The Cat Lady PC

The Cat Lady Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 179 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Cat Lady contains strong adult themes and is recommended only for players over 18.

    By author Remigiusz Michalski (Harvester Games). The Cat Lady follows Susan Ashworth, a lonely 40-year old on the verge of suicide. She has no family, no friends and no hope for a better future. One day
    The Cat Lady contains strong adult themes and is recommended only for players over 18.

    By author Remigiusz Michalski (Harvester Games). The Cat Lady follows Susan Ashworth, a lonely 40-year old on the verge of suicide. She has no family, no friends and no hope for a better future. One day she discovers that five strangers will come along and change everything... This suspenseful psychological horror game features stylized artwork, a simple keyboard control method and English voice acting, plus a compelling, atmospheric 70 minute soundtrack by Micamic.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. PC Master (Greece)
    Feb 4, 2013
    92
    A rare creation, a unique study on human behavior that exposes instincts, fears, desires that most of us would not even care to admit to ourselves. [February 2013]
  2. May 6, 2013
    90
    The Cat Lady is simply one of the most beautiful horror adventure out there, something that goes beyond a videogame and yet a work of art that only a videogame could have delivered.
  3. Jan 16, 2014
    90
    As long as you're not totally put off by the art design, there's no reason to not play The Cat Lady. It is not only one of the best games of the year, it's one of the best horror adventures out there.
  4. May 16, 2013
    80
    The Cat Lady could be defined as a “non game”: it’s a beautiful, sad picture of our lives. Maybe one of the most interesting horror adventures around.
  5. Jan 22, 2014
    80
    If you seek horror, The Cat Lady may sometimes freak you out, though probably not outright scare you. But that horror is in service of a touching character portrait--a portrait that's authentically, poignantly askew.
  6. Jun 3, 2013
    80
    The Cat Lady offers a unique and deviated world and a setting full of horror and despair, although the keyboard controls and an excessive backtracking remain flaws to be reckoned with.
  7. CD-Action
    Mar 5, 2013
    70
    Once or twice The Cat Lady made my heart race but the game would benefit from some more tweaking, especially when it comes to story coherence. [CD-Action 03/2013, p.63]

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 45
  2. Negative: 5 out of 45
  1. Sep 12, 2013
    10
    Censor me, I don't care. This game is Play this game. If the Kings Quest series gave birth to Stephen King's baby this would be it. Dark,Censor me, I don't care. This game is Play this game. If the Kings Quest series gave birth to Stephen King's baby this would be it. Dark, disturbing, messed up in the head, and brilliant. If you're looking to be scared with loud noises and quick time events look else where, if you want to be told a truly unnerving story that will leave you thinking long after it's over, here it is. Not the kind of game that will hold your hand; it can be frustrating at times, but it never feels pointless or repetitive. If this game had AAA production values, it would be discussed as a Game of the Year candidate, without question. Expand
  2. Jul 31, 2014
    10
    If Lovecraft would able to make a game, it would be something like this I think. The art style, story, music, game play, everything about thisIf Lovecraft would able to make a game, it would be something like this I think. The art style, story, music, game play, everything about this game is weird. But after a very long time I found myself caring about a game. The story of the game and main character makes you want to know more and you just keep playing. This game made me want to play it until the end, and get me somewhat angry everything that get in the way and prevent me to continue the story. I can clearly say that this game is not for everyone. Especially if you're not a patient person, or you don't like adventure games at all. But you must play this game if you were searching for a good horror/thriller adventure game for a long time. I think this was the only good horror/thriller adventure game that I played after the White Chamber or the Mirror Lied. Expand
  3. Apr 13, 2014
    10
    I cant say anything bad than just it was short and I wish there was more. I loved this game so much, totally recommend this for people who hasI cant say anything bad than just it was short and I wish there was more. I loved this game so much, totally recommend this for people who has been through suicide thoughts or anything like this, This game is perfect to me! Expand
  4. Jun 5, 2014
    9
    Brilliant atmosphere, not undermined but rather boosted by the strange graphical taste. I waited a long time for this, 10 dollars was a littleBrilliant atmosphere, not undermined but rather boosted by the strange graphical taste. I waited a long time for this, 10 dollars was a little too much and it was never on sale, instead I ended up getting it with a bundle. Expand
  5. Sep 21, 2014
    9
    What a great game! One of the best I've played in recent years.

    Pros: - Fantastic story. Creepy, interesting, engaging. Dripping with
    What a great game! One of the best I've played in recent years.

    Pros:
    - Fantastic story. Creepy, interesting, engaging. Dripping with atmosphere.
    - Wonderful voice acting. Every single character does an excellent and convincing job.
    - Despite the low resolution, visually striking.
    - Very original altogether. I haven't played anything really like it.

    Cons:
    - Controls are simple, yet still unintuitive and inconvenient. Would have been better to bind more keys for specific action (e.g. browse inventory using different keys than the ones used for walking).
    - Resolution is too low for this day and age
    - Some puzzles are too difficult or don't make much sense. I had to check a walkthrough several times.
    - Save game system is limited to 50 saves. There are workarounds to save more, but you only learn that you need to use those workarounds after discovering that many of your latest saves are not there.

    Overall: The pros far outweigh the cons. This game is a must!
    Expand
  6. Sep 4, 2013
    8
    If someone was going to pitch you the idea of as game where the main protagonists were a suicidal middle aged lady, an accomplice with a brainIf someone was going to pitch you the idea of as game where the main protagonists were a suicidal middle aged lady, an accomplice with a brain tumour and a bunch of cats, you could be excused for hurrying away rather rapidly.
    Thank God the developers saw this project through to the end, because The Cat Lady is an absolute gem.
    The art direction is superb, and the story as it unfolds touches on the surreal and macabre, taking us to the dark places of the human psyche that no other game I have played ever has before, but at the same time, we see a beautiful relationship developing on screen between the two heroines that is touching and funny. Although at first the rather deliberate delivery of the voice acting seems amateurish, it fits really well with the game as a whole.
    There were some issues with the game however: some overlong conversations without the ability to skip through the dialogue; no facility to replay the different chapters; there were a couple of the puzzles that didn't seem to have any logical solution, just press some buttons and hope; the plotting of the story was a little sloppy here and there. But these pale into insignificance when you take the whole experience into account.
    The Cat Lady is a point where Art and Video Gaming merge.
    I understand that this game has been Greenlit on Steam and I for one wish it every success
    Expand
  7. May 14, 2014
    1
    Ayn Rand meets The Goonies. This isn't a game but an excuse for a immature person to ramble on about his childish and annoying philosophy ofAyn Rand meets The Goonies. This isn't a game but an excuse for a immature person to ramble on about his childish and annoying philosophy of life. It's not horror, merely gross. It's not meaningful, merely fatuous. Vengeance is what makes life worth living--oh boy is that original. It has all the emotional impact of a wet cigar. If you love long tedious conversations by an excited 17 year old who has taken Philosophy 101 for the first time in his life this game is for you. Otherwise, pass it. Expand

See all 45 User Reviews