Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Apr 8, 2013
    81
    A fun adventure prologue thanks to likable characters, nice production values and a good sense of humor. Writing and puzzle design are not on par with the original though.
  2. CD-Action
    Feb 6, 2013
    75
    Even The Three-Headed Monkey would not be unable to distract you from The Critter Chronicles’ shortcomings but this prequel to The Book of Unwritten Tales is still likeable. It’s just smaller in every aspect.[CD-Action 02/2013, p.56]
  3. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Feb 4, 2013
    80
    If you have a story with a purple monster, talking ships, environmental activist, and Yeti you can make a really funny game. The people from KING Art made a great one. [Jan 2013]
  4. Feb 3, 2013
    78
    It is the quirky puzzles, the fun mini-puzzles and the humorous dialogue and references that make The Book of Unwritten Tales: The Creature Chronicles so enjoyable to play.
  5. Dec 17, 2012
    90
    Critter Chronicles is definitely one of the best adventure games in the entire world. It has a nice, simple story, fantastic dialogue, great sense of humor, exceptionally likable characters, excellent English dubbing and really pretty graphics. Hardcore gamers can think it's too easy, but I think a higher difficulty level would cripple the game's fluid gameplay and an irritated gamer wouldn't appreciate many funny moments. Besides - the game has a hard mode. If you like adventure games, you simply can't not play Critter Chronicles.
  6. Dec 17, 2012
    80
    We return to the fantastic world created in The Book of Unwritten Tales with the prequel to a great adventure. With less strength than its predecessor but just as magical and highly recommended.
  7. Dec 13, 2012
    83
    Critter Chronicles took me about a dozen hours to complete, and I consistently found it to be enjoyable during that time. The puzzles work well and are sometimes challenging (at least on "Hard;" I didn't try "Normal"), the writing is amusing enough that the game is entertaining to watch as well as play, and the voice acting is once again terrific.
User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Apr 4, 2013
    7
    Though it's marketed as stand-alone, this really is more of a prequel expansion pack for the original TBoUT. It doesn't make much senseThough it's marketed as stand-alone, this really is more of a prequel expansion pack for the original TBoUT. It doesn't make much sense without first playing the original as many of the characters aren't introduced. Overall, it doesn't really have as much depth. I completed it in about 7 hours half as long as the original. It's still funny and enjoyable, but I'd recommend the original TBoUT over this any day. Full Review »
  2. Jan 30, 2014
    7
    Not that bad of the game, but feels less funny than the previous version. It is shorter, which I appreciated. Characters now move and runNot that bad of the game, but feels less funny than the previous version. It is shorter, which I appreciated. Characters now move and run across the screen more often, but still one has to wait out animations and most cutscenes without the ability to skip them, which is kind of a downside if one wants to hunt for the hard-difficulty achievements right after finishing the game. Full Review »
  3. Nov 8, 2013
    8
    Critter Chronicles is a point and click adventure game with a comedy theme. Most of the puzzles are inventory based, with a few minigamesCritter Chronicles is a point and click adventure game with a comedy theme. Most of the puzzles are inventory based, with a few minigames thrown in. None of the puzzles are too hard, although I did get stuck once on a minigame and had to consult a walkthrough. About half of the game was completed by my nine-year-old with a little help. I think this is a great game to play with your kids, they love the sophomoric humor. Some of the jokes are laugh-out-loud funny. Overall I thought this game was a little more polished and clever than the first one. I definitely recommend playing BoUT first before playing this game, since the story makes more sense this way. Overall the game was very entertaining for the story and the comedy, the puzzles keep you busy but are not all that challenging. Full Review »