The Binding of Isaac PC

The Binding of Isaac Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1019 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Isaac is a roguelike shooter based on the dungeon structure of Zelda (nes). At its core it controls like Smash TV / Robotron in a randomly generated semi RPG world filled with powerups items and special abilities.
  • Developer: Edmund McMillen, Florian Himsl
  • Genre(s): Action, Action Adventure, Shooter, Horror, Horror, Shooter, Static, Shoot-'Em-Up, Top-Down
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • More Details and Credits »

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Oct 16, 2011
    100
    The Binding Of Isaac is pitch-black and hard as hell.
  2. Oct 7, 2011
    90
    With Binding, McMillen and Himsl created the rules of the world and then set it in motion. Yet this game is nearly as much fun as Super Meat Boy, and more profound. It proves that there's more than one way to make a masterpiece.
  3. Mar 10, 2012
    90
    One may play for an hour or two, but they're constantly tempted to go back in and uncover the scads of remaining secrets. It's a style of game that really intrigues me, and one I want to see more of
  4. Oct 3, 2011
    85
    I'll put it simply: If you can roll with the macabre toilet humor and if religion jokes don't put you off, AND if you enjoy games with non-optional permadeath, randomized content, tons of secrets and considerable replay value… it's hard to go wrong with The Binding of Isaac. Especially at five dollars.
  5. Mar 19, 2012
    83
    The Binding of Isaac looks like an old school game like the original Zeldas, but with a dark scenario and dark humor. It has the typical difficulty of a McMillen game, which is not found anywhere else these days. This game will motivate you to try and try again in such a simple way – just brilliant. If you like the style and the old school gameplay of The Binding of Isaac, you'll have a lot of fun with it.
  6. Oct 7, 2011
    80
    Funny and miserable, disgusting and endearing, the end result is a game that's smart enough to have things both ways, offering an often brutal critique of certain religious sacraments, while wallowing comfortably inside the rituals of one of gaming's oldest genres.
  7. Oct 2, 2011
    70
    It's a good game, with a surprising amount of content for the price, but it will definitely turn away those who don't like even cartoon gore, and leave a slightly bitter taste in even the most hardened gamer's mouth... and mind.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 255
  1. Oct 30, 2013
    10
    Love the game so much. Only have 108 hours of game-time but got the game almost complete. just few achievements left. Can't wait forLove the game so much. Only have 108 hours of game-time but got the game almost complete. just few achievements left. Can't wait for BOI:Rebirth :)
    If anyone wants a good idea of the game then I would suggest looking up "Bisnap" on youtube. He is really good at the game. Really good game.
    Expand
  2. Jan 21, 2012
    10
    This is a game from older generation. There is no saves, no hints, no help. You must remember that gives each piece and how it interacts withThis is a game from older generation. There is no saves, no hints, no help. You must remember that gives each piece and how it interacts with others. Plus, it's very random, one game may be simple, the other incredibly difficult. But precisely this is the charm of the game. Challenge the player to deal with all its complexities.
    This is very good and captivating game. I will continue to ply it until I collect all items)
    Expand
  3. Sep 30, 2011
    10
    This game is awesome, awesome, and more awesome. Obviously the previous guy who rated this a 2 just doesn't "get" the appeal of this kind ofThis game is awesome, awesome, and more awesome. Obviously the previous guy who rated this a 2 just doesn't "get" the appeal of this kind of game. It's based on an old model of PC gaming (called roguelike) where you die once and the game is over--completely. There are no saves, no continue spots--you're dead and you have to start all over. But that's exactly what makes this game so damn addictive! I have the Battlefield 3 beta on my computer and I've barely played it because The Binding of Isaac is sucking up all of my time. Because every playthrough is completely randomly generated and you'll never play the same levels twice, dying is not a big deal. Death feels the same way it feels in Super Meat Boy; you die, and die, and die again--but you get better each time, and it makes you want to start the game right back up again. Like SMB it's a throwback to a time long ago when you needed actual skill and quick reflexes to complete a game, and it's precisely that which makes it so appealing to me. Oh...that and the absolutely awesome and hilarious abilities and powerups, which I definitely wouldn't want to spoil here. The game is full of surprises and has a very dark tone about it, feeling like a mix between The Legend of Zelda and Splatterhouse. The fact that it's only 5 bucks doesn't hurt either, but it shouldn't give you any indication of the quality of the game. I've paid 50-60 bucks for games that weren't nearly as fun as this. Just buy it, play it, and enjoy some excellent old-meets-new gaming for less than the cost of a sandwich. Expand
  4. Jun 15, 2013
    9
    I religiously play this game atleast once a day to see if I can finally defeat the final boss. I never succeed, but that's what keeps meI religiously play this game atleast once a day to see if I can finally defeat the final boss. I never succeed, but that's what keeps me coming back for more! each time you play through, the game gets randomized in every aspect. Different enemies, different map layouts, different items, healths, difficulty! almost everything. And I seriously love that aspect in games, it's what keeps gamers coming back for more. The thrill of having the game change when you come back to it. I've clocked up 24 hours of gameplay and I am still finding bosses that I have never fought before! suprises enemies, and items! the game's soundtrack is really nostalgic too, for some reason it reminds me of real old school gaming years. Since this game is also 3£ on steam, it is certainly worth picking up! you will not regret it! Expand
  5. Nov 2, 2011
    8
    From initially reading about The Binding of Isaac, I was fascinated by the style and obvious heavy-influence from the original Legend ofFrom initially reading about The Binding of Isaac, I was fascinated by the style and obvious heavy-influence from the original Legend of Zelda. Binding is an especially dark and twisted game that incorporates elements of adventure, shoot-em up, and RPG-style gaming. The dungeons are randomly generated as well as the power-ups, enemies and bosses you will encounter along the way. Combine this gameplay with dirty and vulgar Flash-inspired visuals, religious themes, and a great soundtrack and you have a title that is priced surprisingly at only $5.00.

    Binding places you in the role of a naked young boy, Isaac, who is trying to escape his Mother who has been charged by God to kill him to prove her devotion and unwavering loyalty. Dark enough? Isaac escapes into a labyrinth-like basement and must survive several floors of bloody and deformed horrors, each floor culminating in a boss fight. The game is difficult and definitely not forgiving. There are no save points and when you die, you will start at the beginning. However, you'll find that every playthrough will be a different experience and that the game is surprisingly addictive. Most gamers that get hooked will want to play this game all the way to 100% completion.

    If you're not turned away by the style or tone of this game, definitely give it a shot. Binding has considerable replay value and at a price tag of $5.00, I think most gamers will not be disappointed.
    Expand
  6. May 19, 2012
    8
    It has awesome graphics but the gameplay is very good! Every time you start playing, change the levels, enemies, bosses, items. Have muchIt has awesome graphics but the gameplay is very good! Every time you start playing, change the levels, enemies, bosses, items. Have much variety in every way. It is very addictive. Thoroughly recommend it. Expand
  7. Aug 4, 2014
    0
    This game is so ridiculously difficult that it makes Dark Souls set on hard look like a kid's game. You can expect to live about 3 or 4This game is so ridiculously difficult that it makes Dark Souls set on hard look like a kid's game. You can expect to live about 3 or 4 minutes on average. I don't know how people can think this is a good game when you can only play 3 minutes before dying. It is not even fair how poor the controls are. You have basically no chance to win. Look at the stats. On Steam, 37% of the players couldn't even get the EASIEST of the 84 achievements. How sad is that? Unless you are a masochist, please don't waste your money. Expand

See all 255 User Reviews