Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Aug 23, 2012
    90
    A must-own for anyone who loves adventure games, with its stellar writing, gorgeous art, and quotable humor. Throw in the smooth interface, the lack of any normal issues of the genre, and its solid cast, it appeals to gamers of all skills and experience.
  2. Dec 1, 2011
    80
    A great sense of wonder permeates The Book of Unwritten Tales, a terrific take on a traditional point-and-click adventure.
  3. 88
    A 20-hour classic adventure story for $30? Sold.
  4. Jul 30, 2012
    70
    Even though design decisions like these can be frustrating, it's not enough to really detract from just how damn charming Unwritten Tales is most of the time, especially when it has a cast of such likeable characters carrying the load. And for only $20 it's a good value for those looking to scratch their classic-adventure-game itch.
  5. Oct 28, 2011
    70
    For something called The Book of Unwritten Tales, it treads awfully familiar ground; yet it does so with moxie and high production values. It's generally knowing and polished enough that it can be forgiven for not innovating a great deal. The Book of Unwritten Tales feels like a great cover of what's come before, even if it can't quite capture its forebear's magic.
  6. Jan 12, 2012
    81
    We thought they didn't make 'em like this anymore. How happy we are to be wrong... [Feb 2012, p.101]
  7. May 30, 2012
    85
    The Book of Unwritten Tales is a well written adventure game, with simple puzzles and brilliant dialogues. Some situation are memorable, like in the best Lucas titles from the past.
  8. Aug 9, 2012
    82
    But overall, BOUT is a pleasant and enjoyable adventure game. It's funny and well written, it's colorful both in tone and appearance, and its voice acting is about as good as you're going to hear in a game. On the downside, the puzzles aren't especially complicated, and there are perhaps too many of them, but these aren't serious detractions, and I don't have any reservations recommending the game, especially at its $20 price point.
  9. Aug 20, 2012
    85
    Take the best scenes from every major sci-fi fantasy imaginable, add in classic 90's puzzle solving, mix this all with a clever sense of humor, and A Book of Unwritten Tales emerges. The North American release will attract players familiar with the adventure game and those looking for something fresh in today's market. Despite technical problems and somewhat boring puzzles, the game proves that simple gameplay can convey a memorable experience.
  10. Sep 21, 2011
    89
    How should I start, with incredibly detailed, beautiful graphics, great sound and familiar voices, or the time and again dead on verbal wit? Fans of point & click adventures schouldn't mis out on this one, nor should true gamers - most of the witty passages are design to appeal to them.
  11. Nov 24, 2011
    82
    A great adventure because of brillant graphic behaviour, a fun narration and solid gameplay.
  12. Nov 1, 2011
    85
    Whilst there are undoubtedly flaws, sometimes in the game's mechanics or structure, the strong writing, elegant design, quality voice acting and beautiful visuals should keep you compelled to carry on.
  13. Feb 13, 2012
    84
    This German point'n'clicker is a prime specimen of a modern adventure game. The game is funny, beautiful and quite long, which can seldom be said of an German. The last quarter isn't as good as the rest of the game, but altogether Book of Unwritten Tales is really nice way to spend the weekend. [Feb 2012]
  14. Jun 19, 2012
    85
    The King Art production is a pleasant experience and a must have communication experiment for any adventure games lover.
  15. Aug 11, 2012
    85
    A magical adventure you don't want to miss. You'll be entertained for over twenty hours with witty remarks and great overall humor. It's an amazing game that deserves your attention.
  16. Aug 31, 2012
    80
    The Book of Unwritten Tales doesn't do anything wildly different from other graphic adventures but it does one, important thing very well: it tells a fun story. Delightful characters, hilarious self awareness and good puzzles make this an adventure both novices and veterans will want to take.
  17. Jul 31, 2012
    84
    A solid, engaging, and charming adventure title. Fans of the genre would do well to pick it up and ponder its secrets. Independent developers deserve our continued support, and sometimes that means rewarding them for dusting off old recipes, and cooking them well.
  18. Nov 9, 2011
    85
    Thrilling. Funny. And visually stunning. No, we are not talking about Uncharted 3, Battlefield 3 or Batman: Arkham City, but about The Book of Unwritten Tales, one of the most beautiful graphic adventures seen in the last years that now finally comes to Europe.
  19. Apr 19, 2013
    50
    The Book of Unwritten Tales isn’t bad—it just feels like the developers weren't sure if they would rather homage LucasArts or ridicule Blizzard, so they tried to do both. Sadly, they succeeded only in making both aspects tepid and bland. That said, I would honestly recommend it to people who love adventure titles because beneath the fetch-questing is a solid game with quirky characters, decent puzzles, and some amusing self-aware humor.
  20. 80
    Fairytale adventure is as magical as the land where it takes place. Not even the average playability can break this spell The Book enchants you with. [Nov 2011]
  21. Nov 29, 2011
    90
    You'll have to go all the way back to 1993 until you can find a game that delivers this much fun. Telltale, this is how you should have done when you resurrected the adventure genre. Beware, you're not alone anymore…
  22. This adventure tells a fantastic story with exceptional characters, lots of humor and allusions to well-known fantasy stereotypes and logical puzzles. The 3D landscapes are beautiful and the world made us feel right at home. We had to smile at little details very often and when we finished the game after 20 hours it was actually was a melancholy moment - the hallmark of an excellent adventure.
  23. Nov 29, 2012
    90
    The prettiest, most interesting and funniest point'n'click adventure game of the last couple of years. It would be a mortal sin to miss out on it. [CD-Action 13/2012, p.60]
  24. Nov 23, 2011
    77
    This game is definitely better than the usual drivel made in the land of bratwurst and Oktoberfest, but being one-eyed in the country of the blind is a dubious honor. The Book of Unwritten Tales is a careful imitation of adventure masterpieces from the days of yore, only, again, without a soul.
  25. Dec 22, 2011
    95
    Never in the past decade we've seen such a well-built comedy/ fantasy adventure game, filled to the brim with great narration, sense of purpose and feelings of joy and despair. An absolute must have for every "adventurer".
  26. Oct 11, 2012
    70
    A smart, lengthy and logical adventure game that is consistently enjoyable without ever trying to be incredible. [Oct 2012, p.81]
  27. Dec 5, 2011
    80
    So, there you have it…another example of how indie titles can very much hold their own against the big players in the industry in today's gaming world, if not triumph over them.
  28. Book of Unwritten Tales earned itself a place just below my beloved LucasArts Classics. The difficulty might be too low for some, but story, characters and humor place the game high on my personal adventure ranking.
  29. Aug 9, 2012
    100
    If you're going to try and woo a modern gaming audience with old-fashioned gameplay, you'd better be pretty special. The Book of Unwritten Tales is. It's smart, funny, well-crafted and has tons of heart.
  30. Oct 29, 2011
    90
    At nearly 4GB, The Book of Unwritten Tales isn't small in size or scope, and provides a huge amount of entertainment from start to end.
  31. Oct 1, 2012
    85
    The Book of Unwritten Tales is one of the best AAA adventure games in years. It has everything a true classic in the genre should have, but is at the same time very contemporary. Excellent choice of actors, great dialogue, interesting puzzles are the biggest assets of this game. The locations leave a little to be desired in terms of "epicness", but if you consider yourself a fan of adventure games, you shouldn't wait any longer - buy it!
  32. Easily the most recommendable adventure game in years. The production values are top-notch, the puzzles are fair and most of the characters are simply adorable. If only the story would keep up its suspense and finesse after the second chapter, I would consider this game to be an instant classic of the entire genre. Ah well, there is always hope for the sequel, right?
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 99 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 32
  2. Negative: 3 out of 32
  1. Dec 29, 2011
    10
    First I want to tell you that I am no newbie at this kind of games. "Syberia" 1 and 2, "Sanitarium", "Monkey Island" (all of them), "Day of Tentacle" and "The Longest Journey" are my all time favorites. I also was a fan of the "World of Warcraft" - in the long time ago when the game was actually smart and fun. But if you are like me and you loved all these games, I can tell you that "The Book Of Unwritten Tales" can occupy a proud first place among them.

    It amazes me to see how little appreciation is given to this game, although it was launched back in 2009 in Germany. They probably don't have a huge marketing machine in place. This game has everything: an excellent script, a wonderful story, humor (lots and lots of humor), strong characters, nice graphics and smart puzzles. Indeed, the puzzles were a bit more difficult in "Syberia" (this could be the only "bad" thing I could think of in regards to this game) - but it's not a major issue. A big problem with this kind of games is that sometimes inconsistencies appear in the story and in the course of action, but "The Book Of Unwritten Tales" has none of those. The story goes smooth and logical. The $30 you pay for this accounts for a good 20-25 hours of play.

    The humor in this game is addictive! It makes fun of many pop-culture subjects, it contains super fun references to WOW and Monkey Island.

    For a preview of the game you can search youtube (this is what convinced me to actually buy it and play it). If you liked the games listed above (and in general, if you like smart games) I can guarantee you will love this :D
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    It's a shame that a wonderful and amazing game like this doesn't get nearly as much attention as so many uninteresting uninspired gorefests that crowd the market.
    If you're tired of playing games where you are a tough macho gravelly voiced super-soldier walking in a straigh line shooting everything in sight, then give this game a go!
    The characters are loveable, the humor is spot-on, the art direction and animations are top-notch for an indie adventure, and it's generally an all-round wonderful experience. PLAY THIS GAME!
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    Wow!!! this is really something great..unfortunately no one knows about this game..thats so sad since this game have so much value in terms of story,really lovable characters, artistic graphics than those other games i have finished recently (rage ,deus ex).Trust me u will love this game. Full Review »