The Book of Unwritten Tales Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 141 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In a world torn by war, the aged gremlin archaeologist Mortimer McGuffin harbours the dark secret of a powerful artifact. Whoever calls this artifact their own will determine the fate of the world. While the Army of Shadows sends out its best and most devious agents to discover the secret,In a world torn by war, the aged gremlin archaeologist Mortimer McGuffin harbours the dark secret of a powerful artifact. Whoever calls this artifact their own will determine the fate of the world. While the Army of Shadows sends out its best and most devious agents to discover the secret, the Alliance's three heroes find themselves involuntarily drawn into the crisis. Enjoy a turbulent and humorous Point & Click adventure in an RPG world! Take Wilbur, Nate and Ivo on their treasure hunt, face bizarre characters and magical fantasy environments, and solve challenging puzzles that will tease your brain cells. [HMH Interactive] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Aug 9, 2012
    100
    If you're going to try and woo a modern gaming audience with old-fashioned gameplay, you'd better be pretty special. The Book of Unwritten Tales is. It's smart, funny, well-crafted and has tons of heart.
  2. Nov 29, 2011
    90
    You'll have to go all the way back to 1993 until you can find a game that delivers this much fun. Telltale, this is how you should have done when you resurrected the adventure genre. Beware, you're not alone anymore…
  3. Book of Unwritten Tales earned itself a place just below my beloved LucasArts Classics. The difficulty might be too low for some, but story, characters and humor place the game high on my personal adventure ranking.
  4. This adventure tells a fantastic story with exceptional characters, lots of humor and allusions to well-known fantasy stereotypes and logical puzzles. The 3D landscapes are beautiful and the world made us feel right at home. We had to smile at little details very often and when we finished the game after 20 hours it was actually was a melancholy moment - the hallmark of an excellent adventure.
  5. Aug 9, 2012
    82
    But overall, BOUT is a pleasant and enjoyable adventure game. It's funny and well written, it's colorful both in tone and appearance, and its voice acting is about as good as you're going to hear in a game. On the downside, the puzzles aren't especially complicated, and there are perhaps too many of them, but these aren't serious detractions, and I don't have any reservations recommending the game, especially at its $20 price point.
  6. Dec 5, 2011
    80
    So, there you have it…another example of how indie titles can very much hold their own against the big players in the industry in today's gaming world, if not triumph over them.
  7. Apr 19, 2013
    50
    The Book of Unwritten Tales isn’t bad—it just feels like the developers weren't sure if they would rather homage LucasArts or ridicule Blizzard, so they tried to do both. Sadly, they succeeded only in making both aspects tepid and bland. That said, I would honestly recommend it to people who love adventure titles because beneath the fetch-questing is a solid game with quirky characters, decent puzzles, and some amusing self-aware humor.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 38
  2. Negative: 2 out of 38
  1. Dec 29, 2011
    10
    First I want to tell you that I am no newbie at this kind of games. "Syberia" 1 and 2, "Sanitarium", "Monkey Island" (all of them), "Day ofFirst I want to tell you that I am no newbie at this kind of games. "Syberia" 1 and 2, "Sanitarium", "Monkey Island" (all of them), "Day of Tentacle" and "The Longest Journey" are my all time favorites. I also was a fan of the "World of Warcraft" - in the long time ago when the game was actually smart and fun. But if you are like me and you loved all these games, I can tell you that "The Book Of Unwritten Tales" can occupy a proud first place among them.

    It amazes me to see how little appreciation is given to this game, although it was launched back in 2009 in Germany. They probably don't have a huge marketing machine in place. This game has everything: an excellent script, a wonderful story, humor (lots and lots of humor), strong characters, nice graphics and smart puzzles. Indeed, the puzzles were a bit more difficult in "Syberia" (this could be the only "bad" thing I could think of in regards to this game) - but it's not a major issue. A big problem with this kind of games is that sometimes inconsistencies appear in the story and in the course of action, but "The Book Of Unwritten Tales" has none of those. The story goes smooth and logical. The $30 you pay for this accounts for a good 20-25 hours of play.

    The humor in this game is addictive! It makes fun of many pop-culture subjects, it contains super fun references to WOW and Monkey Island.

    For a preview of the game you can search youtube (this is what convinced me to actually buy it and play it). If you liked the games listed above (and in general, if you like smart games) I can guarantee you will love this :D
    Collapse
  2. Aug 13, 2012
    10
    Best point&click I played in 2011. Extremely funny, with lots of reference to fantasy culture, including video games, movies and novels.Best point&click I played in 2011. Extremely funny, with lots of reference to fantasy culture, including video games, movies and novels. Charming graphics, excellent voice acting, good puzzles, very original and refreshing. A must-play :) Expand
  3. Dec 29, 2011
    10
    The game is absolutely marvelous! The truth is that I have been craving for a classic point and click adventure game since the original MonkeyThe game is absolutely marvelous! The truth is that I have been craving for a classic point and click adventure game since the original Monkey Island. I enjoyed The Longest Journey, Syberia, and that's pretty much it when it comes to games which came afterwards. Telltale games, such as the new Monkey Island aren't bad, but they lack the one thing which I enjoy so much in The Book of Unwritten Tales - the magic of the old days. I recommend it to all die-hard fans of classic adventure games - you won't be disappointed! Expand
  4. OwJ
    Sep 20, 2012
    9
    After taking a look at the wonderful and beautiful trailers and screenshots of this game, I felt that this game is definitely a must play! TheAfter taking a look at the wonderful and beautiful trailers and screenshots of this game, I felt that this game is definitely a must play! The game's design and graphic are just marvelous and every second of the game caught my attention such that I can only focus on the game! Even after completing the game, I never regretted playing it even once and still felt happy that I was able to experience such a wonderful storyline from the game: The Book of Unwritten Tales. I urged all those gamers who love adventure and puzzle to try out this game as it's one of my favorites! Expand
  5. Mar 17, 2012
    9
    It's really typical pnc adventure with really good humor and some funny references on famous games. Puzzles are good balanced and basicly allIt's really typical pnc adventure with really good humor and some funny references on famous games. Puzzles are good balanced and basicly all are made with some pure logic so i didnt stuck in open area clicking on everything and combining all items in inventory (well, maybie once or twice xD ) . Characters are really adoreable and funny. Only reason am giving 9 is fact that animations are in lower quality than ingame graphic. Great pnc adventure overall Expand
  6. Apr 3, 2016
    8
    I adore point and click games and have played them since Sierra and Lucasarts were at their top. I was afraid that this erea was over, butI adore point and click games and have played them since Sierra and Lucasarts were at their top. I was afraid that this erea was over, but this game is very funny! What I liked with this game is the great and lovely backgrounds, the very different and funny characters you control and the hilarius stuff you experience throughout the game. There are quite a few surprises. If you are into these kind of games, go for it! I can't wait to try The Book of Unwritten Tales 2. Expand
  7. Aug 1, 2012
    4
    I was pretty disappointed with the speed of the game, sure the graphics are pretty and it follows the same pattern of it's point and clickI was pretty disappointed with the speed of the game, sure the graphics are pretty and it follows the same pattern of it's point and click adventure predecessors, but the slow movement speed/walking ruined it for me, especially since it involved a lot of back and forth backtracking like it's inspiration. Expand

See all 38 User Reviews