Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Mar 5, 2013
    70
    Once or twice The Cat Lady made my heart race but the game would benefit from some more tweaking, especially when it comes to story coherence. [CD-Action 03/2013, p.63]
  2. Jan 16, 2014
    90
    As long as you're not totally put off by the art design, there's no reason to not play The Cat Lady. It is not only one of the best games of the year, it's one of the best horror adventures out there.
  3. May 16, 2013
    80
    The Cat Lady could be defined as a “non game”: it’s a beautiful, sad picture of our lives. Maybe one of the most interesting horror adventures around.
  4. Jan 6, 2014
    70
    The strength of The Cat Lady stands in its originality... as long as you are ready for an insane trip. Graphics are not the best we've seen so far, but it's still enough to appreciate the atmosphere and the story of this morbid adventure game.
  5. Jan 17, 2013
    90
    Mature, gory and moody. This game from UK based developer Harvester Games is one of the best surprises we've had in a long time!
  6. Jan 22, 2014
    80
    If you seek horror, The Cat Lady may sometimes freak you out, though probably not outright scare you. But that horror is in service of a touching character portrait--a portrait that's authentically, poignantly askew.
  7. Oct 17, 2013
    82
    It's rare to find a game that deals with topics like depression in such a mature way. If you want to experience an experimental artistic adventure, you're in for a journey you won't easily forget.
  8. Jun 3, 2013
    80
    The Cat Lady offers a unique and deviated world and a setting full of horror and despair, although the keyboard controls and an excessive backtracking remain flaws to be reckoned with.
  9. May 6, 2013
    90
    The Cat Lady is simply one of the most beautiful horror adventure out there, something that goes beyond a videogame and yet a work of art that only a videogame could have delivered.
  10. 92
    A rare creation, a unique study on human behavior that exposes instincts, fears, desires that most of us would not even care to admit to ourselves. [February 2013]
  11. Feb 12, 2013
    80
    A deep, scary, fascinating adventure with a mind-blowing story, a great acting and a positive utilization of soundtrack; still, there are some little flaws in the plot, and the gameplay is quite classic. Anyway, long story short: this is a hell of a game.
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 90 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 28
  2. Negative: 3 out of 28
  1. Sep 12, 2013
    10
    Censor me, I don't care. This game is Play this game. If the Kings Quest series gave birth to Stephen King's baby this would be it. Dark, disturbing, messed up in the head, and brilliant. If you're looking to be scared with loud noises and quick time events look else where, if you want to be told a truly unnerving story that will leave you thinking long after it's over, here it is. Not the kind of game that will hold your hand; it can be frustrating at times, but it never feels pointless or repetitive. If this game had AAA production values, it would be discussed as a Game of the Year candidate, without question. Full Review »
  2. Jul 7, 2013
    9
    Oh this is a weird one. Cat Lady has a rough, indie feel and yet it works perfectly to the game's ends. It's like watching a murder on a grainy 8mm film reel or a really worn out VHS tape: the crudeness of it makes you wonder if it might be the real thing.

    Conversely, when goth goes mainstream the result is Hot Topic, and why a lot of mainstream horror titles like Alan Wake and Resident Evil just don't work for me. They're too slick and too packaged. They might as well have call-outs on the screen that say "Be Scared Now" or "Feel a Sense of Dread For Next 15 Seconds". Cat Lady feels like it was written by a schizophrenic in the bowels of an asylum.

    Just being indie and "crude" is not enough, though. There is a lot of indie crap out there that the anti-mainstream will label as brilliant simply because it's indie. Cat Lady brings the goods. It took a couple hours but the story sucked me in and now it's one of those games I don't want to play because I know eventually it will end.

    Many indie titles like Minecraft started out playing in the minor leagues but all the while hoping for mainstream success (and of course, with that game, they found it). But to me, The Cat Lady is exactly what an indie title should be: unafraid and un-apologetically creative, and without ever even the concern of appealing to a mass audience. Bottom line: this is a avant garde video gaming at its finest.
    Full Review »
  3. May 18, 2013
    5
    I dont know about this one, tried playing for about 3 hours and just cant get into it, the story is just not all that interesting and there really is no game play to speak of, its walk here walk there, talk to this person, talk to that person, walk some more talk some more, very very slow paced. And as far as what you are supposed to do, no idea, just wander about talk to everyone and try every reply till someting different happens. With that said, its not a terrible game, but its more like the 39 steps as in an interactive novel more than a game, but 39 steps was much better. Full Review »