Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Dec 17, 2012
    90
    Critter Chronicles is definitely one of the best adventure games in the entire world. It has a nice, simple story, fantastic dialogue, great sense of humor, exceptionally likable characters, excellent English dubbing and really pretty graphics. Hardcore gamers can think it's too easy, but I think a higher difficulty level would cripple the game's fluid gameplay and an irritated gamer wouldn't appreciate many funny moments. Besides - the game has a hard mode. If you like adventure games, you simply can't not play Critter Chronicles.
  2. Dec 13, 2012
    83
    Critter Chronicles took me about a dozen hours to complete, and I consistently found it to be enjoyable during that time. The puzzles work well and are sometimes challenging (at least on "Hard;" I didn't try "Normal"), the writing is amusing enough that the game is entertaining to watch as well as play, and the voice acting is once again terrific.
  3. 81
    A fun adventure prologue thanks to likable characters, nice production values and a good sense of humor. Writing and puzzle design are not on par with the original though.
  4. 80
    If you have a story with a purple monster, talking ships, environmental activist, and Yeti you can make a really funny game. The people from KING Art made a great one. [Jan 2013]
  5. Dec 17, 2012
    80
    We return to the fantastic world created in The Book of Unwritten Tales with the prequel to a great adventure. With less strength than its predecessor but just as magical and highly recommended.
  6. Feb 3, 2013
    78
    It is the quirky puzzles, the fun mini-puzzles and the humorous dialogue and references that make The Book of Unwritten Tales: The Creature Chronicles so enjoyable to play.
  7. Feb 6, 2013
    75
    Even The Three-Headed Monkey would not be unable to distract you from The Critter Chronicles’ shortcomings but this prequel to The Book of Unwritten Tales is still likeable. It’s just smaller in every aspect.[CD-Action 02/2013, p.56]
  8. 72
    Despite limited environments and unstable puzzle design, Critter Chronicles is saved by the subtle charm of its characters and by some witty ideas. [February 2013]
  9. Jan 18, 2013
    70
    Even though The Book of Unwritten Tales: The Critter Chronicles does not reach a technology peak, its perfect story, humorous situations and interesting puzzles make up for it. It's a pity the game is so short.
  10. Jan 14, 2013
    70
    A fun and well written prologue to last year's adventure hit. This game tells a smaller and a more personal story that is somewhat hurt by really awful puzzle-design at certain places.
  11. Dec 21, 2012
    70
    The Critter Chronicles adopts enough of the positive qualities of its predecessor to deliver another enjoyable adventure, but skids on some crucial issues to land somewhat short of true excellence.
  12. Jan 9, 2013
    60
    It's more of an expansion than a proper sequel, and the puzzles are not as logical and enjoyable as the ones in the original game. But it still offers a genuinely funny and pleasant overall experience.
  13. Dec 18, 2012
    60
    Amusing and usually quite entertaining, but let down by location repetition and some poor puzzle design.
  14. Jan 27, 2013
    57
    The original game, The Book of Unwritten Tales, was peppered with lazy, on-the-nose jokes, like a film in the Scary Movie franchise. The Critter Chronicles is no better. Pop culture references killed the fairy tale.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Apr 4, 2013
    7
    Though it's marketed as stand-alone, this really is more of a prequel expansion pack for the original TBoUT. It doesn't make much sense without first playing the original as many of the characters aren't introduced. Overall, it doesn't really have as much depth. I completed it in about 7 hours half as long as the original. It's still funny and enjoyable, but I'd recommend the original TBoUT over this any day. Full Review »
  2. Jan 30, 2014
    7
    Not that bad of the game, but feels less funny than the previous version. It is shorter, which I appreciated. Characters now move and run across the screen more often, but still one has to wait out animations and most cutscenes without the ability to skip them, which is kind of a downside if one wants to hunt for the hard-difficulty achievements right after finishing the game. Full Review »
  3. Nov 8, 2013
    8
    Critter Chronicles is a point and click adventure game with a comedy theme. Most of the puzzles are inventory based, with a few minigames thrown in. None of the puzzles are too hard, although I did get stuck once on a minigame and had to consult a walkthrough. About half of the game was completed by my nine-year-old with a little help. I think this is a great game to play with your kids, they love the sophomoric humor. Some of the jokes are laugh-out-loud funny. Overall I thought this game was a little more polished and clever than the first one. I definitely recommend playing BoUT first before playing this game, since the story makes more sense this way. Overall the game was very entertaining for the story and the comedy, the puzzles keep you busy but are not all that challenging. Full Review »