 2 on Kickstarter...if these people consider this Bard's Tale game to be a game worth playing, who knows how they'll butcher Wasteland. Here's my guess: Dull, pointless combat. (Face your target, click him. Rinse, repeat.) The lowest common denominator of character development. Uninspired, sometimes-obnoxious voice acting that plays right to tired gaming stereotypes. And an obsession with polygonal bosoms that only happens when you're a porn-obsessed teenager or a desparately lonely old man. What an embarassing piece of junk this game is. Glad I only spent $5 on it on Steam. Expand
  14. MitchellS.
    Aug 23, 2005
    1
    This thing sucks. Barely worthy of the name Bards Tale. Sorry I paid full price for it. It's a cheap, shoddy effort to cash in on the name by the original creator, who must have had a bad run of business luck or something, and got desperate. And it shows. The graphics are circa 1999. They're SERIOUSLY BAD, and if you told most gamers this came out in 2004/5 and they'd not This thing sucks. Barely worthy of the name Bards Tale. Sorry I paid full price for it. It's a cheap, shoddy effort to cash in on the name by the original creator, who must have had a bad run of business luck or something, and got desperate. And it shows. The graphics are circa 1999. They're SERIOUSLY BAD, and if you told most gamers this came out in 2004/5 and they'd not heard about it prior, they would have no reason to believe you. Gameplay is basically non-existent; I'm tempted to say this game isn't even finished, and that they decided to throw in the towel and release it at the "walk-through demo" state, which is pretty much what it is. That said, some of the content is damn funny. So it gets a one, not z ero. It just isn't worth $40. Or even $20. Expand
  15. Jok`RdeMo
    Jun 20, 2005
    10
    This game maybe brings nothing new, but it is SOOO FUN to play. Very, very good.
  16. Sep 30, 2012
    9
    It is very underrated game, despite simple hack and slash style combat and very limited choices (it is not really possible to play this game many times) playing Bard's Tale is very rewarding experience. Excellent plot, excellent main character great dialogues and outstanding music. Despite all its shortcomings I find it the best action-adventure game I have ever played.
  17. Feb 10, 2013
    8
    The fair mark for the game is 7.5. The game feel has something in common with "Fable". The main thing that makes it different from other RPGs is the fact that it is so ironic, sarcastic and humorous overall. It makes fun of fantasy/fairy tale genre clichés. The gameplay is battle oriented, most of the game you are fighting, so there are very few "social" sidequests. The battles are prettyThe fair mark for the game is 7.5. The game feel has something in common with "Fable". The main thing that makes it different from other RPGs is the fact that it is so ironic, sarcastic and humorous overall. It makes fun of fantasy/fairy tale genre clichés. The gameplay is battle oriented, most of the game you are fighting, so there are very few "social" sidequests. The battles are pretty difficult even on a normal difficulty level. You should choose your companions carefully to stand against different enemies. To be honest the endless repetitive battles and constantly respawning enemies become boring in the second half of the game. The only thing that diversifies the battles are the summoned companions. There are a lot of them and their tactics and skills are completely different. About the dialogues, there are two types of reactions to NPCs phrases: snarky or nice. It's not rather convenient for me because you can't predict what the Bard will say. I'd prefer the standard phrase choosing. The voice acting is great, especially the main character and the Narrator. And another thing I wanted to mention the inventory system. All the loot you get converts to money right away and when you get a better armor/weapon it gets equipped immediately and the previous one also converts into money. This system is just awesome for an Action RPG game! Overall, a very decent game for ever CRPG fan. Collapse
  18. Nov 27, 2012
    7
    The Bard's Tale is an hack and slash adventure with basic rpg elements; it make fun of these kind of games so it's filled with humor and Wtf moments. Graphics don't excel but you will laugh a lot guaranteed. Lately for the 10°anniversary, steam version has been updated with wide screen resolution,wasd control,bug fix,performance enhancements and include the original classic games The Bard
  19. Oct 26, 2013
    10
    Its hard to find a game that has an excellent story-telling presention, intelligent scenes and dialogues that gives you a good laugh here and then, enjoyable musicals with entataining dancing characters and so much more. For any RPG fan who gave this game a pass, its their great loss.
  20. Nov 13, 2014
    7
    Has nothing original to bring to the genre, and the game play is mediocre. However, this is by far, the most comedic game I have ever played - and I still laugh at it to this day,
  21. Feb 10, 2013
    0
    The fair mark for the game is 7.5. The game feel has something in common with "Fable". The main thing that makes it different from other RPGs is the fact that it is so ironic, sarcastic and humorous overall. It makes fun of fantasy/fairy tale genre clichés. The gameplay is battle oriented, most of the game you are fighting, so there are very few "social" sidequests. The battles are prettyThe fair mark for the game is 7.5. The game feel has something in common with "Fable". The main thing that makes it different from other RPGs is the fact that it is so ironic, sarcastic and humorous overall. It makes fun of fantasy/fairy tale genre clichés. The gameplay is battle oriented, most of the game you are fighting, so there are very few "social" sidequests. The battles are pretty difficult even on a normal difficulty level. You should choose your companions carefully to stand against different enemies. To be honest the endless repetitive battles and constantly respawning enemies become boring in the second half of the game. The only thing that diversifies the battles are the summoned companions. There are a lot of them and their tactics and skills are completely different. About the dialogues, there are two types of reactions to NPCs phrases: snarky or nice. It's not rather convenient for me because you can't predict what the Bard will say. I'd prefer the standard phrase choosing. The voice acting is great, especially the main character and the Narrator. And another thing I wanted to mention the inventory system. All the loot you get converts to money right away and when you get a better armor/weapon it gets equipped immediately and the previous one also converts into money. This system is just awesome for an Action RPG game! Overall, a very decent game for ever CRPG fan. Collapse
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. A victim of its own sneers, this is the world's first self-parodying game. [July 2005, p.90]
  2. While The Bard's Tale is told amusingly enough, the disappointing combat fails to lift it from the upper end of mediocrity.
  3. The wit present in this game is second to none and I honestly think this is what would have happened had Mel Brooks gotten into game making.