The Cat Lady Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 116 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Cat Lady contains strong adult themes and is recommended only for players over 18.

    By author Remigiusz Michalski (Harvester Games). The Cat Lady follows Susan Ashworth, a lonely 40-year old on the verge of suicide. She has no family, no friends and no hope for a better future. One day
    The Cat Lady contains strong adult themes and is recommended only for players over 18.

    By author Remigiusz Michalski (Harvester Games). The Cat Lady follows Susan Ashworth, a lonely 40-year old on the verge of suicide. She has no family, no friends and no hope for a better future. One day she discovers that five strangers will come along and change everything... This suspenseful psychological horror game features stylized artwork, a simple keyboard control method and English voice acting, plus a compelling, atmospheric 70 minute soundtrack by Micamic.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. 92
    A rare creation, a unique study on human behavior that exposes instincts, fears, desires that most of us would not even care to admit to ourselves. [February 2013]
  2. May 6, 2013
    90
    The Cat Lady is simply one of the most beautiful horror adventure out there, something that goes beyond a videogame and yet a work of art that only a videogame could have delivered.
  3. Jan 16, 2014
    90
    As long as you're not totally put off by the art design, there's no reason to not play The Cat Lady. It is not only one of the best games of the year, it's one of the best horror adventures out there.
  4. May 16, 2013
    80
    The Cat Lady could be defined as a “non game”: it’s a beautiful, sad picture of our lives. Maybe one of the most interesting horror adventures around.
  5. Jan 22, 2014
    80
    If you seek horror, The Cat Lady may sometimes freak you out, though probably not outright scare you. But that horror is in service of a touching character portrait--a portrait that's authentically, poignantly askew.
  6. Jun 3, 2013
    80
    The Cat Lady offers a unique and deviated world and a setting full of horror and despair, although the keyboard controls and an excessive backtracking remain flaws to be reckoned with.
  7. Mar 5, 2013
    70
    Once or twice The Cat Lady made my heart race but the game would benefit from some more tweaking, especially when it comes to story coherence. [CD-Action 03/2013, p.63]

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 37
  2. Negative: 6 out of 37
  1. Sep 12, 2013
    10
    Censor me, I don't care. This game is Play this game. If the Kings Quest series gave birth to Stephen King's baby this would be it. Dark,Censor me, I don't care. This game is Play this game. If the Kings Quest series gave birth to Stephen King's baby this would be it. Dark, disturbing, messed up in the head, and brilliant. If you're looking to be scared with loud noises and quick time events look else where, if you want to be told a truly unnerving story that will leave you thinking long after it's over, here it is. Not the kind of game that will hold your hand; it can be frustrating at times, but it never feels pointless or repetitive. If this game had AAA production values, it would be discussed as a Game of the Year candidate, without question. Expand
  2. Apr 13, 2014
    10
    I cant say anything bad than just it was short and I wish there was more. I loved this game so much, totally recommend this for people who hasI cant say anything bad than just it was short and I wish there was more. I loved this game so much, totally recommend this for people who has been through suicide thoughts or anything like this, This game is perfect to me! Expand
  3. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    An absolute joy to play.
    Touching on some profoundly serious topics in a way that only games as an art form can.
    Its only weaknesses are
    An absolute joy to play.
    Touching on some profoundly serious topics in a way that only games as an art form can.
    Its only weaknesses are brief moments of weak voice acting, however where the delivery may lack the content is still stellar.
    A vision of dark brilliance, a strong synthesis of an urban gothic setting and a magical realism plot that captivates the player. If you do not become emotionally attached to these characters, if the visceral 'meat-and-bone' horror leaves you untouched and the side stories of individual suffering loss and persistence do not stir anything within you -Then you have lost your taste for art and I can propose no cure. This is without a doubt a important work which I can only encourage you see through to the end.
    Expand
  4. Nov 16, 2013
    9
    Note: My real vote should be 8.7/10 but Metacritic doesn't permit that, so I give a "9".

    The Cat Lady is an opaque and rough diamond that
    Note: My real vote should be 8.7/10 but Metacritic doesn't permit that, so I give a "9".

    The Cat Lady is an opaque and rough diamond that shines with sick colors. You'll love the introspection and the mature story. Easily one of the best adventure games of the last years. VIRTUALINN.IT
    Expand
  5. Jan 30, 2014
    9
    The grim style, setting, story... this game gets it all right. Light on adventure but thought provoking. The only negative is that sometimesThe grim style, setting, story... this game gets it all right. Light on adventure but thought provoking. The only negative is that sometimes it has trouble starting up and alt+tab out of the game will result in poor resolution Expand
  6. Jun 24, 2014
    8
    After playing this, I felt compelled to write a review. I started off not enjoying myself, at all. It felt trite and cliche at first I had noAfter playing this, I felt compelled to write a review. I started off not enjoying myself, at all. It felt trite and cliche at first I had no idea why people found themselves enjoying the game so much. But as I progressed on, I discovered some interesting personalities. Albeit, they come a bit far and wide. But when they do, I found them damn memorable.

    I found the protagonist boring, until a support character synergistically made the two of them engaging- to a point where it almost took me off guard. The game blends reality with fantasy in a way I enjoyed. I can see how others might disagree.

    The bad: I didn't find myself enjoying the characters and story for quite a while. Graphics are EXTREMELY low budget. The theme of the settings are great, but the fluidity of character movement is clunky and awkward. UI is absolutely horrible. I found myself frustrated with puzzles simply because interactions with the environment was unjustifiably lengthy. I HAVE the key. Why on earth do you need me to stand in front of the door, press down, scroll through my items, press enter on the item, and pick the "use" option to open a damn door.

    I could game very easily give this game a low score for its glaring inadequacies, but it simply gets too many congeniality points. I highly recommend this game to anyone who enjoys a good story.
    Expand
  7. May 14, 2014
    1
    Ayn Rand meets The Goonies. This isn't a game but an excuse for a immature person to ramble on about his childish and annoying philosophy ofAyn Rand meets The Goonies. This isn't a game but an excuse for a immature person to ramble on about his childish and annoying philosophy of life. It's not horror, merely gross. It's not meaningful, merely fatuous. Vengeance is what makes life worth living--oh boy is that original. It has all the emotional impact of a wet cigar. If you love long tedious conversations by an excited 17 year old who has taken Philosophy 101 for the first time in his life this game is for you. Otherwise, pass it. Expand

See all 37 User Reviews