Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 543 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: It's 1962. John F. Kennedy is the U.S. President and the Cold War has the nation gripped with fear – but a far more viscous and insidious enemy than communism is threatening America. Known only to a scant few, a covet government unit called The Bureau begins investigating and concealing a series of mysterious attacks by an alien enemy. As special agent William Carter, you make the decisions, pull the trigger and lead your squad in a third-person tactical shooter set within a high-stakes, covert war to defend the human race. The Bureau’s mission is clear – survive, adapt and overcome the enemy threat (Heartbreak Ridge-style) to protect the citizens from the truth. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 45
  2. Negative: 2 out of 45
  1. Aug 27, 2013
    82
    The Bureau: XCOM Declassified is an interesting hybrid between a traditional third-person shooter and a strategic game, with elements of role-playing game; but the impression is a game crippled by a troubled production. If you are in search of a different action videogame, maybe The Bureau is the game are you searching for.
  2. Aug 19, 2013
    80
    Paradoxically, The Bureau: XCOM Declassified feels immediate and inclusive as a strategy game, relying more closely on your rapid-fire commands than the bursts of your rifle. The odd hybrid is far from being fully evolved, but it's well suited to further study.
  3. Aug 22, 2013
    75
    Developer 2K Marin has put everything into creating the best tactical fights possible. Because of this the third person alien shooter is at its best when taking on enemies in combat. Unfortunately everything else is less refined, but despite this The Bureau is still a great addition to the series.
  4. Aug 19, 2013
    70
    2K Marin has done their best with the almost impossible task to create a narrative rich, tactic driven TPS that justifies the name of "XCOM". The result is a decent and professional effort from a team that could have done better without being tied to that name.
  5. Aug 28, 2013
    62
    The Bureau: XCOM Declassified feels confused and half-finished, a hollow but beautiful slog through XCOM’s early years.
  6. Sep 1, 2013
    60
    Like the redacted CIA documents featured so heavily in the game’s marketing, The Bureau comes across as disjointed, baffling and inconsistent. But moments of clarity may well keep you interested in what lies beneath that faltering surface.
  7. Aug 19, 2013
    45
    The Bureau: XCOM Declassified desperately wants to be liked, but by failing to satisfy in any direction, all it succeeds in being is a disappointment. It wants to be a strategy game without being a strategy game, it wants to be a shooter without being a shooter, and it wants to be XCOM without being XCOM. As such, it is nothing. It's an inconsequential waste of time that does nothing for anybody, and saying that makes me feel guilty because its cloying pleas to not be hated are worthy of pity.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 154
  2. Negative: 38 out of 154
  1. Aug 20, 2013
    10
    I REAALLYY thought this would just be another shooter but they implemented X-COM's style of strategy so well it actually feels like 3rd person RTS xcom, I dont care about the unsatisfied destructoid review I don't see why in the world he would like how it isnt a shooter or a strategy or an xcom game BECAUSE ITS ALL OF THOSE COMBINED, and that's much more awesome than it sounds

    GamePlay: 9/10
    Story: 8/10
    visuals: 7/10
    Replayabilty: 10/10

    P.S: anyone going into this expecting a carbon copy of XCOM enemy unknown or UFO defense's gameplay is an idiot
    Expand
  2. Jan 29, 2014
    10
    Critics are wrong. It has the most expensive polygons i've ever seen. It is wonderfully voiced. It's gorgeously tactical yet perfectly first ''persony''. Theres even a perk/upgrade system not unlike Mass Effects.

    If i made this game i'd have expected better reviews.

    I suspect the people reviewing this game were chosen by the editors for their expertise in reviewing tactical games. This game is half tactical ergo the half-hearted reviews.

    This game failed to disappoint me and im saddened it took me so long to play it because of my respect for the average metacritic review score. Lesson learned
    Expand
  3. Aug 22, 2013
    8
    I feel the critics have been overly harsh with this game. I just finished it, having put approximately 30 hours into the game. Granted that was doing every side mission, and taking my time to listen to conversations. Its definitely not Enemy Unknown, but I enjoyed it non the less.

    The story was compelling, if a bit rushed in parts, and I wish they had incorporated some more of the research and building aspects of Unknown but in the end I was completely happy with my purchase. The end of the game feels very rushed, and I would have liked a bit more diversity among my squad as I tended to use the same two for every mission.

    Definitely worth a buy though, as long as your expectations are right.
    Expand
  4. Aug 27, 2013
    7
    Having to regroup after the rather surprising XCOM Enemy Unknown is a blessing in disguise and a touch of poison both at the same time. I gather from the behind-the-scenes that they're going for the third iteration of the Bureau's gameplay when the surprise hit...well, hit which sounds rather believable when you watch the video. I just can't grasp the ignorance that they totally copy Mass Effect 3's gameplay and would not admit it....granted that it is not as smooth as and not as polished. It is not fair to compare the two games but the developer puts themselves in this position and the success of the turn based strategy rebirth certainly affects them the most, positively and negatively. The traces of Enemy Unknown can be seen throughout the game, as a true homage and also straight copycat. This review is written as I played only a few hours of the game and does not represents my final verdict of the Bureau. That is still to come but I will give my score nonetheless. Expand
  5. Jan 25, 2014
    6
    A lot of people seem to think this is an attempt to remake X-Com from a third-person viewpoint. It's not, and if you come in thinking that it is, you will be sorely disappointed. Instead, this is an entirely different game, taking place in the X-Com Universe.

    The game clearly took inspiration from Mass Effect - the fighting, the dialog choices, even many of the abilities are set up exactly the same. However, it's missing the RPG-elements and side-quests that made Mass Effect so great. It seems like a game made by Mass Effect fans, who didn't quite 'get' what made the game so great. Thus, if you haven't played Mass Effect before, you should be playing that instead: you'll have basically the same experience but 100x better. And if you have played it, you'll probably be disappointed by this poor clone.
    Expand
  6. Aug 24, 2013
    5
    It's a shame this game was published by 2K Games. I have to take points off for this simply because they have decided to price gouge the Australian market yet again, pricing the game way above the worth of the title.

    The game itself feels uninspired with so many other squad based 3rd person shooters on the market already, I was hoping that they would create something a little more unique than they did with this one. It just doesn't come across as a true X-COM title.. sure, it has that theme.. but so do other titles that have no affiliation with the X-COM series.

    I'm not a fanboi of the series.. I just would have preferred it to be more in-line with what X-COM has been about for generations. This would have been a great mod of the latest X-COM game.. or some indie spin-off.. but I can't endorse something like that this that comes off as feeling like a money grab and attention seeking from those who prefer 3rd person shooters rather than the core X-COM franchise.
    Expand
  7. Aug 8, 2014
    0
    I have never seen such an elegant cross between action and strategy, fun and playability, be so quickly ruined by taking everything you ever remotely thought you loved about XCOM and throwing it down the drain. Everything you could possibly love about this game is instantly ruined by the awful story, the dialogue that's so crappy it's not even fun to make fun of, or the weird, sexist twist the developers made by deciding that this should be the only XCOM game that only lets male soldiers on your squad.

    If you're a fan of having your favorite things destroyed for no good reason (or if you just love awful writing), grab this game.
    Expand

See all 154 User Reviews