Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Aug 9, 2012
    100
    If you're going to try and woo a modern gaming audience with old-fashioned gameplay, you'd better be pretty special. The Book of Unwritten Tales is. It's smart, funny, well-crafted and has tons of heart.
  2. Dec 22, 2011
    95
    Never in the past decade we've seen such a well-built comedy/ fantasy adventure game, filled to the brim with great narration, sense of purpose and feelings of joy and despair. An absolute must have for every "adventurer".
  3. Nov 29, 2012
    90
    The prettiest, most interesting and funniest point'n'click adventure game of the last couple of years. It would be a mortal sin to miss out on it. [CD-Action 13/2012, p.60]
  4. Aug 23, 2012
    90
    A must-own for anyone who loves adventure games, with its stellar writing, gorgeous art, and quotable humor. Throw in the smooth interface, the lack of any normal issues of the genre, and its solid cast, it appeals to gamers of all skills and experience.
  5. Nov 29, 2011
    90
    You'll have to go all the way back to 1993 until you can find a game that delivers this much fun. Telltale, this is how you should have done when you resurrected the adventure genre. Beware, you're not alone anymoreā€¦
  6. Oct 29, 2011
    90
    At nearly 4GB, The Book of Unwritten Tales isn't small in size or scope, and provides a huge amount of entertainment from start to end.
  7. Sep 21, 2011
    89
    How should I start, with incredibly detailed, beautiful graphics, great sound and familiar voices, or the time and again dead on verbal wit? Fans of point & click adventures schouldn't mis out on this one, nor should true gamers - most of the witty passages are design to appeal to them.
  8. 88
    A 20-hour classic adventure story for $30? Sold.
  9. Book of Unwritten Tales earned itself a place just below my beloved LucasArts Classics. The difficulty might be too low for some, but story, characters and humor place the game high on my personal adventure ranking.
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 114 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 35
  2. Negative: 3 out of 35
  1. Dec 29, 2011
    10
    First I want to tell you that I am no newbie at this kind of games. "Syberia" 1 and 2, "Sanitarium", "Monkey Island" (all of them), "Day ofFirst I want to tell you that I am no newbie at this kind of games. "Syberia" 1 and 2, "Sanitarium", "Monkey Island" (all of them), "Day of Tentacle" and "The Longest Journey" are my all time favorites. I also was a fan of the "World of Warcraft" - in the long time ago when the game was actually smart and fun. But if you are like me and you loved all these games, I can tell you that "The Book Of Unwritten Tales" can occupy a proud first place among them.

    It amazes me to see how little appreciation is given to this game, although it was launched back in 2009 in Germany. They probably don't have a huge marketing machine in place. This game has everything: an excellent script, a wonderful story, humor (lots and lots of humor), strong characters, nice graphics and smart puzzles. Indeed, the puzzles were a bit more difficult in "Syberia" (this could be the only "bad" thing I could think of in regards to this game) - but it's not a major issue. A big problem with this kind of games is that sometimes inconsistencies appear in the story and in the course of action, but "The Book Of Unwritten Tales" has none of those. The story goes smooth and logical. The $30 you pay for this accounts for a good 20-25 hours of play.

    The humor in this game is addictive! It makes fun of many pop-culture subjects, it contains super fun references to WOW and Monkey Island.

    For a preview of the game you can search youtube (this is what convinced me to actually buy it and play it). If you liked the games listed above (and in general, if you like smart games) I can guarantee you will love this :D
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    It's a shame that a wonderful and amazing game like this doesn't get nearly as much attention as so many uninteresting uninspired gorefestsIt's a shame that a wonderful and amazing game like this doesn't get nearly as much attention as so many uninteresting uninspired gorefests that crowd the market.
    If you're tired of playing games where you are a tough macho gravelly voiced super-soldier walking in a straigh line shooting everything in sight, then give this game a go!
    The characters are loveable, the humor is spot-on, the art direction and animations are top-notch for an indie adventure, and it's generally an all-round wonderful experience. PLAY THIS GAME!
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    Wow!!! this is really something great..unfortunately no one knows about this game..thats so sad since this game have so much value in terms ofWow!!! this is really something great..unfortunately no one knows about this game..thats so sad since this game have so much value in terms of story,really lovable characters, artistic graphics than those other games i have finished recently (rage ,deus ex).Trust me u will love this game. Full Review »