The Binding of Isaac PC

The Binding of Isaac Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1016 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Isaac is a roguelike shooter based on the dungeon structure of Zelda (nes). At its core it controls like Smash TV / Robotron in a randomly generated semi RPG world filled with powerups items and special abilities.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Oct 16, 2011
    100
    The Binding Of Isaac is pitch-black and hard as hell.
  2. Oct 7, 2011
    90
    With Binding, McMillen and Himsl created the rules of the world and then set it in motion. Yet this game is nearly as much fun as Super Meat Boy, and more profound. It proves that there's more than one way to make a masterpiece.
  3. Mar 10, 2012
    90
    One may play for an hour or two, but they're constantly tempted to go back in and uncover the scads of remaining secrets. It's a style of game that really intrigues me, and one I want to see more of
  4. Oct 3, 2011
    85
    I'll put it simply: If you can roll with the macabre toilet humor and if religion jokes don't put you off, AND if you enjoy games with non-optional permadeath, randomized content, tons of secrets and considerable replay value… it's hard to go wrong with The Binding of Isaac. Especially at five dollars.
  5. Mar 19, 2012
    83
    The Binding of Isaac looks like an old school game like the original Zeldas, but with a dark scenario and dark humor. It has the typical difficulty of a McMillen game, which is not found anywhere else these days. This game will motivate you to try and try again in such a simple way – just brilliant. If you like the style and the old school gameplay of The Binding of Isaac, you'll have a lot of fun with it.
  6. Oct 7, 2011
    80
    Funny and miserable, disgusting and endearing, the end result is a game that's smart enough to have things both ways, offering an often brutal critique of certain religious sacraments, while wallowing comfortably inside the rituals of one of gaming's oldest genres.
  7. Oct 2, 2011
    70
    It's a good game, with a surprising amount of content for the price, but it will definitely turn away those who don't like even cartoon gore, and leave a slightly bitter taste in even the most hardened gamer's mouth... and mind.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 256
  1. Aug 25, 2013
    10
    Amazing art, music, sound, humor, and gameplay. McMillen has shown me over and over again how great he is as a game designer and the amount ofAmazing art, music, sound, humor, and gameplay. McMillen has shown me over and over again how great he is as a game designer and the amount of effort he puts into making his fans happy goes above and beyond anyone I have seen. Thank you for sapping so many hours of my life. Expand
  2. Jan 19, 2012
    10
    I am actually surprised by how good this game is, it did not look that good at the begggining but after a few hours I noticed how great theI am actually surprised by how good this game is, it did not look that good at the begggining but after a few hours I noticed how great the game is, it is random and fun. Expand
  3. Sep 30, 2011
    10
    This game is awesome, awesome, and more awesome. Obviously the previous guy who rated this a 2 just doesn't "get" the appeal of this kind ofThis game is awesome, awesome, and more awesome. Obviously the previous guy who rated this a 2 just doesn't "get" the appeal of this kind of game. It's based on an old model of PC gaming (called roguelike) where you die once and the game is over--completely. There are no saves, no continue spots--you're dead and you have to start all over. But that's exactly what makes this game so damn addictive! I have the Battlefield 3 beta on my computer and I've barely played it because The Binding of Isaac is sucking up all of my time. Because every playthrough is completely randomly generated and you'll never play the same levels twice, dying is not a big deal. Death feels the same way it feels in Super Meat Boy; you die, and die, and die again--but you get better each time, and it makes you want to start the game right back up again. Like SMB it's a throwback to a time long ago when you needed actual skill and quick reflexes to complete a game, and it's precisely that which makes it so appealing to me. Oh...that and the absolutely awesome and hilarious abilities and powerups, which I definitely wouldn't want to spoil here. The game is full of surprises and has a very dark tone about it, feeling like a mix between The Legend of Zelda and Splatterhouse. The fact that it's only 5 bucks doesn't hurt either, but it shouldn't give you any indication of the quality of the game. I've paid 50-60 bucks for games that weren't nearly as fun as this. Just buy it, play it, and enjoy some excellent old-meets-new gaming for less than the cost of a sandwich. Expand
  4. May 17, 2013
    9
    Easily worth it's relatively cheap price, Isaac is a brilliantly refreshing game. I really enjoyed it's controls and random generation. GreatEasily worth it's relatively cheap price, Isaac is a brilliantly refreshing game. I really enjoyed it's controls and random generation. Great for casual pick up and play moments. Very difficult, but many would not call this a downside. Get it. Expand
  5. Dec 27, 2011
    8
    If your age is below 25 then don't buy this game (unless you are a retro gamer). it is purely a blast from the past. This is one of the betterIf your age is below 25 then don't buy this game (unless you are a retro gamer). it is purely a blast from the past. This is one of the better retro games that I have played. Expand
  6. Dec 13, 2011
    8
    This cheap title is worth the money as a retro Zelda-like game based on avoiding projectiles and defeating hideous enemies with tears andThis cheap title is worth the money as a retro Zelda-like game based on avoiding projectiles and defeating hideous enemies with tears and items. The game really acts as a gamble, though. You could be good at it and die to a blood donation station because you thought you would get higher max health and healing for it. You could also damage yourself with pills that could instead heal you. Bombs, keys, and coins have to be kept in check because the game always throws (wasted) opportunities at you. I have not even got past the second third of a playthrough (there are 6 levels total with soaring difficulty). Expand
  7. Aug 4, 2014
    0
    This game is so ridiculously difficult that it makes Dark Souls set on hard look like a kid's game. You can expect to live about 3 or 4This game is so ridiculously difficult that it makes Dark Souls set on hard look like a kid's game. You can expect to live about 3 or 4 minutes on average. I don't know how people can think this is a good game when you can only play 3 minutes before dying. It is not even fair how poor the controls are. You have basically no chance to win. Look at the stats. On Steam, 37% of the players couldn't even get the EASIEST of the 84 achievements. How sad is that? Unless you are a masochist, please don't waste your money. Expand

See all 256 User Reviews