Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Oct 16, 2011
    100
    The Binding Of Isaac is pitch-black and hard as hell.
  2. Sep 29, 2011
    100
    The Binding of Isaac is a loony action/adventure game with a Kawai Gore atmosphere, random challenges and a varied gameplay. Thanks to the talent of the developers, the formula works perfectly well and draws you back in easily to slaughter some more, or see the poor Isaac being bludgeoned violently.
  3. Oct 7, 2011
    90
    With Binding, McMillen and Himsl created the rules of the world and then set it in motion. Yet this game is nearly as much fun as Super Meat Boy, and more profound. It proves that there's more than one way to make a masterpiece.
  4. Oct 3, 2011
    95
    A deceptively deep game. That it only costs $4.99 is nothing short of astounding. I don't see myself putting it down until I hit that magical 100% completion mark, which is hours and hours away at this point. This is one trip that I recommend to everyone open-minded enough to give it a chance.
  5. Mar 10, 2012
    90
    One may play for an hour or two, but they're constantly tempted to go back in and uncover the scads of remaining secrets. It's a style of game that really intrigues me, and one I want to see more of
  6. Feb 28, 2012
    87
    Zelda meets Robotron: Isaac celebrates old school topdown action in randomly generated dungeons.
  7. Jan 4, 2012
    90
    We do not very often see simple and funny, yet smart and primarily an entertaining action role-playing shooter game. You need a skill of the best ones to make a basically positive, joyful thing of the Game Over message. Edmund McMillen proves once again that he belongs to those best ones.
  8. Oct 5, 2011
    90
    If the style doesn't put you off, buy this. Now.
  9. Oct 4, 2011
    90
    Thankfully, Isaac's shmup-like approach makes the game a little easier than the nightmare of a melee-only roguelike, though it's still no cakewalk. Like the Souls series, you'd best keep on your guard, since death is permanent and there are no saves. A playthrough can be as short as an hour, but with randomized loot and boss encounters on top of several unlockables, you'll want to put Isaac through hell multiple times.
  10. Oct 4, 2011
    90
    The Binding of Isaac is a game I would reccomend to anyone old enough to hold serious opinions on family planning. It is available on Steam for less than the price of a cinema ticket and it deserves your attention.
  11. Oct 4, 2011
    90
    Addictive and very surprising, even when you have been playing several hours, The Binding of Isaac is yet another quality game from independent developers.
  12. Oct 3, 2011
    88
    The Binding of Isaac is a small game with very simple mechanics, but it will catch you with its huge amount of contents, great soundtrack and polished graphics. Eventually the flow of new items and bosses will start ending, but before then, those are indeed the best five bucks you can spend in a while.
  13. Oct 1, 2011
    90
    Sprinkled with humor and nods to gaming's past, The Binding of Isaac is a ballsy game that revels in its absurd moments. Shock value aside, you'll want to play this indie gem over and over again. It's imaginative, utterly absorbing, and the best five dollars I've spent all year.
  14. Nov 29, 2011
    90
    In my personal ranking The Binding of Isaac joined Limbo and Frozen Synapse, thus completing the podium for the this year's best indie games. [December 2011, p.82]
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 900 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 31 out of 249
  1. Sep 30, 2011
    10
    This game is awesome, awesome, and more awesome. Obviously the previous guy who rated this a 2 just doesn't "get" the appeal of this kind ofThis game is awesome, awesome, and more awesome. Obviously the previous guy who rated this a 2 just doesn't "get" the appeal of this kind of game. It's based on an old model of PC gaming (called roguelike) where you die once and the game is over--completely. There are no saves, no continue spots--you're dead and you have to start all over. But that's exactly what makes this game so damn addictive! I have the Battlefield 3 beta on my computer and I've barely played it because The Binding of Isaac is sucking up all of my time. Because every playthrough is completely randomly generated and you'll never play the same levels twice, dying is not a big deal. Death feels the same way it feels in Super Meat Boy; you die, and die, and die again--but you get better each time, and it makes you want to start the game right back up again. Like SMB it's a throwback to a time long ago when you needed actual skill and quick reflexes to complete a game, and it's precisely that which makes it so appealing to me. Oh...that and the absolutely awesome and hilarious abilities and powerups, which I definitely wouldn't want to spoil here. The game is full of surprises and has a very dark tone about it, feeling like a mix between The Legend of Zelda and Splatterhouse. The fact that it's only 5 bucks doesn't hurt either, but it shouldn't give you any indication of the quality of the game. I've paid 50-60 bucks for games that weren't nearly as fun as this. Just buy it, play it, and enjoy some excellent old-meets-new gaming for less than the cost of a sandwich. Full Review »
  2. Oct 1, 2011
    9
    The Binding of Isaac is a fun game, but at first I was disappointed when I saw the length of the game. But when I dived into the game, I foundThe Binding of Isaac is a fun game, but at first I was disappointed when I saw the length of the game. But when I dived into the game, I found the same satisfaction of playing, like I did with Demon's Souls on Playstation 3. You will die a lot, but that slow progression, and the satisfaction from defeating a boss for the first time is great.
    The soundtrack get's a little repetitive after a while, although it is a short and good soundtrack.
    For being a fairly short game, it still has a great system where it lays every new level map randomly + different bosses for each playthrough + all the loot.
    Even though the game is depressing in many ways and there is an awful lot of blood and tears, there is a twisted and hilarious sense of humor in the game, and I found myself laughing at different bosses and loot I got.

    So all in all this is a fun game, and definitely a must-buy if you are a fan of the roguelike genre, and since it is so dirt cheap I also strongly recommend it for newcomers and computer gamers alike.
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 30, 2011
    10
    I love this game, it does everything it promises just like I expected it and after following it's development since it was announced, I am notI love this game, it does everything it promises just like I expected it and after following it's development since it was announced, I am not disappointed, If you like the main concept of this game you shouldn't pass it at this price. The unique concept, ambiance and endless re-playability makes this a rare gem, I highly recommend it. Full Review »